(2008/08) Aug 2008

Sam,

haha.. ya, it's a long street. i used to stay next to jurong west sec so it's at one end. ya man, i shifted out cos i dint like the crowd.. my relatives are still staying there so i do go now and then.

cocomo,

oh you have 2 kids too! =) ok, pardon me if you've mentioned this b4.. i cant rembr alot of things recently, even hb commented how old i'm getting. haha.. how old is he/she?

so you only give broccoli with carrot / sweet potato? did your #1 like it?

giraffe,

which blk are you? me at blk670a... juz next to sec school... me aso wanna shift out, crowd is horrible at JW... see if i can ballot one successfully...

re:broccoli
i read on wholesomebabyfood.com that leafy veg and broccoli are harder for bbs to digest and may cause gas. they recommended to intro @ 8-10mths.

giraffe,
me too! i'm rather heavy and i'm not tall! so i look like a beer barrel... so maybe i should have used beer barrel as nick!

cocomo,
i'm still loosing hair - as in LOTS of hair. My maid complains that she has to stop and clean the vacuum cleaner twice every day when she vacuum my room cos my hair will clog up the opening and the vacuum cleaner cannot work properly. And this is after i've put handfulls of hair into the wastepaper basket already. Not to mention that i have to clear the bathroom opening else the bathroom will flood too! If this carry on, i will need a wig soon. someone told me that this will continue until the bb is at least 6mths old... don't know my hair can wait so long or not.
pls let me know after you try out the shampoo, i'm quite interested too.

Sam & Val,
Jerold too, small eater... cannot finish his 140ml... and he only takes like 5-6 feeds a day!

Shint,
you receive my pm?

supplement
me - but only the DHA pills, but kept forgetting to take so one week i may only take one pill. I think i have to be mindful else all the pill is going to waste.

supplements
i'm taking calcium pills (x2/day) & omega 3 oil (x2/day)

reirei
oh ok! i might just wait till he's 7-8mths. i scared he get constipation/ funny stools.

val
fitti basic is the no frills type for fitti brand. it has no velcro stick ons. actually, i don't find the BP very cheap leh. i've been buying Huggies Dry for ethan @ $14/pack (i.e. M size 80 pcs).

reirei,
yao rou is good, that's the pork fillet, tender... i fav.

giraffe,
aiyoh, sounds like its very painful... disc degeneration... what can you do about it?

Timminb,
Do you have any idea how to become a speech therapist? Did you train to be a psychologist cum autism therapist from the start or is this a 2nd cert? i think i wanna try to get another cert to save guard my rice bowl... so i can switch and do part time and be home more often with the kids. don't know good idea or not considering that my MIL will be home too. but still get that cert first lor.

Hi timminbuzz,
You can check the height and weight chart for baby boys in his health booklet.
Did the GP mention that ethan is small? If not, there's nothing to be alarmed..

hi ladies. =)

aug bb bday bash
ya, better plan and book early.
think better chk leh, cos some places limit the number of bb in their party 1. =P
another place i noe is gogobambini, but abit ex lah.

tree nymph
u'll need to hv a degree in speech pathology to be a speechie. i've a postgrad in psychology and i specialised in autism when i started working. i took up 2 certs in autism. to be a therapist, you need a basic degree in psychology.

Val
Kes takes the same amt for all his feeds,i don't give extra for his last feed:p

i seriously need to start my boy on solids properly!he's turning 7mths next wkend and he takes at most 3 baby size splats of HT cereal a day....

timminb,
hmmm.. got to study for the degree.. and working full time. don't know if they allow for part time studying or not too... think no need to sleep liao if i take this up. but its a good career, just that it may be too much to do. and i'm old liao leh... thinking of doing a dip on early education, but i heard childcare teachers pay is very little

Tree,
Yah! I oso like! I had dat during confinement..din know it's sooo expensive!
Almost double the price of lean meat!

Timminbuzz,
True..no hurry..if u take broccoli urself i suppose your BM shld haf all the necessary nutrients too..

Samantha,
I totally agree wif u dat we are ALL v blessed wif our bbs!
One of my relatives has always wanted a bb after marriage but she has had 3 recurrent miscarriages over the last 2 yrs....
quite traumatic for her..
Oh, anyone of u who knows of v good gynae in this area, pls do recommend..thanks!

tree nymph
i don't think there's degree for speech pathology in sg. not sure abt this. but there's definitely degrees in psych (part-time & full-time) available. do be careful tho' esp with part-time studies. make sure the degree is recognised. cos i know of a fren who took a part-time psych degree and in the end, it wasn't recognised. actually, the most impt thing is to think abt whether u'll like the job. working with children has its joy, but also its frustrations. if you don't like the job...very difficult to stay in it, even if it's good pay.

timminbuzz,
i totally respect your job. my godson is diagnosed autistic and his parents are sending him for theraphy and some special training in hope that he is able to join main stream school. He is 5 this year.

val,
that day u mentioned about the Fox sale, i went the one at parkway last weekend no sale
want to check out some thicker clothes to prepare bernice for the hokkaido trip.

wah val.. feb thread u also read ? u reading so many threads !!!

re: dropping hair
i think my hair is pulled out by bernice more than dropping naturally.

let's start preparing for the Aug Bash. I think let's do it early Aug. 1st is Sat. 2nd is Sun. I think either one of these days would be good.

who else interested ?
1) Catherine's Bernice. 28/07

Valnsw
fitti there is 2 type, when i go NTUC to buy fitti, the outer cover texture is like the NTUC brand diaper.. when i go sheng siong, their fitti outer cover is plastic type plus cannot reseal after opening.

catherine
i used to assess kids that age too for suitability for mainstream. and i understand parents' hope and desires for mainstream. if he goes mainstream, it's best to provide out of school support. and to try to build up skills towards mainstream. cos the difference b/w kinder and pri sch is very big. so transition can be difficult. where's he studying now? he's in an early intervention program? aiyooo...i just realised i 'talked' a lot. sorry! job hazard!

yuuri, need to reduce milk feed then intro solid else will b too full to eat. then slowly replace soild feed wf a milk feed once he is eating well

let's start preparing for the Aug Bash. I think let's do it early Aug. 1st is Sat. 2nd is Sun. I think either one of these days would be good.

who else interested ?
1) Catherine's Bernice. 28/07
2) val's Chevelle. 8/8

Cat,
I just read for fun. Realised one of my friends is in that thread. Then also realised another friend is in the Jul thread. Small world!

Sam,
I was at 659C. I think it's also next to the school but opp your place!! oh my, imagine we could have met up if i'm still staying there.

rona,
haha.. you are so funny to use beer barrel as nick. i think i really like dinosaur lor, esp if you put me beside celyn or val. i mean i can imagine cos i've many frens who are quite petite and i feel quite towering. ^^

sigh..i cant do anything about my disc generation. my surgeon only put in 2 spacers to spread my disc so that i will not get anymore slipped disc. now hoping no more slipped disc. it's very painful and most times, pain shoots down my hip and thigh in all positions.

how about part-time childcare work? =)

Re supplements
i'm taking a calcium/magnesium pill which is supposed to manage my mens flow, i think but i seem to take only 1-2 pills a week. like rona, i think i better take regularly else all wasted.

cocomo,
ya, pls let us know how's the shampoo cos i'm cloggin up the drain in the bathroom too.

timminbuzz,
wow, i think ethan's quite tall le.. or my anna is short??
and wow again, you studied quite alot! and psychology is not easy to me.
your job is so meaningful and i think you really help set the parents' hearts at ease when you work with their children.

val,
how do you know your frens are in those threads? you already know their nick?

giraffe,
I knw cos some of them put blogs and then when I click, I instantly recognise them.

Then hv one friend whom we reconnected thru FB, told me she's silent reader in Jan thread haha...

ruixuan,
hv not checked the Fitti I bought yet, but since I got fr Carrefour, it shd be like the one we saw at Megan's house?

I think the packaging that I bot fr Carrefour is like the one I see at NTUC. Wa.. if like Sheng Siong cannot reseal I will faint lo...

val1,

oh yes, i'm so sua gu.. haha..my frens who are in SMH usually visit the BP or spree pages.

silent reader? i suppose they are many out there.

rat,
we're thinking of a BIG party for all the Aug babies 1 YO.

timminbuzz,
i agree with u that their wish for them to go mainstream has abit to do with their denial. my fren took a long time to accept that his son is autistic. he's now in a church kindergarten. and he goes for "additional" classes twice a week. Cost them quite alot of money. I didn't ask them in detail cos abit sensitive topic.

giraffe,

Yah, could have go for strolls or mac kopi... hee

hope you get well soon... i sprained my waist during exercise a long time ago & it never really recover (think its a scratch compared to yours)... you are a brave thing to endure the pain...

Shint,

I taking

1) iron x2
2) Omega 3 x 1 ( fm gynae)
3) calcium x 1 or 2 ( depends on the need)

in the morning. Once every day

timminbuzz & cocomo,
my yu ze is 59.5cm and 6.2kg at 5.5 months. who is smaller? hehehe...

cocomo,
yah, i have given 3 meals to yu ze. breakfast is usually bread or cereal and 2 porridge. but i don't give full meals so still give him bm after 1-2hours after solid, half the portion.

i don't drop as much hair now after i use the hair tonic

samantha,
i think my babysitter is very good loh. she grind the grains for me so that i can cook for yu ze on weekends. she is feeding yu ze grains from taiwan (11 types of grains). yu ze loves it.

valnsw,
yu ze also like that. he likes to bang on my laptop. somehow he will manage to hit on the right button and my window keep minimising and opening.

hisstory,
yah, below pre-preg weight.

mummygiraffe,
yu ze also take pneumococcal jab with the 6-in-1 at kkh. the nurses will give both shots at both thighs at one time. yu ze's body will feel warm the next day but no fever.

giraffe
Gosh, ur back prob is back.. Dun over exert urself ah

shint
Must take calcium supplements since we're BF.. Otherwise as we age we are more prone to osteoporosis

timmin
where's ur source for Huggies Dry?
I'm getting Huggies Dry comfort at $14 fr a supplier..

cocomo
Am thinking of trying some salon type of hair loss control shampoo.. I think the other time, dongle & shint were advocating Wella

timminbuzz/Sam,
tks for your prayers & concern. was tough but no choice. i gotta get used to it. hopefully i can get better real soon so that i can carry anna & bring ashley to the beach. tat's y i still cant go for the gatherings.

celyn,
wow wow,, u're so lucky, less than pre-preg wt. my hb been bugging me to exercise n lose wt. i said ai yo, wait la, how to exercise when i'm in this state!!! cant even walk properly. haha..

re the jabs, the nurses asked me if i want to give both at 1 time or separately, i said at 1 time, pain at 1 go better hor.. also faster, no need to give anna time to settle down. then i give bit fever medicine to prevent any fever aft tat.

celyn
U are def ready to have #2.. heheh, in gd shape for #2 & ur baby sitter is fantastic! Can still grind grains for Yu Ze..

giraffe
Better be careful.. Both ur gers need u leh
U've got no helper yah? How abt part-cleaner?

mummygiraffe,
i have seen it at ntuc. it does comes in the 1kg pack. if i'm not wrong its call 'ma yu san', the packaging will state 11 types of grains. i will go and confirm the brand again tomorrow during lunch time.

yes, yu ze will poo every day or at most is 2 days.

i also told nurse to give 2 jab at one time instead of 2 times. according to my babysitter after the jab, yu ze still feel a bit of pain on the thigh the next 2 days. cos he will always kick his legs to hear the bell from his anklet but you will seldom hear the bell. they feel more heart pain to see him like that compare to his mummy. hahaha...

sam
there are many signs to look out for. some of the more obvious signs are the lack of eye contact and lack of interests in social interactions or inappropriateness in social situations. i've suspected some as young as 10mths. but usually, parents tend to get worried only when there's a speech delay @ about 2.5 yrs old. tho' they may have slight developmental delay from the start. however, children with aspergers syndrome (a form of high functioning autism) do not have language delays. these kids may also display advanced language skills. so they tend to get picked up later...usually in school, cos of lack of social skills, especially in group settings. hope this helps!

hisstory
i get from a mummy in hougang. she gets from supplier in tampines.

timmin
Same here! heheh. YC yah? I wanted to share with mummies here who use Huggies Dry & Dry comfort abt this lobang..

hisstory: no problem

timinbuzz: I just went to get the book u recommended, very thick book! hehe

Sigh..i've been feeling rather depressed lately, frequent quarrels with hubby cos he keep blaming me and badmouthing me that i spoiled baby n caused baby to have bad sleeping habits and thus caused HIM to suffer. He even wrote on his fb.
Yesterday was mil's birthday lunch, he complained to his bro that baby very notti because of me. so i show him face. he immediately turned aggressive n shouted at me n even shout at me "f**k!" i feel so embarassed cos his entire family was there. My mil also kept quiet... There i was, weeping while eating my food n my hubby kept looking at me angrily. Sometimes i feel like I am breaking down.... I so wanted to go back to work, want my freedom back. But with a child, and i also fail in discipling him and my hubby blames me for his lack of sleep n he say he hates baby. SIGH... what have i gotten myself into??? *sobz*