(2008/08) Aug 2008

dongle, thanks for org on the ameda spare parts. Please go ahead without me. thanks. One of my friends just told me that she might be going to US soon, waiting for her confirmation.

cat, my hb is the one to tend to bb while we eat. maid also buay zidong one. these days, my hb makes it a pt to ask her to take over when she's finished most of her food.

val, her hp is with me now and she says it's spoilt. but she cleverly took her sim card. waiting to see what's she'll do with it.

Shint, Ruixuan, YLN, aurora,
mommysown spree ordered... the std 25mm flange left 6 pieces so i ordered the 28.5mm medium ones for myself... hope it's not too big...

Ruixuan,
Please PM me your email add so that I can send mass email updates easily. Thx.

Im going crazy soon... really dunno how to communicate with my MIL. Some excerpts of our 'conversation'
(if u can call them tt):

Excerpt 1
MIL: Eh, u don't wan to take breakfast?
A: I'm going out to eat.
MIL: U going out?
A: Yah, going out to eat.
MIL: Yah lah, I know u going out to eat.
A: ......

Excerpt 2
A: Ma, later feed baby at 9pm ok?
MIL: What time to feed baby?
A: 9pm
MIL: No, Im asking you what time feed baby?
A: ??? 6pm just now, so later 9pm lor.
MIL: Hahaa... I ask you later what time must feed baby?
A: 9pm. I said 9pm many times oredi
MIL: (realising her 'mistake')Yes, I know 9pm. Im just asking.
A: (AHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!)

Excerpt 3
MIL open baby's drawer to put his clothes and saw some containers I used to put his little items like socks, hankies which were there since day 1.
MIL: I oredi told you no need to buy containers mah, I have 2.
A: huh? I didn't buy ar. Those were bought long time ago, before u told me abt your containers.
MIL: yah lah, told you not to buy.
A: I didn't buy new ones. Those oredi there long ago.
MIL: (realising her 'mistake' again)yah lah. just to tellu not to buy. I hv.
A: yah... i didn't buy.

Excerpt 4
A: Ma, I'm going out at 1pm tml
MIL: Hmmm.. what abt u? Wat time?
A: I say I'm going out at 1pm tml.
MIL: I'm going out ard 8 plus, not going to the market.
A: I said im going out at 1pm. U don't have to rush home.
MIL: yah lah, that's what i ask u just now mah. U wat time mah. I'm going out at 8 plus, shd be able to comehome before 12pm...
A: .......

Excerpt 5
A: Ma, are u going out later?
MIL: y leh? u going out?
A: I go office for a while.
MIL: then afternoon leh?
A: Afternoon im not going out.
MIL: hahaaa.. im asking afternoon lunch how?
A: ???????

Then she dun really speak english but still speak english to bb. Guess these what these are:

aligaptor ..... is helicopter
piggy mao ..... is mickey mouse

And she call micky mouse - tang lao ya (donald duck) and Eeyore - elephant!!!

Scared my bb become confused leh... Cham lah..Driving me nuts and the worst part is I cannot comment cos later she sensitive and will feel hurt!!!

Paiseh... too much pent up frustration liao... and cannot say somemore... so ranting here. :p

aurora
heehee...was laughing alot when i read ur post..sori..but the converations very furni..:p..my MIL also like tat..cannot pronoun but still want to say..

dongle
thanks.. i will PM u the items for inouvi latest by monday nite..
as the walton intl...from ur understanding..the company steady a not ar? i scare wait not steady..invest ler wait not recession proof..then close shop or something..$ all gone ..then jialat..

maid with bad breath..
sigh...then cham lor..looks like i have to waste $ to bring her to the dentist..

aurora,
hahaha.... so sorry i just laugh at your post while reading it. i can understand your frustration yet you can't tell her. maybe you can get your hubby to tell her in a nice way?

dongle
u got mail too

aurora
that is what i also worried if i too close to MIL. they tend to find mistakes. they can visit baby but they better dun get involve in my life.

aurora,

hahaha.. your mil very cute...

<u>diapers</u>
my girl is wearing MP S size&amp; PP M size.. think she is the 2nd youngest of the aug babies... not yet 3 months old..

gathering
date : 22 nov (sat)
time : 11am for lunch
venue : vone's place @ bedok reservoir rd

1. vone - 2 adults, 1 toddler &amp; 1 bb
2. faeriekim - 1 adult, 1 bb
3. Ruixuan - 2 adults, 1 bb
4. megan - 1 adult, 1 bb
5. aurora - 1 adult, 1 bb
6. msapple - 2 adult (Me and 1 maid), 1 toddler &amp; 1 bb
7. celynlee - 1 adult, 1 bb
8. Roiv - 1 adult, 1 boy boy and 1 bb
9. Hui Chin - 1 adult, 1 bb
10. fitbaby - 1 adult, 1 bb
11. happy_mummy - 2 adults, 1 bb
12. Shint - 1 adult, 1 bb
13. YLN - 1 adult, 1 bb
14. Medusa - 1 adult, 1 bb ( tentative: 1 more adult and 1 toddler)
15. swee - 1 adult, 1 bb
16. valnsw - 1 adult, 1 bb
17. tweety - 2 adults, 1 bb

Tentative
1. M2B - 1 adult, 1 toddler &amp; 1 bb
2. catherine - 2 adults (my maid incase i need her), 1 bb
3. balugu - 1 adult, 1 bb

total - 22 adults, 3 toddlers, 17 bbs

as d gathering is nxt sat, pls let me noe hw many ppl r coming if u hvn't cfmed yet.

I hv booked d function rm so tt thr's more room 2 accomodate all of us.

in addition, pls pm me 4 my address &amp; hp no.

YLN,
I bring my maid to a very cheap dentist. My maid has her tooth extracted at $35 only, other 2 dentist charge me $200+. Normal polishing or scaling i think only less than $20. If u interested can PM for his contact.

Halo Mommies!

Hisstory,
I bought socks for Mae at Odaibi (spelling?) and the shop next door, I bought headbands for Mae and leggings for Raine =P

BTW, I did a BRAVE thing today…I brgt Mae to watch movie, Madagascar with my #1, sisters and nephews! The best thing is Mae had been sleeping in the stroller from 2pm+ to 4pm+ and the show is at 4.30pm so I was telling my sisters “siao liao, meaning Mae is gearing up for a battle in the cinema man”…told my 2nd sis that if she cries inside, I will faster exit man…but, Mae slept throughout the show after I placed her in the sling before entering the theatre…after the show, my sis said Mae can go movies with us next time liao…hahaha

Reirei &amp; Twin Stars,
Oh, so rotavirus is oral medication…then wonder why the GP refused to give Mae together with her 5-in-1 the last jab leh…hmmmm

Twin Stars,
Glad that your gal is ok liao…makes your weekend better right? GP only asked us to give Mae 4ml the last jab..anywhere Mae not drinking much milk…she seem more interested in what we adults are eating lor…can ask Valnsw, Snow and Hisstory, she was so engrossed in my food when we had lunch on Fri…hahaha

Valnsw,
I bought Mae’s stockings/leggings from Mothercare, Robinsons, Kiddy palace etc…you can check these places out. =P I like Mae in leggings/stockings coz so CUTE!

Aurora,
Your conversations with your Mil are so hilarious!!!! Hahaha, does your MIL has difficulty in hearing? My mom has it and sometimes when I call her, before I finished what I wana said, she hang up already.

Ruixuan,
I got beanies for my kids from a BP in this forum…let Mae wore today.

Vone,
Guess I have to miss the next Sat gathering coz by the time I get there after my #1’s piano class already 1pm+ liao. Thanks for organizing!

Diapers – Mae using PetPet M size and Mamy Poko S Size

Amabel,
Huggies good? Which range of huggies to recommend? I’m thinking to buy a different brand for Mae to use when go out.

Haven't chatted for a long time. So many posts to catch up with...

Re: Diapers
My boy's using Pampers size M and GOON size S.

Re: Feeding
My baby's drinking 120ml every 3 hrs. Have yet to sleep throughout the nite..

Now that our babies are gonna take solid food soon, have you started scouting for a good thermos to bring porridge ard? Especially during the CNY period??? There's a bulk purchase but i'm still wondering which to buy..
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1880686.html?1226759032

aurora
Well done to ur MIL man.. Dunno what's going thru her head when she talks to u! Maybe u must anticipate her very creative answers then u will be less pek chek ah!!

Ur son is a piggy mao.. hahah

M2B
wah, tt's a lot of loot fr just 2 shops!! heheh

Mae's such a gd ger.. Let u watch a show in peace &amp; not waste $$$
I've been longing to go catch a show or have quiet couple time with hb, but Ashley's pattern ah.. Wait longlong liao!

Was telling hb, the only time when we can eat together is when we're at ILs place. *hahhah* While they go googoo gaga over her, we can finally eat in peace

YLN/ Ceyln/ Jo/ Ruixuan,
Hahaaa.. yah the conversation very farni on hindsight, can compile into joke book liao. :p But... really dunno how to go abt toking to her. Hubby knows his mum sensitive type oso dare not say direct leh... like ask him to tell his mum to observe basic hygiene like washing hands after coming back from the market (imagine touching fish, meat, money!!!) before touching baby's hands (now baby puts hand into mouth lor), he scared later she upset and think we dun wan her to touch bb... haiz... I really regretted agreeing to stay with inlaws... now wanna move out oso difficult.

msapple,
wow the dentist charge v cheap! Now i know who to look for contact shd i need to find a dentist. Hmm... my MIL oso got v bad breathe leh... but at least maid u all can bring her to dentist and tell her to brush/ rinse mouth... I can only tolerate...... :S

BTW, what's this GAP e-voucher abt?

Vone,
Thanks for playing host to so many of us! Will PM u soon for ur details.

Re: Diapers
My bb wearing mamypoko M size when he's abt 12 weeks. Like Twin Star's gal, my boy's thighs quite big. :p Quite like huggies ultra's cutting cos it doesn't 'cut' into the thighs. Might change to that after finishing up mp.

hisstory,
hahaa yang guo... yah man we all one-arm heroes liao. BTW, im ok with pushing the stroller up the escalator, but dun dare to go down with it leh.. esp with bb in it. How u all do it?

Shint,
I see... wah then u take it easy yah, dun 'torture' ur breasts too much. :p

mousse,
Last time I am using tiger brand, but i find that the container quality no good, the plastic came out after 1.5+ year of use and after that i change to use Zojirushi Lunch Jars model SL-GR18.
So far very good, big enough for my #1 and i buy this because it is big enough if i preparing for my #1 and #2 in future.

ruixuan,
ok, no prob do let me knw if the other mummy wants to give up then I take over.
Thks!

aurora,
Sorry but I couldn't help laughing at the excerpts w your MIL. She's really DUH....
I can understd how u feel, cos after all u're living under one roof w her, so cannot anyhow show black face or talk back to her.
Ganbatte ya? BTW, can't remember but u and hubby getting your place soon? or isit BTO type?

M2B,
Kudos to u and bravo to Maegan.
Ya, I agree leggings look so cute on them. Ok, I'm going on a leggings spree soon.

little twin stars / hisstory,
Just an update, the BP organiser for the socks got back to me and cos she paiseh abt the mistake, she gave me one free pair of socks.
Now see M2B's Maegan wear leggings and hisstory's Ashley wear stockings, I gian liao...

hisstory,
Hmm, so far go ILs' place either they wana fuss w her or else they hv maid to help out. But of course most of time, is only me who looks after her or MIL who will talk to Chevelle.
Haiz, I think tmrw go there, cos now she knws how to babble, they're prob going to goo goo ga ga over her.

M2B,
wah li hai! I still dun dare to bring bb to movie leh.. maybe can try. :p Yah, she's hard of hearing in 1 ear. But i dun think it's that... i think it's she not focus... thinking of something else, then got an answer in her mind, so not listening at all.

hisstory,
haha yah my son piggy mao... wonder what she'll say for minnie mao leh? heheee... haiz think age is catching up with her oso, so she cannot process her thoughts properly i think... told her to go play mahjong, and then she sensitive, thought i feel that she is 'supervising' me at home. Really dunno how to understand her better. Hubby says it will be better after i return to work cos minimal contact liao. Hope sooooo....

valnsw,
Thanks for ordering!

Twin stars,
glad ur gal's fever subsided liao. Enjoy ur weekend!

aurora
How to balance the stroller on the escalator while going down ah? We balance the rear wheels on the step lower than the one we're standing on &amp; let it remain in the position until the landing, so tt it lands smoothly.. U try k? Quite easy, just requires a little bending of the back

My hb cldn't help but LOL when he saw 'piggy mao'!!

val
oooh, not bad!! ying huo de fu.. heheh
Buybuy, i think bb gers always look cute in stockings &amp; leggings.. Just short of them wearing a tutu to look like a ballerina

kekeke.. Let them go googoo gaga, then u can breathe a little too! I close 1 eye liao.. But I asked hb, why they pronounce her name wrongly?? Already chose an easy name leh..

They call her Asley.. *faint*

aurora
I think the older folks are not really listening sometimes.. Wonder what are they thinking of when talking to us.. *hahah* Just close 1 ear &amp; 1 eye.. Comes to the worst, both! Like ur hb says, things shd be better when u return to work.. Less contact liao

But wonder what hilarious things she will tell ur boy

Hisstory, Valnsw &amp; Aurora,
I'm taking a risk today when I brgt Mae for the show lor coz I'm thinking since my #1 likes gg to cinemas to watch cartoons and school holidays coming, I shdnt deprived her coz #2 is here (Hisstory, rbr we were talking abt getting bb to get used to our lifestyles instead?) and also dun wana trouble my mom on her rest days (sat and sun) thus we brgt Mae along...I'm glad she made the 1st time blissful man.

Aurora,
Your MIL sure have selective listening...haha...guess MILs wun treat us like their own daughters afterall. =P Our own mothers still the best...heehee, must inculcate that in our kids =P

Valnsw,
Yap yap, go on a leggings sprees!
They look so cute in them.

Ruixuan,
Here is a BP on beanies
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1875210.html?1226464574

Hisstory,
My ILs called my #1 her chinese name which is easier to pronounce but Mae is easier so they called her that...hahaha

valnsw,
hehee.. yah lor. Have to ren... no choice. We still looking for a place, but not many options leh cos we dun wan resale and dun wan seng kang/ punggol area. But even if move, it's together with inlaws too cos hubby is only child, but at least it's our own nest. U good lor, found ur love nest oredi right? When u moving?

Hisstory,
Thanks for the tip! I'll practice to go down escalator with the stroller when hubby's ard just in case. :p

Think older generation cannot pronoun the 'sh' and 's' properly. My MIL oso... even mandarin.

M2B,
yah totally agree! Now that i have my own kid, i hv grown much closer to my mum.

M2B
Just asking out of fun.. Was ur heart racing, worrying tt she might stir &amp; fuss during the show ah? *heheh* I think I will take her to the wedding dinner in Dec, she shd be better then &amp; must let her accommodate to our needs too..

Btw, since u're 2nd time mummy, during growth spurt periods, wld bb wake up more often during the night for feed? Last 2 nights, Ashley woke up after 2 hrs fr her previous feeds &amp; went to suck on her mittens, as if I had starved her

But during the day, we can still stretch her feeds 4 hrly leh..

Tell u, they also mispronounce her chinese name.. Argh

aurora
U're welcome.. Oh yes, practice with hb ard. Usually hb wld handle the stroller, while I stand next to it, just in case..

Coz they can't pronounce the s &amp; sh, my name has been mispronounced for 6 years liao.. *haiz*

Gd night all!

Aurora,
Yalor, I oso appreciate my mum's help in caring for my 2 gals so that I can work in peace.

Hisstory,
I was! When I stepped into the theatre and she stirred...but after awhile, I total enjoyed the movie liao as the loud sound doesnt seem to bother her leh...heehee

Dun wori, Ashley will be better in Dec liao.

Growth spurt - I dun think I'm the right person to answer your question but I dun think that bb undergg that period will wake up more often for feeds since when they sleep, they wun be hungry mah...if you are talking abt day time, then I think yes, they will wana be fed more and more often...does Ashley's schedule changes fr the last 2 nights? Maybe thatz the cause?

Sigh..dont know why my boy kept crying non-stop for the past 2 hrs.. Give him my milk(boobs) he also dont want. Usually he will breastfeed until he fall asleep..but today just kept crying n crying n crying.. like very cham like that.

I tried burping him, sleep in aircon.. also no use! *desperate* what shall i do????

<font color="0000ff">twin stars</font>
glad to hear ur gal has recovered

wow she is 8kg? ur arms must be super toned up now leh.
mine is 6.4kg (when weigh her 2 weeks back in clinic) at 3months old. I think she gain some more weight since then coz my arms very fast get tired from carrying her nowadays..kekeke...i think my gal will join the 8kg club soon

<font color="0000ff">hisstory</font>
for the past 1 week, my gal have been waking up in the middle of the night

previously before that, her last feed can last her for 6-8hrs.
then for the past few nights, she wakes up after 3-4hrs.
i'm also wondering is it because of growth spurt leh.... coz also now during daytime feed, she will cry for milk after 2+hrs. (previously her daytime feeding schedule is 3.5-4hrs).

<font color="0000ff">aurora</font>
ur excerpts with ur MIL is really funny!
but i do understand ur frustration. is ur MIL very old? she sound really absent-minded leh.

Collage,
It's mostly done .... i had sent out a copy to you mommies for verification that your baby's info is ok.
Some still has not PM me your email as I had deleted some earlier.

Mousse,
I can add in your baby's picture. Anyone else ah? Pls send in by this weekend ok then i close the collage liaoz.

Mousse,
Send me an email on your email so i can send a copy to you.

Escalator
Mommies, try not to use escalator unless no choice la. Must be vv careful cos if u dun push the pram properly, then the angle is dangerous for baby and they might "drop" out ... and if the stroller gets jammed, it'll be terrible.

Once, i saw a mommy using the escalator and the stroller's front got jammed somewhat, the entire pram fell forward with THE BABY IN IT (about 6 months old i think) .... and they cannot do anything cos she was behind the pram rite?
Baby bled quite badly and she was so poor thing - prob have a scar ... it was quite a deep cut.

So from then onwards, i was more wary when using escalator. Always tell my hubby not to use unless really necessary.

Even if u have to use it, pls concentrate while on it and not talk on the fone at the same time or talking to someone else.

Mousse,
It's a boy ya?

Megan, Msapple,
Please send in your baby's name cos i might have missed it, thanks.

If you all have not received the JPEG file from me, pls send in your email and nick so i know who i had sent out already.

Lelong lelong, I still 1 more slot for baby pic in the collage - Who wanna join in the collage can post on this forum ... first come first serve hor. Thanks!

Those who had gone back to work, do u all still pump at nite ah? Like tat how ah? everynite oso gotta pump ....

This morn woke up at 5+ cos breast gonna burst oredi ... just done.
Wonder how to regulate the timing for pump? and how long is each interval?

Catherine, YLN, Krex, Ratatouille, Roiv, Msapple, Mousse,
Please PM me your email address as I do not have it and cannot send the softcopy of collage to yourselves.

Twin Stars,
Oh man 8kg!! Char is oni 5.5kg!!
wat a skinny monkey Char is as compared to ur bb!

Aurora,
hahaha...u r sooo farnie!! oops..shld i say ur mil is soo farnie! :p
btw she reminds me of hui-ge's mother in the Money Not Enuff 2 show..could it be signs of senility?

hisstory,
Same here!!!! My PILs hv a prob pronouncing Chevelle's name.
Piangs, especially my FIL can ask me few times what's her name. Then told him, he said whoa... why so difficult to pronounce. Even MIL also thinks it's difficult to pronounce. End up I tell them to just call her by her Chinese name.
Don't understand how difficult it is, only 2 syllables, compared to their other granddaughter, the Christian name is Elisha or smthing like that. :S

aurora,
Ya, I think the older folks hv a prob w "sh" and "s", cos my PILS dunno how to pronounce Chevelle properly, so end up they call her by Chinese name.
As for the new home, still waiting for the first appt, tat will be on 23 Dec, so aft that still gota wait for the keys and then renovation. Unlikely to move in b4 CNY. Prob Feb-Mar alrdy.

Hmm, so even if u hv your own place, ILs will tag along? Then like that v xian leh.. but then u will be the mistress of the hse rite?
So now, u just hv issues w MIL, how abt FIL? If FIL is ok, at least one lesser person to worry abt.

M2B,
ya v impt lo, to tell our kids that mothers v wei da. Now being a mother myself, I am more patient w my mum

aurora,
Oh, do your mil talk very near to the bb? Yah then it is abit difficult to get the mil to dentist.
e-voucher is a one time use electronic discount voucher of i think 20-30% (?) that entitle to me when i became their member

reirei,
my boy is only 5.2kg at 3months. i think he is the lightest for boys here. sigh.... don't know how to make him fatter. heheh...