(2008/08) Aug 2008

cat, val, babywise,
topups received...

earnestmum,
i used to take all supplements from dr ang until the 2nd month when dosage for fish oil was increase to 2 per day & a mummy here say that KKH is selling at $30... so i ask HB to go there to buy... im not too sure cos my HB pays everytime but i always thought fish oil is $40 for 30 caps? isit the same natal plus care brand? however, during cayla's full month party, my HB's supplier came with his preggie wife & my HB was telling them KKH selling cheaper fish oil & he found out that her gynae in GlenE selling the same fish oil but 60 capsules at $40... faint***... back home, i asked my HB to ask him which gynae & he say duno & better dont ask cos it seems that the couple dont reli want to talk abt it & they lie abt her EDD as she was preggie b4 marriage & she was sacked at work for being preggie etc...

btw, im still buying calcium pills from her & i have reverted to my pre-preggie multi vit when the prenatal one finished.... i showed to her & she say ok to take...

gayle,
dun need to air-dry or wipe dry bottles as it will re-introduce bacteria inside... must cap it after sterilising...

nini,
baby still can't see very far now, about 30cm. he moves to where you are by hearing. you got to take care.

gayle,
i pour ebm in while its still wet. if use dry cloth to wipe dry then what is the purpose of sterilising.

earnest, i decided to buy 2 packs of mamy poko today at ntuc coz' got offer. maybe by the time i really order goon, he will fit better into S size, haha.

mrs n, tks for sharing. one of my night pumps is at 3am. that explains why i can yield so much at night. u're actually doing very well. for me, i'm giving my boy 60% EBM and 40% FM. out of 6 feeds, 2 feeds are FM. and my hb is happily giving him 150ml FM at night to make him sleep longer! the other feeds are 120ml.

Mrs N and Twin Stars,
My bb as slightly underweight at birth and the nurses advised to top up with FM to supplement. Luckily they did that, else I would be totally stressed with my milk supply. And from then, I have been giving bb 1 FM feed every day and when I'm out and not feel guilty cos I know there's nothing wrong with giving FM.

twin stars,
hope ur gal will feel better soon. Heartburn meds? Is it due to the reflux? I suspect my boy oso has reflux, always crys in pain when regurgitating.

hisstory,
most prob i will go to the PD near my place for the jabs. Can consult PD on some bb issues at the same time. GP might not be as detailed.

Nini,
must take care during confinement. Must ensure you wear long sleeves and pants if u need to go out yah? Luckily ur CL has secret recipe.

Re: bb's eyesight
think bb can see things short distance away. Right now they only see black, white and red colours.

gayle,
I always use the bottles when they are wet. Think the bottles remain sterile within 6 hours after sterilising.

Shint,
ur #1 so cute! Very clever. Do you send him for enrichment classes?

Re: bb milk intake
my boy at 6 weeks is only taking 70ml of FM which last him 2 hours. I latch on most of the time, so dunno how much he's taking. But if i do give him EBM, it's also ard 70-90ml only. Jialat, he's like such a small eater as compared to bb his age. Anything wrong with him?

aurora,

if i remember correctly u asked abt getting sleepy babies to drink? cos i juz run thru the thread... have been busy looking after the little one...u can try compressing ur breast when ur npp is still in baby's mouth and baby is not sucking. compressing with thumb at the top of ur breast and rest of fingers below without changing the size of ur aerola. after compressing for a while and release there will be few drops of milk. baby will start drinking again .. it works for me to encourage baby to drink more...

shint,

wa, sounds like similac is gd ya, haha

aurora,

now my bb latch for awhile, she is tired of sucking n cries. think she is too used to bottle feeding when it drips non stop

yes, my bb has reflux n i notice she will bend backwards n cry due to pain. yest n today she is on reflux meds n ab pain meds. she is doing better liao. jus want me to "sayang" her n carry her cos she is not comfortable. today she didnt want to sleep n cry when i left the hse. when i came back she is sleeping after feeds but the moment she hears my voice, she started making noise for attention. i quickly go to my room n shut my door n she went back to sleep again. how ah?

Nini,

i apply deodorant.
I think it's ok.. i also coloured, rebond my hair..
Things we take in ie food then is more crucial

earnestmum,
my kid is oni 20mos nia. so, by dec, she is 23 mos. juz 1 mth short of her 2nd bday. will she be able to enjoy the prom?

twinstars,
hope ur bb feels better soon, ok?

shint,
my daughter's jaundice level is going down VERY slowly. tat day measure is 200... still gotta go back next wk n do the detailed blood test. i really hope nothing wrong.
oh yar, my granny oso went to the market n bought tat ng kee for my daughter. hope tat it helps.
my #1 on enfagrow leh, shld change or not? haha.. btw, u still wanna buy the enfalac fm me?

peppermintt,
I dun think it's me who asked the qn, but my bb is one sleepyhead! hahaa.. he'll suckle for abt 5 min and dozed off and i have to burp him and do all sorts of nonsense to get him start his engine again. But sometimes he just clamp up his mouth. Thanks for sharing the tip. I'll try it later for the night feed. Think it'll be helpful!

twin stars,
Ur bb so clever, can identify mummy's voice oredi!
I guess u and ur bb are going thru a difficult period now, adjusting to new feeding habit and dealing with reflux. Hopefully this phase will pass quickly. Prob get ur hubby and mum to cuddle her more often as well. I'm also like tt, if bb just eh eh abit, I'll just ignore. Think it's ok lah. If they really wan to be cuddled, they will surely wail v loudly. My bb recently also getting more 'sai nai', wan to be cuddled often. :p

Nini,
you CL quite good yah. I kenna sore throat then develop to cough. My CL brew the alchohol for me continuously every nite, dunno how many nights i drink liao, felt heaty and kenna sore throat liao. Have to tell her to stop giving me heaty stuff.

Dongle: Thanks for your feedback. Oh! I should have asked you much much earlier. I have been paying Dr Ang $40 for 30 capsules of that brand of fish oil you had mentioned. I ask you now is because I dun really see the need to see her anymore unless i run into some problem again. Will you still be seeing her? Does KKH sell the calcium tablets she sells?

Faeriekim: I had brought Alden to the Proms when he was exactly 2 years old. He had enjoyed the Prom. I not sure if your child will react same or not . He is looking forward to it again. I think I would ask my hubby to bring him this round as last year he did not go.

Anyone has problem with opening gmail account?? I can't seem to get into it for many days. In case anyone send me mail there, sorry if I dun reply.

I am pumping bm for both my children so gotta work hard. I think I might let Amber sleep the yaolan later on as she wants to be carried during her wake times and I do have 2 yaolans at home as my boy used to sleep yaolan too.

Sorry to intrude, ladies. I also gave birth in Aug ie. 24th Aug.

Bought an Ameda lactaline Dual Pump-Excellent condition(Size M) with the original handsfree and supershields on 29th Aug. However as my baby was in ICU, I only used the pump for a wk & now do not breastfeed.

Paid $420 for the whole set. Willing to sell the whole set at $350 (neg). Excellent condition.Battery or direct supply. Can adjust cycles & vaccum according to yr comfort level.Even comes with a mash net to put all the pump accessories for easy carrying.Original packaging & all instruction manuals provided for pump & handsfree.

Do email me at [email protected] in case i do not check e website regularly.

Long time never come in, have been busy with the newborn and my elder daughter. Now is still having confinment, so exhausted cause I do most of the thing myself. I total breastfeed my girl, only pump milk once a day so I can freeze some milk for the use when I am back to work. So I only give her one feed of bottlefeed. She can latch on very well but will slowly increase the number of pump and bottlefeed to her in the 2nd or 3rd month if not later she cannot get use to bottlefeed when i back to work then will be jialat. Can't wait for the confinment to be over. I sneaked out once to but vegetable for my elder girl. Alway feel like going out now.

gayle,
I also use the bottles when they are wet, this is what I did for my first kid. I checked before that we don't have to wait for the bottle to be dry and the bottles will remain sterile for 6 hours.

Cindy,
Me too kenna cough and flu.

Oh yah, anyone know whether i can appeal for the 4 month maternity bb bonus if I delivered on 15 Aug but my EDD is 21 Aug 08? If what should I do?

Yuuri,
topup received...

YLN,
i have refunded you...

earnestmum,
im seeing dr ang for my pap smear 2 weeks later... calcium pills i din compare cos it's like 100 tablets & quite ok at $30 or??? but i think any calcium pills will do as long at same mg right?

i wonder any Aug mummies' gynae same as my HB supplier selling natal care plus fish oil at $40 for 60 cap?

btw, which PD are you using? thought of changing to someone nearer to my house..

faeriekim (faeriekim),
So qiao. Last Wed, ZK went for the blood test and also the jaunduce test which is at 201. It is also going down slowly but sounds like he is better. I used the Ng Kee and after that i feel he is not so yellow .... been using it to bathe him and next blood test is on Wed.

I will call u regarding the Enfalac.

Shint,
my bb still swaddling, but she hate it, she will use all her energy to free her hand out. My in law use string to tie her up. But I alway remove it. haha

shint,
stop swaddling baby after 1 week. i remove his mittens too after 1 month after i cut his nails.

amabel's mommy,
why your in law use string to tie your girl up?

celynlee,
olderly said must swaddle and use string to tie, last time they used to use belt to tie this is what my mum told me so the bb wont easily break free lor.

celynlee, my in law said next time grow up, they will have itchy hands, like to touch this and that, my elder girl alway do that when she is newborn, but now she also itchy hands very mischevious. That is y i dont believe in that once my in law is away, i untie the string.

My purpose of swaddle baby is to let them feel warm and secure as in our womb but elderly do it for other reason.

amabel's mommy,
i see. heheh... first time, i heard of this. i thought itchy hand is cos mummy eat crab during pregnancy.

Dongle: I see. Dr Ang did not mention about pap smear to me. Just asked me to see her for review of my left breast which had mastitis. But I see that it's alright now so no need to let her see again. As for pd, Amber be going to Anthony's Baby Clinic at Hougang Ave 5. tel: 62802122.

Anyone heard of Annaku brand of baby items/clothes selling at?? I quite like their materials.

mulberry,
actually i dont think 4.2kg means overfeeding. actually should seem quite normal cos comparing to most of the postings here on the weight now it seems acceptable. Dr Lim mentioned that the weight gain is too much, cos bernice was only 2.69kg at birth and now she is 4.1kg at 5 weeks. But I think it's ok lo.

twinstar,
my bb now at 5 weeks only taking 90ml every 2 hours !! your CL really very extreme lei. 5.5kg your arms must be aching.

Amber is coming to 1 month old and taking 90ml about every 3 hours. But sometimes a bit confused about time. she may want to take 30ml before she sleeps though not feeding time yet.

Amber also dun like to be swaddle now! She likes to be carried during her waking hours, likely to be a yaolan baby cos cannot tahan to carry her always.

Earnestmum,
My ZK is only 2 weeks+ and he is oredi taking 90ml every 3 hours, after on the breast. Latching may be from 15mis to 45 mins.

He is now 4 kg but since he is a big baby at 3.65kg at birth, i think it should be ok ba. He dun look too chubby though. Anyway, if not enough, they will cry for more. Afterall i dun think he will become too chubby unless he is on FM. Can really tell the diff if on FM or not cos FM babies tend to be more chubbier.

Amabe|'s Mommy,
today my cough got worse. Did you see the doc? comtemplating to see the doc cos cough quite bad. Im afraid that my baby will get the cold from me. Should I dun touch her? But i sleep with her.

Cindy, I didn't see the doctor, usually i cough i dont see doctor one just let it recover on it own. But now got little one, think it is best to see doctor but I too busy with my elder girl and the little one so i got no time to go yet. You breastfeeding your bb? cause i believe long before you get sick, the bb already get immuse to the virus you have in ur body so ppls believe the bb wont get the virus from you

ambels' mommy
thanks for your advise. Im breastfeeding my gal and she also drink my EBM. Tat is why im afraid i might pass the virus to her when i carry her. Think I will go see the doc tmr. So afraid she might get it cos she so young dun wish to see her get sick.

Earnestmum,
ABC Clinic is quite exp wor ... once, i brought my #1 there for a cough and it cost me 300+ cos he was neubalised and was given medication, etc .... and had to bring him back for review.
My fren said he is good la ... cos he dares to give strong meds ... but he is exp lor.
I saw him that once and never go back again .... i mean after #1 recovered from his cough.

hey..i read tt baby gets 80% of the milk through the first 5 minutes of latching, so actually they dun have to latch tt long right...45mins?

popping in here after a busy wkend. Had 2 full-mth celebrations at ILs and my parents' place. Quite tiring, just managed to put bb to sleep.

So many posts to catch up liao.

BTW, any mummy still not yet order full-mth catering, can go for Mum's Kitchen. The food not bad according to HB's relatives, especially the laksa.

Catherine,
You can try Clarins or there's this brand Strivectin. Think the latter is sold at Sasa.

http://www.strivectin.com/

Don't know how gd they are cos I nvr use but heard gd reviews. Don't bang me if effect not as gd hor :p

So you going for the Kinderclinic 6-in-1 jabs?
That Dr Lim nvr mention the package to me.

RE: bb's weight
After hearing all you mummies about bb's weight gain, kinda makes me feel my bb's weight gain is ok and not overfeeding her. I asked around some colleagues and relatives, they said 1kg/mth is norm for the 1st few mths. In fact, shd be worried if bb doesn't gain weight!

i just came back from polyclinic, bring yu ze for hep b 2nd dose jab. i hate polyclinic, my appointment at 8am and done only at 9.30am. thought they are supposed to see baby first. sigh.... going to discuss with hubby, maybe not going to bring baby back there for 6 in 1 liao. yu ze is now 4.3kg, gain 1.1kg in a month.

Car seat
Anybody bought car seat? Any gd reviews/feedback on Britax?

Saw a BP on Britax car seats:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1686205.html?1220773217

Thinking if want to get from this BP but unsure if authentic or not. The BP organiser seems to be a newbie member, duno if can be trusted.
But the Britax Marathon that's not sold in SG seems like quite a gd deal. Cos can seat up to at least 5-6 yrs old, depending on the child's weight.

valnsw: I have the Strivectin, bought before pregnacy.. It stated there not for use during pregnancy or nursing.. I am using the NUK one, but dont use it on nipples cos BF-ing.

valnsw
ya, zynn is 3.45kg now.
also almost 1 kg weight gain, so no worry ya? =)

full month catering:
we ordered fruit tarts and angkus from melrose, they promised to deliver before 12pm.
guess what? they delivered only around 2pm, and most of my family members left liao.
end up now i still got so many fruit tarts in my fridge. -_-"
so for those who wanna order from them, pls take note of that lor....

valnsw,
i got my car seat from mothercare. it the concord brand from germany (if i didn't remember wrongly). my boy is ok with it. wanted to get britax from mothercare in the first place but it look huge inside our car, so change to concord based on their recommendation and trying out in our car.

catherine,
i bought the Strivectin stretchmark cream but haven try yet cos the stupid salesgal told me immediately after delivery can use... luckily i came back & read the instructions which says "not for pregnant or nursing mummies"... btw, earlier i asked my gynae whether can use SM cream while breastfeeding... she asked me to show her the product... i told her all the while im using the Clarins SM cream during preggie, she say Clarins ok... anyway, i have just re-started using Clarins SM cream for a week together with my new Clarins slimming oil, seems like the tummy area more moisturised now instead of very crumpled & dry looking earlier...

val,
read from ST a few days back abt an organiser for stroller BP nearly conned by her supplier with fake goods... buyers beware...

re : fenugreek
i stopped taking fenugreek last week as i was sick with fever & saw my supply was cut by half... after i recovered plus the drugstore.com goods came, i increase the dosage & saw some marked increase lei... duno whether got any connection or not...

snow,
are you organising oldnavy.com and babymallonline.com spree again? can i ask if the items normally come in big boxes & whether they accept international credit card or have to key in vpost address as billing address? got any promo or discount code now?