(2008/08) Aug 2008

avocado,
thanks for the advice. The thing is, if after 2 mths of direct latching, then i switch to expressing, later at bb's 4th mth, you mean still will have milk for bb to directly latch?
Pardon my blurness..

Breastfeeding Support Group
Shall we have a list of interested mummies and their target period? No stress but WHO recommends baby to be on BM for at least the first 6 months.
1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora
3. Celynlee
4. Storeberry
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr

I suppose it includes expressed breastmilk. hehe...

Val, actually edd stays put at 1st Aug. the dates i get keep brining forward is due to baby weight growing fast. Now my gynae stop measuring the weight coz he say not accurate liao. He onli take water level. So far stil ok, no sign of labour. gynae say not so soon think got to wait til 40 weeks.

jvenus

I am in same boat as valnsw. Would latch for first 2 months and then give the EBM as need to be back at work. I intend to give EBM atleast for a year and half. As would love to have another baby when my 1st one is about 2.5 years. I am not sure of this but my gyane said if you BF then you wont conceive.

would I be considered part of BF group?

Shall we have a list of interested mummies and their target period? No stress but WHO recommends baby to be on BM for at least the first 6 months.
1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora
3. Celynlee - hopefully more than 1 year
4. Storeberry
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr

Nini: Is there a need to soak the bb clothes for 2 hours? I was planning to just dump it in my washing machine leh... Kekek...

Krmeow: Don't think too much yah? Talk to bb & ask him/her to stay in mummy's tummy longer.

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora
3. Celynlee
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr

valnsw (valnsw)
not sure if affect supply cos I latch till 9mths old. only pump while at work. At home 100% time still latch. I find pump very troblesome cos I very lazy and so many parts to wash.

Valnsw,
It depends on individual on the milk bags. If you let your BB latch on then you may not need those unless you wanna pump out excess and keep.

I used quite a lot of BM storage bag last time coz everyday I have 2-3 excess bags of milk to store and what I do is I will mix everyday those fresh and frozen milk for my son (eg, if he needs total 8 packs of BM a day then I will give 5 fresh BM pump the same day one and mix with 3 packs of frozen BM). Since the milk bag cannot be recycled, I utilised quite a lot lo. After I stop pumping, my frozen EBM can still last 1.5 mths for my son.

Now I have bought 4 packs of pigeon bags (total 80pc - very ex coz $13.90 ea pack) and just order from spree 100pc - cheaper coz total only US$20.99). In case I have not enough milk then just give/sell away lo. *touch wood* hee. . .

Re: Breastfeeding
Like Valnsw, I'm also into bf but intend to let bb latch on till 2-3 mths. Prob once I start working, will feed bb ebm until he's 6-8 mths. Can i join the group?

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>, thank you!
Yes, I think EBM is fine too? I wun be keeping the placenta since no one is supportive.

<font color="0000ff">cocomo</font>, I pumped regularly but ultimately supply still drop leh. Maybe too long already (>2years). I threw away a lot of my FEBM cos all expire.

<font color="0000ff">mousse</font>, join us join us!

venus, count me in. my aim is 6 mths exclusive BM, 1 year possibly mixed with FM or solids. see first lah. if i can reach 6 mths, it's a milestone for me already, considering i work in a face paced job and my co has no facilities to express breast milk!

cocomo, are breast milk storage bags useful? my friend complains that it leaks. never seen pigeon ones b4 but i know the first years brand is selling it for $19+ a pack. so ex!

Thank you Avocado!

Second baby:

I know i am early in asking this question :p I am really enjoying the feeling of having a baby inside me :D

Any comments on what is the idle age gap between 2 kids? Considering both mom and babies.

Luvlel (luvlel)
Mine is 21 mths gap and GOSH, I am so tire and imagine my #1 is in a terrible 2 stage. I feel I have not really sleep for 2 yrs liao. Everyday survive on 4-5hrs sleep and I can be very alert cos my body already used to it. even on weekends.
I would feel 3 yr gap is nice.

Jvenus,
aiyo so waste you thrown the EBM, will feel very haert pain one hor. before expired just give your kid la. Can keep up to 3 mths but normally I will store only for 1 mth. For those > 1mth and cant finish one I will just give away. This round I am not sure if I can be so determine or not coz very troublesome to pump milk when outside lo. Then cannot go overseas gai gai etc. If my gal can latch on properly and dun bite me then it will be much easily as can let her latch on whenever we go lo.

lulve,
I am those when BF will not hit one so gynae suggest me to stop BF. But lotso my frens kena while BF. So it depends on individual.

krex,
So far pigeon one very good, never leak for my case. I saw most place selling $17+ per pack of 20pc. TMC now having 25% of so only $13+ so I just grap 4 packs. hee. . . I order online Lansinoh milk bag but never use this one before so dunno if it will leak or not, but this one cheap lo, 100pc only US$20.99. I dunno later anyone will organise the spree again or not so just order now. Me kia su one.

Avocado,
can still give now to #1 if got excess. Ya, must take care of diet, last time every day I drink fish+papaya soup till I wanna vomit when smell of it!!!!

Although I will be tfs to part time after ML, now I feel like taking 6 mths leave jst to be with my #1 and #2. was discussing with hubby what if I am not returning to work after ML or give 1 mth notice. sian. Maybe I will change job lor. I am afraid part time job (Tue-Thur) but the load is full time jobscope.

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora
3. Celynlee
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr

<font color="0000ff">krex</font>, my office also no place to express milk. so do quietly at a cubicle lor.

<font color="0000ff">cocomo</font>, yah, so heartpain. those were >6mths that's why bo bian, have to throw. first time throw, I tell hb dun let me see. 2 NTUC plastic bags. aiyoh.

<font color="0000ff">luvlel</font>, i tot 2YO is a nice gap. but when i wanted to try, hb dun want. so end up longer.

<font color="0000ff">avocado</font>, u can give EBM to older kids but not to younger kids. Eg, u have excess EBM, u cannot give to kids who are younger than the baby you are expressing for. Logic is because the EBM has tons of nutrients for a growing infant at the start but will adjust the nutrients as the baby grows up. So if still expressing for >1YO baby, the nutrients is not enough for a newborn infant (if you want to donate ur excess to people).

<font color="aa00aa">Breastfeeding Support Group</font>
1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora
3. Celynlee
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora
3. Celynlee
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora
3. Celynlee
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr

Avocado
Oh dear... mine will be exactly the same case as yrs... gap of 21 mths! Hmmm...my #1 is already showing signs of terrible 2s liao so nowadays i busy reading up on discipline methods... scared use hard approach will not be good, soft approach later spoil him... *headache*

Valnsw
Yeah I just got a mail from the organiser that she just got my bag and will be sending it out soon.. yeah!

Pregnant and breastfeeding
No.. never ever think that breastfeeding is a natural contraceptive.. I am one example. I was still breastfeeding my #1 when #2 was conceived.. But i know then lah cos gynae already warned me already that bf can still get pregnant.

Bfeeding group.
1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora
3. Celynlee
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months

Revision: -
Bfeeding group.
1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora
3. Celynlee
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr

Jvenus,
actually even if 1 eye blur, it's ok cos once with both eyes, they will get used to it. But now astig can be cured too. So unless you still need to wear glasses for the astig, i think it's ok to just leave it.

Bobianah,
I dont like dr low chai ling also. hahaha. think she just as overrated.. hahaha. in face she was in the news few mths ago for some of the pdt/methods she used which is not approved locally. She botox herself very often .. hahaa.. and like everytime before she attends a function she also does something to herself to make herself pretty.. hahaha. Let me know if you want Dr Chong's contact
She's a very nice lady.

cocomo,
what pump did u use ? Cos I'm still deciding on which medela model to buy. Deciding between the swing, mini electric and the PIS. But the PIS is so ex so dono want to spend so much or not.

Jvenus,
Pls add me on the list. But I havent decided how long to bf yet

Bfeeding group.
1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr

Bfeeding group.
1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months

Bfeeding group.
1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora
3. Celynlee
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace - 6mths
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr

re : breast feed
if can achieve 6mths will be great liao, cos my co also no place to express milk one wor.

re : tender after ML
did think abt it but will see how the situation is like and must consider the $$ factor.
actually even tot of gg for interviews during the 3mths ML...but dun think i will have the time to do so with baby.

cocomo, where to buy pigeon milk bags?

venus, how to do quietly at cubicle? i might be using manual pump leh. imagine can hear the squeeze squeeze sound for half an hour, haha. some more, got male colleague sitting opposite me, sigh.

luv, i'm planning to have #2 in 2011. trying to avoid tiger year coz' i hope #2 will be a girl. cannot grow up to be a fierce lady lah, haha.

wow! our bf list is definitely getting longer!

<font color="aa00aa">Breastfeeding Support Group</font>
1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace - 6 months
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
18. Catherine - still thinking how long...

ladies, thx for all the concerns. =)
i'll try to rest as much as possible, cos feel giddy almost whole day.
had tried to reply most of ur pm liao.

valnsw
yup, that excel sheet is final liao.
ecru color corduroy mary janes are oos. =(
beside u, happie orderred the same thing also.
i've less out the amt, and adjust the vpost base charge accordingly.

jvenus
i also wish to bf during my 1st gal time, but no milk supply no matter what my mum and cl fed me with. =P
end up gotta give up before my gal starve to death lor, lousy hor?
a few of my sis met the same problem, think it got something to do with gene bah...
so this round dun dare to commit anything liao, let nature take its course.

re : breast pump
what pump did u gals buy and why ?
me still looking at breast pumps, dunno want to buy manual or electric wor..since breastfeeding for 6mths nia, maybe manual is sufficient ? ie. the avent manual pump ?

<font color="0000ff">krex</font>, just be natural lor. i also hv male colleagues here and there. mine electric, the sound is louder some more. i will use jacket or shawl to cover up.

<font color="0000ff">cocomo</font>, i used avent milk bags.

<font color="0000ff">snow</font>, must try first then say. never say never.

<font color="0000ff">interrace</font>, i used PIS and avent isis. btw, i called cordlife. they say if i have tmc sbi card, then i cannot use the voucher.

<font color="aa00aa">re: Bfg as natural contraceptive</font>
my period came 3 months after i deliver but i still can produce bm for 2 years. not true that bf means no period.

Tingkat Lunch

Whah...cannot believe it...they actually give me 3 times chicken in dark soya sauce in 4 days...fainzzz...

Even though, I quite like this dish but then worry that taking too much dark soya sauce baby will be tan...have to complement with lots of soya milk !

Very weird coz my friend was telling me that they get more variety and dinner for them is good....wonder why they have different quality for lunch vs dinner.

Anyway, will just tahan one month since after that will be stuck with confinement food with lots of ginger and wine liao...

Eating Ginger after CSection

I also heard that if take ginger after caesearean will get keloid - overgrow of flesh at the wound area...

Was told if wanna take, can only take Shan Jiang (山姜), those ginger planted on the hill...but don't know where to buy that le...anybody know ?

Count me in too...

1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora - 1 year
3. Celynlee - > 1 year
4. Storeberry - >1 yr
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace - 6 months
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15 - 1 year
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr
11. valnsw - > 1 yr
12. Huichin - 1 yr
13. Krex78 - 6 months
14. YLN - 6 months
15. chipchip - 1 yr
16. Luvlel - 1.5 yrs
17. Mousse - 6 months
18. Catherine - still thinking how long...
19. BabyWise - Until baby self wean

Jvenus,
You're fast man!! I slept like a pig. Woke up only at 12pm. haha.. Suprise to see so many posting. Especially on BF!!!! (",) Good job!! Once we commited, die die also must try our best to fulfill our "goal"!!

Interrace,
manual no noise but may br tiring if pump for long. Then electric, noisy &amp; may suddenly "die" on you for awhile. But i'll still use my medela mine electric &amp; have an avent manual pump to stand by lor.. Both got gd &amp; bad. (",)

Btw,
Anyone has contacts, webbie to recommend for confinement food? nice &amp; not too ex. (",)

Snow
I love all the stuff! So happy : ))
You rest well ok?
As for bfeeding, dun pressure yrself. If can give, then give. If cannot also doesnt matter.
As long as you tried thats most impt.

Jvenus,
you're ftwm? Can share how you going to continue to bf after going back to work? Do you recommend any gd cooler bag or should I buy a mini freezer to put in office?

Mousse,

Alcohol intake while breastfeeding

I understand can if mix with confinement food can but make sure it is 'cook' with the dishes.

If wanna drink direct from bottle, advisable to drink after last feeding at night. And also make sure don't take too much otherwise mummy and baby might get alcohol intoxication...think Mrs Wong mentioned in her class that one spoonful is ok....