(2008/08) Aug 2008

Valnsw,

the PD in tampines is
Baby & Child Medical Group
828 Tampines Street 81 #01-238,
Singapore 520828
Tel : 67831955

bobianah,
I went to this doc @ Mt E called Dr Chong Lai Leng. My mom and my aunt got pigmentation problem and we've been seeing her for years since she was at National Skin Centre. But I only started last year cos I lazy. But many yrs ago I went to see Woffles Wu and he also recommend me same method of IPL. There mainly 2 methods for pigmentation and the one I choose is IPL. The downtime is only about 2-3 days. Need to go back every 2-3 mths. The other method is more painful but faster results, it's a form of laser which goes deeper into the skin. That one the downtime can be few weeks cos the skin will really look like bleeding and then a crust like skin will appear, harden then drop off.

Even removing of mole, etc she can also do. I got a few moles removed by her before. Painless

re: lasik
I got my lasik done i think about 10 years ago. That time lasik was relatively new and very ex. Each eye cost me $3500 then. Plus review etc I think i spent about 10K on it. And not many doctors do it. Now it's so cheap and common. It's really good

oooh..jus now i went to shave my nether region cos it has grown like lalang.. Then i was very shocked to see, i mean FEEL, how come my there left side feels so loose unlike last time both sides is fat fat one, then how come one side like so loose... i got a big shock!

am i not normal???

celyn,
Your hubby so understanding. tt's why i told hubby tt bf is not easy. he must support me. Sometimes men tend to think everything is natural and milk supply surely come. haha so naive...

val,
actually my hubby wun comment much on how i spend. It's me who feel a bit guilty tt I'm spending money on myself instead of saving it for bb.. haha but i console myself, saying it's 'push present' for myself lor. :p

mousse,
maybe u r right. I've seen my nephew reaching for my mum's breasts before. But if we dun let bb latch on after 6 months, will it affect our supply? Or is there any way to 'discipline' bb?

storeberry,
hehee... same same. I've tried to assemble the pumps recently. Shdn't be too difficult. I told hubby must have two cos manual pump is to help establish initial supply. then the electrical pump is more efficient after supply is established mah.

Kel,
hehe.. ur elder boy so cute! maybe he aspire to be a gynae when he grows up!

Catherine,
tt means u still look very slim! envy envy! Dun worry abt pple's comments as long as ur bb is developing well.

Jas,
I read somewhere that altho' there's no scientific proof tt hair-dye will affect breast milk, but most pple would still advise against it.

Catherine,
is the IPL treatment expensive? How many treatments did yo go thru to completely remove the pigmentation and moles?

avocado: err..i dont know also, just surprised to feel *there* have expanded n the lips felt loose... it was firmer before pregnancy.

Will check with my gynae next mon...

Hi nini,
I feel that way too. I guess it's due to fats in that area. Shouldn't be a prob. (",) But maybe you can check with your gynae for a peace of mind k.

aurora,
If my boys because a gynae then I "hao ming" lor.. haha

went for gynae check up yesterday... at week37+ (almost 38) , my bb weight is about 3.2kg...gynae said quite big..he is quite concerned that if i still dun deliver by week 40, which is end of the month, bb will be about 3.8kg, which is quite big. May be quite hard for natural delivery...bb may get stuck...my concern is even if natural can,i may get quite a bad tear..

so he suggested to induce in week 40, if still no sign of labour..but my concern is again, induce liao, may be hard for natural cuz bb will be big..so, now im considering C section in week 40 if still no sign...was a little disappointed when i heard about being induced..cuz i was expecting myself to go through a natural labour without any induce..
went home ..the more i thought about it, dunno y, the more upset i got...then i started crying...which sounds so silly now..:p

2 weeks from now seem to be so fast...me getting nervous and jumpy...yesterday, talked to my bb, and said dun let mummy so stressed...better come out early...wonder if she will understand...

i supposed nothing is wrong with being a big bb and going for a C section,but just that everything seem so sudden...so it was quite tramatising for me last nite..

YLN (doll_puppet) ,the scan weight is not very accurate, you can minus 300g to 500g cos normally bb is smaller weight when give birth

aurora,
I dono how many sessions before can fully remove the pigmentations. Sometimes it also depends on yourself on how deep and how much you want the doctor to "do" on the face. Cos it can be quite painful, so it depends on your threshold I guess. So far each session cost about 500+.

As for the mole, it's just a one time session. There are 2 ways to remove moles, depending on whether the mole is deeply rooted or not. One method is just "shaving" off the mole from the skin, but some moles may grow back. The other method is that they will do a small incision and remove even the root of the mole, but you will have a very very very small scar abt the size of the mole. I did the 1st method and so far the mole hasnt grown back

YLN,
dont worry so much.. maybe baby will decide to come out really soon
But do consider the csec part and discuss with your gynae cos of the size of baby, would the gynae recommend you for csec immediately rather than induce.

morning ladies!!

valnsw, i din come online ytd, will check for the pm tonite, why u pm me ah ? :p

re : breastfeeding support
am all for it, just hope we can support and share the ups and downs during the period of bf and taking care of our newborns.

re : loose lips down under
i dun dare to touch and feel the loseness wor. keke. just let it be ba, tot is part and parcel of preggieness.

YLN,
dun get too upset k, now still early, got time for baby to come out naturally, just pyscho her everyday. be good baby, work together with mommy to have a smooth and easy natural delivery.
maybe can try doing the exercise to stimulate labour? heard doing squats,climbling stairs, drink the raspberry tea, stimulate nipples and have sex will help ?

YLN,
one more thing to add, there are mommies who give birth to 4kg babies naturally, so if they can do it, so can u .
stay positive and dun worry too much k ?

thanks catherine.
do pm me after u got the contact of the 'master' from your cousin. work is busy and i cant come online so frequently.

morning ladies. =)
had not log in for few days, cos my gal down with flu lor.
gotta take care of her at nite, so day time mostly sleeping....so sleepy u noe?

roiv
ur bb so cute.

dongle
can see ur bb soon, so good.
at least dun need to wait at home like us liao lor. =P

m2b
so gd to hear that ur bb is alrite liao.
u on leave liao har? no wonder sent mail to u ganna bounced back...hee hee....
me now feel tired super easily leh, yesterday wanna log in also can't get out of bed.
hopefully can "dong" till at least 38th wk lor.

catherine
taka bb sale in 8th aug is a cruel news to me...ha ha....its my c-sect date.
think since GlenE is so near, maybe can get my hb to go help me buy things instead hor...hmm...
=P

YLN

*hugs* My gynae also says my bb will def be at least 3kg, and possibly hit 3.5kg at full term.. But dun fret k? My colleague delivered 2 of her kids and both weighed 4+kg at birth..

If u can walk, walk more, it apparently helps in delivering naturally. If not, at least u know u can plan for c-section. Guess if natural cannot, at least less stress abt emergency c-section

Hope u feel better today k?

Hi Aurora,
I'm not too sure myself... maybe pump ur bm and feed bb instead of latching? just sharing what i've seen and heard. 1st time mummy here, hee hee.. :p you may wanna check with RTCP as she has experience.

YLN,
Jia-You! we've alr come so far! reaching the finishing line soon! stay cheery & don't give up!!!

Catherine
I oso every thot of going to Woffles Wu but dunno if his pricing over inflated or not...haha!
Wah, the 2nd procedure sounds scary altho results are faster....i hv quite low threshold for pain...so i'll probably go for IPL. The results are good? I oso got some moles to remove. :p Good to know it's painless!
So the Dr you go to must be good since ur family trust her.
okok, I must take note. She very busy one isit? How long after delivery can we start on IPL? So exicted!

Re: Lasik
Ya, last time super ex! Now very cheap...for wat u do for one eye then, u can pay for 2 eyes now including follow-up, medication and all! :p

YLN
Dun worry to much. Just discuss with Dr Ong abt the best options. I think bb size depend on ur pelvic size. One of my fren is very petite so she kena c-sect. If u are not very petite, shd be ok. Hopefully bb will wanna come out soon.

morning mummies..

roiv..ur baby realli looks good
whats the name?

dongle..congrats..alas its sun if not when i am at Glen for checkup tis Sat, can see u

mummies who wanna try cloth diaper...take alook at this..someone forwarded to me..seems interesting

Currently we are running a promotion for our all new One-Size 3rd Generation Cloth Diaper. Details as follow:

Promotion Item : KS 3rd Generation One-Size Cloth Diaper (http://www.kasihkusayangku.com/index.php?l=product_detail&p=323)

Promotion Period : 16/7/08 - 31/7/08

Introductory Price : RM 49.90 + Free 2 inserts

Price After promotion: RM 55.90 (Include 2 inserts)

Value Pack of 3 (include 6 inserts) during promotion: RM 133

Value Pack of 3 (include 6 inserts) after promotion: RM 155

bobianah,
I feel that woffles wu abit overrated la.. unless you going for cosmetic surgery.. else for IPL, i think dont need to go to him la. I did one treatement of IPL with him many years ago. Face got "chao ta" feeling but not with Dr Chong. I think the results are quite good, but must be prepared that it's not a one time process.

Usually you go like 1/2 to 1 hour before and they apply cream on your face, then after that, it's like a laser beam light, feels abit like rubber band smack on the pigmentation spots. After the process, the areas will be red, but it's still bearable. I actually go shopping immediately after that :p Then about a day or 2 (depending on how intense you let the dr perform the IPL), the redness and swelling will be gone.

Her appointment ok la .. reasonable not very long queue. But she travels during the school holidays. I'm not sure how soon can do after delivery. I think shouldn't need to wait very long cos it's only the face ma.

thanks mummies...
i know i worry too much also..Dr Ong looked a little worried when he explained to me...so thats y i dun feel comfortable..but i think i must think positively ..knowing that many mummies also deliver bbs above 3.5kg naturally ..so,i think i shouldnt worry too much now...
Im about 1.67m...Dr ong said depends on the pelvic also...see can stretch anot..but he did mention my girl has very long limbs..so worried she may get stuck during natural delivery..

thats y im contemplating C section in week 40 rather than induce...any suggestions from mummies?

<font color="0000ff">interrace</font>, I got the voucher, thanks!

<font color="0000ff">kel</font>, I will most likely be BFg.
Great to know so many of us will be trying.

<font color="0000ff">storeberry</font>, I took some maternity photos together in the same session with some family shots. Maybe ur hb will prefer that?

<font color="0000ff">YLN</font>, don't be upset! I think it's quite common to deliver between 37-39 weeks. Ur gynae just providing u an option. My friend baby at birth 3.8kg, still come out by natural and she (the mummy) is just about S-M size. And yes, scan weight is just an estimate.

<font color="aa00aa">Re: lasik</font>
<font color="0000ff">bobianah, cat</font>, one of my eyes still blur. I think is because of the higher astigmatism on that eye when I did it. Dunno need to go for enhancement or not.

<font color="0000ff">avocado</font>, I'm with you for 2 years!

<font color="0000ff">YLN</font>, as far as I know, recovering from C-sect is no joke. Personally, I will prefer to try natural no matter what first.

Catherine
hehee! Ya, i oso thot he a bit overrated and will overcharge! The others I "heard" abt is Low Chai Ling, Valentin Low etc. But I refer pple recommend and share their experience. Wah "chao ta" feeling is awful!
Thanks for the explanation, I guess the downtime also depends on individual. I'm prepared that it's not a one-off procedure...afterall I look at my face hor...definitely need more then 1 session...wahahaha!
I think wat I'm concerned is how long our body will take to recover from delivery. Cos when I had #1, after a few weeks, I had a bad case of some strange rashes and had to take antihistamines. I'll see how. Maybe just go to the dr for initial assessment first. Can find Dr Chong on google ya?

Jvenus
I m also hoping for natural birth after inducing, but am worried if still cannot after inducing, then have to go for C section, then the pain will be like twice..and of cuz the cost will be much higher..

Roiv,
aiyo your BB so cute one!!! Is a she or he huh?

YLN,
Why not you throw the question back to your gynae? He is the expert and he should have a good judgment to whether you should induce in 30 or 40 weeks or it's better for you to go c-sect or natural. For my first pregnancy, my gyane told me better go c-sect (tho she is those prefer natural birth type) as she said most likely I am not able to deliver my son naturally due to my petit size. So I had c-sect the next day.

Jvenus,
Actually c-sect not that scarly la, I dun feel any pain after just 1 week. It depends on the gynae's skill. Someo f my fren had natuaral birth even take 2 weeks to recover as they had bad tear at the private part, they said everytime go toilet will feel very painful and need to be very clean there to prevent infection. But of course if can natural birth still better la coz you actually 'deliver' him/her and can see and bf him/her immediately. So sweet. . .

Re:Breastfeeding
I also 100% support this. But for my first pregnancy I pumped out 100% after 4mths coz my son very naughty and always bite me so I buai tahan the pain rather pump out. As long as you pump reguarly it will not affect your ss.

jvenus
yup, it took very long to recover from c-sect.
even after the wound recovered, u will still feel some pulling pain on and off....also dunno why.
but beside slow recovering on the mummy, no diff on the bb lor. =)

yln
emergency c-sect after failure in inducing can come out to a bill size of almost $6k in GlenE 3 yrs ago, and the pain is double.
i'm not sure about now, so u slow slow consider okie?

Good morning ladies

Had a little scare yesterday. After passing motion yesterday, I looked in the toilet bowl and saw that it was bloody. Couldn't figure out where the blood came from. Then felt my stomach go hard and had lower backache, but no bad cramps. Thought I better go KK to do a check up coz I thought bb not moving as much the last 2 days.

Monitored me for about 45 minutes but bb's heartbeat was a bit too steady (I didn't know bb's heartbeat was supposed to show more activity), so they transferred me to delivery suite room, told me I may have to stay over night depending on what my gyane said.

Was monitored for another hour, This time bb's heartbeat show more movement, but also show minor contractions! My gyane came up to take a look and probe at my V but said I not dilated yet. Whew! I was having this nightmare that I was going to go into labour and I haven't even got things ready!

Was prescribed medicine to stop contractions. But he warned me that if baby really ready to come out, then the medicine won't help, the contractions will come back. So must monitor for the next few days. But if really labour, he won't be stopping it also, coz I already at week 35.

Argghhh! Kept telling bb...cannot come out now coz her cot only arriving this weekend and I haven't finished washing her clothes yet. Not to mention still got work to tie up.

So now don't know if she is going to be a July or August baby...

aurora,
heheh.... i told him, we can save more $$ if i can bf longer. so the cost is cover too. but its not easy. i rather spend more $$ on something that is supposed or seems better then keep buying new set.

yln,
don't be upset. maybe baby will come out earlier.

snow74,
you must take care too.

Hi Good morning mummies

Snow
Thanks for yr mail. I will trf accrodingly and arrange with you on pick up of loot. Cant wait!
Hope yr gal is feeling better. My boy was also down with fever these 2 days...

Valnsw
I think you shd clear yr test liao..: )
I am done with medication already but dr heng mentioned that whatever it is since I had it before when during labour she will still need to put me on some antibiotic drip just to play safe. I check on internet and apparently that is the practice also.
My tote bag still haven come leh... I think shd be this week or next week..
I have been on a BP craze.. just went to buy crocs and also some customised bags for my boy and niece...hehe...

Jassie
Haha! For the V inserttion, you supposed to use it just before bedtime so you need to insert and lie in bed...else the thing cfm will come out one! : p
Aiyo waste yr $$

Re Breastfeeding:-
I hope I will have enuff supply this time to bf.. Dun worry we will support each other okie?

krmeow,
don't scare yourself ok. since your gynae say its ok to deliver baby now, then there is nothing much to worry about. if the cot doesn't come in time, then let baby sleep with you temporary or call to see if they can deliver it earlier for you. as for work, there is no end to it. it should be the last thing on our mind. when to deliver is also not our choice, maybe your boss will understand.

i had informed my boss that i can go into labour anytime. so that they won't be shocked when i didn't appear at work.

cocomo

i think next week i will ask him again when i see him, though i gathered from last nite's consultation that he wants to induce and try for natural first...but i scare pain and the long procedures if have to kena c section later...
my hubby also actually suggested to go straight for C section..dun induce..like that we can still maybe choose a date ...so, i think i will use these few days to consider....

kel,interrace: Ya i got a shock when i feel that..how come so lang lang now..

Just order Mac delivery online for breakfast, extra $3 for delivery charges..used to be $2!sigh! no choice im too lazy to go out..

Anyways, just washed bb clothes.. Using Pigeon Laudury Wash as recommended by mrs wong boi boi.. Soaking needs 2hrs..then washing.. then another round is coloured clothes.. soaking 2hrs..then washing.. Guess i cant go out today! :p

Btw, my hubby's cousin's daughter full-month celebration tmr.. Can we go? Got any pantang anot one cos im also delivering soon.... :p

so scary, i'm at week 36 this week, but still keeping my fingers crossed it'll be aug soon and then i can deliver bb. my next gynae appt is next fri. hopefully gynae will give me HL from 4 aug onwards, provided i haven't given birth by then :p the other day, i had a dream that i gave birth to bb on 16 july. luckily it has already passed and nothing happened...

Still feeling so tired even though I KO at 11pm+

Catherine,
Thanks for the PD contact!

YLN,
Fret not, think you can talk more to your baby to tell her to guai guai stay there. Else just trust what your gynae says. If really not feasible to go through natural birth, then better go C-sect. At least C-sect will be short and fast and probably less painful for you.

medusa,
I think your tote won't come so fast if you read the updates on the thread. The organiser is quite an ok person, don't worry. Just that you have to wait for her to consolidate all the parcels to be sent out at one shot. I had to wait about 2 weeks or so to get my bag cos it was being exchanged for a better one.

jas/medusa,
thanks for the info on the admission letter. I guess I will let Dr Heng present it to me. BTW, the CTG costs $50? I thought it was included in the package?

Aurora,
I know what you mean. I've been spending on baby, so I gave myself an excuse to buy something for myself. Cos cannot buy any nice clothes now as cannot squeeze into nice clothes.

Interrace,
I PMed you about your query on the Coach spree.

kmeow,
Pls take care and do monitor your situation closely. No joking matter. I also start to be abit kan chiong now hearing all the birth stories and not detecting any baby movement. Think I will be more vigilant too.

snow,
saw your email. Will sms u when I TT the $ to you and arrange a time to get from you. Noticed my order got one missing item. Is that the one that Babymall didn't ship over?

Good morning mommies,

Breastfeeding support:
Count me in!

Krmeow,
Dont worry. keep your cool and have fun with your baby. Guess baby would listen to mama

I have been experiencing tummy cramps+BH since middle of last nite.. on and off.. Should this be a concern??? im 35wks..

YLN,
Don't worry too much. Like what cocomo suggested, best person to give you professional advice is ur gynae. If she feel that you can still deliver normally, then go for it! I'm sure ur bb will cooperate with you. Jiayou!

Catherine,
Thanks for the info.

Nini,
If ur cramps is painful, then better see ur gynae soon cos it cld be pre-term labour.

Krmeow,
Take care and keep monitoring the situation. If possible, rest more and dun move abt too much. Ask r hubby to help with the washing and all.

Cocomo,
glad to know tt pumping will not affect the supply. Imagine! Establishing the initial supply oredi not easy... so must pump diligently hor? I told hubby that I'm going to be like a cow after delivery.

<font color="0000ff">cocomo</font>, I thought some do epidural c-sec also can bf immediately after birth? btw, c-sec got lochia discharge or not? I find pumping affect my supply.

<font color="0000ff">krmeow</font>, u are so funny! imagine telling baby not to come out yet because no bed and clothes. hehe.

<font color="0000ff">nini</font>, are the cramps very bad? maybe call ur gynae to ask?

<font color="aa00aa">Breastfeeding Support Group</font>
Shall we have a list of interested mummies and their target period? No stress but WHO recommends baby to be on BM for at least the first 6 months.
1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora
3. Celynlee
4. Storeberry
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15

No pressure on those going for FM. I'm totally fine if mummies choose to give FM due to various reasons ultimately.

Thanks aurora! It's not painful..just cramps..cos my gynae says before, if any pain n u can sleep..shouldnt be a problem.. Just feeling uncomfortable only..

NiNi,
think it is normal to have BH very frequent now. I have it for 2weeks now and 4 more days I will be 37weeks and seem like bb not ready to come out. I am the case of #2 later than #1

cocomo,
I've just PMed you. Actually, more to ask you if need to get alot of milk storage bags or not. Cos I think you getting some from spree? ;)

jvenus,
I saw your email ;) If I happen to pass by Harvey Norman, will get a form.
BTW, you mentioned BF for 6 mths, will that include feeding express breast milk (EBM)?
My mum actually asked me how long I intend to breastfeed. I think I will direct latch for 2 mths, then after that express out lo.
So am I considered to be part of the BF support group? heh...

jvenus / catherine,
so have you decided what to do with your placenta? I still thinking about it...

nini,
I get frequent BH but today bb seems abit less active. Don't know if it's cos I'm feeling more tired today. If you experience v bad cramps and it doesn't go away, best that you see your gynae. Better to be KS than regret later lo. At most is false alarm.

Ratatouille,
So is your EDD still 19 July? What did your doc say at your last check-up?

RE: trip after birth
Hubby was suggesting to go Taiwan end of year. When I said, if bring baby, how am I going to feed her ah? Then he kept quiet. Aiyo... I think maybe he wanted only 2 of us to go. But I also cannot bear to leave bb back in SG leh.
Any advice from mommies if bring bb along, how to feed ah? If I'm not latching her on, then can only FM right? Cos how to bring EBM over...???

Breastfeeding Support Group
Shall we have a list of interested mummies and their target period? No stress but WHO recommends baby to be on BM for at least the first 6 months.
1. Kel - 1 year
2. Aurora
3. Celynlee
4. Storeberry
5. RTCP - 1.5 years?
6. Interrace
7. Avocado - 2 years
8. Jvenus - 2 years
9. Medusa15
10.cocomo - hope > 1 yr

Jvenus,
Ai, I tried epi c-sect last time but it did not work well on me, I cant still feel the pain so gynae said need to go GA. Sian. . .

Aurora/Jvenus,
You have to pump regularly and constantly at same time lo. Dun skip any pump, else will reduce sunstantially. Before I established my ss I pump every 3 hourly, even middle of night without fail. Then slowly stretch the time to 4 hoursly etc. Initial stage is the most difficult stage, where when the milk not kick in then everyone think NO MILK and will stop. Mind have to be very firm lo. No milk still have to pump then it will generate milk soon coz of supply demand philo. but I din BF my son for very long la, only till he was 13 mth coz wanna try to 2nd one ma. This round hope can feed BOTH kids if possible. Last round I even provide BM for my fren's daughter who was hospitalised due to lung infection and doctor advice beta dun give antibiotic so my fren ask for my BM to boost up her immunisation. Hope this round my BM can be as much as last time. Let's gambate!!!

valnsw (valnsw) ,
You can latch while overseas. I bring my girl to australia when she is only 4mths and so convenient, just latch and no solid for her. Now bring her out not so convenient liao