(2008/08) Aug 2008

i also around 2 months.. i keep getting hungry...

pre-pregnancy can like 1 day eat only 1.5 meal lor.. now cannot will faint..

jang,

i prefer to go to a dr that has an office in the same hospital he delivers and not go to another hospital. jus a personal preference

rata,
i also buttock pain, think need to find soft cushion to bring everywhere i go.heehee

yuuri,
mt a got velet parking lei. if hubby rushing for time he'll always do that so not to worry

little twin stars
oic. but whats the different? hmnnn the Dr also 'renting' the place right?

Re Jeans
Dont wear tight fitting jeans! my gynae also said go buy looser pants when i went for my first visit. jeans materials can be thick and they will crumple ard the stomach/below area which is not v good

can i find out if you mtb have started to apply anti stretch mark cream? if yes, what brand are you using? i wanna buy but donno which one to go for..

Btw, are you all still continuing with your housework like vacuuming, washing bedsheets, mopping floor etc? Sounds like difficult chore from now on right? im always doin these chores myself cos i got abit of 'jie pi'..haha..

Now waiting for my part time cleaner to come on wed.. but many times got the urge to do things (housework)myself....

<font color="0000ff">NiNi</font>
I nearly wanted to see another gynae in between. But in the end, decided not to waste money. Save the money to buy more cute baby things...haha..

<font color="0000ff">little twin stars</font>
dunno whether i bad luck but so far, for 2 of my visits with Dr.Cheng, I have waited nearly 3 hours to see him.
1 time is because he was doing delivery. The other time was he was in meeting and i think the meeting overran. Well, what to do, he's the deputy chairman of TMC...

<font color="0000ff">Yuuri</font>
if your hubby wanna stay over, then you must stay in 1 bedder/single room. and yes, got extra charges. TMC charges about $70 pernight.

<font color="0000ff">Jang</font>
my gynae advise preggies to wear skirts/dresses, especially those got lots of discharge. so got more air circulation and prevent getting vaginal infection.

jo
i started using stretchmark cream since i found out about my pregnancy..better to start early...
nini
my housework now mainly done by hubby..but i managed some energy on sunday to vaccuming and washing...but no energy to iron...hubby is the kind who loves to clean and wants to clean it his own way..so i think from now till delivery..will be him doing housework..but will get a full time maid after delivery...

btw...who will looking after all ur bbs after delivery?

I use the stretchmark cream when I am not too lazy!!

I would be taking care of my baby myself as I am a SAHM. Plus I have a 2 yr old son.

Housework wise, I am doing the ironing and folding of clothes, washing of dishes, packing own stuff. Do have a part timer auntie who comes to mop and sweep the floor.

I wear a mixture of maternity jeans and skirts during the day. At night, I would wear sleeping dress to get more air circulation.

Next gyane appointment be end of the month which marks end of my 1st trimester. Time flies!
Going to bring my son on the suntec duck tour this afternoon, pray for good weather!!

YLN: I think I'll take care of my bb myself cos i dun trust my mil to take care of my bb (she is very careful type but when comes to do housework or cooking, she is very bochup..so i dun trust) n my mom is not around anymore.. so no choice..

im currently not working also.. At home shake leg until very xianz...

i also dun trust my mil to look after..but i dun have a choice..my mum is not around anymore too..so, i will need to get a maid to help my MIL..to do housework and look after bb..i think my MIL will be more interested in cleaning her house than looking after my bb...

how nice tobe SAHM...sigh..i doubt i can do that..financially too much of a strain...

Good Morning Mommies!
Finally approaching my end of 1st trimester liao as this Sun will be 12 weeks...looking fwd...
My next appt will be on 01 Feb as gynae wants to see me after the Oscars Test scheduled on 28 Jan...

Hi YLN,
My mom will be taking care of my bb as she did for my 1st.

Morning mummies, I am back!

I Went for 3 days course last week, didn't have a chance to read all the postings and now I am officially lost with this thread!

Went for my second gynae visit last sat, baby is growing well, supposed to be 9 weeks 2 days but the measurement shows 9 weeks 4 days! Heartbeats at 180 per minute. Can see the tiny hands are moving! so cute.

I kept on forgetting to take folic acid and the rest of supplements as well. But for 2nd preg, not as gang cheong as before.

Stretch Mark

For my 1st preg, I applied the cream as soon as I knew of my preg, first using palmer coco butter, then change to clarins treatment oil. But guess I put on too much and too quirkily, the cream did not have any effect on me. I have terrible stretch marks, all the way to my inner thighs! So mummies, when u apply, remember to focus on your lower belly and inner thighs as well. Good luck!

Good morning all!

Ya, alot of posts these past few days

Talking about gynae appointment, cos I was tossing btw 2 gynaes (went to see both)that I forgot last fri was gynae appt1 sigh..miss the chance to see BB

MS symtoms
Actualli i din vomit for both first 1 and this one just had feeling of nauseous for 2nd one and feel tired everyday..every hour ehehe...except mahjong time of course. I try to squeeze in 1 session per week if possible...any mummies here play?

I hope I can tong these 2 weeks since besides working, I am going for my night classes, sometimes just think tt this year am going to be too heavy loaded...

jang,

i just feel more secured if the dr has a clinic where he operates. it will be faster for him to get to me in case i am about to deliver in off hrs since his off is just next door. ks hor , hee

mulberry,

that's what i'm afraid of. he's really a busy man. although my mom knows his dad, mom, him n his wife! and says he will give me priority, i also scared after hearing his waiting time. my hubby sure boil while waiting. also hubby don't like speacial arrangements and he feels tmc is too crowded and he will have to velet park all the time. hubby very fussy man too. only wants mt a.............as if he's giving birth hor! also i only hear of him in fertility issues and not heard any comments on his delivery skills so i'm apprehensive as well.

i went to hk ho jus by calling up mt a to rec a sr dr to me. no ref from anyone what so ever. my friends think i'm mad or too garang. ai ya, sick of choosing liao. sigh

stretch mark oil:
my friend bought this stretchmark oil called bio-oil from nZ for me. she says all the top drs there use it. anyone heard of it before? my tummy starting to have a centre line!

<font color="0000ff">little twin stars</font>
me too initially headache dunno which gynae to see. Although Dr.Cheng is busy man but i feel comfortable and confident with him.
My previous pregnancy last year (where i ended up with miscarriage), I had actually seen 2 gynaes, both i don't like. 1 gave me no confidence, and the other 1 has terrible bedside manners.

If you feel comfortable and confident with Dr.Ho, then just stick to him lor, don't think so much lah. My frens told me most important is you trust your gynae.

Wah so fast your tummy got the line already?? It's the vertical line in the middle of your tummy, right?

me too not working for >2months liao. I'm so bored at home also. :p

Just went to see my bb, 9wks liao. MS still very jialat though...really hoping it will end soon.

little twin stars,
Are you related to the cheng family? haha..wc cheng is my mum's cousin! But we don't want to do any special arrangements, like very strange..

When are you all doing the Down's Syndrome test?

<font color="0000ff">Ratatouille</font>
yeah good thing is can rest 100% during this 1st trimester. But i'm so bored lah, thinking of finding part-time or contract job after CNY.

if WC Cheng is your mum's cousin, then LC Cheng is your (some sort of) cousin, right?
aiyah why feel strange. Got connections is good. Then no need to wait, can always be 1st in the waiting line.

I'm going for my Oscar test this coming Friday. i'll be week 12 then. If you planning to go for Oscar, it need to be done during week 11-13.

Hi Mulberry and Nini,
So good can rest at home everyday...for me, I sure can't be SAHM coz I will go crazy...heehee...different personality...

Hi Yuuri,
I'm gg for the test on 28 Jan which is my 13th week...

<font color="0000ff">M2B</font>
actually I dunno whether I can be a SAHM lah. I'm so bored now liao.
See how after give birth. Maybe might go back to work.

mulberry,
Yah, my distant cousin...but don't want lah..I think it's qutie pai sey to have a relative look at your bits. Their family filthy rich lor, the house like istana like that...

oscar test is also to test for down's syndrome? Cos' my gynae scheduling me for a nuchal translucency test in my 12th week.

yeah...forgot about that part...keke..
Of course filthy rich, chairman and deputy chairman of TMC wor...
eh but LC Cheng's dressing (clothes) very normal. When I got admitted to hospital, it was late Saturday night, he came see me after his dinner, he was wearing polo T-shirt. Then next morning when he came checkup on me, he wore the same set of clothes! I was thinking, so rich how come wear same clothes the next day. Should ask the maid to wash liao right....kekeke...

yeah oscar is for testing DS.

Hi Mulberry,
I rbr I was so eager to return to work during my 1st confinement man...but this pregnancy can feel the tiredness so everyday oso dun feel like coming to work...hahaha

now looking fwd to weekend again... :p

Hi Yuuri,
Yap, Oscars Test oso for DS...

mulberry,

actually, i've been to alot of gynaes in the past. guess i fussy pot. haha

yuuri,

they are my mom's church friends. they seem to know each other well es lc cheng's mom. sometimes i got questions my mom will call their hse to ask. so paiseh. lc cheng's wife is also a gynae and she's more free and she always help ans my mom's ques. funny thing is. mom also never use them. mom's gynae is ann tan .haha

my dateline for oscar is 30 jan before i enter 14wks

twin stars
the line u are refering to is the linea nigra.
stretch mark cream cannot prevent one...cos it's not a stretch mark

Re: Stretchmark cream
actually, i dun believe in them, cos it's genetic. No matter how much cream u apply, some pple will get while others dun put cream oso dun get. For me, I just used normal J&amp;J baby lotion in my 1st pregnancy more to moisturise and make the skin soft and prevent dryness and itchiness when skin is stretching.

Yuuri
I'm not doing the test.

M2b
same! I looked forward to gg back to work last time...but now sooo tired, dun feel like working...but i know when during ML, will look forward to working again. Working keeps me sane...:p

hi little twin star,

dr hk ho look strict and he has an opinion of his own. he has delivered 10,000 babies in a yr...half of Mt A pregnant cases are seen by him. if in a gd mood, he will crack jokes, but sometimes, his is "leng xiao hua"...sometimes, i cant tahan him as some questions i ask him, he will say it's ok and up to your own discretion. like for eg, yoga, for my 1st pregnancy, i'm still doing yoga and check with him, he ask it's ok and up to my own limits. i mean, he also did see the patient condition before giving the green light. but he's a very optimistic gynae.
talking of gynae costs, i definitely will incur more than the rest of the mummies here, as for my 5th mth detailed scan, i will have to go to another gynae at Mt E. the cost is going to be around $200 ~ $300. not that dr ho is/cant do this scan professionally, but this is requested by my neurologist. also, my medication dosage will be increased which mean ==> increase in prices.
for my #1, while in my tummy, i have already spent quite a sum for ensuring that she's ok..
sorry for the long posting, but my point is that u must be comfortable with him, money spent ==> buy an "an xin".
as for emergency number, i tot it's printed on the card? sorry, i never utilised it before.even though there's once i was admitted to A&amp;E in the middle of the nite, but it was the on-duty nurse who paged for him to come.

Rat &amp; M2B : noooo la.. i prefer working.. But im in the financial sales industry, so stressful. But I am not officially resigned yet cos my boss dont accept my resignation letter. So I wait for them to terminate me (soon i hope!) then i can go to another company or find a temp job to pass time now. I have flexible working hours but now totally not working
I dont like the feeling of bumming at home.. Its very bored..im not a introvert..

But thankfully for you ladies here to keep me sane, for your kind advices etc.

Btw do u all find tired easily? i seem to feel sleep every now n then... dont know if its normal..

Re: who take care of baby
will engage a maid to take care of baby cos cannot afford not to work cos committment is too high... my PIL are working &amp; my mum taking care of my 2 nieces... maybe will ask my mum to come over to inspect as &amp; when she is free... haven discuss with her yet...

Re: Linea nigra
i also have them quite early but they are still faint... not all MTB have them mei? Plus i seem to have quite a lot of hair growing at my tummy area...*blush* very gross... any MTB experience it?

I came back from another of my gynae visit. Received the blood report, everything's fine except for borderline lack of iron. So more excuse to eat beef steaks.
Baby's well, kicking (and I feel him too) and wriggling quite a fair bit. Gynae also check his limbs (for drawfism), lips (cleft), heart chambers, brain hemispheres. Thankfully all ok.
Very happy.

Hi Verniz
People want to hear what they LIKE to hear lah. My gynae also confirm 100% gender predictions for both pregnancies lor. I mean how to be wrong or inaccurate when we are staring into the penis or vagina of our babies right? Aiyoh, I think your cousin really funny.

I think they are the pantang type. You better dun visit now anytime soon.

Hi Roxy
For my 1st, my ILs and mum gave me angpow in CNY leh...funny hor? But I was due in early March lah so very big then.

This one dunno have anot. hahaha... if yes can use to offset gynae package!

sorry to disturb...

snyone interested to get MIM sling?
m selling @ $35. eveything intact... m selling off s my ger doesn't like it... pls pm me for those who r keen. thanks

1197253.jpg

Hi Bobianah,
Yalor, I think confinement time will sure wana go back to work but coz now my ML is 12 weeks as compared to 8 weeks for 1st pregnancy so I think I will probably be bringing my gal out even before confinement is up...hahaha

Hi Niki,
OIC, so you are currently still employed but hoping to be terminated? Thatz abit weird huh...

hmmm...ya lor, why wait until get terminated? It won't look good on your resume next time, right?
hmmm...How can boss don't accept your resignation? You mean he's just still trying to persuade you to stay, izzit?
If you really want to resign, just tell him no thank you and you really decided to leave. Just give him the letter and another copy to HR. It will be official liao.

<font color="0000ff">dongle</font>
I'm like you, I also have more hair growing on my tummy. Actually all along I have some hair
but now I noticed got more!

Re: Linea nigra
I learn new term today. keke..didn't know got special term for the line.
I still don't have leh. Can't see any line.

dongle,

mine same as u. i also scared when i see my tummy so hairy

gemini,

thanks for sharing. i thought dr ho does all the detailed scan himself. that's why i chose him. but the nurse told me to go tmc for nt n oscar test lei. 20 wk detailed scan also go elsewhere?
at least for douglas ong, no need to go anywhere else n cheaper.
that's why i'n still shopping, but by the time....... haha

Hi mulberry: I dont have a choice. I tender but was rejected, they keep wanting me to carry on. Worked there for 4yrs plus liao n was doing quite well, n i enjoyed my work! im fully commissioned-based, no basic salary. =p But i just cannot work under such a 'head' anymore... Lots of underlying reason which i can only use SIGHhhh.. to describle...
But thankfully i dont need my hubby to support me now cos i got a passive income to substain me. =)

BTW, when do we go test for the down symp test? I heard the triple blood test is not accurate. Aminio(sorry for the spelling) is more accurate BUT might carry a risk for miscarriage.

How many weeks are you all in now?

hi little twin star,

only for the oscar test, dr ho does not perform it, need to go TMC for it. anyway, for oscar, is not a gynae performing the scan, is a technologist (of course, it's a qualifed one), oscar already consist the nt test inside, there's no need to do both oscar &amp; nt test.
dr ho got perform the 20th wk detailed scan for his patients, but it's only me, this patient cant get him to do the scan for me. my neurologist dont trust his report, hehee....

hi nini,

the down symp test is done before 14wks. oscar test is 90% accuracy, triple blood test is 70% accuracy, aminio test is only done if the oscar test shows a negative result. furthermore, the aminio test is more for those high-risk mummies like those above 35 yrs old.

Hi all mummies, this is my 1st bb.Went to see a GP to confirm that i'm 8weeks this week, edd 27 aug. Any recommendations for a gynae? looking at having my bb at either Mt.A or TMC. Feeling so confused and lost as to which gynae to go to. Would prefer a female gynae. Any recommendations will be very much appreciated. Many Thanks.

hi agnes, i am into 6 weeks this week. my EDD is also around end Aug. so have you found any gynae ? when do u intend to make appt for ur 1st scanning ? my gynae is Dr CH Koh at TPY. his schedule quite full. i have made my 1st visit on 5th Feb liao. looking forward to see him. hehe. now must have a good rest and hopes bb is in stable condition. if u wanna chat can add me to MSN [email protected]

Thanks Gemini! Now i have a better understanding..

Do you all suffered from constipation?
My stools were very hard n i have to *squeeze* it out... My sis scolded me say i will hurt the placenta causing it to be out also!! now im so worried!!

nini
constipation is common. You just need to take more fiber. Or ask you gynae for advise.
I have never heard before that constipation will cause the placenta to be hurt and squeezed out. I think that is old wive's tale bah?

m2b
ya, i went out before my ML finished too... cannot tahan...anyway, my confinement very non-traditional. keke!

twin stars
douglas ong is a very good gynae.
he delivered my #1 and now I'm back to see him for #2!

gemini,

if yr neurologist don't trust his scan then how come u still go to him? or is it becos u need a more accurate scan for your condition

sorry dear, i really don;t know anything about dr ho so keep asking you

bobianah,

he does everything at his clinic right? nt n 20 wk detailed scan?
his stiches gd? personality and how long is his consultation? 15 min? waiting time? do u see him at mt e?

twin stars
yup. he has 2 clinics. He does everything at the Mt E clinic. The 10 Mile Juction clinic cannot do 3D scan. I c him at 10 Mile cos near my hm.

His stitches (for episiotomy in my case) beri good! By one wk all heal liao. and I'm one of those low threshold for pain type of ppl.
He has fantastic bedside manner. My hb and I like him very much. We like his staff also...all very nice and sweet.
His consultation never rush, you have question u ask lor...so, time depends on wat u need to discuss with him. sometimes long, sometimes short. He scans at every visit.
Waiting time oso depends. but generally ok one lar. I hv no complaints. I always ask to be first appt for the day. :p
Thats why im gg back to him. My fren has 3 kids delivered by him!

linda, how many weeks are u? must be very exciting to feel bb kick. i tot can only feel this in 2nd trimester.

Re Constipation

i'm drinking milk so i dont have hard stools as i have problems digesting the milk i guess. however, i do not have loose stools now. previously abt 1-2 times but now its ok. the main thing is to set a time (preferably morning) where u drink warm/room temp water if u can drink as its better. it will enable the intestines to move after the night rest. Then i like to sit down and it helps to make me have the go toilet do big biz feelings.

i also squeeze out hard too if i am not having it for 2x. then i remind myself that i need to do business and give myself sometime in the toilet.

hi NiNi, yes...i also have constipation...feel very terrible at times. i seldom drink water thats the reason. so how do u deal with it ? did u get any medication from ur gynae ? how many weeks are u now ?

Hi bobianah, Jang and Porky:

Thanks for the advices
Doc did not give me any pills cos he didnt ask me about constipation anot.. (i also forgot)

I should be 8weeks ba.. U?

bobianah,

my hubby keeps scolding me for gynae shopping.hee. i jus kena from him just now cos now i have 3 gynaes i've shortlisted. hk ho, lc cheng n douglas ong.
tonight discussion time

think next wk or so will go douglas ong for nt scan. hubby say we keep spending on first time consultation

constipation:
must take alot of water and fruits. if i skip one day or eat too little fruit, that day no poo poo

resignation can reject? hmmm....i never heard before leh.
Have you tried talking to your HR?
In one of my previous jobs, when i resigned, my boss try to convince me to stay but i have decided liao. So we just negotiate on when i leave. In the end, i really gave my boss face, i stayed on another 5mths to settle some things and properly train up the replacement.

Re: Constipation
Try eating oats. It really works for me. So far, i managed to poo daily.

Btw, think Linda Thea posted on wrong thread lah. The ppl she's addressing to are all from the June08 thread. ;)

Before I was preggy, I got constipation problem. After I am preggy, I managed to clear my bowel everyday. This is the same for my last pregnancy too.

As for stretch mark, I only use Johnson Baby Oil for my last pregnancy, cheap and good, no stretch mark at all. I intend to use it for this pregnancy too.