(2008/08) Aug 2008

snow

Ouch, dry skin.. *heheh* Fancl tense-up is a very practical pressie & be pretty mummy!
Dun worry, no intention of rushing bb to come out.. Gynae also doesn't seem like she wants to rush things..

val

Shint, Nini & Faeriekim all beat me to it.. And all their bb's will be born on the same day!
Will let everyone know when the action kicks in for me.. hahah

dongle

Wow, TBF.. I shall try to aim for tt too, whether direct latching or EBM. *heheh*
U're going out to deliver the cakes ah? Which confectioner did u use?

faeriekim

*Congrats* So exciting.. U're all prepared to go oredi?
Cham, my gynae never mentioned the word 'engaged' at all. Must check with her at coming appt!

shint,
i tot last nite got the chinese telecast? but i din watch, so dunno wat was said. tried to grab the papers today to see if anything was reported, but nothing oso....

how exciting, another mummy popping! jia you happymummy!

hisstory,
i dunno whether i'm prepared or not... keke... i'm those last-minute kinda person. so, i'll let u know how unprepared i am after my experience. yar, juz to make sure, juz check the vocab they use. not all of them say or want to say the same things.

dongle,
good u got the trf. btw, shld i send u my add oredi? then can send by postage once stuff arrives?
yar, me oso curious, which cake tiam u use for the man yue.

Snow
Happy birthday! Hope you get a nice pressie from yr hb

My gal's sleepin pattern also abit erratic. first few days she was awake from 12am-3am. Now abit better cos she sleeps and just wake up for nite feed every 2.5-3 hrs. But then i noticed she seems to sleep better with the fan on. So i no choice got to sacrifice and off air-con lor.. : (

Valnsw/ shay
I also went back to Dr heng for review last week and she also cut the thread but not too painful lah. I think this time my healing process seems a bit faster... maybe she never do the epi thing for me.. the one where they cut near the anus and V... I had that for my first birth and it was damn painful.....!

Anybody having problems with umbilical cord bleeding ah.. my gal's one already 10 days old and seems wanting to drop off... but then like got blood.. abit worried. Any mummies experiencing this? I clean with alcohol swaps and put the antiseptic powder...

shay,
she din apply powder for me, she said my wound abit damp, asked me put powder.
Duno why she needs cut the thread but I dun mind tat check-up cos at least wana knw e wound is ok.
Did she tell u when can go exercise and resume sex? haha... My brain totally blur after only few hrs of sleep so din ask her.
As for the next chk, I'm also thinking dun go back to her if only the pap smear.
I'm supposed to be back on 12 Sep for chk.

dongle,
agree w u tat e Ameda pumps e suction need to go v high then can feel e suction but after sometime, the nnp will feel pain lo.. I find my gal latch on better, not so painful. The trick is how to let her latch on properly. Cos ocassionally she will flail about when I put my nipple in front of her yet she frantically searching for it! V noti.

medusa,
my bb's umbilical cord dropped off after day 7, yours shd be soon. Ya, got dried blood there, so had to let her wear Pampers brand or those high-cut diapers to cover the tummy, else the blood will stain the bb's clothes.
I've kept my bb's umbilical cord in angpao first.

Anyway, yday went to ILs' place, HB's grandma (so she's like the great grandma liao) all there. Passed me jewellery and clothes for bb. Haiz... Adults are so realistic. When see bb cute, then will fuss over her. Then make tonic soup for me. haha

RE: immunisation chgs
I've compiled a spreadsheet of the GP/PD clinic and polyclinic chg for 6-in-1 jabs. POlyclinic only 5-in-1 jabs. Hope this helps. Sorry ah, think only helpful for mummies staying in the East. Cos I live there hehe..
mime_msexcel.gif
Charges for jabs
Immunisation charges.xls (15.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hahaha..seems like the mommies here popping pattern is batch by batch..haha!
Cos beginning of the month like so many popping! Then quiten down for a moment then now its our turn~! hehe

hisstory,fariekim: u also be at TMC?

faeriekim: i also not prepared leh..how to prepare?? I just take it as it comes.

storeberry: Ameda got 2 ranges? One is lactaline and the other one is purely yours?

I think if going for long term breastfeeding, it is necessary to invest in a good pump....$700 for PIS, use it at least 5x a day x 365 days = $$ worth!

Well, i dont know.. Ameda pump or PIS.. which is better?

valnsw: hey thats great! Nice to know ur in-laws are treating u n ur bb well!
I am very disappointed with my in-laws already, i moved back to my hse here for like 2 months already..they also never come n visit me or call me. MIL will call my hubby sometimes to ask how is he. The only "concern" my MIL shows is by asking "how is it? my grandson got kick u anot?" Thats all lor... So i dont depend on them to love my son or what. I am very sure next time my son will not be close to them. :p

valnsw,
glad tat everybody in the family has fallen in love wif bb. tat's really good! thx for the compilation! hee.. my 2cents worth of Baby &amp; Child (Dr. Ho &amp; Dr. Loke). i did feedback b4 quite early but i guess it's more applicable now. I find Dr. Loke more suitable for me in terms of her concern n explanation etc despite Dr. Ho being assigned to me initially. But the clinic is CROWDED, waiting time, if u r not carrying an infant, is at least 1 hr. i.e. esp if u r going on a wkend and dun hold 'no. 1' tag. it sometimes juz doesn't make sense tat i have to pay so much for a PD n yet wait wait wait...

nini,
yes, i will be at TMC. shint oso mah. dunno abt hisstory tho? hee.. prepared as in ur bags? i packing 1 for myself, 1 for bb.

Valnsw

Did Dr Heng say she will discuss with you on family planning next visit? Hehe.. She told me she will lor when i come back to her for my pap smear..she even gave me brochure on that.. wa liao... *blushes*

Reg umbilical cord.. I not sure leh cos my gal one not dried blood leh but fresh blood.. so abit scared...hb very kan chiong said better bring to doc to check tonite cos scared kena infected... : (

Yr in laws very nice lah.. at least they bother to do that. : )

<font color="0077aa">Hisstory &amp; Nini: Yes.Ameda Lactaline pump = Purely yours (Purely Yours is the name for USA pump). I am still around, just that busy to post here.. Keke.. Now in my 37weeks, bb is 2.8kg.

Snow: HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!</font>

faeriekim
thx.
2 days left nia, jia you! =)

hisstory
hee hee...ya lor, my skin look like need to iron after those water retention subsided. =P
ya, bb will noe when is their best date 1 lor.

happymummy
jia you!
will wait for ur gd news ya!

medusa
thx.
ai yo, then we can both enrol into panda mommies club liao lor. =P
but look at ur bb so cute, its worth it ya?

fariekim: need to pack what for bb? I thought hospital will provide everything? Cos i got a list given to me by the gynae, say no need to bring anything for bb as they will provide.

storeberry: oh ok, thanks! =) Btw i read from the sept thread, ur bb is in breech position n need to go for c-sec?? What is ur opinion? That time at my 38wk check up, my bb is head down but not engaged so my gynae ask me to consider c-sec! I wasnt prepared for c-sec so really xianz then..but my gynae say she will confirm with me on my 39wk checkup, if bb have engaged... perhaps bb is nottie.. :p Then during my 39th week, bb have enaged~ but not that fully engaged yet so gynae ask me to walk more, climb stairs or even try sex! But i choose the first one la.

ameda pump: someone mentioned it's hands free? how does that work?

bathing bb: my bb likes to be bathed. he never cries when properly handled but becoz i'm such a klutz, he ends up crying at brief moments when he's not feeling very secure or comfi :p

<font color="0077aa">Nini: I am asking gynae to give me one more week to decide &amp; am now counting on GOD to help me turn bb down. I really don't want to do c-sec cos all the while wanted natural birth! But one mummy told me that her fren chose a date for c-sec &amp; bb miracluously turned before the date!</font>

faeriekim

Same here.. Also the last minute sort of person, my HB's worst! I told him to take care of the documents, cannot ask him to take care of other things.. *hahah*

NiNi

Nopez, me at Mt A. U're going to do elective c-section or induction on 20 Aug?

Medusa

Ur ger has gorgeous eyes!!

snow

alamak.. Why u say u face needs to iron? Oooh, ur HB's back! Enjoy your day!!!

storeberry

Thought u went to pop oredi.. *heheh* IseeIsee.. Did u get the Ameda locally or fr US?

Snow

Yeah lor.. Sometimes when I look at her and think no matter how tired I am, at the end of the day it's all worth it..Hehe.
Wa yr hb so sweet... spend the rest of the day with you.. Enjoy!

Hisstory
Thks : )
Btw you still at work? When is yr edd? Sollie too many mummies here, I lost track when is yrs liao...So everything prepared liao?

Catherine
I ever ordered from continental before... Service is not bad.. I also needed halal caterer.
From my exp with catering, usually the food is more than enuff one.. so if for 60 guests, order 50 can liao... unless yr guests all big eaters!

Medusa
Nope, i have been resting since last week.. EDD's 29 Aug, next Fri

There are really many mummies here, and many like u have graduated.. heheh! Think the things at home are more or less settled, not my nerves and the hospital bag..

Re: Polyclinic Vaccination Fees

I just went to the Polyclinic this morning to test my boy's jaundice and saw the charges for vaccination fees. Thought it'd be a good reference for mummies here.

5-in-1 (4 doses)
Price per dose = $86.60
Package price = $290.40

6-in-1 (4 doses)
Price per dose = $86.60 - $107
Package price = $326.10

I don't really understand why the outside GPs and PDs say 6-in-1 is 3 doses...but the polyclinic one is 4 doses.

<font color="0077aa">Hisstory: I haven't pop yet!! Haha... I got Ameda from US &amp; got Vpost to sent over to me. slightly cheaper than S'pore.</font>

RTCP,
*Sigh* confirm HFMD. luckily mild case. Think on the road to recovery. Still proceeding with pregnancy though it's already overdue by 5 days already.

M2B,
Think may think of deliver on 20 Aug. Still monitoring my boy condition. Luckily still enough fluid and baby is growing. Last check is approx 3.6 - 3.9kg!! Btw, ur baby looks like who? Very cute..

Shint,
checked with gynae and she said most likely we have gotten it before when we are young. Of course try to avoid too much contact with my boy but he's a mommy's boy. Wat to do. Anyway, my hubby is helping to take care of him as much as possible.
Btw, where will u be delivering your baby? Most likely induce since no signs of labour. Come this wed I will be in my 41 week pregnancy liao. I'm thinking of 20 Aug too at TMC. Will check with gynae again tomorrow.

snow,
thx for encouragement!

nini,
no lah, i wanna bring the nice set of clothing tat my MIL gave for the bb's day out of hosp, plus a pretty receiving blanket. small face towel juz in case... not much lah, but juz some small things here n there.

hisstory,
wat docs we have to bring ah? hahha... i haven even done tat part yet. but i will put everything inside 1 bag n juz get him to carry tat bag when we admit.

cat,
medusa is correct. if got 60, order 50 enuf oredi. but mebbe it varies fm caterer to caterer. btw, if u have those countable items, like eclairs, then mebbe u'll be short, cos they'll oni give u the no. tat u ordered, i.e. in tis instance oni give u 50.

nini,
Don't worry la. Your ILs will prob fuss over your bb once he is born. Like what twin stars and Catherine said, their hearts will melt when they see the little one.

Medusa,
Your bb gal is v cute! she looks like she's gona be a tall gal. She looks abit Eurasian in fact.

Dr Heng nvr mention family planning, mb cos this is my #1, so prob wun b looking into it yet.

My gal's umbilical cord there also got abit of fresh blood so I just use the cord spirit dab at it to dry it up.

faeriekim,
thks for the feedback on Dr Ho and Dr Loke. I think I prob go to the New Upper Changi Rd GP clinic, the Dr Chong seems like quite a nice &amp; gentle guy. And that clinic is not so crowded tho it is abit small. At least fewer patients, fewer germs. keke

krex,
The Ameda pump itself is not handsfree. U need buy the Pumpin' pal which is a something u can hook on the flanges and then the other end u hang ard ur neck. Then let the suction pump suck from your nnp, then voila! you're handsfree. Pardon my description if not clr. The 1st time I wana use, I keh kiang nvr read instructions, end up 30min figuring out how to use -_-""

Yuuri,
Which polyclinic did you get the chgs from? If it's the West side, I guess I prob cannot travel all the way there. Cos I remember you live in the Central or West right?

Combing of bb's hair
Heh... I super blur. When can comb their hair? I think my bb still not much hair but I hv one hair comb set standby.

Cutting of bb's fingernails
Anybody start to cut? Cos I noticed one of my gal's fingernails abit pointed, thinking later to trim off abit.

storeberry: talk to bb, ask him dun be nottie.. Few mommies i heard, their bb only engaged on the labour!

happycat: u going for natural or c-sec? ur bb is chubby!

hisstory: im going for induce..but on the 19th Aug leh. hopefully bb pops after 12am..heehee

valnsw,
my baby's fingernails is sharp at birth. i haven't cut yet, use mitten on him to prevent him from scratching himself.

val, tks for clarifying. must buy from US website is it? how did u get yours? really dun have to remove bra or shirt? sounds too good to be true!

Nini,
Will try natural. Induce like the previous one via pill. Baby too chubby. Worried cannot natural birth. You going TMC too? Might bump into each other cos' if I'm planning for 20 Aug baby, will admit to TMC on 19 Aug around 11pm.

Nini,
Tomorrow morning will check with gynae. If like the previous one, once admit to TMC, will be put on pill around midnight. Hopefully, everything will proceed smoothly from there on.
I need 2 pills for my previous pregnancy. At around 8:30am, she broke my water bag then the contractions started coming fast.
Pray that this time round only need 1 and even shorter labour.

krex78/celynlee,
tks for the feedback on cleansing of nipple.
i also sorta just wipe with tissue, but just dunno how come my bro still got thrush lei...haiz.

aurora,
best lei u, super hygiene.

my boy feeds every 3hours, cos he programmed by the hospital after spending so many days in and out of hospital, but occassionally after feeding him the usual 60ml, he will still ask for more, than just got to give him another 30ml, but that's only occassionally ba, also dunno why he wants more at times and most times satisfied with 60mls.

congrats gayle

Jvenus,

i use both fan and aircon, cannot tahan the heat lah..

Snow74,
happy birthday!! bet is abit sian to spend birthday at home hor, nvm lah, after confinement then go and have a belated celebration with your hubby ba!

Yuuri,
No leh, the polyclinic at Tampines give me diff quote, dun allow package of 4 doses, must pay dose by dose more ex.
There is SingHealthb and NHG, so I guess it depends on which group the polyclinic falls under.

krex,
No need go USA to buy, mumsfairy sells it.
http://www.mumsfairy.com/product_info.php/products_id/56
Or you can get without the supershields:
http://www.mumsfairy.com/product_info.php/products_id/29

I got it under bundled promo at Motherhood fair in Mar, so it's cheaper. Think YLN or isit Yuuri also got the same bundle promo as me.
For me, I remove my bra when pumping with the Supershields.

celyn,
I buay tahan alrdy, I just cut cos that one really quite sharp. Altho I put mittens, I scared wait later the mittens fall off then she scratch herself. Her mittens always fall off!!!! Duno isit cos her arms too skinny, only the tightest mittens can cover the hands.

happycat,
Jia you! Waiting to hear your gd news!

valnsw/ yuuri,
Thanks for the advice on heat rash. Today i stop applying the calamine lotion. Hopefully the heat rash clears up these 2 days. if not i'll bring him to the PD near my place to have a look. But now still confinement, have to go out like a 'mummy'. Hahaaa...

celyn,
engorgement must be really painful. Take care! I think if let bb latch on more often will help ease the engorgement better than pumping.

little twin stars,
hope u are feeling better? Dun worry too much. Confinement ending le. Now confinement must 'bu' ur body. Try to drink some DOM if u feel cold easily. When r u celebrating ur bb's full mth? This Sat? Mine is this Sat. Can't wait to be 'released'! Im still undecided which caterer to engage. Are ur preparations done?

Gayle,
Congrats on the arrival of ur bb Evie!

hisstory, nini, Shint, Faeriekim, Jo, Jvenus, storeberry, kel and others waiting to pop,
jiayou!!! Soon u will be enjoying the joy of holding ur bb in ur arms!
But meanwhile, eat, drink and do whatever u like before confinement. I miss coke and ice-cream so much! :p

Snow,
happy birthday!
my boy also up and eh eh eh from 11pm to 4am last nite and wan milk milk every hour. So tired tt i told him sternly at 4am tt this is the last feed im giving him for the nite. He better sleep longer after this. Luckily he did and woke up at 7.30am. 3.5 hr of sleep for me. better than nothing. hahaaa.. sometimes think bb seems to comprehend what we are saying.

Shay,
my bb's bcg red spot showed up when he's 3 weeks old.

Medusa,
Darwisyah has nice head of hair! Looks like u?
Continue to treat the umbilical cord with the cord spirit and powder. Think a little bit of blood is ok, unless there's a strong stench then u need to consult ur PD.

interrace: thanks!

I talked to dh about getting the Medela PIS ($700) or Ameda Lactaline breastpump ($368) but hubby thinks its a total waste of money! He insisted i use the pigeon electric pump which he bought...

hisstory,
let's jiayou together towards TBF...

hisstory, faerie,
we used chocz for me &amp; HB's colleagues, prima deli cake voucher for muslim colleagues &amp; bengawan solo cake voucher for relatives/frens who came to our full month party yesterday... complicated hor...

faerie,
no prob.. you can email me yr address 1st...

medusa,
yr baby very cute, got such a sharp nose &amp; very black hair...

we called the level 6 nurse at gleneagles &amp; they say it's normal to have fresh blood when the unbilical cord just dropped off... just keep it dry &amp; continue to use alcohol swap to keep clean day &amp; night...

val,
ya lor, painful hor... hopefully our nnp will be immune soon... i cannot imagine that i have to do full day pumping when i go back to work next time
just now went back to office, my boss aledi hinted he want me back asap liao...

re:cutting of finger nails
during our antenatal class, mrs wong bb told us dun need to cut baby's finger nails as they will drop off themselves, if really want to cut, use scissors to cut when they are sleeping...

storeberry,
me too, bb was in a breech position &amp; had to undergo c-section during my week 38... however, during c-section found out i got fibroids so "soon pian" removed... my baby's head was big at 35cm ... so my gynae say maybe bcos of all these my baby cant turn down &amp; it turned out to be a blessing in disguise... dont worry la, let yr baby choose the most appropriate method to come out lor...

re; confinement
my confinement is going to be over on wednesday... this weekend can bring baby go out aledi

Nini,
Just keep the electric pumps you are interested in mind. My hb was like your hb, pre-baby I talke to him about getting a more expensive pump. He insisted no need, just try the pigeon one first. He thinks that other people just want to spend more on pumps without trying the cheaper ones. But after engorgement came, he saw me so xin ku, then kept asking me quickly go and buy whatever pump I want.

re: cutting of finger nails
Made my hb do it already! He said bb's nails like think plastic like that, very easy to cut. But to me, looks damn scary. Hb use baby scissors to cut and use file also! Haha..baby machiam manicure. But I feel he cut and file already still sharp sharp, so bb still has to wear mittens.

dongle: fibroids cant be detected during our usual ultrascan? My bb head also abit big leh...slightly bigger than the average..

<font color="0000ff">celyn, snow, valnsw, interrace</font>, thanks for replying abt the aircon. i think i will also use if i cannot tahan the heat. haha!

<font color="0000ff">snow</font>, happy birthday!

<font color="0000ff">hisstory</font>, no plans to take early leave yet. i will prob take mc on the days which i hv to see gynae. which is once a week. ha! will be going to tmc, how about you? i saw the BP section selling some nursing nightgowns. maybe just get from there lor. last time i used hb's shirt which he didn't want anymore. but now i go and dig, can't find! so no choice, hv to find alternative.

<font color="0000ff">shint</font>, so u hvn't delivered yet? did ur new gynae say anything? i told woody i dun want to induce, so he say wait lor. told me to count movements and call him if <10 or more sluggish. but i find it difficult to keep track leh.

<font color="0000ff">aurora</font>, yah, i'm eating ice-cream and drinking coke and coffee! confinement can drink milo right?

<font color="aa00aa">signs of labour</font>
those who hv popped (naturally), can share what symptoms u had before ur contractions start? i can't remember how my #1 was already. but now i keep going to toilet do big biz. is that a sign? sometimes tummy pain also, then i so worried it's labour starting.

dongle,
thx for sharing the mix-n-match scheme. haha... will send u my mailing addy 1st.

aurora,
i juz had my cake n mocha last nite fm starbucks! will have spizza tml delivered b4 checking in tmc. tonite, i will go get myself a nice slice of cake n another nice nice drink.... :D

jvenus,
i dun have the 'luxury' of experiencing it naturally cos last round oso induced. tis time round, the gynae told me i shld have experienced some contractions wifout me knowing it becos am oredi 2cm dilated. oops...

Aurora/ Dongle/ valnsw
Thanks : ) Dunno if she looks like me also.. haha! Cos actually my hb is malay and so maybe there is a mixture from 2 of us. As for the nose, definately not from me cos i have the typical chinese flat nose.. hehe.

Re cord:- Yah lor I saw got blood abit worried cos the cord seems to be droping off but then again got fresh blood until stain her clothes a bit.. I really hate cleaning the umbilical cord leh cos i so scared will hurt her but bo pian.. duno is it i pull too hard during cleaning so the blood come out.. anyways hb want to bring her back to doc to see cos he think better to check. Shall do that tonite.

Jvenus
Diff pregnancy diff I guess...Hee.
My # 1 was water bag burst. #2 was contractions start without any show or water bag burst. But I know that it sure feels like you want to go poo-poo