(2008/08) Aug 2008

yi lin...both me n hubby wants me to stay home. but he's a lil worried abt finances. hopefully maybe after a year, i'll go into part-time.
i've got evening sickness too! i want it to end ASAP!

timminbuzz,
I give myself off till CNY..cos' that should be the end of 1st trimester and hopefully I will feel much better.

Yi Lin,
maybe cos' first time so he still very enthu...

tim, yuuri,
how did u all take the time off? for how long? yuuri, u can take till after cny? ur boss/co. so good to approve ur time off? envious leh.... me struggle to work when ms was bad and wish govt. could grant us 3 mths off for the 1st tri haha...

me cannot afford to be SAHM.....expenses very high leh. even if i stay home i oso want a maid to help up. not easy to cope with 2 kids, house chores & cooking alone...so i rather work.

The best thing to do during first trimester is to stay at hm and lye on the bed whole day doing nothing...and run to toilet as and when the puking feeling comes...

I guess everybody would prefer to stay at home after delivery if financially allows bah...

yi lin,
i was hoping that someone can knock me unconcious for the 1st tri so no need to endure the sickening ms haha.....

i would like to be SAHM for a while but dun think want to be home forever cos if stay out of touch with the working world for too long u'll tend to be lagging behind in a lot of things bah....

Hahaa yah I think so too... Till 2nd tri le then wake up...(Dreaming) However i think it's also good to go out and work and get in touch with society... At the same time can earn $$ too...

dongle,
Ya they should take initiative to help la, we so 'xing ku' exoecting le. ms somemore! My hubby call me 'tai hou' everytime I want something and he discribed himself as 'tai jian'

Anyone taking coconut or grass jelly (or wen tou sue)? Batter dun coz these are too cooling for us.

dongle, thanks....

after hearing what most of you have to go through, I shouldn't complain too much.

No MS for me, just heart burn and of course, constant tiredness. A bit of nausea though but manageable by sucking on sweet. Just like my previous pregnancy.

for 1, I prefer to work than be a SAHM...

looking after a baby is no easy job... esp all the night feeds and pooing.... more so if you breastfeed.... ** Just like a cow **

coconut or grass jelly (or wen tou sue) ya not taking them. too cooling. but can eat the konnayaku jelly? tt time v popular in sg.

Man U, I used to drink coconut(not flash inside b'cos it's heaty for us) during last month of pregnancy but not at this moment so that when baby come out they wun look bloody and it will be cleaner... (Heard from other ppl)

i used to procastinate having the 2nd one cos I say, when its first BB, you are the queen,hubby will do everything...2nd one onwards u r the maid! BB is the princess/prince
and husband..back to original shape....so its true!!!

anyway..i cant be a sahm dun hv the patience and its true its actualli not easy at all! i wish to rest for a few days onli ah...cos so tired!

shay...i actually took time off b4 i realised that i was preggers. so when i found out, it was kinda gd timing. I took off from 2 Jan to CNY.
my job's quite tiring and higher risk, cos i see kids, who might kick etc. so staying home now has been good.

i usually just eat anything in moderation. unless i dunno what herbs there are in it, then i would hold off.

i'm gg to bake some bran muffins later. if they're nice, will pass u all the recipe.;)

krex78,
thanks, i will try to drink the prune juice too...

Yin Lin,
congrats... so young
... when i was 24, i just started working for 1 yr only...

Shay,
when i visited one of the scandanavian country a few years back, cant rem isit Denmark or Sweden (sorry, my memory v bad nowadays)... i heard that mummies are given 1 year off to take care of kids... so a lot of working woman, gave birth continuously and ended up not working for a few years... hahaha... me also cannot be SAHM due to high expenses plus i also would like to have a maid to do housework if i have to take care of my baby on my own...

Happy cat,
My frens + sis in law also told me that working is easier than taking care of kids...

Yuuri,
it will be ideal if we can rest for the 1st trimester to ensure that our baby is more stable cos sometimes when i rushing for deadlines and stressful, my tummy also pain pain

Man U,
i agree with you, hopefully by doing all the housework & taking care of us when we suffer from MS etc will make the man appreciate us more and realise that childbirth is not easy and the modern woman will not bare the child alone... most of us are working and contributing to the society and family expenses wat..

Happy cat,
Welcome! Finally someone got same EDD as me liao. =)

Yi Lin,
Beside coconut, I heard that drinking sugarcane juice during last tri serve the same purpose too.

I wish to stay at home and watch my kids grow, blah blah blah....
But, unfortunately, I'm not cut to be a SAHM.
ha ha...my mum and sis THROW me back to workforce.

Snow,
Alamak, my mistake.... should be 24 Aug .... *sheepish*
but my last visit 2 days ago projected 19 Aug....
was joking with gynae that I can aim for 20 Aug cos my previous 1 was overdue....

dongle,
they r absolutely right if they having a baby like mine.... going to work keep me sane....

Just a thot, any possibility that some of us might end up in the delivery suite on the same day in the same hospital, screaming our heads off during delivery.....

not that I scream though.... hehehehe....
even though I was only on gas as pain-killer for the whole delivery...

rat,
guess we are all just so HAPPY to be mothers...

though sometimes I just feel like pulling my hair!!!

Sure, cat is great with me....

dongle,
so good hor? can consider migrating if we haven't had any kids now haha..... heard china has 6 mths ML....so envious! but if we compare to m'sia we are better off by a mth leh....so gotta be kuai kuai.

i always tell my hubby that he cannot compare working women with those housewifes. we are doing as much as they do or in fact more than them cos we still have to carry bb for 9 mths and go thru the horrible process of giving birth. So, they have to help up in hse work and taking care of the bb.

happycat,
Perhaps you can try to always talk to ur baby inside and tell him when to come out b'cos for my 1st baby i keep saying during my last tri that i will be start taking leave (before my due date by 1 week)on this date eg:13 Dec and she really came out on the date!!

yi lin,
that's amazing ya..... i must try this time round. for my #1 i used to tell him to be brave & strong to push himself out of the birth canal when the right time comes and amazingly he did!! he popped out after my 2nd push and he's quite heavyweight 3.71kg. so, i truly believes in tai jiao but have not been talking much to this bb...too lazy le may be will start in 2nd tri

Heehee... Ez..then i'll also try to ask him/her to come out within a few times push b'cos my 1st one I actually got assisted by vacumm as i had the epidural so can't feel anything during the process! Yah can start in 2nd sti liao... when free sing song to him also can...

yi lin,
do u plan to go on epidural again? y not try natural? i managed to pull thru w/o epidural the last time and i really hope to do it again this time round. for the 1st one we 'gong gong' go into the delivery suite w/o any fear cos cannot anticipate the labour pain but for the 2nd one i'm afraid i'll freak out leh cos can fully anticipate the horrible pain liao huh...scary ya

2day exactly 3months..but i think this vomitting will go on for a while for me..havent been feeling good since yesterday...sigh..

Shay,
Don't think i can cope without having the epidural (Im quite small size)... really can't imagine how i will feel like with it....No manz... @@

Btw, im finishing work soon le, we shall chat again on Mon~~ Take care all mummies with "M/S" Bye~

Yi Lin,
I did. actually ask to kuai kuai wait till EDD then come out. who knows baby feel so comfortable inside that refused to come out passed EDD....but now dunno to tell baby when to come out... 19Aug or 24Aug... *sigh*

YLN,
sorry to hear how uncomfortable u must have feel... just hang on there.....

shay,
u went through without epidural too... actually i am also scared whether can pull through this time round again since know how painful it can be.... i will try to hold on there again since can make it first time, definitely can make it second time.

faint then i dun think i can make it. Coz i got low pain torlerance a jab or draw blood i will yell liao. Plus i got no menses cramp so i reali dunno how pain it will b.

happycat, how pain ah? i want to go w/o epidural. i can't imagine pushing without any sensation. my tolerance for pain is quite high but if u tell me 10-20 times worse than period cramp, i'm getting worried.

rata,
i hardly have menses cramp so i think it's 100x more... hey fret not, me too have low tolerence for pain but still managed to pull through. like u i'm very scared of jab. i always rmb my ex-coll telling me that she regretted taking epidural cos b4 the epidural take effect, she was fully dilated and bb popped out. so when my labour pain became intense i kept telling myself it's already too late to take so just tahan tahan & tahan loh...

cat vs rat = tom & jerry

happy cat,
aiyo, more than 10-20x menses cramp??? my menses cramps aledi very terrible kind, i think i will go for epi... i take injection also eyes red red...

YiLin,
my sis-in-law was so traumatised by her natural but cannot then C-section that once she knew i was preggie, the 1st thing she told me is to think carefully whether even to try naturally 1st.. **faint**

Shay,
China also got so good ML? thought they trying to curb pro creation over there??

that day i was reading "Urban" supplement of Straits Times that nowadays a lot of women get "Push presents" from hubby for bearing them a child... have you all asked hubby yet...

dongle,
that's wut i heard but didn't go to find out more.

wah so good still have push presents?? must go bedek bedek hubby to see if can get any hahaha...

rata,
i dunno if i can consider myself brave onot cos i really didn't know that it's going to be that painful + heard lots of -ve comments on epidural so i just stay determine that i will not take it. the after feeling is good when u know that u have done it so that's y hope to be able to do it again.

u may want to give it a try and if really cannot make it then ask for it la.....

I went for my Oscar scan this morning. Saw baby moving liao. So happy!

At first, when sonographer scanning, i blur blur, ask her whether baby is moving or not (coz looks like not but I'm not sure :p), she said no. Then I turn to my hubby and said baby sleeping ar. Then next moment later, my baby start waving hands and move legs. So cute!
Then scan quite fast, about 15-20mins only. I thought will be longer...want to see baby longer...keke..
Then after scan, took urine test and blood test. Wah blood draw out about 3 test tubes!
Will be seeing gynae next Tuesday to discuss results. Hopefully everything is ok. *cross fingers*

btw, mommies whom have done Oscar before, did you all get the scan printout? After I leave the hospital only I realised she didn't give me any printouts. Not suppose to give, izzit?
Hubby saw on the scanning monitor, baby size is about 5cm liao.
Sonographer said according to the size, baby is 11+ weeks. Which is about the same if count from my LMP or my Ovulation date.

After left TMC, me and hubby went to Raffles City to shop a bit and have lunch. I bought 1 dress, after discount only $39. The dress is not maternity but sorta baby doll cutting. So got lotsa space at tummy area.

I think I walk walk for 1 hr only, after then cannot stand it, too tired. Went to next door hotel's lobby and sat down to rest. Wah me really no stamina now. Hopefully will be better in 2nd trimester.

mulberry, Happy to see baby moving hor. keekee tomolo my turn to see baby. i not doing oscar, but doing triple test so will draw 3 tubes of blood too.

have not been posting cos been feeling v tired. been biz at work also. i'm 10 wks+ now but still not much appetite. lunch time still can eat but not dinner. see rice, lost appetite liao...

hi dongle,

the "push present" article, i got read, was telling my colleagues, if my hb gets me a "push present" now for my #1,need to plus with about 1 yr interest.

hi mulberry,

nope, i do not get any scan printouts after the Oscar test for my #1.

Epidural
========
i almost asked for epidural too but the midwife was telling me to try out the other pain reliefs 1st, i took the pendetin (wrong spelling) and find that the pain is quite bearable. my pain threshold is quite high and also because i dun like needles, so when i think of the big needle going to poke me (for the epidural), i die die try not to take epidural.
so perhaps for those 1st time mummies, u can give the other pain reliefs a try 1st, who knows, you may tahan the pain

<font color="0000ff">Rata</font>
happy happy happy

<font color="0000ff">Gemini</font>
Thanks for the input. Ok so it's not the norm to give printouts...keke..
hmm...So i have to wait next Tues when see my gynae only can get next scan printout

gemini,
hope u r getting better now.

i find ur midwife is very nice still advised u to try out pathedin before deciding on epidural. mine hor, keep coming to ask if i can tahan and if i need the epidural. and when my gynae passed by to see me, she oferred pathedin and the 1st qn i asked is "how much" haha... she said it's included in the delivery package so i agreed else i think i will give it a miss too. anyway, pathedin didn't work for me. so luckily is foc...lol

mulberry,
happy for u that bb is doing great! mine bb is almost the same size as urs - 4.83mm as of last fri, jan 11.

<font color="0000ff">Shay</font>
. yeah i'm so relieved bb is doing well. before today, for the last few days, i was so paranoid, keep thinking negative thoughts.

Your bb should be bigger today liao

I'm amazed how fast they grow. 3 weeks ago, my bb was only 1.73cm