(2008/08) Aug 2008

help! i ate 2 tablets of calcium this morning and just now should eat my iron tablet but blur me popped 2 tablets of calcium instead! how? overdosage okie or not? each calcium is 300MG. :\

hi missysz, dont worry your body will just pass out the excess that cannot be absorbed. Since this is only an accident and not regular overdose.

Hi everyone!!! Looong time never log in. Went to the bb fair at taka yesterday. Are you all getting the manual breast pump or the auto ones? They are sooo ex

philips sale:
not sure when it is. someone told me june/july, but rat says aug. hopefully it's earlier, else will have not bottles when bb is born :p

robinsons sale:
members get 20% discount. no further discount, just 5% rebate thereafter. but prices still comparable or cheaper than bb fair.

maternity pads:
any diff between maternity ones and normal ones? also, when will my period return if i'm breastfeeding?

breast pumps:
for those pumping in office, where will u pump? do all of u have nursing rms? i dun have leh. if i pump in toilet, no socket so can't use electric pump. unless i bk a meeting room and pump inside for 1/2 hr???

rat..
i saw a baby cot in robinsons. quite nice! double colour...beigey wood with darker wood combin. $399 incl mattress. not sure size tho'. u might wanna have a look.

krex78,
for me, pumping in office is not an issue. i don't have a nursing room too. but got lots of other rooms available that is always locked and empty. so can use 1 of them. do we take 30 mins to pump with electric ones?

was wondering if anyone here has started purchasing nursing bras? cos i need to change my bras again and not sure if i shld buy nursing bras or just get normal ones and buy nursing ones later?

hi timminbuzz i have the same problem as you....just added extension to the bra band but now think the cup getting too tight. My friend says she switched to nursing bras towards the last few mths of pregnancy cos anyway will be using them for breastfeeding afterwards. Save money....

But i must say those nursing bras do not look nice at all.....

but nursing bra more comfy ya?
i mean if u intended to give birth again, no harm invest in some better nursing bra lor.

qiqi and snow..thanks!
i dun mind buying nursing bras now, but i'm not sure if i'm still gonna ged bigger. later cannot fit then a bit wasted.

so was wondering if it's wise to start buying nursing bras now? or shld i wait till 3rd trimester then buy? now buy some others to tahan?

the only nice ones i saw was at egg in vivo city. the rest look quite flimsy. i'm still wondering if we really need those nursing bras, or we can just lift up our bras from below and get bb to feed from there. i suppose it also depends whether we're going to nurse in public or in nursing room. if it's the latter, then anything goes!

timminbuzz,
the nursing bra that i saw so far are not nice looking and i can't fit into any of the smallest size ones. hehehhee...... i guess i will have to use normal bras instead or unless it will grow bigger later. hahaha.....

i tink if dun use nursing bras...quite uncomfortable? got the strap under the bust is tighter.
saw some on moms in minds webbie and prices look gd too. anyone has any comments on their bras?

timminbuzz,
but if u just buy from web and never try the bra on before, i mean what if the cutting dun fit?
u got what i mean?
its still better if u can try on before u buy, then u will know if u like it.

rata,
the one i bought is 28"x52". like lindsay mentioned, the bigger the better cos bb will outgrow the cot very fast. must make our $$ worth it since it's not cheap.

lindsay,
ya i saw the one that u mentioned at taka bb fair but the one i saw at JL is w/o the stripe. The price is so much diff leh...$89 vs $29. i think i will prefer the one w/o the stripe as i find the stripe leceh.

yeah...i get what you mean. a colleague recommended them. you can actually try their stuff on. they have a showroom in jln pemimpin. they do have an exchange policy should it not fit if u buy without trying online.

Just finished my work last week, now got more time to come here to chat.

Nursing bra

Personally I think should get nursing bra, cos its easier to breastfeed and easier to put the nursing pad in. Those cheap one will do the job, the normal bra section should have. I bought those without wire underneath cos is more comfy As for whether is nice or not, by the time when u try to breastfeed, it becomes secondary as all the attention is to how to breastfeed the baby successfully. Also it is easier to wear shirt with front opening when u r breastfeeding. So, during confinement i just wore hubby's old long sleeve shirt at home for breastfeeding.

lindsay,
oh no. all my tops are without front opening and all hubby's shirts are still quite new to throw away. got to spend more $$ again?

Shay, ya I know, that is why i just wonder if robinson has 20% for the nursing pillow. I prefer the one with stripe, cos can put baby on it so can reduce the strength we use with our wrists. I had wrists injury for my first baby, due to wrong strength used and carried baby for too long. First started with left wrist, it took 3 months to heal and then my right wrist also kena and it took 8 months to heal!! Don't know how much i spent on seeing sin seh for that and it was difficult to heal cos I still need to carry baby alot.

celynlee,

Any shirt with front opening will do. It not a must, but i find it will be easier. Cos if wear t-shirt, then u have to hold the shirt from covering baby's face to see how he/she is sucking.

celyn, get go robinsons to get those cheap button pyjamas if u're using at home :p i also dun have a lot of such tops, but i guess i can keep a lookout for them now

Hi Celynlee,dongle,cocomo,mulberry,mousse& all MTBs,

just came back from collecting triple test result. Whew! it was low risk 1-820. NT done at week 12 shows ok. I am less incline to fo for amino invasive test. Any advise ? Thanks all for the encouragement.

lindsay,
i tot the stripe goes around your waist? how to use to put bb on it? u put ur bb on the front part pillow and not the stripe that goes to the back rite?

Toady went for my appt again. Saw my bb boy, I have increase total 4kg but tummy very big.
My detail is on 25/3 at TMC. Anyone same date?

i have no idea for the pillow as it was not out when i have my #1. Is it very good? My friend is giving me as her bb dislike it.
If bb like it, it will be very good for our back.

Shay, yes the stripe goes around your waist. So with the stripe it is secured, can put baby on the front part pillow then can go hand free or with minimum strength. Those without stripe one u still need to use your hand to support the weight and it is without back support. U get what i mean?

<font color="0000ff">rest_relax_forever</font>
glad to hear your triple blood test result is low risk
since you 'passed' both the NT scan and triple test, i would think no need to do the amnio bah.. What did your gynae advise?

rest_relax_forever,
glad to hear your good news. does your gynae advise you to do the amnio test? if not, then don't do loh.

Good Morning!
Went Taka BB Fair yday but bought nothing coz maybe 2nd time mommy liao so dunn have much to buy plus think it is rather too early to stock up.

RTCP,
My gal migrated to a single bed very long time ago, we bought the low single bed fm Ikea and bought the bed guard for her too…so far so good.

lindsay,
ok i think i got u.....the support will be better with the stripe.
i will borrow from my couz (w/o stripe) and see if bb likes it.

M2B
the size of ikea junior bed is abit odd ya?
i mean difficult to get bedsheet outside, can only buy everything from ikea right?
i'm also trying to set up a junior bedroom for my 1st gal lor, she gotta give way of her bb cot to her younger sis liao. =P

rest_relax_forever,
glad you have good results from the test.

Snow,
No ah, we bought the normal single bed from Ikea not the junior bed so any bedsheets also can, I often buy from aussino coz so colourful...heehee

we bought the extra low ones...I try to take a pic for you this weekend if I rbr coz we only goes back to our place on weekend...on weekdays, my gal sleeps on the normal high single bed at my mom's pl...

avocado, i'm going for detail scan on 28 mar. doc gave me mc on that day, but poor hubby has to take leave :p

btw, dr woody hinted that i may be expecting a boy. well, just as i thought...

rat,
read from the forum that kiddy palace and ikea got bb cots that are $100+ to $200+ but not sure of the quality, maybe you would like to check them out too...

rest_relax_forever,
happy for you that your results are good... i got slightly worst off results and gynae say it's considered good and thus no need for further test... c what your gynae says?

krex78,
your instinct quite "zhun"... im gg for my detailed scan today... eager to know what im having...

rest_relax_forever
happy for ur good result. =)

M2B
oic...i thought u refering to the junior bedroom set, their junior bedroom set is so colourful and sweet....hee hee....
ok, will wait for ur photo.
just fyi, i'm a aussino customer also. =P

snow/m2b,
i'm also a fan of aussino. any idea when will they have their sale? i want to get bedsheet and bumper for my bb cot.

krex,
so good gynae give mc for DS? The nurse told me i have to take leave no mc will be given for DS. Poor me
hubby will take 1/2 day since my app is at 3.30pm. DS on Mar 26......can't wait to see bb again

shay,
i always take mc for all my check. even when i go for evening check, gynae will give me mc for the next day. but this time ds, i'm taking half day leave instead of mc. so that i can save on mc. had already taken 8 mc for this year liao.

good morning mummies
wah..people buying cots and stroller liao...dunno whether to buy during the taka fair or later...i suppose price wise..even if there is difference, not much if buy now or later rite?
strange...most of u going for detailed scan already...my gynae nber say anything..mayb this friday i will ask him when i go for my regular visit..hmm...
btw..r most if ur tummy showing already? mine from 4th to 5th month...like balloon like that!..now very obvious le..dunno why suddenly like that..also put on another 2 kg ..sigh...
can feel bb kicking also..but not always...

shay, gynae wanted to give mc for NT scan also, but in the end we went on sat coz' weekday no slot. so no need to take mc lor.

celyn, wah, which gynae is that? u even get mc for next day after visit even when u're not sick? i guess i can't complain coz' my visits are always on fri, so no reason to give mc since sat is a rest day.

does anyone know if dr woody gives mc to patients who consult him on mon or tues?

krex78,
my gynae is from kk. but not sure if all gynae in kk are like that. usually, my appointment is in the afternoon, then i will be given mc. gynae will ask me how many days i want especially in the first trimester. hehhehe....

then i change my appointment to evening, he also give me mc for next day without me requesting.

my gynae say expecting is not easy like serving ns. hahahh.....

wah so nice. my 2nd bb must go to him already. but i dun really want to deliver in kk though...

i didn't take any mc during 1st trimester...so kuai. i only took 1 day for my cough at the start of 2nd trimester. feel like taking more mc in the following mths coz' very tired and don't feel like working :p

krex78,
my gynae is a senior consultant in kk. people tell me paying that kind of $$, i should go private. but we feel that kk is better cos in case got any complications, we will still be referred back to kk. so might as well go to kk straight and they have deliver so many babies, should be very experience.

any 2nd time mummies can help to comment on my baby list? what have i missed out? or am i getting too much. hehhe... please look under the sheet 'things to buy'
mime_msexcel.gif
baby list
baby list.xls (27.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Krex,
Congrats on your Mickey.

Snow &amp; Shay,
Ya, Aussino bedsheets and muper set are so colourful and sweet…hard to resist…

Shay,
Dun know when is their sale though, my coll is a member…

Dongle,
Do update us on your detailed scan…mine is on next Mon…

YLN,
I'm the opposite frm u. Already nearly 18 wks and still not really showing. If I wear my home tee (loose fitting), can't even tell I'm preg. Only if I wear tight tee, then look like still in 1st tri. Also haven't gained any weight despite eating normally. Very worried now but my gynae appt only next week...