(2008/07) July 2008

smiggle,
Sensory modulation disorder - I just went to do a quick read on it. There are actually 3 types - over responsivity, under responsivity, and sensory seeking. Did the therapist state which kind?
http://www.sensationalbrain.com/sensory-modulation-disorder/
Chiro - are you going for regular sessions? Some mummies here go for regular ones. Batgirl right?

PB,
To be honest, I didn't really like the LC at Mt A too. But I thought it was because I was such a hopeless noob at BFing. Hey, but I thought the food was not bad. I kinda liked the soup! And yes, the nurses are so nice and kind.
And I think the part about not announcing the birth until you are well rested and ready is a fantastic idea! And Jo gives such awesome advice as always. And if you need help with errands, just give a shout ya?

Cellow,
So in your organization, which ones are the ones that are considered good? *Curious Cat*

doggiebb,
For those that just had a #2, I can understand. But why do YOU still have breastpads??? 2 boxes somemore!
Stuttering - I've heard many cases of it going away after a while. I think it's just our kids not being able to formulate sentences as fast as they think. So I'm definitely not worrying about all the "But But But" and the "Why.. Why.. Why"

youpi,
Wow, I completely don't remember which ward I was in!

SY,
Congrats on your first session. A start is always a good sign

Mich,
From your FB videos, it really doesn't seem like Eboy's avoiding eye contact leh. Yup, maybe you can try to bring forward the assessment if possible bcos us as mothers are going to worry no matter what.

bbp

those were extras bought when i was bfing the boy and i stuffed them so deep in inside my drawers that I forgot totally about them!

Thanks for the get well wishes for Emma! *hugs*

Jo
Thanks for the info! I'll tell my brother about this.

Michelle
*GROUP HUG*
Do not worry too much, get an assessment for Ethan and get a second opinion. My nephew was at first diagnosed with ADHD, but then later on autism. Now he is doing just fine with proper care and strategies, and is pretty good academically.

PB
Take one step at a time and dun worry too much. You might need some help during the first few months. Do tell Poppy to help you as much as possible. I'm sure she'll feel like a big sister and eager to help out.

mich,
one step at a time. bring fwd the assessment if you are super worried.... that is the benefit of going to pte doctors. avoiding eye contact might be due to a whole host of other factors (you were standing in the light and it is too bright to look at you, he thinks the activity he is engaging in is more interesting than talking to you... etc etc) rather than autism.....
hey gal, you are always positive and you give great advice to me... take your own advice now! you can decide the BIG life decisions (working or not working, how much time to spend w eboy)slowly and if it doesnt work out, then change direction lor. you dun HAVE to decide your entire life right now, ya know.

sy,
hey i recognise this "he also pointed out that when i was not working, the only person i depended on to fill my emotional tank was my hb..."
i told Mr C it is worse for him if i dun work. women typically have 10000 words to say per day, men only 2000. so if he works and i dun, i will inflict my entire 10000 words on him at the end of his workday, and he would have already talked his 2000 words and just wanna chill. so for everyone's sanity, i should cont to work. haha.

pb,
yes you can! see Jo did it....

the biggest worry i had when C2 came out was not C2, it was handling C1. 15-20mins alone time with C1 helped to reassure him that mama is still his. ask for help w poppy... the burden of caring for poppy will fall solely to BB, and there will be times when he needs to be relieved of that.....

bbp,
ah.... this is just fm talking 2 mummies who have exp working w various hosps in this area and it was a one time conversation.... that is my disclaimer statement. hehe.
Mt A is considered good, so is NUH. TMC - the nurses seemed to want to stuff bottles into newborns at every opportunity.

and yes my story of TMC. mar 2009 went to visit colleague's wife at the hosp. firstborn so mummy and baby both clueless abt BF. nurse came in, asked to bottle feed the bb, bcz (1) he was crying and (2) the PD is gonna come around to the ward anytime soon to check on the babies. i gave the nurse my best evil eye, intervened by telling her to bring the bb in for mummy to bf in a no-nonsense-listen-to-cellow-now-or-else tone.
baby was brought in.

how can liddat? bottle feed just bcz PD is making his rounds!!??!!??! at least bring bb to mama mah. haaaaiyoooor. well, 3 years have passed since then, so i do hope the nurses are better educated abt BF now.

i know not everyone can BF successfully, BUT hor, if dun try as much as possible in the hosp to 100% bf, estbg the milk supply becomes so much more difficult. what for put the mummy and bb through a difficult path, when there is an easier one to take..... dun understd.

i agree that Mt A nurses were good, the LC only so-so. for C2's time ah, i considered myself proficient, so the LC who came by, when hearing i got no questions... still loitered around and started to quiz me. this is day 1 in the afternoon after i gave birth at 1am hor. she was super happy when i blur blur gave wrong ans to the qn "what is the best position for bfeeding?" i said cradle hold, she imm pounced on the answer and in her smug self satisfied way, declared "WRONG! it is cross cradle"
*rolls eyes*

A quick msg before I dash off to pick up the boy from school.

Cellow,
Siao liao. What is the difference between cradle and cross cradle? Should have answered the @#$% LC with "The best position is the one that both mother and child is most comfortable with." Then smile smugly.

*rolls eyes too*

***GROUP HUG for ALL***

L is still having erratic temperatures... this has been going on since Sunday night so he's not in school again and as a sick-boy treat, is watching a Thomas DVD ;|

MIch
Don't worry too much. If diagnosed, you can start therapy earlier. so he gets help as soon as possible. S still does not have eye contact. I think he has some form of ADD and am planning to get a diagnosis. Just trying to find out where to go to do this.

Bbp
Clap clap on "the best position..." You are absolutely right!

PB
I didn't even see LC Kang much, total of about 5 minutes, both births included. The nurses were the lifesavers. There's one whom hb and I nicknamed scary spice on account of her hair. She actually told me that i did not have much milk compared to my friend who also gave birth in the same hosp and was in the same ward. But when i asked for help, she was one of the most supportive and helpful. So don't be shy. Just ask for help, ask questions no matter how many times you ask the same one, no need to be embarrassed about flashing boobies at them ;p

Agree totally on not telling about birth until you are ready. Get your rest first. We told, but I told hb to tell everyone not to come as we were establishing bfg and sleep patterns. We sms-ed everyone with the news as well as that request and amazingly, they complied.

Finally, YOU CAN DO IT! Just shout out if you need help/listening ear/shoulder to wail on etc k?

Pb: use the bf pillow! Errmmm... I'm not saying am good but I think I can "troubleshoot" some bf problems! So can text me and save you te trouble of visiting one! :p lol! Use the bf pillow, I think first month don't try stunts, "order your milk" first, latch on demand using the bf pillow(cradle). Once milk established, you can lie down and feed, football hold... Whatever!

I gave birth at gleneagles but use Wong boi boi at TMC. First kid, seeked her help, 2nd kid, on my own, never have to see any. I'm sure you can too.

Youpi, Mich: my friend told me that there's this ARC(autism resource centre) which you guys can go find out the entire process and info on autism- from books to referral to schools supporting autism. Can google about it? FYI.

youpi

but S could read as early as 2 or 3 i remembered and has the most amazing vocabulary. apart from the eye contact, any other social issues?

youpi,
i was abt to say the same as doggiebb. plus S shyly stood by me while saying goodbye (that time when we visited Jace tog after mini xun's birth) and i eventually figured out he wanted a hug. so he is not afraid to touch relative strangers outside of imm family.... what makes you think he has ADD?

my PD once shared w me abt the over diagnosis of ADD and other borderline ailments in boys... bcz well, we expect them to be obedient and compliant like girls. do his teachers have any feedback?

bbp,
ah but i was flush with oxytocin after C2's very quick birth, so was in super happy mood. can even grin at her and wave her away saying i do not need any help. it was only on hindsight that i thought wow that was a really crap qn.

Doggiebb
I remember my jaw dropping when S read the little baby einstein board book about babies when youpi and I met at Mt A when poppy was born. He was less than 2 then?

Thanks mummies (and sorry jo I left you out in the super capable 2 kids sahm-no-maid category! And sy too, you did it for so long!!)

In my heart I know I can but I also know that it will not be easy. I suppose knowing what to expect will make it slightly easier. Was it sun zi who said "knowing your enemy is winning half the battle"?

Thanks for all the wonderful offers to help! I'm so touched la. Yes yes I have a BF pillow and will use it more this time. I just felt incredibly silly when I used it previously and had to walk around with a donut around my waist haha

More later... Picking poppy!

oh ya SY...
in marriage it takes 2 to make it work. so while he is pointing to you to make some changes, is he willing to look at himself and reflect on how he has contributed to the current state as well?
i only feel that as women, we tend to take on too much onto ourselves and the man needs to support ok. must DO! *abish all the silly men who just use mouth and talk until cows/pigs/dogs/the entire farm come home*

my thoughts are coming in drips and drabs la. that's why posting 3 posts to different pple for diff topics. drats. i wish i had my pre-preggy mind back. i miss my brain.

An ah soh thought
Today's weather is so perfect for clothes washing!

Another ah soh thought
What is a good detergent/washing powder that can get rid of dirt well? The boy's uniforms and socks are so filthy that our usual can't wash out the dirt and his socks have permanent black lines already. Ugh!

S & ADD
I think it's v mild Asperger's. Yes, he could read v early and has excellent vocab etc. Some Asperger kids do have heightened literacy skills so he could be one of them. But the eye contact is a problem still. Dunno lah, maybe I am reading too much into this and yes, Cellow, I should get his eyes tested too since his parents are terribly short-sighted. PB he was 2+ when our Jul08 babies were born. The only thing I remember was him telling Bluebunny that he was named 'kink kink'! Thank you for all the positive things you're saying about him!

Reading the Forum
Is it just on my comp that the text is stretched horizontally? I have to scroll from left to right and back again to read everything.

thanks all for the encouragement.

Its very disturbing to want to start to recognise some of the signs and start to prepare myself for it.. its just that there is a thin line between autism and just being hyper active.
some signs that we observed
1) lack of eye contact
2) hyper active. fidgety at all times, no stop except sleeping time
3) speech delay
4) no focus, clumsy and lack of balance
5) very very short attention span

these are just some that came off my mind.. we'll wait for the appointment and see what the professional says... for now, i just hope his cough/flu/whatever virus in him leaves him soonest! he's been out of school since last friday.

youpi, Nah! S got no eye contact? no! i spoke with him at poppy's 3rd BD party and he was fine! no worries!

oh ya, its really time for the jul babies (toddlers already!) to meet up!!! whats a good time to do that, like a sat 5pm or sunday 5pm at the ECP cycling? picnic? sat and sun morning are eboy's classes/therapy so we normally cant do mornings.
else, a weekday 5pm is also good for me. shall we? shall we?

Beach Escapade at ECP Big Splash
Sat 18 Feb 5pm
1) Mr and Mrs Mich + Eboy!

Sun 19 Feb 5pm

but then a mum's instinct is rarely wrong so he could be a very high-functioning asperger's...and geting him diagnosed would allow you to know what to do to help him further.

about the eyes. *sobs* me and my 4-eyed-girl...anyway, we go to this shop which is opened by 2 doctors of optometry and i thought they were really good with kids. its at people's park centre shld you want the contact. but unlike other optician they charge $38 i think for the eye exam which is a very thorough.

mich

i prefer sat!

Sat 18 Feb 5pm
2) doggie + 2Ts

Sun 19 Feb 5pm

from one ah soh to another *grin*
youpi,
i normally tackle stubborn stains with dynamo anti-bacterial, the yellow container. one splash direct onto the stain. or use acid like vinegar or lemon/lime juice directly on the stain too.

i have a mental image of me handing you the detergent, all dressed up like those 1950s housewives in our pristine houses, like the detergent commercials. haha.

reading the forum - i get that too. working on the laptop is not so bad, so on the iphone... i just get impatient and switch off...

alamak, cannot do Sat. Grandma's 93rd bday dinner with family.

Sat 18 Feb 5pm
2) doggie + 2Ts

Sun 19 Feb 5pm
2) Cellow, Mr C and C1 / C2

doggiebb,
Now I'm wondering about the depth of your drawers!

Cellow,
BFg in delivery suite - my memory is vague. I think Declan got cleaned up first, then I was asked if I wanted to latch. Tried and failed miserably when I proceeded to throw up my Keong Saik roasted duck. Luckily the nurse was alert or she would have to clean Declan up a second time.
Agree with you on over diagnosing. I really do feel that sometimes it's that and diet. Like if parents allow kids to eat sweets and such whenever they want, how can we expect them to sit still with that much sugar coursing through their blood?

youpi,
Curious, why do you say S has no eye contact?
Stretched text - me too. So not your comp problem.

PB,
The one thing I remembered about BFing a newborn was, feed them before they get really hungry cos hungry kids are angry kids and makes BFing a lot more difficult. Anyway, I have full confidence in you!

Mich,
I haven't read up on Autism and all, but I'm just wondering, would it be possible for Eboy to learn how to play tennis if he does have Autism?

youpi,
To me, S is such a perfect boy. If you suspect he has mild Asperger's, I am starting to panic if I have missed out something in my own boy.

*goes to read up on Asperger's*

what happen to our kids?
Not sure if its the environment, that they are needing therapy..
think back to when we were young...

Haiz..

Michelle
Your assessment and the therapist might differ.. A good one will listen to you and observe Ethan. Some will only make judgement based on their observation..
Listen to your own instincts..
I made the decision to work also.. then can afford more things.. but then i sacrifice on his behaviour.. i also feel so guilty.. cos i know if im with him maybe he wont be so bad..
i feel like im e only one who understand him in this world.. he feels the same too..

bbp
its still too early to tell.. more therapy sessions are needed so that they can observe him more..
Chiro- yup, regular.. its really helpin me..
the costs help too.. i bought it off groupon, so very cheap..

PB
you are so brave..
i cannot imagine... me alone with those 2??
Take it slow k...

smiggle,
as C1 and C2 are older, i can def imagine myself alone w them. the maid is not forever.
good thing is that they are more independent of me now..... and are able to play tog. as K2 gets older, he and K1 will entertain themselves too. jia you!

Youpi: missed your post, didn't realize you were referring to S! I don't think so too. He could read maps so well, communicate so calmly and helped me with directions??? I think he is perfectly fine.

Another ah soh's reply: kiwi stain remover spray on collars and dirty areas, leave it to stand then wash with top washing powder plus softener, super clean after that!

Btw, whatever ADs you all suspect, nature is the best therapy for any form of disorder. So let them run or walk in the park frequently. Sports too, will help. A parent with an autistic kid said so. She was desperate and close to using med but discovered the wonders of nature. The boy is 10 now and is a park ranger for national parks, probably the youngest ambassador for npark. He conducts tours in park and educate public about plants... FYI, hope this info is useful.

hello from down under!

for those who use nappies.. what is it like? must fold and wear nappy the traditional way and use big pin to hold it together? or is that old school style? and i'm guessing u gotto buy nappy liners to catch the pee n poo? waterproof? easy? or wear those washable diaper covers over the nappy?

PB: i must ask... is BB ready for round no 2?? hehehe

hope all kiddos are better now.. nieces are both taking turns to be ill too...

all this worry about adhd and autism... that's why I'm not jabbing G with more unnecessary and non-compulsory vaccines! but definitely not an easy decision..

bbp,

Yup! Me too! spend a bomb on weekly chiro sessions. But you still need to couple it with exercises. I got a really bad attack of back muscle spasm (due to an inflammed nerve in the lower back) during CNY eve. It got so bad that I could not move (and even go to the toilet) 2 weeks ago. Hiaz, I better put more effort in my exercises...

Michelle,

Do get Eboy assessed to set your worried heart at ease. Is he not speaking yet? My nephew had speech delay too, but he really is a silent boy. Eboy doesn't look that silent. but nonetheless, early intervention helps.

DD,

There is a waterproof nappy wrap. fold and wear nappy the traditional way and then wear the nappy wrap over it to hold it in place. nowadays, we dun use safety pins liao. :D

SY,

Hope those therapy sessions will work out and give your tired heart a boost! Stay positive and open minded!!

PB,

I agree with cellow. #2 is not the headache - #1 is. you have to share your attention between #1 and #2. and you are tired after the childbirth and doing all the nite feeds all over again (plus we are 3 years older than when we first had #1). Since you are not getting any confinement help, BB will have to pay more attention to #1 while you tend to #2.

aiyah.... typed such a long reply then disappeared.

jo
oh yes i remember the time that S directed you from street directory! farm visit!

youpi
S deserves all those positive things! he's such an amazing boy. seriously guys, hands up whoever has said anything along the lines of "wow S is amazing, he can do ________? and he is only how old?" chin up, girl, you've got an A for Amazing chap!

which reminds me. re stains: i just learn to live with them :D

and i fully agree re today's weather. my laundry stayed out happily just flappin in the breeze

LOL on scary spice nurse!!! yup this time round we are not even going to tell anyone except parents when we are going to hospital! saves us the trouble of 1) announcing the birth so we can spend that time with baby instead of on our phones and 2) explaining to people 'please don't come, we want to bond etc' and being the next CNY gossip topic.

DD
hi hi! which part of aussie are you at? missing your babies? ahhhh... now no more liew sing to use the big pin loh! must fold, put nappy liner, and use those diaper covers with velcros.

is BB ready? i dunno. haha. i don't even know if i am! there are times when i think 'gosh 8 (EIGHT!) more weeks of increasing pain and discomfort? groan....', and other times when i'm faced with gripped panic of 'argh! another baby in 8 weeks?!'

bbp
LOL at your roast duck comment! this reminds me, you know, this time, i MUST have my red star dim sum before i give birth! thank you for your vote of confidence. PB the mummy, can we do it, PB the mummy, yes we can!!!

RED STAR DIM SUM ANYONE?

smiggle
haha not so much on being brave but more of 'no choice'!

mich
sayang sayang. i was just looking at your checklist and wonder if some of it is simply age related or gender related. i agree with you, it could simply be that eboy is just hyperactive.

they're still quite young and terribly energetic. they want to do lots of stuff all at the same time and in their hurry to play, sometimes they might get clumsy and bump themselves. time of day also affects attention span. like if poppy wants to skip a nap and i try to keep her awake with a craft, she would simply not comply.

Sat 18 Feb 5pm
2) doggie + 2Ts
3) PB and the bunnies, born and yet-to-be born

Sun 19 Feb 5pm

Thank you for ah soh tips, will go look for these things at the supermarket tomorrow

PB
Awww I am really very heartened and humbled that all of you see so much in my child and I am so blind to it. I take it for granted and must remind myself to celebrate him. Thank you all for helping *muacks!*

Red Star - me! Depending on timing...

Beach Escapade
Hard to confirm, as timing is late for us, see how see how later k?

Sat 18 Feb 5pm
2) doggie + 2Ts
4) SY + kiddos (try)

Sun 19 Feb 5pm
3) SY + Kiddos

michelle
the symptoms don't sound quite like autism but best to get professional opinion. maybe short attention span only for certain things? are there activities that he can have longer attention span? last time i also find that jx's attention span is very short but it has slowly gotten better.

maybe bring forward the assessment earlier if possible.

my kids are also hyper. non stop till they sleep! and not just in actions but in talking too. i have to listen to them even as they are trying to sleep and sometimes it does get to me when they can't stop talking! maybe at this age they are still so curious about a lot of things so cannot stop moving and exploring.

thanks thanks. i must remind myself to be patient and also remind myself to nudge hb gently in the right direction. yesterday i was quite upset with him cos i asked him (everyday) to sit with me for 5 min to just spend some time alone together at the end of the day. but his reply to me is always go and sleep cos tired already. so i told him that why is it he cannot just shut down his work earlier? i can understand that it is late and he wants to sleep but the reason why i m always being rejected is cos he never ends work earlier so by the time i ask him, it will always be time to sleep. think the point got across as he said he will take note. well take note is one thing and action is another. so hopefully i see more action.

youpi
ha we are all very ah soh already....

smiggle
i agree with cellow. maid won't be ard forever. plus good maids even harder to get!

my maid is mainly for housework and cooking. in fact i do everything for the kids still. usually when i get home, i eat with them or feed jx sometimes. then it will be tv time for half an hour so i get a bit of breather and then it's bathing time. after bathing them i will bathe while they stay in the room to do their things or play. it will get easier when K2 is older and once u can establish a routine. one day i do hope to do without a maid but that will prob be many years down the road.

as they get older they also play better so it will get easier. i noticed my kids playing better together this year onwards so it really gives me more time to breathe....

so hang in there!

ah soh says
today is another wonderful day for laundry

corporate animal at work says to virtual teammate based in UK
"others will attempt to use our brains instead of their own. we must stop engaging in victim behaviours....."
last sentence of an email i sent. super angry this morning when my teammate agreed to accept an issue w/o any structure, w/o any analysis done by the requestor. my blood pressure had not risen so high at work for the longest time!

FTWM turning SAHM
smiggle, mich,
to me, it is a fallacy that the more time we spend w the children, the more they will improve.... esp at this age when they are learning and observing all sorts of things from school and extended family, even trips out to the supermkt. Mr C and I are still C1's primary role models, but there are other pple in his world view. all i can do is spend time daily with him in play so that he talks to me.... and I know what is going on in his head.
I totally respect what SAHMs like dor, youpi and pb are doing, and I also know this path is not for me. Anyway, can always give SAHM-dom a try, then back to FT/PT work when circumstances change.

today is a big day.

Mr C is tendering his resignation. we had been discussing this for 2 months now. basically the curr coy is using him... he has not been learning anything new for the past year. no growth, and no opportunitites for future growth too. so i said quit la.

i wonder what values we r passing onto C1 and C2 by our actions. our parents' generation will deem this foolhardy and rash, shake their heads at 'these young pple ah.....'

Cellow
You're teaching them to try everything and give things a chance but if they don't work out, don't be foolish to stay on and be taken for a ride.

Youpi
He's wonderful. Simply wonderful. Give him a big hug from auntie pb!!

Youpi
Red star dim sum: I'm cool between 1145 and 2pm :D

Soup restaurant mummies
Sorry for the whole soup spoon/soup kitchen confusion!! So nice to meet you all today. I am greatly motivated now that I am re-reminded that it is possible to be a mum of 2 and still look hot like you girls!!

Total bill was $79.35. Shall we round to $80 and divide by the 4 of us? My account number is 172-10415-0 posb savings

Who are the hot mummies? Who who? Haha, I sound so ba gwa.

I always look hot... especially with the perspiration dripping down the side of my head. SUPER hot! :p

Lunches are close to impossible for me nowadays. School ends at 12.15pm. How to meet for lunch?

PB,
Are you going to bring Poppy to Red Star?

batgirl,
Yes! Do those exercises! Don't waste the chiro money la.

cellow
has he found another job? don't think the kids at this age can understand this. anyway like what PB said, teaching the kids to explore!

PB
okie! i will calculate the iherb bill and let u know as well.

bbp
i like that! yes we always look hot...haha....

or get your mil to pick him up on one of these days so u can join lunch?

red star lunch date
PB,
have you decided a date? I m on la for next week.... but from 20-24 Feb will be away.
and thanks gal, you make our family decision sound v positive. part of me is wondering abt the future... budden, i should take my own advice to live one day at a time ya

SY,
no he hasnt found another job. i reckon at some level, our 3+yo kids can understand that papa/mama is no longer working in a office..... i know C1 will def be happier bcz then he can sleep in a bit later before we have to dash him off to school

bbp,
i also look super hot in the way that you mentioned. LOL!
me ba gwa #2 to find out who are the hot mums besides PB and SY at lunch today. haha.

batgirl,
yep i saw your update on FB and thought heng arrh, at least the chiro sessions helped.

YOHO!! Hows every one? Have not seen everyone for a while!!

PB! Wow u are giving birth soon! Thats like so fast! I have not seen u and ur big bump!

SY, hope the counselling helps ... it really takes alot for a marriage to work and i do agree that resentment building up is one of the worst that can happen in a marriage ..

Mich, dont worry so much for now. continue to monitor e boy and u can prob note down the stuff u notice and during the assessment highlight it (and show what u noted) so that an assessment can be done.

Youpi, like all others, i have been very very impressed by S! So i cant imagine that.

Smiggle,hope your back is better!

Batgirl wow u better do more of that exercise. Backache is no joke man..

BBP LOL on ur 'Hot' definition. Hi-5!

Lunch at red star ... I HAVE NEVER BEEN THERE BEFORE! See how deprived i am =(
sobzzz! I also wanna gooooooo

Sat 18 Feb 5pm
2) doggie + 2Ts
4) SY + kiddos (try)

Sun 19 Feb 5pm
3) SY + Kiddos
4) Jace + Mr Jace + 2 LXs

Dimmmmm summmmm yummmmm!!!!!
Howsabout next monday 13 feb, to chase away monday blues? 1145am?

No bbp, I won't bring poppy. She's in school 1130-230.

Youpi
What time is L in school?

Sickie
Poppys temp is hovering around 37.1 so no fever I suppose. not much appetite but maaaaan, the energy level of this girl! Me on the other hand, starting to feel a cold coming on, and feeling totally wiped out

Jacelyn
Yes yes giving birth soon!! And still haven't made room for baby!!

Cellow
You are a very rational person, I'm sure you both came to that decision after a lengthy and comprehensive decision process and therefore that makes it the result of a good process so don't worry, it'll work out.

Would mr c take this opp to offload some of your responsibilities? Like buying all that heavy fruit you're used to doing?

SY,
alamak... are you staying home with her today?

reading - English and Chinese
i m wondering, what books are your preschoolers reading now? C1 has def outgrown the brown bear and goodnight moon. thinking of getting the ladybird series for him

cellow

is it for reading to him or his own reading?

for reading to him, i have a whole set of dora the explorer books *muahaha*, berenstain bears, usborne readers, noddy series etc

for his own reading, he likes the little quack series, How do dinosaurs ... series, usborne phonics readers, his sister's readers from school and stuff i borrow from the library etc

for chinese

i got this series called the 鼠小弟. very nice.

Books
Poppy loves to "read" the scholastic level 1 series books, especially those of lego city. Love them and have almost all of them. Same for maisy books. The scholastic books are great! And so affordable. Love em. If by some chance poppy's sch doesn't offer them, can I tompang the next round with someone please?

For us reading together she likes the princess poppy series, good ole julia donaldson, and whatever I get from the library. Not too fussy. Even "information books" like when we were focusing on the letter A we read about ambulances and autumn. She loves.

We've not done brown bear in ages but will just borrow it again when we do readings for the letter B!

For chinese books I rely very much on popular bookstore and big bookstore. For less than $3 per book you get books similar to aesop's fables, and with hanyu pinyin. Thank god for pinyin!

Some books to recommend: the jonathon london froggy series is quite cute. We also like "police cloud" and "toot and pop" and the very noisy night" and "the terrible troublesome troll" and "the good little bad little pig" and of cos eric carle's stuff like little cloud, the very busy spider (which teaches how to tell time), the lonely firefly and hermit crab (did I get carried away?). We often borrow and re-borrow them from library!

Doggie
Have you tried books depository? Free shipping! And got lots of activity books too. If anyone is interested, I have a category on my blog called "reading", can click and see some things we like

Oh and pageone sale is still on! Shelves are emptying fast but I managed to get $150 worth of books for only $75 (50% off!!!)Yesterday!

Cellow,
Dec's not too particular too. I mean, how particular can he be if his favourite song of the moment is the.... National Anthem!
For Julia Donaldson, I think some are nicer than others. I think the nicer ones are Room on the Broom, Snail and the Whale, and I can't remember liao.

PB,
How was the crowd and the queue at PageOne?

PB

i have heard about the book depository but have never bought from them. Are the prices as good as the book people? i must go take a look.

bbp

MEEE! i simply love The Faraway Tree!!

BBP: yes!!!

PB,SDchick: ah Soh's info- pampers newborn is 2 for $8.90 at all NTUC outlets. So if you or SD's sil wants to stock up, go grab fast.

And yes PB, can tompang me for scholastic books. Gwyn's school offers them.

Jo
Yes I saw that too! But thought it's only for finest outlets? No ah? All outlets ah? Cheong ah!!!

Sdchick
Forgot to say: your bil wants to come to sg just for babyfair? Wah.... But I honestly don't think it's worth it

Doggiebb
I've never been to book people but an idea of books depository price: think I got room on the broom for something like $10sgd, incl postage, which I found to be pretty awesome.

Julia donaldson
Agree with bbp! Some are better than others. We can't get enough of room on the broom, stick man, gruffalo, gruffalo's child and tiddler. Don't know why but did not really click well with snail on whale and freddie and fairy

Bbp
Pageone queue on a thurs, about 1pm, was about 15 min. Went a few saturdays ago and the announcement said 3 HOURS so didn't even bother

Jo
Thanks! Let me know when the scholastic list comes ok? :D I go crazy whenever I see that happy sheet of folded paper haha

Dim sum
No one ah? Or too short notice

Hooray, weekend!!!