(2008/08) Aug 2008

Gayle...
hmm looks like got the wrong person, im from mayflower sec... Haha... nvm at least we know we are of the same age... im also 1981

are you expecting ur 1st child? when is ur edd?

Hi all MTBs,

Didnt write for so long. On MC till next week.

Wow, so fun to read all your message esp the naming portion. I also like to think about name too. But now I will not think first cos knowing sure I will still change it last minute. Anyway, really cheers me up :)

Hi YLN,
If you prefer duplicate word, how about Yao Yao. 瑤瑤﹖
Feng & Jiao seems like not many nice Chinese wording..

Hi Snow74,
How about Ying(3) Xing(2)? 穎馨 or 穎昕

like a walkie talkie lor. then when bb cries, you will hear him/her then u can go attend to bb over in the next rm.

krex78,
i will go see see look look first. not sure will buy or not. cos colleagues and friends tell me, i will automatic wake up to the slighest sound. don't need special equipment to help. hahahah.... but no harm to look at it first then decide later.

Hi Krex,

For first 3 months, I think usually Bb will sleep with us cos they need milk for every 3hrs. Initially my sister put bb in separate room but due to bb need milk for every 3 hrs. However bb may not sleep well thru out this 3 hrs and some will keep crying. So, eventually my sis put her in the same room to cut down the walking distance. So, I propose we can buy the monitor at later stage lor....

carolynn, how did u get MC for one week? i feel like taking mc but dunno what to tell gynae. sleepy? abdomen pain? leg cramps?

sometimes i have to drag myself to office coz' so tired in the morning...sigh.

Hi Krex,

Oops, I got bleeding due to placenta migrate. Doctor offered me 2 weeks hospitalization leave :p
Hospitalization leave cos MC only limited to 15 days per year so must save... My doctor very got "ren qing wei"

But for 1 - 2 days MC, I think you can just tell your gynea u r too tired and work is very stressful. Can he issue you the MC.

Hi Carolynn,
Oh dear... did ur gynae explain y placenta migrate?

Krex,
I think u can tell your gynae that... think he/she will give u mc...

carolynn, during 1st mth, can we get confinement lady to bottle feed from the milk we express during the day (if enough)? else we won't get enough rest at night. by 2nd or 3rd mth, will be quite cham since we're on our own.

celyn, i sleep like a log. moreover, i on aircon at night, so my door is closed. i can hardly hear what's going on outside, not to mention in another room.

ok thanks for the tip! i'm very bad at lying, but i really do feel so tired that i can't do much work if i go to office anyway. just wondering if my gynae will give me 2 days mc, tsk tsk.

carolyn, hope u're feeling better now

faithmum..

hehe..okie..wrong person.

yup this is my first. edd 15th aug. urs first too? feel abit 'lonely' cos have no friends my age that have bb. most not even married.

glad to find someone same as me

Dear Faithmum,

Thanks for the concern
Yeah, he explained. Placenta will move to top of uterus when uterus is growing. Some people will bleed but some dont. Nevetheless, my bb is still growing well, so is fine. But, bleeding is always not a good sign so must see gynea immediately. I will need to rest more also to play safe

Dear Krex,
Thanks for concern
Yeah, feel better, no stress, and relax day :p

You can request from your confinement lady.
Anyway, is common that very little breast milk for first 1-2 weeks. BB should stay with your CL for 1st month, at least we can rest more.

Gayle,
my edd is around 12th aug... ya this is my first also...

Hey a lot of my friends are preggie now... all due around the same time... guess we also got married around the same time...

But dont worry, we have each other here... support each other k...

Krex,
My SIL did that to her confinement lady... she will breastfeed direct in the day but night time express for confinement or her hubby to feed... husbands also must have a go of waking up in the middle of the night to feed baby right?? Hee... :p

thks faithmum

regarding breastfeeding...i told my hb not to wake me at night..just bring bb to my boob n hold there :p heheh...wishful thinking on my part. im not getting a confinement lady, just my mum helping out.

Gayle,

Wah if only we can breastfeed without waking up ya... heehee :p

Im also not getting confinement lady... not used to having an outsider stay with us... negotiated with hubby... he will have to help as much as possible... then my MIL will do the cooking while my mum will help me with the rest.. i guess we are always more comfortable with our own mums...

Carolynn,
Are you bleeding alot? Fresh bleeding?
please dont over exert urself as well... time to pamper urself even more now... rest in bed more if possible...

Hope ur bleeding will stop soon...

gayle tan (mummy81),
Still have to wake up no matter what. Baby need to burp for a few minutes. Also need to clean up wipe mouth after every feed as there will sure be some leak of milk form baby mouth or wosrt throw out and got to really wake up to change the whole mattress. This hapens to me so that why I do not BF on my bed.

Dear Faithmum,

Thanks for your concern

Yeah, is really fresh blooding. Gave me a shock. Is like 3rd day of period. Then the next day become lesser and lesser like last day of period. Now condition looks good. After I visit my gynea, I really feel more comfortable. I learnt frm this lesson, appreciates what I given - bb

Haha, I always pamper myself since I know I am pregnant :p My dad comes to my place to cook for me :p Not doing any housework. But now I try not to be too pampered in emotion cos this may make my bb also pampered in future :p

Now will not going to sweep the floor, mop the floor, etc. Very little housework to do. No more harsh movement, less walking too. Rest quite alot.

Wow, so lucky you are. If you do have the M / MIL, no need to have CL. You can save alot.....

celyn,
I read from some article mentioned that not very good to leave your infant alone in another room when young coz it might coz SIDD. When they did not hear any sound or feel us they tent to think they still in the womb so sometimes stop breathing that's why causing SIDD.

krex,
Better let your maid in earlier to learn all necessary things from your confinement lady. So she will know how to take care of your baby later.

gayle,
Hi welcome! We have the same EDD date, 15 Aug.

Hi.

I'm from Jan MTB 2008 thread. Sorry to interupt but I have a pack of brand new Drypers XL 40 for sale. I wanted to sell as my mum bought the wrong size for my nephew. It is brand new & not opened before. Willing to sell at $10. Meet up to collect at Eunos MRT. Interested party pls PM me.

krex
i have a small maid's room in my place..so the maid will take that room, as for CL, she will sleep with bb for that one month in another room.
i think its ok for the maid n CL to sleep in the same room ba..if u really have no space...like that also good..so when the CL wake up to feed bb, maid can learn also..
anyway..only for one month...

Carolynn,
Must really rest well k?

ChipChip,
I felt bb's movement 5 weeks back and these recent weeks, they are more intense liao.
thatz the best part I like abt pregnancy.

shay, yah lor. quite bu she de to throw leh. i heard some people keep to bathe or wash face. haha. but quite stinky.

avocado, so nice your ex-office have nursing room. not sure if i'll be as successful for #2 though. heard different babies are different. but i will try!

krex, you are under dr woody right? he is very understanding about tiredness one. just ask and he will give.

good morning mummies...

can see we r definitely progressing in stages..esp with topics like names, breastpumps, CL etc..

hey..Jonah is a biblical character and he was a bit weak at first but afterwards he chose hv faith and believe in god..so he became great!

There are mani names i like - shona, clarice, lyndall, clarissa, nadia..hehee...shucks mostli gals name...

anyway...I would need to hire a maid too...cos I wont have CL and my mum will look after my bb after confinement..guess during confinement 1st mth..have scheduled my husband to do 3 weeks confinement for me and hehee so the maid can do all housework and necessary stuff....

my fren say taka BB fair is the best...she did her research after last yr combing thru all fairs/sales...

Dear M2b,
Noted and thanks for concern

Dear All MTB,
Have you start "tai jiao" eg talk to your little one, put the music to them, etc

carolynn
i dunno if its tai jiao..but i think my bb loves to listen to music..those normal ones on class 95.so now i have it on all the time when i work..cuz everytime i heard a nice music/song, i will tap the rhythm on my tummy and i think my bb like ..cuz the music seem extra nice to me..heehee..sounds a bit silly but i still do it..

I usually listen to alot of music, so guess the little one also listen to the music....unfortunately the kind of music I listen to is not exactly 'tai jiao' kind of music
Bo pian, just not into classical stuff.

As for talking, my hubby has started talking to (and answering for) the baby. eg: bb, are you hungry? (in high pitch echo): yes!

hee hee...for this bb, she only like to sleep.
dun say reading books, listening to music also i sleep leh.
my 1st gal likes music, but not this one. =(

Carolynn...
Both M and MIL wants to help but i scared got war... haha :p Dont think i can handle any wars at that point in time... So have to separate their duties n i think they r happy with it or at least i hope they will be happy with the arrangement...

Chipchip,
I do feel bubbly feelings but not sure whether is it the baby or not... but recently disappear again... Hmm really hope to feel more of baby n enjoy the moments... But i can feel the shape of my uterus, like one day the lump is on left side n the next day the lump shifts to the right side... I hope tats the baby moving n changing position n not my imagination...

Re: "Tai Jiao"
Haha ya ive started talking to my baby n last week went to buy cd "The Mozart Effect".. haha it seems that it has proven to have right brain stimulation effect on the baby n just need to listen as background music, dont need to concentrate... Me n hubby listen n chat until so sleepy... :p

I read the books, Of course they recommend Mozart classical song is the best option. Anyway, so long the pace is slow as per our heartbeat 60-70, not necessary must be classical. Soothing song will do. If talk to them more often, baby will able to adopt the world faster and feel secure.

ya..the mozart effect is nice..I have tt too

Have been listening to classical/muscial box type music ever since my first gal was born..cos she needs music to sleep and now..it is I who needs music to sleep...so guess my bb is very used to this music liao..cos every night..its auto..

Each night when I read to my daughter, I will ask her if she thinks bb also want the same story..so she will touch the tummi and ask bb..and ans to me yes, bb also wants the same story !!! so i guess I try to involve my daughter too when it comes to talking with the bb

hmm..ya she is realli nice lah most of the times..she say tt she will feed bb, soothe bb when bb cries, pat bb to sleep etc...but all say onli...whether it will happen we shall see..cos she so used to being 1..not sure if she is realli okie to share..

hi carolynn,

do take care. but i thought hospitalisation leave and MC are separated? Cos i know that most co hospitalisation leave is 60 days whereas MC are 14 days.

hi chipchip,

i sometimes do feel "kicks" which not sure whether is it due to muscle pulling or the baby's movement. there's also burping sound from my tummy.

hi megan,

my friend from another thread say that this yr taka fair nothing much leh...

hi faithmum,

my personal opinion har, may not be a gd idea to have both ur mum and MIL taking care during your confinement. "1 mountain cant contain 2 tigers", both of them may have their own opinions for eg, in taking care of bb, so who u should listen to?
for me, though i have a maid and my #1 is taken care by my mum, i actually wanted to hire a CL, so my mum wont feel so tired out, cos need to take care of #1 and bb and also cook the confinement food. actually thought of asking MIL to come over my place to take care of #1, but after thinking, better not, in case, i'm stuck in betwwen wars...

Hi Megan
Yeah, can imagine your girl sitting next to you, listen, touch your tummy

Hi Gemini,
Noted & thanks for concern

Yeah, is diff. Thus, my gynea will issue me the HL if needs longer break to avoid use up all the MC.

Hi Gemini,
Thanks for you advice... actually tat is also my worry... so tat y till now this is the temporary arrangement... furthermore im a paediatric nurse by training, so will be quite stubborn when it comes to baby care as well... Haiz... 3 women having 3 different opinions, i think i will pity my hubby instead... Haha...

By the way, has anyone felt or observe their tummy changed shape like mine? Like the lump shifting from left side to the right etc... Is that the baby moving?

hi megan,

i believe it do works sometimes. though my girl has not taken it before, but got hear my mum say before.
do hope that my gal will be like ur gal, know how to sayang bb after i have delivered. but 1 thing to note, she loves to see baby whether in books or TV and also know how to say "baby", so hopefully, when she see her real "didi or "meimei", she will also love and sayang.

venus, i sure hope so. i feel very sheepish whenever i need to get mc. the last time i got 1 day mc from dr woody, it was a genuine case of bad cough. now it's just me being tired (don't even know if this is a palatable excuse to get 2 days mc!)

btw, any mummies went to bb fair yest? quite exciting. got to collect lots of brochures on the various pdts. now gotta decide what to buy. was hoping to wait till GSS or next bb fair, but dunno if offers will be as good.

hi krex, i was at the taka baby fair last evening. hee..any idea when is the next taka bb fair? i hope its in time for us.

missy, did u buy anything? i dunno what to start buying and what to buy later

the salesperson told me next fair in aug/ sep. dun think we can make it by then. and i dunno if the offers will be as good during GSS.