(2008/08) Aug 2008

nini,
i don't do housework (only iron my own clothes)even before preggy. so for now of course not doing anything (not even my own clothes) lah. heheheh....

Wah, I cannot catch up with past posts

So many of you know your bb is boy or gal already... my last scan cannot see, the legs like tightly closed =/ and my detailed scan got pushed back a week, so I have to wait for over 2wks!

Not only am I anxious to know boy or gal, like we have thought of some names, cannot decide without knowing. Feel like buying things like most of you gals, but prefer to know boy or gal before buying - so never buy. Furthermore, my mum don't allow me to buy anything yet say too early - she pantang.

Maternity clothes:
I'm already wearing maternity clothes - it's a wierd feeling watching my body grow until so outta my control - cannot get used to the idea of being ok with putting on so much weight.

Housework:
Still doing even though told to take it easy - although I'm finding it difficult to do certain things that need to lean on the stomach already - like squatting/sitting on the floor too long while bathing and drying my dog, like hanging clothes outta the window. Even if walk/stand too much, night time lower back will be very painful.

hi Whitecloud,
Welcome!

About gynae, I think most of us here choose the same gynae who does the routine check-up to do the delivery too. Correct me if otherwise.

Mrs_N,
Your hubby's surname is Ng too? Hehe that's my maiden surname too ;)

Ratatouile,
Congrats on your minnie!
Gd to hear that everything's going great for your bb.

I'm looking forward to my detailed scan which I need to confirm with the nurse. Will be going for my next check-up on 31 Mar. Can't wait to see bb again.

Shay,
No prob, just happened I still have not gone out and my friend replied. I didn't ask her about whether 40% staff discount applies to all items.

About getting the stuff thru her, I gota ask her how to go abt it. Maybe need to consolidate all the orders or something.

Let me check with her and will reply later.

Rat,
CONGRATS!!!

Whitecloud,
We have same EDD date!!! For other hospitals I think the routine check up one shd be the one deliver for you, but not for KKH. My niece working at KK and she told me if you are those subsidised patient, you can't choose the doctor for delivery.

snow74,
Ya it is 40% staff discount. In my post to Shay, let me check w my friend again how to go about buying the stuff.

I also got the Robinsons invitation card for Spring sale on 26th and 27th Mar. 20% off on Aprica, Graco, Maclaren, NUK, Pigeon and more. Duno what's the "and more" for which brands.

Robinsons:
Just went down. Checked with the staff that Ameda dual pump is at nett price $388 no further discount altho the tag there says 20% off regular price. Aiyo.. why put until like that. so misleading.
Medela PIS Advanced $754 nett, also no further discount.
15% off for Britax car seats, din notice much for other stuff.

In conclusion, will be more worthwhile to get Ameda pumps from Mumsfairy at Expo baby fair.

celyn,
are u asking about the 15% storewide discount for all shoppers this weekend on aprica?
I'm not sure about this cos I didn't really notice.
Actually I think if you want to check, u can call Robinsons directly and check with them. I ever called them up last time. hehe

NiNi (diorly),
I stop doing any housework 2yrs ago when I have a maid. Think after birth, I have to help a bit cos 2 kids liao and not easy for the maid to handle all.

NiNi
me too, let my maid handle housework so that i can spend more time with my gal. =)

valnsw
thx, will wait for ur update on aussino thingy.

Rat & valnsw
ya lor, 20% only as usual.
so, what is the attractive pt har?
u ladies mentioned that they are having 20% discount last 2 wks liao, so now what is so special?

Rata I'm here until 6 Apr. Wish could stay longer but have to get back to work and also for scanning on 9 Apr.

Congrats on your princess.

Valnsw hee! hee! no my hubby's surname not Ng! It's Newby. Hubby's a Brit.

Re: small tummies. Mine's small too. My mother says because I never eat enough!!! But since coming back to Sg my taste buds have 'woken up' and have been eating more. Ha! Ha! If eat too much might have to buy extra 'space' on the plane.

Mrs_N,
Oic. BTW i heard from a family friend who also married a Brit, giving birth this July, that prams/strollers are terribly expensive in UK.
Heard from her parents that one over there costs 300 pounds?! Her parents will be bringing one pram to UK for her.

Maybe you wana grab a pram/stroller back to UK, cos I think one here at most costs SGD300+ or so, depending on the model.

Shay/Rata/Mulberry,
You ladies got the Rocio bed. Just to check, isit the foldable? Cos if it is, then I might as well get it from Expo instead of going down to Baby Hyperstore to check out the baby cots.

wow lucky u all..tai tai life...kekeke.. Me still have to mop n sweep the floor, hang clothes etc.. Cos MIL dont do housework one..sigh! And FIL only mop floor once in a blue moon...so im cleaning my our room till we get our own house.

Thank you all for answering my question!

nini,
get your hubby to do loh. i don't have a maid like the rest. my hubby is my personal maid and driver. so he do all the housework since we get married.

hi ladies!

bz shopping during this long wk end..me too!!! hehe
i went

taka fair:
n got the winnie the pooh cot mobile with light, music with the dangling stuff toy. only $59.90. before that was $99 i think. similar ones i saw were all $125 wo
pigeon disposable breast pad 2 boxes
avent milk bottle starter set...but think will try n see if i can exchange it later as hubby bought the dr brown starter set already

i finally got my car seat......here's my research. of cos u gauge for yrself la as diff pp have diff needs ma

car seats:
i did my research over the wkend and bought mine already. i had to buy in a hurry as sil is sponsoring and wanted to borrow it for a wk when she's here in s'pore.

got the britax safe n sound premium from baby kingdom $380. not a gd deal but it's comfy n the col fits my car leather interior perfectly also we wanted to test if it can fit my car booth n that's the only place that we can try i guess.

the britax royale there is super ex at $438. not worth to get there n only 1 col so we didn't get it. also i'm afraid my bb will feel claustrophobic with the shade n the back of my car is so dark so sun is not an issue.

maxi cosi: sale at JL $299 they r suppose to have the 0-4yrs old seat but don;t bother. it has only 4 recline positions and baby can never sit in that upright lowest recline position they have. not comfy too.

britax first class: mothercare now having sale $325 only ( v gd deal )...down frm $438 i think. i would have gotten that but the col don;t match my car seat lei

combi roco: very nice in so many cols but becos there is no base...it's very diff to put baby in upright position in the future as it will always slide down and the cushioning is not so gd, think u might have to buy a baby headrest n body support

aprica: hubby wanted to get it although the cheapest cost $699!!! pros...can recline fully ( however i read some car seats archives that it is not safe for baby to be in full recline position es in cases of emergency break as baby will slide to the direction of the break) also when in upright position...the backside or thigh area is so small that we doubt it can fit any 4 yr old. we give it max 2 yr old

britax omega: sounds like a gd deal es if u can get it for $200 plus! think robinsons sale is that price but also need to purchase an additional baby headrest n body cushioning

i need help for strollers ......anyone knows where i can view alot of diff brands strollers besides baby hyperstore? robinsons got sell graco or peg perego?

babycot: is the 28"x52" the biggest? according to the sales man there is a bigger one!

Nini,
I'm not doing housework cos now staying with parents, already have maid so she will do the housework. Prob will have to get another maid when baby comes.

If you feel tired/fatigue after doing housework, u shd rest or get ur hubby to do it, esp in the 3rd trimester when we are heavier. No good to overstrain urself.

Shay/snow74,
my friend says no need to go to paragon outlet. To let her know when we going down and which outlet then she can inform her colleagues to give us the discount and can choose from tat store on the spot.

She said biggest store is paragon, followed by plaza sing and parkway parade.

Perhaps you wana let me know when wana arrange a time, we can all go together. hehe

Nini,
not tai tai life lah. I been feeding and chasing after my girl and it s more "xiong" than doing housework. And also to need to carry my girl till now I backache. How I wish I can have tai tai life and stay at home to shake leg and don't need to work. Now I look fwd to my ML again.

little twin star,
was at robinsons raffles city, thought I saw aprica. not sure about graco and peg perego. But the invite for the Robinsons Spring sale on 26-27 Mar says there's 20% off on Graco, so you may wana check that out

Baby cot: I also looking out. I'm contemplating to go baby hyperstore later to check out the cots. need to get one that's foldable. seems like 28" x 52" is the largest so far. maybe i shd ask the sales person later.

hi Nini,

before i got a maid, i was still doing hsework when preggie with #1. i wash 2 toilets bowls, hang and iron clothes till 9mths. hb offered to do these, but i rejected his offer after seeing how he do. but need to be careful when mopping the floor, there's once i nearly fell while washing toilet, lucky thing, i was holding on to the shower screen... thanks gdness...

Cot bumper
==========
if i'm not mistaken, there's only 1 size. if the cot is too small, then the padding (for the sides) need to overlapped each other more. that where the strings come in handy.

Small tummy
===========
for some ladies, they can "shou du zi" ===> keep their stomach, meaning bb know how to hide inside mummy stomach.
when preggie with #1, till my 5 mths, there's once i took bus, even in maternity dress, no one offered their seat to me, not that i expected them to do so, it's that i wondering whether they are thinking whether this lady is fat with a tummy, haha...
now for #2, i'm approaching 19wks next wk, and some of my colleagues are still wondering whether i'm preggie or not, when they ask me, i jokingly tell them i'm fat with a tummy.

valnsw,

thanks, will check out robinsons..so far i've not really browse thru the strollers there. the biggest store is the one at centrept right?

babycot,
actually, isn;t it easier to roll the bed to the next room instead of unfolding n folding? unless u guys stay on diff flrs. i also tot the 28 by 52 is the largest. maybe that will be easier big size to get the mattress covers n bumper. btw, do u know if aussino has it in full white bumper with frills?

nini,
try to get a part time helper to come in to help with the hsework? i did that as i really can't cope. half day of hsework n i'm aching all over with tummyache!

wow..some of you have really lovely hubbies here =) My hubby wont mop the floor one, at most he tell me dont mop lor! But i m quite a 'jie pi' person, cannot stand walking all over the room with hairs..haha. And yes i will be more careful
Thanks dearies!

Re: baby stroller
I did homework for stroller cos hubby wanted to buy Combi one which is lightweight n one click can keep liao. About $400+.. However, I read feedback that although it is lightweight n niffy, but when ur bb reaches 8-9months or ur bb is big size, his weight will increase n soon the wheels will be creaking, n bb will not be comfortable sleeping in the cramped stroller... Just want to highlight this to those who want a light n niffy stroller..

Re: Small tummy
haha..in the morning its not big but after input of food, it grows hard n bigger...but compared to some preggie ladies, mine is not considered big lor.. im 19wks already not yet felt bb kicks so quite worried how come tummy not growing big?

avacado

the one that i bot can sit till 18kg so it depends on how big yr child will be as my nephew at 2yrs is already 15kg!
most claim that they can sit till 18kg..check out the width of the seat as all differs lei. think some i saw on the britax web can sit till 25kg? but i didn;t see it in s'pore

nini,

thanks for the info...my hubby wanted to get the latest combi one but i', hesitant as i do not like the design. my sil got the combi but she said the wheels are already falling out and her child is only 2 yrs old n she needs to get a new one now. at first i tot maybe she's a rough user

kicks:
i don't know how true this is: i've heard n read reviews that baby boys are not so active in the womb where baby girls are more active. baby boy;s heartrate is slower than that of the girls.perhaps that's y...but guess all babies r diff ba

tummy:
my tummy like never really grow much from 16wks although baby is growing...i don't mind that so at least i can be mobile and do more shopping

little twin stars,
Yeah, I am looking at those that can sit till 36kg as shown in the website, have to buy online as Singapore did not have it. But I scared it cannot fit in my car. buying the one till 18kg a bit not worth for me as my girl already 12-13kg now. She is now using newborn to 15kg, going to get a new one for her and let my #2 use her. I do not intend to let her use booster yet.
Really headache which to buy.

little twin stars,
thanks for your info on the car seat. i'm thinking of getting the aprica one. thought the lying down position is the best for newborn especially when we discharge from hospital. and since aprica one got head support, isn't that good enough? now i really don't know which one to buy liao. so confusing... is there a place that can show us all the different brands and model and be able to tell us which is the best to get if we don't look at prices.

little twin stars,
no prob, I think centrpoint should be the biggest bah.. not too sure too.

I need a baby cot that's foldable cos I don't have enough space in my room to roll to another room if I were to get one on wheels. The rooms are on the same floor. Was contemplating whether to also move the cot to living room which is downstairs but think I will put playpen there instead. so one for upstairs and one for downstairs.

nini,
Re: small tummy
I think my tummy also not v prominent and I'm supposed to be in wk 19 alrdy. I measured my tummy out of curiosity and it seems stagnant at 31 inches, like never grow much since wk 16.
But I noticed the underbelly seems to be growing gradually.

little twin stars,
Re: cot bumper at Aussino
To be honest, I have not checked out if they have in white with frills cos I have not settled my baby cot yet.

Perhaps can check with shay or snow74 since I think they are interested in getting Aussino stuff ;)

avocado
there are alot of car seats that r meant for older kids till 7 or 8yrs old lei. think u don't have to get it online.

celynlee
hubby also wanted aprica but seriously not practical. after seeing, he also didn;t wanna get it. as it is really small. when baby is tilted at a certain angle, their legs will help break the impact of an ebreak. after reading the safety guideline....it makes sense not to get the fully flat aprica ones.

we were like mad pp looking all over s'pore for a suitable car seat this wk!!!
cushioning is important la, size la, etc
dun think there is a place that can see so any designs....tt's y i had to go taka fair, jl n baby kingdom n baby hypermart i guess

valnsw,
oic, we have the same prob, but i have no prob with moving cot from room to rm, i got a playpen for the iving rm downstairs if not very troublesome. mayb i will call aussino to check of they have

hi celynlee,

when i was bringing my #1 home from hospital, my mum was carrying her in her arms. though i have a infant carrier but my mum felt that it's look uncomfortable for a newborn. esp their neck area is still v fragile. she did ask my hb to drive slower though.

hi little twin stars,

wow, u really did your homework on car seat...

gemini

haha, i'm a research freak, scared i get wrong stuffs. but sometimes ignorance is really bliss. like right now i'm having a headache about milk bottles liao. most plastic ones r not bh a free la. if glass bottle scared break not practical. if plastic ok, like the pigeon pes bottle but not colic free. sigh
u got any views on that? after all those research...i tot forget it la. jus get avent. haha

hi little twin stars,

haha.. agreed. sometimes ignorance is really a bliss. ok, for myself, i did not bother to go read up on whether they are bh free. to me, more impt, is whether the bottle will trap air (colic free). i got use pigeon bottle for drinking water but my girl get choked on it quite a few times, so decided not to use. and also, the shape of the bottle is wide, not those lean type of milk bottles, quite hard to put in those milk bottles carrier. my SILs & sis are using NUK and they tell me not bad, so i'm using them. for #2, will be also NUK bottles/teats.

gemini,

u know yesterday i went out n used my vouchers to buy dr brown n avent's starter set...now i regret getting them. sigh, impulse buying lor. hoho. i will keep the avent set since i have the avent sterilizer. perhaps get the nuk teats as i heard they are gd
will exchange the dr brown to something else i guess. i tot slim bottles r not easy to clean. aiya....impulse buying really waste $

little twin stars,
I am on ly looking at Britax brand and I want a 5 or 7 safety point, so not easy to get.
Think I will try to look other brand with 5 to 7 point instead. And yes I agree comfort is very impt nd I been searching since i am 3 mths preggy

little twin stars (stardiva),
I thought Avent and Dr Borown are high in BH. You same as me, research freek, that's why we did research first before buying the cord stem storing. hehee.

avocado
ya i never come across britax for older kids. and britax so far has the most pts whicj is better than brands like maxi cosi. wah...i shld have asked u about car seat earlier instead of running all over s'pore lo

now i have to go taka fair n mothercare to exchange for other things liao cos....i don;t wanna get the milk bottle so fast lo
last night kept thinking about the milk bottle until i can;t sleep.

gemini
the nuk bottles look very cute lei. mayb later i will get the glass ones from them. avent sterilizer can use right?

valnsw yeah things like strollers, carseats etc are very expensive in the UK though nowadays most people buy stuff online which have brought prices down slightly. However we have been lucky so far as the most expensive baby stuff (i.e. cot, palypen, stroller, carseat etc) have all been passed down to us by my SIL. Most of the stuff is about 11 years old same age as her eldest boy and have been used for her #2 and #3 boys as well. They need a bit of cleaning and although they may look slightly 'old fashioned' they're still in pretty good condition. So no complaints really as it has helped us saved quite a lot on expenses.

little twin star,
thanks for the info. i think i will re-consider again. not in a hurry to get, can still look around.

so its better to carry baby in our hand when we go out is it? how old then do we put baby in car seat instead of carrying in our hand?