(2008/08) Aug 2008

Mrs Teng,
Hahahaa...Guess it's becoz C&C din have tat much space to kick n punch when they were in your tummy coz there were 2 of them in there. Do drop me an sms when u pop. Will go visit u!

Sylvia,
March is fine but I can only make it on weekends though.

Celyn, Hisstory, Sylvia,
Siao siao one la... Sometimes she will go bathe happily. Sometimes she will scream n shout n say she does not want to bathe. Maybe juz let her be and pray tat she is off this phase now.

Nana

i heard but hv to ask the mums with older kids.

age 2 is the starting of independency declaration, then age 3 and 4 will even be stronger?

Not sure about the trip......
depends if working mums can take leave and go since weekdays. gng to the iwerks ( cinema) and the centre will be 'empty'. plus iwerks is free seating, if many of us, the kids can run about at the back if they are bored.

if nt, the weekends.

History

Officially is 10 more weeks to go but looking at it, gynae say about 7 weeks can pop liao! So I better enjoy my CNY and eat all I can before I pop.

It's a girl, whew! Honestly, I can't handle boys so we were very happy that we dun have to spend so much on clothes n toys, She'll use all her jie jie's clothes.

I'm all prepare for more questioning from the gals liao... big headache.

Sylvia

Wah!! BBM really torture you yah!

Celyn

At least you got signal leh! I everytime mah backache, some times tummy so tight and painful and I dun know it's contraction or not. Sometimes, can feel like I going to push out like that. Totally clueless about singleton pregnancy leh.

I everything also haven't prepare yet. Cham ah!

Nana

Okay! will SMS you when the bunny arrive.

Mrs Teng,

must sms me too. BBM loves bb ar!!

Eh........ r u gng to deliver anytime soon? Since u feel like pushing now?

I didn't hv the feeling of pushing leh. Only felt the below like contracting.
Anyway... when show sign came, the contraction also nt started yet. was still giggling and laughing in delivery room til they asked me to go n lay on bed til really painful ar.

so I stayed a day before I went into the delivery room again.

sylvia,

hmmm...i got nursing cover alr. looks like i no need to get sling after all. anyway, where can i get pupsik? only seen it once during mother & bb fair.

Mummies, anyone of u ve any contact which i can arrange for daily transport to ferry my gal to her sch juz her alone?

Krex I have a Babyhawk Mei Tai which I originally bought when D outgrew his first baby carrier. But I ended up using it more with J as it can be used from newborn to toddler and definitely more comfortable than my chicco carrier. Have BF in it while sitting down at restaurants but I find it a bit fiddley so I rather find a nursing room or somewhere quiet.
So I won't really recommend it for bf if that's your main purpose but it's a great carrier to have once you've mastered the tying. My only complain is that the 'strings' are a bit long and dangle on the floor so not convenient if it's wet!

Hi mummies.

Need ur advice on photoshoot. Which studio is better? I wan to capture some cute pics of her before she grows out of tat phase. TIA!

morning mummies

mummynana,
i have taken with dphotofolio and foto-u for yu ze. f8 angels for my maternity and yu xi's newborn. comparing dphotofolio and foto-u, hubby prefer dphotofolio's photographer. he finds him more friendly.

Morning mummies.

Rata,
How about booking a cabby to pick her up everyday? My aunty used to do that when my cousin was younger and no school bus goes to her place.

rata,
curious leh why do you need to have transport for ur gal?? skool have any transport??

btw i dun encourage booking a cab for jac coz jac is too young and moreover ppl nowadays are too sicko..just my opinions

mrs n,

dun think i'll go for that then. i'm hopeless with any form of tying.

celyn,

does dphotofoilo do maternity photoshoot as well? thinking whether i shld go for one or not.

nana, any idea how ur aunty manage to book a cab for such commitmment & how much she paied then?

shirley, coz pcf ve no sch bus.

rata,

just out of curiosity, how much are u paying for jac's sch fees? my MIL says PCF very cheap...$50 a month only. is it true? and is her sch in one building or those within void deck?

Rata,
The cabby used to ferry my aunt to and fro work for more than 1 year+ until she bought a car. So know the uncle quite well. But i would not recommend tat u juz grab any taxi driver n ask him to send. How far is her skool? Anybody else tat can help? My colleague pays an aunty to bring her son to n fro CC, plus dinner and look after till 8pm on weekdays and 10am-8pm on Sat for about $300.

Krex, diff pcf diff fee. But for pre-nursery is the same $172/mth. But for Jac pcf is a premium pcf which we q to get her into. when it comes to K1 & K2 the fees are $250/mth & the books + material cost is $160/yr. I dunno abt other cc but Jac current pcf is not $50 so cheap. How much are u paying?

Rata,

I do know cab drivers who drive students / young toddlers to sch.

U want the contact?

They are known contacts and even have working frds asked them to send and fetch other than sch time. Like their pte drivers leh. I used to have a few when I was Full time working.

Shirley,
That is very common nw.
Cab is more than just cab now.

rata,

i know of a taxi uncle who is very nice and reliable. he takes regular jobs like ferrying handicapped for check-ups to tai tais for shopping. i can give u contact if u want. dunno his rates but may be a bit more ex coz' he's driving london cab.

rata,

i can't recall the sch fees for catholic kindi. i think it's abt $450 to $500, but can't rem if it's for one one term or one year. must go back home to check.

Shint
Pai seh for the delay, pm u later.

Mrs teng

Sylvia
Me one of the victim due to the light up leh, bus kena detoured and delayed.
Think past few yrs the firecrackers started ard 8.15pm, this yr not too sure.
Dun think can see much unless u standing very near lor.

Cat,
One more princess! She's going to be another beauty like her jie jies
Oh my, just abt 2 more mths.. U shd enjoy CNY, are you baking/ cooking a lot to prep for CNY?

Nana,
How's Anvelle with bathing this weekend??

Sylvia,
Idunno if the same but i went before after cny eve dinner- very very crowded. Din bring the kiddos.
Can't even get out, just get pushed along.
Firecrackers are vv loud, if u plan to bring bbM, is she ok with loud noises? My kids hates it so no point.

Mummynana,
Haha. Kai the same.

Kai: mommy I wan bathe myself.
me: no, u are too small, 哥哥 bigger then can bathe himself.
Kai: no.. I bigger.. I bathe myself...

Snow

wah...... coz of the road block ar?

Was planning to go, but I sick , raining and most impt thing.... bbm slept til 9pm!!

Hahaha!!

shint

CNY eve will be more crowded. We used to go for cny eve n brought BBM last year. This year was thinking go for the light up one then no need to go cny eve.

Have to stand a distant for kid. if stand too near, very loud and will kenna the firecracker flying around.

Just to let her feel the mood and know what is firecracker.

Nana/Shint

same...

BBM will wanna bath herself since a few months back. I will bathe her and then she will use MY facewash, shampoo,hair condition etc to bath herself n bath me!!!

Sometimes she will insist she bath, so I let her and then I bath her again to make sure all area washed. :p

or rinse to make sure all soap wash away.

http://www.growingyourbaby.com/2010/06/11/study-focusing-on-academics-before-age-of-5-not-beneficial/

Study: Focusing On Academics Before Age of 5 Not Beneficial
by Summer in Parenting, toddler

In Britain, nearly £5 billion was spent on preschool services in 2007-2008. A new study found that despite pressure to teach preschoolers how to read and write, there was no reliable boost in success from it.

In most parts of mainland Europe, children are encouraged to just play until they are 6 or 7. At that time the real academic studies begin. In Britain, however, preschools use a curriculum that is created to help young children learn to read and write more effectively. The goal is to help children gain the upper hand by starting their education sooner, particularly those in lower socioeconomic groups that tended to do poorly.

Now the Office for National Statistics (ONS) is reinforcing a change to bring preschools more in line with the rest of Europe, and moving away from early academics. According to a study of 7,000 5-year-olds, the children only did slightly better when learning to read at an early age. The findings were only 90 percent reliable, which is considered too low to be statistically credible.

The three-year study compared children who had been in preschools from the age of 12 months and those who had no formal teaching before the age of 4. The scores of the Foundation Stage Profile (FSP) taken at age 5 were compared to look for improvements. However, the children who attended preschool only had a 1.5 point gain above those who did not.

While the ONS feels this increase is significant, “on average attending early years education had no impact on any of our outcome measures”. – Summer, staff writer

Sylvia,
BabyM so clever leh ... My quan only started bathing himself recently. She is even more adv than quan 哥哥。she super independent. Good for mommy, next time can relax.

shint

think is iphone so cant see?
coz click and still can see the link.

U try again?

Maybe since Kai is asking to bath himself, u let him try? Then u can relax soon with Kai too.

That's what I do with BBM, just let her explore and be the adult at home. Though the logical part might nt be there, it's just a form of training for her.

Plus when I wash face/body, I will tell her the name where she wash, so she got to learn something too. :p

Anyway, she's strong headed and insist on what she wanted, so I just let her go while guiding along.

afternoon mummies

if we were to organise to a day trip to discovery center

when is the best time in March?

Weekday? or weekend?

sch hol? or just normal days?