(2008/08) Aug 2008

Celyn
Ahh... it looks quite comfy also : )
I think as long as can used for new born till at least 4 years, then it should be ok. Nice colour too. How much is it, btw?

Val
True lah but I guess just hope for the best that he will become a very "involved" father and not expect us to do everything. I used to drill this into my hubby's head also before my boy was born. So I make sure he had a share in everything from feeding to bathing to playing. I told him that today's modern dads are very hands-on and gone are the days where mummies are the ones who do everything. Plus we dun have maid so sharing of responsibilities very impt else we are the ones who get burnt out easily. So far hubby has been doing a great job and I can go out for dinners at times and he will take care of my boy. So my point is that "training" is impt from the start so try to share the load right from the beginning. Dun think too much. Of all you know he will be so attached to yr gal that he will do everything voluntarily next time. Cheer up!

Val
ya, just like what Medusa said...
they will do things for their bb volunteerily, they themself might not know that actually they are doing that. =P
yes, lower expectation = lesser disappointment.
dun angry with ur hb too much leh, else bb inside will sense that and dun like her daddy 1 ok?

krex:
my massage lady is called Mai, she do freelance housecalls 92336232. She used to massage my mum at a shop in holland v. But my mum don't wanna go back there after she left, instead we're calling her to our house to do massage now. Rates are cheaper than at the shop + the duration is longer, and if you get along, she talk until overshot the time sometimes. But tell u 1st hor, for 1st time customer, she'll seem like talk a lot - her reason is that she wanna keep you awake so that you feel the massage and can decide if you like it, she oso can learn whether you prefer more or less pressure - something like getting to know each other. Subsequently, she'll let you relax de. She gave me a very warm and maternal feeling. I'll probably massage every 2-3wks interval. I'm calling her again next week

detailed scan:
I'm getting so excited!! It's tomorrow for me. But I have no idea KKH scan is 3D or whatever. Anyone knows?

briebaby,
detail scan at kkh is the normal one. i did mine at the adc there about $70+.

medusa15,
the car seat is $468.

It's hard to keep up with so many posts by so many pple. I'm a bit slow :p

About men:
I dunno if it's been discussed here before around the time of the 1st mum's congress - my hb was a bit taken aback by the section on the husband's part of the pregnancy. He said the 3 points really hit the nail on the head - ever since, he's been more sensitive towards me. I don't recall the exact words, but the 3 pointers went something like 1) Be there even if you don't feel like it. 2) Be prepared to grow even if you're already feeling stretched. and 3) Feel/act with your heart, not with your mind, even when you know you're right. Anyone remember this? Must remind your husbands now and then... then they won't take us for granted

chipchip
how come u are entitled 10% off for DS?

medusa
not sure what is the name of the sonographer but dun think she is a doc. all of us only told we are doing DS at eastshore but it is quite ridiculous they charges diff price.

to me 2D scan is enough as i prefer to see the baby's features after she comes out of tummy. better to use the money for some other purposes.

my tummy also grows quite a lot.. in fact since 19wks i started to measure my tummy n chart it. for 2 wks din grow last wk it suddenly grow by 1 inch.

celynlee,
so you didn't do any detail scan? I thought like 20wks is default they will scan for organ structures and all de... hmm. I'll check with them tomorrow. I think I will go crazy if I still dunno my bb boy or gal! No, no I think I'll call them up now and ask.

briebaby,
no, i did my detail scan at KKH ADC when i was 19.6 weeks. the cost for it is about $70+

mini,
i only keep track of my weight gain. tummy, measure when i feel like it. its already 32" now.

Valnsw,
Dun be angry anymore ok? Guys are really insensitive lot…hb aldy told me b4 “dun hint me, just tell me straight what you want”…hahaha, that solves a lot of things and avoided lotsa arguments…

brie,
that's interesting to knw about the daddy's part. Will be going for antenatal class and there should be a section on the father's role in the pregnancy. Hopefully when my hubby goes for that, he will get something in his head.

celyn,
same here, measure whenever I feel like it ;) my tummy grew by quite a bit. my tummy's about 33 inches now.

sigh, call already oso gained nothing more. They just say is detailed scan, dunno what kind :/ I'll figure it out tomorrow. thanks celyn & snow for pointing it out.

valnsw,
hope your hb will too! I haven't even begun thinking about antenatal classes yet. I feel a bit lazy :p

measuring and weight gain:
I don't wanna weigh myself unless necessary. It's scary to keep seeing the scale go up... so I only weight myself at checkups. I don't feel like eating anymore than I used to, neither do I have any cravings.

shopping:
I haven't done any either! All becos I still dunno boy or gal, and mum don't allow - she dunno I scared 3rd trimester I find it tiring to shop for things, tired easily and clumsy. Sigh. Compared to all of you, I feel as if I haven't done anything at all. I'm so envious
I can't wait for tmr! Then I'm gonna buy things I can hide in my house from my mum finding out.

wah, alot of postings!!!

gemini,
are you doing yr detailed scan with dr ho? i asked him about the 4d scan. he told me to only do it from wk28 onwards and also depending on the position of the baby lei.

any mummies here experience HMFD?
I just noticed small little blister-like bumps on my index finger and on my inner thigh. last nite was scratching my foot like mad and just realised many red tiny raised bumps on my foot.

was looking at this but mine don't really look so red. http://www.hpb.gov.sg/hpb/default.asp?pg_id=865&aid=272

Don't know if I should see a GP or my gynae.. The inner thigh is quite itchy now but don't dare to scratch anymore..

Mulberry / Snow74
Thank you for your reply. No wonder I can't post. Will PM directly now. Thanks alot for the info. Btw, is buying online really alot cheaper?Such as Gap? My wife and I went thru Gap website and we wanted a set of everything haha all so adorable. How much savings? And how do you calculate the freight charges?

Hi mummies / mummies-to-be

I have the following up for sale:

1)Disposable maternity panties - 2 pkts (5 pcs in each pack)

2)Palmer's nursing cream - used once (comes with 4 pcs of disposable breastpads)

3)Herbal bath - 10 pkts (2 sachets in each pack)

4)BN Pigeon wide neck milk bottle

5)10 pcs of Pigeon Breastpads

Interested pls email me at [email protected]

hey mummies
finally, i went for my 4d scan...n DS..all combined..wow...the 4d scan very the clear leh..can see the nose bridge of my daughter..very clear...mouth..legs..ah ya...everything very clear lor..i dunno whats the diff b/w 3D n 4D...but the 4D one is so clear..even got pic to keep...gynae say my bb quite big at 23w 3d..700g!..somemore he say i putting on weight a little too much..but still ok..heehee...i think must really do away with all the chocolates and chips!...gynae also said my bb have long legs..but the nose like my hubby..which i dun like leh..fat fat that kind...sigh..lucky nose bridge quite high..so..won't look so ugly..:p...btw, my DS was $160...but i think worth every cent cuz we got to see bb for about 35 mins..cuz my bb was moving about so much..and n leg cannot stop moving..so gynae had to scan longer and more detail to get the measurement..heehee...even got to see my daughter's backside...

in another 4 weeks , have to do a diabetics test..somemore must fast in the morning one...sigh...must go hungry leh...got to take some blood to test...

yln,
why must do diabetics test? is it a must?

i was tested positive for sugar in urine on my last visit but gynae didn't say much just ask what i have eaten before the check. now trying to cut down on sweet stuff. hopefully, no more sugar in urine on my next visit next week.

celynlee
i dunno...i thot its part of the checkup process...cuz by then i will be about 7 months..think during that time must check ba..i still take my urine test on every visit.. so far so good..the diabetics one is must take one tube of blood first thing in the morning...and after 2 hours (and after drinking some dunno wat water)..take another tube of blood...

celyn,

i've been given the urine test each time but my gynae made no mention of it.

btw, any one collected the baby journal from NLB? i just got mine today.

YLN,

wah, yr baby is heavy! maybe becos she's heavy so yr dr jus wanna play safe to do the diabetics test? but every visit my dr's nurse also ask me to do urine test for sugar n protein lei. thot it's norm.

so nice to see yr girl in 4d
i also want but gynae did not give me the option until wk28

yln,
oh, i thought diabetic test is only given if you are suspected of gestation diabetics. me also not sure.

krex78,
i do urine test on all my visits. so far all ok except for the last round. maybe i have not been controlling my intake of sugar cos i'm more relax in term of my sugar intake after 4 months. hopefully won't develop gestation diabetics. so now start to monitor my sugar intake again.

chip chip
what is first born baby scheme? =P

price_kaeden
below is the calculation:
[(US$product price + US$ground shipping) x forex rate] = (SG$product cost) + [(SG$vpost base charge + SG$vpost shipping)] = SG$what u have to pay

if u are not planning to buy a lorry, u need my help? =)

ai yo, dunno why my gal keep kicking me so hard today...since this morning.
anyone of u encounter same thing?
i'm wondering is she feeling uncomfy inside leh. =(

snow,

yr girl maybe hungry. mine always kick me badly when she's hungry...last night when my hubby put his hand on my tummy sudd she kicked so hard till my hubby felt it and i got a big shock!! i scolded my hubby as i thot he sudd press my tummy so hard till i jerk...turns out it was my girl!

twin stars
*feeling guilty*...hee hee....but i ate a burger and brownie with ice-cream for lunch liao leh. =P
think she is a big eater ya?
didn't noe that little gals nowadays can be so fierce, hungry only kick till like that...hee hee...

chipchip
thx for the info. =)

chipchip/krex,
May I know wat is the NLB journal book about?

yln,
Ur 4D scan + DS only $160? tat's very worth it. U did it at Mt E?

RE: Baby Kicks
Had been experiencing kicks and punches since week 19 till now. especially before n after meals and before bedtime. Getting stronger everyday. when lying flat on my bed, me and my hubby can still see my tummy moving when my gal kicks and punch. We both very very amazed. Hee Hee :)

Cindy,

U can collect a free gift from any National Library in singapore.. free gifts including 1 journal book, i cd , 1 height chart

Snow,
I wont say its painful, but if she kicks too hard, it can be very uncomfortable lah. Sometimes u just wonder where she get all the energy from... haha... U also experience the same? are yours painful?

chipchip,
Thanks for the info. Will go browse the website to see how to go abt it. If got difficulties, came back look for you all again. Kam Siah...

cindy
ya...both do together...cuz i think my gynae's machine got the 4D function...yup at mt E...

baby kick
my girl also kick very often now...gynae say its very common...they tend to move a lot ..but its only when we are resting or not moving about so much then can feel...i feel my girl's kick strongest is the mornings..and late at nite..heehee..when im all sleepy...during the day..sometimes only..cuz i guess we busy working or doing other stuff...

snow, me still haven't really felt bb's kicks, haha. but sometimes when i'm at my desk and i'm silent and still, i think i feel a bit of movement, although they can hardly be confirmed as "kicks"!

snow,
yr meal sounds fantastic!!!!!!! i'm drooling now. jus ate some chips and my mom is nagging away at me for my unhealthy diet

thank god she only comes once a wk, so tom i'm back to my ice cream again
hehe

cindy,
u can see movements? wow, i only feel kicks.

Sorrie, can someone tell me where is bb kingdom?
Saw in magazine dat there is a flagship Mothercare store at Harbourfront. Got lots of strollers and stuff but havent been there yet.

Twin Stars, does the shop in marina sq sell other hello kitty stuff?

Chip, not only do we have the same EDD but also chose to deliver at TMC as well..hehe..

BTW, need to ask a v stupid qn. How does contraction feel like? Macham serious cramps?

I also had sore throat, flu & cough for the past 1 week but din see doc.. Only got fever then see gynae rite?

i also felt bb's movement quite strongly when im at my desk..n i just a light jerk from my tummy when i was lying down.. haha is it bb's kick? Once only so considered anot?

Today very happy... Past few days have been quarrelling with hubby, yesterday also very fierce.. I kept crying n crying n crying.. very upset with him n cannot sleep.
Then today he sent me a bouquet of roses with an apology card..hahaha.. I didnt expect this kind of sweet gesture from him at all coz he's always so fierce n aggressive..hahaha
But im a happy mommy once again!

Going for my DS this wed...pretty worried... hope everythings alright!

Cindy,
my gerger also kicks me before and sometimes during meal time, and also punctually at 11pm every night..hehe..

oh, last Sat i went to watch We Will Rock You, and she kept kicking me cos the music was v v loud. I had to cover my tummy wif shawl and big tote bag!

twin stars,
Yah can can if lying down. Mayb u can try lying on ur bed and observe ur tummy closely. when she kicks, can see small part of the tummy protruding out.

yln,
u got a very good bargain.

NiNi,
Ur hubby is sweet in nature. No worries for the DS. Everything is gonna be fine. Be a happy mommy :)

faeriekim,

my friend just came to deliver things she bought for my girl girl.
she bought mostly from marks and spencer. the mothercare there is the same price as here so she didn't get anything from there. she also go to this shop that is very nice called trotters...u can go trotters.co.uk to see the locations but it's not cheap. one dress is $90. there are cheaper stuffs i;m sure.

little twin star: i also loveeeee potato chips!! hahaha.. But try to eat those low salt one... U dun wan to get water retention later, trust mi!

nini,
I'm glad to hear that things are looking great for you!
all the best for your DS! I'm sure your bb will feel your happiness and things will turn out right.

krex,
Maybe the first time you will feel it as a light jerk or thump thump. You will then start to recognise the kicks as they become more consistent.

Wa.. I think all the baby girls are v fierce kickers hor? My bb gal also kicks me v hard especially after meals or when I'm lying down in bed.