(2008/08) Aug 2008

Hi Joanne,

Actually not being garang la. but maybe you can consider a part time maid to come in and help you with the hsework. I know of people whom manage w/o maid or any help too. It's all a matter of adjusting and your expectations. If you are someone whom wants your hse super clean and tidy then it would be stressful w/o someone helping you.

briebaby,
i know what you mean about being bored at home. I feel the same sometimes.. So usually I will go parkway (near my hse) go borders, or go library, or just go out somewhere in the day. I try not to stay home everyday so at least alternate days I will go somewhere at least for few hours to keep sane :p where do you live, maybe we can meet up. I live in the east.

Jvenus,
If you really intend to bake then pls go get some help. hahaha. else really can faint. A simplier decoration is to coat the cupcakes with chocolate rather than cream. Then sprinkle some color rice/hearts on it. As cream gets really messy and esp weather so hot now. When's your full mth going to be ?

snow

Oooh, i'm also keen on Children's Place

Will try to find the same brand of capsules.. Thanks!!

storeberry

Here it goes: www.childrensplace.com

Catherine,
I stay Bukit Merah, near Ikea. I'm thinking I should go out more often too, but then I'll miss my dog and feel bad that she has to stay home alone.

i think i share the same thoughts as faithmum, keep thinking since the mummies used to do it last time, why is it so tough to do it now. And i realised CL is so exp, 1800?? And heard alot of complains about CLs le..cos my ILs will cook for me, they live v near me, so i only need to settle taking care of bb and also to wash bb stuff myself, part time comes in once a week to clean e house. Its more of, do i really need tt extra pair of hands til must accomodate a stranger (maid) in the house 24/7. N maids also do give their share of probs. I really dunno leh, cant make up my mind. Sigh...

Briebaby,
think its really impt yet difficult to keep ourself sane. im feel kinda meaningless waiting for HB to come home everyday, tt makes me happy! But then, thats not too healthy isnt it? I dun wanna become one of those super dependent on HB kind..i just hope the arrival of baby will take up our time so much so that we will not have any time left to say we're bored..hee..

Catherine,
Maybe we can meet up too, since we live so near. Then can help to keep each other sane! haha.. =)

Have been following the thread religiously since it was started but was too shy to contribute any postings

I am currently at 25weeks and would love to join. My details:

Mummy: sTrawBerry
Zone: North East
Gynea: Lawrence Ang
Hospital: TMC
BB #: 1
Weight: 700@24weeks
EDD 21 Aug 2008

briebaby,
we can meet at ikea for dessert .. since no coffee no tea now .. hahaha ..

joanne,
ya we live so near, let's meet up next week. MJ
imgaine 4 pregnant woman playing mj ..
hahaha..

Hi sTrawBerry .. welcome

briebaby, catherine,
ikea at queenstown is under reno. restaurant is close for now. no need to go there liao.

snow,
can huh, okie. thanks so much

yuuri,
u gettting those bottles? i'm afraid it'll be hard to find replacement later and also not sure about the teats, if we can replace with those in s'pore

yeah, restaurant at ikea alexandra won't reopen until end of this month. also, so much redecoration work going on there, no good for pregnant women to hang around.

Mahjong, I like, but I'm lousy at it. most people find it boring to play with me cos I'm slow at it. The thought of 4 preg women at the MJ table, quite funny, cannot reach the center of the table... and after 1 round, gotta break for toilet. Haha.

catherine,
yup lets meet up next week! mulberry also lives in the east.

Mulberry & Briebaby,
U keen on MJ??

Welcome Strawberry =)

Im amazed by the research u mummies do even on bottle teats! So chim, got wat BP free, polypropylene etc. Im really impressed by the knowledge. Whats e diff w getting any bottle from the shelf ah? sorry ar, im not good w all these baby stuff ..

joanne,
I agree it feels awful that I'm so glad my HB come home every evening, and I feel sad when he leaves for work. Feels so small and life has no meaning.

But I'm almost very sure, we won't have any complaints when the BB arrive. I only worry, we'll still be looking forward to our HB's return cos then only we can get a break from the BB.

I'll be moving to near my parents place only after my confinement. My plan is hopefully, my parents can help if I really cannot handle the BB & the household myself in future - although I haven't asked if they are ok or not yet. I oso dowan a stranger in my house 24/7, that's why no way to getting a maid. I may try the part time cleaner option oso... but then, that one later than decide. Meanwhile, I've already booked a CL already, crossing fingers everything will turn out ok.

little twin stars,
Was it you looking for NUK glass bottle? I saw it at Kiddy Palace yesterday at $13.90 for 125ml. It sure expensive isn't it?

Hi Joanne,

I totally agree with you. My ILs also stay very near me and they can cook for me while my hubby is willing to help me with housework. However, its the emotional aspect that we have to consider as well. Esp when we are facing the baby 24/7, some say its difficult to keep the sanity there. I guess, with an extra pair of hands we can rest but at the same time participate as much as we can tolerate. I agree that its very costly to get a CL. I booked mine last night with agency at $2000. Looks like tats the market rate now, no longer $1800. Just hope and pray that the nanny will be a great help rather than trouble to us.

BTW, any one of you have regular palpitations?

faithmum,
by palpitations, you mean like kicks? I do. The BB kicking is normal. I also get Braxton Hicks almost everyday. My doc says it's normal, different from individual to individual.

My CL charge 1900. But their herbal menu additional 500+. Sigh, so expensive, but bo pian, don't want to suffer consequences, and no experience, so have to pay.

briebaby,
what you mean by herbal menu additional 500+? don't your confinement lady cook for you while she is with you that month?

i'm paying $1800 for mine.

BrieBaby,

Palpitations means increase in heartrate... can cause breathlessness also...

Actually my CL package only 1800, but after including work permit n levy become 1968... I also paid for the herbs package, which includes 28 days supply of tonics for me, red date tea and herbs to bathe..

Briebaby
we stay very near leh, me live in telok blangah.
can go ikea eat dessert with u gals too. =)

kel, twin stars, hisstory, celyn, storeberry
can send me ur children's place order by tmr morning?
i'll try to settle this 1 fast, dun wanna take too much order. =(
i'm trying to clear my job now before i leave, so abit more busy.
pls allow me to conclude childern's place name list to the above mummies only, apologise to the rest but next time ok?

snow,
Har! I'll be moving to telok blangah heights in Nov, that time even nearer lor.

Faithmum,
Oic. Ok, I only feel breathless at times, especially when I'm outside walking. I don't notice any abnormal increase in heart rate. Did u let your doc know?

Being preg really a lot of discomfort hor. My arms get numb every now and then even when I'm not pressing on it - it just go numb. Even that my doc say is normal.

celynlee,
my CL package is like the 1 faithmum has described.

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>, so u intending to buy cakes for giving out as well? I think my family will handle making the red eggs and there's a particular ang ku shop which my mum likes. Still hvn't decided if I wanna give out cakes or not.

<font color="0000ff">twin star</font>, someone shared about maid training before. If you have a set of proper rules and what you want the maid to do, changing and retraining maid should not be ur worry.

<font color="0000ff">storeberry</font>, I hv made cupcakes before. It's the decoration which I never tried doing. You interested to make too?

<font color="0000ff">cat/brie/jo</font>, u are bored being a SAHM? I've heard my SAHM frens complaining about the amount of work they have to do! Hardly have any time to rest or time for themselves! How about thinking about food? Haha... then u can experiment and cook yummy dinner and wait for hb to come home. Sometimes I'm glad I'm working so I get time-off from facing #1 who can be very demanding at times.

<font color="0000ff">jo</font>, I play mahjong too. Without the $$$. Haha...

<font color="0000ff">rata</font>, no worries. I'm wondering if my bb is too small as I looked through your list. Kind of worried. Will check with gynae on the next visit.

<font color="aa00aa">Re: bottles</font>
Yah, my fren just told me about this BPA thing too. Is it really very impt? My #1 survive on Avent, which is non BPA free bottle? If I wanna change, my hb will be thinking why buy so ex bottles for #2.

<font color="aa00aa">Re: glass vs plastic</font>
I stored in Avent and feed using same bottle. If u warm up EBM in glass bottle, then pour to another bottle to feed, also will waste some right? Is it impt to use glass? Quite dangerous cos I'm quite clumsy sometimes.

Strawberry,
Welcome! Don't be shy. I also log on only now and then, I miss a lot of topics they talk about, but somehow, the gals here don't make me feel like an outsider. Thanks gals!

Notice a few mommies are checking out bottles. I just got my Pigeon BPA free bottles from BHG. Its $14.00 per bottle irregardless of 160ml or 240ml. Got it at a 20pc discount. Bought 4bottles - 2 big 2 small at $44.80. HTHs.

Snow,
Can I join in the babymallonline spree? Do LMK. If you can't handle, I will understand

snow

Sure! I go bio now.. Must get approval from Minister of Finance = HB

kel, twin stars, celyn, storeberry, snow

Ladies, I saw fr one of the spree thread tt when ordering fr CP, it wld be gd to order a size bigger. Seems like the items may be smaller than intended.. Anyway bigger can also last longer too

Hi BrieBaby,
Ya my doc says its normal... read some books tat says its normal too.. due to the extra workload our body is undergoing n sometimes also baby growing upwards n pressing on our lungs... But im getting it quite regularly n its quite uncomfortable to be panting..
BTW, if your herbs package is similar to mine then its expensive leh... i paid additonal 240 on top of my confinement package for this herbal package... Just like wat u said, better to be safe esp when we dont know much abt such tonics..

Thanks for the welcome

Notice someone asking abt glass bottles. Pigeon has glass bottles. However, I got a question. If we were to freeze the milk with glass bottles, would the bottles cracked? From my understanding, glass bottles will break if we freeze it.

Jvenus,
Oh, I believe SAHMs can be very busy! I'm preparing myself mentally for it. I guess it's the SAHMTBs that are bored. Haha. But I guess I didn't have much of a choice. In my former job, I encounter very dirty animals everyday, so I would have had to stop work too. Not to mention, I quitted because 1st trimester I had depression which led to my quitting. Fated lar. Gotta quit sooner or later.

Briebaby
i live in cres, very near only. =)
think beside ikea, we can go vivo also liao.
hee hee.....

celyn &amp; twin stars
u r most welcome.
pardon me if u gals saw more n more shorthand k?
fighting w time now... -_-"

briebaby &amp; faithmum,
am i right to say that $1800 is the pay of the confinement lady and on top of that we have to provide all the necessary food, ingredients, herbs or whatever that is needed right?

jvenus,
i'm not sure how important it is to use glass bottle to store breast milk too. but after yesterday's class, hubby say we go find glass bottle to store. had actually plan to get avent products liao. it will be troublesome for me cos i will be using avent pump, so which means after pump, transfer to glass bottle then store and after warming up transfer back to avent for feed. a lot of transferring, also don't know good or not. maybe should just close one eye and store in avent bottle straight.

faithmum,
Yeah lor, 1 of my friends told me I've been over-charged. But no choice, I've already paid half as deposit.

snow

I dropped u a mail..
Dun worry if u can't org a spree k? We understand the busyness of work.. Tt's def more impt
*hugs*

celynlee
yeah, correct. Either you provide the food, the herbs, etc, or you pay them to provide for you. Then on top of that, I think the CLs will expect ang bao some more.

snow,
you working or SAHM or SAHMTB?

hisstory
thx 4 ur info, will take note.
dun worry for me, i'm very used to multi-task liao...ha ha....
my job is mainly co-ordination, tats y.

Briebaby
will b out of job from mid may, so shd b SAHMTB bah. =)
will be very free during wkday soon lor, beside going 4 my yoga class.

snow74,
you attending pre-natal yoga? where you do it? have been thinking about it but no action. hahha.... lazy mummy.

celynlee,
You not lazy mum. Just no motivation to take the 1st step. I think it normal for pregnant mum to feel tired

strawberry
d prob doesn't lies on i can handle anot, is whether had we exit d amt anot lor.
cannot buy > US$240, will ganna gst leh.

celyn
think i'll go back to Birth&amp;Beyond.
i'm quite used to that yoga teacher liao.
its near orchard, quiet convenient lor.
if din rem wrongly, its $200 4 10 lessons.
need to call them up n chk....ha ha....
u interested to go town area during wkday to do yoga also? =)

reirei,
isit? ya, my tummy very big but not young anymore la... hehe...

M2B,
thanks, will try not to worry...

mousse,
my gynae sold the same brand as yours but it cost me $40 for 30 capsules, agree that it's tasteless &amp; no after taste or burping...

hisstory,
wah, yr fish oil very ex lei...

Jvenus/faithmum,
ya lor, i got BH since my week 23 &amp; it developed into pre term labour contractions that's why have to hospitalised twice &amp; on HL &amp; Ventolin since then...

valnsw,
yup, 2 x fish oil from week 28 onwards is based on gynae's recommedation so i just follow...

re: maid agency
any of you came across a maid agency who do not need you to employ a maid for minimum 1 month if you cant stand the maid at all?

Oh, BTW. Mommies looking for the Prime Sense mini washing machine. I have one to let go. Used once only. Letting go because its inconvenient for me to use as my tap and gully hole distance is quite far apart. Hence I had to use a pail and manually pour away the discarded water, which turned out to be quite silly.

Just offer me. Only thing is self-collection from SengKang or Paya Lebar only

snow &amp; celyn

U're most welcome..

dongle

Yah man.. I got a shock when i saw the receipt. My HB still thought the receipt was inaccurate, until he counted the no. of capsules in the box.. He almost fainted!

Hisstory,
U r the lucky one. hehe.At 21 wks, onli put on 4kg.I hope i can maintain within the 15 kg mark by end of pregnancy.

Btw any of the ladies here has any gd studio to recommend for maternity photos? So far i've oso heard bout Studio Loft.