(2008/08) Aug 2008

Rata,
There is always small small world bumper mat at the BP. BP prices are cheaper than their webisite. Wanted to get but maybe not now cos baby will only use them in 4 months onwards. Think they also have a BP now. Mayb u can pop by to take a look.

twin stars,
the material of the mat is supposed to be good, wont melt so easily one lah.

Hmm.. has any mummy here been diligent in singing songs/rhymes or telling stories etc in the "tai jiao"?

Last 2 wks I was down with flu then I slack off. My mum started to nag at me and she started singing to my bb! gosh.. i feel guilty cos partly I'm also abit lazy to do so..

Hmm.. duno why today I feel so moody.. like no mood to do anything

val,
no le..think im a lousy mummy. I havent done it even once. Find it weird talking or singing to my tummy leh..hee..think im really a lazy mummy

Snow,
Ok, I browse through and get back to you k? heehee

Rata,
I'm quite keen on the bumper mat if not too ex too.

Valnsw,
I didnt sing to my bb but every night I will read to my big gal and thus bb listening too plus in office, I on classical music for her...heehee

Valnsw: I am not singing for bb, just talking to him & playing music for him top hear.. Wanted to buy the children bible stories but didn't have time to get it..

Thanks snow!! Will PM you by sun! Yah, babymall is cheap! Shall get some rompers & bibs... Any good deals to look out for? Is the cot bedding set worth it to buy?

Joanne: I am also a FTWM, my boy will be look after by my MIL in the future..

cindy,
ya i thin i will get it later too. my hse already need some organizing

aiyo, i'm a lazy mummy. never really talk to baby or sing to her. must remind myself

Snow,
can include me too. Will Pm u my wishlist on sun. Thankie.

Hisstory,
In my recent 24th wk check up, I've not gained any weight. hehe, Weight stayed the same as in 20th wk. Heng. But still in all, i've already gained 7.7kg. Hope i will not hit the 20kg mark.hehe

just an update on my gynae visit yesterday on my wk 28, did a growth scan (must pay extra!) & my baby is growing well at 25.4cm and 1176g & me gained 2.7kg from 4 weeks back! aiyo, my gynae say she will close one eye cos i only gained 4.1kg for my 1st 24 weeks... must be the constant sleeping & sitting down for the past month of HL... & since my mum comes to my house everyday to cook & do housework, i have to eat rice that she cooks... will be on ventolin & HL till week 34 & from then onwards, she say i can deliver anytime & encouraged me to go back to work so i can deliver easily... just a little worried that my bb will still be small at week 34... see how la, will review again at week 32... btw, gynae say from week 28 onwards must take 2 fish oil capsules per day, how about the rest?

rata, take your time to update when you are free... thanks lots...

reirei, Mrs Wong is good at handling kids hor... all never make noise & seemed to enjoy the bathing & massage sessions... will be attending my 2nd antenatal class conducted by her this evening...

Valnsw,
I've not sing nor tell stories to my bb before. Find it kinda weird. The most is talk to her at times n play music for her to listen.
Think i m oso a lazy mummy

snow & cat, seems like buffet is a standard practice?
I was thinking if I should attempt making my own cake cos nowadays it's so expensive to order them, especially cupcakes?

Hi Dongle n Reirei,

I was at the pigeon talk too... ya those babies look so comfortable n cute... However, i have to comment something... Being a nursing lecturer myself, she did miss out certain steps while bathing the baby... but not very critical...
Anyway, i enjoyed the food too... cant believe that they actually provide decaffeinated coffee!! my husband was complaining... Haha.. :p

Dongle,
good to hear dat u & bb are doing well!

I'm oso a lazy mommy..bought her oni 1 classical cd and listen till i'm so scared of it now.. :p

Today weather not bad..got rain and wind and not too hot. Hopefully weather in august will be like dat too.

Faithmum,
Wow, I'm sure u are good wif bbs too?
What are the steps dat she missed out?

Yah, I was oso surprised to see coffee & tea. Thot they will provide soy bean milk or sumfin..haha..
BTW is there any taste difference for decafeinated coffee?

Reirei,
ya the decafeinated coffee taste wierd, tats y my husband complained... to me it was still acceptable, maybe becos ive been deprived of it for too long.... haha :p

i used to work in kk hospital, so know how to handle babies... but not sure when it comes to my own...

The steps she missed out are not very crucial, probably when it comes to nursing schools, we have to be a bit more precise... like the cleaning of the baby's face n umbilical cord... the camera man was standing at the wrong side... cant really see what she was doing...

sorry ladies, was busy just now.
i'm ok with ordering, but pls dun order a big lorry of stuffs ya? =P
cos i think can only order till ard US$240 per merchant the most lor, else will ganna gst.
so far saw 7 items at less than US$10 only...hee hee...

kel
thx, i always make use of that combine shipment thingy also. =P
got discount for gap and ON also, u interested?
for material quality wise, i will still recommend gap.
can order for milestone like full mth and bday.
dun worry, I'll order on next monday.
US 13th is our 14th noon. =)

hisstory
i bo bian leh, hb already standby 3 more bottles of fish oil even when i haven finish current bottle.
so every morning after taking fish oil, will keep burping and feel abit nausea lor. =(

venus
agree, can forget about cupcake...ha ha...
out of my budget lor, simple cake will do.
thought of buffet also, but i scared like last time people come liao stay till very late then go home. -_-"

Faithmum,
Oh, perhaps she din have the time to go into the details..cos the whole seminar ended 1 hour late.
I was there 1/2hr early and got to seat in the 3rd row so could see quite clearly..

Snow,
My HB said he'll jus go for the traditional butter cake and red eggs. Shld be quite cheap bah..maybe i will chk out Pines Garden at AMK.
I'm oso quite reluctant to spend too much on cup cakes tho it's really quite cute and presentable. Some packages allow u to put bb's foto but HB dun wan. He says he dun wan pple to throw bb's foto away..

Dongle,
Dun worry abt bb;s weight. Since gynae advised at Week 34 is ok then can always feed bb when she is out. Now rbr to rest well and take care k?

I’m not taking any fish oil supplement as my gynae said not necessary.

Snow,
My hb plans to do something big for bb’s full month but for me, I’m ok with not doing anything at all lor…scared the trouble and tiredness lah…

<font color="0000ff">Rata</font>
yup me still in KL, will be going back SG this friday evening.
yeah me too like more tired recently. Usually i don't sleep in the afternoon but these couple of days, i feel very tired and thus took few hrs nap :p

<font color="0000ff">Joanne</font>
wow so nice, u have a very 'fruitful' trip to Shanghai ya...bought so many bb clothes. ;)

I also bought baby cot liao. I bought it during the Expo BB fair.

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
me same as you, i also don't like cockles. hee...but i still enjoy eating char kway tiao w/o it.

<font color="0000ff">ReiRei</font>
as long as ur baby is healthy weight, that's enough lah. You should be thankful you haven't been gaining much weight lei. Else difficult to lose it after given birth.
hee...speaking of durians, my Dad just bought durians for me. I just ate 2 pieces (err..is it called pieces?)...hee..don't dare to eat alot coz durians very high calorie.

Re: Cloth diapers
Today I just bought 2 dozens pcs. cheaper here in KL. Bought Anakku brand and another brand called Baby Kiko.
Plan to use at least during the 1st month coz got CL to do the washing :p.

Re: Talking/Singing to baby
i will usually talk to her when i'm alone coz it feels weird if got ppl around...keke..
I will sing to her at night before i go to sleep. Hopefully she will recognise the songs when she comes out. Then when sing to her, she'll know it's bedtime.

reirei
EXACTLY!!!!
i customised and printed my gal's photo previously, and those guests just finish d choco and sweet...all the "wrappers" are left on table.
so, not going to hoo-ha this time round. =P

m2b
ya man! i can do w/o any celebration too.
but my mum just warned me cannot "big small eye".
ha ha....

Hi snow, great!! I just wanna get socks from on. Gap i'll take a look. How many percent discount you have?

Can you help with children place order too??

Any other mums here interested in children place spree?? I wanna buy shorts for my twins leh.

Snow, where do you live?? I'm at amk. Where's your collection location for sprees??

Pls count me in for babymall, ON &amp; children place spree ok. Will try to send you my orders by sat coz sunday will be super bz. My cousin's wedding.

Oh, so you selling away your fish oil??

Reirei,

Ya i guessed she didnt have time as well...

BTW, anyone gotten braxton hicks already???
I just got it last night n didnt even know... just went to see my gynae today n she told me its braxton hicks...

anyone has any idea how to calculate the maternity leave? does it go by 3 months or 12 weeks? thinking to start planning my work soon... :p

mousse
it goes by 12 weeks...so u must plan carefully when u want to start taking leave..then count 12 weeks from then...

Kel,
Braxton hicks are false contractions...

Mulberry,
What i experienced last night was like dull n achy kind of cramps... something like menstrual cramps... tats wat i told my gynae... she was worried that its real contractions tat would send me to labour pains... so she did s scan to check the cervix length to make sure it want shortening... Fortunately, it wasnt labour pain... she said, as long as it goes away n doesnt increase in intervals then it should be ok...

hi faithmum,
i experienced braxton hicks twice after my 16th wk or 20th wk. Like what mulberry said, it's a hardening of the tummy but painless. Just uncomfortable.

What you got seems like tummy discomfort to me. I get that on and off. Especially after a full meal and the aches/cramps is at both sides of my upper tummy. Just like this afternoon

dongle,
glad to hear that you and your baby are doing well. Jia you!

RE: singing to baby
I only occasionally sing to bb only when in my room. Haha I told hubby to sing something to bb and he said "I don't know". So I made him sing twinkle twinkle little stars by saying I will sing with him. alamaks.. he totally off tune one.. now just play CD for bb to hear.

snow / reirei / M2B,
I now still searching for those full-mth ang ku kuehs and red eggs. Cos intend to do hi-tea buffet. I managed to find confectionary shop doing ang ku kueh but the red eggs one, on 2 separate occasions the same shop told me different things.

Now my mum asks me go check if they also can prepare glutinous rice. faintz!

Is it a tradition to serve glutinous rice for bb's full-mth celebration?

valnsw, i haven't started singing. in all honesty, i lost all my nursery rhymes :p

as for full month celebration, i haven't gone to tat yet. but i usually see red eggs and ang ku kuey only.

snow, i was wondering for the babymall online spree, do you have any requirements/format that u need us to follow? i.e model no. color, size, price etc? maybe u can provide us a table so that it will be easier for u to consolidate. just a suggestion. thanks again for your kind assistance.

Cindy, thanks so much for checking the brand of your cloth diaper. No hurry okay?

Valnsw
I did the ang ku kueh and red eggs for my boy last time, but it was from polar cake shop. Comes with a cake also, you can either choose walnut, butter, or marble cake. Can try there if you want

snow,

I'll PM you if I want anything too. thanks.

little twin star,
The maid is an experienced one. 4 yrs HK. 2 yrs SG. I think after comparing she wants to go back to HK.

Joanne,
I'm a SAHMTB. Interested in the prenatal yoga too. Let me know if you're going. I don't mind to join in the weekday classes. I live in kembangan. Very near to you.

Jvenus,
you sure you have energy to bake the cupcakes. Baking is easy, it's the decorating. I did an order once for a friend's baby full month. You need a whole day. Then again depending on how many you making. I have a very simple cupcake recipe if you interested, PM me.

medusa,
woo hoo. Thanks for the info! Perhaps I can go ask Polar Cakes.

missysz,
I also kinda forgot all the nursery rhymes :p my mum was asking me about all the nursery rhymes cos she said as a kid, I loved to perform in front of the adults to show them what I learnt in nursery.

mulberry,
You must be enjoying your time in KL. hehe looks like we have the same tastes, eat char kway tiao without cockles. Personally I don't like shellfish like mussels, cockles, oysters.

Oh BTW, is Megan or you organising the east-side gathering? That's on 1st June right?

faithmum,
i also seem to have BH nowadays, i experience hardening of the abdominal for like 10secs? I guess thats BH huh. but wonder is there a "too early to have" BH time.

Mulberry,
u coming back this friday?good good then we can meet up next wk! btw u keen on prenatal yoga?

Catherine,
Yup im intending to join the class for wkday morning classes. I tried calling them today for details but no answer, will try again tom and let you know ya =)

Mousse,
If u wanna be very accurate, u can take 12 weeks x 7 days = 84 days (provided dat u r eligible for the 3rd mth maternity lah).
Btw, it includes weekends and public hols and u can start taking ur ML (4 weeks i tink) before delivery.

Datz how I calculate for my staff the last time.

Valnsw,
Hehhe..ur HB soo farnie..i guess the next time he said he dunno, better dun force him...:p

Woo..it seems like there's quite a number of SAHMTB in this thread!

Told my HB dat i intend to start work after 2-3 mths after delivery. How about u gals?

Valnsw,

I bought a cot, the mattress also 24X48". Then I realized now that not many places sell the fitted sheets for that size. If you come across nice ones, pls let me know. Thanks

catherine,
You want fitted sheets as in those that don't have the elastic band isit?
Actually, I just buy the standard sized one ( the 28" x 52") which has elastic band. I just let the extra cloth will go underneath. Have not tested it on actual mattress yet as waiting for it to arrive nxt mth or in July.
I'm still looking out for spare set in case the one bb uses gets dirty.

reirei,
my hubby is just being noti la.. I think he knws how to sing just that he's not v focused.

Sometimes don't get him. I was telling him, eh 3 more mths liao, need to give bb a name. Then he went online to look for bb gal names. Threw up Stacy, Stella and few others. Til now, we still cannot agree on a name yet. Headache. Then still hv the chinese name, duno how to do that either.

Valnsw,

Fitted sheets are those with the elastic bands. I was hoping to get the exact size for 24X48". I saw today at Taka as I was looking thru the sheets that it's one of the sizes available but no stock. They only have the quite std 28X52" ones.

Re Names
I spent so much time going thru the internet baby names sites until I really want to go crazy. Finally we have decided on the name BERNICE. As for chinese names, my uncle has helped us come up with a list to choose from. And I haven't decided if want to go to those "fortune teller" to calculate the name. Cos read from some threads that alot of them are computerized and names come up repeatedly. So not very "sincere" and also I feel they usually come up with very hard to read/write names.

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
hee....i guess u can say Megan and I are co-organisers bah ;)
Yeah date is suppose to be 1st June. I'll remind everyone again about 2 weeks before ya.

Btw, to date no one has suggested the place to meetup leh...

I'm thinking of Swensen's in Tampines Mall (coz i wanna eat their ice-cream...hahaha), but i haven't been there yet, dunno is it kids friendly or not.

<font color="0000ff">Joanne</font>
yup yup, will contact u when i'm back ya ;)
i'm keen on prenatal yoga but Tanglin Mall seems abit far. How to go there ar? Any nearby mrt station?

<font color="0000ff">ReiRei</font>
I plan to be a SAHM for at least 1 year. hee...hopefully i can handle it lah.

val

Coz I din manage to check out the price of drypers, say fr NTUC or other supermarkets, so I am not sure if after the 20% it wld have been worth it also.. I shall go seesee looklook at the supermarkets &amp; then hop down to JL if i can make it this weekend

ReiRei

I am eyeing the Maxi-Cosi Foray, it's a travel system.. Saw it off ToysRus's webby tt focusses on bb's stuff.

Ur HB really not bad leh, he got the essential stuff.. The quality of stuff fr US really qt gd!!

Nvm, when bb comes, can still join sprees for ON

Me &amp; HB are so tired fr work everyday.. Hardly talk to BB *ooops* Bad parents!

steph

Wah, lucky ger.. I think i might have put on another 2kg since the last visit.. *eeks* But at my 21st wk, the total i've put on was abt 4kg

dongle

So glad to hear ur baby's growing well
Dun worry abt the wt gain, i think it looks okie leh..

Hmm, so u're actually on HL till 34 week, but gynae says if u feel ok, u can return to work yah? I think it may be gd too, but must not overstrain urself k?

snow

Wah, 3 bottles of fish oil.. But tt's not the supplement tt gynae gave yah? I think my fish oil capsules fr gynae are very expensive!! *faint*
Is it safe for us to get fr elsewhere, but the same brand/ contents?

Same here, I will burp after i take the fish oil.. And i fart more &amp; have loose stools fr take them too *sian*

catherine,
thanks for the info. You managed to find the bedsheets for your cot size at Taka? Isit at the baby dept or at the open atrium?

mulberry,
I've been to the Swensen's at Tampines for the wkday executive lunch set. Quite a gd deal, as in you pay the price of the main course for a soup of the day, main course, coffee/tea and ice-cream. Though I got ice-cream cake instead on that day I went. Weekend may not hv this deal.
The area quite big but didn't see any kids' play area. I know cannot book table for Swensen's on weekends

Any mummy noticed some fluid coming from your nipples? I was going to wipe my nipples with cotton wool then saw a tiny drop of fluid exposed. I wiped off and the consistency is abit thick and slight yellow. Wonder if it's colostrum? Any mummy can advise?

hisstory,
the JL sale I think is up to tomorrow. After tomorrow not sure if still have the discount. You can call up to enquire. I think drypers still cheaper with 20% off.

RE: fish oil
I also burp out the fishy smell whenever I take the capsule. I only take when I feel ok. On days I feel not so gd, I skip the fish oil

catherine,valnsw

i jus confirm my maid. she is from fhil, no ex. fresh from kampong, haha. but she is a mom of 2. 26yrs old. her english standard is not fantastic, think no practice. jus have to train lor. the indo one has ex in s'pore but no ex with babies and is single. i scared she has no mother instinct and will not tahan when baby keeps crying.

my "gambling" has begun. hope this one don;t give me probs

little twin star,
good luck. Keep us updated with your maid. Phil so got off or not ? I'm still waiting for the maid agency to call me to go select my maid.

catherine,
got off after 6mth of her loan. i don't mind. i can also ask her to earn more $. go mil's hse on day off to clean up. up to her. gotta see how. my agent normally take her maids from south. she say city maids are hard to handle and demanding. will keep u posted. m getting her in beginning june