(2008/08) Aug 2008

oh, forgot to mention that Tangs private sales also good. Recently bought nuby water bottle at 30% + 12% rebate. NUK bottles at 30% + 12% rebate too. Saw puma shoes going at 50% + 10% (for members) + 12% rebate. Think better than GSS.

Rata, sorry about it!! Typo error!

My fren went to John Little to look for the Pigeon Steriliser but its selling at $109 before 20% so after 20% still is $87, don't know which mummy saw it at $79?? And yah, anyone knows when is the sale till?

Hi Luvlel: U can checkout this basic essential checklist- not bad leh! haha..

http://www.mumcentre.com/essentials/baby_checklist.htm

Babywise: Yea u must be very diligent in applying the stretch marks cream..if aredy have the marks now u apply is to (try) decrease the amt that's growing everyday...me oso. My colleague gave me the Palmer's Tummy Butter + the usual cream so i apply the cream in the day + Butter at nite b4 i sleep. Hehee..must be guai guai and do it! so sad hor..seeing the 'thunder marks' there..sighs.

Hi Rat: Can update for me? Think u missed out from the last msg i posted for u to updated. Heh.

Name:HuiChin
Gynae: Dr Aziz
Hospital: Eastshore Hospital
BB# : 1
EDD:8th Aug 08
BB's weight: 1.03kg @ 28weeks

BTW Mummies, i went to the Robinsons sale at Expo on Fri nite rite, i feel that there's nothing much leh. Nothin much on the baby products and i wanted to check out the Medela Mini Electric BM Pump but it was like $189. Izzit expensive? I tot i heard from frens who bot it at a much cheaper price. THen wanted to check out my Inglesina brand baby stroller. Dun have! So lousy one..so i guess if u all wanna get anything else OTHER than baby stuff..then can go loh. If not like the sale not very attractive. BTW how abt the Taka sale? WHen does it last till? Issit still on-going now?

joanne, yup, the bottle steriliser. maybe i see wrongly bah. but i tot it was selling for $131 at isetan last time. the other day when i was at tom & stefanie, i also saw it selling for about $120+. i didn't know it was so ex.

Krex78 / YLN: MY gynae oso advice me no need to take milk - cos i told him i dun like milk in general (only take flavoured milk). He said i'm aredy a plus-size mama-to-be, so just take calcium pills can liao. If not keep taking milk really can put on lotsa weight! So i only take calcium pills now, but initially after taking them i kena constipation...very bad..so he said no need to take faithfully everyday, like alternate days oso can.

huichin
did u see any supplement pills when u went for the robinson expo sale? im not sure if i want to make a trip down..so better check if they have what i want ..otherwise wasted trip cuz i stay in the west...

Snow,
last weekend didnt get anything for my big gal as the weekend b4 aldy bought her a Gap cardigan...so she actually accompany me whole day shopping on Sat and Sun and just got herself a sharpener...heehee

she so sweet, told me she misses daddy...

hehe, I oso have lotsa of spree items with you right? :p

Krex,
I dun know which slimming package is good coz I didnt have to sign up any for my 1st pregnancy but very scared this tiem rd, I will need.

So far first 3 mths, I was on folic acid. After that till now, I am on Multi vitamins all the way. Then I just drink 2 cups of milk daily + other beverages. Now more like a thirsty camel, always drinking fluids.

Valval,
Same here, me also taking multi-vits and fish oil only. Gynae says no need to waste $ on calcium or iron tablets as long as i drink 2 cups of milk daily and have a balanced diet.

m2b, if u know of any good slimming places, let me know ok? i'm very determined to regain my pre pregnancy before going back to work. it's very disheartening if i can't fit into any of my old clothes and have to buy new ones

huichin, actually i never really drink extra. i just consume what i usually drink daily. like if i eat cereal, i'll pour milk over it. and if i make a beverage, i will also use milk. the only thing i try to drink more now is soya bean. so sometimes i'll just buy from outside. my fridge will also have one packet. unless the extra soya bean is causing my rapid weight gain???

Huichin,
I jus went taka y'day (again :p) and they haf bundle set for Medela Mini. Price is abt $180 (i tink) and it comes wif other Medela products.
Alternatively, drop by First Few Years in Paragon (4th or 5th floor), they sell pretty cheap Medela pumps as well. But rem to ask them abt warranty.
If possible, ask the SA to demo the Mini to you before u decide to buy cos i find the motor abit too noisy.

Joanne,
I was oso complaining to HB when I saw the Mothercare promo on IQ24.
But then, after 20% disct, it's still $180 lor..so u still saved $50
Hope dat helps to make u feel better.. :p

Reirei,
oh its not $200 before discount? so aft 20% shd be $160? Hee anyway buy alrdy, shant think about it..just glad i got "bigger" thing off the list.

Dun really like First Few Years at Paragon, find the ppl there not v helpful n friendly.

Does soya milk cause weight gain? ive been drinking the ones from supermarket, is that why ive been putting on so much wgt?

Hello All,

I went yesterday to Metro and found 20% discount on Avent Stereliser. I bought the express one. The mrp is 171 SGD however it costed me 136.8 SGD. it has 2 milk bottles, 2 pacifiers, cleaning brush.Found the baby clothes cheaper than Kiddy palace.

Guess can use other models of milk bottles with Avent steraliser. Is it correct?

Thanks to huichin :eek:)

Joanne,

My dietician said that if you drink soya milk then go for the ones with no sugar or reduced sugar. She also recommended to stay away from 3 in 1s as they have 60% sugar.

I m trying to gain as much as needed only ;)

YLN: Oh if im' not wrong there's this 'supplement section' leh. There's stuff like daily essentials like shampoo/shower cream, facial pdts, shoes(very tempting but cannot buy haha), business wear, lingerie etc.

Krex78: Haaha..soya bean ah..no la..dun think will make u put tt much weight leh. If u buy from Mr Bean they got the 'Healthier choice' logo in the shop somemore! LOL.

Reirei: oh...180bucks still not so bad. THe one at Robinsons, like very little stuff that comes with it. Oooo...hmm..yea good idea. will visit First Few Years soon! hehe..actually wanna get the pump for later stage - when i start work liao..so most probs will only use it 3mths after delivery. Heh.

hi crazy,
i also notice got dark patch at armpit lei .. very upset. feel very conscience wearing sleeveless yet weather so hot. anyone else got this problem ?

YLN,
no special reason.. just dont want to go thru the waiting and the labor process :p very bad hor.

happycat,
where you took your glucose test ? I was at gleneagles. I saw another MTB taking the test too. Was that you? hahaha. Ya I also got heartburn. On and off. Usually at night when I sleep. Very uncomfortable. Keep on burping.

Luvlel: u're welcome
metro oso got sale? i must go check out liao! hehe..

JOanne: Oh then i suggest u drink those freshly daily brewed type bah. Those at supermarket are 'treated' ones..heh. My personal preference
kao_smile2.gif

rei, tom & stefanie is at tiong bahru plaza. i think they also have at west mall.

huichin, maybe it's the crave for ice cream that's making me put on weight, heehee.

Joanne,
Oooops! Does being preggie make my math worse?

Huichin,
Personally i dun find Robinsons sale on bb prdts (for public) -dat- fantastic.
Oh i saw in Jul thread dat there's a new Medela pump called freestyle. It's duo electric and comes wif LCD display. Looks v interesting..

catherine
ur gynae is ok with u going for c section? i know some gynae very pro-natural..i suspect mine also..unless got complications...if not, i think mine will suggest i go for natural...i also in a dilemma whether to go for c section or natural...wanted to opt for natural...but not sure if bb head will turn cuz now still breech....plus if go for natural, must wait for symptoms..etc..i was hoping to pop early then can go ML earlier...heehee...if c section, i scare pain also...plus breastfeeding may take longer to kick in...and cannot so fast do the malay massage...think must wait one week before can do..so...i also dunno how...

nini
i also drank only the low fat milk..but still weight ballooning..now i see myself in the mirror, damn depressing....everyday i complain to hubby..'see i so fat now'..

huichin
thanks ..i think i might pop by spore expo sometime this week...need the exercise..:p...have been slacking at home the whole weekend...never step out of my door whole of sunday..

YLN,
ya some gynae are pro-natural. Mine is ok la. she said it's my choice but she did tell me the recovery period is longer lo. Recovery it's very individual I feel. My cousin was up and walking by 2nd day. BF also not problem. She was bf-ing from day 1. My friend by 10th day she was already going out. She started her malay massage I think end of 1st month.

<font color="0000ff">Joanne</font>
nvm lah, still the normal steriliser is cheaper than the IQ one. Also, i don't think u need the extra functions of the IQ one. I personally think it's very wasteful to keep it on for 24hrs leh (coz IQ one suppose to keep sterilised for 24hrs).

btw, i don't think drinking soy milk makes u gain alot of weight. But must get the low fat and reduced or zero sugar ones. Well, that's what my gynae told me lah.

<font color="0000ff">ReiRei</font>
re: Medela Freestyle
that is the new bpumps that I was telling u when we were in Taka. But the retail price in SG is very very ex. It's >$1000!

hmm...if buy from US, i wonder will it be difficult to get the spare parts in SG...coz i think the spare parts is different from the other pumps.

today very sad. Had a big fight with hubby in the morning. And was crying and he said later baby will end up cry baby like me and he will blame me. So I said ya then you dont want both me and baby. He said ya. very upset..

Then the gynae called and said that I failed the glucose test
Confirmed that got gestational diabetes. But not too serious until must see a diabetic specialist. Just see a dietician and the gynae side will teach me how to monitor.

Double saddness today. Maybe baby heard that daddy dont want her already

Catherine,
Did my test at paragon cos' gynae's clinic is there too. Dun be too depressed about the GD results. Look on the bright side, you will not gain too much unnecessary weight and baby will be getting the best nutrients minus all the junk food.

I suffer GD when I was five month pregnant previously. Was very strict on myself. No sugar, less carbo (skip Xmas and CNY goodies). Diet so bland until my gynae also "pei fu" with me. But then when my boy came out, I find that all worth it. Also I only managed to gain abt 10kg.

Anyway, cheer up. People always say things they regret later during fights. Once cool down, u will realise how silly it is.

Mulberry,
*guilty* so sorrie..=P
Wah! I'd rather get PIS Adv.
Dat girl oni bought US$290..i thot the most will sell abt S$500 here.

Catherine,
*Pat Pat* he may haf said dat in a fit of anger.
Let him cool down first and talk tings out slowly, k?

Hey Catherine..

Can u tell me if urs at Glen to test for the diabetes is the 3 blood test? I am going tomorrow for the blood test leh..

dun fret abt the quarrel with HB..he will be over it...and say sorry

<font color="0000ff">ReiRei</font>
hee...no worries lah. ;)
The price I read from the June thread. I think it's so expensive in SG coz it's quite newly launch in US and currently selling in 1 or 2 places only in SG. Maybe few more months later the price will go down.
hee...cannot be selling $500 here coz PIS Adv's normal retail price is nearly $700 liao.
btw, i'm thinking of asking hubby to buy PIS Adv from US but abit worry abt warranty issue....hmmm...
hehe...my US shopping list for my hubby is like getting longer n longer liao... My hubby is gonna faint.. :p

<font color="0000ff">Cathering</font>
hugz...not be sad ya. Men can be insensitive at times... err...correction, not at times, it's most times. I think he's in bad mood this morning...? thus he simply say things only lah. Of coz he doesn't mean it. Like Megan said, he sure will say sorry to you when he cools down.

Reirei: hehe...i agree with u wor. This is my very 1st time visit to a Robinsons sale btw! haha..very suah gu...neber participate and check when it's sales time - whether izzit Tangs or Taka or Robinsons. Hhaaa...guess now's the time loh. Heh.

YLN: Oh i oso leh! haha..SUn whole day stay at home...whole day watch tv, cooked and had some read-ups on pregnancy. That's all! LOL. Duno where to go. And it's month-end, gotta budget abit. Hahah..I told my hubby aiya y dun we go see see look look survey the prices of our baby stuff, he said whoa how come u can do that siah? U know la men, when they need things, they just buy straightaway, where got care if there's any discount or not. So i told him - the things we're getting are not cheap items like 10, 20 bucks. Like in hundreds of $$ - of course must make sure our $$'s worthwhile rite! LOL. So i concluded if i wanna go check out the prices on our baby prodcuts, i will go myself. Hehehe..Prefer to shop alone loh..

<font size="+1"><u>Re: Gathering in the East on 1st June</u></font>

<font color="0000ff">Dear Mommies</font>
Does everyone have my address and contact no.? I've replied everyone that PMed me last week. Pls let me know if you didn't get it.

<font color="ff0000">Anyone else wanna join the gathering?</font> Still got time as I plan to ask Catherine's help to fax the food order only on Thursday. (coz Golden Pillow only need 1hr advance. Thus ordering on Thursday shud be more than enough time).

<u>Re: Gathering in the East</u>
Date: 1st June
Time: 11am
Venue: mulberry's condo at Simei
Caterer: Golden Pillow

1) Megan
2) valnsw
3) mulberry
4) Cindy
5) vone
6) earnestmum (cynthia)
7) faeriekim
8) ReiRei
9) Catherine
10) huichin

sorry for asking again but do you all think it's ok the food selection and quantity? Welcome any feedback ya.
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD><u>Qty</u></TD><TD><u>Price</u></TD><TD><u>Amt</u> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Golden Pillow Curry Chicken Bun</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>12.80</TD><TD>25.60 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mixed Vegetable</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>20.00</TD><TD>20.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Salad Fritters (10pcs)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>7.00</TD><TD>7.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Seaweed Seafood Roll (10pcs)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>7.00</TD><TD>7.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Prawn &amp; Chicken Roll (10pcs)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>7.00</TD><TD>7.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fried Mee Hoon</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>10.00</TD><TD>20.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>TOTAL</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>$86.60 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

actualli..its more than enough for 10pax...may I suggest then no need the seaweed roll or can take away 1 curry chicken or mee hoon if we truly abt 10 pax onli

I can bring along agar agar for dessert

<font color="0000ff">Megan</font>
hee...too much hor... I think we take away 1 curry chicken then coz some of us can't take spicy and got few kids coming (i think), so better to have more selection of non-spicy food.

Thanks for offering to bring agar agar. Good for us dessert lovers ;)

btw, me bought 3 trays of Mini Eclairs from this BP. I'm planning to serve this to you all during our gathering
. If it's nice, then I can think of ordering this for my bb full month party.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1430232.html?1211169752
P.S:- the BP organiser said it's halal

Krex,
Hehe, the ones I’m aiming are Jean Yip or London Weight Mgmt coz they are near my mom’s place but nevertheless, I really hope I dun need such services lor…

YLN,
I think if c-section, can only start the malay massge after 3 weeks…natural delivery can start after a few days…

Catherine,
Sayang saying, dun be sad k? When a person is angry, he/she will say all sort of hurtful things but often dun mean it. Your hb sure will love you and bb k?

Huichin,
I agree with you…my hb oso dun understd why must check prices and also buy when there is sale and so crowded…hiaz

Mulberry,
Golden Pillow? Yummy, mskes me so hungry now...havent had lunch coz just back from gym...

Usually I will stock up my fridge with twin pack of Daisy High Cal Milk &amp; Twin pack of Nutrisoy Reduced sugar soy milk. Try to let the drinks chill awhile before drinking.

Haha I didn't even take fish oil. Took 1 tbsp of Cot liver oil syrup, OMG, made me feel so uncomfy the whole morning. then i just gave up, just take my MultiV nw.

Catherine: Cheerup! Your emotions will affect the little one also. Be happy :p I believe ur hubby must have replied without much thought &amp; being sensitive to you. Don't be too sad ya! Try to take reduced sugar stuff.

re:Medela PIS
seems like this pump is really good leh..i asked my SIL over the weekend and she swears by it. She also has the Avent Manual pump, said its effective too, but PIS is really efficient. But its so exp, dun even know have enough breast milk or not..and plus intending to BF 6mths only (tts even if i haf enough BM), so really dunno if shd get it or not, cheapest also 600+ so far!

Catherine,
Dont worry too much about the GD, think heard quite a no of pregnant mummies have it, but just follow the dietician's instructions, im sure you'll be fine, and like what happycat said, you'll probably end up with only good nutrients for the baby =)
I think maybe HB also find us abit too emotional now when we r preggy. Yest my HB also raised his voice at me when i complained about my weight gain. Think he thinks im kuku, say where got woman preg dun put on weight one! I got so pissed and didnt wanna talk to him aft that cos hate it when ppl raise voice at me, but he later guai guai come apologise to me..i guess everyone has their "lose it" moment, as long as you know your HB dont mean it, and mayb tell him you r hurt by his comments later when both calm down. He will understand one..suppose they will also soften n understand it from our pt of view when we tell them how we feel. So dun be upset okie!

Mulberry,
you make me so tempted to order golden pillow myself since i cant make it for the gathering!

m2b, i dun really like jean yip. feel that a lot of their pdts don't really work.

haven't tried london weight mgt so i wouldn't know. bioskin is generally ok but their packages are ex. last time i tried one facial. quite good, but package was higher than market rate, so i didn't sign up. i'm also considering the salon by jacelyn tay (can't rem what's the name). the rest i'm not very familiar with.

m2b
ur gal so sweet, can shop with u. =)

ya, ur previous spree items are with me.
u wanna take together with the next 1, which might come in next wk?
too tired to send u all the calculation sheet...hee hee....just wake up again only, can imagine? =P

yln
my gynae also pro-natural 1, till last sat still dun let me decide c-sect or not.

ya c-sect will not recover so fast.
can walk around the 2nd day after delivery is due to the pain killer, so u actually dun feel the pain but just giddy.
a 12cm cut on a thicker skin leh, its not possible to recover so fast no matter how healthy u are lor.
so, pls start post-natal massage only 3wks later hor. =)

catherine
sayang, sayang.
some time man just can't take pressure at work as gd as women, so they bring their emotion back home.
maybe tonite he will sayang u already?
dun feel too sad okie!?!?!

Yea very sweet of Megan to offer agar agar for our dessert. Hehehe...yummies..
kao_drool.gif

Mulberry -Yea i'm actually fine with ur menu suggestion. Whoa u oso very good! Eclairs add-on to the menu! heheee...thks ah girls

M2B: Hahaaa...tts y la. Men. u know la. Hehe. Women in general will pay more attention to the details. Usual. heh. WHoa...M2B now u coming 30weeks aredy rite! still go gym ah! Pei fu pei fu! Nowadays i damn lazy...neber do anything siah...lol. Last used to go California gym to lose weight. THen once i got preggie, my gym membership ended so din wanna continue anymore. Lazy bum la me..lol

btw, can someone advise if it's necessary to bring a manual pump to hospital to pump out excess milk, perhaps due to engorgement? or not a vital item to have?

Re: Soya Milk,
i also wanna take those fresh kind but nowhere near my house sells tt le, so haf to resort to the supermarket reduced sugar ones. The saying, "no fish, prawn also good!" Hee.. Heard taking soya milk regularly, baby will be born fair fair nicenice skin! Hope it works!

BTW Mummies, just wanna check, anyone of u here keeps feelin ur bb move like - 10 movements on the average in an hour? I feel like my ger ger very active siah..
kao_confused.gif

oh yes, just had my first prenatal massage at home. Feels quite shiok aft the massage, cos think my shoulder joints are all hay-wired! But quite exp, $68 for 45mins, booked my postnatal massage w her too.

Krex,
I asked my SIL, and she said hospital has rental for pumps too, but she brought her own cos she didnt wanna use rented ones.

Joanne: hahaa..no wonder la. Abit sayang hor. Regular intake of soya milk will let ur bb be fair fair + nice skin - that's what i heard too! hhaaaha..my MIL always encourage me to drink more..but think must drink in moderation - some ppl say drink too much will make ur skin (or bb's) become yellowish..aiyo...so many 'i-heard-of', confused! lol. SO me take in moderation. Like once every 2 days.

huichin
..my hubby also like ur hubby...dun like to go survey prices...he will just go and see and buy..no sense of thrift one...thats y i went on my own to Taka last friday to get all the big items...i just told him i surveyed all the prices and taka is quite worth it...so he say 'buy lor'..sigh..i sometimes wonder if he kan cheong abt bb's arrival or not...but ok lar...sometimes this kind of decisions..one person make can liao..too many opinions will end up quarrelling...so my hubby say he let me all decide..heehee..actually most of the bb's stuff he let me decide what to buy...so, we seldom have issues on this matter...even the new maid and her schedule he also bo chap...he say as long as i happy with her work ..can already...

M2B
ar? 3 weeks than can start massage after c section..? very long leh...sigh...by then tummy permanently flabby liao..

YLN

IseeIsee, hmm, if i see myself gaining too much too quickly, I shall convince HB tt the calcium tablets wld suffice too
Fruit juice sounds fantastic with the horrid weather these days.

Heard tt coconut juice/water is supposed to make the delivery smoother? Or sthg like tt...

Val

Thanks! Must really keep in mind and try not to waste food at the same time. But it's so hard, heheh! I tell the aunties to give me less, they keep saying 'No, No', u're eating for 2!!

Wah, how come u ended up having 2 rounds of dinners last night?

catherine

*hugs* Dun be too upset k? When we're angry we often say things we dun mean yah? Think of things which make u happy so tt BB wld also be happy

krex
as i'm always on the bigger size side, below is my general experiencee...hee hee....but diff people might look at things differently lah.

jean yip and aromatice house quite hardsell and commercialise, bioskin and london weight mgt din work for me, theresa do help me lost quite some weight and not as expensive as the rest above.