(2008/08) Aug 2008

Hewchen / Jo ,
We have same gynae!!!! How do think of WK Tan? I think she is quite good, just that waiting time is long if you take the afternoon session. The nurse advised me to get the first few appointment so everytimes it will only takes me about half to one hour at most in total.

My son was delivered by her as well. I like her as I think she is that type of doctor who very patient and conservative. She dun encourage us to induce the baby, to go for C-sect and to take epidural. I asked for induce last time and kena scolded!!! A lot of doctors like to induce patient and encourage c-sect as they less hastle and can earn more money but WK encouraged me to go natural as she said if can just go natural unless situation not permitted.

I ask her why some ladies take so long in her room but mine so fast and I waited so long outside. She said I should be glad that I can have fast consultation coz that means the baby is healhty and no complication. and she ask me if I want to stay longer in her room and of course I answer NOPE!! Oh ya, do you know she is also Zoe Tay's gynae!!!

M2B,
I am 12weeks and my NT test must be done next week and all appt are already book. The nurse told me to jump queue and expected to wait 3hrs. OMG, so I very sian upon hearing that. If over 13weeks the test not so accurate liao.

Heard we can look at our first child nipple to guess the sex of our #2, anyone try be4?

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Mummy</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>Zone</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>BB#</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>EDD </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Shay</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Dr Heng</TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>31-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Ratatouille</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Clifton Chan</TD><TD>Mt A/ TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>31-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Dongle</TD><TD></TD><TD>North East</TD><TD>Dr Ang Huai Yan </TD><TD>Glen / Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Agnes</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>YLN</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Chumint</TD><TD></TD><TD>North </TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Twin Star</TD><TD></TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>2-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>M2b</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Lee Wei Hong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>3-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Peppermintt</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>4-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Shinning</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr LN Sim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>4-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Cutie</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>5-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Mulberry</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>5-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Yi Lin</TD><TD>24</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr CH Koh</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>8-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>June</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Kee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Mini</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Dr Loke Kah Leong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Crazy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Soong </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Celynlee</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>North East</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Thum</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Happy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Chan Kon Hon</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Earnestmum</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>North East</TD><TD>Dr Ang Huai Yan </TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>12-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Bobianah</TD><TD>35</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>12-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Krex</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>North East</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD>Mt A/ TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Val</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Tan Hak Koon</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Gemini</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>North East</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Lindsay</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>North East</TD><TD>Dr Kowa</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Gayle</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Megan</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>East</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Hug</TD><TD></TD><TD>North East</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Avocado </TD><TD>30</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Anne</TD><TD></TD><TD>South</TD><TD>Dr Chan Kon Hon</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>3</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mid Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Emma</TD><TD></TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Dr LN Sim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>16-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>BrieBaby</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>Dr Bernadette Y Soong </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>16-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>RTCP</TD><TD></TD><TD>Central</TD><TD>Dr KW Lee</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>17-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Jo</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>North East</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>18-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Timminbuzz</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>18-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Yuuri</TD><TD></TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD>TMC / Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>HuiChin</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>East</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>Snow</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>South</TD><TD>Dr Gordon Lim</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>20-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Happymum</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>North</TD><TD>AP Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>21-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>Hashisan</TD><TD></TD><TD>North East</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>22-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>Shenny</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Ho KK</TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>22-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>Stephie</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>North East</TD><TD>Dr Ann Tan</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>23-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>Cat</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>North East</TD><TD>Dr WL Choo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>24-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>Krmeow</TD><TD></TD><TD>North</TD><TD>Dr John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>45</TD><TD>Munky</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>QiQi</TD><TD></TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>47</TD><TD>Hewchen</TD><TD>34</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>48</TD><TD>Kiki</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>North East</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>49</TD><TD>Shint</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>31-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi ManU,

WK Tan always says "get fat easily" now i'm influenced by her too. Keep thinking of not to consume too much or weight too much during pregnancy.

WK Tan was a very experienced gynae (quite old too)! kekekee... But my frd over @May's thread had a very bad experience w her and fired her after seeing her for two weeks... her username is light2spark(sparks) So I guess, doctor's are humans too and they too make errors just how much we can accomodate their mistakes only... But as far as if it's concerning our bb... then i will not accept any misjudgement nor mistakes. Do u agree?

Haiz, luckily I'm able to discharge today... pestering gynae for abt a day liao... now sleepless! Aiyo... how le... CNY round the corner, approaching fast!

gd morning ladies!

hope everyone's feeling fine today..im not feeling too good...after my MC for cough and sore throat, now, im down with flu...sigh...no point for me to see dr..cuz she won't give me medication,..so must hang in there till end of day...might take the panadol flu later..

dont take citrus fruits 1st in cause it aggitate yr throat. take manuka honey if can. check with yr gynae abtmanuka honey. else juz take normal gd honey. zzzzzzzz more for flu

I have been following this thread for sometime but it's my first time posting msg.
I'm 12 weeks pregnant alr and I just did my NT scan yesterday. I'm a super unlucky mummy cos I just got my chickenpox when I'm 9 weeks. I hope this will not have any effects on my baby and I can only hope for the best.
My details is as follows but I haven't decided my gynae yet.

Zone: North
Gynae: Dr. Anna/ Mary Rauff
Hospital: NUH
BB#: 1
EDD:12-Aug-08

Welcome Gladys.
Did u check with ur gynae if ur chickenpox will affect ur bb?
At least now u should be recovered liao right?

Hi Snow,
i have recovered. Based on my NT scan yesterday, the baby looks normal. I will need close monitoring but my gynae said that scans can only check the baby's limbs, organ development but can't tell whether the chickenpox affected the brain or cause scarring on my baby's body. That happens to 1-2% of pregnant mothers at their early pregnancy. So I can only hope that my baby's brain develop ok and he/she will have no scars on body at birth.

Gladys,
Then dun worry 1st, that is something not within ur ctrl lor.
Ur bb will worry also if the mummy worry.
Think now there is nothing much u can do but try to eat healthy meals bah.
Btw, u have any ms? =P

Snow,
Ya lor, I have to try think positively. That's what my colleague always remind me to do. I don't have any ms but i can feel quite bloated after meals. I was like very hungry before meals and maybe i eat too much becos of that, i feel bloated after that. So now, i try not to eat too much, but jus right.
do u all feel this way?

Gladys,
Then u are lucky liao lor, because some of us feel nausea till now.
I'm going into 2nd tri next wk, but now still can vomit on and off.
That is why...think of the good of ur preggy, dun worry too much on the unknown. =)

U are definitely right, eat several small meals.

no worries gladys...my gal fren had chixpox but bb was alright

just did oscar yday at TMC...i also din had appointment and though they say wait 2-3hrs...effectively about 1hr okie liao...most importantli ur bb must cooperate and turn at the right direction for the radiographer to take measurements..

BB is now 12 weeks 4 days and measured 6cm..

Snow,
Thank you. Right, I will try not to worry. My colleague said my moods will affect the baby so I will try to stay happy. You all too, must always stay happy.

Megan,
does your friend get chickenpox at first trimester like me too? Yesterday, I went for NT scan, the sonographer also can't get what she wants as baby did not move into right position. She then asks me to go for 15mins walk and then go back scan again. Luckily the 2nd scan, she finally took the measurements she wants.

I was told NT is more accurate during 11-13 weeks. at 14week and above still can test but not so accurate liao

I guess most of us are around the time for OSCAR
I just went today and it was over in slightly over an hour
But becos of CNY holidays, I will only get my results after 2wks. *sigh* I still have MS. But worst thing I hate is my face, the nose and mouth area, red red... so ugly.

Anyways... Have anyone heard that if we give birth in a private hospital, if ever our child needs hospitalisation in the future *touch wood*, we won't qualify for govt subsidies in govt hospitals? As in, even if we go to govt hospital for treatment, we can only opt for the more expensive wards?

My gynea said she only deliver in TMC, and I'm pleased with her so far, but becos of this thing I heard from my friend whose 1st born was in this situation, his advise was for us to deliver in a govt hospital instead. So now I dunno what to do. If I go on with my current gynea, but go to a govt hospital for delivery, means I don't buy any package and also I won't get to choose my gynea at delivery is it?

Sorry for the long post.

I think I read someone asking whether we book confinement lady already? I haven't. Wanted to book my friend's CL, but she booked ald. Now haven't decided what to do, where to find yet.

This mrng my Boss juz asked me not to enter his room b'cos his kids are having Chicken Pox too... Oh... I've never ganna before ley..so scared that I ganna and then pass it to my BB inside and my daughter... Hope i'm not the Suay 1 bah...

YiLin, if you kenna chickpox got 2wk incubation period, so try to stay clear of your boss as much as possible.

BrieBaby,
Huh? Got such thing meh?
My 1st gal was born in GlenE, but I was given a choice to the ward when she admitted in NUH leh.

Oh ya, regarding CL.
Anyone know abt this new custom law that M'sian CL can only get 12 days of stay in S'pore per entry?
Unless we apply work permit for them to stay 1 mth?
Got such thing?

Yi Lin,
Stay away from ur boss, and make sure ur body is not heaty.

Snow74, don't get cheated by yr CL. Nowadays, M'sians get 30days per social visit. If yr CL mentioned abt this 12days stay... she's out to cheat u. So be careful...

Govt/Pte Hospital - I dunno lor. My friend his 1st son cannot downgrade room in govt hospital becos he was born in TMC - that's what he say lor. I asked my gynea, she oso cannot confirm true or not. Think I have to call some govt hospital to confirm before my gynea ask me wanna get package anot, when do they usually ask ar?

Snow74,
When I engaged my CL from Bliss.... she stay throughout my 28days confinement period &amp; no need work permit...

Hi BrieBaby,

I've engaged my CL from Bliss Confinement during my first confinement and I'm still engaging their services for my second baby. I'm glad they are still maintaining their good reputation and had seen lots of very good testimonials of their CL.

You may go to their website www.blissconfinement.page.tl to check out for more details...

Man U,

How much wt have u gained already?

I have been asking my boy whether mummy's tummy got didi or mei mei and he has consistently said Didi....actually, altho i already have a boy, i still wan another boy!

Salty things
Yah, I also have potato chips craving and very salty things. Same as first pregnancy.

HewChen,
Really so bad ah?
I was told by a friend, so just ask around if its real lor.
Think it only started this yr.
Thx for ur info. =)
So, ur CL from Bliss is also a M'sian?

Yi Lin,
Ya, heaty body tend to ganna chickenpox easier.
I also dunno why.
I remember I used to sleep next to my sis who had chickenpox, but I'm totally not affected.
So if ur body is heaty now, better stay far away from ur boss.

RTCP,
U reminded me something very funny.
I was asking my gal if she wanted a di di or mei mei last night, she replied me twice that its a mei mei inside.
The funny part is, she insisted the bb name must be "mei mei"....ha ha....

Yes, Snow74...she's also a M'sian Bliss Confinement agency did advise me before, all M'sian 'used to' have only 12days permit but since then it has been abolished till now (abt >2yrs already) and I still heard mummies talking abt their CL gng back to get the custom chop after 12days....???!!!! Perhaps, their CL is trying to get a 'breather' so, they use this as an excuse...

Chicken pox - pregnant cannot take too cooling stuff too, so best is avoid boss and the pple who go near him a lot.

Cravings - I don't have anything specific yet, although I prefer if they are saltier or more sour. I last time cannot take chilli, now can leh. In general now, 1 meal split eat twice then I won't feel so uncomfy after. I hate the constant burping.

HewChen,
Oh oh, that sounds like cheating leh.

BrieBaby,
Ya....also dunno when will this constant burping end... =(

Haiz...talking abt uncomfortable... After this wk, i'll be in my 3rd tri. le but till now I still feel uncomfortable all the time expecially evening, can't even eat a proper meal!! Can't stand it anymore...

Yi Lin,
Huh? How come u in 3rd tri?
Actually I'm thinking the same thing too.
2nd tri next wk, but still very uncomfy.
Ya, evening time is the biggest challenge.
I always call my hb to make me faint, and hopefully everything is over when I woke up. =P

Hahaha, Snow, so funny, ask your hb make u faint.

I still feel nauseous when I smell cooking but otherwise appetite is alrite. That day my mum fried chicken wings and the oil smell really gross me out.

My son used to say dun wan baby. But recently, i keep asking him to listen to baby, pat pat baby and kiss baby (which is my tummy!) and he seems to find it fun. Now he seems ok abt a new addition.

RTCP,
Its because sometime the nausea feeling is beyond what I can take, whole night feel like a piece of something stuck in my throat.
Vomit out liao also no use.
Wonder if gynae can do anything to help or not.

Luckily ur son can accept the new addition so fast ya.

Snow...how come im in 3rd tri??? Hmm... Is actually next Mon then is officially 3rd tri ba.. Haiz no diff ley always so scared to know it's dinner time already...Eww.. What do your do when BB inside is calling for food but u know after you eat u will definitely puke out? now husband hear me say i'm not feeling well and wanna throw out again he also sian liao..

How i hope I'm already in the hospital eating confinement food liao... (everything come to an end)HHaa fat hope!

huh... I'm still wondering how to go abt teaching my son ... *scratch* *scratch* Keep telling my hubby to 'educate' him instead... as I'm still being 'ordered' bed rest.... sign..