(2008/08) Aug 2008

reirei / vone / Catherine,
Saw u all ordering the socks. V tempted to buy but duno which ones to get.
Hee, just measured Chevelle's feet, 9cm from heel to toe. Is that considered big or not?
Cos the sizes the BP organiser mentioned, the 0-12mths heel to toe alrdy 8.5cm. That means i shdn't get this size right?
Cos I also duno how fast babies' feet grow.

Shay,
I normally dun make up one and i long long time nber makeup (rather, not the make up kind) - i go for natural beauty? *thick skin... hehe. Then recently after makeover, i realised it does make a difference, at least minimal make up la .. afterall, given birth to 2 kids liao n my age catching up(think i oldest here) ... gotta do something before it's too late rite? Really become huang lian po then difficult to revert manz.

Hubby actually dun like me with make up, color hair he oso complain. The other day makeover, he say makeup too thick, this basic makeup he oso din comment on it. Must maintain la. I used to look n dress relatively ok but recent yrs bo chap ... worst, i oso look filipino, thai, vietnamese .... sometimes even dress well, still kenna mistaken. Dunch wan to go out with hubby and kids and pple think i am the maid!

it happened many times that i bring my son out, he's quite fair and pple think i am the maid or i am stranger talking to him ok. *frustrating know.

Looking non-chinese vs being mistaken as a maid does make a difference.

Well, Pan mei mei is not for him, is to keep him on his toes? and if pple look at us, it makes them feel proud to be walking with us rite?

Hair ah? I merely put a sunshade - for decoration purpose .. haah.

Gathering.
We gotta do it next cos 1-for-1 promo ends in oct ... hahahaa.

apriltan,
u're welcome to join, no exclusion one, jus pay for your meal ;)

Lunch : Holiday Inn Atrium @ 32++ per pax(2 persons)
Afternoon Tea : Sheraton Towers Singapore (28++ for 2 persons)
Day : 30(Thu) or 31(Fri) Oct

Nick, lunch and/or high tea, Day, Preference
--------------------------------------------
1. Shint, ok for both, both, pref aft tea
2. Snow74, ok for both, both, pref lunch
3. msapple (bringing #1 along), of for 30 Oct, both, pref lunch
4. dongle, ok for both, 31 oct only, no pref
5. YLN, ok for both, 30 oct, no pref
6. aurora, ok for both, both, no pref
7. faeriekim (bringing #1 again),ok for both, both, pref tea
8. cocomo, high tea, both, pref high tea
9. valnsw, ok for both, both days ok, pref lunch
10. nini, ok for both, pref lunch

Ahh..finally managed to put my son to sleep at 11.30pm last nite..wake up for his feed at 7am..then sleep till 10.30am.
Will slowly train him to sleep earlier n earlier..

Lunch : Holiday Inn Atrium @ 32++ per pax(2 persons)
Afternoon Tea : Sheraton Towers Singapore (28++ for 2 persons)
Day : 30(Thu) or 31(Fri) Oct

Nick, lunch and/or high tea, Day, Preference
--------------------------------------------
1. Shint, ok for both, both, pref aft tea
2. Snow74, ok for both, both, pref lunch
3. msapple (bringing #1 along), of for 30 Oct, both, pref lunch
4. dongle, ok for both, 31 oct only, no pref
5. YLN, ok for both, 30 oct, no pref
6. aurora, ok for both, both, no pref
7. faeriekim (bringing #1 again),ok for both, both, pref tea
8. cocomo, high tea, both, pref high tea
9. valnsw, ok for both, both days ok, pref lunch
10. nini, ok for both, pref lunch
11. april, ok for both

Shint,
I was about to say that ppl will not mistaken u for a maid anymore cos now cheo cheo liao ma.
My hb also the same he will not appreaciate the effort i put in to pan mei mei. he said natural beauty better thus, i take it as an approval for being a huang lian po.....lol
dun always say that u r old le.....old neber mind as long as we r young at heart!

valnsw,

i oledi wanna get d baby janes 1 a long time back oledi. so since thr's a bp, i jus ordered. d other designs r nice. bt i dun wan 2 buy 2 much stuff 4 my gal, then realised tat she had outgrown them b4 she gets a chance 2 wear them. i jus 'upgraded' her clothes. then i realised tat she didn't get a chance 2 wear some of d clothes coz she outgrew them oledi. *sob sob*

oh, i didn't measure my gal's feet. coz i was tinking, since it's socks, so it's stretchable.

Timminbuzz and Krex78,

I bought the SwaddleMe for my son and its very easy to use. I think its less than SGD20.00.

Can buy from Metro, and other departmental stores.

Valnsw, Vone,
Hehe..i oso wanted to buy long ago when i was preggie but thot it was expensive...until i saw a 2mo bb girl wear them in taka..told myself 'mai tu' liao, once the bp is upz, i'll order immediately cos they r sooo cute!!
Oh, i oso din measure her feet leh, but yeah they are stretchable so shld be ok bah..

Aurora,
Hey, my hb oso got the same concern leh..i tink he's totally clueless..so i guess the 'zhong4 ren4' lies on my shoulders liao!
u got alot of patience leh! 3hrs! nowadays i oni speed read...i will oni go thru the spree section slowly in case i miss out any good deals..haha..

val,
i nvr measure benice feet i just order. anyway stated 0-12 mths should be ok la. i think they did mention the 8.5cm is before stretching.

re: gathering
wow.. so good resp this time. i will check with hb if he can take care bb for me..

Nini,
The valves will be SGD 7.38 based on Dongle's excel spreadsheet.

Faeriekim,
It's 9.75 per box for the milkbag.

Let me know once transferred.

shint
i email u le...

hisstory..
ya mine will scream every nite lor...damn depressing when it comes to nite..in the day..if we are late by 1 sec to feed her..she will also scream lor..bad temper ...sigh..i also dunno how leh..

Shint,
yup, i do notice a change in yr eyebrows, looks very well defined & your skintone becomes more even after your basic makeup...

pan mei mei may not be for your HB to see la... as long as you feel good yourself, why not? hahaha... i was telling my HB that a man "kiap" me a chicken bao at the buffet table wen i went out with you mummies for lunch... he was mumble something softly, i asked him wat, he kept quiet... hahaha...

YLN,
cayla also cry until screaming on top of her voice kind wen she wants milk, wants to be carried, too hot, too cold, lonely, diapers soil... anything that irritates her la... my mum say she got bad temper but i told her she comes from 2 bad temper parents how not to be bad temper

dongle,
bernice also same thing, will scream until dono how many octave higher.. i better, cos she only has a bad temper dad, i'm not very bad tempered person. so i always tell hb "see it's all your fault".. hahah

dongle , catherine
me and hubby also temper a bit the short one..so, i bo bian also..see bb scream until very jialat..have to resign myself to fate lor..bo bian..but i think in a way good also..cuz im learning to be a bit more patient lor..since i cannot do anything when bb scream..can only keep saying , 'guai gua', sayang sayang',..canoot scold bb also mah...:p

YLN
It's quite sad to hear our gers cry & cry, dunno what is wrong leh.. Kept asking hb did we do sthg wrongly? But he keeps reassuring me it's a phase, dun think of ourselves as bad parents or there's bad parenting involved. More so, when we're 1st time parents too & not all bbs are easy bb

YLN, dongle, catherine
Just got to bite the bullet hor?

Looks like you gals had a nice gathering on Thursday.
Where are the pictures of the food huh???

Krex
The Avent 4 oz bottles can hold approxmately up to 160 ml (halfway thru neck). I wouldn't try anything more than that. There are times when I pump up to 125 ml and hand express another 30 ml plus. You are using the Avent pump aren't you? What I find is that even if I pump back and forth between the breasts twice (my pump is the uno) I can still hand express another 20 ml on some occasions. Usually spend another 10 to 15 mins hand expressing alternating between breasts at least 3 times as what the MW told me to do. Is your supply dipping because you don't have a comfortable atmosphere to pump at work? Hee! Hee! Your son very obedient. How do you manage to feed him on a constant volume? My son varies from 160 to 200 ml at times. And I notice that his feeding volume increases about every 2/3 weeks but that's normal I guess. I take him for weighing every forthnight and weight gain is about 1 kg each time. I've long accepted that my milk supply is not enough for tbf .

Twin stars
yah I know what you mean about working with the baby around. The other day I drop in to office to print something but ended up staying longer than I expected. Baby started crying for food and me halfway typing something on the computer. In the end, my 'boss' the pastor (I work in a church) had to help me feed and burp my baby!

Nini what Amabel's mummy advise about leaving baby to sleep on his own is true. I do the same for my baby too and he's been sleeping thru' the night for a couple of weeks already.
At the beginning when I wake up in the wee hours of the morning and see that he is awake my first instinct was to feed him even though he wasn't crying. But later on I decided to wait until he started crying but he never did and usually went back to sleep on his own. So nowadays when I wake up to pump and if he is up I just to leave him to play by himself. He's usually asleep by the time I finish. Same goes for bedtime. After last feed, it's burp and into bed (whether eyes wide awake or not). Can't pet him to sleep otherwise my arms will drop off! Dim the lights and put on soft music. Usually will hear him playing with his shells for a bit and then suddenly there will be total silence! Zzz time and peace time for the parents.

Ruixuan
nice work on the scrapbooking.

Have good weekend everyone.

YLN,
hee, noted. will check, now pumping, no device.

dongle,
oh tat? GUO RAN SHI GUO SHOU ...hahaha. yes, the makeover makeup artist did my eyebrow. my own vv thick la and sometimes i got no time to trim. so u saw me before i went for the makeover, tat's why. Hee.

This morning i was down with a slight flu ...slept thru the day and now better liaoz.

today i very bz with my son... maybe he recognise diff environment. today me and my hubby bring him out, keep him daytime mostly awake. just back at 7pm, feed and bath him, now he sondly asleep... keep my fingers cross

my sweet dream door tag
thank u for the praising...

shint
my hse got lots of handicraft stuff, sometime dunno where to keep.

faeriekim
yup, make used of the iron on stuff bought at the people's park...

TAKASHIMAYA SANRIO FAIR
today went to taka to see the fair. very expensive. see alot of cute Helllo Kitty items but never buy. save $ for other baby item better

aurora
Paiseh, missed out on ur post.. Am taking NPL, but dunno if wld be till June. Hb & I r still thinking whether anot to send her to infant care, both our families are against the idea. But it sure beats having a maid which bring abt other concerns..

Hv u managed to get the nursing cover? it's really very helpful, esp when bb cries for milk. I practiced a few times at home with it before trying it when out

i really couldn;t keep us with the postings................so sorry if i missed out any post

aurora,
yes, it is an irony :p i use to call my girl "ang ku kueh" too cos she's easily red
looks like both of us r crossing our fingers n praying that the "nu ta 18 pian" is true.......er tat's for me la ,hehehe

Mrs N,
yr pst is so sweet n supportive. it is gd to work in a conducive environment where u can have a balance of work n family n working in church is one of the best way. my mom is also working in a local church here. she has so many luncheons to attend n is is happily enjoying her retirement there :p

yes, not EZ to work with a baby n concentrate. i hate breaking my train of thots. even when i bring bb out, i dun eat in peace. however, life is not just about babies but building a legacy......wa....hehe. so i've talked to hubby n i'm going to start to prepare to step back to work by end of this yr

ruixuan,
i went taka today too...aiya, could have met up

ruixuan & twin stars
both of u were at Taka today? Was there in the evening too.. But cldn't stay long coz bb was very fussy!

Nonetheless, while trying to buy time till her next feed, we managed to get a Tigger rattle.. So cute & surprisingly cheap, only $4.90..

twin stars: U didn't get anything fr the Sanrio fair ah?? Thought u like HK stuff *winks*

Gd to hear u & hb have come to a decision.. And thank God for a reliable maid u've engaged

ruixuan, i got the "jin feng san" from Eu Ren Sheng.

Any babies here can lift the head up already w/o support? My bb is 12 wks old but his head still need support.

hisstory,

i didn;t know there is a sanrio fair!!!!!! boo hoo

bb was also very fussy therefore i had to shop fast n eat faster, haha.

frankly, i'm a little jealous of my maid at times cos bb will respond to her n keep looking at her. i wander if bb thinks my maid is her mom
i already try to spend as much time with bb as possible. only never do night feeds. today i even took over bathing bb jus to bond but bb will turn her head to look at maid. even when i feed my bb, she will look at my maid lei. dunno y......day time maid has little interaction with bb already. but hubby felt i am paranoid n i shld relax n let go n it is a gd thing to have a helper so i can be released to do wat i want but still spend time with bb.........okie, i must "kan kai" :p

twin stars
aiyoh.. tmrw u go again?? agree man! these days, everything have to do veryvery fast.. Before bb arrived, i've never ever have to eat so fast!

maybe bb has associations of some activities with ur maid? Am sure u're also playing & interacting as much as you can & want to during the day. dun worry!! Must kan kai & enjoy all the moments you've got with your ger.. At least you can be very thankful that your ger also takes to your maid. Have heard of some bb who dun like the maids, end up the employers have to re-engage another leh..

Essie,
For the pneumococcal think i'll let bb take the jab when he's 6 months old.. then need 3 jabs. My PD recommended to take.. and not take risk. To me not a matter of necessity but for a peace of mind ba.

timmimbuzz,
Or u try to post at overseas spree? Maybe can get more mummies. Or the one that Krex recommends looks good too.

April,
Hehee.. im not the organiser, but of cos u can join us!

ReiRei,
Yah, think being 1st time parents not easy. Guess we women can adapt better than men! Hahaa... i will also look thru the spree section. Just bought leg warmers and some aquadoodle books. :p

Ruixuan,
Im using jing feng san for bb. Bought at ZTP medical halls. Think they have many branches.

Hisstory,
I see... yah lor, have to weigh the pros and cons first before deciding. Initially i was not keen on getting a maid, but my colleagues say my thinking will change after having a bb... and now hubby and i thinking of getting one to help out MIL. Haiz.. still dun like the idea of having a 'stranger' in the house. I have not gotten the nursing cover! Been taking care of bb and cannot venture too far. But it's still on my list of 'to buy'. hehee

Twin stars,
Im sure ur gal will bian prettier and prettier.
Think it's better to return to work hor.. for me i really can't see myself as a SAHM.. me 'lao lu ming', must work one. hahaa.. Dun worry, bb will always know who is mummy. When she grow older a bit more, will surely rush to u.

tweety,
My bb also 3 months, neck sronger le, but still need support too. U can try activities like holding his arms firmly and pulling him up slowly. This will encourage ur bb bb to lift his head. My bb likes it and he will sit up and then stand up.

Rui xuan, I Thot Jing Feng San is for babies above 6 months???

Can babies take so young?? Cos I bought 1 from Hock Hua and it wrote taken for babies above 6 months.

cat/YLN/hisstory,
no choice, have to bear with it till she is older then can teach her... can only enjoy the moments wen she laughs & smiles now...

Shint,
no la, i not gao shou, just bcos Shay say you become "chio" then i realised i saw yr brows very nice & face matt compared to that time you came my house...kekekek...

aurora,
paiseh, din have time for chat just now cos rushing to get ready to go out as HB called a few times to get ready by 5.15pm...

hihi .. me the 3am mommy is here again ... ;) kekkek. heng not seventh month.

din realised that i always post at 3+ until one of the mommy here mentioned and yes, it's true - here i am.

Thanks to my son always waking up around this time ... he had finished drinking and now trying to sleep ba. He so funny, dun wan to finish the milk and kept smiling and smiling. He is a happy baby ba ....

me leh, woke up and wanted to get back to sleep then milk start leaking.. so too lazy to use pump, using hand instead. Guess what happened?
I dropped my milk! one of the bottles - almost 80ml gone! *so sad.
Then had to try to squeeze till i hit his quota for a feed .... so XIN KU .... now vv awake liao so here i am doing the 3am posting.

Now he is trying to do hand exercise and smiling to the air! heee.
He also started to suck his mittens liaoz .... i still have not taken out his mittens cos his hands were vv cold when i tried to removed it one week ago.

Me? i am posting and eating HUP SENG cream cracker. Hope it does not contain melamine.

Extract from Yahoo News.... in case mommies had not read it (busy bfing and spreeing) and still eating JULIE brand biscuits. I was eating it last week only and wanted to buy more the day before the news was out - but son prefer HUP SENG ....

"Three Chinese products and 17 biscuit items from Malaysia were found to contain melamine, the industrial chemical at the centre of a toxic milk scandal which has rocked China's dairy sector.

The affected items include popular products such as Lotte Koala biscuits and Julie's crackers ..."

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/afp/20081025/tap-singapore-food-safety-child-china-ma-06f3cb7.html

Yesterday's papers had the whole list.

Other than the affected products from China, melamine has been detected in 17 biscuit products from Malaysia. Test results for the rest of the imported biscuits, including those from Malaysia, were satisfactory. The affected Malaysian-made biscuits are:
i)
Julie’s Golden Kaka Crackers
ii)
Julie’s Wheat Crackers
iii)
Julie’s Cottage Crackers (Vegetable Yeast Cracker)
iv)
Julie’s Cottage Crackers (Original Yeast Cracker)
v)
Julie’s Chez Creamy Cheese Sandwich
vi)
Julie’s Sugar Crackers (extra flaky)
vii)
Julie’s Waferico Chocolate Coated Wafers with Chocolate Cream Filling
viii)
Julie’s Cream Crackers
ix)
Julie’s Minico Rich Chocolate Chip Cookies
x)
Julie’s Peanut Butter Sandwich
xi)
Julie’s Cocoro Crispy Chocolate Wafer Rolls with Vanilla Filling
xii)
Julie’s Le-Mond Puff Sandwich with Lemon Flavoured Cream
xiii)
Khong Guan Assorted Biscuits
xiv)
Khian Guan Biscuit Osborne
xv)
Leo Gold Finger Choco
xvi)
Santa Chocolate Gold Fingers
xvii)
Swan Chocolate Fingers

The link is here www.ava.gov.sg

I ate so much Julie Cream and Wheat crackers recently cos after pumping milk, vv hungry. My hubby's grandmother bought me some and then i liked it alot, so kept buying and eat during/after expressing.

dongle,
i guess we all looked different after delivery, during confinement, maternity leave and going back to work .... hhaa.

Shint,
My girl also starts to suck her mittens now, the sucking sound can be very loud! Whenever she sucks I have to remove the mittens because the hand always get soaked with her saliva until it turns white and smelly!

Twin Stars
My #1 was like that with my maid and I used to be very jealous also. So much so that at one point he prefered her to carry than his own mummy! Then I kan kai and realised that it's completely normal for such behaviour. It's only natural that young child develops fondness towards her carer and I should be thankful that the maid does dote on the child as well.

Like what Aurora said, the child knows who the mummy is and can differentiate between maid and mummy.

Sleeping through ... my ZK still not sleeping thru leh. He sleeps but will wake up 3-4 hrs .... that's why i am always posting.

Help ... any tricks?

krex...
i saw the kippotamus one before. but i prefer side zip. cos they won't be able to fiddle with the zip as they grow older. i might just get 2 for myself...hee...
ohoh...remember to buy cotton ones. our weather's not suitable for fleece.

morning mummies.

ruixuan,
yah. he will finished his 4oz feed now at babysitter's place and at 3 hourly. at home, its not possible to feed at 3 hourly at all. sometimes, i feed at 4 hour or even longer but still got to fight with bottle. then i thought maybe its me that he don't want to be bottle feed cos he wants to latch, so i got hubby to feed. he also didn't finish. i shall try again.

the stroller is $453 before disount. i got a 15% discount voucher.

shint,
yesterday, my boy sleep at 9pm. i feed him again in his sleep at 12midnight, then he sleep through till 6am for the next feed. usually i will feed him again when i wake up for pump around 2/3am but decide not to, to see if he sleep through and he did. i do hope this stay on.

i also very hungry everytime when i pump. usually will just drink a cup of milk and go back to sleep.

Wa! Shint u went for makeover. wee wee~~

celynn, talking abt feeding i got much more headache coz she onli drink in sleep mode remember? some time no choice got to follow baby's pattern

Twinstar
aiyo.. should had met up yday at taka

Tweety
my bb can lift his head but still need support

April
jing fend san can be taken at this age... recommend by my grand mom and bb's nanny plus MIL

Celyn
ur stroller with this price, my hubby sure wont buy
happy to read that ur nanny can handle yuze well