(2008/08) Aug 2008

krex78,
there is a maternity shop at united square call modern maternity. they have pretty nice dresses that doesn't look like maternity wear. you can have a look there too.

YLN,
ya, my baggi jeans also get abit tight liao.
think must wear maternity wear in a wk or 2 lor.
once i wear skirt or dress, its very obvious le.

Rata,
Have your weight increase? Mine sure does…hope not too much man…

Snow,
I’m ok…*touch wood* no MS and burping seem to get better liao, not so frequent…just when I’m real hungry…but think appetite is too good for my comfort lor…heehee, dun wana gain too much.

Celyn and Snow,
My gal is CONFIRMED a Mommy’s gal.

YLN,
I oso miss wearing my own jeans...sob sob...hope still can fit after birth man...

snow..i think its harmless but i not sure..so tts why wanna check with u guys..actualli i also bought alot of jurlique products cos its 100% natural..then aiya..actualli alot of herbs we must be watchful so now must go home and read and check.

Singapore maternity stuff is very exp..i bought maternity working pants from pumpkin patch during my aus trip for onli 9.99 sigh....but still havent found my perfect skirt yet!

megan
i find it difficult to buy nice skirts too...the maternity ones are not very nice to touch and wear...
M2B
i think i will take a while to be able to fit into my jeans after birth...so sad...

krex78,

d nausea meds which my gynae prescribed is "dimenate". d side effect is tt it wld make me v sleepy.

Hi Snow, celynlee, megan,
Thanks. I have different sets of pills so i was wondering which one to take. Now I know liaoz. Finish one then take the other since it's all the same.

Hi Ratatouille,
Please update for me
Gynae : Adrian Woodworth
Zone : North East
Hospital : TMC

Seems that there are 4 other mommies under him as well. I was contemplating to go back to him as my #1 was delivered by him (C-section). Since logistically, he is the most convenient, finally decided to go back to see him.

yln,
yah, maternity clothes are very ex and not nice to touch. so i prefer to wear dress instead of pants. although i think i do need some pants cos office is super cold.

Fitbaby, Krmeow,
haha, I thought I was the oldest, Then, I shan't keep my age a secret either .... cos i also vv old. I paiseh.

Errr ... let me see, considered 37+++++? This year I will turn 38 liao .... but when baby is out, I am still 37+++++. kekekeke.

It's ok to be old - still strong and healthy to have a baby eh? Congrats.

Do take extra care ok? Rest alot, don't carry heavy things, leave the unnecessary things to other people. Close one or both eyes where possible .... cos taking care of yours and baby's health is the most important.

Ask for help when necessary.

Hehe. Last pregnancy I even ask people for seats when I was taking the MRT. Now I don't cos I take cab everyday - no choice, bad MS and have to bring son to CC daily.

celyn, is united sq = novena sq? i went to one shop last sat, same floor as the bookshop. sales person there was very pushy and they didn't have my pants size.

YLN, i dun like BYSI clothes. they're starting to look like x'mas tree.

anyone knows if bugis got maternity shops? i want to buy more pants coz' easier to mix and match. i scared buy too many maternity dresses can't wear after pregnancy. the pants i buy quite versatile. i think i can still wear after pregnancy...and they're really comfi.

Nausea
I have 2 different types of nausea pills
1. Dhaperazine (Prochlorperazine 50mg) - 3 times a day, cause drowsiness. Take with or after food.

2. Metoclopramide 10mg - 3 times a day, cause drowsiness. Take 30mins - 1 hours before food.

Prefers the first one cos I never remember to take it half an hour before food. How do I know when I am eating cos I am always puking and getting hungry after i puke.

Still puking 3-5 times per day. Yuks!
Hope it improves.
Wed is my 12th week and going for my OSCAR test at TMC. Anyone there?

Krex,
Where do u buy your versatile pants? Me looking for those low waist maternity kind. When the stomach gets too big, still can wear kind.

Me looking for bottoms too.
For tops, I bought alot of those korean style kind which is big and can wear after pregnancy.

krex78,
no. novena sq and united square is not the same. you can walk to united square using the underpass at novena mrt.

the maternity dress that i bought look like normal dress that i wear when i'm not pregnant. so after giving birth, i will still be able to wear them. then not so wasted.

i also don't like BYSI clothes. never buy from them at all.

4 maternity wear, i bought mine fr blooming chic which is located at delfi orchard, 2nd level. if u gals r buying anything fr thr, can let me noe. coz i gt d vip card. can get 15% d/c 4 their hse brand & 5% d/c 4 d other brands.

shint, i bought the pants at cloud 9 at suntec. the material very nice, almost as smooth as silk. the waist is the expandable kind. no buttons. just fold down when your stomach gets big. so comfi! i prefer those to the extend buttons kind. now they're having 15% sale. yup, still seeing dr adrian. u?

celyn, do they have a lot of maternity shops there? if have, i go pop by when i next go TMC, prob for detailed scan in 1-2 mths time.

Happy Lunar to all MTBs... took leave yesterday so today start work aledi...

M2b,
your princess is such a dear...

Re:Weight gain
i have gained 1kg from pre-pregnancy weight, lost a bit in btw and now gained back... i realised all the weight has gone to my tummy and thighs...

YLN,
I was able to fit into my own jeans within 1st month of my 1st birth but judging from how I’m eating now, I doubt this time rd I can liao…hiaz

Snow,
Hopefully what I eat goes to bb and not on my bum, thighs, arms and face man..sob sob

Shint,

im also goin for my OScars test tmr!
hehehe.. Will know the results in the afternoon right?

Also, my gut feeling tells me its a boy..xianz..haha.. well, boy or girl i will equally love too.

celyn, i tot there were more...but anyway, haven't been there for very long, so dunno what's it like now.

i think tampines would have...the building beside tampines mall...is it tampines plaza? i rem seeing a lot of maternity shops there last time.

I suddenly have been putting on weight! Last month lost 2kg, now put back and even more already! The wierdest part is I eat less than pre-pregnancy time leh.

Panicked last week cos after hiding at home for some time, realised I can't fit into a lot of my old bottoms. So we went maternity clothes shopping. Vivo got a few nice shops.

Mini,

Shd be able to handle 2 boys lah...I think boy or gal also can be super active depending on character.

If i wear office clothes, dun look preggy. But during CNY, i went to buy dresses thinking that loose fit will mask my pregnancy. In the end, i think i look 5 mths pregnant cos the dress so big and even if not pregnant will look pregnant.

Anyway, yesterday i keep trying to lie down and feel baby move but didnt feel anything...am a bit worried and hope this sat gynae check will be good.

Bleeding nose and gums
Its quite common for pregnant women to have bleedng nose and gums. It becomes more sensitive.

Ratatouille, there's this one at the ground floor called Egg - that one is very exp, but the styles are nice. Each piece is >$100 gamme a shock. Then there are a few more on the 2nd floor - this one called Maternity House, price is reasonable. Another few more ang-mo style, yeah, quite exp. As Vivo is the 1st place I go look for these clothes, I am thinking all maternity clothes are this exp!

So far I gain 2kg (from 44kg to 46kg). Into my 14weeks in 2 days time. I start wearing Maternity pants duing 12weeks as I can adjust the waist after having lunch and dinner.

avocado, do u wear those with many buttons for u to adjust? doesn't the pants look scrunched up from behind?

Yeah I wore those. I bought it during my first preggy and the size was S, so just right. Dun buy those free size. Although free size can wear till birth, but after birth cannot wear liao.

i can't decide whether to get S or M. my usual size is S, but some of the clothes seem quite small for S. scared later i expand i'll need an M.

Snow,
I'm thinking of hitting the gym during lunch time for some stationery cycling lor...maybe shd start asap liao...before the fats get lost forever...heehee

krex,
I still have a lot of space for size S. think can last till 5mth like that, then I can wear other cloths I bought last time. I think still can spent $ for 1st preggy unless u plan to stop at one kid only. I dun dare to spent any $ for this preggy cos closing shop liao, lucky my Maternity cloths I bought in yr2006 still fashion. I spent abt $300 total. wow pian, so now everyday wear.

Rata, Megan, M2B, Snow74, krmeow and Shint:

Thank you all for all the encouragement and good wishes

I'm not going to dwell on the past. Look forward to have this precious in August. My husband and I actually gave up trying for two years and planned to adopt. But, after long consideration on the pros and cons, we decided to give it a last shot and voila here I am sharing my joy with you all

krmeow and shint, do you plan to do omnio? My gynae said it seems not necessary and a bit risky. He was able to detect the nasal bone and the neck thickness is in good range.

Did my oscar (12 weeks preggie) and would like to share the result:

Maternal age: 38 years
Maternal age-related risk for Trisomy 21= 1:116
Adjusted risk for Trisomy 21= 1:1277

Maternal age-related risk for Trisomy 13/18= 1:203
Adjusted risk for Trisomy 13/18= 1:4042

Yet, to show this result to my gynae. But, looks good to me.

Megan, your EDD is 14 or 11? Mine is 11. Love to share the same birthday with your child

fitbaby (fitbaby) ,
The result is 90% accuarte, if it is good, therer is no need to do omnio. I have a friend who do it and lost the baby after 2 days.

long time haven't post here. Firstly wish you all a happy chinese new year! Gong xi, gong xi!
I am back in KL for CNY. suppose to come back Singapore today but am sick thus will be staying here for few more days.

This CNY is really a bad one for me. Firstly I fell sick 2 days before CNY
. Had fever, sore throat, cold and cough. I haven't been sick in such a long time, just my luck to get sick during CNY. and now being preggie, it takes such a loooong time to recover. Usually when i get sick, it takes me 2-3days to recover. Now it takes nearly more than 1 week liao!

Then on the 3rd day of CNY, I had a big scare! when i went to toilet, I suddenly saw a very BIG patch of dark brown stain on my panty. Me n hubby immediately went to a hospital. The gynae did a scan and luckily baby is fine, was even waving his/her hands at us. The gynae said since it's dark brown stain, it's just old blood, thus no need to worry much.
From the scan, he said the reason could be that a small part of my placenta still haven't move up and it very very near my cervix. Thus, when the uterus is expanding, it may have cause some old blood to come out.
Good thing is most of my placenta have already moved up and it's just left that small part. He said by week 18 it should all go up and everything should be more stable then.
So for now, he ask me to rest more and don't do anything strenuous.
I'm now currently week 15. Hopefully my whole placenta will move up very soon.

Krex,
Yes, I just went back to him recently. Saw him for my last pregnancy but was thinking of changing to another one but due to the convenience of his clinic and his stiching skills, I've decided to go back to him.

So yes, I am with Dr Adrian, seeing him at SK. You?

NiNi,
U taking your test in the morning I suppose. My appt is at 230 .... so will know only tomorrow. Depends on whether the baby is in position.

NiNi,
i took a plate of raw salmon, about 10 pieces like that then kena scolding from hubby. Think that is the last time I will take. Will take agin after birth. Feel so guilty but cannot resists. I took some shark fins too cos I remember I also take it during my first pregnancy but I suddenly remember not all pregnancy are the same

avovado,

If its fresh, its ok one. Just worried the salmon sashimi not fresh n got bacteria or what. (like the bacteria in the recent Prima deli case)

Sharks fin a small bowl is ok also! i also did. Infact it is high in protein n vitamins. Anyways, its not eating the meat what...

shint, i'm also seeing him at SK. i might change gynae for 2nd pregnancy. his consultations are a bit too fast for me. your first bb was by c-section?

M2B,
ya, i went gym during 2nd tri when i had my 1st gal also.
but this 2nd bb think cannot liao, wait cycle half way vomit then die. =P
if can, go do slight exercise is gd lor.

NiNi,
I had a bowl of sharkfin during cny also..hee hee...1 bowl only lah.