(2008/08) Aug 2008

amabel's mummy

Tt's true, it's the air tix which is troublesome and the cost involved in renewing the passport & work permit. What's ur HB's take on this?

He asked me to take 1 month leave lor if not let my in law take care two which i dont want cause i dont think they can handle as my girl very mischevious, now they help to take care my big girl, they already said they cannot tahan cos my girl very naughty and they won't know how to handle my expressed breastmilk when i breastfeeding my baby.

My hubby not very into changing new maid. But the agency told him that is cheaper to get new maid then renewing. I wondering y. But the agent said if got good maid then continue better cos good maid hard to come

hisstory, you got a maid also? Old or new one?

I had this terrible dream this morning. I woke up at 5am to find food to eat, then was watching kate & Jon plus 8 till 5.30am then tried to go back to sleep. Didn't go into deep sleep cos I know I kept waking up. Then I had this dream that my baby was born and so small that cannot fit into newborn clothes, needed to go quickly buy premie clothes to wear. And I was so sad ... dono sad the clothes cannot wear or sad baby small.. hahaha.. *faint*

Sounds really tricky.. I dun think u wld like to overtax ur ILs yah? Hmm, if u take another 1 mth, u have to inform ur boss.. Does ur boss know oredi? Maybe it's okie on ur boss's side

Ur maid unable to go back earlier, like while u're on ML, say Oct?

hisstory,

no she want to go back in Nov... shall talk to her again but think she quite insist to go back in Nov cos her parent want her to go back in Nov also.

I really not sure my boss will let me take one month leave or not cos she cant have without someone to help her and my replacement will leave in Nov.

msapple,
actually hor .. if she go back and get married, would she still want to come back ? Tell her to be honest with you because it would cause alot of disruption for you.

In my opinion, just get a new maid and train her esp since u have this period of ML to do it personally. Better than getting a new one in Nov when you already need to be back at work. Sometimes maids feel that they are irreplaceable so they remand for things. If it was me, I will explain my situation to the existing maid telling her why Nov is out. So if she wants to go, then it's Sept or Oct. Else timing would not permit. Because even during this period she away is also inconvenience for you with 2 to look after. Also I feel there is high risk she go back then later she might not wana come back. So better take precautionary measure.

catherine

U're so funny.. Heheh, am sure it's coz bb's small k? Coz bb can grow bigger! *heheh*

amabel's mummy

Hmm, *cross fingers & toes* for u tt ur maid & boss will somehow make some changes to their plans, then less headache for u
*hugs*

Catherine, so corny leh! Haha.. Yah man, I tried to find the size on the diaper but don't have wor... I got the baby toiletries at Ocean (People park complex) not Cheong Choon. Cheong Choon is a baby shop at Chinatown, opp OG that sells alot of baby items, like milk bottles, teats, strollers, cot (But not alot on display & quite a small shop but there are brochures to browse. You can check out the items at dept store then call them to check on price, some are cheaper than bb hypermart.), fisher & price rockers & stuffs & leap frog ones, breast pumps, thermometers, steriliser..etc.

Hisstory: Here is the address:
Cheong Choon Store
Blk 34 Up Cross St #03-132 Singapore 050034
Tel : 6532 3855

Amabe;'s mummy: Think the best for you would be to take another mth leave or do a compromise & ask your maid to go mid Oct & come back mid Nov, at least you don't need to take a whole mth leave?

missysz,
ya retraining is very headache.. but sooner or later have to cos the maid wont stay forever ma. At least this time you have 3 mths to watch over new maid. Better than Nov ur maid go and say dont want to come back.. more stress. sometimes really hate the feeling of like kena "hostage situation" by the maids.

Ratatouille ,
Thks, I am fine now. No more spotting and bleeding and gynae already told me NO MORE SHOPPING. But I have not bought my Pigeon PES Bottles leh.So this weekend must go walk walk a bit at Taka to get it.

Snow74,
Iam not a Robinson card member.

Annabel mummy
I have been silent reader and seldom update but decided to write something.

Same as you, i have a maid who has been with me since my son was born and can take care of him v well. I have some issues with her (use hp until the bill is $400; Go to neighbour's hse till 1 a.m. and didnt come hm until i went to call her back) but just like your HB, my HB keep thinking I "sheng zai fu zhong bu zhi fu" and that our maid is good. I think becos man are scared of trouble so they always choose easy way out. So when i suggest changing maid when her contract expired in April, my HB and i major disagreemtn. In the end, since i have another one coming, i decided to stick to "the devil I know".

My advice to you is to go and change one now. I see my MIL and SIL keep changing maids every two years and not much problem with new maids so maybe we also must have faith we will find the rite one. I sometimes regret not biting the bullet and just change.

Regarding what the agent said abt renewing maid is more expensive than getting a new maid, it is completely true. If I went to maid agency, I just pay agency fee (abt $288?), work permit fee (about $70) and I get a new maid. Costs like medical insurance, personal accident insurance and bond guarantee, you have to pay regardless of new maid or old maid. So when I extended the contract of my current maid, i have to renew the insrance as well. Furthermore, I buy air ticket for the maid to go home (around $400). I have to pay her salary even when she is not working that 2 weeks (around $200) and I have to apply to philippines embassy for:
-employemnt contract
-proof of employment
-exit pass
-FDW membership
and all sorts of nonsense that came up to $200 plus also.

So, it is cheaper to get new maid!!

will go gynae this sat and will update my bb wt. Last visit was abt 800 plus gram but I see a lot of babies around 1.5kg at 32 weeks so keeping fingers crossed my baby also put on so much wt. My wt gain to date is 6.5 kg so am quite happy with keeping it under control!!

Thanks mommies for all the reply and comment.

Actually I sort of agree with what Catherine (dardar63) and RTCP said. That is what my friend (I named her as 'Z'good at handling maid, trained maid in agency and childcare before, she is professional) said. She list out all the con about my situation whch is very true. But I got to dicuss with my husband cos he quite insist to keep the maid as he think that if the maid wanna continue just let her continue, if send her back suddenly like very bad to the maid since they need work to survive, that is y i hesitated also.
I just had a long chat with Z, she is going to transfer her new maid to a good employer (the maid is with her for about 3 months), her previous maid (with her for 20 months, the maid wanna to continue to work with her one) go back to hometown cos she send her back as her old maid 'chu pattern', give a bit of attitude. Now her old maid want to come back to work for her, keep calling from hometown to her, beg her to accept her and keep apologies to her said that she dun dare already. Her old maid very good at taking care baby and housework, Z trained her to be a very good one already. I find her maid very very good. Z is the one who treat me how to trained my maid to take care baby and cook baby food. So after much consideration, she decided to let the old maid come back to work for her since she is going to open a childcare centre, she need a very good and capable maid which she trained before to assist and help her too. So her current maid, 'Z' have to help her find a good employer cause that maid is also very good, she already tranied her for 3 months, and she said her attitude very good, really very concentrate in working cos she need money to survive and raise up her two kid, so she very hardworking and willing to learn. Can prepare baby food very well same for adult food, willing to accept command etc. She trained her to be a good one so I think is a very good idea to change maid and take her one.
Now is just that how am I going to let my husband accept the idea of changing maid and at the same time let the my old maid know if really intend to change. I just feel so bad to my existing maid, cos she is not bad also, just that sometime she moody, she will give a face which i really dont like and she started demand thing like want 1 day leave every month if she continue and very demand like quite insist to go back on November, I dont want to be control by her. Moreover it is really a risk that she may come back suddenly or come back but suddenly preggies since she is there to get married.

valnsw: Sorry for missing out the gathering....
I receieved your email but I didnt get your contact no. so unable to contact you.
I can still attend at 3.30pm but i m not sure how to contact you all or have u all left already since so late liao.

Had a VERY bad stomachache n LS last night after eating the 'hor fun' bought @People's park there!
But my hubby eat ok ley, but he buy back for me to eat, after less than 1hr my stomach starts to bloated n cramping, n i had such a hard time in the toilet..Keep on LS...
My hubby gave me eat 2 acidopilous (1 acidopilous = 20 yakult!) to kill the bacteria inside n i felt better afterwards..slept @2.30am!

avocado,

i think the steriod jab should be 100 + or 200+ for 2 jabs . not too sure bout the price coz i've taken it durin my hospital stay. But frm wat i've breakdown frm the medi receipt, it should b round there. however I think diff hospital/ gynae should hav diff price.
U takin the jab too ?

hey anyone mummy here going to engage Dr Belinda at Mt E for ur PD?

sigh..tis thing abt chu pattern..I scare my agent chu pattern..suppose to hv my maid on 21st June now agent say previous owner releasing her on 13th so want me to take her earlier but I cant..i scare agent chu pattern later give this maid away then I end up with naught but I not ready for 13th..and its Friday..urgh..

for those that have or r employing Filipino maids, is there a website i can go to that list down the rules n regulations for employment?
my present agent tells me even if the maid breaks her contract to go back before 2yrs, i have to pay for her airticket back. and that i cannot hold $500 of her salary just in case she decides to go back before her contract. i don't feel comfortable with this arrangement as that is not wat other agents told me.

any advice?

msapple,
I think maids cannot be spoilt, esp since now she already asking you for 1 off day a mth to continue. Means she already demanding for things and one after another they will just come. And I also agree,men sometimes they just want an easy way out of things. But I think you should explain the situation to him and work out which is best. Dont put yourself in a situation whereby you are hostage to the maid's demands.

And like missyz said, Z's current maid sounds good lei .. hahaha. sure alot of people want.

RTCP,
wah .. your maid really too much lei. Like that also can tahan ??!!

hmm..i think if never fulfil contract no need pay their airfare right? unless its us who terminates...but dun think can abt the holding back of $500...

little twin starts,
if the maid breaks her contract, then why hould you pay for the ticket ? If that case then all maids can anytime break the contract and as employers we all at disadvantage. If the maid breaks the contract before the 2 years, SHE is to pay for her own ticket back and pay back the agency the loan if any.
This should be irregardless of whatever country they come from. It's only fair to us as employers. My prev indo maid, she was the one that wanted to break the contract to go back, so she had to pay for her own ticket back. It's stated in the contract. Even for my this current filipino one, same thing. Contact stated 2 years and if she breaks then she has to pay for her ticket back. But nothing stating about holding back $500 of her salary. I dont have this clause.

megan,
if u don;t hold back the $500, if she wants to go home n say se has no money, how?

catherine,
that;s what i told the agent, but she took out a list of labour laws and said employers cannot hold the maid against their will, even if they wanna break contract, we are responsible for sending her back. the agency loan is between agent n them, that i don;t care but what makes me uneasy is the fact that the law states that, and the maid can come here for a 2 mth holiday and say she is homesick and wanna go home!!! and we have to pay 4 her to go home n pay for another new maid's insurance etc.

my agent insist it's a new law that the airticket back can only be a contract between the maid n us n not with the agent. and only if the maid is willing to sign it. i find that too much la

me back from the lunch and gynae check-up. So happy to collect my loot from snow. But I gained 4 kg from the past 5 wks since my last check-up
I think I better watch my weight already, think the weight gain out of control alrdy.

Ratatouille,
When you are free, can you help to update? My bb's weight is 1.286kg at wk30. Thanks!

nini,
oh dear, hope you are better and rest at home. Sorry, I didn't manage to see your post and email as I went out around 10.30am.

annabel's mommy,
Like what RTCP and Catherine said, think you should just change maid. Last time, my mum had this maid, who after her 2 years is up, said she ok to stay on but then she started to show pattern and said her parents missed her and want to go home for 1 mth before she come back to SG to work again.
My mum suspected something wrong, so she just played along and pretended she ok to let her go back to her hometown and then come back to SG after a mth.
Actually, my mum just sent her back on the plane and got replacement maid cos she doesn't trust the maid to keep her word to come back SG.

You just have to tell the maid that either she goes back before Nov else you will get replacement maid.

lunch @ paragon,
ladies it was nice meeting u girls for food n drinks

M2B,
thanks for giving me the 2 receiving blankets. yr girl is very pretty and manage to keep herself entertained while we talk. u have trained her well, hehe
i've been eyeing on yr watch, very nice lei. where u buy it from? it looks like my hubby's IWC watch. if i get that, can be a couple watch liao :p

snow,
thanks once again for organizing the spree. like wat i sms u, my hubby is very happy with the merchandise and said it's so much more worth than buying from the shops ,hehe

valnsw, happycat n hisstory
it was nice chatting with u girls.
hope u guys enjoy yr shopping today. thank god i didn;t join, i went home n had a bad dizzy fainting spell. so much for skipping my vits........just skip my vits this morn and kena like that. sigh

update us if there is any good buys okie

M2B,
I've just PMed you. Pls check your email.
Yup, your gal v pretty and cute!

Re: Gathering
It was good meeting you all and thanks to snow for organising the sprees!

happycat,
Do I owe you anything for the lunch? I paid $14 for my share, hope it's enough to cover.

little twin stars,
ya the law doesn't make sense to me cos then it doesnt protect us as employers. Sometimes these agencies they very cunning one. So don't trust their words. Also ask your agency which labor law, ask her for more details. I checked the MOM website, nothing stated there. Best is to write to MOM to ask them at least then you have black and white from MOM for your agent.

Snow, Valnsw, Hisstory, Happycat & Twin Stars,
Nice meeting up just now! Had a great chat with all of you! Brgt my gal to the Paragon playgd and then to Taka Toys Fair to get a toy for her…after that head home liao coz tired…

Snow,
Thanks for organizing the sprees…really so happy to see my harvest man! Now my gal wants to keep the red dog rattle to herself liao so if you organizing another 1, I need to order another again…

Rata,
Cheer up ok? Your EDD in mid Jul so very fast, you will see bb liao. Dun worry too much.

Twin Stars,
My watch is from Esprit which I got quite some time ago…actually it is men’s watch but I liked it so much…imagine me and my sisters each got 1 leh…heehee…not ex, think abt $250…

My gal well-behaved ah? Ok lah, I’m quite happy that she can sit with us for almost 3hrs man…maybe coz she knows later will be her play time and shopping time…heehee

Valnsw,
I PM you the contacts now.

Thanks for the compliments on my gal but every1 said she looks like my hb...only those who never see my hb will say she looks like me...heehee

catherine,
thanks for helping me look up the MOM laws. i read thru the contract which i have not signed. the contract is drafted by the company the terms for the maid. n they state that the employer shall bear the cost of repatriating the FDW back to her town. so it's drafted by the agency and not required by the law. lucky we never sign that. if they insist on such ridiculous law, we will not use them even though the maid is already here

M2B,
Did you PM me from your yahoo account? cos I received one email from yahoo account but I thought your PM email is some other email address.

Oh yea, for the tinylove cot bumper you know how long the 20% off is for? thinking if want to get it too.

Just now hanging all the bb clothes from the purchases with the hangers.

M2B,
I got your PM already. Hmm, got PM from somebody else, scratching my head to figure out who it is.

I probably call one of the contacts you gave me.

Happy weekend to all the mummies out here!

Valnsw,
Metro is having 20% off blue-tag dun know until when though...since I saw it so I might as well get it.

Twin Stars,
Yup, Esprit watch. :p

Now gg to give way to my gal for her to play games liao...heehee

little twin star,
Ya if that is the case then that is not really an actual law but maybe just the agency wants to shift the responsibilites.

catherine,
the agent said the agreement is set by net maid, ( as they get the maid from them ) agent insist that mom's law states that we are to pay for repatriating. she said she will print for us to see wo. but she also say that the maid agrees to our terms of signing a separate contract with us stating she pays for her own air-ticket back if she breaks the contract and the $500 saving.

sigh, haven come in already so many terms n condition to sort out. i better draft out all our terms liao. lucky we never blur blur sign anything

I keep having tummy hardening all day today... maybe my stomachache haven't really recovered. Wonder why it affect bb anot? I suspect the eggs in the hor fun not fresh or not thorougly cooked enough....

nini,
please take care.

i think my new diet plan for diabetes is causing me to suffer from constipation. never had it since i'm pregnant. i just had a bottle of yakult though i'm not suppose to. hopefully it will help for the constipation.

little twin star,
ya but repatriating depends on the reason also ma. If the employer rejects her then of cos the employer pay. But if the maid just decides she want to go anytime then why must employer pay. My prev maid whom wanted to break the bond, when she cannot find any other transfer employer, she paid for her own airticket back. Cos it's not that I dont want her, but it's she who dont want to work.

Snow, Valnsw, Happycat, Twin Stars & M2B

Really nice meeting up with all you mummies, even though it was such a short while..

Val: Such a pity, I missed meeting up with u..

M2B: Ur ger is such a good ger! And she has such beautiful eyes

snow: Thanks so much for organising the spree!! Really appreciate all the efforts, though I look fwd to another, I'm sure we can still wait till we pop.. This time, I will aim for the pretty little shoes tt M2B got *heheheh*

twin stars: Gosh, u better rest well for today & rem to pop ur pills

Hi mummies..was jus wondering if anyone here knows of the best price for a Maclaren Techno XT right now with the sales going on...It doesnt have to be the latest model...

Anyone bought one lately?

sorry to budge in. I have 2 preloved medela pumps which i would like to let go asap:
1. Medela Swing warranty till 15 june, letting go at $220. comes with cooler bag.
2. Mini Electric letting go at $50.
i can arrange to bring it to your place

pls pm me for enquires.

Hi, went for the fair think the only freebie was one can of Friso milk powder for mtb/breastfeeding mummies. Pampers was slightly cheaper. Rustic nirvana also there. But yeah didnt see much of bottles & stuff, no Avent.

Just had a scan yest, baby weighs 1.6kg @ 29 weeks.
Ratatouille kindly help me update, thx!

i notice today my legs look swollen
very upset

mummies, anyone experience this already ? After delivery will the swelling go down ? I already sleep with my feet on pillows.. any other things to do to reduce the swelling ?