(2008/08) Aug 2008

giraffe
was thinking of buying swimming costume for #1, so that zynn can take over #1 swimming costume.
hopefully can use that 25% discount leh, else its expensive... =(

yln
u wanna set up a "poll" for mummy who wanted gymboree?
thx. =)

wow, the thread is moving so fast. lost liao.

mummygiraffe,
you are welcome. yu ze started on pneumoccocal liao. he started before 6 months so got to take 4 jabs.

krex78,
your avent isis suction no good? maybe you can send it in for checks to see if there is anything wrong. you use directly or got use the supershield thing?

snow74,
you spend 4.5k on #1 first birthday? that's a lot leh. hubby sure say i siao if i spend so much.

LTS
ya lor maid almost same like men in that regards hehehe

re constipation
I gave banana to my gal n the next day all cleared :p

timminbuzz,
maybe i can get for you if i'm going and not spending that much of $$? hehe.. wat's your wishlist?

rata,
have you rec'd letters from robinsons before? maybe it hasn't reach your mailbox? =)

snow,
ya, when i went the last time, many pp were using that voucher to buy alot of things.. alot of delivery at that time. =)

giraffe
thanks for the offer! but i'm also not sure! haha...i'm the kind that needs to walk around. but it also means i spend more $$. haha...

re:constipation
yah. i give bananas also and it helps. my boy hasn't pooed today. sign...hopefully, the bananas will be ready for him to eat tmr.

celyn
hee hee....when u breakdown the cost, u wun noe u spent so much. =P
cos every1 surrounding me was doing so then, so we actually din feel anything at that time lor.
infact, i had choosen the cheaper alternative liao....other hotels more ex leh.

giraffe
is it?
then i better go on wkday....
u take care.

Missysz
hehehe.. me lazy mummy :p the one I gave bb so far is the jar one :p from Gerber.. All will b cleared but the colour will b bit dark nia :p

Timmin
same same.. me too the one who need ( n like :p ) to walk ard one n see what good to buy.. hb says I'm sure can spend lot of time checking the mall hehehe

Ethan hasnt pooed today ? food or weather problem ?

timmin,
Banana can help in constipation? Tot too much of it in adults will cause wind and indigestion, not sure abt babies.

YLN,
thks for helping to source out the places!
I think gd place wld be either Gymboree or the Build a Bear.

snow,
Wa... u spent so much on #1's bday? v stress like that for me, cos I wana be fair to both children (if I have another).

baby_emma,
Jiayou. Bid for the time and gd luck in getting your bb girl ;)

samantha,
What job are u doing that is so senang? Ya, if u're in such a relaxed job and the company is pro-family, then go for it! Have another before switching jobs.
Decisions, decisions! I also hv many decisions to make, some w hb, cos now doing reno.

To all the mummies:
when u all had your own place, did u hv any disputes on reno matters w hb? I feel so pek chek w hb, keeps changing his mind and we hv differences in how certain things are to be done for the reno. Some of them I feel use common use that certain things cannot be done, he still go say want to do, end up another contractor he spoke to, also said the same thing as me.
SO frustrated!

Yuuri,
I also can join u as 0 in the kitchen.
I totally hv not done any puree :p

Re: Puree
So far, I have not given any veg. Yday gave pumpkin, which I told mum who instructed maid to steam and mash the pumpkin.

So i totally hv zilch hands-on in doing all these baby purees. I even more chamz.

One part of me is for doing a lot of puree and storing in those cubes, but my mum is for freshness, aka steam/mash on the spot.

giraffe
Wld pray for ur speedy recovery! Btw, i think i might have the Robinsons voucher but sent to ILs place. When is the voucher valid till?

I'm thinking of getting some BM storage bottles.Haiz, initially had some glass ones, but my mum threw away!!

catherine
I know what u mean.. Wah, i'm only afraid of those stares.. How long are u planning for ur trip to last?

sylvia
I dun think i'm going to delay liao.. She has been staring at us intently when we eat/drink..hahah

missysz/catherine
How long does it take for porridge to become nua enough if cooked on the stove?

snow
heheh, so must spend and boost the economy.. *kekeke*
wah > $4k!!! *faint*

twin stars
Fun right!! Now got lotsa colours, more interesting to seesee.. Hope it doesn't cause other mummies who are away fr keyboard to get lost in all the colour/codes

timmin
Bb Ashley usually poos daily in the morning, but it has been 2 days since she's pooed.. Wah, i'm so afraid she wld give me a MEGA-poo later

val
Hmm, what are the things u & hb disagree with on reno? Better come to an agreement leh, if not when u move in, everytime u come to tt corner u disapprove of, either one will ngamngam chamcham

<font color="aa00aa">re: Glass bottles</font>
Any mummy had collected them when u popped &amp; not using them anymore?

timmin,
U got UTI? Heard Cranberry juice and barley helps in UTI if you don't want to take too much medication.

baby_emma,
Heh... Like coolsnow's idea of u putting the ugliest photo of MIL in your house. Tit for tat! haha

RE: baby kidnap
Sounds really scary. OMG, gotta watch baby carefully liao.

Heh... I knw I sound extreme, but sometimes worry if leave maid at home w bb, scared she will take bb and run away!

hey valnsw...i also hv problems with reno

i now believe no matter how big ur house is..its never big enuff...

btw mummies..if u noe of anyone who need to buy fridge, front load washin machine, dryer, tv etc all hitachi/made in japan ones..let me noe can...i am letting go at very low prices cos new place has everything...

Samantha,
U in Finance dept as in Accounting?
I was from Finance too but I don't remember it being senang leh...
I just remember lotsa reports and figures, super hectic and busy one...

valnsw
that is what i'm trying to say, everything is possible if u got only 1 kid lor.
now when i discuss with hb, he is like "huh...?".
ha ha.... =D
he say we too ks liao, 4mths later then say.
but i'm thinking maybe each kid shd have their own unique celebration hor? hmm....

at least ur hb still care to give suggestion leh, that means he care u noe.
sit down, and slowly discuss.
if u met those hb who throw everything(from design to reno) to u, then even worse rite? =)

val
yah lor. kena UTI. i'm really prone to it. hate it. my no 1 worst infection to have. no choice. got to take antibiotics. trying to drink loads of water to help clear system too.

banana helps ethan a lot. once he takes banana, his poo becomes softer, so easier for him to pass out. sometimes, i see him 'gek gek gek' and got nothing...so poor thing! and sometimes, he cry cos tummyache.

hisstory
@ least ashley hasn't started solids, so mega poo...not so stink. ethan's would be VERY stinko now lor. actually...it'll become worse when he starts meat. not looking forward to that! haha

bellamy
there' a bellamy BP on now. anyone interested? i'm thinking of getting the pasta stars.

<font color="#CD6889">Val</font>
Just to check, did u give Chevelle Bellamy cereal to try? What's ur verdict on it?

<font color="#CD6889">timmin</font>
I was abt to mention to mummies here abt the BP on Bellamy's

*cross fingers &amp; toes* it wun be ultra messy &amp; stinko..

history,

i oso hv this prob.... she will look keen when we eat n drink. like one nite she just her arm to corner my hand dat is holding my glass cup. then open mouth n drink n lick my cup.

I only scare she cut or break the glass.

if i move hse, nearer to u, then we make puree together.

megan,
what's the prob u hv w the reno? Disagreement w hb on the space allocation?

hisstory,
Ya hv to agree on something. I tell u I wana faint liao.
We wanted to hack the storeroom so that the dining area becomes bigger. Then carve out a small area in the kitchen to be storeroom.

Initially hb wanted it on the side where all the cabinets are.

Then 2 days ago, he said prefer to do it on the other side where the stove is.

I was like, NO WAY! It's just too weird.

And this was not the only thing. Initially he wanted the store in the kitchen to be of bricks and concrete and tile up, when I told him can just do a partition. He said partition, the smoke fumes will go into the storeroom then.

I was like ok, fine, go do w bricks. Then later, the contractor told him can do w partition nicely, and fumes should not get inside it.

Haiz, pt is my hb keeps changing his mind and he thinks it's ok to change when we hv not decided. I told him its darn confusing for me when he tells me different things when he changes his mind. *bish*

hisstory,
I bot Bellamy's baby porridge, not the pasta.
I must say as an adult when I taste it, after adding water, tastes not that great. Think Chevelle also doesn't like it.

At least HT barley taste better than that :p

hisstory
i have some glass bottles to spare if you want. i got them from TMC previously. Porridge?! I haven't gone to this stage yet. I am also another novice in cooking. :\

valnsw
i let my hubby handled the reno that time but when we were planning for wedding, we had some disputes too. very sian one.

hisstory
if can get 15pax or $300 worth of orders, can request for collection near us. was wondering if ppl living around our area interested?

Hey Mummies

wanna ask some opinions. I havent bot any floats for Falisha to go swimming. Am stuck between the normal (sit in) float versus the neck float. I like the neck float cos it allows her to get total contact with the water, but on the other hand, it seems very uncomfortable leh. Hahaha..how ah? Any suggestions? Kiddy palace got sell any nice floats or not?

snow,
Ya I knw it's tough to co-ordinate all these reno work, but that's his job leh. How can he expect me to do this when I'm taking care of bb?

In our discussion, he told me he's not happy w my attitude after I was so exasperated w him (can tell fr the impatient tone I'm talking to him). He said it's not easy to get quotes fr contractors etc... I retort saying, now he knws not easy to do co-ordination work hor... that time i do the wedding prep hv to keep chasing him cos ILs kept chasing me abt the guest list etc....

hisstory
hee hee...that is why now my economy not gd liao.
main subj is not about $ lor, but its the very 1st bday leh...every "1st time" of ur life are valuable ya?
lets drop this subj lah, dun feel like hoo-har about it lor...hee hee....

<font color="#CD6889">sylvia</font>
hahah, our little ones ah.. Sure hope this is an indication they wld enjoy semisolids

Dun mind! u looking out for a new place?

*hugs* Gdness!! Fortunately ur contractor has experience to stand on ur side.. So finally how? At the cabinets or stove?

timmin &amp; i talking abt, the bellamy stuff fr the BP.. Maybe u jio the eastside mummies?

Where r some of the collection places?

<font color="#CD6889">missysz</font>
THX!!! Where's gd on a weekend to pick up the bottles?

val
i'm thinking of getting the Bellamy's pasta stars and/or macaroni from a BP that's gg on right now. if got enuff orders, they don't mind organising a collection pt near us. maybe you can check out that BP? maybe there's a collection near you?

hisstory
Mass Collection points- Dates to be confirmed upon arrival of stock
*Compasspoint- Sat 5pm
*Hougang Mall- Sun 5pm
*Pasir Ris MRT Station- TBA
*Dhoby Ghaut Station - TBA
**Other collection points can be arranged (subjected to 15 pax of orders per location or the equiv of > $300)

val..my hb wont be too strong in his opinions but i dunno how to create a nursery and still hv space to put 1 big cabinet...its just farni lah i kept saying old house super small but now new house 50% bigger but i still hv no space...

huichin
my suggestion is....buy the normal float, cos they are going to outgrow the neck flow in no time now. =)

valnsw
u mean he made u do everything?
my goodness!
but pls dun dig out the past lor, else sure quarrel 1.
just sit down and discuss properly what both of u want or dun want, best is when bb is not ard lah.

val,

can understand how u feel. my hb also like dat... so usually I will tell him dat's ur part. u decide n update me ur final decision.

very sianz esp nw got bb... think my new hse when I buy later will hv same prob.......

<font color="#CD6889">snow</font>
How is the job search getting on now?
Think if u did for Nynn, then Zynn shd have sthg of a similar scale.. Then maybe postpone the trip a little?

She shd enjoy Disneyland then.. So fun!

We thot of HK too.. But March is prone to be hit by the flu season. Not in time to take her flu vaccinations liao

Hmm, i might just go HG mall collection pt coz near my parents'

Let's see if there are other mummies in the AMK,TPY,Bishan,Thomson areas who wld be interested
Then i can ride on this!

re: cereal or puree first.
for me I intro cereal first then puree

re: slow cooker
yah slow cooker need alot of electricity. If slow cook it take about 1.5 hrs to cook till very nua. If pot to cook, it takes about 30 mins for my case. For me I use japanese rice + home grinded brown rice. And I wont intro porridge until my baby is 8 months cos their stomach may not be ready for porridge at this stage.
As for veg, i wont start with leafy veg until she is 7 or 8 month if really had intro most of the fruit and veg that I need to start with leafy veg, I will buy organic one.

constipation
I think papaya work better than banana. And baby shouldnt eat Delmonte brand banana

hisstory
i a bit pai seh to ask. but do you mind helping me collect? then i collect from you? cos sun evenings i go to church. so that's y cannot make that timing.

snow,
No la... I meant the co-ordination was done by me.

Cos he was based in Shanghai then, so hor, the gown fittings, the photoshoot appointments etc all had to be done by me.

Then when he was back, I had to chase him for the guest list cos his parents were chasing me for the guest list.

And worse of all, his thank-you speech, he was only doing it the night before the wedding dinner. I have to nag at him, also cos he give wedding invites to his friends, also nvr write down their names to address to them.

I was so super pissed!

Ya I knw shd not bring up the past but sometimes to get the pt across, hv to do so.

missysz,
I think I knw how u feel. Planning a wedding not simple wor..

Megan,
I guess u have to work around w the space that u hv. What's the big cabinet for? In the nursery? For Titus?

hisstory,

think 2nd half of dis yr, will start to look for one near ur area. hee hee!!

alot to think n co-ordinate.

ya.... there was once when she was 4mth ++, I was eating apple, she want to chew. so I put in front of her... she lick n lick non stop.

Think she is going to jump on food. But the prep to me is a big operation without anyone to help. so abit indecisive when to start.

hisstory / timmin,
Not so sure abt Bellamy's. There's a nearby pickup point at Pasir Ris, for me tho.

But after tasting the bb porridge, abit hesitant to get the other stuff like pasta.

Snow, actually you're rite! lol..so true...our babies growing so fast. Anywhere i can get nice ones?

Re:Avocado puree
How to prepare this ah? Cos this fruit itself is very thick if mashed. How to make it more like pumpkin puree or cereal texture? Msapple can u advise?

Sylvia,

I hope u wun hv to come to that stage when u get ur new home...

That's what I told hb. Why don't he just decide on the contractor, then let the contractor advise on the best way to do things and we just settle at that.

Hb said, no... must get quotations for each specific thing.

I said just get the contractor w reasonable quotes and then we can decide fr there lo...

Rather than he keep changing his mind, after hearing different opinions from different contractors.

<font color="#CD6889">sylvia</font>
Oh hello my future neighbour!!
Hmm, if later half of the year u do join me in Bishan area, Meredith may not be on purees oredi

i know what u mean.. Big operation when we're novices

I hope my mum doesn't scream at me for getting such stuff. She prob wld say we didn't have all these things when we started on semi-solids, so what's the big deal abt them.. heheh

val
oh..but u'll hv to add in ur own pasta sauce for e pasta stars. i'm thinking of cooking n freezing sauces so i won't hv to cook daily. heheh :D

hisstory
thanks thanks!!!!