(2008/08) Aug 2008

Ratatouille,
Well, I did think about using it for bath.. my face etc etc.. but the thought of having to defrost etc, leh che lah. Haha.. yes, I'm quite lazy. Anyway, how you bathe your girl with bm? Fill the tub with the milk or like wipe her with towel soaked in bm? Then.. after that, do you have to rinse down with water again? Bathing in bm is like so Cleopatra.. haha..

Cat,
Baby's legs are out.. sort of around our waists.

Dongle,
Nevermind, can try and bring her swimming again. After a few more times, they should be used to it
Anyway, at the rate they are growing, better bring them swimming as much as possible before they outgrow their swimsuits!

Krex,
Ya, better to let them swim when it's sunny. Last Sat was quite cloudy so by the end of the session.. like maybe 40mins, our boy's lips were quivering already. Then.. ok.. TIME TO BRING HIM UP! Hee..

Mummies, i'm in another office waiting for our IT guys to come. I have been waiting here since 830am, suppose to meet at 9am. So angry. Call my boss to complain liao.

morning mummies..

i bought titus to the pool for the first time on sat..he din like it very much maybe water was cold..urgh...

Can I check with u guys..how do u make fresh apple juice without using juicer for the baby har?

big Aug birthday Bash

yay so fun..let's start planning.....actually not very far away ...5.5 months only...

suggestions:
1. Gymboree gym party
2. Someone's place(and we cater food)- but hor so many ppl whose place is so big?
3.????

snow,

i tot jonah was the only lazy one in water, haha. i hope too much swimming hasn't made him bored already!

wendy,

i think 40 mins is too long. 20 mins is the max we'll let jonah stay in the pool. this was advice given by hua xia also.

megan,

the last time i gave jonah apple juice, i took the water from the steamer after i steamed the apple. very sweet leh!!! think i'd rather give him plain water instead.

dongle
Xiexie! Shall KIV this model.. Hopefully someone has a piece to pass to us then can save some $$$

sylvia
hahah, Meredith also uses nappy as chouchou..

val
Sure can't spot the fats jiggling.. U've done a gd job concealing.. heehee

nini,
m down with a bad cough, can;t make it 4 gathering tom. tink the haze made my cough worst. now i have a "sexy" voice n my mom is here to help jiaga bb with maid

u gals enjoy yrself

krex
yeah. need a lot of will power. i tell myself it's ok...he'll go to learn how to go to sleep soon. the results are worth it. but not everyone's comfortable with this method lah. actually, when i 1st trained him, i used the 'graduated extinction' method. i let him cry for 5min, then go in soothe, then put him down again. let him cry for 10min, then soothe again. basically, increase the crying for 5min @ a time until he falls asleep. e 1st night, he cried for 1hr, then 20min the 2nd night. then 3rd night..zzz. what u said is true...the older, the harder. most imptly, go for wat u're comfortable with.

sylvia
like wat celyn said...it's to prevent bbs from falling over. recommended to lower cot once bbs can sit up. cos they may be able to pull themselves over.

NiNi
i'll be late tmr. be there around 3.30-3.45pm instead. sorry!! is that OK?

Other mummies attending SAHM gathering
i'll be driving from AMK. anyone wanna hitch a ride together? but i'll be late.

survey #1

1) catherine - one (rat)
2) hisstory - 2 (at least tt's what we think for now)
3) sam - 3 (hopefully)
4) celynlee - 2
5) brie - 2 (hopefully, not so boring mar)
6) snow74 - 2 (done! factory close!)
7) valnsw - 2 (hopefully, so that have playmate for elder one)
8) wendy - I'm thinking one but hb wants a troop!! Help!!!
9) mrsgan - 2 (if can afford then maybe 3)
10) vone - 2 (same as snow74, done, factory close!)
11) mummygiraffe - 2 (same as snow & vone, done cos no choice, health does not permit more than 2.)
12) krex78 - 2 (but don't mind 3 if #3 comes before i'm 35 and if finances allow)
12) Sylvia - 4 ( at least 2. with the living standard going rocket high, worried that when they old or we old, they will have no family to support)
13) Babyemma-3 (if i get a girl next time maybe will close shop)...see can tahan 2 first or not? but im thinking maybe a four year gap between the 2nd and 3rd one..let the two older ones grow up first

survey #2

1)Does your baby sleep on his own or need to be pat/rock/cuddle/latch on to sleep?
cuddle and pat ( in sling) now bf-ing to sleep doesnt work anymore.

2)Do u set a routine for your baby?
no lar...what routine....baby dictates what he wants to do. if he doesnt want to sleep..no matter what I do...he wont sleep

3) Sleep thru the night?
no lar! u got to be kidding.... The longest is 4 hours. Usually he will fuss n make noise for milk at 11pm, 2am, 4am, 6am. Usually fully awake by 830am. Usually drink while eyes still shut.

4)How many times he wake up a night?
3 times at least

5) Did he fuss or cry alot?
fuss and cry if sleepy, bored and hot. Only will fuss for milk or just to touch me during sleep at night

6)How do u coax him back to sleep when he wake up in the middle of the night?
he sleeps with me on the bed lor...then bf lor...sigh (i cant get him off my bed he doesnt want to sleep in cot..and he's forever trying to cuddle with me....ever seen a baby trying to hug ..he puts his one leg and hand on my tummy! LOL)

7)Does he cry before sleep or once he woke up?
Yes before sleep Must CRY loudly..tell everybody he's sleepy..after wake up...dont see mummy also Cry loudly! High maintenance ..mummy jiat lat

celyn/timminbuzz,

ok ok. I better do it fast, as she is pulling herself to the side of the cot.

Tks for telling me!

baby emma,

u wanna train ur bb to sleep? i see your timing v xiong... the bigger the bb, the harder it is to train... i heard my colik's brother bb still not train at 2yrs old, hve to feed at nite...

Is ur bb sleeping through the nite? If not, best train the bb NOW... dun wait liao cos as bb is getting bigger, harder to train... in the end, we suffer lor regardless whether we are SAHM or FTWM...

Sylvia,

try give pacifier? izzit cos ur bb needs to smell u so as to sleep? if not, its comfort latching?

try not to let bb sleep wif us adults, cos they wont wanna sleep alone...

tim/ltw: Ok no problem

babyemma: ur bb n mine can become good friends liao! Really v xiong!

Agree with Samanthathe bigger the bb, the harder to train.. So now training my boy, 2 days liao.. must persist on.

The first night of training, he woke up twice. I push pacificer to him n he ok. He slept on the same bed with me (dh working)
The second night which was last night, after he fell asleep, we move him down to the mattress. He woke up n cried many times.. like 3am, 4am, 6am, like that.. i latch him on twice n he fell back to sleep. Is he really hungry?

hubby was so mad cos bb not sleep well, keep crying in the middle of the night (think he is throwing tantrum) hubby slapped his leg quite hard.. i stopped him but so heartpain.
Now my bb got his 'character' liao n smelly temper, if dont train now... i think by 1yr old, he will be very naughty.

sylvia: mine also not sleep thru the night n it is really very exhausting!

Going to great world city to get some organic veges for baby now...

juz to share my experience... I trained her from 1M onwards, last feed at 12pm or so. First nite, bb woke up at 4am+, i delayed till 5am+ to feed her. Second nite, I delayed till 6+. From there onwards, she woke up at 6+... However, along the way, there hve been incidents where she might wake earlier, but my rule is no feeding before 6am...

However, mommies can expect to encounter more difficulties cos ur bb are v used to having suppers liao, cant expect them to stop immediately. What you can do is to delay their feedings gradually. Just harden ur hearts lor, if not, ur health would suffer esp since we bf now, already v tiring liao...

i feel there is no hard & fast rule to stop nite feedings, just do what suits ur bb...

nini,

no point slapping bb... my ger's thigh like stone de, slap aso no use... last time she still know i slapped her, now no feeling liao...

try not to latch on lah cos latching on means feeding? defeats the purpose rite?

survey #1

1) catherine - one (rat)
3) sam - 3 (hopefully)
4) celynlee - 2
11) mummygiraffe - 2 (same as snow & vone, done cos no choice, health does not permit more than 2.)
12) krex78 - 2 (but don't mind 3 if #3 comes before i'm 35 and if finances allow)
12) Sylvia - 4 ( at least 2. with the living standard going rocket high, worried that when they old or we old, they will have no family to support)
13) Babyemma-3 (if i get a girl next time maybe will close shop)...see can tahan 2 first or not? but im thinking maybe a four year gap between the 2nd and 3rd one..let the two older ones grow up first
14) mousse - 2 (dragon daddy + snake mummy + rat baby k + hopefully tiger baby gal next. if tiger baby boy, then maybe try dragon baby gal)

Ceyln,
glass bottles from hospital - how come you only store 30ml in it? thought can put like 120ml? i also got them from the hospital... use it for 3 kids. but i never store in freezer, using the bags. thought glass bottles will take up more spaces? wow, how much milk you express everyday. you are very dedicated!

Nappies
yah, agree that its very handy to have this. I also have been using this. have a lot of packs and been using it since! lots of ways to use it hahaha!

aug birthday bash - don't mind joining in.

celyn,
amazing! yu ze found his own way to sit up. you really muz try to videotape it down.

timminbuzz,
then you gotta be home b4 7 so that he can sleep? my anna can be very very tired but refuse to sleep cos she's so distracted with her surroundings.

happydough,
i pumped every 2 hours during confinement mth. then increase to 2.5 hours then 3.

samanthan,

tks!!

She doesn't want pacifier. Will spit it out.

She only wanted latch on to sleep after 3rd mth. I guess I have to train.

Like last night, after her last feed at 2am ( usually after feeding her to sleep,she will wake up to have a big feast 2-3 hrs later). she sleep til 6+am, but then woke up at 7am to feed, then slept 2 hours, then she play 30mins by herself before I carry her.

So trying to monitor how to train.

mummygiraffe
yeah..will need to leave @ 6pm. have to go thru his routine b4 he sleeps. routine helps. cos he knows it's sleeping time and i mean business. haha. cos i'll never pick him up after putting him down.

RE: birthday bash
I like the idea! But somebody gotta organise/co-ordinate it eh heh...

Yuuri,
Looking at your suggestions. The Sporty Joe one looks gd. I think external venue better cos can accomodate more people. Own house unless condo function room, will be messy and needs to clean up. The Jacob Ballas Garden is outdoor only or hv indoor? Cos if happens to rain then this venue not so gd.

hisstory / dongle,
Maybe I'm considered "slim" before preg. Was only 45kg, the highest I ever went up to before I entered uni was 48kg.

Hoping to lose at least 2kg fr my current weight now. But duno why, taking care of bb saps so much of my energy, I get hungry fast too.

nini,
Has Braiden always been sleeping w you and hb on the bed? If so, then the 2nd night when you shift him to the mattress, and he cried, I guess he is too used to sleeping w u and hb.

It's the same for Chevelle. Last night, managed to let her drink alot before she slept and we tot of putting her in the cot. End up she cried shortly after putting her in there. Then bo bian, just let her sleep on the bed rather than her not sleeping at all.

RE: sleeping in bed or cot
Anybody successfully managed to train bb to sleep from bed to cot? I think my bb has cot sensor, she just doesn't want to sleep in cot! Partly our fault cos always been sleeping on bed and partly cos the cot's narrow and she can't roll as freely as she want

Celyn,
U must be damn sian to be waiting for 1hr+ leh. must complain.

baby_emma,
Your baby sounds like mine initially. I think reading the book that timminbuzz recommended is gd. At least helps u to look out for sleep cues whether for nap or nightime sleep.

Cos initially I also gong gong, duno when bb shd sleep and tot she has her own mind. But slowly train up she's getting better, though I still think she can do better by sleeping earlier and cutting the night feed.

For this training, think it's best you personally do it. You tell the maid, they won't get it. I kept telling maid not to play w her when it's night time, end up she played along w bb cos see her dowana sleep.

I'm still at the stage need to pat/rock her. Hopefully, now this will go away. Else maybe need to let her stay awake more in the afternoon so she will be more tired at night to sleep earlier.

re:sleeping in bed or cot
i shifted ethan over into his cot when he was 1 mth old. but i tink if u ever wanna move bb into his own cot...have to do it early. the later you shift, the harder. my fren's hb had to sleep with his 2yr old for 3 mths when they moved him over.

Sylvia,

FYI, I got the maternity leave claim reimbursement from CPF after I emailed them that they made an error.

So freaking idiotic! The amount at least now more reasonable though I was hoping they should hv given more.

timminbuzz,
Ya I wana shift her to the cot ASAP, cos otherwise, when she can stand up etc, I dowana risk her falling off the bed if she sleeps on it.
Else I will just get her a mattress to sleep on and surround it w comforter liao.. hai!

Mb i will start her in the cot for afternoon naps then intro it for night-time.

NiNi
Think I am giving tmr a miss.. Going out with my mum in the late PM

Samantha
If my ger doesn't take the pacifier, u think I can just rock her back to sleep to delay feed?
Right now she usually wakes at 3-4am for a feed.. Eventually I'm returning to work, i dunno if i can function efficiently with a night feed

But her last feed is ard 830pm.. We tried feeding her at 11+pm, but still she wakes up.. Howhow?

val
*envy* I must work hard to revert to 45kg too.. Now abt 1.5kg away. U're right, looking aft bb is really energy sapping.. Super siong

Eh i thot Chevelle sleeps in the cot during nap time? I rem sthg like tt after she didn't quite want the sarong anymore yah?

Val & Hisstory
You are both vvvv slim!!!

Val
Think the Jacob Ballas one is outdoor covered area...not sure also. Just recalled seeing a signboard for birthday parties when I was there.

Hisstory
My boy's last feed is 8.30-9pm....12 hrs later then he take his next feed!

looking at the survery done for baby's sleep pattern. Seems like those who had a routine will has their babies sleep thru the night.

mummies, care to share the routine? Thanks.

hisstory,
haha we ganbatte on the weight loss.
U're alrdy quite slim la, no need to lose anymore.

Ya, she doesn't quite like the sarong. In fact, she will flip when we start to rock her in the sarong.

Nope, during aftn nap, she has been sleeping on the bed. hee... I just shifted her to the cot liao. So far, no noise, keeping fingers crossed she guai guai sleeps like that.

valnsw and hisstory,
u gals look v petite..don't need to jian fei anymore lah. i lost all the weight that i gained from pregnancy when i was breastfeeding but now that i have stopped, i put on 2 kg! so sad but still piggy out all the time..:p

Yuuri,

That 12 hrs is v shiok! How much more than his norm feed, do you let Keston take for the last feed?

Wana get some pointers.

Last night, I fed Chevelle 150ml at 8.15pm and she finished all, then she slept at 9+, woke up again so let her drink 120ml at 10+. She only conk out til 1.30am. Drink then sleep again til 5AM.

survey #1

1) catherine - one (rat)
3) sam - 3 (hopefully)
4) celynlee - 2
14) mousse - 2 (dragon daddy + snake mummy + rat baby k + hopefully tiger baby gal next. if tiger baby boy, then maybe try dragon baby gal)
15) at this moment, 1 is good. dont know how to divide my love. haha

yuuri
mine too! last feed @ 7pm and he wakes @ 7am for his next feed.

von
ethan's routine:
7am wake + feed (i'll wake him if he's still sleeping)
9am nap
10-1030am wake
11am feed
12pm nap (this nap varies. sometimes 30min. sometimes up to 1.5hr)
245pm feed
3pm nap (30min - 1hr)
7pm last feed and off to bed

Val,

hahahaha! I havent done my letter,coz I really thinking how to write the letter.

I better do it fast.

aiyo... u all so slim ar.

I put on alot of weight leh...

Val,
Thanks for the recommendation. will go get HT brown rice first.

Timminbuzz,
that's a good book. i like it too! But sometimes quite hard to stick to routine. like yesterday, went out for dinner and i actually wanna bring the kids back earlier to sleep, the my PIL kept saying early lah early lah nevermine... ended up they slept at 11pm. very cross with myself... I almost took the frustration out on the kids though they are not at fault at all.

val
yeah. i started moving ethan for day naps 1st too. but protests should be expected when you move her over @ night. big downgrade leh! if i kena downgraded like that i'll also protest! hahaha