(2008/08) Aug 2008

Hisstory
Ok reast well these few days and take care. Dun worry we all get through it, so will you! : )

Jvenus
I forgot to add.. just 2 weeks before i popped, one nite my tummy was so painful I thot i want to pop... then i was tossing and turning in bed cos so painful and the pain was like really contractions... turned out it was a severe case of LS. : p
My hb that nite still so kan chiong want to send me to hospital cos thot it was time. Heng never lor else let ppl laugh!

Yuuri

Yes I do wear nursing bra at home cos now supply coming in..the milk will leak if I dun wear any. So I cannot got braless tho would like to cos so hot during confinement. I feel like I am on fire everyday

Interrace, valnsw,
Thanks! Getting abit impatient liao. It's being a long 40 weeks and 5 days. My first one was 40 weeks and 2 days.

jvenus,
yah i've been drinking dunno how many cups of milo every day. haha.. hmm.. abt 2 weeks before i had show and contractions i did went to the loo more often to poo. Then on the actual day, i did LS 1st when i felt contractions. It cld be a sign.

faeriekim,
hehee.. good good! Enjoy ur food now. Hubby asked me what i wan to do 1st thing after confinement, watch movie? I replied no, i wanna drink coke!

btw, mummies who are using the ameda breastpump, how do u sterilise the parts? Boiling water or use steriliser? Cos the booklet states boil in water, but im only have steriliser, no pot. Then the tubing just rinse with tap water?

Hahaa.. finally i took out the ameda bp... hands very 'sng' from using the avent manual pump. Always fall asleep pumping mechanically.

so sad, rumour has it tat there's gonna be a 4th mth of maternity tat we will miss cos it's either gonna start in sep or jan '09!!!

Faeriekim,

4th mth ML? aiyah so sad we will miss. Think confirm we will miss cos its not meant to entice women like us who are already gonna pop!! Its to entice those who havent try to conceive.

Happycat,
Oh dear, HFMD. You better take care too cos the last round i did get it fr my son. You are also past 40 weeks? Me too. EDD was yesterday but today i see gynae no sign no sound. Cervix also not dilated and no contraction. So next appt is on 20/08. Seems we all keeping fingers crossed for that date. My #1 also overdue by a week.

di u realise as ur bb grow day by day...they sleep lesser during the day? my bb always stay awake in the morning after bathing and only sleep in the afternoons...very tiring to pacify her the whole morning...she will 'eh eh eh' then have to go to her...lift her up a bit..put her down on bed..or walk her to the living room..etc...whole morning from 8 plus to 12 plus ..cannot do anything else...do ur have the same problem?

aurora
i will sterilise all parts except the valve daily..i put them in water ..then boil it...valve will sterilise once a week...other times when finish using ..just use soap water to rinse..

nursing bra
ya..wearing nursing bra at home cuz sometimes when latch on...the other nnp will leak..so if u dun wear nursing bra ..how? plus..now nnp also like bigger liao..i cannot wear my normal bras....think must buy more nursing bras liao...only have 4..

can i check for those of u who dun have confinement lady..how do ur manage at nites? my CL leaving this sat..me thinking how to manage with feeding bb(via bottle) and pumping...like dat like everyhour must wake up...or if not...wake up liao feed liao..then pump..wah..must take an hour like dat..n this will twice a nite..shag leh..

RTCP,
Wow! Looks like if first one overdue, second high chance of overdue too. Think our wombs very comfy... Wat a coincidence. Actually my appt suppose to be on Wed but was thinking of inducing on 20/8 (past 1 week liao) so will see her tomorrow instead.
Btw, wat's ur symptoms for HFMD? When did u have it after your son got it? My son is in his 5th day since contacting HFMD. Last check I dun have ulcers in my mouth cos' he only have few ulcers in his mouth. Healing though.

YLN,
ya my girl also stays awake long in the morning, make alot of noise and must carry her then she happy. I normally let her out of bed around 9+ then feed her, see her mood if she still sleepy or not, if not then i bathe her. she normally sleep about 12+ or latest 2pm. I dont have a CL and take care of her myself. But she has this habit of sleeping 9pm-12am or 1am. Been like that for past few days. So normally i will take this chance to nap. Then her feeds are 1+ 3+ 5+ 7+ (sometimes can even stretch to 3 hours). Usually after feed she will sleep back. I dont pump in the nights else wont get to sleep. Day time I latch her on then give fm to top up.

catherine..
i c...since u dun pump..its less hectic..but still hectic!..im thinking how im going to manage when CL leaves...die lar...only me n hubby..and the maid...but my maid sleep like pig...bb cry until loud loud also cannot hear one...so cannot rely on her to do nite feeds..so, i guess its just me and hubby...sigh..dunno how to take turns also...cuz my bb feeding time still abit erratic...sumtimes 1, 4, 7am...sumtime 12, 3, 6am...ur bb nite feedings time very 'zhun' one issit?

YLN,
How come you only sterilise the valve once a week? I thought the valve is the most 'contaminated' so I sterilise it every 2 times I use. The rest of the parts, I just dump into the steriliser everytime there are bottles to sterilise....maybe one day 3 times.

I don't have a confinement lady. What you can do is time the feeding and pumping one after another. So basically wake up to feed and pump at the same time. Either that or your hb gotta help. Sure have to wake up twice a night one...I realised the 2am timing I can wake up but hb cannot. The 5am one he wake up, but I'm dead already..

yuuri
thnks..think i will need to mobilise hubby..no choice...
as for the valve...Juliet told me that the valve no need to sterilise daily..just wash with soap n water can..so i follow...but my valve spoil very easily..sian..now using the one o stock up liao...dunno y it spoil so easily...mayb my maid very rough when washing...

4 months ML .... i oso heard ... but dunno when effective. Waiting to hear the speech tonite. Hearsay that it's Sep .... maybe tell bb dun come out till 1 Sep ... hahha. My EDD is 26 Aug ma ... so maybe can make it?

But i think i cannot make it cos my tummy super duper big liaoz and dunno how to move ard ... colleagues say take leave and stay at home and dun walk too much ... .torture manz.

What if they wait till next year? hhaa.

Happycat,
See u in TMC. Can PM me your contact if u wan.
I've got faerikim's contact. Nini?

Jvenus,
I give up on him liaoz but i still went to see him for scanning lor. Today i was there.

Last week I went, he said, oh u still dun wan to fix a date? i said no, cos my son kenna chicken pox and i dun have help for now. He then just tell me to make sure baby kick 10 times .... i was out in 3 mins. Hubby asking more questions about chicken pox and the potential risks, he told us to see GP next door and was rushing us out.

The previous week when i told him i dun wan to c-sect on the pre-scheduled date with him cos wan baby to come out later, he said that he's afraid my previous c-section wound would burst. i was like huh?
Next, he said ... oh, if u deliver at 3am, then it will cost alot more.
So does that mean that those natural ones all get charged double? cos they can deliver anytime.

Today he said tat i must schedule a date cos by EDD else dangerous. I know la ... anyway, i will deliver on 20 Aug .. and then inform him lor.

Jvenus,
Anyway today is the last time i see him. I only went to scan baby ok only ... anyway, the nurse there normally quite nice one but dunno why recently oso bo chap me .... maybe cos i dun wan to deliver so early? haha.

Last visit, I almost fainted at the clinic and was sitting there, looking quite bad, they oso din ask me if i am ok. TOday, made me wait damn bloody long. She told me 20-30 mins and ended up after 20 mins, i asked her how many more before my turn, she said 8.
If each one takes 5 mins, it'd take another 40 mins and oredi 20 mins passed. SO quite pissed.

YLN,
regarding the valve, oic. Yah maybe ask your maid to rinse gently in hot water better? Or else keep changing, very chor!
Yep sure gotta moblise hb to help with night feeds. Tell you ah, on our first 2 nights back home...my hb say wanna put our son up for adoption!!!! Then yesterday asking me for second baby liao...guess you will tune your body to wake up every night automatically!

YLN,
my maid also no use plus i dont entrust her enuf to feed baby. she once asked me "why baby cry ? I hear baby cry i also want to cry.. " hahaha..think she sound more like having post natal blues than me. night feeds only me cos usually after the 12/1am feed, hubby will zzz and then thats it for him. hahaha. actually ur baby 1/4/7 and 12/3/6 is about same time as mine .. about 2-3 hours gap.

Happycat,
Oh ya, the HFMD, do u need to inform the hospital? cos it can pass on rite?
Better check cos they may have some precautionary measures ... so many new borns there ... Your gynae is aware too rite?

I told my gynae about my son's chicken pox and he is aware ... anyway, I have not seen my son for almost 2 weeks already. Segregated him the moment he is confirmed down with chicken pox. Better take precautionary measures.

I am also not letting my son go hospital until he is fully recovered cos it's bad if he infects anyone and esp the newborns - they are too fragile. Well, he can see his Didi when didi is stronger and he is totally well.

YLN,
The advice from infantree is to sterilize the valve once a day and then to wash it gently in hot water. Dun use tap to run over it, spoil easily. tell your maid lor.

The tube oso dun need to wash cos it does not get in touch with the milk.

yuuri,
must wear nursing bra. breast become very big one. of all the nursing bra i got, find those ah ma looking best to wear. a bit regret to buy those padded one now.

dongle / yuuri,
I used the nail clipper for babies to cut my bb's fingernails. At first looks scary, duno if can cut properly, dun dare use too much force.
Ya, the nail like plastic! softer than ours.

jvenus,
For me few days before labor, I got tummy cramps and then I felt like wana poo alot. Pooed 3x a day for one day. Got show on the morning of labour. It depends on individual. When the contractions happen, you will knw for sure one. It will increase in intensity peak and then die off. Then prob few mins later will feel the same thing again.

Yuuri,
I wear nursing bra at home. Why leh? U going braless? ;P
I need wear nursing pads else milk will leak. Yday at ILs' place, wana feed her, then she dowana the left side, I forgot to clip back the bra and i felt something wet trickling down... stain my pants

YLN,
You shd get ur maid to feed ur bb but mb u can set alarm to wake up at the feed time to see if your maid responds to bb's cries.
IF your maid is heavy sleeper, she better set alarm clock to wake up in case bb cries for feed. Anyway, when bb is hungry, bb will cry and you will wake up anyway. That's for me.

storeberry

Not bad, after the Vpost charges, u still get it cheaper than in SG. Did ur gynae say when u wld pop?

NiNi

I thought u wanted a 20 Aug bb too? Why u going in on 19th?
Hope ur bb decides to arrive on 20th

val

What are the Ameda Supershields for?

aurora

*heheh* Thanks!! I think i might ask HB to smuggle coke into my room at night when my mum KOs.. I dun think i can live w/o a little of it

dongle

U're back fr delivering the cakes! *hehe* Chocz yah? Okie, i shall keep in mind.. So u delivered the chocz, and the vouchers too?

jvenus

Wow! Gd for u intend to work all the way.. My pelvis is hurting quite a fair bit, so it was also gd tt i took MC.
My next appt's only on Thur.. Wonder if I wld give the last appt a miss, if bb decides to come out on 20 Aug.. heehee
Standby with some of ur HB's shirts first? In case the BP stuff dun come in in time

Medusa

Thanks! Now tt I see so many of u here enjoying mummyhood, I think the labour pains aren't the most frightening.. Heehee

Happy Bday Snow!

Medusa: Oh wow ur BB is cuteeeee la! Aiyo...from the pictures off ur blog, i think she look more like ur hubby leh. HEHeheE...but will change one.

YLN, my BB's timing not very zhun oso. Depends on what time she drinks..haha...like for eg. if Falisha last drank at 10pm she will wake up at 1-2am for her next feed.

Yuuri, we have joined the Zombies' club la. Hahah...same la..but hor all the way i'm the NIGHT shift one, my hubby works, so he don't wake up at nite for helping her feeds one. So what i'm trying to do is during daytime, when BB's asleep in the afternn i will try to catch a cat's nap. 1 hr is better than nothin! LOL. I know sometimes waking up at nite for feeds is super tiring and pek chek, but what to do rite? LOL...btw what brand of pump r u using? I'm using the Medela electric mini single pump, there's this piece of rubber flap, i always remove that b4 i sterilise leh. Correct or not? I tot it would melt in the steriliser so i always take it out b4 sterilising it leh. LOL

Celyn,
You mean your ah ma type nursing bra no pad? Then nipples very obvious??

Val,
Yah I feel like going braless cos very hot! Actually breast leak, bra also doesn't help! Already got a few times my tee got 2 big wet patches in front...so malu!

Huichin,
I'm using Ameda so not sure abt Medela :p Check medela website for proper info? My hb also works but he still will wake up at night! Haha..lucky for me!

yuuri,
ah ma bra is good, cos you need to put breast pad anyway. with breast pad, fit well. those already padded one, hard to put breast pad. become too big liao and don't fit well. feel like getting hubby to go buy more back. only got 3 of them.

Happycat,

Yah, my gynae tell me very rare to be past EDD nowadays especially since we work, but my first and second also past lor. By the way, the clinic that diagnosed your child to have HFMD would have logged onto some website to register a case of HFMD.I know cos my whole family (HB, me and son) kena. Actually, my HB had it first and then pass on to my son. As my son was very upset, I carried him, played with him and sometimes he sneeze in my face. SO i know i high risk but didnt care.That was before i was pregnant with number two.

Yuuri,
Did you put the disposable nursing/breast pads to absorb the leakage? Else how come hv 2 wet patches on your T-shirt?

Anyone know about the new baby bonus?

The maternity leaves are now 16 weeks. Not sure about self-employed mummies.

sylvia

Not much details announced.. The additional 4 weeks can be taken during 1st year of birth.
Extension of childcare leave fr 2 days to now 6 days..
Have to wait for more statements, i believe, fr Wong Kan Seng

Yuuri: I hope so too... Had a big quarrel with him with I told him I wanna get the Medela PIS, he nearly go crazy I tell you.. Quarrelled till I cried, I slam the pillow at him, he slam back hard at me... And i am giving birth tomorrow!! So so so angry n upset i kept crying in bed n he punch my bed! (the sides) Sigh.. What a day!
After sometimes he then apologise to me... So sad lor! Quarrel over an breastpump... maybe he like to see me suffer la.. Sigh, i think i own him in my past life lah..

Hi Hisstory,

They stated non-paid leaves for the 6 days, which is on top of the annual leaves, rite?

Abit blur..

Hi Nini,

u ok?

Is he also very stress? Coz last sat, I attend the maternity seminar at vivocity. They mentioned guys sometimes will have stress coz dunno how to handle the new coming baby and changes at home. Especially when money is very tight.

If u need help, can go to alife ( http://www.alife.org.sg/)

Hope it helps.

Shint,
PM u my contact number. Will check with gynae tomorrow whether can induce tomorrow night. Hubby not too keen cos' worried too many people, not enough delivery rooms and beds. For me, I am not too worried. Who knows, might get free upgrade. hahaha...

<font color="0077aa">Hisstory: Was supposed to ask my fren to buy for me but abit troublesome for her to find the pump for me so decided to use Vpost. Was very convenient &amp; fast!

And do you know when is Wong Kan Seng's speech? I really hope it will be for us!</font>

Shint,
Ya my gynae is aware that my boy is down with HFMD. Think I dun have cos no signs till now. My boy already in his 5th day of having HFMD. Tomorrow with be his 6th. Recovery period between 7-10 days. Anyway, will inform hospital.
My boy will not be coming to hospital cos' scared that he dun wan to go back to mom's place.

I really pity you. Can't imagine not seeing your son for 2 weeks. I definitely going to miss him when I am in hospital.

RTCP,
When I brought my boy to see the doctor, he is still ok. My niece is the one that was down with HFMD. But since they both go to the same childcare and they are so close, I already expected the worst. True enough, the symptoms appear the next day.

Actually it is kind of funny that your hubby got it first. Usually the kid is the one.

NiNi

Hey ger, dun get into arguments now k? U must reserve ur energy for taking care of bb when u deliver tmrw/wed yah..
Since u're going to be at TMC tmrw, maybe u can ask the LC for their suggestions.. And if PIS really comes up better than Ameda, at least ur HB knows it's recommended by professionals?

Rest well tonight!!

storeberry &amp; sylvia

Some extracts:
1. Paid maternity leave will be extended from 12 weeks to 16 weeks, and the extra four weeks can be taken anytime during the baby's first year

2. larger baby bonus for first-time parents, more tax incentives to encourage mothers to work, more incentives for the fifth and subsequent children, and more financial support for couples who go for In-Vitro Fertilisation (IVF) treatment

3. Childcare leave, which can be claimed by either parent, will be extended from two to six days per year

4. one week of unpaid infant-care leave per year, and mums or dads can claim it until their child turns two years old.

Extracted from: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/369408/1/.html

Storberry: Dunno when Wong KS will release the statements.. Just have to keep up with the headlines in STs, i guess..

nini,
yar, pls dun get upset at tis time over the BP issue. wat hisstory said is rite, guys may tend to trust pros?

re: additional incentives
it's mentioned tat WKS (in charge or population policies) will release details later tis wk. *cross fingers and toes* everyone!

Happycat,
Watch out for fever loh ... nowadays so scary .... so many things to watch out for.

Me oso getting used to not seeing my #1 liaoz. What mades it tolerable is that he oso too young too bother .... he quite adaptable ... after few days oredi so happy at MIL place that he always tell me "I want to watch TV" and when i said "No", he will straightaway say "Bye Bye mama" and hang up the phone. I really so PEK CHEK but no choice cos cannot control. So i choose to live with it.

Now I guess, I dun really miss him that much cos he so BO SIM .... (after all the love, care and concern I showered on him and he so fast "forget" mama liaoz). Think when he comes back, i will have alot of "rework" with him and he'll want more attention. Now me thinking how to handle this new situation.

Yours only 7-10 days, mine is like 2 weeks liaoz and more to go.

Nini,
I've finally bought Ameda instead of PIS (after much research and contemplation) cos PIS is really too exp and more bulky and noisy in comparison. Apparently Ameda can do quite a good job too as compared to PIS.

Hubby oso think PIS too exp liaoz. even the Ameda oso he thinks it's exp but I rationalise that if I can bf .. then can save $$ on milk powder. Per week say $50 .. then within 2 months, can get back the $$ for the pump liaoz. If i do 3 months, then have cost savings manz. Furthermore, after that still can sell if bf does not work out. Like that, then he may be more convinced. For PIS, $700+ is really quite steep u ask me. I've read reviews that mommies who used both would think Ameda is more worth it.

If u'd want to consider Ameda, TMC's deal @$318 is good and if mothercare still has the 20% discount off the $350, then it's worth it (but I think it ended liaoz).

I think mommies using Ameda here are not complaining rite? Comments pls mommies ;)

Also, dun be stressed cos this will affect milk supply. Last time i used the Avent manual pump, it oso worked quite well. Electric pump is to make life easier for ourselves and get more rest.
The pump helps but does not determine if u have more milk.

We're supposed to be happy but due to stress of life, we may end up not. Nonetheless, do live with certain limitations (be it hubby's expectations, etc) and we'll be happier.

Prob we are more emotional now and cannot think logically ... i feel so cos i quarrelled with hubby big time 2 days ago over a towel! Do cool down and think what's the best approach to this based on your own situation.

Happy delivery ok? ;)

Why i am awake now? Hmm .... pre-delivery stress? hahaa.

No la, ate late lunch and no dinner last nite ... cos watching PM speech ma .... then now hungry, wake up to eat bread.

Think the perks only effective after Sep leh .... let's wait for WKS's press release. Hope to have 1 more month but then i think, won't i be too bored and scarly lose touch with working life? hahaa.

Nini, faerikim, happycat,
Wah ... u all checking in on 19 liaoz.... me only going in on 20th.

Mine is straightaway C-sect ... so vv fast. You all do induce rite? So it might take some time before you deliver.

Anyway, have a happy, safe and sound delivery.

Thanks Sylvia, hisstory, faerikim &amp; Shint~

im okay now.. Ya prob now being too emotional and cannot think logically. I agreed PIS is indeed very expensive..
But just dont like hubby challenged me, and threathened me saying if i buy, he wont go into the labour ward with me and saying things like he going to move back to his parents home. Thats why i got so upset cos he dont even care about how i feel. But last night everything okay liao. I told him he could talk nicely to me instead of hurling verbal abuse and threathening me like a babarian...
He did apologised to me n then bring me to jack's place for dinner.
Ahh, forgiven him liao.

Shint: wow u so late haven't sleep? haha..mus be feeling excited ya?
I woke up around 6plus then couldnt sleep back due to backache...xianz.. Ya checking in today..

Hi mummies!!
sorry to interupt..
I have a Quinny Zapp for sale.Still under warranty from Robinsons My daughter refuse to sit in it, have to buy another one for her. it comes with matching infant seat as well.
(Bright Pink for both )
email me if u r keen.