(2008/08) Aug 2008

Krex

I use it before so i have confident that i will like it. I dont want to use other brand so stock up in case. Anyway i can pass it to someone else if unfinish.

My edd is 11th Aug and i am expecting early delivery too. My first pregnancy was 3 weeks earlier. Hey you nvr consider going to TMC for delivery. I have been to Mount A becos of ectopic before but i still feel better with TMC.

Congrats Little twin stars & Valval that your check up went fine! Glad that both bb is head down.. Mine is still lying sideways..

Today like abit quiet, think most mummies cheong-ing for Taka sale liao...

celynlee,

Even I had to go for the ODAC full day course at KK for Gestational diabetes. There they would usually help you in understanding how to eat and how much to eat and would be taking blood samples to measure glucose. They would give you a home kit to do the test at home. When I went for it on Tuesday, there were 5 others MTBs. Only one was recommended Insulin and for others they told to walk and eat good.

Don’t worry, everything should be fine. I understand how you feel as even I felt very sad as my parents don’t have diabetes. I think i got this due to hypothyroid.

Few more months to go and our bundle of joy would be in our hands :D

luvlel,
thanks. sorry. although i know its doesn't sound very right, but i'm glad that i'm not the only one. i hope i only need to take care of my diet. 'cross fingers'

hi celyn,
basically, i was told to fast from midnight onwards for the blood test to be taken the next morning. They'd introduce the class to a machine which tests our blood sugar level. To be done 7 times a day. In between, they'd serve breakfast, snacks, lunch, snack and dinner. Also, a dietician will come in to talk about different forms of healthy diet, and teach the mtbs how to choose healthier options for ourselves and baby.
If you get bored, can go shopping @ Mothercare or check out the Pigeon products in the Pharmacy.

mad, i dun think i got anyone to pass to, so i'll buy 1 packet at a time. btw, heard that hospitals will give u the loop pad. do they provide the belt for the loop pads? i dun mind using those also coz' they're quite comfi.

i quite like mt a. i think their rooms are really good, esp the renovated ones. no complaints about the staff so far when i attended the pre-natal course. TMC parking is a killer, and rates are more ex also.

are u expecting a boy or girl? it's your no. 2 rite? i hope i dun have early delivery. i'd like to have an aug bb

Ladies, i will pop by Robinson's Expo Sale tonite. Heh. ANyone intending to go?

BTW, today is Eat-With-Your-Family Day right! hehe..my co. has encourage everyone to go home by 5pm to have dinner with our families. But my hubby gotta training session with his staff. So i dine with my fren at Tampines! hehe...hope i can get some good deals..but super prepared it's gonna be like super crowded with 10 million ppl! keke...

celyn/mad/krex,
I think the Robinsons Expo sale is for public. Just that if you have the Robinsons card, you will get the 5% or 10% rebate.
I'm still contemplating whether to go down later or tomorrow instead as hubby wants to get a pair of shoes. Cos v hot sitting at home, at least go to Expo can look see abit and get the aircon.

mad,
I think I know which brand of maternity pads you are talking about. I saw them at the last JL expo sale, was thinking whether to get it. Cos I had some unused pads passed down from somebody. Don't knw if Robinsons will sell.

storeberry,
Ya, I think they went for the Taka sale. Now's the sale mood. Saw so many sales adverts in today's newspapers!

valval,
good to hear everything's fine. You also got nose bleed? I got it for the past few days. I think it's the hot weather so we more "heaty". Have to drink more water. Hopefully the nosebleeding will pass.

Luvlel,
what kind of baby products you looking to get? Now with the GSS, most dept stores with nursery section are having discounts. If you want to get strollers or car seats, you can go to Baby Kingdom, Baby Hyperstore at Kaki Bukit, Shun Li Industrial Park or Baby Avenue at Balestier.

Huichin,
you going in the night-time? Do update us if any good deals ya? *winks*
Wa.. your company advocates the Eat With Your Family day. I think last time, my previous companies all never bothered about this at all.

huichin, if i do go, it'll be on sun. let us know if got any gd deals?

val, for such sales, how is it diff from what they already sell at the stores? robinsons RC and ORC also having 20% discount on bb items.

Valnsw: Hehee...going after work. My fren works very near Expo and she's only dropping off work at 630pm, so i told her since i'll be early i will pop by there to see see look look, see if got any good deals. Hehe..

Actually this is my 1st time working in a co. that minds stuff like these..hehe..my big boss oso sent out an email to encourage us to go home earlier. Rare case rite!

Valnsw/Krex78: Will let u all know if got any good deals k! Hiak hiak...

krex78,
i m planning 2 get 2 small & 6 big 1s. as 4 d teats, tink i'll jus get size 1 1st. when it's time 2 change, then i wld buy new 1s.

cindy,
4 me, 2 small is enough coz my son outgrew his when he's abt 1 mth old. so we had 2 upgrade him. mayb u can buy 2 1st. if nt enough, then buy somemore.

celynlee,
dun worry so much k. i m sure tt everything will be okie 4 u. will keep my fingers crossed 4 u. take care k.

gayle tan,
tks 4 d compliments.

faeriekim,
hw come u holding garage sale? u planning 2 move hse?

an update on my gynae's visit yday :
my gal is still in d breech position. in addition, he said tt i m nt putting on enough weight, thus he's a bit concerned. he wans me 2 put on more weight when he sees me again in 2 wks time. m feeling a bit low coz of tt. dun noe whether it's coz of d 2 accidents which i was involved in previously. haiz...

mouuse, storeberry

thanks, don;t worry. my placenta only shifted up during my 29wk plus scan. thought i need to choose date for c sect liao. now no need except gotta play the waiting game. dunno when baby decides to pop

there's going to be another motherhood fair at expo during 5-8june i think

so many sales going on but i;m getting very tired nowadays

I am from March thread. I am letting go of my DOM at half price and home made rice wine at $5 each due to overstocking. Let me know if you are interested. Hp: 97461185

vone,
try durian cake. it worked for me. actually alot of ladies will love to hear their gynae telling them to eat more

yr dr's visit is 2wks, so gd. mine is 3wks

I am from March thread. I am letting go of my DOM at half price and home made rice wine at $5 each due to overstocking. Let me know if you are interested. Hp: 97461185

m2b,
i ate durian cake but only gain 1kg while baby's weight doubled. but i heard 3rd trimester, our weight will really shoot up. so i'm starting to watch my diet liao

little twin stars, m2b,

tks. bt i can't std durians nw. so i hv no idea wat i can eat 2 put on wt. guess tt i jus hv 2 try 2 eat more nwadays.

celynlee,
yup. once i m in d 3rd tri, my gynae visits will incr 2 once every 2 wks. then after 36 wks, it'll b once a wk liao.

vone, at what age will they use big bot? if bb drinks direct from my breast for first 2 mths, shld i get more of the big bot? is it advisable to use big bot when starting or will there be too much air, causing colic? tot i can just put in less milk lor, heehee.

vone, any idea whether kk also follows the same suit of appointment. As I am 27W and my appt is after 4 weeks of my previous appointment.

krex,
i'm not sure if the Expo sale has 20% discount or whether the prices are alrdy discounted. If it's like the JL Expo sale, then I guess the prices are already discounted. Could be they selling the old stocks cos I knw Robinsons warehouse is v near Expo.
Maybe should wait for Huichin's update.

twin stars,
Good to hear your placenta moved up
Wa.. at least your bb gets the weight from you from eating durian cake.
Ya, so many sales but no energy to go cheong them.

vone,
Just eat whatever you feel like, since your doc gave you the green light to eat more
Actually, most important is bb's weight and bb is healthy.

Re: eating
I think my bb's eating pattern starts to go back to 1st trimester. Vomitted out my bfast twice today already. Think she cannot stand the taste of fish soup and fish. Same thing happened 2 days ago. Grrr... But she sure enjoyed the meiji strawberry yogurt I had just now.

krex78,
it depends on d bb. 4 my boy, he started drinking fr d big btls when he's abt 1 mo. if u plan 2 latch bb on direct 4 d 1st 2 mths, mayb u dun hv 2 get so many. if thr's a need, then buy more then. as 4 colic, as long as u burp bb after each feed, then it shld b okie.

luvlel,
paiseh, i m nt 2 sure abt tt. u can chk wif ur gynae coz i tink dif gynaes gt dif practices.

valnsw,
tks.
actually bb is growing well, coz she's abt 900g nw. it's jus tt my gynae is afraid tt since i m nt putting on enough wt, she might nt grow as well later.

tks vone. i will buy more larger bots then. think i will only introduce bots to him from 3rd mth onwards to get him used to it as my MIL will bot feed him when i get back to work.

krex

Yah this will be my second pregnancy and is a girl. My first is a boy and he is 3 years old now.

You sure they use the loop is comfortable. For me, nope as i always got a feeling it is dropping. Hehe.

As for mount A., maybe the other time i stay at the room that is not renovated. Yes, the parking is a killer and my hubby always complain but as for service wise, TMC is really much much better and the nurses are very nice and polite.

Valnsw

I dont know if they sell but definitely kiddy has it.

Twin Stars,
You are lucky that your bb is gaining weight faster than you do coz I seem to be gaining more...I reckon it is due to my better appetite since pregnancy and oso not so intensive exercise as I'm preggie now...I used to do Uzap daily when not preggie too...heehee, vain leh...

Vone,
How abt drinking more maternal milk like Anmum which heard is rather fattening?

krex78,
welcome.

m2b,
tt's out aso. coz i can't std d taste of milk nw. it's rather funny coz 4 my 1st 1, i drank a lot of milk. i can finish 1 pack of hl milk everyday, bt nt nw.

mad, i used loop pads before when i started my period. mom introduced them to me. now can't even find the belt and i heard the ones they give in hospital are not that comfi. if dun use the loop pads provided, so wasted leh. i guess i'm choosing mt a coz' i'm catholic, so it's nice to know there's a chapel and nuns to bless the kid when he's born. moreover, they're very pro breastfeeding.

luvlel, dun learn from me lah. i'm still a newbie. u shld learn from those 2nd time mummies. i got a free newborn starter set when i bought the avent bb monitor. will go check how many small and big bots there are in it. i think the steriliser may also come with bots, so in the end, may not really have to buy. i'll go with val's recommendation of 2 small and 4 big. anyway, steriliser can only take 6 bots at a time.

m2b, i'm worried that my weight gain is too fast. i gained 10 kg already. in 3rd trimester, weight gain expected to increase very fast, so dunno how much more weight i'll put on.

valnsw,
haha, ya, think the durian made her gain so much weight that her placenta went up. hehe
same, no energy to cheong sales

vone,
i'm surprised yr gynae is concern lei as many drs will tell u that as long as the baby is growing well, there is nothing much to worry. moreover, we will def gain very fast from now on.....3rd trimester liao. don;t worry k, try to eat more and enjoy our last leap!

M2B,
now still too early to say. serriz said she gained 13kg in the last mth lei. so i'm crossing my fingers. i do eat alot n i'm not slim. maybe too much excess storage for her to use, haha.

talk about U zapp,
the first time i miscarried was because it used it thinking i'm getting fatter. only to realize it too late

Vone,
The next best thing is cakes liao...I craving for oreo cheesecake now...shall go have it with my gal tmr. :p

Krex,
Dun worry...think I gained a total of 13kg liao and still piling...hahaha..the funny thing is hb thinks that other than my tummy, no other places have gained weight...think he is trying to humour me lah...

Twin Stars,
I oso used Uzap in my early pregnancy as I'm not awared that I'm pregnant...now my sis is using it...must get her to buy a new one for me liao...hahaha

No mommies back yet to report on Taka Sale ah??

what's the normal weight gain? i heard it's no more than 14kg for those who were of normal weight before pregnancy. like that, i will definitely exceed liao.

little twin stars,
tks. will try nt 2 tink so much.

m2b,
ya, tt's a v great idea. okie, will go & eat more cakes then. tks 4 d idea.

M2B,vone,

yaya, i eat alot of cakes now that i'm preg. dunno y, i don;t eat cakes before preg but now, sudd i develop a sweet tooth

mudpie i also like now. today seems quiet, think most mummies went to taka

hey, i'm reading a bk on caring for bb now. can i check if hooded towels are necessary during bath time? what's a gd size for bb towel? i dun think hand towels or adult bath towels are a gd idea rite?

krex78,

i dun tink tt hooded towels r necessary. i m using adult bath towels 4 my son since birth as it's bigger. so can 'wrap' him after his bath / shower.

vone, my bath towels very big leh. and will take up a lot of space in bb's wardrobe. do u use a fresh one each day, or use for a few days then change?

Valnsw: Oh so far only had nose bled once, just a little la, not those flowing type. I drank a little rice water the day before, supposed to be 'cooling' leh, scarly nose bled.

Hmm from 24 to 28th week, I ate quite alot but only gained 3kg. Whereas from 8 - 20 week, I just ate normal meals, every 4 weeks I gained 2 kg. Now at 28 weeks, I have gained 13kg.

Haha can start to drink COCONUT, can't wait! Weather so hot, must drink some of that refreshing coconut water. Wana eat some durian also...yum yum!

krex78,

hehe... it's d same case 4 mine. so i put bb's towels in my wardrobe. nope, i dun change everyday. oni twice per wk.

vone, haha, my wardrobe is full of towels already. well, will take a look. maybe buy those thin towels or something. take up less space.