(2008/08) Aug 2008

I plan to take all 3mths cos very hard to take once back to work, scare boss give black face as I tranfer to part time. Maybe will take another 1mth NPL, so total 4mths if approved.

luvlel,
thanks for the info. maybe i should ask before i purchase at the cashier if not very paiseh. heheh...

i'm planning to take 8 weeks full then follow by 2 months half day maternity leave. at first i check with hr, she say ok. but when my boss ask they say can't. so now i also don't know if i can go according to plan or must take 12 weeks stretch.

Rose,

Do you need to be with baby as I heard babies get fever after the jab?

Other thing, my company HR said, I have 8 weeks paid and 4 weeks unpaid maternity leave. I am a PR. Do you get 22 weeks paid and 4 weeks unpaid leave?

I've been following this thread for quite sometime but too shy to participate.
Nway, I will be delivering my 2nd lil bundle of joy at TMC soon. Although my EDD is 1st Aug 2008, during my check-up yesterday, my gynae told me that i've dilated (1 cm liao). She told me to admit myself if i have contractions or my waterbag burst. Anyone with previous experience like me? Please advice.

Luvlel, yea i think ur planning sounds good. Better to clear off the leave u're required to clear than can slowly take ur balance of ur ML. I got one colleague oso do that. After 8 wks she came bk then went on leave thereafter like once a week. Then every wk only work for 4 days! so shiok! can spend more time with bb. Hehe. Whoa ur co. must make u clear ur AL by Jan. Worse than mine! LOL

Luvlel (luvlel) ,
Yes PR get 2mths ML, can also take another mth but NPL. Singaporens get 3mths ML cos the third mth is paid by government to the company and I need to sign a form to be sent to MOM

peppermint,
Hey congrats on your smooth delivery. So share with us some motherhood stories when you are free :)

Luvlel,
Me also taking 8 weeks leave after the birth and take the remaining no. of days over 6 months. My HR manager also encourages that maybe bcos they wont lose someone for straight 3 months. H/w, will still see how my newborn is adapting before i decide to go back to work after 2 months.

Wow, busy at work so no time to log in and so many posts.... really hard to catch up. Nevertheless, jia you for all mummies here. We are almost there.

avocado,
letter from him? not a sign. Anyway, my date is still quite far away so no letter yet.
He will give u la ... can't remember when i got it the last pregnancy but i got it la. Anyway, mine was induced case so he can give it to me ma.

For those under him, who is going for induced or C-section?
My fren who went under him (she did not know i was seeing him then and was surprised to see me at one of the sessions) - she regretted inducing at his convenience cos her EDD was on a Sunday and he doesn't work on sunday, he told her jokingly and asks if she wants to induce. She did induced and in the end the labour was >20 hours and her epidural had no more effect on her and she had to go through GA.

In the beginning I plan to take 8 weeks but since after ML, I will be transferring to part time job working only from Mon-Wed every week, so in the end decided to take all 3mths instead.

avocado,
Dun think they do CTG all the time ba unless u had an accident, banged it n may cause internal bleeding, blood clot. Mine was cos I had a car accident and it was advised by the other gynae. In fact, initially he said dun need. Later, he think abt it then call me back to say go and check.

Shint,
So far I have taken total 5 days of MC since preggie. Mostly during first trim coz got spotting. I was so bz at work so even spotting still need to work from home that time

avocado,
i dunno but he is good in his C-section. There are also mommies under him who had natural la.
But in terms of his responses and assurance to the patients, I have no comments on it.

Some liked it cos since he say ok then means no problem lor. For me, I challenge his responses as I checked online and sometimes wonder if his answers are actually trustworthy. cos sometimes it makes no logical sense.

this thread moves so fast.

Thot I'd share about inducing baby. my #1 was induced cos she was late. So gynae and I decided on a date abt 4-5 days after the EDD cos if bb gets to big, oso difficult.
I oso worried abt ending up in C-sect then.

I went in at 12mn got the pill and etc etc...and by around 9am or just before 10am, my ger came out liao, with the aid of forceps cos i had no more strength to push. And yes I had epidural too.

All in all, i think it went quite well.

Shint,
I choose him cos he is very near my house and cheap too. Also convenient to bring my girl with me during appt. Everytime appt with him very chop chop, heard every patient under him also chop chop.

Avocado,
I was contemplating this for a long long time.
Until Wed, I finally did. Then I can see the difference ... hahha!

Though I am still seeing him to do the normal checks (to get my vits and scans) cos no point to see a new one and pay so much more ..... Anyway, the only service he provides is to scan and give vitamins and MCs.

Last pregnancy, I had low placenta, spotting vv frequently. So once I called him and said I had spotting, he told me to go to TMC. I rushed down during lunchtime and it took also 5 mins .... lie down, scan, baby ok then can go off liao.
Well, but that's the most impt rite? baby kicking, alive.
He wun provide more info like how big the baby is, are u putting on too much weight? too little? what to look out for?
Even if u have questions, his ans is always "short and sweet" - No problem, it's ok.
Ask like never ask. I check online better.

avocado,
I thought vv vv hard before I decided to go back to him. Yes, it was becos he is convenient that's why in the end i still go back.

Not the next round though (if I am going to have another one - unlikely).

I'll pay more next time to have a better experience manz. I just had my good experience on Wed .... saw 2 different gynaes and yes, I can now compare! hhaa.

Shint,
I am the one who ask him every visit the weight of bb, I weight myself every visit and told him my weight too. Got 1 time I forgot to ask bb weight, so unknown for a mth. He everytime said very good, dun worry so I think my weight gain and bb weight is good lor. Won't know till we do compare with other gyane

I sound pissed with him cos when i finally got to speak to him after my accident, his response was unpleasant.
Well, each have their own perception of him but i just don't have vv good experience with him lor.

Aiya, so long baby come out safe and sound ok liao. For me, since i was going for C-sect, I was looking for one who is good in C-sect lor. Hence, i did not bother too much with his PR skills. U know, live with it.

i just woke up from my nap.. now feel much better and my mom bought durian back
cos last nite i wanted to eat and then it was raining.. yummy ... ate 4 seeds .. now bb is happy and celebrating cos can feel her moving around..haha

huichin,
ya very irritating lei .. i cannot sleep on my left cos when i do, then very fast will feel wana pee.

you found your "replacement" gynae yet ?

re: induce labor
was reading on another thread abt this mom who induced + vacume + injection and 38 hours labor + 5 tubes of epidural later then finally had to csec .. and her bill is 17K !!
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com:80/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?578191/1089089

krex78,
no lei my bb head down already few weeks already .. but not engage yet.

Shint (shint) ,
He did not say induce. He did not commend how I am going to give birth, so I think natural bah. Heard he is good in c-section skills and stitching, but PR skill a NO NO

hello mommies..

last 3 days have school..so was very busy..din log in...

Peppermintt - congrats!
happy for you that every thing seems fine!

Maid - sigh.. I also hv my story man..though my maid is hardworking, but realli in a world of her own man..and always neber hear properly..aiyo..very pek chek..and worst..can finish 2 tins of khong guan biscuits on top of 3 meals in 2 weeks! walao...i was so shocked...for bathing..i gave her protex soaps..and I threw away all my hotel toiletries or even those bath and body works gels i used half-way..reason being i dun want her to think that she can use wat i dun want anymore..later she "clever" make all those things easily available to her.

btw..sheng siong was selling 3in1 coffee 50packs for 1.95, gold roast brand...i stock up on 5 packs but looks like not enough for this big eater...

I also dun plan to take maternity leave before I pop..so taking full 3 months and then work part time till end of the yr...

dr woody:
ya, i do agree he gives ppl the impression that he's very tardy and chin chye. that's why sometimes i also don't bother to ask him a lot of things...most of the time i just read up myself or surf the net. i don't think i will go back to him for my 2nd child. he's pretty ok with mc. everytime i ask he will give. it's just that i'm so lazy to go to him whenever i feel like taking mc coz' must travel to sengkang, wait for consultation, before can get mc. so most of the time, i'll claim the mc on days where i consult him, heh heh.

megan,
ya my maid also in a world of her own quite often. tell her things she look blankly at you and then do the opposite. like just now i ask her to pass me 1 tupperware to put durian. And i repeated just one. she can take 2. she's a very routine person i realize, once it's something out of the usual task then she abit lost.

avocado..cos maternity leave ends in Nov, so taking AL in part to ensure I go back office onli 2 days a week till dec <--dun want to go part time yet cos will affect AWS

then from Jan to May, proposed to apply pt-time cos babt + school + work, dun think I can cope well, at moment boss seems ok, so we will see...but i also scare economy like not so rosy..so will hv to keep finger crossed!

sorry ......went to decorate baby;s room. still got things to buy to make it look prettier

jvenus,
think next wk i will ask the dr in details cos the app was such in a rush till i blur blur

huichin,
yr gynae is like "auntie" lei, so naggy, hehe. cannot give MC meh? preg not easy one ma, sure got aches ma. i ask my gynae he say normal lei

cocomo,
mine is brand new. wah, i pray very hard lei. beside praying for my baby, i prayed for this maid to be the right one. no choice, i;m terrified of a stranger in my hse. jus now i was complaining to my bro;s wife about how my mom made such a mess in 1 day. she also complain back to me that she endured my mom;s nonsense also until she kena post natal blues cos mom is always telling maid not to follow her instructions as well

shint,
ya lor. dr say don;t take the risk but never explain la. he monitored me very closely in the beginning stage and do classify me as high risk as a result. he did say for such cases, he will not let baby stay to full term but never say why, just say don't risk

wat accident? u ok? think i blur liao. how u r coping well

bobianah,
where u disappear to? soooooooooo long never hear from u at all lei, hehe

megan
wah, yr maid beat mine! hahaha
u threw away yr spare toiletries? but wasted lei. i also have alot of bath n body works frm states. dunno wat to do with it
thanks for the sheng shiong tips!!!!!!!

looks like i really need to go sheng shiong liao!

Avocado,
Before you discharge can get some bottles from the nurse for BM storage. Also you can ask for the unopened milk in glass bottle as well. Last time the nurse give me 1 dozen unopened formula milk tho I was on TBF that time.

No la, my gynae said this round most likely I will end up having c-sect again coz my girl almost same size as my boy which too huge for my size.
So now thinking whether epi or GA c-sect only.

Catherine: not yet leh..cos my next appointment will be on the 21st of July. So by right they must gimme the list loh. Cannot believe i gotta go thru this crap.

Little twin stars: ya mine duno y like tt leh. Haahaa..duno leh. Anyways i think i can try ask from the nurse cos usually it's the nurse who issues the MC. Now that u tok abt this, i recalled the last time i went there she got ask me how many days of MC i need. Haaha. Two days better than 1 rite! keke...

cocomo,
Thks. My first birth was at KKH, they only give 3 max FM bottles, but I was TBF so did not use. They also give a lot of glass bottles, but all throw liao cos so long already. Did TMC glass bottles with cap?

Shint
Reg Dr Woody.. Actually he was the recommended by my fren cos his clinic is in sengkang which is super convenient for me.. But my first pregnancy I went to him for my first visit and my hb hated him cos he feels that this gynae damn bochap. He like cannot be bothered with our qns lidat.. So that was why I decided to switch gynae...Tho my current gynae is very fast when it comes to consultation at least she will answer my qns and tell me to monitor weight, bb's weight etc. She did the strep B test and also urine test every visit lor... I always think gynae is quite personal so if 1 person like the gynae doent mean the other will like...but now it seems he also not that popular.... : p

Medusa15,
For my first pregancy, I am with KKH and did the strepB test. It turns out positive so this time round for my second pregnancy I ask Dr Woody need to test or not, he said dun need and will give me antibotic at week36 which is next week and also wrote on the blue form so that during delivery they will insert the antibotic drip.

For my first birth, KKH took their own sweet time to put the antibotic drip but then I was dilute to 10cm too fast that they have no chance to put the drip, lucky bb is okay or I will sue them.