(2008/08) Aug 2008

rata,
thanks for ur info. it's hard to find NUK glass bottle. i dun think OG carries it too. any idea? looks like i need to go to robinson to get it but i'm not a member - cxl the card last yr cos they refused to waive annual fee! so now not able to enjoy the sale

Shay, I dunno if OG ve glass bottle. Btw robinson sale is over liao. got to wait for next round. Which i dunno when.

Shay,
Mine is a normal 1.6cc car, have not tried putting 2 car seats before. But no matter what my 2 children must be on the car seat. I think I will try to squeeze in between at the back lor if more pp on the car and hubby is driving as i am small size. Most of the time my #1 sit on the car seat alone at the back as I am driving on the weekday. There will always be a way out. I m not going to upgarde to MPV cos $ not enough.

i just came back from taka baby fair. there are just so much car seats and stroller around. don't even know where to start and how to choose. have decided not to get the stroller first, will buy that end of the year when baby is about 4 months.

is it advisable to get a car seat for 0mths onwards? should we put baby in car seat from the baby we come back from hospital?

my friend is telling me not need to buy so early, can buy end year cos we won't be going out with baby so often and even if we go out, we can carry baby with our hands. is it true?

celnlee,
even a 5min ride, I will still put my child in the car seat cos I did not want to take any chance. My children will be on the car ride everyday as we bring them home everyday no matter what.
My #1 car seat can be used from 0-13mths and she is 12kg now, so it is time to buy her a new car seat that can tahna her weight up to 36kg and my #2 will use my #1 car seat.

avocado, r u the one who told me dat u using ameda pump? where u bought it? coz i dun see it at robinson, JL, taka.

yes.. i feel my bb movements since I was in week 16.. but not very often.. only feel my bb movements sometimes only.. u?

<font color="0000ff">Rata</font>
yesterday I think I saw Robinsons (at Raffles City) selling Ameda pumps.
Alternatively, Mumsfairy is also selling it. They'll also be setting up a booth at the Expo BB fair:-
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/961265.html?1204607315

<font color="0000ff">NiNi</font>
ya i felt my bb's movements few weeks back.
For heartbeat, i read it's actually very difficult for us to feel bb's heartbeat. More often than not, what we feel is actually our own pulse, it's cause by our blood pumping hard to our placenta.
How to different is to time that heartbeat's pulse. BB's heartbeat is much fast pace than ours, I think ard 130-160bps.

rat,
wat a shopping spree... you seem to know what you want to buy from each sale... hehe, so organised... can share why your preference for NUK bottles? cos most of my frens recommend Avent... so means that robinsons member sale is the best with 20 + 15%?

nini,
i felt my baby movement only this week, my week 19, kind of like a flutter in my stomach... very cute...

chipchip,mulberry,dongle:

Heehee..baby movement is fluttering? :p Yes i feel flutters n bubbles in week 14 liao... I thought its my own stomach? But nowadays dont feel any movement, and cant hear heartbeat so i getting paranoid.... gasp!

mulberry, thank will go check it out. but i dun dare to buy it now as warranty will start running fr the moment u buy.

dongle, I like the shape of the NUK teats so i went for it and also i didnt like wide neck bottles so avent is out. Think Avent is popular coz they sell pumps too so u can settle all in 1 brand. In terms of is abt the same. Pigeon &amp; NUK bottles also cuter coz got print.

so you decided you would want to get Ameda breastpumps already? What made you choose Ameda ar?
I still haven't decided which brand n model yet... So i will wait until the last possible minute to get it. :p
I heard that in TMC antenatal class, Mrs.Wong actually recommends the mummies to only get the pump after given birth.

For bottles, i now have 5 Pigeon bottles already (but it's mixture of those small n big ones) which comes from my purchase of the steriliser. I plan to get another 2-3 bottles, I think i'll get Avent.

Just sharing, got this from this month's Motherhood magazine, there'll be another fair in Expo on 5-8June. Here are the details:-
<font color="aa00aa">Motherhood Exhibition 2008</font>
<font color="aa00aa">Date: 5th - 8th June 2008
Time: 12pm-10pm
Venue: Expo Hall 5A</font>

Heard this is a yearly event, any mummies went there last year, are there good deals?

<font color="0000ff">NiNi</font>
yeah initially is feel 'flutters', then later weeks is 'bubbles bursting', then now what i feel is like 'thump thump' feeling ...hehe..cute feeling

Don't worry lah, bb is very very small now only, they still have alot of space to move about in our womb. Thus, it's normal we don't feel them everyday.

mulberry, but ur pigeon steriliser can fit wide neck bottle? coz avent bottles is wide neck, but pigeon also got some wide neck. IMHO is stick to 1 brand of bottles giving baby too much choice they will get fussy. But u got 5 bottles liao still not enough? i m starting wif 2 small 2 big 1st. If baby ok wif it then i buy more. As for the pump is not confirm Ameda but i wan to see it, coz to date i ve yet to see it.

Rat,
I bought it at MIM website. I also recommend to get it after birth or few weeks before. I get it after birth.

Today I went Taka fair, nothing much at all so go back home empty handed, think for #2 time mummy and my #1 very close gap with #2, nothing for me to buy.
as for car seat, they do not have what i want.

avocado, MIM website? cheaper? I also not buying so early but wan to take a look at it 1st. Nursing pad, maternity pad all these no need to buy for u?

hi, came back from bb shopping today. went to taka fair, robinsons and OG. wanted to buy a graco bassinet &amp; playpen that i saw on thurs, but no more stock already...so sad. in the end, only bought small items like nursing pads, detergent, bibs, wash cloths, changing pad, bathtub, etc. on thurs, bought a very cool bb gym and rompers.

btw, robinsons still has 20% sale on many bb pdts, and the one at centrepoint has a very gd range. bought my bb nail clippers, sponge, etc. there coz' they looked so much nicer. the ones at taka don't look too cool.

btw, heard from a friend that philips has their annual sale ard june. is that true? if so, i will wait till then to get my bottles, bb monitor, steraliser, food warmer, and maybe breast pump. dun wanna buy so early.

<font color="0000ff">mulberry</font>, thanx so much for caring
*muacks*

avocado, u r right. for #2 time mummy, nothing much to buy...

Yes, Pigeon steriliser can also fit avent's bottles. In fact it can fit all brands of bottles. That's the reason why i bought it. I confirmed with few mummies whom are using it. It can fit 6 wide neck bottles or those 8 standard neck ones.
hee...i kiasu, i thought of buying couple of Avent's bottle to standby in case my bb don't like Pigeon's. :p

<font color="0000ff">krex78</font>
the Graco bassinet&amp; playpen one, it is the one called Contour Electra, the after disc price is $199? So fast OOS already? Aiyoh i was contemplating whether to buy that one....

<font color="0000ff">faeriekim</font>

btw, u didn't go to the taka fair too?

Krex, robinson now onli 20% but no additional for members liao rite?

Mulberry,for me I not buying steriliser save some money. My mum say she will use traditional method to boil &amp; my fren passing me a pigeon compact one which fits 2 bottle.

rata and mulberry,

i think i won't get the steriliser too. use old method. hehehe...

krex78,
is there a philip sale in june? if have, i will wait till then too.

hi mommies, i am trying to register for the congress which will be held at sheraton towers this sat. anyone has the link? many thanks.

hi krex, do keep us updated of the philip sale yah.

Rat and Celyn,

Steriliser altho ex, but saves time and hassle. Trust me, when you have so many things to do, small conveniences count!

I can only remember last time i bot a little bit of everyth that i ran out so fast and everyday calling my hubby to go grocery store to buy. You will be surprised baby can go thru 10 diapers a day so even if he buys one pack of pampers, in 3 days will be gone. Same for breast pads. I had very good supply so soak up very fast. When you latch one side, the other side will leak so it will be full by the time one feed is over.

An incident yesterday made me so mad. I was at paragon having dinner and my son needed to pee. So i brot him to the ladies but all cubicles were occupied so we were the first in queue and in the meantime, I took off his shoes and pants. And while I was doing that, a cubicle open the door and before I could grab my son and bring him in, this stupid gal behind me walk straight into the cubicle. How inconsiderate! In the first place, i was there before her. But most importantly, everyone in the toilet could tell that my son was quite urgent as I kept telling him "cannot pee pee ok, wait until go in". So pissed.

avocado,
oh so with the new member u'll have 4 in a car rite? mine i have 6 pax including my niece and maid. wonder how to squeeze into the car. me too cannot afford to change to mpv now cos my car is only coming to 2yrs....very siong if change.

rata,
pigeon steriliser can fit any shapes of bottles including my avent duo pump - i find it big and useful.

went to taka bb fair. didn't buy a lot buy spent 700+ cos paid $459 for a baby cot + stroller. anyone bought the cot from the fair? i was contemplating bet the 2 cots (the counter is opp each other). one is $299 (up$499-excluding matress) and the other one is $359 (including matress) and can top up $100 to add a stroller. so end up getting the 2nd one at $459 (including matress &amp; stroller). not sure if it's a good deal but lazy to shop around elsewhere.

rtcp,
No point getting angry, Nowaday ppl are veri in-considerate. They dun care even if you have a child who is urgent or not.

RTCP,
I would make noise if someone does that to me...

re: milk bottles and teats
i realise that Avent got different teats for 0 mth, 1 mth, 3 mth etc... are we required to change them once we reach the stated months?

rata,
the cot in the link is exactly the same (except for the color and the size-wooden color and size is 28"x52" at the fair) as the one i saw at taka bb fair. that's the one i mentioned $299 (excluding latex matress). I tot of getting that but end up getting the one fr the opp booth which is $90 cheaper (including matress). If u dun need such a big cot, then isetan cot is quite a good deal..
Is isetan katong the one located at Parkway Parade?

dongle,
ur bb will tell u when to change the teat
as they grow they will find that the flow is getting slower and they will reject. if u realise that ur bb starts to reject milk or drink very slowly, then it's time to change.

Shay, oh isit? i didnt see it at taka lei. must ve missed it. so is selling at $299 then if buy mattress how much? wats the colour there? i dun need to too big cott else no space to put. dunno taka or isetan cheaper. i dunno abt isetan katong is where coz i dun stay east
mayb mummies staying in the east can help.

<font color="0000ff">Rata</font> and <font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>
hee...me very blur blur one, i scared if i used traditional method, i might leave the bottles in too long and melt them!
For first few months, my Mom will come and help out but after that, I'll be mostly alone taking care of bb, so I need all the 'electrical help' i can get. :p

<font color="0000ff">RTCP</font>
aiyoh that gal is stupid or what. she tot u take off ur son's shoes n pants for fun ar... You should have told her off. These ppl you cannot be polite to.

<font color="0000ff">Shay</font>
i saw the cot that you bought. It looks real nice. The mattress is the one made out of coconut something (forgot the name), right?
btw, yup, isetan katong is the one at parkway parade.

rata,
ya the size is diff and taka bb fair didn't display the small size cot so i dunno the price. $299 is for 28" x 52". the matress is $139 for 24x48 and $149 for 28x52 and the pillow is $19.90. so with the free matress &amp; pillow, the small cot only cost $180 which i think is a good deal.

Rat,
I dislike using maternity pads, find it will leak to the side instead. I still have my long night SOFY. will use that. In fact I find that better than maternity pads. As for breast pads, I still have 2 boxes (Pigeon) not open yet.

You can login to www.mim.com.sg to view the pumps.

avocado,
is it necessary to use maternity pad? they seems very thick. can we use the usual pad? i always use the lauria ultra 2mm thin pad. will this be enough?

anyone can advise on which brand car seat is good?

celynlee (celynlee) ,
For me, I think NOT necessary to use it. I hate it. Normal pads for night will do. Sofy is good

Shay, thanks think i will go taka ask how much for the smaller size one then i know whether taka or isetan sell cheaper.

avocado, thanks for the website will check it out.

avocado,
ya, sofy night use pad is better with the side leak guard and cottony feel.
for those who take c-sect, normal pad also can...because u won't have a heavy flow.

Rat,

Not advisable to get a small cot as baby outgrown them very fast. Unless u only intend to let them sleep in there for few months. My girl used the cot till 14 months old only. Now she sleeps on the mattress which i put on the floor. I bought mine at baby kingdom, kaki bukit, can go there and take a look. I cant remember the size, think i got the biggest, white colour. It comes with normal mattress. They have another mattress, the one with holes in between the mattress, just to top up $50 if u r getting the cot as well.

Nursing pad,

I bought the washable type, more economical. Think is graco brand or something, comes with 6 pads.

Shay,

I saw the nursing pillow at taka fair, $89 net with an additional changing cover. But that is the one i am looking for, it has a stripe to go around the waist and the belt has a cushion to support the back. Just wonder did u see the same one in JL? Wonder if robinson has 20% on this item?

Mulberry and Dongle,
I wanted to knock on the door and tell d woman off, but so happens another door open so i quickly grab my son to run in to pee first (else he pee all over the floor!) Really can't stand such inconsiderate ppl.

Celyn, not necessary to buy maternity pads. First pregnancy i went to buy. Find it lousier than normal pads (not sticky and no wings so got leakage). You can buy those Sofy with nite protection will do. In fact, towards the end, the flow will be quite normal.

Hey, any mummies who migrated their elder child to a normal bed? Got any recommendations for a super single size toddler bed that is lower than normal beds and protected all around (hence not wooden frame)? I want to shift my son out of the cot.