(2008/08) Aug 2008

happened to go into the June thread, read this which somebody posted:

6 Things Nobody Told You About Being a SAHM
You might not like hearing these things, but while the truth is not always what you want to hear, it is what you need to hear, and as a fellow SAHM who had no idea what she was getting herself into, I feel it is my responsibility (and perverse pleasure) to enlighten you.

Staying home all the time is much more difficult than working.

Like it or not, being home is a tough job for several reasons. One, you will be around your kids constantly. This is a double edged sword. Two, you don’t get scheduled lunch breaks where you can read a book or run errands. Count yourself lucky when you get to eat the bread crusts from their sandwiches. Three, you will be around your kids constantly. (A point worth repeating.) Four, you can forget vacation time, comp time or even “you” time. Depending on the age of your kids, you will be lucky to get potty time - it will be up to you to take ‘me’ time; no one is going to offer it to you, no matter how dark the circles under your eyes are or how evil the glint is inside them.

When you are home there aren’t any office politics or deadline crises to worry about. This is good because you don’t have the mental energy to waste on such mundane tasks; however, the downside is that you aren’t engaging your brain with such mundane tasks. You will have to put more effort into finding ways to use your brain on an adult level. And for the record, mocking the morning cartoons does not count as mental exercise.

Your kids will not magically behave like angels all the time because you are home.

Another common myth about being a SAHM is that when you stay home, your constant presence will ensure that your kids will always act wonderfully since you are on hand to redirect their behavior and such. Yeah, right. And owning a treadmill ensures that you don’t gain weight. I hate to break it to you, but it all takes effort, so be prepared. Remember when your kids acted really, really good for the babysitter and then acted like a monster for you after work? Well, now you are taking the babysitter out of the equation.

Kids will be kids and you being home with them will not change that. In fact, as their comfort level with you increases, so does their security level, meaning they will feel less at risk and freer to fully express themselves. They will talk back more. They will fight with their siblings more. They will throw monstrous temper tantrums more. Now, instead of only having to deal with them after a long day of work, the joy of their personalities (whether good or bad) will be yours to savor 24 hours a day.

Your house will not always be clean because you are home all the time.

When I first began staying home, I couldn’t believe how messy my house was. It wasn’t until I thought about it that it made sense. When you stay home, you are, well, home a lot more. Instead of making a mess in the four hours between arriving home from work and bedtime you can now make a mess all day long.

This is an incredibly frustrating reality for new SAHM’s, but remember, you are home to be with your kids, not to have a model home. Despite what it initially feels like, you will find balance and the messiness will even out. It might take a while depending on how old your kids are, but you will eventually make peace with a certain level of filth.

You will not necessarily have time to cook wonderful five course meals every day now that you are home.

If you were used to getting take out a few nights a week while you were working, it can be a difficult habit to break. If you don’t enjoy cooking, it will be even harder. Just because you are home does not mean you will be serving up meals like Emeril (and if you are, feel free to share your address with me). It’s ok if you have to learn how to cook - having ovaries does not automatically make you Betty Crocker. As long as you are making an attempt and the family can eat your attempts on a semi-regular basis you are making progress.

Being at home all the time will occasionally get boring, frustrating and stressful - sometimes all at the same time.

When you first begin staying home, you and your kids will go through a honeymoon period. You will go out to lunch, you will go to the store in the middle of the day just because you can, you will take trips to the library or the museum. Then, one morning, you will wake up and realize that you are a little tired from all the running around you guys have been doing. This is when reality sets in. Being a SAHM is a marathon, not a sprint. You have to pace yourself.

At first, you will stay in with the kids for a few consecutive days, possibly doing crafts and games to keep yourselves occupied. Then a few more days later it will happen. You will be sitting with your kids, staring at each other, and you will all be wondering “OK, what do we do now?” Then, something even more shocking will happen. You will feel bored. It may happen after a few weeks or it may take slightly longer, but boredom is a heavy, inescapable reality in the life of a SAHM. The job is exhausting, it is hard, but it is also monotonous, with days, weeks and years stretching out in front of you - a seemingly endless void depending on you to fill it. And you will. You will also occasionally catch a glimpse of yourself in the mirror and realize that you’ve barely combed your hair and you’re still in your pajamas and its 2 o’clock in the afternoon.

Being an at home mom is not a cakewalk. There’s an incredible amount of work involved with taking care of the house and your kids 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 366 days a year. (Yes, I know there are only 365 days in a year, but it feels longer when you are a SAHM.) There will be days that the kids are sick of you. There will be days when you are sick of the kids. There will be days that you wonder what the heck you were thinking by staying home.

You need to realize two things about these feelings - they are completely normal and you are not a bad mom for having them. You are human and no human loves their job every single day. There are going to be good days and bad days and most, if not all, SAHM’s go through the same exact things. Take heart, you are not in this boat alone.

(Excerpted with permission from Domestically Challenged: A Working Mom's Survival Guide to Becoming a Stay-at-home Mom by Alana Morales, copyright 2006)

I must say... it's quite true.

mousse
ur bb so cute..... good take mom !! Look very adorable.. later I'll post my gal sucking her toe oso.. tried to tell her that's not very feminime for gal to do but guess she doesnt care :p

Krex
ur bb oso funny
I have the same chair.. my gal now prefer to lick n bite the side of the chair ( the one near the hanging toys :p )
re : facial
U misread lahh... that's my wish lah... :p I dont even have a maid how to go facial ? hehehe
even time to wash hair now oso problem cos nobody taking care of bb weekdays

re : teaching bb to pray
for once I tot u teach bb how to say "Khiong Hi" for CNY prep hehe.. more angpao can b expected

Ruixuan
that's how he looks half asleep ??
wonder how big is the eyes when he's alert.. very cute... looks a bit like ang moh skin..
is it daddy ?

sylvia,
birth/confinement order will mean isit your #1 or #2 etc?

maybe why they ask two things is cos you may have twins, i.e. have birth #1 and #2 but it's considered as your confinement #1...

krex/celyn,
all the boys look so expressive!
So fun to play with hehe

ok i super hungry, hear my lunch coming, later bringing bb go swimming.

Hope she will wake up in time to go swimming later..

YLN / hisstory,
haiya..my poor HB la. Wanna surprise me by auto-buying the diapers but neber ask me which type! His only knowledge on it was - Pampers brand n M size. *faint*

haha...so no choice...i oso dunch like that version of Pampers', cos it seems plasticky and like u all say abt the tabs. 2pks siah...no choice la. Bleahhh...

Re: Bibs
The carter's Just one year type of bibs is GREAAAAT! Cos the below is water-proof one, really helps alot! Unless ur little one drools like a waterfall, it wont soak thru, very gd!

ruixuan,
maybe you can check with your sis on how that big bib work. is it really good?

valnsw,
fun to play with. also hard to handle his bad temper. just like mummy. ahahha...

Huichin
throw that packet of pampers over at nanny's place. i will love to try out different type of pampers... i dun like the type, i will throw over at nanny's place.

Celyn
she say not able to catch much, but at least it is waterproof.. can wipe off... plus can catch those drop one (cos the bib dun absorb. i had order some...

Lingling
my baby's eyes are big.. hubby chinese

Catherine
wow.. u got alot of barang for Bernice. i got the swing bed... deciding to use it as a high chair for baby. going to throw it over at nanny' place soon

Val...

Wahhh !! Nice mann.... !! I mean we all now realizing this but this person put it in such a very precise I should say.... wait, I'm going to copy this and email my hb.. :p
If necessary n I have time, think should make a blog n copy this so all my friends out there who r single can count their blessing properly

Huichin
Nice hb :p how was he react when u told him it was the wrong one ? hehehe...
Cos of this my hb always careful one, everything he will check with me :p think I'm bcoming more dangerous

Cat
Now now.... we can see how many have u spent to buy bernice's toys heheheh... good take

Agree with Val
All the boys looks so cute... mayb I need to reserve some for my gal liao hehehe

Ruixuan
Ic but the skin really spotless n fair leh...

re big bibs
now cos eveybody talking, I wonder shall I get one oso.. is it that useful ? or normal carter bib works better ?

YLN,
hahaha..u & ur hb are soo farnie! :p
maybe shld ask ur hb to get her a teak bouncer..or paint it brown..hahah..

Celyn,
brown rice cereals, i oni know happy bellies and HT..
my knowledge is oni limited to those dat are sold in SMH..haha..

reirei
..ya hor..tell my hubby to get the teak bouncer then everything will match liao..sigh..my hubby really dun behave like we got kid like that...thats y im so envious of celyn..her hubby so auto one...n huichin hubby also at least will know how to surprise her by buying diapers..mine..*faint*..everything dunno..diapers..bottles..toys..everything dunno..when i start buying..he say i buy alot of things for kaer..then i told him..'excuse me ar..mummies on the forum buy even more, kaer only has the bare minimum..' then he shut up liao..heehee
sigh..he just want the house to be like as pre-kiddo days..which is impossible lor!

babyemma,
oh dear, u sound realli stressed..
do u let bb sleep on his tummy or he flips on his own during sleep?
For me, i put a beansprout husk pillow on bb's chest/tummy. Wif dat, she doesn't flip dat easily.

Haf u tried going out shopping or to the park wif bb?
Try & get some fresh air..u'll feel better!

Last weekend, i jus brot bb to the zoo! heee..
Since u haf a maid, u can bring her along so dat she can help u wif the pram and the diaper bag..

Ruixuan
ur bb drinks something yellow in the bottle ??
I mite be blur liao or u have given him juice ?
carter for saliva uh ? mmm my bb still like to spit the milk out leh.. sometimes a lot ..

YLN
wahhh ur hb is really strict uh ??
agree with Reirei.. hehehe
actually there is a teak swing cot :p n get a rattan swing for daily use hihihihi
My house starting to get full with bb's stuff even my mom laughed at me.. :p Cos that time I ambitiously told I dont want my house looks cramp n stuffy :p seems I'm going there only....

valsnw

What you posted is so true. I work from home and for the last 6 months, it's been almost impossible to work. My 'free' time is when she sleeps and by then, I'm so tired, I need to take a nap too. Sigh...My income resally suffer lor.

And as for the maternity leave, I called up CPF board and told them off for designing such a lousy system. Apply online liao and still must write in to apply for the 4th month, even though their website say can have the 4th month. Grr.....!

babyemma
Bring your baby out...even if it's just downstairs. Otherwise, will go bonkers. Don't worry, after the 1st time, the subsequent trips will be easy. I bring my baby on the bus, train etc when I have to go out coz I got no maid... ^^

Has anyone tried Heinz or Nestle cereal? I know most mummies seemed to be buying Happy bellies and HT but it's double the price of Nestle and Heniz and not that easy to get. Heinz and Nestle should be ok right?

krmeow
kaer tried heinz, nestle n HT...i feel that nestle is sweet..n thus dun like to feed kaer with that..as for heinz..kaer likes it..but since HT is organic and she seems to like it too..i dun mind paying a bit more..just that HT is very flakey before mixing with milk/water..so u need to make sure ur kitchen's not too windy!..cuz i stay on the 17th floor..we have very good supply of wind..so ihave to shut the kitchen doors everytime i make cereal for her..otherwise all the cereal will be all over the place..!

huichin
U still have the receipt? Can go exchange if u really dun like it.. If not kena stuck with it

baby emma
There are days where I feel burnt out too.. *hugs*

Since u've a helper, why not ask helper to go out with u.. Even if it's window shopping or grocery shopping, also shiok & relieves the mind fr just caring for bb

val
Totally agree with tt excerpt.. The mind needs to be stimulated, coz being a SAHM can be rather mundane at times

Cooking meals can be very tricky.. Have to steal moments when bb's awake & fully utilise all the sleeping periods to prep 1 meal. I think it trains efficiency too!

huh ruixuan..y cant catch most?
I remember it can even catch soup...
but its meant for older babies lah...too heavy for our kids now...

mummies !

Everyone is talking about bibs ! What bibs ? Where can I find them ?Adel is drooling like crazy now. i need a few good bibs, one is bib enough !

Val,
Thanks for the article. so true, I feel so cooped up at home, can't do anything properly, not even sleep properly or cook in peace, or do laundry... Luckily i only have one month left at home... sounds weird hor, but rather go and work at times.

YLN
Thanks for the feedback. I've heard that Nestle is sweet too. I've already bought a box of Heinz. Guess I will buy a box of HT and see which is better. Getting a little stress coz she taking more nowadays and my supply seemed to be dropping. Waiting for her to start semi solid coz I afraid I may not produc enough for her. ^^

Ling ling
that is my breast milk. frozen one.. or maybe yelow come from the romper

Megan
maybe my niece is a rough person, she like cars..

Long time no post!

Been very busy the last month cos month end/ year end. Finally now hit the new year got some breathing space... Phewww

Think some of the babies here already started solids? How are yr babies taking it so far? I haven started Darwisyah yet. Thinking of starting end this month when she is closer to 6 months.

Lately she giving alot of problems when feeding. For past 2-3 days she dun really want her milk, drink half of what she takes only! Dunno what is wrong... tried all methods.. change teats la .. change bottles la. Now my house got all brands of teats/bottles.. Any mummies experience this before?

yln,
don't envy me. i also do a lot nagging and black face to get what i want. heheh...

mu hubby also keep complaining about yu ze having so much toys but he didn't see what other babies have. everyday he open letter box and see things attn to me, he will go. what you buy this time?

megan & ruixuan,
are we talking about the same bib? hehe... the one i'm asking is this.

http://picasaweb.google.com/babydreamstore/Bibs2For1350Or3For19WithFOCNormalPostageFreeGiftWhileStockLast#5227937029410600146

YLN, celyn,

my boy didn't really like it when he was a newborn. he would cry after 5 mins. then when he grew older, he'd get frustrated tt he can't reach the toys. only recently when he can bat did he enjoy the rocker more. he can bat the dog's bone to play the music, believe it or not. only recently then he learnt how to pull. now he can stay there for 15-30 mins w/o crying on good days. very happy to beat the dog and bird up! after tt we bring him to the playpen 4 more toys.

Btw, I remember someone posted about selling her lansinoh milkbags sometime ago. Who ar? Too many posts, I forgot liao. Still available? Otherwise, I got to buy from BP...

Thanks!!!

bibs:

is this one gd?

http://picasaweb.google.com/babydreamstore/Bibs2For1350Or3For19WithFOCNormalPostageFreeGiftWhileStockLast#5227937029410600146

my maid says the food will slide off and it will be messy.

as for this one:

http://picasaweb.google.com/babydreamstore/Bibs2For1350Or3For19WithFOCNormalPostageFreeGiftWhileStockLast#5278463610525599362

i'm keen to get though i'll really only need it when jonah starts eating on his own.

i saw it at raffles city push cart for $9. which BP is selling it now? is it free postage if i get only 2 bibs and do i still get the free gift? what gift is it anw?

krex78,
yu ze still don't like the rocker now even though he can hit the toys now. he is also getting a bit sian with the 3 in 1 play gym i got for him. i'm going to remove the piano from the gym soon and let him play the 2nd stage.

he wants to sit down now, so he likes to play with the fp rainforest piano and lf activity table.

ruixuan,
hahah.... so we are talking about different bib all this while. that one, i can understand how it works but not the one i posted. i'm thinking of getting 1 that you have posted.

medusa,
i will only start after cny. then yu ze is just 1 week away from 6 months.

mu hubby also keep complaining about yu ze having so much toys but he didn't see what other babies have. everyday he open letter box and see things attn to me, he will go. what you buy this time? <font color="ff0000"><--me's hubby too</font>

ruixuan,
hahah... the man can't take it liao. why the mummies keep buying things.

yesterday, he saw the bibs i bought from bp. then he told yu ze, mummy buy things again.

Ruixuan, me got no nanny now, maid taking care of falisha together with hb's ah ma. Hahaha..

Lingling, 1st thing i heard bot the diapers liao i asked him immediately, which type/colour did u buy ah? He was like...eh...M size rite? Pampers brand rite? Hahaa...i said yes all correct but the type is...? The correct is purple/green leh (easier to go by colour). Then he suddenly quiet down, cos i think he suspect he bot the wrong type. Then he went even quieter, cos he got 2 pks somemore! Ahahaa...so what to do, his intention was gd one. Just use only loh..

huichin,
at least, he tried lah. my hubby will not buy things for yu ze on his own unless he is very sure of the product cos he knows if he got the wrong thing, he will get into trouble with me. so its better for him to bring me then he pay for it. hahah....

Happy_mummy,
Think Sat i might not make it for the gathering cos my #1 down with cough, flu, fever. Just went to see the doc and he's on neubiliser till Fri ... think i better not bring them. Kai oso having slight runny nose, phelgm. Sorry!

Pls enjoy yourselves!

CNY gathering 2009 !

Date : 17 Jan 2009 (Saturday)
Time : From 1 pm onwards
Place : Happy_mummy's place at Bishan St 24
Attendance pre-requisite : For fun-loving and pretty mothers, super daddies and very very very cute kids ! All are welcome =D

1) Happy mummy (Kat), Hubby (Faroek) and baby (Adel) - 2 adults
2) snow74 (may), hb (bw), toddler (nynn), bb (zynn) - 2 adults
3) celynlee (celyn) and baby (yu ze) - 1 adult
4) cocomo (Joey), hb (Steven), toddler (Jayden) and baby (Shervalle) - 2 adults
5) apriltan (April) and baby (Denzel) - 1 adult
6) M2B, toddler and baby - 1 adult
7) Essie, maid, toddler and baby - 2 adults
8) shay (Shila), toddler (Ayden), baby (Ashton) and helper - 2 adults
9) nini (Winnie) , baby (Braiden) - 1 adult
10) vone, toddler &amp; bb - 1 adult
11) Sylvia, HB ( Edward) &amp; Baby ( Meredith) - 2 adults &amp; 1 baby
12) Jen, Baby (Phil) - 1 adult, 1 baby
13) krmeow, baby Mabel - 1 adult
14) Hui Chin &amp; Baby Falisha - 1 adult + 1 baby
15) YLN &amp; BB (Kaer)- 1 adult, 1 bb

total - 21 adults, 5 toddlers, 15 bbs

Just brought both of them to the PD.

Kai's latest stats ...
Weight : 8.4kg
Height : 70cm
Head circumference : 97 ... this one, PD had to double check cos she tot why so big ... she even said Kai looks like a 6 mth old and that length is >97% percentile ... out of the chart.

My #1 used to be ard 97% percentile but this Kai, he's even more ... haha. Gonna be taller than #1.

PD was wondering how i managed to deliver Kai since he's quite big when he was born and i am quite small frame ... i say C-sect la. hehe.

I pray Kai dun get any fever tonite. Keeping fingers crossed.

whoa...Shint, 8.4kg siah! Ur Kai is abt 2kg + 10cm more than Falisha! I think my girl quite small man...haahaa. She's abt 6.3kg at 63cm siah. Hahaha...

Hahaa..Shint ur kids follow hb ah? HB big size? If u say Kai was quite big when born, means u got a very flexible pelvic bone! hehhe...

Hope ur kiddos will get well yea!

huichin,
no la, mine C-sect la ....
hubby says in olden days i'd have died oredi.
cos i think i have small bones cos Dr Woody says my #1 din move down when i tried natural, hence, ended up emergency c-sect.
THen come to Kai, straightaway he advise c-sect. He says, 2.9kg oredi cannot come out, this #2 is even bigger.

Falisha will grow one la .. girl so big then hard to find bf know. hheee.

Heee, Kai can be the tall, dark and handsome prince to your little princess ;)
He's vv dark compared to my #1 who's much fairer.

my hubby is 1.8m .. hehe. I vv short, stand next to him only to his shoulder ... or lower. Used to wear 2.5 inch heels. kekeke.

oh, Kai was 3.65kg when born.

Celyn &amp; Ruixuan
hb's complaining ? mmmmmmm, actually I involved him :p The carter bib I bought is self collect so I ask him to meet the seller tmrw at raffles place MRT hihihi... that's all it take, participation

Huichin
hehehe... cute
good one.. I feel that 1st ur hb must feel very happy can give u a surprise, who knows it's really a "surprise" indeed hehehe
we r the mommies destroying the daddy confidence uh ? :p

Celyn,
my hubby will not buy things for yu ze on his own unless he is very sure of the product cos he knows if he got the wrong thing, he will get into trouble with me. so its better for him to bring me then he pay for it. hahah.... (<font color="0000ff">mine too hihihii</font>}
sometimes cos he asks me 4 everything abt me, I felt bit irritated oso.. I mean cmon man I'm no expert. I tried to learn abt bb as fast as I can when bb asleep while he's using his free time watching TV :p