(2008/08) Aug 2008

morning.. am leaving this sunday .. yippie..

re: pram
I think i will have to go with the combi. The Maclaren is above my budget for a 2nd pram. I dont want to spend above $200. Cos it is a 2nd pram afterall. And my main purpose is for the japan trip and maybe use it occasionally if i go out alone until i buy a car seat.

re: parents
my mom helps abit with bernice esp in the mornings so i can eat bfast and shower. She goes off to work arn 11+ and back around 3pm. after that she also has her own things to do. sometimes if i ask her help me watch bernice must depend on her mood. if she is really busy then she will get very frustrated then she will scream at me for not taking care of bernice myself. sometimes very fedup cos she will say things like "if u wanted to have the baby then u should have expected all these".. so far I have only asked her ONCE to help take care of bernice in the night cos it was my hb pub opening and I like cinderalla had to be back by 12am. I dono if it's cos Bernice refuse or is it my mom just have the convenience of "throwing" bernice back to me. I know she loves Bernice alot and she dotes alot on her. . but sometimes I feel, we're so much better off depending on ourselves than have to rely on others. And worse is she dont want to watch her but dont let me drive her out alone in the car seat. so end up.. I'm like imprisoned at home

Morning!!

Yuuri,

I agree with Celyn. Add someone else if that's the case.

Like u can fire a maid, but nt ur MIL or own parents. N u hv to tiam tiam, if nt, they complain u bully them. Away fm them, better for u, happier too.

Yuuri/Krex/Celyn,

Dun feel sad lah. Some ppl juz 把贱看得比较重 especially when they are older. Money = Security.

Cat,

enjoy ur trip!!

pram: is there any place on rental for it?

not sure where u go, but some places hv no lift n escalators, just flight n endless staircase. worry that u all get tired by carrying the pram only....

I guess that's y we hv SAHM gathering to support one another.

YLN,

jiayou!!!

maybe she's teething agn?

I think at this age, they are changing habit, so hv to bear a few nights. I heard that they will be settling to a schedule after a sudden disorganisation, ard 7-8 mth old

hi sylvia,
thats why i want to get a light weight one with a shoulder strap. so far i think the combi one is the lightest.

morning mommies...

i usually drop son at my mom's place and fetch him back daily. how i wish i can be like dongle..to let mom stay with me..(my hubby not comfortable with someone else in the hse, thus no PIL, no maid) ... haiz..sianz...

Cat,
My mom helps to take care of the gals but when I'm at home, I try to do everything myself too...not that my mom complains but I feel she shd be given a chance to rest (imagine daily with the kids)...now hb abroad so we are there every day so Sat and Sun, I will handle the gals myself...at home, mom will help so I brought the gals out whole day instead...haha (excuse for flower-leg mommy?!)...

:)**** NORTHEAST GATHERING @ 10 Apr 2009 (Its a Good Friday Public Holiday) ****
(Location at Compassvale Road (Opp. CompassPoint) approx. 5 mins walk):)

Shall we make it in the afternoon starts about 1400Hrs onwards??

1) April, Denzel and Hubby
2) Mulberry and bb Jasmine
3) Vern and Izzy (Bringing Cupcakes)
4) Reirei and bb Charlotte
5) Happy mummy, hubby and Adel
6) Ling Ling and bb Nandini
7) Celynlee and yu ze
8) Roiv (Ivey), Allivier and Xavier
9) Jen, Hb, Phil & Jean
10) Shint, hubby/maid, bb Kai and #1
11) Shay and bb (KIV)
12) Nini & Braiden (KIV)
13) Hui Chin & BB Falisha (KIV)
14) Hashisan, Misaki, (hubby,Ryo and Maid - will confirm later)

I see the topic is about grandparents being the caregiver.

RE: Our parents / ILs taking care of the grandchildren
I think it really depends on the parents/ILs whether willing or not.

For me, it's v clear. ILs definitely not able to help so it's only my parents. Lucky my parents' time is flexible though they are working. I must say I'm thankful that they helped to take care of the baby. Though I'm taking care mainly in the day, when they're back home, they would "fight" to take care, carry and shoo me away tell me to rest.

I guess this all boils down to mutual understanding. And I think my parents knw what it is like to take care of a baby, having been parents themselves before.

<font color="ff6000">happy_mummy</font>
I think you need to sit down talk to your parents what their expectations of taking care of a baby is like. It's no joke, it's a 24/7 job.

As what dongle said, check w them if they can cope better w a maid. But of course, having said that, even with a maid, the maid won't be able to bao ga liao. She can only just help out, i.e. be assistant. The main caregiving, I stress, the care, concern, tender loving care should still come from your parents.

If they still value their freedom, then I guess the most natural choice would be infantcare, since u mentioned Adel takes to it quite alright.

<font color="ff6000">yuuri</font>
I also give my parents some allowance. Cos my hb and I currently live w them. So must pay for lodgings, food etc. Though my mum alrdy said no need, but I still want to give.

Even next time I move out, I will still give them allowance. Cos will be getting my mum to help take care too.

Hmm... but your ILs still tiam tiam when u offered more $ on top of the extra one that you're alrdy giving, mb it's better to put him in infantcare lo.... It's another 1 yr before Keston goes to childcare.

<font color="ff6000">M2B / dongle</font>
Ya I think our mummies are really wei da. I'm still in the midst of doing the baby's childcare arrangements when I move out of my parents' place.

Since both of you have your babies taken care of by your mums, would like your opinion. I'm thinking of 2 options.

1) From Mon - Fri, every morning fetch bb and maid to my parents' place and bring both back to my home at night. Sat - Sun, bb &amp; maid plus hb &amp; me at my home.

2) From Mon - Thur, both hb &amp; I stay at my parents' place, then Fri night onwards, bring bb and maid back to our own home.

What do you think?

<font color="ff6000">Cat</font>,
Agree with M2B, I will take over when my mum's tired.

But I think your case, is somewhat like mine. Most of the time u're taking care of Bernice, so I guess some times u need a break so u get your mum to help take care a while?

If your mum volunteers, I guess it's gd. Else if u really tired, and if your mum not able to help, maybe can pass to the maid to jagar or put Bernice in her exersaucer to entertain herself?

That's what I do. Now my girl is so addicted to the Baby Einstein DVD, I just put her in the walker and switch on the TV and I go do my things.

Of course, not that long, maybe 10 min.

Guess u need to let them self-entertain, else v tiring on you.

Thanks mummies for your comforting words. I am already very kan kai now...initially was upset, but now I think baby not close to them, I will be much happier. If they want to spend their retirement rotting away at home, so be it. I also don't care :p
Very evil of me, but I'm a scorpio so I always believe in good for good, evil for evil! Haha

My opinion regarding our parents/inlaws taking care of our babies:

If they are willing to help, take it as a bonus. If they are not keen to do it, don't take it too personally. after all they have no obligation. they have done their part on raising us and our siblings last time, so I guess its their time now to enjoy their time as they'd like it.

The best is dont depend on them too much. then you wont be disappointed.

If they have already shown that they cant look after our children full day for any reason, and there's actually budget for it, a good nanny/infant care could be a better choice.
Everybody will be happy.

just my humble opinion.

Lingling: how's Nandini now? udah check and ask 2nd opinion?

Fitbaby: How's Trudy? yup as parents we always want to protect them but it is impossible, especially as they grow up.
I was also like u , last time even worst.Everyting has to be safe clean, good. But I think since I have 2nd child I am more relax hehe.

Happymumy: Celyn idea is a good one, may be can consider that?

YLN: understand how u feel. they will have better sleeping pattern as they grow. take care

M2B: u went for digital perm or normal one? got put pc at Fb ?
I was actually thinking of cutting my hair short yesterday but think and think and think end up I went back home hehehe

Catherine: what about going out by public transport (taxy/ mrt?). u dont need to drive and both of u can go out?

Valnsw: chevelle likes baby einstein ah? its really good. lst time Ryo loves it too even now ,every now and then he still ask me to play it.But Misaki doesnt really likes watch tv leh .. haha..
next time u can intro sesame street when she's bigger. its also good. or brainy baby (this one a bit boring, but if she likes it it's actually very educative)

Val,
We stayed at my parents' pl coz our place is too far from theirs...if your new place is near, I will suggest gg back daily instead.

Hashisan,
Mine is digital perm...did rebonding last Aug so thought for a change. :p

val,
I put bernice in the exersaucer i rather not let my maid take care. thou my maid everytime walk pass will try to catch her attention. she is very irritating, she will purposely walk pass and then try to make bernice call out to her, then she will "ohhh i am here.." just to make herself wanted by bernice. very buay tahan her.

hashisan,
Yes i think i have to resort to public transport soon. But I agree with you that we should take any help as bonus unless you hire a maid with the intention to take care of baby. Thats why I usually just keep quiet when my mom says things that are upsetting cos to me, she's not obligated to take care of bernice. So I just basically cant be bothered with what she say if they are upsetting. Cos i know my mom loves bernice too.

re: maid
wana rant again.. my maid drove me crazy yesterday. we went centrepoint so i was parking the car and i told her to take out the pram first while i reverse else very hard to take out. my mom was carrying bernice who was sleeping. then after i reverse, my maid just stand there looking at the pram and dono to go open the door for her. I had to open the door and my maid just stand there. then i told her say u should go help mom open the door. I was fedup I took the pram and pushed it while she walk behind me. Went to prima and my mom and i were adjusting the table/chair to push the pram and she just like a bloody statue stand there. Super pissed. Told her off again. Went home I told her to boil the broccoli &amp; cauliflower for dinner she tell me she dono how to do it. I say put water and boil u dono how to do ? not asking u to fry, just bloody boil it. End up the veg was over boiled. Super fedup. I told her off, say I hire u it's my duty to ensure u eat well, but you make it as thou u are the boss and we have to cook and serve it to you. 9 bloody months and never take any initiative to learn to even cook simple things. that day hb ask her fry omelette she can say she dono how to fry. Hb say as thou we are her maid, must cook and serve her to eat. really really super angry.

ya wanted too .. but we also lazy to do it.. all the training again .. plus she has 1 plus point and is that she is very timid, so we dont worry alot when we go out. she dont dare to open door for strangers etc. even my cousin whom came w/o informing can ring the doorbell for like half hour she also wont open door. hahaha.

Cat:

yup, thats what i thot too...maybe prob does not lie w transfer maid herself. work for me quite easy, just house work n jarga baby. no cooking at all...unless her own food la. jarga meaning help me watch bb while i working. cos is family business, i can bring bb but need someone to look after when busy. mainly, i will still take care. still of course i dont want pyscho maid! aiya, hubby think transfer means got prob, i tell him what if its the employer that got prob??

o well, will be checking out the agencies soon.

rata:
thks for ur offer, i went to see the haenim one too. think i prefer the veebee, sides r soft. dunno y my girl like to bang her head on stuff. v suay one, i cover almost the whole living room floor, she will crawl find some uncovered spot n fall down! or even on the mat, she will fall face first onto some hard plastic toy n start wailing...at least w the veebee hit the panels not too pain.

regarding taking care of bb:

my mum is v helpful, whenever i need some time off i can leave bb w her. no complaints, think she v happy to look after. my mum v innovative one, last time when just give birth, she will come over almost everyday help me bath bb n generally help out to make things easier for me. when she come in the morning she will come into the room n take bb outside to play n let me sleep more.

once, when i woke up, i couldn't find my mum n bb. i thot they went outside for a walk. when i call her handphne, she say she got things to do, cannot wait, so she took bb out w her. sounds ok right...but her car don't have bb seat! i ask how she carry n drive?? guess what! she took a piece of sarong n tied bb to her n drive!!! wah! hehehe. my mum rocks! i know quite dangerous la...but haiya..what to do. now my car seat is also bai swee most of the time unless i need to go out alone. i think we have all the best intentions, but in the end i break all my own rules. :p

sigh, but now my mum go US for hol for 2 weeks, so this 2 weeks im trapped. realised cannot do anything w bb. so thats y have decided to get maid. if not everytime my mum not available i become stuck. i absolutely hate to drive w bb alone, i rather take bus/taxi...which means no stroller, so also quite tiring, carry bb in carrier, handbag, bb stuff, then if go out got barang barang carry, by the time i come home all shack out! so i rather stay home unless short trip only.

like i need to go for 1 full day course also cannot, have to wait for mum to come back. unless hb take leave, but he also busy now...so im trapped! SAHM mums i salute u! eventhough i was sorta SAHM for a while, usually i cannot ta-han n will take bus go find my mum most times. i cannot stay home alone w bb too long. esp now she start crawling n pulling herself up, everytime i need to get something i have to run n come back quickly. wanna pang sai also gotta time with her nap!

lucky in laws need to work, so want to take care also cannot.

wah, bb timing so zhun, wake up liao!

cat,
but hor, her minus points seems to exceed the plus point lor... my grandma the utlimate de, she trained her maid till v guai i think... according to my cousin, she never let my maid hve free time. the maid will bao cook, wash, clean, bathe my ah gong who is immobile.

sam,
ya i think my maid is quite jialat.. untrainable. or more like refuse to learn. today my mom complain again that the kitchen stainless steel wall got scrathes.. sigh .. very stressed out. we went hse viewing last weekend, told my mom if we move to a bigger hse the maid has to go. cos my hse size she already takes so long. if bigger hse means worse. sigh .. my maid has her plus points la, she's good with kids. think she went wrong household to work lo

m2b, u did ur digital perm at kimage? I used to perm dat too but think i will not ve the time to style my hair so better to keep it striaght sia.

gayle, is ok np

Mummies, anyone keen to take up the extra 2 panels of haemin playyard?

<font color="ff6000">M2B</font>
My new home will be 1 MRT stop away fr my parents' place. I brought up the arrangement of fetching bb and maid home everyday but my mum's worried that I might be tired doing the ferrying every day.

I prob will ferry everyday and see how it goes. If really too tiring, might consider the Mon-Thur stay at my parents' place.

<font color="ff6000">gayle</font>
High 5! I think your mum rocks! My parents can be quite innovative at times too, surprising me. So I just go along with it, let them be. hehe
Ya agree w u that sometimes the time i need to go toilet do big biz, needs to co-ordinate w my bb's nap time. Else urgent, no choice, I put her in the cot let her play w herself.

So far, she guai guai stay inside and nvr make much noise til I come outa the toilet.

If you're doing your family business, I guess your time can be flexible, so at least you shd hv no worries on that.

Haha, next time u pop by your ILs, can sms me. Haven't seen Evie for a while ;)

<font color="ff6000">Cat</font>
Your maid is really jialat. If u're willing to close one eye, then I guess her plus points can cover her bad points. But seems that u getting pek chek w her alrdy... I think either u discipline her else u need to change maid.

<font color="ff6000">hashishan</font>
Ya I like Sesame Street too. Think the local kids TV channel has that. My gal only likes the Baby Noah DVD, the others she doesn't seem to like. So we keep playing that DVD. haha

morning mummies..

fotos..okie will try to load but dunno how...see if I can post at facebook tmr..cos tdy start school...sianzzz....somemore hv to pack right cos moving in 2 weeks..

2ndly maid..even though i hv a maid..my maid never touch the kids..at most rock the rocker..cos i cannot handle hving the maid to touch my kids no matter how busy I am..so my mom who helps me look after the boy will do everything with the baby, maid just do housework...

3rdly..infant care..i put my daughter in infantcare when she was 2mths old..it was good but she fell sick easily..somemore no bf..so immunity not so strong but i din hv to rely on "begging" ppl to take care..which is very tiring by itself! Happy mummy, may i suggest u do half-time infant care..make arrangements say adel go infant care either all mornings or 3 day a week...i would suggest tt infant care is ur base plan...

5th..stroller....Cat...before my macau trip..my galfren and i went to tai sing to get this lightweight combi stroller, very light 3.6kg..very good..$198

anyway...keep our chin up lah...everyday have enough worries of its own...

hashisan
Thanks for asking
did ultrasound for bb.. her kidney n bladder is ok.. but seem the kidney doesnt acidify the urine that's y the blood bcome acidic.. now PD gave her alkali sol to take.. taste very awful n he said dont diluted n dont give with the milk.. Poor bb .. everytime she has that, she looks like she wants to puke like that..

We r asking 2nd opinion.. Hb will give the PD a call today..

Valnsw
bb einstein is good uh ? can entertain the bb... need 2 get 1 for my bb :p I only hv brainy bb so far.. n bb likes the music one

megan,
ya i think i will go taising tomorrow. unless the rain stop later.

linx/val,
i personally think baby einstein very cheap production. hahaha. hand puppets, toys rolling here there. hahaha. i dont play often for bernice. rather i select what is on disney playgroup or baby tv, chinese flashcards DVD or else i play the "your baby can read" DVD

Cat
Did bernice enjoy the bb can read ? cos am thinking to get that one oso :p
BB einstein : now they have Disney version too... anybody familiar with this ?

catherine
wah..ur maid like dat..no wonder u so angry..but u quite good liao..can 忍so long...if for me, i would change liao..even if she good with kids...cuz once i cannot tahan her presence, i find it hard to live and commuicate with her..like my maid #1..got to a point i cannot stand seeing her...had to change her...

linx,
yes i think she prefers the bb can read to baby einstein. we've been letting her watch/listen bb can read since 3mths. sometimes we just leave it on and let her listen, only now that she older than we make her sit down to watch it.

YLN,
yes she is very jialat. but today she much better she said to me that she cook chicken tonite i said ok. then just now bb was watching the tv in her exersaucer and she was standing behind, i asked her why u stand there, she say cos when bb cant see her she cry. so i asked her then should i go out and let u look after since u think she dont see you she will cry ?

Rata,
I went to my usual salon Papilio for perm and rebond...standard $150 for perm and $120 for rebond.
Its quite easy to maintain leh...wash and apply the cream, twist and leave to dry...so far so good.

Cat,
I let Mae watch the Baby Can Read too...but only on weekends when I'm ard coz my #1 and nephew not trustworthy 1...say will on for meimei but end up watch their own channel instead...hahaha

Valnsw,
If 1 MRT stop away, then can try to fetch daily then if tired, can always sleep over on certain days.

Vern, Yup got mine fr Cheong Choon is BN onli sat delivered to me. Coz hor i was told by my mat seller dat my mat size need 8 panels so i bought 2 sets but realise is far too big onli need 6panels. think mostly juz need 6panels. So now i m stuck wif 2 panels extra (1 door panel &amp; 1 plain empty panel) u keen to take up then u buy fr Cc 1 set to make it 1.5sets coz 1 set is way too small.

m2b, i dunno lei i usually take quite long to style it hahahaha mayb i dunno how to do it rite.

re:mum as caregiver
actually it was my HB who suggested that my mum stays over on weekdays so that she can help out during my confinement...after that, my HB never say anything so she continue lor.... luckily my house is quite "vertical" so we can have our privacy... anw, we stayed alone for quite some time b4 having a bb so im not used to having others at home... somemore my mum like to nag that i got a lot of clothes, shoes and bags... i think i more paranoid to have her stay over than HB cos i was telling HB that i stayed at her house 20+ years aledi lei... keke... so far, quite ok la, no major disagreement...

val,
if i were you, i would go home everyday with maid &amp; baby...

cat,
my maid oso like to walk here walk there to catch cayla's attention... so funny hor... they got nothing better to do...

M2B / Cat,

Is this what you're referring to: http://www.yourbabycanread.com/

Where did u get yours? I want to cultivate good reading habits for baby.

My mum suggested reading a bedtime story to baby every night. I was thinking of that but then my baby will cry loud to signal she wants to sleep or she will fidget around alot before sleeping. How to even make her lie still while I read bedtime story to her?

Maybe reading bedtime story should come in later when she's after 1 y.o.??

i have a serious bout of UTI. sharks.. bleeding and very painful. went to see doc this morning and hopefully it will clear by tonight. i rembr one mommy here also prone to UIT.

cat &amp; celyn,
haha.. ya, zoo again. we spent couple of hours there and only covered 25% of the place. i think hb wants to make his money worthwhile. i really wanna faint liao..
it was so hot my poor anna kept "screaming". she only managed to doze off half an hour before we left the zoo.

celyn,
wow, you can tahan the heat ah.. i can't le.. my hb cant take cold in the past. now? i train him liao. and he sometimes need the fan and air-con!! i say he xiao la..

agree with you that it's easier to pay the money and get professionals to get things done. hehe.. at least, i know i can complain if anything goes wrong.

Re Puree,
heh, i gave anna her first sweet potato yday. bot the jap that one mommy recommended.. sorry i can't rembr who liao.. so sorry.. and she loved it after the first mouth. kept figeting for more. but i'm wondering if sweet potato cause wind?

Shint,
does kai like the sweet potato? =)

happy mummy,
hmm... maybe you can try putting adel at the centre for 3 days a week while your parents can take him 2 days a week since adel seems ok with the centre teachers, like what megan said. this way, your parents still get their free time. if not, celyn's idea is good too. my fren leaves her son with her parents but they will help bring him to infantcare for 6 hours/day for 3 days/week. quite good arrangement but parents will need a car.

my pil are old while my parents are both working plus we both preferred that our gals get the social bonding with people so we put them at the centres. pros and cons lah.. depends on what contraints and needs we have. heh, i dont get a "me" time at all, only once in awhile when i'm sick. haha.. then my mom will come help me if she's not working. i'm lucky cos my mom ok with anything, even if she's working on night shift.

cat,
consider the graco citi stroller cos it's really light and easy to use. plus the handle can be adjusted up and down, and the basket space is not small. robinsons having sale on this and cost 199 or 179 for members.. cant remember. ^^ and enjoy your trip!!!

eh, why dont you consider changing your maid? she like not willing to learn anything at all. althou the part where she's timid and dare not open the door for your cousin is quite funny.

you moving hse ah?

gayle,
wow, i think your mom rocks too. can drive and very independent. my mom willing to do anything but cannot drive although she has a license from 20years ago. haha.. once i had to attend 3 hours training session during my maternity leave. she came with me and took care of both ashley and anna while i away. she'll let ashley sleep in the pram and carry anna to sleep in the baby pouch. go toilet also bring both along. i think i also want to salute my mom.

sam,
ha, i get it every 30-32 days!!!

yes to Megan again.. let's keep our chins up. it's nice to talk at this thread and know that everyone has her own set of problems.

SAHM Meet Up
Day: tomorrow! 10 mar
Time: 3pm
Venue: any suggestions???
interested:
1. timminbuzz (tues/fri: indoor/outdoor)
2. fitbaby (tues/fri: indoor/outdoor)
3. catherine (tues: indoor/outdoor)
4. nini (tues/fri: indoor/outdoo)
5. happie (tues/fri: indoor/outdoor)
6. Sylvia ( fri: indoor/outdoor, tues will join after my appt)
7. Linx (actually wanna say Fri :p but understand Bernice got class so tue/Fri; Indoor/Outdoor )
8.hashisan (can only join if its 1-3pm only when my #1 goes to school)
9) Happy mummy (Friday late afternoon)

giraffe
it's me! always kena UTI!!! i'm super scared of it! quick take ur antibiotics! should clear by the 2nd pill. n drink LOADS and LOADS of water! even if it's painful to go toilet...cos it's the way ur body flush out bacteria.

mummygiraffe: really hope u recover soon.I had it few yrs ago and it was really painful
the doc gives u antibiotic? is it ok since u are still breastfeeding?
can try take cranberry juice to speed up recovery.

Misaki also likes sweet potatoes, but I usually will mix it with her cereal. yes I heard it will cause wind, but so far she's ok with it.

was it you who said takashimaya member got free/discount price for zoo? how to apply ah?

valnsw: if she doesnt show interest its ok, my son was like that when he was a baby.i fact he was only interested in chewing the books.only when he was around 1yr old then he is interested. now he lovesss books so much, before afternoon nap/ nite time he will ask us to read for him.
just keep showing her the pics from the book. those pop up books, touch and feel books and those made of cloths are good for a start.

catz: as mummy giraffe said, can also consider graco edt.its quite good, and light.
which airways u take? got direct flt to hokkaido?

hiya, my menses came back today liao. suspected it would happen soon cos i started ovulating last week. feels strange to have it back again after more than 1 yr of no bleeding (except during delivery). btw, will it affect my milk ss?

Rata,
maybe I'm those lazy type thus shui bian will do...hahaha

Valnsw,
It is a set of 5 VCDs that I got when during my #1 time...really make the $ worth man...until now #2 still can use. Hahaha

I do read to Mae every night...I borrowed books from library or just read her my #1 books...hahaha

Giraffe

Just as you said,hope Cheril will grow fast... Dietician just said to try giving her more varieties and increase her milk powder by a quarter scoop for her every feed.. I so scared she will get constipation. Last few days already getting some sign of hard stool liao...
So today, tried giving her fresh pureed pear, hope it works for her..

krex78,
how you know you ovulating? for me, the first day supply dropped, after tat, its per norm...

tim,
so its normal to have irregular menses while bf?