(2008/08) Aug 2008

thanks to all for your kind words... my first day in this thread and i have to receive not so good news, how come so drama???

avocado, thanks for posting the link, it really made me feel better, thanks!

i suppose gynae can advise, but ultimately its still my call whether to do amniocentesis or to do nothing. Anyway i have 2 weeks to think abt it, can't go thru amnio now anyway, still too early. Thanks all, i'll try to stay sane meanwhile... i thought i was blessed to have no MS, maybe this is god's way of telling me not to take things too easy?

oh well, going to surf the net for more info now... gd nite ladies!

Been reading this thread ever since I discovered that I was pregnant but never posted before. Didn't really know what to post as my experience is a little different from most of you since I am living in the UK. I don't have a gynae only saw the midwife at 9 weeks and had my first scan at 13+5. So compared to most of you, I'm pretty much a novice when it comes to this scanning and gynae visits business.
Will be doing all the blood tests at my next midwife's appointment. Can't say I'm looking forward to that though!

But thought I just say something to Joni. At my first meeting with the midwife, the MW told me & my husband what each test meant. She said the results of the DS test was only a risk factor not an actual indication that a baby has DS. The MW advised not to put too much weight on the test result. However she did explain the risks of doing an amnio. My husband and I too have decided no matter what the result is, we are prepared to accept whatever God gives us so we won't be doing the amnio test even if it were offered to us. We prayed so hard for this child, so DS or not the child will still be a precious gift for us.
I was chatting with one of my cousins the other day. She was 38 when she had her son and was considered high risk because of her age. However she refused the amnio because she thought she should just trust God and accept whatever He brings her way. She eventually gave birth to a healthy and bright boy. Similarly her sister gave birth to a healthy girl at the age of 42. So don't worry too much. Keep your spirits up because there is always hope.

Shint, I would like to recommend you dr Tan Hang YAng from Gleneagles for C-sec. He is very good with c-sec and package very reasonable.

Good morning Ladies

Got this infor from the May thread. So remember to jot down on your diary.

Mother & Baby Fair:

21st-23th March 2008
Expo Hall 6A

Takayashimaya Baby Fair:

9th-25th March 2008
Taka Square

Good Morning!

RTCP,
I have been feeling the fluttering movements since Week 13…I’m into my 16 weeks now…hope to be able to tell gender in the next gynae visit on 25th.

Joni,
Dun worry and see what your gynae says when you visit him.

Rata,
Aiyo, I have been eating a lot liao…for me, I must remind myself not to eat too much…hahaha

I dun know how to explain the pain leh, just on off and sometimes quite painful lor…hiaz…you also experienced that?

Mrs N,
Welcome!

<font color="0000ff">joni</font>
like the rest have mentioned, don't worry too much as the test is not 100% accurate.
I have read many cases in the forum (from the other mtb months threads) where the result is false positive in the end.
So stay positive ya.

<font color="0000ff">krmeow</font>
hey thanks for the info!

Today I started to sneeze liao, dunno will flu or not. =(
Ever since my gal saw the scan of the bb inside, she has been insisting to sleep with us every night.
Meaning to say, I dun really have enough sleep every night from then.
Think that is why I started sneezing...

Welcome, Mrs N. =)

Twin star,
First pregnancy I also worried that my gynae mistake finger or umbilical cord for penis so when he tell me boy, i ask can it be finger. Then he look at me like i am so stupid and say there is the scrotum, and somewhere else is finger etc....of course, to me, everything looks a blur. I think the really experienced gynae are very good in telling.

Rata,

what is DS? You mentioned that doc can only tell gender during DS?

krmeow,
thanks for the info on the bb fair...

joni,
think postive and take care...

RTCP,
i think rat meant "detailed scan"...

krex78,
i bought mine from marina square. it's actually opposite dorothy perkins that stretch...

m2b, mine not very painful but juz a sec of pulling feel.

RTCP, yup i refer to detail scan. Dats the time when our baby gender will b very confirm

when do we do detail scan? will gynae tell us when to consider which hosp to deliver and antenatal course to take?

Rat,
I thought by 15wks the gender should be confirmed liao?
Still gotta wait till detail scan ah?

krex,
Think detail scan is around 20wks.
Ur gynae might talk to u about hospital during ur 3rd tri bah....when u can do "pre-booking".

krex78,
snow is correct, detailed scan is ard 20 weeks cos during my 15th week visit, my gynae say will arrange for booking for my detailed scan, she commented 4 weeks from then is my 19th week is not suitable cos not all the organs are fully formed, so push by 1 more week to my 20th week... so far, my longest wait to see my bb again... so sianzzz....

kemeow,
thanks for the info

m2b,
yr next scan so far away,def can tell gender by then

rtcp,
my friends scare me to say there have been alot of mistaken gender es when it comes to boys. that's y i don't dare buy anything yet. my gynae is experienced but think i wait for my next scan on mon to double confirm

snow,
during 2nd trimester our nose will be more sensitive, read it somewhere...as more blood is passing thru or something causing our nose to b sensitive n sneeze or blog. i get that too es in air con room

20 weeks sounds quite far off...prob sometime in march.

haven't had the mood to buy any baby stuff yet, not esp when i haven't even bought much maternity stuff, haha.

anything to get at the bb fair (both expo and taka)?

twin star,
really ah? no wonder, was still thinking how come i still sneeze when i've took that flu jab before lor.
thx for ur info. =)

snow, some can tell gender b4 20 weeks but DS is to confirm the gender.

dongle, i book my DS liao. by then is my 21weeks 5days.

Snow,
I'm also sneezing away this morning...irritating...

my gal makes my day today by telling me "Mommy, I love you" when she woke up...so sweet that my heart can melt man...

Krex,
I think DS can be done from 18 to 21 weeks, I did mine in the 18weeks for my 1st pregnancy and then cfm is a gal that I'm expecting.

Twin Stars,
25th is my gynae visit, if my bb cooperate, hopefully can tell...anyway, for 2nd pregnancy, there arent many things to buy either...heehee

snow,
np, dun worry it will not turn into flu, it;s jus sensitive.

m2b,
ya hor 2nd kid can save more $ n govn will give u more as well

M2B,
ai yo, u take care ah.

at least ur gal still can be so sweet to u, my gal still sleeping when she leave the house this morning.

if 2nd is a gal again, then really can save alot liao lor....hee hee...nothing much to buy liao.

hello Mrs N!
I visit US/UK forums occasionally too! Yah, I realised that here in Singapore, we seem to start seeing gynaes much earlier in comparison to ladies in other countries, perhaps this is why we are often being laughed at for being "kiasu" (chinese dialect for "afraid of losing").

I agree with u 100%, i'm keeping the baby even if he/she turns out to be a Down baby, told my hubby that but he just said not to worry, everything will be fine. Men and their over-optimisim! I've been thinking all night, most likely i won't do amniocentesis, but then again, i had said the same thing to myself about not doing the blood tests and yet eventually i couldn't resist trying out. I think i paid $$ to make myself miserable! But alright, i'll try try try to be positive... going to keep myself busy now so i would stop thinking!

Snow, M2B, talk abt sneezing, i was going to say since i started taking prenatal vitamins and fish-oil i felt healthier and more alert and didn't even catch the flu bug which had been plaguing my office colleagues recently... and then i remember something, shucks i forgot to take my vits this morning! haha... and guess wat, then i sneezed twice! lol!

oh my gf just emailed me, she said she would do the amnio if she were me since the risks of m/c were so low... aiyo, i'm so tempted to change my mind... sorry ladies, to make u read my rantings!

M2B, actually we have a mutual friend, her nick is hong... i used to visit your other thread last time to see how she is doing, and i've also seen your pretty daughter's pics too, she is indeed a dearie!
oh ya, i haven't told hong abt my preggie news yet...

Actually, I was told by a few friends not to go for amnio test. Of course no parents would want to give up their child, even if child is not 100% normal.

But my concern always is....what happens when we are both not around. Both my husband and I not young and it's not fair to burden my other family members right? That is a question we will have to ask ourselves when we come to that stage...which I hope we won't have to.

Joni...I've also read on many other threads that the test is not that accurate and many times, the child is ok, despite what the risk result is. But of oucrse up to you if you sitll intend to go for the test... and yes...stay positive.

just my 2 cents worth...it's not a wise thing to abort if tests show that bb might have DS. what if he/she does not have DS? then u'll be making the biggest mistake of your life! it's a life that u're terminating.

i can never bear to do something like that. a child is a gift from god, so whether he/she turns out normal, i'm sure the child has something to teach us and make us whole. no doubt it will be very draining emotionally and financially, but i think the experience matters most, and the fact that u are responsible enough to take care of your own kid instead of terminating a precious life.

krex,
eh, its a personal decision whether a couple want to abort or not, i dun think anyone else should interfere or attempt to make the couple feel bad... sorry hor, i'm not criticising u, just a gentle reminder to u so that u won't be scolded by others who hold different views... although i feel somewhat the same way as u lah... :p

err...I also not advocating abortion lah...but an amnio test is 100% accurate..so Joni...you must decide if you really want to go for the amnio test lor, esp if let's say you are definitely keeping baby no matter what.

What I was tying to say...and this is also my own personal opinion only and only refer to my case as I am going for amnio test....having a child is forever. If my child will require life long support, both physically, emotionally and financially...then how when both my hubby and I not around? But I still prefer to go for the test...so I can be mentally and emotionally prepared if let's say *touch wood*...it's less than perfect.

But like I said...I'm not going to think about it now and just hope for the best...cross my fingers....

Now must think of happy things...like what to ahve for dinner tonight. hehe!

krmeow,
that's a valid concern too... will my family help me take care of my child if something happens to hubby and i? hmm... i can only hope that if i am willing to shoulder burden for my family, they will be willing to do the same for me too... u know hor, my sis-in-law named my hubby as guardian for her 3 girls in her will, i thot it is soooo inauspicious to talk abt dying, but of cos if something unfortunate were to happen, we will definitely take the girls in, i love the girls! Next time if we were to make our own will, we may do the same for our kid lor. So we do have these sort of arrangements in the family. Only thing is if our kid turns out to be needing special care, dunno if anyone will be willing to be named guardian?? Oh well, i'm sure something can be worked out... gotta have faith, right?

Twin Stars,
Ya, 2nd kid liao so nothing much to buy, plus like what Snow said, if same gender, then lagi save but for me, I gave away all my gal’s clothings liao…

Snow,
My gal needs to wake up for school thus she will normally be up when I leave home…even if same gender, think I’ll need to get some new clothes coz gave away all liao but my colls will be passing me lor.

Joni,
Ya, Hong and I chatted since 2003 when we preggie with our 1st…heehee

I agree w you that it is entirely up to individual/couple on whether to go for the tests and whether to take further action if results are negative.

hi all, just came back from lunch with my friend. had roast duck and brocoli, then ben &amp; jerry's ice cream for dessert. feeling soooo satisfied now! dunno why, i just love meat these days. wonder if my bb will also like all these food that i'm craving for now. not very healthy though!

M2B,
Yeah, 2nd kid liao, I also have nothing to buy, if #2 comfirm a gal, I need not go any shopping at all. so good. Since my #1 and #2 are less than 2yr gag, everything still in good condition, even those hand me down and everything still display in the living room.

For me, if my #2 is a special child, I will not keep. One of my niece is a speical child, she have undergo too many operation that I lost count, it really break my heart to see her so painful yet cannot talk. And also in and out of hospital that everyone in KK know her and call her regular customer

Megan, a fren advised me to take plain crackers when i had heartburn and indigestion, worked like a miracle for me!

a friend just told me that she was test very high risk for NT scan, but in the end the baby is born healthy and now 2 yr old liao.

So I wonder what what all these expensive test all abt? afalse test can make a mother so worried and sad. So I never bother going for all these test. I am only going for my detail scan just like my #1.

me sleepy sleepy also...zzz....

avocado,
ya, especially for those who will keep the bb no matter what....because end up the gynae can't do anything to help after the test result mah. =P

avocado, detail scan can see abnormality also? i also dunno why i went for NT scan. i just took gynae's advice lor. it was more of a fun experience for me coz' i got to see bb move and the images were very sharp. anw, gynae called to say that the scan results were gd and everything's in order.

snow, i think u and i have the same symptoms, haha.

krex,
Yap, of course. Detail scan purpose is not to see gender. During my #1 , the detail scan my bb brain got a cysts, so worried I cry everyday. Then wait for another mth, the cysts disappear liao.

detial scan also count bb got exact 5 fingers and toes, the bb heart got shadow or not. shadow means got hole, hands and legs in the right size, scan the bone, the 2 kidneys working or not etc.... that why take a long time

cheh, then i shldn't have wasted money on the NT scan. i tot it was for different purpose. my hubby and i were also wondering what's the use if we found out that bb has DS during NT scan? we can't do anything to prevent it from now till aug. prob just get us mentally prepared only.

that's quite useful. i already confirmed that my bb has five fingers in at least one hand. he/she waved hi 5 to us and it was captured on the scan printout, haha. very surprised that we can actually see the skeletal structure of the hand.

krex,
i think so, so sleepy u noe?
ha ha...

ya, might as well dunno anything and stay happy thru out the whole preggy lor.
unless u are brave enough to choose not to want an abnormal bb, then knowing early is important.