(2008/08) Aug 2008

vone / hisstory,
tks for the feedback on yaolan. Will bear that in mind.

Wondering if any 2nd-time mummy can advise if cradling/rocking bb to bed a phase that bb will pass?

Same prob encountered as all of u, just when I thought bb fell asleep and put her down in the cot, she starts to cry few min later. Really testing our patience.

Damn tiring for all the caregivers to keep carrying her to sleep, esp at night.
Think I gota come up w a night shift roster.

nini

yah. that is 400ml in 6hrs. i was frighten that i fast him still he cries for his next feed at 10plus yesterday morning. i Call my PD and he was shock that much amountwas given. Doctor ask me to observe his tummy for bloated and whether my boy will throw out. basically, dr say overfed may harm his heart.

hiakz.. not easy to be mum. so last night, i took ovr the care and i fed him at 11pm- 90ml, 2am 70ml, and 5am 100ml. i call PD this morning, he say overfed and cause a child to be fretful at night.

dongle,

YLN -normal mail pls.thanks
faerie - postage
Babywise - collection after confinement
valnsw - self collection
Cat
Shint - HB to collect
Yurri - postage
missysz
Luvlel
earnestmum
hisstory - collection after confinement

re: EBM ss
Really envy those of you with good ss. My boy is 4wks old already and my 3 hourly pump yield is still around 70ml. And I am actively trying fenugreek, organic mother's milk tea, drink water,etc. Nothing works for me!!! Next thing will be trying to get Domperidone from doc. If that still doesn't work, I might give up already.

I was just wondering...when you all say massage before pumping...does your bm start dripping? Do you still continue massaging and letting it drip? Cos the second I see dripping, I quickly stop cos don't want to waste...but not sure if I am doing it wrongly.

yuuri,

did u try green papaya fish soup or steam fish with green papaya. that's wat confinement lady cook. not enuff rest also will affect milk production. like last night after taking my boy, my milk production also gone down.

i am a first time mother so still abit blur in many thing. but i just worry that thing don't get out of hand under my confinement lady.

vone,
how much is the ergo carrier and where to get it? i tot of getting the MIM sling or the carrier.

hisstory,
how to resize the pic to smaller size? i tried to crop but i didn't work

Catherine
Yes I have exactly the same problem just a week back. Before that I was swaddling her up like a mummy everytime and then she started to protest and break free each time.. wiggle and wiggle until hands are out. Then put her down the cot, she will fuss and cry... this went on for 2-3 nites.... until i found a solution:- Let her sleep on her front. And she slept so well after that. Actually I not sure if sleeping front is good cos i heard some ppl say it will cause SIDS, whereas others say it makes the bb feel secure. So now I just put her to sleep on her front and make sure her nose is not blocked by anything.. but she also smart lah, she feels uncomfrtable she will cry one. Maybe you mite want to try this method.

Re Yaolan
I really dun support it but I think that time I told you gals that my MIL LOVES the yaolan so hor I bo pain, close one eye and let her put my #1 to sleep since she is the one taking care of him when i go to work. I refuse to get one for my place so heng my boy could adapt to both bed and sarong. I think some ppl say its no good cos it has very bad back support for the bb.

Huichin
Think need to be more diligent and pump more to keep supply up. I pump more often nowadays and manage about 200ml per pump.. compared to 100 ml a week ago! So keep trying ok?

faeriekim/babywise,
After your last feeding of the night, after you drink the DOM, u have any idea if the expressed milk after your drink can be given to the baby or must throw away cos I usually will wake up in the middle of the night to pump milk.

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
i joined ur club too. my bb also needs to be carried/cuddled to sleep...sigh... She just can't go to sleep on her own.
My CL said it's gonna be very shiong for us next time. so she advised us to get a yaolan. But I don't want to leh. I read that it's not good for bb's spine.
sigh...i also worry whether i can handle the night shift after my CL leaves..

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>
i remember u mentioned u pump diligently on every 12mn, 3am and 6am, right? How do u do it ar? I can't seem to wake up leh... Last night, i overslept again, slept straight for 5hrs. I'm such a lazy mommy leh

btw, i don't follow the confinement rules, I will drink alot alot of water, in addition to the red date drink. but i take warm/slight hot water lah. Maybe u wanna try that?

<font color="0000ff">huichin</font>
but my gal is big drinker mah. So i guess that's why mommy here must somehow be able to produce SS to bb's required amt.
hmmm...ur gal still drinking 60-70ml? i remember couple weeks ago u mentioned this amt also. No increase?

yeah, last time i got engorgement, that's why pump every 3hrs. then no more, that's why i got lazy :p.
but yeah, since we are still initial stage, we still need to pump every 3hrs to build up our SS. My fren said after abt 2mths, then we can drag longer the hours.

<font color="0000ff">Yuuri</font>
for me, I pump for 5mins, then I stop and then only I massage. coz like u mentioned, if massage in the beginning, alot of milk drip leh.

Valnsw
It is a phase, so dun worry cos my #1 was lidat. But maybe with my gal this time, I more or less know what their "pattern" will be like so hor I will do preventive measures. Like my hubby likes to carry my gal even tho she is not fussing so i will tell him to put her down unless she make noise.. I know he wants to bond with her but I dun want later she get the habit of the body warmth then want to be carried all the time. And then that day i saw my mum swaying from side to side while carrying her I was like " mummy pls dun...!" Hee.. so terrible hor but no choice cos we are the ones who will suffer in the end, : p

shay
Hmm.. Do u have any photo editing prog on ur PC?
Cropping may not work coz the img size may be too big to begin with.

Adobe or MS Picture Manager shd be able to help resize. There shd be a function to resize the img down to no more than 500 x 500 pixels..

U give it a try k?

Hi Huchin/mulberry/celynlee,
my milk supply also gg down cos pumping hours get longer. Din really get baby to katch on since i came back from hosipital. Now baby seems not to like latch on so I try to go back to breastfeeding today instead of pumping out my milk. Hopefully my milk supply will go up again. A bit stressed hor.

celynlee,
understand you feed your baby direct in the day. In that case, do you still pump your milk after each feed.

medusa,
I asked my frd who gave birth to her gal in May, and she said the same thing as u, letting bb lie on the tummy. Actually I find she's quite comfy when I carry her w her facing my back/shoulder and she rests her head on my shoulder, even when i'm seated on the bed and leaning my back against the headboard.
But as u said duno if this will cause SIDS.
I'm keeping fingers crossed that it will be a phase, since M2B said her #1 somehow managed to sleep well in the night just before full-mth.

mulberry,
sigh... like that how??? I told maid and all not to anyhow carry unless she cries v badly but my mum damn kancheong, hear her cry heart pain.
Sometimes I see her cry til the whole face damn red, I also buay tahan and just carry her.

krex,
you had been expressing your milk for one month? So happy for you that your baby din really mistake your nipple and the teat. Mainly on expressing milk can you maintain your milk ss. Thnk letting baby to latch on will maintain milk ss.

Valnsw
Yah I asked my sis also if it will cause SIDS then she ask me dun be so paranoid! Haha! But of cos we will want to know if it is harmful lor. My niece also slept on her front till she is a few months old so i think its ok lah. So long as we constantly check to make sure bb is ok, think quite safe? Like i will check to see, make sure her mittens not blocking her nose, etc..

Nini, thks for the tips! I will try that yea

Thanks Vone! Will go check it out! ehehe...

Medusa, Ya loh think must be more disciplined abit...hmm. 200ml is alot liao! i oso want! :p

Mulberry, ya loh, ur girl is a reall big drinker! LOL. Oh so far only slight increase only. Initially was 40-50ml. Nowadays i try to increase the amt she drinking bit by bit...see if can take it or not. Hahaa..me is kiasu..i mean as long she's drinking i'm fine...wat to do right! Ok i'll be more hardworking man...LOL

Cindy, let's jiayou together k!

<font color="0000ff">Cindy</font>
i remember ur SS very high one, like 150ml, right?. and ur bb is still very young (i mean younger than ours). so no worries for u, u still got time to build it up again.

my gal whom is 25days old is already drinking 120ml every 2 and a half to 3hours. So me quite stressed that i won't be able to meet her demand in future.
sigh...just have to try my best lah. my hubby said if cannot meet then just supplement her with FM lor.

i will let bb latch couple times a day and the rest of times, feed by bottle. After latch on, i will still pump out. coz my bb can't really empty my breast, so no choice need to pump out still.

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
sigh...i also dunno how liao. Hopefully it will be a phase that will pass....? or am i just wishful thinking?
same here, my Mom also super kancheong one. she cannot tahan to see my bb cry, will sure carry her. sigh...grandma spoiling her liao.
for me, i try to tahan her crying, but like u, if she cries too hard and face red red, i also will cave in :p

My CL leaving next Monday. I'm gonna look more n more like panda after that liao!

hisstory,
nt yet. my gal is still 2 small 2 put inside d carrier.
i used it 4 my boy previously till he's abt 2 yo. it was a lifesaver 4 me as he refused 2 sit in d pram when he was young.

valnsw,
tis phrase will pass. bt it takes time &amp; patience as our bb were rocked 2 sleep when they r in our wombs. wat we can do nw is 2 minimise rocking them 2 sleep. try 2 pat them 2 sleep so tt they'll get used 2 it.

yuuri,
cld it b coz u r stressed over ur milk supply? stress cld cause ur supply 2 dip. dun fret abt it okie. if it's nt enough, then supplement wif FM. who noes, ur supply might incr after tt.

shay,
i tink it's abt $150. i bought it fr 1 of d BP in d forum. bt note tt it's 2 yrs ago. so i dun noe whether d price had incr nw or nt.

My stiches not yet dissolved i think...still got one.. wound is healing when my 2 days ago visit to gynae. She snapped the one stich into two, now im feeling so painful still whenever i sit.. feel like something is biting there. I can feel the stitch when i wash my area.. Its one week already.. Should i wait or go back to gynae tomorrow??? The pain is quite unbearable...

cindy,
for my #1, i used to pump 2hrs after drinkin alcohol, be it DOM or anything else. using same mtd now.

yaolan:
my uncle feels tat the yaolan is good for the brain. cos his elder daughter slept in yaolan and he feels she's smarter than his younger son :p

the nanny taking care of my #1 has these few No-nos, no pacifier (cos afraid affect teeth growth n reliance), no yaolan (din ask her why), so naturally, i not tinking of tis extra 'equipment'. otherwise, wld have to buy 3 sets!

massage lady:
for those who had c-section, when did u start ur urut? and calling out to the one who tried n tested tis wonderful chinese lady, please pass me the contact.....

medusa15
how long have u put ur bb on the front to sleep? since u brought bb home? i want to do that too but my MIL keep saying bb will suffocate..my nephew used to sleep like that also ..nothing happened also..my bb everytime sleep ..arms wide wide one...so every little sound will get startled n wake up...not good leh..so, im trying to see got alternative method..maybe i will try letting bb sleep on front on see how..

full mth celebration:
ehh.... anyone else care to share their full-month celebration plans? hee... starting to tink now oredi. so fun!!!

vone,
Don't think I'm stressed ley...I already accepted the fact that I gotta supplement with FM. Everyday pump also keep hoping will see more..now at night don't even feel like wasting time pumping, but stil perservering for now. :p

Medusa &amp; Val,
When you put your babies on their tummies, do they lift up their head? My boy always lift up his head to turn left and right..look like a tortoise! haha

Huichin,
Let's jiayou x 3...

Mulberry,
Yah my supply used to be high at 140-150mil per 3 hrs pump. Now its like 120ml per 4-5 hrs pump. So gettin worried that it will go down. My baby only 13 days old so drink only like 60ml per feed. I must perserve so do all mummies here ya....

vone
IseeIsee.. Generally when can we start putting the bb into the sling?

NiNi
Might be due to the tightness of the stitches.. After my gynae snipped away the stitches, it felt so much better. U want to give ur gynae a call first? My gynae told me to take paracetamol instead of the strong painkillers if i felt pain..

faeriekim
U've got interesting plans for the full mth celebrations? Share leh..
I am thinking of where to hold it, totaling the numbers for relatives alone, HB &amp; I already have 100ppl.. *faint*

mulberry,
i set alarm on my hp and place it beside my bed. if i didn't wake up to off it, it will ring again after 9 mins. so i will sure wake up to off it. sometimes, i will sleep another 30 mins before i wake up to pump.

i have been following the confinement rules, had not bathe or wash hair todate. tomorrow, will have my first bath cos going to do rebonding. can't go out smelly right. heheh....

cindy,
yah, after i latch baby. i will still pump. usually, pump very little only. about 20-30ml but sometimes can get 50ml. i think when baby is not drinking a lot then can pump out more loh.

valnsw,
my CL also let my baby sleep on his tummy now. she say since baby know how to turn his head its ok to let me sleep on tummy. he does sleep better when he sleep on his tummy.

yuuri,
yah, my baby also. look like tortise hoh. he will lift up his buttock too. heheh....

hisstory,
re: sling
i oredi started when bb was a mth old, but my neighbour (who is a doctor) told me to stay away fm these slings for infants because it's bad for their neck/back support.... but i still continued to use it. hahha... it's juz cos i dun like her :p n oso cos i was carrying/supporting bb anyway, juz using less strength cos the sling did help to support bb's weight mah.

re: full month
no lah, i got no interesting plans lah. also, not such a big bash like urs! i juz like to order stuff. hee.. i've tried roomfordessert (wat catherine used) and i really liked their carrot cake! so, i've decided to use it for close friends n relatives (cake distribution). as for the buffet, tinking of kimchoo or neogarden. my friends said tat purple sage showy, but food not fantastic... then wondering whether to make some cute package for the 'general' guests or not...

i found the posting for the massage lady!! it's on aug. 6 archive, beri long ago.

krex, can share wif me ur chinese massage lady contact?

kel n M2B, dun mind sending me ur massage lady contacts as well? but believe they're malay? so, mebbe affected by hari raya as well. but, try anyway.

Re: Yao lan
I'm also quite against the idea of putting baby in yao lan but my MIL who's going to be the main care taker of the bb in the future loves yao lan so much..bb got cry put yao lan..bb no cry oso put yao lan..their theory is that by putting bb in yao lan..bb will feel secure as though someone is holding/cuddling them thus bb will sleep longer..they tried it on my bb when she's being cranky those few days but i dun feel that it works..so personally i feel that it's a habit that you introduce to the bb...sigh..but really very sian as after my materinity leave my MIL will surely 'introduce' this habit to my bb even though I'm now trying very hard not to let them put my BB in sarong

yuuri,
ic. nvm, u try ur best okie. a little bm is better than nothing.

hisstory,
u can put bb in d sling as soon as he/she's born.

cloudz,
u take care &amp; rest more okie.

I am back.. this is my birth story..

7.00am - Checked into hospital
8.30am - Pill inserted and did an VE check. Only 1 cm dilated... happily sleep for 2 hours
10.30am - Did another VE. Only 1.5cm!
2.00pm - started to feel the contraction but still bearable...
2.30pm - Cannot take it liao.. Call nurse for gas and called hubby to keep me company... Previously, ask him to wait in the waiting room so that I can take my nap.
3.30pm - Push into delivery ward.
5.53pm - Baby Joi was born with only 4 pushes...

induced delivery without epi. Weighing 3.36kg.. lenght: 53cm

When will the MS come in huh?? 3rd day already still nothing...

1669895.jpg

valnsw,
my baby also the same .. insist on being carried and after put down not long later will cry. sigh .. but i dont want to get yao lan. i read somewhere like the rocking movement if too hard is not good for the brain development.

huichin,
damn stress right ? they say cos our bed got our smell and the cot mattress cos new so no smell.. wah lau. i think i am going to lie on the cot mattress soon to get my smell.

I basically latch my baby gal based on demand without pumping out at all. Cos I worry I might be depressed if it does not meet my desire amount. PD mentioned that as long as she settled in after each feed and passing urine and stools well, it mean that she has enough. But recently I encountered problem with her stool. She has not been poo poo on a regular basis and have to rely on medicine to help her to poo, PD mentioned again its common for breastfeed babies not to poo regularly and some can even go up to 2 weeks!!

I do feed her with formulae everynight at around 12 plus, at least can last her for 4 hours. She's also the type that needs to be cuddled most of the time, so each time when she "complaint", I will latch her on. Even after feeding her with FM, if she doesnt sleep, I will latch her on. After few minutes, she will doze off and I will then gently put her back in her cot. This method works for me each time she get cranky..

Nini: does your baby cry when you or CL dun carry him? I also dun want to carry Amber too much as afraid become a habit and CL also dun like to carry. But when put her down on bed, she will start to fret. So no choice got to carry. Does your CL just let your boy cry or ??

Dongle: I will collect my stuff after my confinement from your place.

ReiRei: How do you treat your mastitis? I just took antibiotics but still got red patch. Did your doc tell you how long it takes to clear or need to disgnose for pus or not?

Confinement very jia lat!! I can't wait for it to be over. Another 14 days to go for me.

Medusa,
i thot we are told not to let bb sleep on her front ? I let her sleep on her front only if she is lying on top of me, but not on the bed.

huichin,
i have a pupsik, but i dono how to use. hahaha. but my fren use it very easily and say very good. but when i tried to put baby in, she wriggle and cry. so i take her out.

faeriekim,
the roomfordesserts cake when u order they charge u extra for drawing or having words on it. i had a very nice package done by babybliss. everyone loved it. will try upload pic.

cindy, i have been faithfully pumping my milk since my CL gave my bb formula when he came back from hospital. was a bit disappointed at first coz' she insisted that bb had to drink formula else will get jaundice, so i just let her feed lor. then subsequently, bb had no probs with milk bottle and when i tried to put him on the breast, he'd cry his lungs out. felt discouraged so stopped trying. today, one month later, decided to try and was surprised he did know how to latch on. but my boy is so impatient
i tried to latch him on just now and he cried so bad. only managed to let him suck for about 5 mins, then i gave up and gave him EBM. after that i expressed out my milk and only got 50ml. really dunno whether to continue trying or just give him alternate feeds of EBM and formula. sigh!

<font color="0000ff">huichin</font>
ur gal really a ladylike drinker ;)

<font color="0000ff">Cindy</font>
yeah let's jiayou together!

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>
i also bought Pupsik sling but I haven't used on my bb yet. :p

<font color="0000ff">faeriekim</font>
oh so Auntie Su also not available for ur massage? coz of puasa period?

<font color="0000ff">hisstory</font>
wow 100ppl? so many!
mine is this coming Sunday, but is just a small small party coz we don't have relatives here. and we're only inviting close frens. Good for me coz i dislikes big crowd :p

<font color="0000ff">Cloudz7</font> and <font color="0000ff">jo</font>
Congrats! welcome to motherhood

<font color="0000ff">jo</font>
my MS came on my 4th day. but i know some mommies came even later. Just remember to latch on ur bb or pump. Even if no milk also u must continue to do it. Your milk SS will come. Jiayou!

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>
u using Sony hp? coz mine also snooze for 9mins :p
sigh i'm really lazy leh, coz i will wake up and off it and then while holding the hp, i will doze off to sleep....hehe...

wah really salute u! u r such a good gal to follow all the confinement rules. I buay tahan and started taking shower on my day 6 liao coz had my massage then. so oily leh, cannot tahan lor.

missysz,
i didn't get your pm leh but i have pm you liao.

krex78,
don't give up yet. its ok to give fm. i started giving my boy fm (cos got a open tin to finish before 3 sep) yesterday too though i have enough to tbf. want him to get use to fm and also give me time to stock up ebm for him when i return to work.

mulberry,
i also doing full month this sun leh. also for friends only, didn't involve relatives cos will be too many liao. so the vain pot mummy is going to rebond hair tomorrow and if got time will do mani and pedicure too. hahah....

yah, me using sony hp. i had massage too from day 7. i try to tahan as much as possible lah but i on air con to 25-27 degrees to sleep. tomorrow will be the first day that i bathe. i'm a smelly mummy for my boy.