(2008/08) Aug 2008

faithmum
dun worry, u are not the only 1.
i have yet to gain back my pre-preggy weight also. =P

dongle
how come ur calcium and multi-vit need to pay?
not inclusive inside pkg 1 meh?

M2B
it increases to $18 since Feb, that is why i'm still wondering how come u all can get it at $12.
i thought vivo mothercare is selling it more expensive lor.

<font color="0000ff">dongle</font>
congrats on your minnie ! Now u can buy many many pretty clothes for her
me too didn't know DS is so ex leh.

Anyone knows how much it cost at TMC?

krex,
bb suppose to be 18wk1d but the US showed that it's only 17wk5d. gynae didn't say anything but i asked her is bb smaller by 3 days and she said ya a little small. i think +/- 1 wk is ok ba.

cocomo,
thanks gfor ur concern. will watch my diet from now on. but for my 1st preg, i gained 23kg in ttl. gynae always tell me that i'm overweight and have to control my diet but for this one she didn't say anything about my weight leh may be is still ok compared to my previous gain haha.....

celyn,
me too have to wake up at 6.30am everyday
i live in tampines and work in jurong! super far that's y have to wake up early loh. guess i'll be dragging myself to work starting 3rd tri when tummy gets bigger and mummy gets less energy.

hi dongle, congrats on your minnie.
your baby was so active and cooperative during the DS. did you talk a lot to her before your checkup?

hi mulberry, i will be doing my DS at TMC. I paid 400 plus when I did my oscar test and I think don't need to pay for DS anymore. Can other mommies confirm this? i am kinda confused too.

i bought my stretchmark cream from my gynae at $40. so expensive! is the Mothercare stretchmark cream good? oily? i will get this after finishing my current tube. how many times do you apply a day?

snow, my gynae package does not include pre-natal supplements and other tests also. so every visit needs to pay around 100-200 bucks.

Snow,
I bought from Vivo Mothercare on last Sat, got a shock on the price increase lor...

Missysz,
I think you will still have to pay for DS coz Oscar Test and DS are two separate scan/test...

The Mothercare cream is not oily at all...used this coz cheaper as compared to Mustela that I used last pregnancy. :p

Mulberry,
I'm doing my DS at TMC on Mon so won't know the cost until then...think it was ard $150 4 years ago...hahaha

missysz
that means ur pkg only inclusive of consultation and ultrasound every visit?
my other tests also need to pay, but calcium and multi-vit are included.

just curious to know, how many bottles shld we buy for bb? will 2 4oz and 2 9 oz be enough? i think will need more than that right?

oh yes, i'm thinking of going to orchard today. anyone knows if can get maternity clothes at paragon?

M2B
u live around that area also?
ya, the mothercare cream is not oily and absorp very fast into skin.
the only problem is not everyone will like its smell....
so far so gd, no stretchmark for my last preggy.
as compare to other brands, its still more economical ya? =)

<font color="0000ff">missysz</font>
i also paid ard 400 for my oscar test. I remember the receipt only stated it's for oscar. So, M2B is right, we should need to pay again for DS.
sigh...we spend soooo much just on scans/tests ya..

<font color="0000ff">M2B</font>
hmmm...taking into consideration of 4yrs inflation...so i think it's at least $200 now?....heehee

krex...
there are a couple of maternity shops there. i bought a pair of black skinnys and denim shorts from 9mois. nice! but a bit pricey.

timminbuzz
i think the stretchmark will only appear after we deliver...now its just applying for prevention..think now cannot see cuz skin still stretching...only after bb delivered, when there is no bump, skin will show whether have stretchmark..

thanks gals...

snow,
my package includes 3 mths supply of calcium and multi-vit only, fish oil not included and after the free supply finishes have to pay lor... my hubby kept saying nevermind, as long as baby healthy can aledi lor... me very chosy about food so i rather take all the supplements required than eat food that i dun like... btw, i dun take fish cos fishy taste and smell, any other MTB also like me??

re : stretchmark
i got some red dots appearing on my tummy this week and i showed it to my gynae and thought it's rashes but she say it's not rashes and it's a symptom of stretch marks appearing.... im soooo sad...
im using the Galenic stretchmark cream selling $43+ for 2 tubes at Guardian... bought the Avent stretchmark cream yesday $19+... hubby say will buy me the Clarins oil and cream too...

krex78,
the maternity shop at paragon are on the top floor where all the children shops are. i know there is swell there and some others. i got a demin skirt from swell at $79. very ex but since hubby paying, so ok loh.

dongle,
are those red dots signs of stretch marks? oh no, i have them too. i'm using clarins oil. its so ex, i think its about $79 per bottle. half a bottle gone, going to get 1 more soon.

dongle
u should try the clarins oil..my GP highly recommended it so i m using it...so far...touchwood..no red dots..but must be diligent and apply and massage into skin...i normally spend a good 5 minutes after shower massaging the oil into the skin..*crossing my fingers* hopefully wont get stretchmark..

FYI, I just did my DS yesterday at TMC and it cost me $107 including gst.

I've been applying johnson baby oil on my tummy and breast because that's where all the scratch marks will show and according to my aunt, it will soothe the itchiness too. It feels good although it's damn oily. It works as well as those moisturisers or creams and it's cheap.

Now i'm ready to shop for my gal gal... =)

yln,
i also apply clarin oil after bath for about 5 minutes but still got some red dots leh. i spend so much time applying the oil that my hubby will rush me to quickly wear my clothes. hehehhe

celynlee
i know what u mean..my hubby also always wonder y i take so long in the bathroom heehee..i bought my oil from those neighbourhood shops..only $60 plus after discount...no need to go buy from department stores cuz same product anyway..but much cheaper...maybe u can try..there is one shop at lucky plaza level 1..sell alot of perfume and skin care sample..think they also sell at $60 plus after discount..

Krex,
You can get maternity wear at 9mois, Swell and another brand from Paragon...I think Thyme Maternity too if I’m not wrong…

Snow,
My mom stays in little India…went vivo last sat coz my gal wana buy gummy bears from candy empire…prices of everything also went up, imagine the gummies also costs $0.70 more liao…haha

Yap, considered economical as compared to other brands.

Mulberry,
My Oscar test was $380+ at TMC…haha, you are right, so think DS shd be ard $200 this time liao…ex man!

Dongle,
I dun really like fish too but coz I’m not taking fish oil, I got to diligently take fish occasionally…

June,
Congrats on your gal.
Thanks for the info on the cost of the DS at TMC so not that ex afterall…heehee

i just checked my package with douglas ong...whole package cost $1800 but include all consultation and ultrasound scan..n plus one free 3d scan (DS)..dun include medication..but i think still worth it after reading some of the posts by u mummies..at least i dun have to pay for every consultation...only when i need to buy medication..i guess the cheaper the package u start off with...u need to continue to pay throughout the pregnancy..DS so expensive...tsk tsk..

i've been so lazy with creams and everything. think only put like once a week. thank god no marks/dots yet. must try to be more consciencious. ;)

celyn/YLN,
ya lor, my gynae commented when i showed her yesday.. thot it's rashes but it's not itchy... but i apply on stretchmark cream only at night after shower and since i dont bathe in the mornings, i never apply lei... started re-applying this morning... will get the Clarins oil to apply at night and the Clarins cream in the morning... boohoo...

june,
the detailed scan so cheap in TMC? the GlenE price like so steep lei... but my NT scan is abt $100+ and triple test another $200+ i think... so total also abt $400 as compared to those who also paid $400 for Oscar test...

i've been using avent cream, so far so good. not too oily and smell is nice. if i have those red dots, i will consider clarins oil, heehee.

will go shop at paragon today, hopefully got some good offers. running out of maternity clothes to wear.

hi snow, yes, my package only includes consultation and ultrasound scans. fish oil, multivits, calcium, etc are not included.

hi june, congrats on your princess.
thanks for the info abt the price for DS. how was your DS at TMC? was baby active? Is your gynae at TMC too? how long does the whole DS process takes?

<font color="0000ff">june</font>
congrats on your gal!
thanks for the DS price info. hee...so it's not ex afterall.
I also just asked a fren that did hers last week, she got FBI card, so after discount is abt $96.

<font color="0000ff">M2B</font>
hee...i was wrong, the price dropped now... :p

i am kinda confused now. my gf who just went for her DS last month said she didnt have to pay extra. she said the 400 plus tht we paid earlier covered oscar and DS. hee...*blur* could it be becoz our gynae is from TMC?

rat, i think newborns can only use the 4oz ones right? i hope 2 is enough. if that's the case, then i will ride on the various avent pdts like steraliser to get my free 2 bottles...no need to buy extra already

krex78,
yah, you get a lot of milk bottles if you buy other avents products. that's why i still haven't buy milk bottle. i will need more milk bottle cos need to give nanny too. but if you are not able to wash immediately after use, then you might need more.

krex, i think 2 should b enough but will need to buy more to put at my parents hse b4 i go back to work of coz

Any ladies back fr OG sales? how isit?

<font color="0000ff">Rata</font> / <font color="0000ff">krex</font>
some of my frens that can total BF, they said they don't use bottles at all! (especially during when they in their maternity leave period). They just latch on their bb.
but those that don't manage to successfully BF, then have to use more bottles lor. 2 bottles won't be enough then coz usually will only wash n sterilise the bottles once a day.

ladies, thanks for the comforting words, will try and not think about it.....and hope things turn out right.

dongle and june- congratulations on your minnie! ^^

Wah! the DS so expensive? I checked with KK yesterday and was told it will be about S$80+. My DS and gynae visit also not on the same day leh. My visits to the gynae keep getting longer and longer. First it was 2 weeks, then 3 weeks, then 5 weeks and now it's 6 weeks from the last visit. *faint*. I supposed also save money lah but then always worry if baby is doing ok.

I've been applying cream (I bought fr shop in KK) for the past 6 to 7 weeks every night after shower. It has natural ingredients and smells quite nice but also quite ex lor..about S$46. Thinking of switching to using olive oil. Heard it's very good. And it's cheaper too. Anyone use this?

krmeow,
oh your ds and gynae visit not on the same day? good to know theat ds at kk is only $80+.

mine is on the same day leh. i will be having a busy day on that day. go for ds, see gynae then go for antenatal class.

mulberry, my fren say enough. think the bottles onli need to sterilise once a day. plus dun wan to buy so much then end up baby dun like the teat &amp; i got to buy other brand. Test water 1st.

mulberry, i think first 3 mths not much of an issue, though i might want to express milk (if poss) in a bottle and let CL feed bb at night. or sometimes, if i want to rest, then bottles can be a back up. how come we can only wash and steralise once a day? can we not wash immediately after using and steralise for next use?

<font color="0000ff">krex</font>
hee...most mummies only wash n sterilise once a day to save utilities cost mah. Since steriliser can fit 6-8 bottles at one go.
if wash n sterilise after each feed, ur utilities bill will shoot up leh.

krex78,
i think it also depends on what method you are using to sterilise.

if you are using the steriliser, it might be a waste of electricity if you only steriliser 1 bottle instead of a few. i'm not sure, just guessing.

my nanny did mention to give her at least 2 bottles, 1 for milk and 1 for water.

krex
no need to sterilise so many times lah, unless ur env really so dirty.
else if u keep the bottle properly, sterilise once per day should be sufficient lor. =)

Rat
thought of going to the sale initially, but my side here raining heavily....
think hor, forget about it lor.
incase got wet and fall sick, wait hb start chanting then i die ah.

mummies...if theres any particular brand of stroller u need me to check out the prices...let me noe..since i will go isetan 1st thing morning..and then can tell u guys when i am back!

<font color="0000ff">Rata</font>
but my fren said once the bottles are used, it must be sterilise again. She said cannot just wash only and use again wor. So that's why those on formula milk, they use more bottles lor.

but me also don't plan to buy any more bottles for now. I already have 2 small Pigeon bottles (when i bought my steriliser). Then when i buy breastpump, i think it usually comes with couple more bottles.
When the time come, if i *touchwood* cannot BF, then will just ask hubby to go out to buy more bottles :p

have not use stretchmarks cream yet. bought a bottle of mothercare one last wk. agreed it has become so ex! n in Europe it is only selling at 3 Euros. here is more than double the cost there!

for stretchmarks what i heard is if u have it then no way to prevent it. only reduce it. for my first preg i din spend so much time applying stretchmarks cream n no stretchmarks. usu i just spend 1-2min to apply before bedtime n thats it.

the DS scan at TMC wont be so ex. slightly over $100 only. think only pay for the extra GST. i did 4yrs ago at TMC n it is abt $105?

for milk bottles, if u plan to express milk to store while in office, good to buy more milk bottles. last time i have 4 avent small bottles n 3 avent 9oz bottles n dun feel enough. since i bring 2 to office, then 2-3 will be in my MIL house fridge (milk express the day/night before) n some left for drinking.

mulberry
what will happen if i just wash and use again? =P
because i'm using the traditional way of sterilizing the bottles, so am thinking will it be gd to boil plastic bottles so many times per day lor....

mulberry, i m going to sterlise juz once &amp; wash wif water. Coz last time dats wat my mum did too, we also grow up like dat. some time i think we should not b over protective else the baby will not ve anti bobies. dats IMHO

<font color="0000ff">Snow74</font>
hee...me just relaying what my fren said. :p
but hor the point of sterilising is to kill off any germs/bacteria that can't be with normal washing mah.

actually me also just thinking of boiling the bottles once a day...dun intend to buy the steriliser...hee..rat..my mum used to do that also..just sterilise once a day..save electricity and trouble..heehee

i think i'm getting the avent electric steraliser, and it can steralise about 6-8 bots at a time. so i guess it makes more sense to have about 6 bots lor. if i'm putting bb at MIL's, must i buy 2 sets of steralisers, or can i steralise the night before, then transfer my express milk to those bots and pass to MIL the next day? btw, breast milk bot also must steralise ah? die, then i need a lot of bots like that. how abt 4 feeding bots and 4 express milk bots?

mulberry
ya, i understand.
that is why i'm thinking....if really handle and keep properly, really got so many germs/bacteria ah?
sounds scarry ya?

Rat &amp; YLN
my mum used to do that also...hee hee....
too many kids, how to sterilise every bottles after every feed? =P

okie before i sign off for today
going for classes..

Krex..dun think you need to buy 2 lah but u must be diligent tt each night sterilise all bottles, then leave at least 2 at home..the rest bring to ur mum pl then at night bring back and wash lor..at least tts what I used to do

my friend also starting out with the boiling water but after 1 mth...think not so feasible..change to sterilizer...though my brother in law used to say...boil it in a pot is the best way to kill germs!

but definiteli..dun think its good to just wash with hot water..and re-use..u somehow need to sterilize lah...

onli this year hv we started washing my daughter's bottles with hot water onli when we travel overseas..otherwise we have been very diligent to sterilise..even when travelling!