(2008/08) Aug 2008

catherine
wah...u so fast let ur maid call home? well..think if she improved on her work attitude then it good lor...my maid...sigh..i also a bit worried now..
first few days come..ok..work hard..clean ok...now ..one week liao...i realised she EATS alot...we bought one tin of biscuits for her for breakfast..one week finish liao!..my goodness...i think thats too much liao..and everytime we scoop rice for her for dinner...no matter how much we give her..she ALL finish...
just like today, she usually wakes up 6 plus 7, then today i bought white bread for her..so she eat liao..then just now 11 plus..i saw her finish her work quickly and just sat down in her room to eat the biscuits! (eat again!)..this morning's housework is not alot anyway..just simply wiping and cleaning..i doubt will use a lot of energy also...
most of my houesework will finish in the morning..so im suspecting she is learning to quickly do all the work fast and can rest...then lunch preparation is only for a short while..after lunch she will have nothing much to do again..and she has been resting/sleeping in the afternoons from 3-6pm for the past few days cuz got nothing to do!
one more thing which also upset me was there was one evening we had prepared dinner at home...after laying the tables..she happily just sit down at the dinning table when my and hubby still in kitchen...hubby was cutting some chilli and i was inspecting the kitchen..i was so shock she just sat down !..like expecting us to serve her like dat! i thought agent would have taught them that must wait till madam and sir sit then they can sit....sigh...me and hubby dont mind her sitting down with us for dinner (with her rice n vege separately scooped) but at least must wait for us to sit first mah...
..sigh..i also dunno what to do....but her agent will pop by this week or next week..i think i will have voice out all these problems to the agent..

YLN,
me actually let my maid to call home the first and second day of work. First day i let her call back to report to her parent on her safety, then day i let her call back just worrying that she will miss her hometown. I do let her write letter back also so at least there is some way for her to continue communicate with her parent. I find that when come to handle maid must be tactic... cannot treat them too good and too bad also. For me my maid eat very little, i always have to ask her to eat, worrying that she dont have strenght to handle housework and my kid. Actually got maid sure got alot of problem coming along, must have probably handle it. I got my maid problem also, cos my in law doesn't really satisfy with my maid cos she is abit slow. But from my point of view is that as long as she properly handle my care well, slow doesn't matter at least she do thing well. That is y i insist not to change my maid though my in law keep nagging. Now is slightly better... but sometime my in law will keep scolding my maid and i could see that she is sad. Hai... maid problem never ending.

Catherine,
maybe she still not use to it, i believe over sometime she will do a better job. I think is they scare doing thing wrong so some minor thing will tend to forget more easily. She is still learning something new at one go so some of the stuff will forget. thing will get better over some time.. I more concern about the attitude. If she willing to learn and are hardworking then i think is good enough?

For me i give her a schedule to following when handling my girl and housework and i try to write it till very detail so she can alway refer to it when she forget.
Like those food to serve my girl, everyday I will write on a whiteboard for her and i will also keep repeating what to do also.

huichin,
in my opinion, posting a pic in forum OR in another website which is free for public access & publicising the link in forum = no difference.
As Mulberry said, this is a public forum. if a pic has to be posted for everyone to see, then no nicks shld be indicated to respect the privacy of the pple in the pic.
However, if there are Aug thread mommies who wanna know whois who, they could PM Mulberry or Valnsw for Private access to Kodakgallery or Flickr, which some have done so. This is wat Sep thread mommies are doing too.
Thanks for ur understanding.

Valnsw: Oh hehe..now i'm working in a 'digital' agency. Haven't worked in a big advertising firm b4 though - would very much like to! hehe..

Amabel's Mommy: I always tot tt my bb is very active in the tummy, seems like urs is the champion la! hehe.. Oh yes yes i will updated my blog as frequent as i can k. hehe..

happycat: Hahah..the shades are my fav too! Cheap cheap only, got it from Tangs! heh. Yea the kids who came for the gathering - they were adorable! LOL

M2B: oh gd tt u've started liao! Must share wif me k! hehe..

huichin...erm maybe this is my 2nd pregnancy so i can feel the movement more easily and strong. It do make a difference.

mulberry (bab1es): The diapers bag look sweet!! Your hubby is buying for you in US? From ToysRus or can find in Target store? Is it alot cheaper there? Thanks!
Cos my friend might be going so can ask her to buy for me.. keke..

Msapple:
Ribcage pain: I don't think my bb is engaged now, cos I am only in my 26weeks. It might be due to the expanding uterus. Its very uncomfortable...

Snow: I have transferred! Thanks for helping with the spree! Appreciate that! Let me know how I can collect from you yah?

amabel
ya ..i also understand..my priority is actually to help out with housework and look after bb when born..so far..her work is ok and good..cuz we will be bringing bb and maid to ILs place after my ML...so my maid must be familar with housework at my ILs place too...thats y im thinking of placing her at my ILs place in the afternoons on some days before i deliver ...my ILs place a lot of things to do...so she will have less time to rest and eat..:p ..plus she can help out and learn..but my concern is dunno if this is violating the law...working in 2 households...(tho not everyday)

my IL side different...my concern is also my ILs will treat her too well...i put my maid at my ILs place on sat..she did help out in some housework..n also a bowl of green bean soup, rice with salted duck soup and a piece of cake for lunch!!..my ILS scare she not full..so keep stuffing her...'faint' ..
but like u say lor...as long as she do things well...i think many things must close one eye..

my agent told me they only allow their maids to call home one month after working with us...it the practice of the agency...i guess different agents different rules ...

msapple/YLN,
Ya I told hubby and mum to give her some time. It's only been 1 week. I think her abserntmindedness was due to her missing her children. I actually already bought her letterpads and envelop to write home but she doesnt want to write. I also dono why. And when she came to work, we already told her that after 1 month we will let her call home. So ask her just concentrate on doing her job and learning what there is here. But I guess cos it's her 1st time leaving phil and her children so missing home is normal lo.

Like msapple, my maid eats very little. Everytime ask her to eat until I get so upset. My prev indo one really eats alot, takes tea breaks etc .. this one .. just 2 slice of bread and 1 coffee/milo enuf to last till lunch. And lunch sometimes she also just eat biscuit or fruits, then dinner also very little. I keep telling her must eat more but she say enuf. Maybe she still shy but I explain to her cos she does work so must eat more. dont need worry grow fat. Infact i always tell her just take whatever there is to eat. Eggs etc .. We dont mind. Even dinner we always ask her sit down with us, but she shy. But not as bad as YLN maid, sit down waiting to be served. That sounds bad. My prev indo one also dont want to eat with us but later we found out cos after that she will eat alot behind in the kitchen, but this one, she will still eat very little.

I guess there is no ideal maid .. just have to train and see can accept or not.

storeberry,
I am in my 28 weeks now, for me my baby is not engaged at the pelvic cavity yet too. It will usually only occurred in week 33 or week 34 or maybe slightly earlier also or later. But for my case is perhap baby kicking on the ridcage, i feel uncomfortable also

wana ask your opinions, I'm having flu now .. do you think i should go see a GP ? I'm very concerned about taking medication. And would very much rather just drink lots of water and plenty of rest. Will me having flu somehow affect the baby ? My mom say not good for baby when having flu but I feel medication also not good. so which is better ?

YLN,
My maid and my daughter also go over to my parent house when we are working, I dont think is against law ba. Alot of people is doing that.

Catherine,
yaya agreed that no maid is perfect.
My maid is slighly better, wont just eat bread and milo. She will still eat rice or noodle is just that the portion is slightly less which i feel so lah so i have to keep asking her to eat more. Haha I like to eat buffet so she will alway follow, seeing her eat so little, i will keep asking her to eat more. Very bad hor, force her to eat, but at time i know she really cant it so much so i just forget it let her be. ha!

my maid requesting to go back to her hometown for a month, i wanna let her go back in July 08 so when she is away i only need to take my daughter one person so is less tiring but she requesting to go back during their festival which is late October, which mean I got to handle two liao. Faint! But i can understand that she want to spend the festival with her family so in the end i agreed. The most I will be more tired lor. Wondering I can handle or not.

Catherine,
I do check about this with my gynae and GP before. Is actually better to see doctor cos if the flu get worst or take very long to curse, it do somehow will affect the baby abit. For me i usually go to my gynae for medicine rather than GP.

msapple
do u still ask ur maid to do housework at ur place after u pick them up in the evenings?

sigh..i would rather i have to force my maid to eat then she eating so much now...:p

krex78,
yah loh. its only last year and he forgets. sigh... he remembers the rom one but not customary. i thought customary is more memorable.

m2b & snow74,
i think he forgets, not good at these things. he is actually leaving for camp today and won't be back till thurs night.

snow74,
what is special about home-cooked rice wine? different from those that sell in supermarket?

amabel's mommy & hisstory,
no hope for special. he is away for 3 days.

catherine

Have just added u

Looks like your maid's still not too bad.. At least not lazy *i hope* My fren's maid makes brekkie then goes back to sleep *faint*

If u're very uncomfortable, better go see a GP. I have been seeing GP when I'm down, but I always remind my GP tt the medication must be okie for pregnancy. I also check with my gynae if the medication i get fr GP is okie.. Usually it's the yellow pill for flu & paracetamols

do drink lotsa fluids & get rest k?

avocado

Agree, time might also not be on my side when the little one comes along. U're requesting to do part-time of your current job or another job?
Am thinking abt this too...

Hi Catherine,

I had flu last week and just had lots of water and citrus fruits as they are high in vitamin C. I didnt take any medicine as was afraid it may affect my baby. usually flu and cold becomes less in about 3 days time.

Take care and rest well.

YLN,
yaya when we are back she will need to sweep and mop the floor and soak my daughter clothing while I fully taking care my girl. But I told her she need to sleep by 10pm (though sometime she will still sleep late, she said the housework nv finish she cant sleep well. haha but i will let her wake up later) so if cannot finish then tmr do but for mopping floor she have to do it everyday since baby is crawling on the floor and picking up stuff from floor so must be clean. Usually she only need to go my in law house in the morning 10am+ so morning she can still abit of things that unfinished the day before prvided my girl is sleeping. At my in law house she doesn't need to do much housechore cos there got another maid and she is there to just cook for my girl and fully take care my daughter.

celyn,
My MIL say home cooked rice wine is fresher cos those u buy outside made for long time and put there. But then hor .. these home cooked rice wine dono clean or not. Cos it's fermentation so the process must be very hygenic.

msapple
icic....my ILs side no maid..so she go there early in the morning like 6 plus n stay there till 7 plus....she will need to help out with my ILs housework while my ILs look after bb...so that's y im concern if i still ask her to work at my place...dunno is it considered illegal anot..

Hey YLN/Catherine..

My maid is coming in 3 weeks time..filipino..I too am apprehensive after my last maid...but
really theres no same rules apply to all maids cos different household and different characteristics of these maids..but i do believe its better to be tough up front then relax later when they perform if not..they might take for granted...

Catherine...rest well...

btw mommies..do u guys find tt its hard to sleep thru the nights nowadays? I am awake most nites

And secondly did u guys purchase the Medela PIS locally? How much was it har..got freebies?

YLN,
ya dun let her be too relax also. I think as long as you give her half an hour of relaxing time before sleep and 8 eight hours of sleep, i think is good enough. So got to plan the time. So if she back at home at 8pm, there is still abit of time before her sleeping time for her to do housechore, then let her do

Megan,
babe and mum is selling and i saw it in paragon one of the baby store also. Not sure whether it come with freebie and it is about $700+ ba. Can buy it during baby fair, usually it come with freebie or cheaper

hisstory & amabel's mommy,
yah. at least got baby with me. for 3 days, baby got no bedtime story liao. unless i read to him.

catherine,
oh. then how? buy home-cooked or ouotside? ma fan leh. hehhe....

megan,
i will usually wake up at least once in the night. don't really sleep through, will toss and turn loh.

Hi Megan,
I bought my Medela PIS Advanced with backpack at SGD650. It had freebies of microwave cleaner pouch for pump parts and disposable storage bags for milk. I bought it from KK.

mul,
states is alot cheaper, nevermind, buy la. if can stroller also buy, hehe. i personally like the skip hop range but too bad, i have too many big bags so hubby ban me from buying diaper bags. u enjoy

celynlee,
happy anniversary!!! actually do u celebrate ROM day or actual wedding. i always celebrate actual wedding and forget totally about rom
don;t worry, perhaps he has planned something for later but don't wish to celebrate in a rush

snow,
so far fri seems fine with me. let me know how much i owe u for the spree okie

maid:
i just got a letter of approval for the maid i selected n no news frm my agent.i've been praying daily for my maid that is coming. hoping she can cop well n that we will have chemistry with each other as it is impt as well. some maids might work very well with others but not u n vice versal

msapple/YLN,
my maid dont take naps lei. Actually also hardly see her rest. But she does things quite slowly la. Cos I told her dont need to rush and make sure it's clean. But i also keep telling her she can take rest or afternoon tea anytime she hungry. But she doesn't seem to want to so I also dont force her. Can't force someone to rest and eat right ? hahaha. She usually finishes her stuff around 9+ then she will read in the room and sleep around 10+.

celyn,
i think you can buy those home cooked ones IF you know the source and they can trust. My MIL cos she wanted to do on her own and ask me dont buy from outside.

msapple,
the egg machine I bought it from another mummie from our thread. but I haven't tried it yet :p

Catherine,
I dun allow my maid to nap in the noon but i will just like you give her half an hour before sleep to do her own thing then ask her to sleep early at 10pm.
Yah if they dun wanna rest and eat, just forget it. I also lazy to force her.

wow $15 for the egg machine, good buy. hehe

Just back from gym…got a compliment from a fellow gym-goer and it makes my day….heehee

Catherine,
I dun think need to declare but I was wondering if the Malaysia checkpoint staff insist that you are above 6mths then how to argue hah? Coz I’m indeed above 6mths preggie now…I was wondering if cocomo can enlighten me on this as I really dun wish to disappoint my gal…my hb asked me not to go but I want to go coz of my gal lor…

Flu – my gynae always advised me to go see him when I’m unwell coz he is very particular abt the medication that I take.

Avocado,
I think I will opt for SCB too…

Huichin,
I will update you when I put up more pics ok? Now mostly pics of my big gal. :p

Celyn,
Oh, it is customary ah…my hb also dun like to celebrate the customary 1 coz he said ROM date is the actual day that we became h & w…

Megan,
Yup, it is hard to sleep thru the night now coz sleep whatever sides also uncomfortable…irritating man…

msapple,
ya she only took a token amt cos she say she dont use it anyways. Just saw your blog .. so cute !! can i put a link from mine to yours ?

Re:flu
just called the gynae, she said take lots of water, plenty of rest and vit C IF really still very uncomfortable then come see her. So I'm going to just bear with it for another day.

Catherine,
wow so good. Sure you can, but alot of ranting in my blog, hope you wont feel uncomfortable. Haha I will link you up too then ok?

All Mummies who attended the gathering at Mulberry's place: With all respect I've removed all the names + labelling as requested by ReiRei. Just in case, can i check with u all, can i still post ur pictures on my blog? If any Mummies not comfortable with that, I can remove your pictures as well if u prefer k. Just lemme know.

Amabel's Mommy: Oh no wonder la! 2nd time preggie u know how to feel liao rite? hehe.

celyn

Am sure u wld do a fine job reading to bb too..

catherine

U're most welcome.. Thanks for sharing too!
Yupz, down lotsa fluids & Vit C
Hang in there

huichin,
I dont mind .. you can "advertise" my face on your blog .. hahaha .. ehh .. actually cos I also put that pic on my blog. hope other mummies dont mind.

vone, sydney very nice for sightseeing meh? the only place we're going with nice scenery is blue mountain. the rest is very city-like. hoping to go on a whale watching cruise but very scared will have motion sickness. i forgot to get travel medication from gynae last week, so tonight must pop by to get some common flu, motion sickness, etc. pills that are safe to eat during pregnancy.

celyn, both of u must decide which one to celebrate mah! normally ROM is the actual day you become husband and wife, so maybe he remembers that one instead.

Hahaa...Catherine, ok thks! heh. BTW i've linked ur blog from mine too. hehe..if u dun mind

happycat: Hahaa..ya u're rite! been trying to find the 'right' one like forever until i saw this pair! hehe..very hard to find a suitable one for me...cos my face very round and wide, and dun have high nose bridge, so everything oso like not suitable. LOL

Sorry to disturb. I am from the May08 thread and have the following to let go.

FOR SALE : Almost BN Medela Mini Electric Plus Breast Pump
1463310.jpg

This compact breastpump provides the convenience of double pumping. Ideal for expressing breastmilk occasionally when at home or on the go.
- Single or double pumping
- Full range adjustable vacuum
- Gentle and efficient expression
- Electric or battery use

==============================================
* Asking $200
* Bought on 7 Mar 2008(under warranty)
* 3 weeks old (used since 15 May 2008)
* Letting go cos upgraded to an Avent Duo
* Retail @ $275 from Breastfeeding Support Group
* Self pick up from Bt Batok MRT or CityHall MRT. Other location can be arranged but subject to further discussion.
* Come with original box
----------------------------------------------
References :
1) http://www.medela.com/ISBD/breastfeeding/products/plus.php
2) http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/medela-mini-electric-plus-breastpump.html
3) http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/nursing-products-pricing.html
----------------------------------------------

Pls PM or email me if you are interested

catherine
oh no, do rest well ya.

celyn
hmm...man.
normally if my hb ignored me or forget to celebrate something, i'll sms him and tell him i'll go get my own gift by signing his sub-card lor....ha ha....
so after once, he dun dare to forget anything liao.

my mum told me home-cooked rice wine better, cos u dunno what the ready made rice wine selling outside added in to preserve it lor...blah blah..
so, think this kinda things follow mum's rule should be better ya?
unless we got strong proof that there is no diff lor. =P

twin stars
Gd! gathering is more people better, do join in ok? =)

I've sent out the calculation this morning leh, u mean u haven receive my mail ah? =(

Huichin,
Agreed it is diff to get a suitable sunglasses that suit...managed to find 1 last Sun though... :p

Snow,
Hahaha, if hb makes me angry, I will use the card he sub me to buy something so as to appease myself too...hahaha...he had wanted to cancel the card since I have so many of my own but I refused to let him coz that is my "xiao1 qi4" card...:p

<font color="0000ff">M2B</font>
good to hear ur hubby is fine. hehe...ur gal so cute.
re: travelling to Msia
u will be in car or bus? coz actually if u in car, usually the officer more lax, i mean he won't go really look at your tummy to see how many months preggie u are.
hehe...though i'm malaysian, but sad to say, malaysian government employees are not so efficient. so maybe there is chance they dunno got such rule or maybe they don't even bother to look at you properly.

<font color="0000ff">hisstory</font>
oh yeah hor, i didn't think of hubby carrying the diaper bag. hmmm...so that mean's i better not get so pinkish ones...keke.. coz my hubby won't carry pink bags.
I don't really like Kate Spade. i find the prices too expensive for the designs coz i find KS designs very very simple, like don't worth paying few hundreds for it...keke

<font color="0000ff">happycat</font>
oh Avent don't have service centre here?? then if buy their breastpump or steriliser or warmer, and if got spoiled, then how? They will just give a new replacement?

<font color="0000ff">Cindy</font>
i won't be attending the Doctor's Talk tonight. feeling very lazy and also coz my hubby not here :p
Will you be going?

<font color="0000ff">Amabe|'s Mommy (msapple)</font>
Medela PIS is noisy? i tot it's very quiet also.

<font color="0000ff">Catherine</font>
oh dear u got flu? take care ya.

<font color="0000ff">huichin</font>
yeah actually good that you have removed the nicks coz this is public forum afterall. We dunno whether got crazy/strange ppl lurking in this forum or not. It's best not to reveal too much here publicly.
i don't really mind about the group pic in your blog coz it's small and not so clear. those that dunno us won't be able to tell who's who...keke..

<font color="0000ff">storeberry</font>
ya, my hubby is US now. thus wanna ask him to get a diaper bag. But i'm not sure those bags in the Toysrus/Target website is all available in their physical stores. coz some is only availalbe online only.
thus, i'll be giving him a list, and hopefully he can get 1 from the list...hehe

little twin stars &amp; krex78,
i did ask him before, he say celebrate both.

snow74,
good idea hoh. since i'm going back on my own today. maybe i should get something for myself and charge him.

Mulberry,
Yah the running motor is noisy as compare to the Avent UNO one that i used before. Heard quite alot of mommies saying about the noise it produced.

I last time did go to the headquarter to buy spare part for my Avent UNO and manual Avent pump before. Wondering they provide servicing perhap you want to call them to check at 68824570 before u commit to purchase.
Cannon Avent(S) Pte Ltd have shifted to 620A Lorong 1 Toa Payoh, TP4 Building, Philips showroom level 1.

snow,
i jus open my mail and saw. shld i transfer to u or pass u cash in fri? which one u prefer? tks for all the charting
see until eyes blur

celynlee,
that's a gd idea! hubby n i always forget our rom until it's over n we often wander how we spent that day that is over, hehe