(2008/08) Aug 2008

hisstory, yeah, the shawl generally is nice in terms of material and colour. but i guess it's too soon to tell if it'll be useful. i might end up bringing bb to nursing room or something next time to breastfeed. then dun even need shawl already, haha.

mul,
can still eat the steak la, just not the black pepper sauce lor. drink lots of water or some manuka honey? it works for me. of cos in moderation. take care

my malay massage lady told me that. Is it true? I am avoiding all kinds of massage now. Rubbing the tummy too often also cannot. then how to apply SM cream.

<font color="0000ff">twin stars</font>
yeah i remembered u said manuka honey is good. thus yesterday already bought 1 bottle
oopps...we cannot take too much manuka honey? i think i drank quite alot of manuka honey water yesterday.

<font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>
keke...twin stars is the one that 'tempted' me with Jack's Place steak.

<font color="0000ff">avocado</font>
me too never heard massage kneecap can cause contraction.

<font color="0000ff">YLN</font>
oh yes, this one i heard before. that's why when putting on oil/cream on our tummy, we are advise not to rub rub in circular motion so much.

twin stars

Oh First Thai.. I've been there
Good to go when it's not too hot! *heheh*
So making plans to dine at First Thai this weekend?

Can u jio ppl to go out with u anot?

krex

Tt's true, the nursing rooms wld also come in handy.. Which reminds me, I think the developers of Vivo didn't do a gd job with making the mall friendly for parents. Too few diaper changing &amp; nursing rooms, esp with the immense size of the mall.

avocado

Really? Massage the kneecap can cause tt? Interesting...

re: diaper rash cream
thanks for all the sharings! Seems like Destitin Creamy is most recommended.

Snow,
No prob, cos my gynae is at TMC so i'll just get it from there la. Dun wanna "rob" ur cream, hee. Thanks for being so kind =)

Krex,
I just bought baby cot from Baby Avenue, its some cherrywood cot @ $499, comes with mattress n bedding set too. Dont rem seeing got $200+ one le..think the cheapest i saw was 300+, some pinewood cot.

Re: Baby mattress
Is anyone getting or using Babysafe mattress? The bb cot i bought comes with a free mattress which claims to be breathable as well. Thinking of getting Babysafe mattress to replace it, but like abit wasted, since alrdy getting one free.

Re: IKEA Bedding set
Anyone has idea how much does a cot bedding set cost at Ikea? Heard its nice??

hisstory, i'm worse off. my co does not have nursing room, and my mtg rooms are very popular, so very difficult to book the room. i just discovered a nursing room at raffles city 3rd floor the other day. the room can be locked and there are electrical plugs. just that very leh cheh to walk out of office to raffles city. moreover, the room seems to be well utilised. once, i waited for a lactating mom to using the room and she seemed to have taken 1/2 an hour in there!!!

joanne, was the place on sale? i went there in may and saw this vanille cot that cost less than $300. is the mattress and bedding good? when are they delivering to your place? any delivery charges?

krex78,
i heard that you can get raspberry tea from a shop in forum at basement. but exactly where, i don't know. not very helpful info hoh. hehehe....

mul,
honey suppose to be "liang" right, so i don;t dare drink too much. max 3 cups if my voice is really very bad. a thing to note, must use plastic spoon for honey, metal no gd for stirring honey.for manuka honey must buy those +15 onwards type i think

hisstory,
no thai food for me, i need to be on a steak diet every wk till i give birth!

tt's y need to go jack;s place on sat n sun for dinner.....sian
hubby don;t allow me to even take cab alone! my side got construction works going on. he's very scared i will faint outside cos i almost did a few times during first tri es when i go shopping. that time no anemia somemore, now, u think he will let me leave the hse!
i'm under hse arrest

joanne,
u can use the free mattress for a playpen? then buy new ones for the cot?

<font color="0000ff">krex</font>
no, i haven't tried their raspberry tea before.
i only tried their Mother's Nutritious Tea 4 Two when i was TTCing last year.

i think raspberry tea can be bought off the shelve bah. i remember seeing it in a shop in United Square. Sorry can't remember the name of the shop. But it sells alot of health supplement, organic stuff, etc..

aiyah, i've been using metal spoon to make the honey water....okok, will use plastic spoon from now.
oh i bought it from my neighbourhood pharmacy, the saleslady told me preggies take +10 is enough, don't take +15 wor. thus I just followed her advise n bought the +10 one. hmm...i didn't ask her what's the reason.

Val/Yuuri,
Same as some mummies, I use warm water + cotton pad to wash my BB's butt. Dun like to use wipes as it has chemical on it, unless outside then no choice. As for baby body wash, I use Lactacyd (recommendated by Mrs Wong). It is no tear and non rinsable. Can get it from any pharmacy.

reirei,
I use desitin for my boy. You can buy the desitin from Drugstore spree. Has two types, blue and purple colour one, so get the blue one as the purple one contains zinc oxide which is not good for BB. Here is how they look like.
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=10747&amp;catid=19465

http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=10751&amp;catid=26911

You can also get the California Diaper rash cream as well, it is also good.

http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=54801&amp;catid=26109

Jassie,
Thanks for the link =) Sounds very reasonably priced, probably will pop over the wkend take a look. But ive alrdy 3 sets, think im obsessed w bedding sets!

krex,
certain things are on sale. According to the staff, its alrdy promo since comes w free mattress n bedding set. I topped up $20 to get e winne e pooh bedding set, cos i didnt like the free one. Figured out tt i'll at least use the winnie pooh one. Mattress wise, honestly i also dunno how to differentiate good or not good mattess le. Tts y was thinking of getting Babysafe. The owner of Baby Avenue claims its good enough, cos its latex and breathable, cant rem wat else he said. Somehow i just feel better buying things frm Baby Avenue, cos at least the shop looks clean n organised to me.

Lil twin star,
i haf no intentions on getting playpen le. tts y think its prob quie wasted if i get another babysafe mattress. Think sometimes i think too much, i believe we all grew up in some normal mattress, n not some BabySafe mattress. Nowadays too many choices.

mul,
strange, i was told the higher the + the better n the more ex also. mine is +25 i think. i recover very fast from manuka. on mon i had ulcers, drank barley for 2-3days continuously n also 1 cup of manuka a day n i'm well on wed or thurs. consider very fast liao

cocomo,
my nurse friend say zinc oxide is the component that prevents diaper rash although stronger, aiyo, how?

joanne,
oic, but nowadays parents are KS liao, everything must be the best, me burning a hole for my baby safe mattress. $400plus cos mine is customize

little twin stars,
wow, that's a lot.

i got a free cot together with mattress from friend. i also thought of buying babysafe mattress but i think its not very nice if my friend see it.

can buy babysafe at kiddy palace, they have 15% for non members and 20% off for members. the last time i saw at bb fair at expo in march, babysafe mattresses were at very attractive price.

celyn, joanne

becos of that mishka n maven bed, alot of things i cannot buy frm outside. almost everything can only buy from them. even my cot bumper n comforter set also need to buy from them $180 a set i think. very limited design also, really no choice, if given a second chance to rebuy............ but my hubby still likes their bed alot n keep justifying it. who ask us , too gan jiong, so fast buy, hubby la, it was love at first sight for him n he paid on the spot

like what missysz say, if KP got sale, go n get. i bot the baby safe pillow too

celyn/ mul, never mind. i'll drop by jasons the marketplace later. they sell lots of tea leaves there...maybe they will have raspberry tea.

joanne, what design do they provide for the free bedding set? does it come with cot sheet and protector? i think as long as the mattress looks decent, i won't buy another one lah. i already bought a cot set from aussino earlier as it was very cute and on offer. i was hoping they'll throw in a change station also. i find bb avenue ok only...nothing much to buy there and they only stock certain brands of strollers and car seats.

missy, what's so special about babysafe? i think i saw their shop also at motherhood fair in march. but didn't buy anything coz' too early.

was just reading the june thread....and some mum were talking abt the struggle to keep up milk supply etc..and feeling lousy...

hmm..perhaps we need to celebrate mother's day more meaningfully next time cos i think mummies not only need to cope physically but mentally theres so much we have to go thru too...3 cheers will not be enough

i hope when the day comes for us..in Aug..we will be there to help and encourage one another on....i definitely will like to hv tt support!
so i say thank u first ya...

krex,
in terms of what design they provide, think u got to go take a look, abit diff to describe, cos have a few to choose from. i prefer baby avenue to baby kingdom n the other one (cant rem name) cos find the rest too clustered, headache when i walk in.

Mulberry: You are so funny, ask hubby to "help"?? Kekeke..

Re: IKEA Bedding set
Joanne, can Ikea bedding fit normal bb beds?

Littletwinstars: Oh dear, so super bored now? Ask your DH to bring you out during the weekends!

little twin star,
Depends on how you use the rash cream. I usually apply on baby's butt after each change of diaper to prevent rash so better to use those without zinc oxide one. However, if your baby already has rash then can apply those cream with zinc oxide. That's why you see lotso mummies buy the blue one instead of purple one

megan, i wonder if we'll still have time to participate in this forum after i give birth. my friend who used to blog quite regularly posts entries once a fornight or month now. but of course, if all of us are still active, we'll definitely support one another in our journey in motherhood.

joanne, i think each place got its own unique qualities. i like bb hypermart coz' got a lot of strollers and car seats to explore. bb kingdom is so-so, the staff there are very pushy. bb avenue not much variety and they only carry limited brands. staff also don't provide a lot of sales support.

yeah manuka honey is suppose to be higher the better. but she say for preggies, don't take too high. *shrug* i also dunno... hee..nvm lah, since i buy that bottle already, just take it first. hopefully my voice can come back soon, else cannot go out shopping leh. or maybe i use sign language to 'talk' to the saleslady..? ahahaha

<font color="0000ff">cocomo</font> / <font color="0000ff">twin stars</font>
eh both Desitin Creamy (blue one) and Desitin Original (purple one) have zinc oxide lah. only thing is % of content is different. Creamy is 10% and Original is 40%.
it's the zinc oxide that causes it difficult to wipe off. that's why alot of mommies complain abt that for Original.
So i think that's why Creamy is the popular one and recommended by PDs also, coz it's zinc oxide content is quite low.

<font color="0000ff">Joanne</font>
my cot also comes with free mattress, suppose to be good also but of cos not famous like Babysafe.
yeah me also thinking we all survive on normal mattress..actually i think the mattress i slept in when i was bb is those very cheapo type...keke..
Anyways, i plan to use the mattress that comes with my cot ;)

<font color="0000ff">Megan</font>
me too got read June thread. i also hope all of us can encourage each other when the time comes for us

storeberry,
im not sure abt the IKEA bedding sets. Havent seen them yet. Will update u if i do pop over this wkend.

Mulberry,
Yeah, we also grew up well n all huh. I shall see how when the cot comes on monday

Megan,
it seems like breastfeeding is really not easy huh, infact sounds easy but tough in real fact. Support is impt =)

just got back from gynae visit. So tired was out since morning..

Rata,
pls update .. baby is 1.6kg @ 31 weeks. Me .. I put on another 1.7kg from 2 weeks :p Need to watch diet.

Went Robinson today .. nothing much on sale. So mummies can skip that place.

Baby has turned head down but not sure if she will turn again :p Baby got chubby cheeks like me .. later i upload my 4D scan. Movements have improved these last few days but still not as active as I want her to be. So still quite stressed sometimes when cannot feel her movements. And my placenta has moved up. But my 2 fibroids are still blocking the cesearan part, so gynae said will need to monitor and see how. 2 worse to worse scenarios would be ...
1) I have to go natural
2) Risk the surgery and go under GA.

stress .... k i go need to have dinner now .. will read thru rest of the thread later

Catherine,
Do you think worth doing the 4D scan? I am still thinking if I am gonna do or not? Hubby dun agree as he said waste money

Good that ur placenta has moved up! Dun worrry so much abt the fibroids, still couple of weeks to go so when time comes it might just move away.

re:desitin
I saw it on sale at Centrepoint's Guardian Pharmacy today. So i think should be quite easily available.

Megan,
I got the pupsik during taka baby fair. not sure will know how to use or not. But think will also get the baby bjorn active series. (the white color one)

Joanne,
I got the babysafe mattress for the playpen bassinet. As for the cot, I'll just use the free one they gave 1st and see how is it. no point waste it.

re: Gap
I went Centrepoint Gap again and bought 3 pairs of pants for baby. . hahaha ..

cocomo,
I cant say whether worth it or not... but it was a nice feeling to see the baby face. But again the clarity is very indiv, some mummies with lesser tummy fats will get clearer pictures. mine cos of the thick tummy FATS the picture is so so only. But still can see la. Gynae say for my face and daddy's nose.. hahaha. hubby said.. why so chubby ah .. then the gynae and I looked at him and said "chubby good ma" hahhaa.. later i upload mine and show u.

today received another free set of magazine and 4 pcs of free drypers diapers
Oh so now I have a spare copy of My Baby magazine. Cost is $8 to buy outside. Any mummies interested ? It's the current edition. Pls PM me .. sorry only 1 copy so see who reads this first lo.. hahaha

re: GD
so far my glucose got pass got fail la. but seems quite reasonable this week. Mostly all pass. But hubby ban me from eating durian he said dont take the risk.. so no durians for me and baby

krex

Wow, sounds so tricky.. Can suggest to someone IC of staff welfare to designate a corner in the office to EBM?
I have heard some ppl who are left with no choice but to do it fr their work cubicle, but under the nursing cover.. But some noise level wld be there, i think

twin stars

Coz u need the iron fr beef? Tze char version can anot? Otherwise when u've popped, i think when u see steak, u may turn green!!
Better stay hm &amp; maybe go out if someone can pick u.. If i were ur HB, i wld also fear tt u wld get ur fainting spells if u're alone.. Be a gd ger k?

Gynae visit today

At 29 weeks, bb's 1.3kg &amp; gynae says in breech position.. Gynae assured tt bb can still turn down, though she said for the last few scans, bb was already down.. *cross fingers &amp; toes*
Have put on 1kg since the last visit at 25 weeks.. Gd to hear! *heheh* Hopefully it wld not go up exponentially till the next visit

Dear Rata

If u're available this weekend, cld u help me update my details in the chart? Thanks!!
29 weeks - 1.3kg

hisstory,
my 29 weeks was also 1.3kg and was semi breeched cos baby was diagonal. But visit today she turned down already
thou gynae say may turn up again .. hahaha.

Twin Stars,
Here u go!
Sanrio flagship store @ Zen Level 5:
http://www.zen.co.th/thai/store_guide.htm
If i go, sure lug lots of tings back! heheh.. :p
U feel giddy ah..have u tried taking iron pills?
I'm supposed to take a pill every morning but always forgot cos i like to drink milk in the morning and not supposed to take iron &amp; calcium at the same time :p

Mulberry,
Is desitin the one dat the instructor at our antenatal class mentioned? She said sumfin like it's prescribed by PD..issit har?

re: bedding sets
I got a stupid qn..
Noticed dat the standard cot sheet is 28" by 57".
Does anyone know whether it can fit a cot that is 28" by 48"?

Halo MTBs!
On leave today coz hb just back last nite…brgt my gal to fetch daddy and guess what, she presented him with a colouring and a small handicraft…so sweet!

Snow,
Yap, I oso told myself must make sure I take it easy this time, have feed, dun have, FM then. :p

Dongle,
True, my hb has his good and bad points…his best point is he always take care of the household chores for our house. :p

Valnsw,
Then rbr to steer clear from stuff that make you puke…hate the feeling of puking man. Take care!

Twin Stars,
Hb gg Bangkok? Prepared your shopping list liao? Heehee
Hb bought me an Adiddas jacket, my fav perfume and a nice &amp; sleek hp pouch for me from Taiwan plus the nice moochi that I liked! Yummy! The puma shoes that she got for my gal oso nice but he very bad, never buy anything for the bb…

Catherine,
My gal was drinking Similac Excellence when young…1 coll recommend Enfalac if bb is small though…

Hisstory,
Enjoy your BKK trip! I’m looking fwd to HKG trip that my hb promised my gal after I deliver…he is saying in Nov/Dec…hope it materialise man…heehee

catherine

Ah.. Okieokie, *cross fingers &amp; toes* bb turns down.. Gynae assures there still is space. *heheh*

M2B
Ur ger is uber-sweet!! Really daddy's little ger leh..

Thanks!! HK during the end of the year is wonderful.. The weather wld be so great! Wld u be going with both ur gers or just u &amp; HB?
So excited for u..
Maybe I shall aim for 1 trip to HK next year too *heheh*

HI krex, i'm from the Dec group. Raspberry tea leaf can be bought from Vivo Mart 1st level vivocity, can't remember wh brand i bought, its a gold packaging. But don't take too early cos its supposed to cause contractions

Reirei,

cot sheets come in different sizes. Mainly:
28 X 56
28 X 52
28 X 48
28 X 48 (I think this one I see before)
24 X 48

and usually about 3" but also have some 4" ones

So if you buy fitted sheets, you buy according to the size of your mattress. If you buy something bigger, still can use but just that you need to tuck the extra material below the mattress.

Then playpen also have sizes, 2 different sizes. 26 X 38" and 28 X 41.

So it's good to know the size of your mattress and buy your fitted sheets according to the size for ideal fit

History,
I am not so sure, just heard before and share here.

Cocomo,
If ask me, I sure say not worth to do it now. Save the $ to plan insurance for the baby. I am planning to buy when #2 is born, just like my #1. Being a 2nd mother, we know more expenses to come when bb is born.