(2008/08) Aug 2008

Dear Millie,
Dont worry too much. You are still ok now, means is fine for you. Just dont take any bu ping during 1st trimester will do. For now, you should ask the chinese doctor what should you take if you want to. However, usually gynea not encourage to take too many chinese herb. We shouldnt let the bb to big, diff to deliver.

Re:Birds nest
Can I just use those quick cooker to cook my birds nest, instead of double boil? =P
Faster and easier u see...hee hee....

Millie,
Not too sure, but was advised not to take herbal/tonic during 1st tri lor.
Took once only should be alright lah, dun think too much ok? =)

Hi MTBs here

just a quick check, i went for my 1st scan couple of weeks back, my BB is 75mm @ 14 weeks. What's the average size? My gynae says it's normal..just that i feel the scan not very clear..cant see much oso. Anyone can relate to this?

megan,

u eat those cooked ones every alternate days? u very rich lei. i only eat once a wk as mine have to double boil n each piece is like close to $50 lei. if eat so often, my pockets will have holes ,hoho

carolynn,

mmmm...ok will see if my wallet allows 2times a wk. my mom wants to cook for me 2x a wk but it's hubby paying so will see how la. sometimes i let him eat abit secretly as he loves to eat "por"

haha, after calculating the projected expenses of the things i need to pay for during my pregnancy, delivery, bb arrival, confinement, etc., i've decided i won't spend too much money on stuff like bird's nest. i'll be so BROKE!

re: birdnest
i have been eating those eu ren sen concentrated bottled kind... used to be eating one bottle a month while TCC... each day eat one spoon... now just started in my 2nd trimester, ate 1 bottle per week divide into 2 portion... my hubby heat it up for me... duno will spoil the qualities or not cos he refrigerate after opening...

sometimes, my mum will cook and put into water bottle for me to bring home & i slowly eat for a few days, each time one small bowl...

a lot of postings to read... but pai seh, can only selectively read....

hi millie,

my massage lady is Mdm Naini. She's quite popular in the singaporemotherhood forum. her contact: 94562817. i cant remember when i have called her, u can give her a call first and check with her when we must inform her. even her charges, i cant really remember too..

bird nest
=========
for my #1, i took it almost every week. my mum double-boiled for me. we bought from fu hua. so for #2, will be following this routine again, which will be from my 2nd tri.

Millie,
I have emailed you.
Think you can call them up to ask abt prices 1st and also tell them your EDD.

Dongle,
Think I will be taking those concentrated bird nest too coz easier...had that when I was having my gal too.

krex,

i have not even started to count how much i will spend on baby stuffs yet

gemini,

dr ho's nurse told me not to eat bird nest in case allergy. but i still eat la. dr ho never tell me any food to avoid so i just take everything in moderation

krex78
for detailed scan my gynae say dun have to go so early, ideally 21-23wks. coz go too early some of the baby organs/features may not be so developed yet. dun have to book appt tat early.. no worry if u have not booked. i have not book yet too. he said can wait till 20wk checkup then book.

actually not a must to take birdnest. heard if take must take v frequent (say twice a wk) then bb skin can be v nice. else if take ad hoc kind like not much effect. last time our parents din take birdnest n we turn out ok too.

Alinda,

I prefer boy but girl also ok.. as long as bb is healthy
but i feel my husband wants a boy more than girl.. he always tell me that he will teach bb to play football .. and he always ask me eat more.. n bb can be football star in future.. he is very childish...

hi little twin stars,

dr ho got say leh... no sharkfins, no raw/half- cooked food. for this time round, he tell me no sharkfins, i was quite surprised as for #1, he did not say no sharkfins. i asked him, he say no sharkfins, cos afraid of the high mercury level.

birdnest
=======
oh yah, i got heard, birdnest cant take too much also, afraid that baby will have phlegm. but if i remember correctly, the fu hua lady was saying dun put in too much rock sugar.

wow, this thread is fast!

Birdnest
I thought can only eat from 3rd trimester onwards? Actually, I also lazy to cook myself. Eat those already prepared ones can or not?

Julie, Yuuri

haaaa...sorry abt the misleading ACJ! :p
ACJ=Adrian, Caroline & Joycelyn (names of the 3 gynae) woman's clinic

snow74,
Can used slow cooker for bird nest or double boil it in rice cooker.

chipchip,
I also prefer boy but healthy baby is most impt. Have u heard of the saying " Mummy's boy and Daddy's gal??? I think it's quite true.
Your hubby so cute lei..he's already making plans for the baby!

dongle,
ya, slow cooker no need to keep monitor while cooking lor.
think the way of cooking should not affect the quility alot ya?

Gemini,
i was advised to add in honey rock sugar (shi feng tang) instead lor, more natural and better than sugar.

hi rata,

i have attended it before for my #1.

hi snow,

i think my mum add in cane sugar, the fu hua lady got say, i cant remember cos it's my mum doing the cooking. me only know how to eat only.

gemini,

dr ho never tell me, but my friend ks, send me alot of info on what not to eat, so in a way thank god for my friend

can i ask u, when then dr ho will do the 4d scan with video package? my hubby wants lei

jvenus,

i also thought eat from 5mths onwards but aiya, 2nd tri start la ,hehe

alinda,

not true lei, i like girls. shall wait and see

snow,

ya, i heard of that but honey rock sugar is in a big chunk n alot of work to chip it off. already double boil so much work liao

pre natal class: i'm joining rata at mt a....calling all 1st time moms who wanna join the class cos delivering there.......join us

Hi #1mummies,

When I am 10th week, he alredy say eat what I want to eat, eg birdnest. Yeah, is very exp. But nvm, just to pamper myself.

Less sweet is good for mummy but afraid of fishy so some rock sugar. Anyway, only twice a week and is not a big bowl, so should be ok.

No matter how, cook frm birdnest pcs is always more fresh than bottle type.

<font color="0000ff">twin star</font> &amp; <font color="0000ff">Rata</font>
aiyah i'm going for the TMC antenatal class. Cannot c u all...

Btw, when does your class at Mt.A starts ar?
for me i just told them my EDD and I want a weekend class, and they told me to attend the one that starts on 3rd May. I calculated, by then I would be nearly 27weeks. Is it late ar?
But I heard also best not to go too early coz you will forget the lessons by the time give birth.

mulberry, I thot TMC class can start as early as 16weeks dats wat i read when i m deciding on where to go for class. My fren go TMC one also went at 16 weeks like dat. For Mt A classes start at 24weeks, so both twin &amp; I taking 2 May class by then is my 27 weeks coz if take early apr class I am onli 23 weeks.

hi little twin star,

that sweet of your friend. actually, no need dr ho tell me what not to eat, my mum already got a long list for me on what i cant eat.

as for the 4d scan, are you referring to for the detailed scan? sorry, this I cant help u. cos my detailed scan at 20 wks one will need to be done by another gynae at Mt E. not that dr ho is not a pro or the technique to do it, it's that my neruo has requested for it.

<font color="0000ff">Rata</font>
no wor, TMC where got so early. In the website and the brochure, they wrote there: <u>to book</u> when is 20weeks. So logically must be after 20weeks lor, since they ask only to book when on 20weeks.
But coz I want Mrs.Wong's class, so I book early lor.

wah ur fren went when she's 16weeks. She can still remember when she gave birth?

oh so u also will be 27weeks when u attend.
Me (to be exact) will be 26weeks 4days. I hope I will still have energy by then coz it's nearing 3rd trimester liao.

rat, do u know all the avail dates? can't decide w/c one to go for as i'm supposed to go on holiday in apr/may, but tixs not booked yet. if i book already, can change the date?

Mulberry, sorry remember wrongly my fren start her class at 20 weeks lor. To be exact on 2nd May I m 27weeks 3days.

hi 2nd time mummies,
is it true that no matter what, we will be able to produce milk? will there be a case of not producing?

i'm thinking if i want to get a breast pump.

Rata, Twin Stars, Krex &amp; Mulberry,
For 1st time mommies, I will strongly encourage you to attend the anenatal class coz they teach you on the breathing techniques which I think greatly help when you are controlling the pain during birth...I controlled until the nurse ask me whether I want epidural but at that time, I can still tolerate the pain.

Mulberry,
I attended Mrs Wong's class the last time and it was GOOD!

rat, april 1st i'm only 20 weeks. sigh, go earlier or later better? my colleague says go too late can't do some of the exercises. then some of u say go too early can't rem what to do after u give birth.

Re: Anenatal class
i want to attend but not sure where is good... i only read that TMC under Mrs Wong is good but the con is that the class size is very big... what is the class size for Mt A's class?

<font color="0000ff">Rata</font>
actually i think 20weeks also abit early. I think best it like Mt.A i.e. 24weeks.
hmm...maybe coz of my criterias (want weekend class &amp; Mrs.Wong's class), so I was given 3rd May.

<font color="0000ff">M2B</font>
hehe...that's y I so kiasu, I booked for her class last week.
Btw, do u still remember, when u attended ur anenatal class, how weeks were you?

mul,
oh ya, u'll prob go tmc. i called birth n beyond but hey charging $498 si i though forget it, stick to mt a

krex,
i tot of starting earlier too but think a little early to start first wk april, end first wk may. no meh?...

rata,
how, shld go april or may?

m2b,
u mean u went natural with no epi? ya, i heard of mrs wong;s class. but thot if give birth in mt a, go mt a. how big is the class?

dongle,
mta 17 couples a class

gemini,
my friend is also preg with me so she send me alot of info
which dr did u go in mt e for the scan, share share lei
then why u don't use that gynae instead of dr ho?

Anenatal class
===============
ok, this is my personal experience. for #1 mummies, it's gd to go and learn about how the delivery process and the breathing techniques all that. Sister Kang, who conduct the class is good. i have attended for my #1 but hor, when the real action start, i forgotten all about the breathing techniques. it's actually Mt A midwives who telling my hb and me what to do, for eg, telling my hb to massage my back and for me, how to breathe/push. the Mt A midwives/nurses are v encouraging, keep telling me that i can do it...

Rata,
When I 1st attended anenatal class in 2003, I think it was just abt 10-12 couples per class...now so many liao.

Mulberry,
I can't really rbr how many weeks m I when I joined the anenatal class but shd be after 20weeks...true, like what Krex mentioned, if tummy too big liao, might be difficult to do some of the exercises.

Twin Stars,
Hahaha, I was breathing away controlling the pain then nurse asked me whether want epi or not, so I asked her when is the best time for that, she said no right timing 1 but her advice is with epi, mommy can relax and cervix will dilate faster and true enuf, after the epi, I can relax and very fast, bb head down and ready to push liao...heehee

sorry...was caught in a 4 hour meeting that was suppose to be 2hr

twin star..no lah not rich..just tt this pregnancy..i hardly want to eat anything so dun end up spending on exp food anymore..so the bird nest hubby say eat lor if i can at least eat tt..

anyway...i think as long as we eat well, I am sure our bb will be great looking bird nest or not...btw..my fren told me tt if u eat tomatoes..bb will come out with rosy cheeks.. ;)

rat, twinstars, go in june lah. june i definitely can one, heehee. i'll be too tired to go travelling then :p

Krex,
those exercises in the class should be suitable, unless u are really in ur late trimester when ur tummy is too heavy for u to bal ur body lor.
i remember i went to mine during late 2nd tri also leh, no problem lah.

Re: Anenatal class
think the number of couples is about the same in TMC, heard the common grouses in TMC class is that the room very small and thus very squeezy... plus if all tummy big big then very uncomfortable lor...

twin star/rat,
you two joining weekdays or weekend class? me weekend sleep until late late so my choices more limited...