(2008/08) Aug 2008

snow74, i juz sent u PM.. wonder if u already closed the spree?

massage lady
for my 1st pregnancy, i got the massage lady to come to my place. did the massage on a mattress tat i was ready to throw away. u shld anticipate the mattress becoming dirty becos of all the oil n powder n stuff that they apply on you during the massage.

stretchmark cream/oil
i used mothercare cream initially but it was too smelly... tink i bought the one tat was exposed to sunlight!!?! anw, i used clarins oil for the rest of the pregnancy and it worked just fine for me. currently, i'm using clarins oil + mustela stretch mark cream. mustela cream got nice nice smell.

re: Clarins tonic oil
I read somewhere in the June MTB thread that somebody got it for $54.50 per bot at some toiletries shop at Chinatown? Not sure if it's Swanston or something of that name.

Anybody recommend any brand for bathing baby? I was thinking of getting Johnson & Johnson but there was some report about SLS, some substance that is cancer-causing?

Me blur.. what to buy? Bathing shampoo and anything else? :p

snow,
just saw your PM. have you closed the spree? I just replied your email. hope I'm not too late to join in with my order.

Snow
I sent a few messages to your hotmail leh but no reply leh.. hope you have not closed the spree but if its ok if you did, no worries.

good morning mummies!
i'm back from the 're-education' class. totally depressing... cos gotta prick my finger 7 times!!! listen to boring lecture on healthy food and eat hospital stuff... urrrrgg... =/

anyone bought anything from Robinsons??? :D

oh, my hubby's car got kissed in the backside when he was sending me to kkh yesterday am. luckily, baby and i are fine. =)

but now that the car's in workshop, we're kinda 'grounded'..

i bought my clarins stretchmark oil from Sasa... for abt $65. Cheaper compared to DFS and over Clarins counter.

Went to Robinson sales on tue and the queue is so long.. in the end din get anything cos i went after work and crowded.

There are some good buys like Avent Sterliser and milk bottles like NUK and avent 20% discount. But im looking at Gerber milk bottles cos it's bpa free however the bottle does not reduce colic. Saw from yest's newspaper medela mini electric pump selling at $225 (before $367.20). From the pic, it includes milk bottles and some other items. Not sure whether it's 1 or 2 pumps. Heard that the only con is it's noisy. Another plus point is its bottles are bpa free too.

Anyone has any recommendations on what milk bottles to buy... So far only bought the big items like cot, pram.. yet to get the small items... seems like a lot to buy..

I am an April 08 mommy and would like to recommend my CL. She comes from a family of confinment nannies so if she is booked up...one of her sisters can follow up .
Her name is "Sing He" and she is from Muar, M'sia. In her 40s. Very responsible and efficient. Great cook and great with my baby.

If you are interested you may call her sister living in Singapore and tell her you are interested in "Sing He". U may tell her you got recommended by "lin tai tai"

Tel: 64437483 / 92447467

Bump
====
mine bump also.. all my friends cannot believe that i am close to 6 months...

Fox Sale
========
Just came back.. finally bought my 1st lot of bb clothings.. not that cheap leh.. got 1 suit(top & bottom-S$9.00 per suit) & 11 pairs of socks($1 each).. spend about S$20.00.

Cindy,

Hope can help others

BB movement
bb likes to move lots , esp night times.. make me cannot sleep well

today, was out shopping. finally bought our car seat at mothercare. but didn't get the britax one that i originally wanted although it can sit into our car but it looks huge in our small car. so the staff at mothercare recommended us the concord car seat made in germany. http://www.mothercare.com.sg/productdetail.asp?pid=150
in terms of height, its shorter but have a wider width.

with the purchase from mothercare, now i'm their member and will entitle to 10% discount off regular items.

any mummies who wish to get things from mothercare, can let me know. you can quote my membercard number to get 10% discount. according to the staff, no need to present the card, just tell them the member card number will do.

we got something for ourselves from espirit too with that i was given the espirit membership card. hehehhe..... hubby's bank is now poorer by $650.

mulberry,
maybe cos the discount comes from my ex-ceo, they went on a business trip together.

mousse,
oh no... but glad that you all are fine. i do hope i clear the glucose test so that don't have to attend the boring lecture that you have attend.

peppermint,
i'm opposite from you, i got most of the small small things except for big things like cot, steriliser, etc.

chipchip,
yah, my baby too. with the weather, i already don't sleep well. with his movement, i sleep very late and wake up early in the morning. he is moving as i'm typing now too. hehehe......

snow,
I've replied your email. I suppose my revised order went through? Cos I did not get a reply with my revised order.

mousse,
glad to hear you and bb are fine. It must have been terrible to be hit in the back of the car. Guess you have to watch your diet on the blood sugar level. Heard brown rice is gd?

peppermint,
Being first-time mum, I got NUK milk bottles as I got Ameda breast pumps. Didn't get Avent as it's not compatible with my pump.

faeriekim
i've replied ur pm early this morning.....think something is wrong with the pm. =(
do u need those stuffs urgently?
else can wait till next round?
cos i just ordered, so sorry...i scared wait too long the rest of the stuffs will go oos leh. =(

valnsw
saw, and replied...will keep u updated ya. =)

medusa
u got my hp no, next time in doubt just sms me ok? =P

chipchip
ya lor, ya lor.
my minnie also kicking me like nothing at nite, had not been having good sleep for very long liao.

Hello all!

I'm back from Hokkaido!
Really enjoyed my trip very much and very very tired... everyday like chase chicken chase duck! haha.. I put on alot of weight cos eat ice cream everyday!! haha

Glad to be back!

nini

Welcome back! Sounds like a good trip
Was the weather good?

Any buys for BB?

celyn

Sounds like a fruitful shopping trip!

NiNi (diorly) ,
Welcome back, can show some scenery photo or not? Heard the weather is good and flowers is blooming.

mousse, glad everything's ok despite the 'kiss'.

snow, it's ok, i placed order wif amy as well. hee.. thx ah!

nini, welcome back! wow... so envy you. say go and then already come back while i'm still waiting here to go on my trip. glad u enjoyed ur ice cream!

babywise, welcome! we have same gynae! EDD is SAME!!!!

I bought mostly food stuffs :p Didnt buy anything for bb cos its so expensive there! The rabbit socks very cute but costs $52! Everything about baby is so expensive there but its really very kawaii~
But i bought some toys for my bb..hehehe..duckies~ so he can swim with duckies during his bath =p

I even go to onsen~ :p

sorrie, sidetrack. just wanna vent my fustrations. has been cryin today. Just had a huge quarrel with my hubby over his fren. Do all men trust their fren so much. Sometime i find that my hubby trust his frens more than me. Mayb jus becoz i will nag at his mistakes n his frens will not.
Can anyone tell me if M i wrong to get angry with him for lending 10k to his fren without discussing with me ?? Best of all, his fren used the money for gambling. N my hubby insist that he did the right thing of lending his fren money. that he didn't wanna tell me coz i will not allow him to lend the money
Wat can i say. what can do to let him understand that i just want him to think of the family first n not the fren? I feel so sad.

Have been reading trying to follow this thread…

Stretch mark Cream
I started off with Palmers but I get itchiness in tummy and thighs area. Then tried mothercare, also found to be too smelly and greasy. Now using Clarins oil and cream type I bought from airport. Prefer the oil to the cream even though the smell from the oil is stronger.

Cord blood stem cells
Still considering if want to bank with cordlife. Not yet decided. But if decided against it, will donate to scbb. Besides cordlife, any others providing the storing facilites with a good package for now ?
Cindy, what discount you get out of TMC last time?
Goodbaby, the referral discount is $50 off the registration is it?
Chip chip, good to know of the donation option.

Weight gain
Gynae was saying average of 2kg per month is within the range. I am glad to be on track now, total of 6kg + from pre preggo. Have been having good appetite though.

Maternity clothes
Swimwear - Ended up investing in one that is bigger in terms of size rather than getting one of the specially for pregnancy.
Pants – simply like the yoga pants from Carrefour really much. The material is good and comfortable. I have got a few of different colour.
Top – I am having a few babydoll kind of tops and few maternity tops. Think nursing top is a good buy now coz can be used now and after delivery too.

nini

wow, u even went onsen.. Brave!! Must say the BB stuff are all quite pricey. Was in Japan last Jun & wanted to get the kawaii ger stuff for my niece, but *tsktsk* so expensive!

steph

*pat* Prob ur HB had his good reasons or his fren really needed help badly. Do have a good talk with him, i do believe he loaned the sum with great thought given yah?

Dun get too upset and affect yourself k?

morning!

nini
welcome back. =)
can feel that u really enjoy ur trip ya?

steph
is that sum of $ from a joint acc or his personal acc?
i do lend that kinda sum of $ to a friend, till now think she still got no intention of returning....she just bought a car.
my hb is those $ sensitive type, but so far he din comment anything.
so i believe its very important for couple to trust and respect each other in order to maintain a gd relationship lor.
unless u are in super financial difficulties...else $ can be earn back, but not relationship....remember.

babywise, there is another coy call 'Stem Cord' which provide the same service too. I am also still considering. If I am going to keep most pro will go to Stem Cord instead.

babywise,
Are you on FBI? If so, there is a $400 discount if you bank with Cordlife. You may check with the info counter for more details during ur next check up. Besides this, there are still other benefits such as discounts on parentcraft and delivery charges, etc.

celyn and snow,

i read an article and say bb is very active during week 24 to week 28.... i slept at 3am last night.. now feel so tired leh..

nini,

u make me want to go japan
glad u enjoyed ur trip...

Rat,
Do you have the weblink for Stem Cord ? Wonder what is the package like...

Cindy,
Not on FBI, din really notice cordlife counter. Will be on the look next visit to TMC.

Chipchip,
Just got into 24 weeks yesterday and really fell that baby seems to be kicking away this few days. But good thing can still sleep through the night.

Nini,
You must have enjoyed the trip...I have never been there but hubby went there for business trip once and he said that things in Japan are expensive.

missysz,
we paid around $486+ (the car seat and a protecting mat to be place under car seat to protect the leather seat of car) after 15% discount (i think cos hubby pay and i'm busy filling up membership form, didn't take notice, heheh....).

its ok for newborn and up to 4 years old. can get the staff to bring it to your car to fix it for you to see. just to make sure, your car got enough space for it. that is what we did for the britax that why we know, not very suitable and change to concord.

celynlee,
The car seat you get can directly strap on with seat belt ? Do you need additional base to be fix in the car ?

celynlee,
What about attaching it to a stroller ? Or it is permanently fixed in the car ?

I researched a bit and seems that those kind of infant carrier can be portable and compatible with stroller to make a travel system. But can be use up to 1 year old only...So still considering if sould get one that can use until baby is older...

babywise,
it can't be attached to the stroller, its not that type. its meant for car only.

we want something that is more lasting. cos those carrier one can only last up to maybe 1year +. then later got to change again and spend more $$.

hi celynlee, abit over my budget..hee..actually i was looking for one that is ard $200 but don't know can find or not.

missysz,
the first one i look at is the aprica one and cost $699. i have not seen anything around $200. i think the cheapest is around $300+ especially those that can fit newborn. cheaper one can only fit baby from 4months onwards.

babywise,

good.. u can sleep well.. i always ask my bb to b good.. let mummy sleeps..haha but she doesnt listen to me leh haha

Swimming: Now HFMD is on the high side, so it's better to postpone your swimming plans till later on! :p That day I went to the pool at the condo, then my colleague reminded me of the HFMD issues after that....* I was too excited to go to the pool so I have overlooked on that. I wore bikini inside with a top over it. Swarm 2 laps then went home to sleep for a 2 hours...*heehee*

happie (steph_steph),
First of all, how are the finances managed and your family's financial situation? Is the $ coming from your own hubby's account or joint acc? If it's coming from your hubby's account, by right, he has the right to use it as he deems fit.
However, if your family's finances are alrdy v tight and yet he lends the $ to his friend, I feel you should be concerned and yes, probably angry! That's how I would feel too.

If it's from the joint account, your hubby should at least ask you first. And if you don't agree, then he should not lend it out. After all, $10K is neither a big nor small sum.

In a way, you are right to say that men tend to trust their friends more than their wives. For example, my hubby is more convinced by his friend than me if we were to tell him the same thing.

So, the thing is, you need to talk to him to let him understand where your concerns are. Have to talk to him coolly, else men tend to think we women are making a big fuss outa nothing.

Just my two cents worth. Hope you have cooled down!

babywise

I'm also looking into the stroller tt's a travel system - newborn carrier attached onto the stroller. But the model of the Maxi-Cosi stroller I want, doesn't seem to be available in SG..

Which stroller are u looking at to match the MaxiCosi Cabriofix?