(2008/08) Aug 2008

Catherine,
initially planned to take back and eat it but after my cousin told me that her prenatal course trainer told her that is not good to eat it, missysz you remember what is the reason that my cousin told me about the placenta?? I even asked my gynae to noted down that i wanna take back but now i think no.

catherine
ya, think some1 mentioned before that its good for skin also.
not so sure, but u gotta noe how to dry it and kinda stuffs ya?

Amabel's mommy, Huichin, Catherine
Thanks... heee : )) I will be updating more posts and pics soon so stay tuned : )
As for shaving of the head... dunno leh but according to some muslim scholars it is good to shave the bb's head for 40 weeks so that they will be smart.. Hee, so I just try for fun lah : )

Snow
Ok pmed you liao. We arrange another meet up.. Yeah I think I went on a mad shopping spree... paiseh *blushes*

Missyz
Pmed you liao

snow74,
i think it's not the drying part but the cleaning part. You must know how to remove all the veins on the placenta..then clean it with coke (like how we clean the pig kidney/stomach) then after that a faster and more hygenic way is to bake it in the oven. If sun dry than more tendious and not so hygenic.

msapple,
ya i'm curious why your cousin was told not to eat it.

medusa
thx.
no need paiseh lah, me also buying like siao lor.
now no place to hide thing, hopefully the new wardrobe quick quick come....hee hee.....

luvlel
is there a sudden change in ur diet? =(
cos even when i'm on no carbo diet the prev preg, i also gained weight during 3rd tri only.

catherine
exactly, the whole process of doing it.
i saw in another thread somewhere that the process is not easy.

Amabel's mommy
You still look so good even when pregnant! Really is a piao liang mama : )
Btw how old is Amabel? She is kewt, so sweet! Awwww~

Catherine
Yr blog done up very nicely : ) I love yr mini washing machine! It really looks like an egg : )

Huichin
Nice blog you have! Keep the pics and posts coming : )

Snow74,

It could be the diet as I am following what the dietician has told me now due to Gestational Diabetics.

I have an appointment on 11th june with Dr too.

luvlel
ya, then that must be the problem.
there is a sudden change in ur diet now, that is why ur body dun have enough carbo as it used to digest.
when u can digest more than ur intake, u will lose weight lor.
as long as the bb inside is gaining weight and healthy now.
dun worry, 2.5 more mths to go only. =)

Catherine,
U've gotten the orbit baby?? Did u get it frm centrepoint mothercare or where? howmuch u pay ar? Cos im thinking of getting that as well, but apparently only mothercare at centrepoint carries tt, n they totally out of stock, nt even the display piece

Gayle,
Wow, im impressed with your enthusiasm! Ur bb's room look so cute, so girlish, nice =) Even her clothes r so neatly arranged alrdy. Mine's just in one big pile still, think id better buck up soon, hee.

Medusa: Thks! hahaa..have added a link ur blog liao! hehee..

Catherine: OMG the placenta handling really looks gross...LOL

Re: diapers
My boy can use up to 8 diapers per day when NB (breastfeed that time). Think formula feed baby tent to pee and poo less. TMC did provide one NB pampers premium for my boy last time.

Medusa,
Can PM me your blog as well? Thanks.

joanne,
Ya I've ordered the Orbit baby. Now whole sg no stock. Cant remember the exact amt. Cos I ordered the Infant + Toddler + Rocker + the accessories pack. I think 2K+ Should be less than 3K. The stock will come end July. You can order from Mothercare cos only they carry. I know the saleslady at the parkway outlet quite well, if you want I give you her name and contact number ask her to call you when stock arrive. Or you can come see my set when I get it. Cos sometimes at mothercare they dont display the entire set. Even last time when I see sometimes they only put the infant set, sometimes they only put the toddler set. Rocker no display one.

medusa,

Can pm me your blog? Thanks.

Amabel's mommy, can share with me your blog too? i have just pm u the link.

Gayle,

Wow, your ger's room is so sweet. Nice effort!

Re: diaper

Ya, agree with cocomo, think about 8 diapers a day, at least, for bf baby. If I remember correctly, think my ger poo about 4 - 5 times a day when she was total bf.

Thanks Catherine.. I do the heading pic myself.. I search for pictures on the internet and design it myself.. spend about an hour on it...

Gayle, I like your room! Mine got nothing... hubby don want to do.

Mummies with blog.. Please pm me your bloglink as well...I am very interested to see too... Please indicate if I can have your permission to put your link to mine...

Looks like lots of mummies have their blogs. I'm such a lazy person to start one.

Catherine,
I've heard of people bringing the placenta to traditional chinese medicine halls to process the placenta and grind to powder and put into capsules. I was also thinking of that too but have not gotten round to asking how much they would charge.

gayle,
I like the way you decorated your gal's room!
Lotsa pinky stuff!

Re: Friday lunch
Date: 6 June (Fri)
Time: 12pm
Venue: Coffee Club Paragon (3rd flr of Paragon)
1) Catherine
2) nini
3) M2B
4) snow
5) Little Twin stars
6) sweetie
7) valnsw
8) hisstory (tentative - Got to check if electrician can pop by & what time)

Anybody else coming? Cos if ok, then I go call Coffee Club on Thur to book table.

hisstory,
Can let me know tomorrow if you can make it? Or you ask the electrician go to your house another day la.. hehe

gayle

Ur ger is so loved!! The room's so nicely decorated.. I better get my butt moving with preparing the nursery

dongle

Don't worry too much k? BB will be fine yah? How long after 34 weeks wld BB be expected?
Wow, u've got lotsa samples to try.. Tt's really good! One less thing to think abt

storeberry

I can't rem if there are those suitable for NB, but my sis says the XS version for bb's wt of 3-5kg shd be suitable, coz BB wld be abt 3kg

valnsw,
The medical halls will not do the cleaning and drying part for you. you will have to do it yourself. The most is that if you have a familar medical hall, they capsule it for u. But that also provided you are on terms with them. Alternatively you can purchase the capsules from them and do it yourself. Actually I checked and there is a "service" on this website that they come and collect your placenta and then bring it back to process and capsule it for you. Charges is about $200. But I'm worried you don't know if the capsules they return you are your placenta or someone elses. So I think if you really intend to take the placenta, then it's best to do it yourself.

re:fri lunch
I'm still down with a flu, so will KIV incase I spread to other mummies. Will let you know if I recover by then.

Catherine,
thanks for the info
sheesh... I need to check around.
Oh ya, u better rest since you're down with flu. I PM you my handphone, just sms me if you can make it on Fri.

Does anybody know if Kiddy Palace sells milk bags? I think I asked before about which brands of milk storage bags to get, but forgot to check the places that sell.
Else, is to get glass bottles from hospital to store the EBM. Which I find that bottles will take up more space than milk bags.

Valnsw,
this website has some write up on how to dehydrate your placenta. And some very weird recipes like placenta lasagne, Placenta Spaghetti Bolognaise .. hahaha .. so funny. but the dehydrating part so far it's similar to what I found out.

http://www.mothers35plus.co.uk/plac_rec2.htm

hisstory,
thanks. Was feeling better this morning but now nose blocked again. Though no more "leaking".. hahaha

re:kiddy palace
I went to the one at parkway cos wanted to buy the leap frog for my niece bday. The sales staff so rude there !!

Dongle: Your gynae's nurse is very generous! My nurse so far only gave me Anmum samples that's all.. Mayb next time should ask them..

Hisstory: Ok thanks!

I don't think I will dare to eat my placenta, abit gross!

val

i shd think KP wld sell.. I know Robinsons has. I got a box of it bundled with the breast pump i bought the other time

catherine

Wah, placenta lasagne ah??
heheh, no more leaking is gd.. On the road to recovery!!

storeberry

U're most welcome! I was at Giant over the weekend, and the discount for Huggies Ultra XS was really gd. Price was much better than at NTUC..

catherine,
got your sms
at least u don't have blocked nose, easier to sleep and can breathe better.

I was reading the link u sent me. don't dare to eat as lasagne or some form of pasta. If grind to powder then take as capsule, still ok.

hisstory,
Was thinking if KP sells, would be easier to go grab. Now unsure if should get any milk bags yet.
Which brand of milk bags did you get?

Ooh, can't imagine myself eating my own placenta.. But what benefit does it have? Quite many yrs ago, my aunt who got her doses of (goat)placenta from japan, inject daily n she claims it keeps her looking young n youthful... I dont know how true is that but its sure very exp! :p

Medusa: can PM me ur blog link as well?

cindy,

did yr gynae mention to u that u will feel dizzy after takin the medi. If u still feel dizzy after a few says, better check with yr gynae.
I'm a SAHMTB so no HL,but gynae told me to have total bed rest until the next wk appt. So now everyday jus kuai kuai stay in bed.
Wat bout u ? on HL ?

val

the brand tt came bundled is The First Years
My sis used Gerber's coz she said it's cheaper..

Glass bottles can re-use, but not the milk bags.. But milk bags are more space-saving (i think)

valnsw,

I used medela and avent milk bags before, Avent one got to use rubber to tie, very troublesome so I bought liao in the end also seldom use cos my girl dun like frozen before milk, cos the taste is yucky. As for sroing in fridge, i bought alot of avent bottle in the end to store as the disposable one can only reuse 5 times not worth it.

Catherine,
Wow, u very willing to spend le! U actually ordered the entire range! U heard v good reviews about it?

Re: Fri meet-up
I dun think i will join u girls, been tired very easily and seems like whole body is aching, esp very left side of abdominal area, think its cos bb legs or hands vv near, n keep kicking there, argh.
You girls have fun! Coffee Club's rambutan freeze makes me drool..*yummy* You girls have fun!

Valnsw,
I rem seeing milk storage bags at TP's KP. Taka confirm sell. I bought the pigeon n medela ones. Medela is kinda exp thou.

Catherine: oh, but i think (in my own opinion) its like bird nest, have to eat it on a regular basis to see the effect.. It's not a 'xian dan' (elixir) lor..hehehe..

Btw, had leg cramps last nite n tried my hubby's method n it works! haha! It's the 2nd time i kena leg cramps while sleeping n its so damn painful lor..i was so sleepy n the leg cramps cause me to swear xyz...hahah! my hubby sleeping like a pig.. So what i did was REMAIN IN POSITION, dun move or twist my leg.. just endure the pain n let it go away on its own.. n the next day, no muscle ache unlike the previous time i went to massage my cramped leg. Maybe u all could try this method cos i was talking to my sis (due in july) n she didnt know cannot go n massage the cramped leg.. if not u get muscle ache for days!

joanne,
I saw the set before and it fits most of what I am looking for in a pram. so get it lo. Very hard to find a pram that have all the features I want

nini,
Placenta only have 1 per child, how to eat on regular basis.. hahaa. Eat finish must wait till next baby born then have lei..

Thanks everyone
I thot I'd better get my room done b4 I become too big n heavy. Lucky hubby willing..of course had to keep bugging him to do also.

hehe..Im the 'kan cheong' type..must have everything prepared if not I cannot rest well.

any mummies heading to the fair at expo tomo? I most prop heading there tomo afternoon to beat the weekend crowds.

U all cut short ur hair already?? hehehe.. my hair is now below bra length..but i dun intend to keep it that long cos its going to be really hot esp during our confinement...

morning mummies.

nini,
i have already cut my hair. its now over shoulder only. at least still can tie up during confinement.

Good Morning!

Snow & Valnsw,
Cfm I can meet tmr aldy as I'm not gg Genting anymore...dun wana take the risk and kena refused entry by the Malaysian customs...by the way, I will be bringing my gal along.

Snow,
Can't wait to see my loot. hahaha

Amabel,
Can PM me your blog link too? Thanks!

Good Morning Mommies,
Hope everyone have a nice day.

M2B, PM you.

Nini, I not intend to cut away my long hair. haha bu she de to cut cos it take age for my hair to grow. And my first pregnancy also that long, so i think i can tahan. haha

happie,
my gynae din tell me abt the side effects. He gave me two days MC to rest at home. Back to work liao and its like piling... So far so good liao, no more discharge or anything... so I just try my best to stay at my workstation and dun move abt lor... Read somewhere that the medic will relax ur blood muscles so causing you to feel sleepy... Maybe tat's why.

Me din cut my hair as I prefer it to be long so that I can tie it all UP! Last week went to the saloon with hubby, the hair stylist also advised me not to trim first if not after delivery when my hair starts to fall drastically, I will panic!