(2008/08) Aug 2008

AUGUST BIRTHDAY BASH 2011

please double check that your name is at the correct slot in case we miss out any post.

looks like we can have 2 group of bash for the kids.

<font color="0000ff">A1. alphabake – bake cookie
Date: 30 jul (sat)
Time: 10am- 1pm
Venue: Little Arts Academy – POMO @ Dhoby Ghaut
Cost: $45/pair
1. Sylvia (1T)
2. celynlee (1T)
3. Ruixian (1T)
4. Yuuri (1T)
5 shint (1T)
6. Balugu (1T)
7. Nana (1T)
8. Mulberry (1T)
9. lingling (1T)
10. Rata (1T)
11. rona (1T)
12. Cat (1T)</font>

<font color="119911">A2. alphabake – bake cookie
Time: 1pm- 4pm
1. tigg3r (1T)
2. tigg3r's hb (1T)
3. april tan (1T)
4. vern (1T)
5. snow74 (1T)
6. M2B (1T)
7. jen (1T)
8 shay (1T)
9. yln (1T)</font>

please double check that your name is at the correct slot in case we miss out any post.

A1. alphabake – bake cookie
1. Sylvia (1T)
2. celynlee (1T)
3. Ruixian (1T)
4. Yuuri (1T)
5 shint (1T)
6. Balugu (1T)
7. Nana (1T)
8. Mulberry (1T)
9. lingling (1T)
10. Rata (1T)
11. rona (1T)
12. Cat (1T)

A2. alphabake – bake cookie
1. tigg3r (1T)
2. tigg3r's hb (1T)
3. april tan (1T)
4. vern (1T)
5. snow74 (1T)
6. M2B (1T)
7. jen (1T)
8 shay (1T)
9. yln (1T)
10. cocomo (1T)

Yuuri
am ok, coping well, just a lot of information to process.. thanks!

Ling/Celyn
well she is still not toking at 32 months.. her behavior also regressing recently, lots of meltdowns... and not progressing well in school since the start of 2nd term...

however, she is still a happy cheerful gal most of the time

Sylvia
thanks!! big hugz back!

vern,
good to know that you are coping well and glad that she is still a happy cheerful girl.

its has been a long time since we meet, always remember her as a very happy gal doesn't look like it at all. when you mention she is not talking means no words?

Vern,
Hugs n pls feel free to post here when u need support ok?
I guess it's good to discover early n send her for early intervention. Take each stride at a time ya?

Vern,
Hugz to you... the news is really quite sudden to us... it's good that it's discovered during early childhood stage as she's yet into proper schooling (K1/K2) stage... take slow steps and vent out ur frustrations to us, not to Izzy... you have to be extremely patient with her... take care yah? Looking forward to more baking sessions with u soon...

Ling,
Thanks for looking for a place but not this time bah...

morning mummies. =)

vern
yes, lotsa hugsss from everybody here.
gotta take thing slowly, and just log in here when u think u need to find someone to talk to.
jia you!

shay
u are most welcome.
was thinking some of u never log in here regularly mah, so better inform lor.
but maybe i din do a gd job also, cos i cannot really remember who still dunno yet.
ha ha...i mean dunno, those who noe abt the bash but din update dun count okie?

Celyn
thanks for putting down my name

vern
its tough news..but its a journey u have to go thru..one of my close fren's bb also got diagnosed with autism..and she was heartbroken...but she realised it was important to be strong and even more patient with the little one...now her girl is slowing progressing and overcoming alot of obstacles...hang in there...it will happen..but it takes a lot of patience..

morning mummies..

vern,
hang in there gal, this is quite a sudden news to us.Do let us now should you need a listening ear..eventually you will overcome it..take care

Celyn
Yeah she cannot say anything except mum mum mum and ba ba ba ba ba...
and not very coherently

we (me and hb) did suspect it for a while now, so now that it is confirmed, guess we are not so shocked...

well 80% of the time she is a happy gal still.. just have to watch out for the signs of her meltdowns to avoid the 20% unhappy moments.. that is so tough esp when she cant speak..

shint
thanks! I will.. I didnt post till now cos I was not sure of the results.. guess that now it is confirmed, good to share the experience..
yup, fingers crossed that we get into the early intervention programme fast..

Jen
hahaha thanks jen, i will. hard to learn to be more patient, but I will do my best!

M2B
we are ok, a bit disappointed to find that we are not "wrong" in our concerns. but glad we go help pretty fast. wanted to do it earlier, but she was just too young..

Snow
thanks! it means a lot to know that I have so much support here!

YLN
you are right, patience is key.. Its good to hear of other success stories!

shirley
hey babe, havent catch up with you in a while! how's little g? thanks! will definitely need you and the mummies support and listening ears!

vern,
i see. at least you all did suspected it before confirming it, then its not too shock. at least, now you know what are the steps to be taken and how to help her.

we will always be here to lend you our ears. jiayou.

vern,

sorry to hear abt that. so autism is not something that can be detected at birth? stay strong...i'm sure you'll be able to cope.

A1. alphabake – bake cookie
1. Sylvia (1T)
2. celynlee (1T)
3. Ruixian (1T)
4. Yuuri (1T)
5 shint (1T)
6. Balugu (1T)
7. Nana (1T)
8. Mulberry (1T)
9. lingling (1T)
10. Rata (1T)
11. rona (1T)
12. Cat (1T)
13. Hui Chin (1T)

A2. alphabake – bake cookie
1. tigg3r (1T)
2. tigg3r's hb (1T)
3. april tan (1T)
4. vern (1T)
5. snow74 (1T)
6. M2B (1T)
7. jen (1T)
8 shay (1T)
9. yln (1T)
10. cocomo (1T)

Vern
Big hug to you! Jia you k! Give her some time, hopefully over time with your help and the dr's she'll be improvin yea! Dun give up...at least tt u detect earlier, so can get help sooner. My hubby's cousin teaching at a private school for autistic kids, if anything can ask me I help you check with her k! She might not be the expert but she sure has taught and gets in contact with many kids with autism at work. Maybe can share some experience too yea. Be strong and patient! We are all here to support you babe

jen,
thanks for posting for me... internet was down until just got it fixed

vern
big hug... my godson was diagnosed with classic autism at 3yo too.. He didn't speak and has very little eye contact since young when you speak to him. he has been on regular theraphy etc.. and he's now 7yo and studying well in Red Swastika and training for swimming for a national coach. Early intervention is really good and with professional help, they will be able to improve. Alot of cases of autism is tha the parents refuse to accept it thus delaying the help which can be done. I'm sure everything will work out fine

Vern, you can do it!

Celyn, I guess it depends on how close the relation of the deceased to my child is... when my hb's grandma passed away, my #1 was 4+... my ILs specifically said those below 4 dun attend... so P stayed home at my parents' place...

Cat, no prob...

celyn

think is up to u and the related family?

I hv to attend a close relative wake but bbm then was 1 yr old, so hb carried her walk around nearby while i attend.

jen &amp; sylvia,
he is my father's brother. i'm not close to any of my relatives. see them once a year during chinese new year. they come, i come out greet and say hello, then come out again to say bye bye. after married, never see at all. my mum say i must dai xiao for this one. so got to go. everyone tell not to bring yu ze except for my pantang mummy say can bring.

so we decide to leave yu ze at babysitter's place with yu xi. if he wants to follows us and refuse to stay there then we will bring him.

sylvia,
i think it was last year that my mum's elder brother passed away but then my mum say i can don't attend. only send my hubby as representative to attend while i stay at home with 2. wonder why this time i must attend?

celyn

eh... still must dai xiao??? i tot only nok leh. unless he got no kids pah. or maybe diff dialect pah.

or another saying is he being the head of the family ( eldest), then the rest hv to go ...

Celyn,
I also confused... how come must dai xiao? I thought only descendants need... anyway, I prob wun bring kids... the waiting and praying time can be very long... my 4YO that time cannot take it leow...

Celyn,
Just go for a quick visit then say must pick kids then go off.
That is to please your mum ba. Sometimes can just say u not feeling well last min la then how to go rite?

jen,
i also don't know. we are his nieces and nephew mah.

snow74,
yu xi is definitely not going. yu ze depends on his mood liao but i think he will choose to stay at babysitter's place to play.

Celyn
ya lor.. dun bring the kids... easier for u n the rest of them also...

mommies
I got this nagging question... Dunno what happened with Nandini, recently she throws big tantrums when I take her travelling with MRT... like very scared like that, tears flow heavily n she would wanna get down... She's ok with taxi n bus so far though... Previously got no prob since she enjoys going outside n kai kai...

another thing, she also start to show like she's very frighten to the "fan" either it's ceiling or standing... just now woke up from her nap, cried till all her body soaking wet n sweating demand the fan to b stopped.. AC only...

anybody has experienced this ? Is it just a phase ? doI need to take her to doc or see somebody ? I'm very worried cos it's just unlike her before n the way she cried really difficult to calm.. dont think anything has happened with her in regards of MRT or fan... what should I do ?

<font color="0000ff">Vern</font>
hugz hugz. was surprised to see your posting. but am glad that you are coping well. Just shout out here if u ever need to talk or just let out.
yes agree with all that it's good that u found out early as i read many that went for early intervention prog shows great improvement. Many that were first diagnosed as moderate-severe are now just mild or very mild.

btw i previously came across this thread where mommies with autistic kids share their experience and support.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/2223623.html

Celyn,
Thanks for helping to put my name in the list and thanks for your effort in organizing.

Vern,
Sorry to hear that but it's good to detect early. I'm sure your gal will improve with the early intervention program in place.

celyn,

J has been to wakes before though i'd rather not bring, esp if it's those where they have to burn incense. the last time he went for wake was becoz my hb's grandma passed away. i think he could have "seen" something coz' he started crying profusely in the car after we left. we didn't let him attend the cremation after that.

yu ze went to babysitter's place but as i wanted to leave, he stop me and ask me to go in. so i went and get the other gor gor there to play with him and i go off saying byebye. when i went back, he don't want to go home liao.

krex78,
i see. when hubby's grandma passed away we also didn't bring him cos they say no need.

shay,
no problem.

Vern,
*hugs* Be strong! Children with autism I've met, usually have very patient parents. And I believe you and your hb will do all you can to help Izzy grow up and be loved no less!

jia you!

Celyn,
My grandfather passed away last year, and all the great grandkids (inc Ashley went). No issue, they actually 'enjoyed' it coz there's alot of space to loiter around... But that said, if they are tired or unhappy, they might create a scene also too

Celyn,
Guess Yu Ze enjoyed his old " playmate" n setting again he ? Dunwan to go home hahaha

Hisstory
Good morning.… today very early 'opened' door liao..

Morning mommies.....

Vern
Biggest hugs.

morning mummies

sylvia &amp; lingling,
he always play until don't want to go home want lah. yesterday, when i reach he was sitting on babysitter's bed and watch tv loh. its like his own house like that leh.

<font color="ff0000">mummies both slots for the birthday bash is confirmed. we will have 2 separate bash for all the toddlers who had sign up. any other toddlers who wish to sign up can still do so till the slots are full.

i would like to suggest that we get a photographer for the bash cos mummies will be involved in the baking and thus not able to take any photos. any objections? any one got cheap and good contact? we will split the cost for photographer by the no of toddlers (23 as of now) and not by the separate slots. </font>

<font color="0000ff">A1. alphabake – bake cookie
1. Sylvia (1T)
2. celynlee (1T)
3. Ruixian (1T)
4. Yuuri (1T)
5 shint (1T)
6. Balugu (1T)
7. Nana (1T)
8. Mulberry (1T)
9. lingling (1T)
10. Rata (1T)
11. rona (1T)
12. Cat (1T)
13. Hui Chin (1T)</font>

<font color="119911">A2. alphabake – bake cookie
1. tigg3r (1T)
2. tigg3r's hb (1T)
3. april tan (1T)
4. vern (1T)
5. snow74 (1T)
6. M2B (1T)
7. jen (1T)
8 shay (1T)
9. yln (1T)
10. cocomo (1T)</font>

Morning Mummies! TGIF!
thanks for all your encouraging posts, sms, messages and hugz... i'm so glad I have somewhere to go to share my journey with..
I told my parents last night, my mom took it better then I tot... think we are all stronger then we give ourselves credit for..

Ceyln
thanks, i may be ranting more soon hahaha

Krex
unfortunately autism can only be diagnosed during toddler stage.. even now, she may be diagnosed with autism but still got chance that it may not be as serious we think it is...

huichinz
thanks dear, will def take you up on the offer once I figure out all the info on autism..

catherine
thats good to hear! my objective now is just to help her fit into mainstream school in a few years time.. fingers crossed that we have start early intervention soon... it can be quite a long waiting time...

thanks Jen &amp; Sylvia!

mulberry
thanks for the link! will read through...

hisstory
jialat I super impatient one.. now I really trying so hard not to get frustrated with her.. but I still wanna be firm with her so I dun think I will give in to her antics too often hahaha
she is still a very mischevious child at heart! keke

Hi Mummmies

Huichin
It's ok la no problem.. guess by the time I am too big and clumsy to do any baking as well

Vern
*Hugz*
Like what a lot of mummies said, early intervention is good. I did some volunteer work with children with the condition and with help and all the aids, they can go to maintstream school and they will improve with time. So stay postiive ok?! And like what alot of mummies said, we are here for you.. whether is it via FB or here, when u need to let it out, pls do so. Take care!

Ling
I think its a phase cos Danyaal used to have this problem.. Cried when taking trains, scared of vacuum cleaner sounds and blender sounds.. I think its the loud sound that unnerved him.. but after he turned 3 he was ok already. Just need to assure her it is ok but it will take a while for her to overcome her fear..

Morning mummies.

Vern,
Hugz! Juz give me a buzz if you need help. I m sure Izzy can do well in life wif u n ur family's support. Main thing is to be extra patient wif her.

Jen/ Vern,
U r both pro enough liao. I can't bake to save my life man!

Ling,
I think it's the noise from the train. Any issue wif the LRT?

Vern,
I have met students who are austistic at poly level.
They are vv good on certain aspect n van be vv smart in some areas. Just have to discover their area of strengths n work on the weakness.