(2008/08) Aug 2008

joni, i only get the pain when i cough while lying down. probably the same muscles are activated? i also heard from my friend that pregnant women cannot stretch their arms too much, but gynae didn't say anything leh. sometimes i have to stretch after washing dishes to place them on the dish rack, coz' quite high (my hubby tall mah, so everything in the house is quite high). so far felt no pain.

snow, i got the sales flyer yesterday in my mbox. quite last minute, i know. but i'm pretty sure got sale today coz' my office is directly opp robinsons, haha. going after work to take a look.

chipchip n snow74,

Yup ok...i will ask then.. Thanks for your advices.

Btw you all start on bird nest already?? I blew $2k on buying bird nest yesterday... It's the 'head' of the bird nest, supposed to have more proteins... Had a big quarrel with hubby today cos he feel i anyhow spend.
I feel that i deserved it lor..and its my own money.
My parents both not around anymore, and my PILs they dont pamper me also.. So whats wrong with me buying expensive things to pamper myself?

I understand hubby's concern is, the future expenditure n currently im not working...(but i still have abit of income coz i work from home) he feel that we should spend on practical things like baby cot n stuffs.. n his mom also never eat bird nest, drink soya bean everyday n he also have very good skin!

Sigh...sorry..asking become ranting...

But i told him i dont mind 2nd hand stuffs la...keke.. actually im lookin for garage sales by Japanese expats becoz they took care of their things really well! But where to find japanese expats moving out?

My aunt wana pass me her babycot..guess the age.. 21 yrs old..haha.. But its solid wood lar.. pass to me its the 4th hand liao..

Anyone going to taka baby fair? Is it too early to buy baby stuffs now? Sigh..i dont dare to spend now...

nini,
wow, 2k on birdnest. so far i only got a bottle from eu yan seng for 60+ and another from lao hang kai for 140+. can't afford to spend so much.

happycat,
i just saw the uno one at tangs. its 294 nett leh. but they don't have the full range of products. even though tangs having sales, no discount on the pump.

krex78,
i think the possibility of me getting avent is quite high but i don't think there will be discount on the pump even though robinson got sales. no discount is given at tangs.

anyone know if any philip sales in coming up? wonder if they will have discount on avent. hehheheh.........

philip sales is in sep..

hmm..the pump..wat abt isetan private sale? I always stock up my stuff then...

U can try baby kingdom at kaki bukit..sometimes u can bargain quite a bit...

megan,
thanks. sep is a bit late. hehehe.....

i thought of isetan private sale, maybe wait till june then buy. looking at the john little web, they seems to have promo on avent's bottle. wondering if i need so many.

celyn, i'm also comparing bet JL offer and Robinsons offer. both look quite gd, esp the discount they offer. robinson's baby monitor package (with milk bot, baby wrap, etc.) was slashed by more than $100. sounds gd hor?

i think i will just look and see but dun wanna buy yet coz' scared warranty will be over before i even get to use it long enough.

bottles i think u need quite a bit. u need a few for home, a few for expressing. different sizes also.

megan, baby kingdom not very cheap but they're quite well stocked. i saw the medela PIS for $749 (i think). and outside they're selling at $799? but i think the isis duo still same price, no change.
do u know when the isetan private sale is? dun really like to go to that one coz' very crowded. always get squashed in there.

er..think its 3 times a year? I always take leave or off-in-lieu to go..cos I find it very worthwhile last time to buy kids toys hehee...

will wait till the next round...maybe use this round of sales to make a listing of prices first

wah u all are already talking abt milk bottles and baby cots etc... i'm not buying anything yet, cos waiting for people to pass down to me, haha! The savings will be greater than any JL or Robinson sales

NiNi,
I started taking bird nest last weekend, just wondering how often shd we take it? Seriously, taking bird nest this early, is it going to benefit the mummy more or the baby? I also dun know, but if it makes the preggie woman happy, I think its worth the price lor. But hor, my bird nest not as expensive as yours, in fact come to think abt it, its a gift... haha i'm like living off gifts and hand-me-downs, cheapo mummy!

But hor, just my own thots, i think its equally impt to have harmony in the family too... if the bird nest issue makes u quarrel with hubby, then no matter how ex or how good the bird nest is, also cannot compensate your unhappiness, right not? Unhappy mummy = unhappy bb...
I would suggest a compromise, either get cheaper bird nest next time, or under-declare the price of the bird nest to your hubby, hee, or say the bird nest is a gift from boss/frens!

Chipchip, thanks!

joni...tis thing abt under-declaration..hmm i cant help but think abt the no. of times..i have under declared things to my husband hahaa..

u r not cheapo mummy lah..u r a practical and realistic mummy..
which i hope I am beginning to learn
am contemplating instead of going to europe for holiday in april...go korea instead
more cost savings...some more economy looks like aint gonna be as rosy as last year's!

chipchip: Ya lor...but it feel its really abit early to buy.. Thought of June Singapore sale then buy..but dont know that time discounts as good or not.. Hmmm

joni: You're a lucky mummy!
I dont have anyone to buy me gifts...but thats ok, i buy myself lor.. My hubby dont buy things for me one..he is practical n *thinks* he buys for both of US, which is fact he is the one liking it.
I wanna show my in-laws, that even thou nobody buy for me, they dont buy anything for me.. I can also buy it myself. Haha.. sounds pathetic hor.
I dont mind hands me down, but is it early to ask for hands me down? Next monday then know gender...gut feeling telling me girl but symptons i have is having a boy..hahaha.. :p

alot of v discharge today...xianz...

its not easy being preggie, but yet my hubby feel i dont deserved to be pampered.... Sigh.. Really envy some of you guys who have great hubbies who sayang u all so much one.

Mommies, do u feel more emotional? Like little things only wanna cry liao...hahahah... cannot tahan myself!!! :p

Btw do you all often eat out or cook at home?

just wondering for those who know the gender of bb, have ur started looking at names already? i think its still early, but me quite excited with finding an interesting name..

hey nini

cheer up..sometimes it feels realli tough..but u noe u can always catch up with us here okie?

so what do u do nowadays since ur not realli working....

nini,
*hugs* have a good talk with your hubby yeah. i do feel emotional sometimes (even sappy movies can make me teary nowadays) but just have to control my emotion. let’s spread all the positive happy vibes~

i eat outside food most of the time, maybe 2-3 days of dinners at my in laws' place but usually dine out on weekend.

hi YLN,
i am hoping to find names too but don't know whether bb is a mickey or minnie. have you thought of any names?

Megan,
I think Isetan Sale is quarterly so shd have 1 in Mar, June, Sept and Dec...

Nini,
Cheer up ok?

YLN,
I will name my gal Megan coz it meant pearl and also as I'm looking at names starting w M...

NiNi,

Cheers up.. my husband always busy with work.. not much time for me.. luckily, i sleep more nowadays and like watching tv drama.. so i feel less lonely now

i order tingkat meal during weekdays as i hate cooking haha i just re-heat the food for my husband when he get back home.. it really save me lots of trouble leh.. we dine out during weekend ..

missysz
i am just reading from the net for names, but havent really found something nice..i was hoping to look for a name with my or hubby's inital...but i think if dun have nice ones..will have widen to all alphabets ..

hi joni, i hope to find some hand me downs too but i think it will be very difficult. my bestie is giving birth in Aug too and the other gf is giving birth in June. haha..nope, we didn't plan lest you gals think so. ;p btw, how do request for pple to pass us the hand me downs? usually they will offer right? hee

hey M2B

Megan also means strong; I named my daughter that because I wanted her to be strong when she grows up...and not hv to rely on man..etc hahaa
but its realli a nice name

chipchip,
My choices are just either L or M and since my 1st gal is already L then 2nd must be M to be fair...heehee...I always think Megan is a nice name.

Megan,
Thanks for enlightening on the other meaning of Megan.
ya, must be strong and firm on her own.

Whats ur first gal name?

at this moment, I am incline to go with gabriel & victoria
somehow i prefer to choose a tough name for a gal...I so scare next time they kenna bulli...

Missysz
i suppose i'm fortunate in the sense that my SIL's youngest kid will be 2 yrs old by Aug, and she can pass me a lot of bb stuff.
Wow, its fun to have your pals going thru pregnancy at the same time as u, so exciting right? Me too got close frens who are preggie now, maybe the stock got tired of making too many trips, so gave us babies all at the same time,
Or is pregnancy contagious??

Megan's mummy
oooh, u also guilty of under-declarations... haha, never mind, shhhh, u dun say, i dun say, the hubbys will never know! lol

NiNi
oh cheer up! My hubby so busy with work, he sometimes dun even have time to quarrel with me ah.. so i'm also quite a neglected wifey, got baby liao then got more attention from him now, during past 4 yrs of marriage without baby, can u imagine i machiam invisible ah.. and just when i want to go look for bf liao, then suddenly got baby, now i got no waistline, look haggard, walk like penguin, can't look for bf liao!! so sad hor?

argh, i'm also naming my kid megan (if it's a girl!). looks like it's getting quite popular. i thought of this name when i saw the discovery channel host megan travel the world. this name not too girly, and i like my kid to be independent too, heehee.

as for boys, i'm not sure yet. i like jonah but for some cultures, it means bad luck. my hubby likes hayden. dunno w/c one to choose.

its okie..good names no need xian tai duo

hey I like the host megan too..though she has big hips

haha..my SIL last time said wah Megan sounds so boyish..I said..ya lar..if not later let ur 3 boys bulli :p

Jonah is very brave a man

wow, you all start looking for names liao.

we haven't. going to leave that to father in law. hehehe..... some work for grandpa.

i also under declare to my hubby, last time its mummmy. hahah.....

good thing is hubby always like to go shopping with me, so i make him pay for all my expenses. hahahah....

Megan,

As for me, looking at names starting with C ...
Megan is a nice name

Celynlee,

My parents in law are good at Chinese.. so I think I will be the one to choose the chinese name too

u r so lucky, ur hubby likes go shopping with u, unlike my hubby... he only likes play ps2 at home and play football..

chipchip,
heheh.... not that he likes a lot but if i go without him, he will grumble. so i let him follow loh but warn him before hand that he can't complain. after few training sessions, he is ok with it now. hehehheeh....... man are like children, must train.

I am looking for names starting with A.

Rat,
Yes, TBF means Total Breast Feeding. It is a dual pump and can save a lot of time. Mine come with 2 pumps with attached stand, the mains adaptor and and a pair of baby feeding cups with lids. The pumps have 1 yr warranty so I would highly recommend not to buy too early. Even there is only a few % discount , I would rather buy later to extend the warranty as repair cost is very high.

I dunno the gender of my baby yet but I already prepared a list of names for each gender :p Most likely I will be choosing the English name cos' DH is hopeless at choosing names...he keeps suggesting names like 'Barbie', 'John', etc. *faint*

As for Chinese name, we will most likely get those chinese geomancer to choose.

Also for mummies taking Lo Hong Ka birdsnest, another cheaper alternative is to get it over the causeway. Costs about $120+ for the same bottle that costs $140+ here.

Good Morning!

Megan,
You know the gender of your bb already?
My 1st gal is named Lorraine, meaning shining and famous.

Joni,
You are so cute, wana look for bfs ah? I’m also a neglected wife coz hb is always so busy with work but glad to have the company of my gal and another 1 coming this Aug…heehee, think they will keep me busy man!

ChipChip,
C ah, how abt Charlotte for gal? :p

Yuuri,
Your hb so funny, Barbie somemore. :p

yuuri,
thanks for your info on lo hong ka birdnest. but i seldom travel to malaysia, last visit is more than 3 years back.

megan, i haven't thought of a better girl's name so i'll still stick to megan if it's a girl. for boy, still a bit undecided, though i thought of jonah way before the name megan popped up. i wish there was better meaning to this name...very scared my bb will blame us if we name him jonah, haha.

oh yes, i went to robinsons yest and medela was on 20% discount. members get further 10% discount. so the PIS actually costs abt $500 after discount. no offer on avent, except for this special package w/c includes bb monitor, bb wrap, cream, milk bot, etc. anyone knows mkt price of avent bb monitor?

who's going to taka bb fair today?

Good morning all mommies to be.

hi rat, thanks so much for updating my details. You have been doing a great job!

M2B, Charlotte is a nice name!

my hubby is always thinking of names of NBA and soccer players but the gender is still a mystery as of now. Btw, for mommies who have confirmed the gender of bb, does your gynae told you it’s 100% confirmed or 90% or 80% or what?

joni, ya lor, so coincidence that 3 of us are preggie at around the same time but sad thing is that we might not be able to attend each other baby showers.

Hellow mummies...

Ya, my hubby intends to name my boy - Domonic!!!! I faint!!! Cannot tahan that name le... But didn't express my emotion out to him. How to reject him nicely....? Mayb should ask the Shifu to name our son instead and take the chance to change it!

missyz,
hehe, I oso like Charlotte but too bad, I'm looking at names with M instead...

for me, my gynae commented most likely gal, didnt mention percentage so I take it as gal lah.

Hewchen,
Shifu will just give chinese names rite? maybe you can think of a few more names and tell hb that you will decide when bb is out coz then can match face to name...heehee

Hi Hewchen,
My HB came up with names that I dun like too. the simplest way to say no is to say you know of someone with that name who is really lazy, awful etc....so they dun take it personally.

Have not thot of naming number2 yet...will wait till confirm gender first.

for mummies who have #1 or even #2 already, can share with me how old they are, are they attending child care, which one, experience? Am thinking of sending my number 1 who is 2 yrs old to child care but my HB not in favour. My maid takes care of him in the meantime.

Thanks in advance

hewchen, dominic quite nice what. better than albert, peter, etc. :p

btw, i think i might have to get a maid after my 1 mth with confinement lady. can anyone suggest where and how to start? do they have maids from burma, vietnam, etc.? i don't really like filipino and indo maids.

Krex
based on my friends' experience and advice, it is better to get your maid in 2months before u deliver, cuz in that 2 months, u can train the maid and by the time u r ready to deliver, u will be used to the maid and she will more able to work on her own. it will be just nice when the confinement lady comes in cuz the maid can learn from the confinement lady how to look after bb and all the necessary stuff related to bb...then u won't have to be so stressed and teach the maid how to look after bb after confinement lady leave...i intend to do that too...so, going to take the test next week and will start searching for a maid end march, early april..i want my maid to come in in June..so just in case she no good, can still have some time to change..
..me looking for a myanmar maid who can speak a little chinese...very difficult to find..so i starting early..

M2B,

thanks for ur suggestions.. will discuss with my hubby

Hewchen,

agreed with Krex.. dominic is quite nice and unique

Not quite used to Dominic... see how lor.. I don't wanna sound fierce whenever I call my boy le... I'm actually looking at names starting w L or J

Hello mummies...
My gynae told me 80% girl cos she said she saw the vulva... didnt know now ultrasound so high tech, vulva also can see... :p
HewChen,
if u looking for J boy names, wat abt Justen? For me, i like unique names... My HB's nephew is called Justen and there was a time that a local author actually used his name to write his book saying that its very unique.. So, u can consider..