(2008/08) Aug 2008

faeriekim/M2B,
Oops, I'm not organising spree for the mobile. I was just lemming for the mobile. And yes, I realised that it is retailing much more in SG. Saw at Kiddy Palace selling for $99 on offer.

Guess I will search for a nice mobile during the GSS.

<font color="0000ff">twin stars</font>
yup i bought 2 clippies and 1 headband.

got leh, most places which sells bb clothings got NB size dresses.
I saw Robinsons got, and also as Snow74 mentioned, Mothercare also selling. I think Pumpkin Patch also got.

hee...my neighbour's toddler boy also most time just wear t-shirt and diapers. Always when I see him and the maid/grandpa go down to play, always don't wear pants/shorts.

<font color="0000ff">vone</font>
oh yes, that Tiny Love one looks good also. Where u planning to buy it?

<font color="0000ff">happie</font>
I joined S@L's spree in the Overseas Spree section. She just open up another spree here:-
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1360378.html?1208319532

Also, I saw the BP section also got 1:-
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1355118.html?1208425916

Mrs N

Same here, finding myself more forgetful of late. I would think of sthg i need to do for work while getting back to my work station, then i when i settle down, i have to give gd thot what it was i had to do *faint*

twin stars

Heheh, sure.. Tmrw I shall finally get a confirmation
HB was 'scaring' me, the last few visits showed a ger, then he says tmrw maybe the little weapon wld show up!

Talking abt interrupted sleep, i had slight leg cramps last night! *eeks*

celyn

Yeah, i agree with what Twin Stars comment abt grapes &amp; mangoes.. Very high in sugar content
Did Dr recommend suitable fruits?

mul,
think my hubby is putting a curb to my shopping liao. i showed him the clips and he say don;t make her look like a clown can

hisstory,
u'll never know. hehe. stick also can disappear so anything can happ, hehe

bb clothes in HK:

i went to Garden Street in hk today.. got many bb clothes there.. price is about $3 to $7 per set.. better one cost about $7 to $10... they r quite nice.. but i didn't buy much ..just 2 sets ( about $ 4 per set).. as i have recevied many bb clothes from friends and family.. they bought me lots of nice bb clothes..

i realised my bb hasn't been kicking me as much...i wonder if there's a problem...she used to kick very much at night...nowadays, just one or 2 kicks..anyone similar?

Chipchip,
u in hk now? My sis-in-law gg HK in May. Can tell me where to find this Garden Street? So tat I can tell her to drop by and get a few for my girl girl.

Good Morning Mommies.

YLN,
Understd your worries...maybe you monitor for awhile more and if really in doubt, maybe pay a visit to your gynae. At least you will be relieved if gynae do a scan or let you listen to bb's heartbeat.

chipchip,
You in HK? Yummy, I love the mango and pomelo deserts!

Hey ChipChip..

Ya..can give me directions to that Garden street please. On impulse, I am redeeming miles to fly me and my daughter to HK tonight for this weekend

Hi Cindy and M2B,

Yes. I'm in hk.. going back to singapore tmr...

sorry garden street = Fa Yuen Street

your sister in law can get off at Prince Edward (mtr station)
Direction: The nearest exist is next to the cake shop inside the MTR. Once when you're on the ground, walk towards to the patrol station on your left. Its quite similar to the ladies market in MongKok

I think the Fa Yuen Street is much better than ladies market..

socks and gloves r very reasonable..

3 pairs of socks cost $2.5

1 pairs of glove cost $1

i bought few socks and glove......

info on fa yuen street

http://travel.yahoo.com/p-travelguide-4129428-fa_yuen_street_hong_kong-i

many many shop/stalls r selling bb clothes there.. and bb stuffs..

i have received many bb clothes from friends.. they r all very cute.. they bought from hallmark and disneyland shop.. i find bb clothes in hk r very nice ..

Megan,

now hk is T1 (Typhoon ) and will consider to change to T3 this afternoon.. weather is not good this weekend.. better dont go fa yuen street if raining.. take care

M2B,

no chance to eat mango and pomelo deserts
have been busy with spending tims with family and friends..

Megan,
I bought few dress and top in hk.. those very loose type (can wear it now and even after deliver) very cheap also ..

oh i love B leh....looks good...alas I dunno gender yet...u got these from fa yuen street? I hv been there my last trip....my husband bought alot of lego toys..hahaa

Snow74,

I think no need to bargain if buying anything in Fa Yuen Street.. but u can try leh

definitely need to bargain if buying anything in Ladies street

Megan,

Yes. I bought those from Fa Yuen Street .. I like A more..
actaully, got many nice bb clothes there.. some cost a bit more.. i have many bb clothes ...that's y i didnt buy much..

having a girl girl really vnice, can shop for all the really cute stuff. Everytime i see bb clothes, its always the girls stuff that make me go "soooo cute" ..im having a mickey thou, but my hb prefers boy..i like girl. And i thought of just having one..but now tt im having a boy , im thinking "then how?lydat no cutecute girly stuff ever if having only one" haha silly me..but u girls have a admit girls stuffs are soo much nicer! but of cos at the end of the day, a healthy baby is more impt than anything else =)

mabbe cos B reminds me of this polo ralph lauren piece that my daughter used to wear

hey chip..so I have to bring rain jacket?

Megan,

weather in hk

http://www.hko.gov.hk/contente.htm

let say weather is bad in hk.. the shop won't open in Fa Yuen Street ( I think) ..also not safe to go..

u can try to do shopping in shopping mall.. where r u going to stay?
i live near to tsuen wan... i think indoor shopping mall in tsuen wan and kwai fung r good also.. there is a shopping mall ( is called kawi chung plaza) just next to Kwai Fung MRT.. got many bb shops there also.. u can buy clothes for yourself too.. maybe u can consider to go there for shopping if weather is bad

aiyo..weather bad..
i am stayin at conrad..i wanted to go and get a piece of jade for bb at the jade market...u noe whereas to go to get genuine jade?

<font color="0000ff">twin stars</font>
no lah those clippies won't make ur bb look like clown. The clippies are small, looks simple and sweet. Of coz don't go and put many clippies on her head lah.
Speaking of that, I ever saw a mom put 4-5 clips on her gal's head (the gal abt 2-3yo). That one is too much, the little gal looks silly leh. :p

<font color="0000ff">chipchip</font>
wah the bb clothings in Garden Street is really cheap. I shall tell my hubby abt that. See when he has time, ask him to go there.

chipchip,
Tks for the detailed info. Can tell you had a fruitful trip to HK with friends and family. Really cheap cheap bb clothes.

mul,
ya, i like those simple ribbon ones too. but guess i'll wait n see her features

someone popped at 28wks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMG!!
then how? premature n incubate for 2mths, her bills will be high lo.u r scaring me

i'm seriously looking for a maid now. want her to come in june. any mummies rec will be great!

<font color="0000ff">twin stars</font> / <font color="0000ff">krex</font>
ya lor so scary right, only 28weeks. But luckily her bb is doing fine.
yeah I read that her bb is in NICU, need to stay there until the bb's weight reach a certain level before can discharge. Yeah man, the bills will be sky high.

i wish i can go hong kong shopping too. hopefully, can squeeze some time and $$ out to have a short trip there.

oh, someone pop at 28 weeks. lucky baby is fine. as long as baby is healthy, bill will the last thing in their mind.

mulberry
can survive, after 24wks survival rate is very high already.
my nephew was born on wk 26th....18 yrs ago.
now is so strong till can go out fighting. =P

celyn
ya lor, how i wish i'm shopping in HK now.
hee hee....

been having some fear of premature delivery myself...no reason, just worry. hehe..dunno y also. that mum that deliver early is really cool about the whole thing man! like no worries

just wanted to ask...how early after delivering can we start post natal massage? (assuming normal vaginal delivery) have u ladies booked? n when they wrap us up, do they wrap like the whole body or just tummy? if they wrap body...how to BF?

do u recommend getting the massage lady to come over or do u go? which is better?

gayle
normally the massage ladies will recommend they go to ur place one week after delivery..for ur wound to heal..but if Csection..think must wait longer..think most massage ladies go to our place..thats the trend...cuz u will need to feed bb and all that...so more convenient for her to go ur place..

Hi Mulberry,

Thanks Thanks. Was showing my mum the web n it reminded her of time she used to clip my hair.
Nowadays sg has very few of these sweet n simple clips. Those in saw in sg shops r all too fanciful.

re: post natal massage
any ladies have any idea when we have to book the massage lady ?

Re: premature babies
I know of somebody whose baby was born premature. She told me that in order to be discharged, bb needs to be 2kg and above.

Re: bb clothes shopping
Wow, the clothes look v nice and so cheap too in HK. I wish I could travel but I think I had better not. Wondering if there's any good and cheap bb clothings in Shanghai? Hubby may be travelling there so can ask him to get something from there.

Mrs_N,
looks like I'm also down with sore throat like you. I woke up with one today. Feeling terrible. sigh.

hi gayle,

as what YLN say, the massage lady will come over your place, easier for you too. tat what my massage lady do. by right, if natural delivery, 1 wk later can do the massage but for me, i think i waited about 1 and half weeks as i'm still feeling some pain from my stitches. if C-section, then u have to wait, i think 2 wks then can start massaging.

hi happie,

if i remember, if u want, u can call up the massage lady to inform her ur EDD so that she can have a rough idea when u delivering, sort of book a slot for you. but then, after delivery, u need to give her a call again to inform her of the exact delivery day, so i think for this time round, i will call the massage lady, maybe in my last trimester to tell her my EDD.

hi valnsw,

shanghai is a gd place to shop for bb clothes too! cheap and nice! perhaps u can ask your hb to check with his shanghai colleagues where the locals go shopping one. my SIL alway come back with nice clothes...

went for my 24th week checkup today. My gynae didn't measure bb's weight. Just scan only. Saw bb is bigger thou
But bad news is I gained abit too much weight. I've gained 2.5kg in just 1 month's time!

Total weight gain now is 6 kg.

My gynae asked me what I eat until can gain so much in just 1 month....
. I think the reason is for these past 2weeks I have been eating slightly more rice/fries than usual. and also since last mth, I started taking soy milk, sliced cheese and yoghurt. Also lately, on every Saturday and Sunday I will eat ice-cream

Thus, he asked me to cut down on carbo food and sweet stuff. and he asked me to do more simple exercise. Too bad I can't swim, else swimming is very good and safe exercise for preggies. So I guess I will do more walking. Now I plan to after dinner daily, will walk 20mins ard my neighbourhood.

<font color="0000ff">Snow74</font>
yeah i know 28weeks actually has very high survival rate already, i read it's 80%.
But still it's scary leh, coz so unexpected. I think all along she was normal pregnancy, no premature signs at all.
hee...this makes my plan to pack my hospital bag move earlier leh. Initially i was thinking to start packing my bag when i reach 32weeks, coz i pack things very slow...i always do bit by bit...keke.. Now I think I better start packing in another 1month's time.

<font color="0000ff">Snow74</font> / <font color="0000ff">celynlee</font>
me too wish I can go shopping in HongKong but my gynae don't really allow.
But I'll be going back KL early next month
. Hee...hopefully can get some cheap bb clothings there. I asked my gynae to give me a letter, in case the airline requires.

When I told him I'm going KL, he asked me so many questions like "go KL by car or plane?", "go KL for what purpose?". Then I told him to visit my family. Then he asked "it will be relaxing trip, right? No strenuous activities, right?".. I was quite amused by his questions, like he's my father....keke..

<font color="0000ff">vone</font>
oh is it cheaper in Baby Hyperstore? aiyah i didn't look out for mobiles when i was there last mth. That time i was busy looking at BB cots only :p

<font color="0000ff">happie</font>
yes i agree, those selling in sg shops, the styles too fanciful for my taste.
another thing that attracts me to the PrincessBowBow's clips is that they have clips which are supposingly suitable for babies' hair, no matter how little or fine the hair.

<font color="0000ff">valnsw</font>
Shanghai should have cheap clothings also. I went there few times last year coz hubby's project was there last year. But that time I didn't go notice bb clothings, that time I only lookout for female adult clothings....keke..
I know good shopping areas is Shanxi Road, Huaihai Road and Qi Pu Lu (this one is a huge wholesale centre).
This one I've never been to, but my frens said Ya Tai Sheng Hui Market is good for bargain shopping too.

mulberry,

I think overall 6 kg weight gain is only average. Don't worry, if you calculate, on average it is only 1 kg per month. How come your gynae is so cautious?

I had gained 3 over kg in the last month but my gynae also did not raise any concerns

i'm into my 24weeks pregnancy now and keen to start prenatal massage from home. anyone has any recommendation?? checked the older threads but they were rather dated. anyone tried any recently?

mulberry,
i had gain a total of 7.4kg at 23 weeks. almost 500g each week. my gynae also didn't say anything. i'm the one complaining. hehehe.....

jasmin,
i had started to try out massage lady last month. did once a month with 2 different person. first one cost $60 and 2nd one at $40. i'm not really into massage so i'm fine with both. for the 2nd one is slightly more painful but i can feel that my blood is circulating in a way. which might be better. i have yet to decide to use who for post natal, i think i might try another person next month before i decide.

lindsay / faeriekim / vone,
It was nice meeting you all. Hehe Vone's son is so cute!! ;)

faeriekim,
can PM or sms me your account number and the amount I need to transfer? thanks for picking up the tab first.

YLN,
I remembered you got your Ameda pumps from Mumsfairy at Expo bb fair. Did you receive an email from them? I got an email from them asking me when I want the pumps delivered to me.

mulberry,
Thanks for the recommendations. When I was in Shanghai, I also bought the ladies' fashion, all at Qi Pu Lu. Somemore can bargain. really cheap. The prob is I did not see baby clothing. I saw maternity clothing though! haha

Do you know roughly whereabouts this Ya Tai Sheng Hui Market? Is it in Pudong or Puxi? I suspect is Puxi, as Pudong is the financial district area. Meantime, I prob will get my hubby to ask around.

celyn,
My last wk's antenatal class on nutrition said 0.4kg per week in 2nd trimester is ok. But I forgot what's the norm weight gain in 3rd trimester though..heh

28wks!! So scary and I better don't walk too much till 36wks.

little twins,
girl girl will not look like a clown with those hair clips. my girls have tons of it. Not sure is she like it or I?

twin stars

heheh, no stick, no stick

Shall update Rata with my DS details later.. HB hanging on to the info

mulberry

I just compared my wt taken today with tt fr the last appt, i've gained abt 2 kg since then! My gynae didn't comment, but i'm afraid this is the start of an exponential increase!

All in all, at 21 weeks, i've gained abt 4 kg.. hmmm...

gayle

I think it's better for the massage lady to come over.. Generally, i think this is the practice?