(2008/08) Aug 2008

chipchip,
Baby also seldom listen to me but when daddy told her to rest and let mummy sleep, she seems to be cooperative

Rat,
Will check on the stem cord.

i am new in this thread. i am 25 weeks preg. i am planning to buy few things but no idea..bcoz i am 1st time mother. can any one suggest from where i can buy breast pump, steralizer and which bottle i should buy nuk, avent

Hi little twin,
it was nice to see you here.

Hisstory,
I read somewhere that it is compatible with Maclaren XLR but have to buy adaptor. But according to maxi cosi website, it says it is compatible with Quinny Buzz and Quinny Zapp.

Quinny Strollers tend to be on heavy side, I have read good reviews about Maclaren strollers and it is lightweight.

Maclaren XLR - Compatible with most infant car seats, including:

Britax Companion
Combi Center
Combi Connection
Combi Tyro
Cosco Designer 22
Cosco Eddie Bauer
Evenflo Discovery
Graco Snug Ride - Safe Seat
Peg Perego Primo Viaggio

Not sure if most of them is available in Sg though. Have to check out first. Now still thinking if should get infant car seat to make a travel system or go straight for a car seat that can last longer Celyn did.

babywise

Thanks! I was looking at MaxiCosi Foray.. Can only be found in the US though
Though i haven't checked out the baby stuff warehouse at Kaki Bukit, so I'm still crossing my fingers & toes

Might consider Graco & Peg Perego too.. Agree, Quinny Buzz are too heavy. Zapp is okie weight, but not suitable for newborns & cannot attach carrier

babywise,

my husband is so evil.. i was telling my husband that bb keep moving .. make me cannot sleep..then he asked bb ' kick more.. disturb mummy' and he laughed ... he is so bad

sorry celyn,
wrong message.. message to missysz

chipchip,
its ok. hehhehe....

why your hubby like that... but i'm sure he don't mean it lah, just trying to test out baby's response and tease you.

yesterday, i bought a confinement food cook book. was looking at it and reading out each dish name loudly. then hubby say, i'm reading to baby is it? while i continue, he told baby to ignore me and listen to his story telling.

celyn,

haha ur husband is so funny..

my husband is very bad.. he told me that he is very sure that bb will love him more.. he will use money to buy her.. make her likes him more than me

mousse & chipchip,
yah. at times, they are like kids themselves too. imagine we have to face 1 small and 1 big child at home. hahhahaha.....

chipchip & celyn

Our HBs are funny yah? HB asked me yest when I was lying down on the sofa, 'Is bb kicking'? I told him 'No'. Then he told bb, 'kick mummy, kick mummy'

I gave HB a kick instead.. Coz i practice 'selecting listening', it shd be 'mummy kick'!

baby kick
its quite amazing with the kicks..my bb dun wanna kick when my hubby puts his hand or ear to my tummy...think she know its daddy..she will kick kick..then when hubby put his hand ..then she stop.so furni..she only likes to kick when i put my hand on my tummy..

hisstory,
hahha.... i will tickle or poke my hubby when baby moves. i told him cos baby moves and kicks me, so i do the same loh. then you know baby is moving mah. heheh....

babywise,
The cordlife counter is located outside the jollybean store. But the $400 discount is only avail. if you are ion FBI scheme.

celynlee/mousse/chipchip,
i guess the guys are trying to enjoy the whole pregnancy process too. my HB also always talk to our girl girl and tell her how bad I am, then when she come out she must listen to him and not me... but for the endless movements from my girl at night, he will still tell her to sleep to so mummy can go to bed....

car seat:
saw one going for only $130+ - nania car seat, orange colour, during robinsons sale. but salesperson told me can only use from 4 mths onwards, so i won't get car seat till bb is abt 3-4 mths. then he can try on also, haha. think it's a waste of money to get infant car seat, then switch to toddler later on.

swimwear:
i bought my maternity swimwear from maternity exchange in marina sq. very ex. abt $160. i wore it for 1st time yest

bb movement:
my bb is not so active leh. he kicks sometimes but not very regularly. gets stimulated by certain kinds of food. that day, i ate mango dessert and he was kicking away inside, haha. dunno whether he likes it or hates it!

oh yes, wanted to check with experienced mommies on hospital package. is it true that if we sign up for double room (e.g. at mt a), we will be upgraded to single room? i went for hospital tour last week and find the double room very nice, but hubby thinks single might be better so he can stay over. now i dunno whether to take single or double coz' of the price difference.

krex,
Wah the maternity swimwear very ex leh... anyway, read somewhere that preg ladies skin pigmentation is not very good hence not advisable to go under the sun. So you mummies swim at night or swim in the sun? Was thinking of gg swimming at night instead scared got black pigmentation....

Krex78,
That is not true, It will depend on the availability of the room at the point of admission. For example, if you booked a 2 beded but at the point of admission, the room is fully occupied, they will try their best to accommodate your choice, for example offer a single room, charged at the price of double room (that is provided a single room is available) If happened at the point your delivery, it peak period, then they would offer a 4 bedded. Of course charge you at price of 4 bedded.

pupi,

aiyo long time never chat! u finally decided to join the thread
i was telling mrs teng to join too but i think she's too bz la. she's expecting twin girls. i', having a girl. what's yr baby;'s gender?

oh, u may wanna provide rata with yr details so she can key u into the data......
1) edd
2) zone
3) dr
4) baby's gender
5) baby no. #1

need to meet my confinement nanny now, today;s also my first ante natal class. bz day
chat with u tonight or tom

nice to see u here

actually today was a bit free thats why i login and found you.
i have not asked the dr about gender. want to keep as surprize.

Hi rata,pls have my details.
) edd - 7th aug
2) zone -jurong west
3) dr - prof pc wong
4) baby's gender -
5) baby no. #1 - first baby

Oh Jurong West Sports complex has an INdoor Olympic pool, you can go there to swim. But beware HFMD now~! Better to be safe than sorry.....

hi History,

Thanks for the pat =).I'm feeling much better. I was upset coz he did not inform me that he took the money frm our joint acct til i've found it out myself. I mean if the fren need it for some emergencies thats y he didn't inform me at all, I would be fine by it . But just to gamble in casino !!! Faint..

Hi Snow,
Part of the money was from our joint acct. N in the first place, we agreed to be open to each other but yet in the end he just took the money without even informing me n pretend like nothing happen until i found it out myself. Its not bout the money just that i felt that since its frm our joint acct, he should give me the basic respect and ask me first . Dats wat i'm really upset about. But i m better now after talkin it out.

Hi valnsw,
I feeling much better now. Actually my FIL put me to be in charge of finances cos he felt that my hubby doesn't know how to control his finances. Dat is also y my FIL was asking me why did i give him access to the money.. I should have been firm den he couldn't lend his fren. But my thinking is since he is out with his fren, i felt that he should have more cash and c/c with him just in case he needed money.
Haizz ..
part of the money was frm the c/c and the rest frm our joint acct. So do u think i should b upset.

I've told him my concerns but to him is tis is a small matter. N since his fren will return him the money, i should just take it as nothin happen. Somehow or rather, he can't seems to understand that wat i want is basic respect frm him.
Guess men in a way is still kinda MCP dats y although we mayb saying the same things as their frens, their frens words will always sound more logical n convincing than ours.hehe..

Anyway, thanks, i feeling better,just wanna concentrate on my baby.

celyn

U're so funny! Your HB not in time to feel bb's movts ah? I think my ger moves too little & too quickly for me to get HB to feel the movt.. When he talks to her, he doesn't get any reaction. Must be due to his uninteresting voice..

steph

You're most welcome.. I do hope that your liquid cash is still quite alright. Oh, u mean the fren is borrowing the money for gambling? Cannot be, i hope!

But I understand, esp since it's a joint account, you wld prefer tt even if it was for emergency, he had spoken/discussed with you

hisstory,
no lah. he gets to feel baby and now i ask him to see baby move. but i just like to poke him whenever baby moves loh. hahahha....

hisstory,

yup yup, liquid cash is alright. Dat the prob, the money lent is for his fren to gamble in casino.. Thats the so called emergency for them.
Faintz. hee

I finally found a pair of pink minnie mittens & booties! got 20% disct some more..Soo happie!

Got it at a shop called Le Enphants in Suntec.

re: Medela pumps,
I saw PIS Adv (prev. version) selling for abt $550 in a shop in paragon. It's on promotion. Looks quite reasonable since the latest version is selling for abt $700. Anyways, Taka is having 15% on medela products. Those interested, can go take a look.

Mulberry,
I went shopping today to source for a nice dress but no luck leh..
Cloud9 has 1 dat i quite like (floral blue dress under their new arrival) but it's out of my budget so din get it..if i cun find anyting betta, will go wif hubby to get it..prob ask him to pay for it..heheh..

happie,
I think it's natural for you to feel angry and upset. I would anyway, and will kick up a big fuss. And well about his friend returning the $ to him, I think it's a bonus if he returns the $. Cos I'm always of the view that if lend to friend, most likely this debt will be written off, i.e. will not be repaid one.

Heh.. I quite bad, duno if I'm teaching you bad things. Maybe you should've cried in front of your hubby when you were upset to show him the severity of the situation. Don't waste the tears.. hehe
Ok Seriously speaking, my hubby at least will then start to realise something is v serious when he sees me crying la..

Look at it another way, at least he lent $ to friend and not have extra-martial affair wor.
$ can be earned back. Anyway, must stay as happy as your nick ya?
and be strong for your bb!

YLN,
I'm also like you, my bb kicks/responds to me when I put my hand on my tummy. But when hubby touches my tummy and asks her to kick, she just no response. But of late, he started talking to her more then slowly start to have abit of response..

hisstory / celyn,
Ya I think hubbies will tend to tell the babies what to do lo.. My hubby keeps telling my bb not to swim here and there, cos mummy wants to sleep. haha

I tink all hubbies are the same! hahah..
My hubby oso tries to 'lecture' bb whenever she kicks me hard hard..
maybe datz why bb doesn't respond to him when he talks to her or puts his hand on my tummy!

valnsw,
I've the same thinkin as u. I think money lent is diff to get back but since he is so optimistic, i shall leave it to him.
i've tried crying but its no use, he think i m just kicking up a big fuss.

Well,i've decided not to bother bout him n just b happie for the baby. hee

happie,
glad you're ok now! Anyway, just make sure you don't plough all your money into the joint account. Must keep some "si fang" $ for yourself heh..

anybody knows of any place that just sells purely red eggs and/or ang ku kueh for bb full-mth celebration? I don't need the whole package or cake with ang ku kueh and/or red egg.

babywise & missysz,
wrong info given on the car seat we bought. it cost $473 before 15% discount. the leather car seat protector is $79 before discount.

re car seat
after reading the papers lately about it not being very safe to carry newborn from hospital to home, think i will go ahead and get a car seat ..intially was thinking to get only maybe when bb is 2-3 months...but i think car seat is safer liao..better start looking around ....think GSS starts on 23rd may..heehee..good time to shop liao..

<font color="0000ff">ReiRei</font>
Of course must ask ur hubby to pay for the dress le.
We MTBs suffer so many things liao (backache lah, pelvic pain lah, swollen ankles lah, etc, etc...), part of hubby's role is to buy things for us to make us happy.....

btw, i also bought a pair of pink Minnie mittens &amp; booties. hee...wonder if it is the same ones.
I bought them couple months ago at Kiddy Palace.

YLN,
The most important thing is of course safety while the other thing is that if baby is not trained from early days to sit on car seats, they will tend to cry if you try make them sit on car seats when they are 2-3 months.

valnsw (valnsw) ,
My hubby and CL made 100 red eggs themselves using red color dye during my girl full mth celebration and we order abt 80 ang ku keuk from our house market. We pre order in 1 week notice. Buying from market is so much cheaper.
We just bought a very big cake and with buffet and everyone who came have their share of everything.
We have the celebration at home and even profit more than double.

celyn

heheh, poke somemore! Only about 3 more mths to go..
Was thinking to myself, now I get some privileges in my workplace with the preggy status.. Must treasure the 'perks'!

steph

*ouch* I think you need to put your foot down on this issue with ur HB.. I figure since the money has already been lent, there isn't much you can do abt tt sum. But in future shd such incidences arise, even if the money's for emergency, he shd talk to you first. Moreover it's a joint account tt the money is coming from.. *hugs*

val

Ur HB so sweet! My HB still ka jiaos me alot.. *spanks*

Hi Valnsw,

You can order those special 1st mth ang ku kueys from this shop at everton. They are famous for their ang ku kueys and many shops order from them. It's really very nice.

Ji Xiang Confectionary - 62231631
(it's at everton but cannot rememebr which block)

wow.. didn't know still have mummies awake at this hour.

avocado,
thanks. My mum was thinking of dyeing the eggs red, but I was telling her, better not, else the kitchen v messy and I think she will be damn stressed. Prob will consider getting ang ku kueh from house market u say?

Catherine Fong,
Thanks for the contact. Prob will give them a call to check them out.

BTW, any mummy know if Baby hyperstore or baby avenue that has britax car seats? I thought the Britax Marathon seems not bad.. wonder if any discount

hisstory,
my hubby just being naughty, not sweet la. Just now he asked bb if she wants to drink milk. if she wants, he will test out for her first. he told her to kick me if she agrees. Faintz!!!

morning ladies!
finally able to come online when my hb is not free....hee hee....he is very strict to the use of electricity &amp; water at home 1 ok!?!?! =P

happie
ya, good that u can prioritise situation now. =)
i believe i'll be angry if i'm u also, i cannot take any rubbish that break a promise.
if things that my hb has no confident, i always advise him not to promise....hee hee....
but try to settle problem calmly lor, man and women thinks differently after all.

Wing,
If I'm not wrong, the shop's name is First Few Years, located with all the other shops dat sell children's stuff.
I know BHG and Robinsons having sale but have not checked their promotions on Medela products. You may jus wanna compare the prices around first.

Mulberry,
The mittens I bought have a white colour mickey mouse logo with the words "Baby Minnie". Issit the same?

hello mummies
just went for my diabetics test this morning...had to starve for 2 hours!..arrghhh..so hungry man...after that had a bagel from starbucks and a cup of mocha..shiok...and half an hour later, a bowl of laksa!..wow..such a pig..
anyway..gynae gave me an extension of my hospitalization leave for another 3 weeks, n gave me an option whether i wanted to go back to work, i think i will try to arrange for something flexible with my boss...maybe go back 3 days and rest 2 days...since i have the MC anyway...
my gal is in breech position but gynae say its ok at this stage, no wonder i keep feeling the urge to pee lately, naughty gal keep using her feet to disturb my bladder...
but she should move head down closer to delivery..cross my fingers..
tomorrow going shopping liao..i saw in the papers today, robinsons selling NUK steriliser going for $180 + free gifts (mil bottles/wipes) ..may get that set..

Valnsw n babywise,

Lucky i did not transfer the full amt, otherwise i can't imagine wat will happen. hee

hisstory,
i m not goin to bother bout the money now, all i want is for him to admit his mistake but if he still insist he is right den i dunno wat i'll do..Morever its not the first time. But i shall stay happie still for my baby.

Snow74,
i told my hubby the same ting. Dun mk promises if u cant keep it. N he can tell me he mk promises just to appease me. Faintz. Basically he is a gd hubby but when it comes to money matters n frenz, i thnk he just trust pple to easily though he insist he does not. Dats is y my Fil n mi keep telling him to discuss things with mi before makin any decision but guess his ego is playin tricks on him. That is one prob which keep coming up between us.

found this interesting article about chocolate reducing pregnancy complication risk. Now have more excuse to eat chocolate liao.
http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20080428/hl_nm/chocolate_pregnancy_dc

YLN,
sounds like you were super hungry. Hehe.. me thinking of whether to get the NUK steriliser too. not sure if the food warmer that comes with the set is worth it. Cos I knw Kiddy palace selling NUK steriliser with free milk bottles at $102.

happie,
hmm.. since you know your hubby's character, then better don't put all the $ into the joint account. Must reserve some for yourself lo.. it's a form of savings to fall back on. Haiz.. sometimes men need us women to "motherhen" them. As for making promises, I always tell my hubby u can say what you want, but it's the actions that prove it. So hor, I alrdy start to tune out what he says sometimes, i.e. I take his words with a pinch of salt. Only when he realises his action, then I take it for gd. Else I'll be v stressed expecting the promise to be fulfilled.