(2008/07) July 2008

you know SY,
tis kind of like training puppies. must make sure they know who is the leader of the pack. and that the family is not a democracy. mama and papa have final say, not the young 'uns.

that continues until they decide to grow up and move out from under my roof. my roof, my rules; your roof, your rules. case closed.
amen.

hehe.

PB
u haven seen her hitting out at the father....it's a super strong punch.

cellow
haha yeah man training kids and pets not much difference! they must know who to listen to......

Thanx ladies
, doing up the room was fun indeed but then seems I now have to cleanup the rest of the hse too. Cos all the moving things around is messy indeed. N being the only 1 doing makes it a little hard n need lots of self motivation like myself I'm exercising as well.

Youpi
I do paint my own walls but I didn't have to this time hehe. U see me too up. If I had painted walls this time as well I think I would need 2 weeks!! Haha
The room is unused so I jus had to wipe, wipe n wipe everything clean super duper clean.

The rubber gloves are now my next best friend haha

E is also starting to test my limits like her brother. She's been getting punishments often these days. Sigh

Oh Jo
One can hope
I have yet to dish out the "policeman will catch you if you're naughty" threat

Dor
Congrats on your new happy spot at home! Was this room previously known as the "hubby's storeroom"?

PB
Nope, that is another room I've been wanting to empty.
This room used to be the pets room. Only have them n their cages n stuff in the room.

N talking abt stuff, wanna sell off my play yard, sterilizer plus some bb toys n a really faded FP rocker to give away. Anyone here keen?? Hehe

Wow dor! It sounds like you live in a mansion with so many rooms! Hehe. Maybe when ur hubby sees the wonderful changes in the pets room, he will be motivated to clear his store room so you can make more awesome changes?

PB
How was the Police Heritage trip today??

Is it open as in anybpdy can just go there for a visit??

Re motivation.... he has to 'see' it in his brain but then.......maybe he's even too lazy to acknowledge it. He said he will cleanup his room this Sun.....so I shall see.
Cos its not the 1st time he's "cleanup" his room to the same effect.

I'm sure u are familiar with the cleaned the whole hse and he doesn't even realise anything is different feeling. I cleaned up the whole black floor at the washing machine/rubbish dump area and until now......he doesn't even realise it. And he does throw rubbish everyday.

ANd here comes the RANT!!!

Nw I'm stressed and tired and ....dun really know what to do 1st or not do.....sigh
D is sick and might be linked to me cleaning or the lack of cleaning.

So by right I should quickly finish cleaning the rest of the hse so its totally clean right. But its too major a task to be able to finis soon. ANd ofcos nobody is helping (except D lah who keeps offering help).
And I can't really finis cleaning and packing until somebody also help to do something and need to buy a few more shelves and and and........sigh
Too many things too little time and still gotta entertain the Princess and the tempermental Master. And trying to keep the dust n dirt away from D to make sure he gets better....sigh
And I have my own stuff which I really really wanna do too. Just to finish up that 1 bag I've been wanting to do, I only slept at 5am yesterday and then I was too excited cos I finally finished it and I was so happy. >_<

dor
why dun get a part time cleaner to come and do the heavy cleaning? then at least not so stressed and u just do the maintenance cleaning.

D is such a good boy!!

Dor
Take care of D first. Hope he gets well soon! It's so sweet of him to offer to help you
Like SY said, why not get a part-time cleaner? I just did and whew, it's wonderful! As for hb, hmmm, mine is similar. I get S to nag at him.

Dor,
Hope D gets well soon! Don't be hard on yourself. You did a very good job doing the playroom!I agree with SY, maybe get a part time cleaner to clean one time. Either that or maybe just order your hb to do it keke.. I find that hbs won't be able to read subtle hints (or they just plain ignore them) so lately I just "order" my hb to do some things.

heh the 4 kids look so adorable in their mata uniforms! and one showed them holding hands some more. tooooooo cute for words la....

dor,
take care of yourself first! so that you can then do all the other things. the girls already suggested get PT cleaner, order the hb to clean his room. or move all his stuff to the place where he usually sleeps or (haha) in front of the TV screen. then he cannot say he cannot see the mess. *grin*

bbp,
yikes. is that she is now ex helper?
are you back to full time SAH-ness now?
i know you told me when before, but... i m very airhead abt dates now.

off topic - choc sadness
the vivani choc lost its ginger spiciness after i put it in the fridge. sad.

cellow
wow your C2 loves that so much!

jx likes the banana yogurt crisp bar from earth best. i got 4 boxes last round and now left 1 and half box.

when they like something they really gobble it up!!

ooohh i must go and check out the photo...

i wish i have more leave!!! only 6.5 days to tide me for the rest of the year!

cellow
hey how much do i owe you for the thai lunch? can pm me your bank details too?

matar mummies
aiyah forgot to ask for our handcuffs. i really enjoyed the dinner after! thanks gwyn for the yummy snacks! auntie PB really wants to chope you as a camping kaki next time ok?

dor
it was interesting but i think for slightly older kids la. it's free and open to public. good history lesson and i'm sure the other parents learnt something. us, we were just busyings ourselves with trips to the toilet

you have to book 5 days in advance, but it's only till end of jul. maybe they'll have more next time

check out some more matar pics here: http://gingerbreadmum.blogspot.com/2011/07/stop-im-cop.html

Cellow,
Yes to both questions. And dec fell sick after his nap so we had to miss the Mata session. And the thing was I was explaining to him how he didn't have to be afraid of the policeman if he didn't do anything bad. After all my effort of explaining and wrangling a ride from my mil, he puked in the car. Luckily I was suppose to bring the herb stuff to the girls, or I wouldn't have had a spare plastic bag for his puke. Decided to stay home and it was a damn good call cos he's still suspect.

Side note, when I told hubby about dec being scared of the policeman no thanks to the ex helper, he just laughed and said "well, she has to make him nap right?"

Bbp, Dor dor, and whoever else it applies to ,

All I can say is.... "Men!" (With rolled eyes for added effect)

Happy weekend everyone!

Dor hang in there n look after d first...do they sick from respiratory problems? does he need the nebuliser? Can lend u mind if u need (instead of u having to rent from PD)

Matar pants...are ao ah pek yes! Couldn't tell if bbG even looked like mc hammer or not! But yeah I like the a-line skirts!

Nice meeting Jo n gwyn for the first time...thanks for the goodies too! Made from scratch or from mix? All gone this morning

Lol at Cellow feeling sad over unspicy choc..can't imagine the taste but hmm...add mustard to it n see? Or Tabasco? Haha (dun bash me please)

SY, Youpi, SD
I can't get part timer to help cos actually I need help with the packing most lor. Cleaning is the 'easy' part. Now is everything is everywhere so must clean and pack clean and pack lor.

N as expected my hubby didn't managed to clean his room lah when I asked him to as he was the 1 who told me he would on sat night(N I had to remind him). Cos according to him, he's already bathed n clean n would do so on Sun instead. So tadah!!! Sun gone. N best of all I nagged him into getting the required funitures but but but....leave the shelve to him and he bought the wrong shelves!!!!!
The shelf is bigger then the cupboard!!!!! So endup still halfway again......sigh

Most irrtating thing is he will say stuff like I never ask u to do alone ma wait for me lor. YAH wait. Ever wonder stuff that waits for him is NEVER done?? I still have an unopened ikea chair we bought before D was born as prove. N they dun even sell that chair anymore!!!

DD
Yah cos D has phlegmy cough that pd said is a bit asthmatic.
Not neubing at the moment but using something called a chamber.
And seems like his nose is very itchy and he keeps sniffling when he plays in the new room.....sigh
Not very sure why cos I feel that room is the cleanest cos I cleaned it sooo much!! Every nook n cranny I made sure I cleaned!! So suspecting alot of stuff including my chinchlla which is outside now, cos he used to only be in the pet room. ANd ofcos my hubby's leftovers are always suspects!!!

Cellow
His stuff is already in the spare room, where all his stuff are. N.....sad to say he is the kind who will not see anything on the floor even when he only has 1 path to walk. He's really like the kid who u know will leave his newspaper there. N its there the next day n the next and if I do not say anything, they will continue to be there with additions. Until...........I get pissed off and make ALOT of noise. THEN the newspapers will totally be gone. And the cycle continues.......
And I was the 1 who cannot stand the stack of stuff he leaves beside his side of the bed which continues to grow n cleared them after waiting mths for him to (according to him "wash them all together").

bbp
Hope Declan is fine now.
Re ur hubby's comment..... *roll eyes*

Oh yeah n Sat I was suddenly sick very very tired and just lie in bed the whole day(guess my body raised flag). But couldn't sleep cos the kids keep coming to kiss me and talk to me and complain and ask me if they can eat this and that and........they asked if I fainted and if I was dead......LOL

Thank goodness for parents staying near cos they brought us food in the afternoon when I smsed we weren't going over since not feeling well. So at least the kids had ample food the whole day while I rest in bed.

N hubby?? Didnt even clear the mess the kids made eating that I was too tired to clean up during the day. I was alittle bit better by the time he got home and he even slept earlier then me that night. humph!!

Poor dor...i've kinda given up nagging hb n doing certain stuff myself...to a certain extent, slightly less disgruntled and unhappy..

Start of a new week and a new month!

morning!

yes dd, start of a new week and a new month. C1 starts full day school today... i did not pre empt him as i found that it only gives him more opportunity to say no.

sigh.
this morning, he cried big tears, major version of the monday blues, when i dropped him off at school... plus he asked me to bring home his bag containing his sleeping stuff (mattress cover, bolster, blanket) as quote unquote 'I am going home to sleep later'

the teacher was slightly aghast when i told her that we did not tell him anything at all.... but i explained to her why, and she nodded her head sagely... yes he tends to dig in his heels if he doesnt want to do smthing in school too.
the young man obviously has a mind of his own.

worried.
but i know i shdnt be worried la.

dor,
are you feeling better now?
with Mr C, i learn to close one eye and lower my expectations. also i dunno how feasible it is... but have you spent some couple time with him alone? without D and E?
i roped in my parents to help while Mr C and I went off on sat for a date...... works wonders to maintain our own relationship.

Did everyone have a nice weekend? We were supposed to go to sentosa with some folks but ended up just playing at vivo splash area cos they were "still waiting for taxi" 2 hours after our designatd meeting time
and when I said "shall we cancel and do this another day instead" they got angry at me. Aiyoh.

But we didn't let that spoil our day; poppy had so much fun "washing her clothes" in the water

Here's something that we had loads of fun doing too. Those with a driveway or pavement near their homes can try! I mixed water, cornflour and food colouring and put into old shampoo/detergent/soap bottles (the kind that is squeezable ie not the pump kind) and just let poppy "paint" the pavement. It was really fun but she enjoyed "cleaning up" with her water cannon more :D

New day, new week, new month! Happy august everyone!

AIYOH indeed... not one, but 2 whole hours leh. and you have an active toddler to entertain. 2h is a l-o-n-g time. at least poppy had time to wash her clothes

you know PB....
i was thinking of letting C1 loose on the void deck with chalk. Mr C thought a while, then said - isnt that rather unneighbourly?

hmmm. but if i bring a bucket of water down to splash away the mess.... would that make it more or less neighbourly? hmm.
still thinking.

Cellow
Just bring those PET bottles of water to pour over the chalk marks and let the boys can rub them out with their shoes.

Is this C1's first long day?

Dor Dor
It's like deja vu when I read your post. Same same! I have to pack before the cleaner comes. I throw things out if they're lying around for too long. Once I threw out concert tickets.

PB
2 hours, wah you are very patient. Good thing you're so creative when it comes to entertaining Poppy and keeping her occupied! So did you go to Sentosa in the end?

Arrgh..barely have a day n my mon blues are slowly sipping in... But will chin up..think c1 has a bluer mon..sayang that little boy...didnt realise he was still on half day..n still have time to nap there?

Listen out for church bells at noon! (did u all notice every 1st of each month at 12 noon u will hear it ;)

Çellow
Yup I always bring water to wash off. We go on the pavement so the rain can wash off the rest. No more unneighbourly than ah peks who spit on the pavement and certainly 100 times less unneighbourly than those who do burnings in the middle of the pavement, without any "containers" D:

Church bells
They are civil defence bells and it's to test that they're still working, in case we should ever need to use them

Youpi
Nope didn't go to sentosa in the end cos we waited from 10am to 12pm. Too hot liao!

Cleaners
Haha same! I always try to clean up a bit just to show "we need some help but we're not pigs". But I don't think it works haha. Now we simply go out when cleaner arrives. Less paisay! Then we don't have to hear her thought bubbles going "omg how do they live in this mess! Surely they can't be human!"

I didn't have a good weekend... well, hadn't had a good day since Thursday afternoon. That bout of vomiting Dec had was some sort of stomach flu and he's been whiny and not eating much except drinking loads of water since he stopped throwing up.

He's getting emaciated and he still doesn't want to eat. How? The only things he seems to want are water and grapes.

poor bbp and poor dec! try probiotics to stabilise the gut flora first? off the shelf medication (lactofort). or biogaia, but i m not sure if this needs a prescription......
maybe when his tum feels better, he will want to eat.

yes youpi,
this is C1's first full day in school.
i m dashing down to fetch him later. will reach there by 5pm.

bbp
got to wait for his stomach to settle if not it will be worse. when jx had stomach flu, she ate very little and stopped eating and she got well very fast. when jh had stomach flu, he din wan to listen to us and still tried to be like normal and ended up in hospital. so maybe it's his own defense mechanism to cut back on eating so he will get well soon.

can he eat grapes? grapes are quite heaty. maybe give something more neutral like apples? can give glucose also if he dun wan to eat. more impt to keep hydrated.

some of u prob know liao but haiz...very very sad today cos lost one of my diamond earring. it is a fav and given by hubby and from lee hwa destinee collection so for lots of reasons it's pretty precious to me. heartening thing is that jh wants to buy me a new pair of earrings to comfort me and jx prayed that i will be able to find it. so really hoping this prayer gets answered!!!

Cellow,
Thanks, have started feeding him some probiotics already. Thanks to SY's iherb, I have ready supply of that at home.

SY,
Thanks for the advise. He's already stopped throwing up, so I figured it's time to eat. But I guess you're right cos he just went to the toilet just now and his poop is definitely not back to normal yet. Can give bananas? Read online and apparently there's a BRAT diet - Bananas, Rice, Applesauce (whatever this is), Toast.

DD
lol on your church bells. the civil defence will cry if they read what you said. lol.

pb
you go out when the cleaner comes? er, then how does the cleaner lock up and all that?

sy
oh dear! is it really gone? not lost somewhere at home where there's still a chance to find it? cheer yourself up by looking at more and bigger carat earrings okay? pat pat

lactofort
can just get from pharmacy. really very good for settling the kids' watery diarrhea.

dor
i came in and saw your post first and that unassembled ikea chair had me laughing till my sides split. i have that same man in my house! when we were packing to move, i put all these things in a huge pile as these were stuff he bought/brought back but they stayed in their packaging for the past 3 years. and when i asked him what he wanted to do with them, he denies that they are his!

and also, when i finally unpacked all the boxes and even got the moving co to come collect them back (so the house is totally box-free), i asked him 'don't you notice something different?' and he said 'i know, you cut your hair?'

sigh.

bbp
i think toast is good. i usually give her bread and if D is ok, take porridge water. good to settle stomach.

dustee
hmm, i think it's pretty gone..sigh.. will turn the room upside down today.

Dor,
Hahaha your kids are cute!!!But isn't it so nice to receive so much love from them?

SY,
*pat pat* Oh dear! Look around some more maybe it's just misplaced. Your kids are so sweet.

BBP,
Emma have just recovered from the stomach flu. She took Lacteolfort as well, and we were advised to not give her any milk, or if it's a must, must dilute the milk. So she ate porridge everyday keke. Try making porridge with Japanese/Korean rice, It'll turn out thick and really2 nice.

Her stool is not normal for around 5 days, so we continued giving her porridge, yoghurt, yakult, chicken soup and also banana and apple, which are good for diarrhea. If Declan likes bread, that'll be good as well. Emma is a little difficult, cuz she doesn't like to eat bread. Hope Declan is getting better!

dustee,
dor makes your laugh. YOU make me laugh. That line that Mr dustee gave on you cutting your hair? Simply hilarious!

SY,
Yup, I'm giving him bread. That's at least something he will want to eat occasionally. As for porridge water, I'm giving him that too. It's just so... non-substantial la.
Haiz....
And then he just goes "I'm so tired, I want to sleep." the whole of Saturday and Sunday. Plus the skeletal frame of his and his big eyes on his big head (reminds me of those underweight Hollywood actress).. breaks my heart.

Haha yeah I know it's the civil defense testing out their emergency pa system...glad they use church bells instead of some loud blaring siren..always strain to listen out for it if I remember..quite enjoy it though I wish it was longer and not faded out halfway like that (like requesting for song on radio..can imagine them rolling their eyes at my comment)

Dustee.. U got me in a big grin too with ur hb's comment on your hair (not house) haha

Poor dec! He's actually not skinny looking wat, BBP... Just small sized... Like bbG against the girls on thurs (my Sis had to point out n laugh since he was the boy among the roses). Hope he gets well soon...

civil defence church bells
ya i'm glad it's not the POW! POW! POW! or ORRR! ORRR! ORRR! sounds

dustee
your hair comment is super funny! our PT cleaner is my parents' FT cleaner. they're quite ok with her coming to our place 1 saturday a month to clean, and we pay her. they insist that she goes on a normal 'work' day instead of her off day
i've known her since i was in my teens so trust her alot so she has my key.

DD
Yah am already doing everything myself but that room that he uses....is really an eye sore lor haha.
And I was grumbling just now when I had to keep the iron n ironing board he took out to use yesterday but never kept. N not seeing it there now makes me feel better and I finally bathed the poor dog with the kids and I found my lost earring and and hubby said he'll be back in awhile so we can go ikea n do exchange. Yippee!!!

Spread my happy mood instead of spreading my rants.

Cellow
C1 might surprise you. They always do

Hmmm nope we never have couple time cos he dun even have enough time to stay home or be with the kids. The only alone time that we may have is when the kids sleep but then.......he'll either already be asleep before the kids did or he'll be nodding his head off and never hear a word of what I'm discussing with him or he'll be watching his youtube and also not hearing a word I say.

PB
Wah I should have seen this earlier cos it was washing day today. Then they could have helped us wash them all away hahaha

Youpi
Sigh I feel you. I always try to throw out stuff lying too long then when I cannot find stuff I'll panic!!!

N my hubby......has 1 big Ikea box in his room n asked for 2 more to "pack" his stuff that are like a mountain(really mountain, not hill) on that bx. So I had to hold my temper n ask. How bl***y long have you not touched those things(including the box)?? He tot a few sec n ans.....VERY LONG. Then keep for WHAT!!!!

Oh yah and when I asked him to pack his stuff, he told me he need to check 1st before throwing out the letters n bills. What letters!!! I was talking abt his MOUNTAIN!!!! Not the letters n bills in the drawers beside!!!

Church bells
Really?? They are civil defence bells?? I only started hearing them when I moved next to Salvation Army and now here next to church. SO I always tot they were church bells to mark the start of a new mth!!

Dustee
Your hubby comment abt the hair is so funny.....haha
I think guys do that!! Just to say something n hope they r right. Jus like I cleaned the whole black floor next to the dustbin/ washing machine and when I asked if he noticed anything different he said I cleaned the living room which is a total MESS!!!

SY
I just found a missing earring!! I tot it was gone for good and pretty sure it was lost outside. Even checked my bag totally twice!! And jus now I just saw it on my bed!!! Just there!!! And I jus refilled the wetwipe I bring out so it must have dropped inside somewhere there.
Hope you find yours soon.

SD
Yah I love it when they come kiss and hug me but ofcos the complains and quarrels throughtout the day too.......sigh....

dor
quick one - your ikea thing is as old as D? err... exchange policy is only for 100 days. with original receipt. i think your receipt must have faded away liao! hehe

oh and hope you are feeling better now!

PB
Nope, it's older then D. We bought it after we moved in I think it's 1 yr older then D. If u remember the translucent white high chair (not for kids kind). Eyed that chair for awhile before we bought it n well.......it's still there in 1 piece. Haha

We just went to return n get a refund for the wrongly bought shelves. Got back $40 and the actual shelves only cost us $10. Really omg.

Thanx for asking, yup better. I even assembled the shelves we bought on Sunday. Sigh think I am Lao Lu Ming haha.

dor,
C1 surprised me... he was surprisingly ok when he came back fm school last evening. more mabuk... but i think that's due to shortened sleeping time more than anything else.
anyway today he is not going to school as he had been coughing through the night. the cold started on sat, and backflow of mucus causes the cough (know how it works, as that often happens to me too)

SY,
try this spell 'Accio Earring!' hehe.
on a more serious note.... keep looking. JH is really sweet to offer to buy you another
awwww.

SD,
oh dear. hope Emma is all recovered now.

pb,
sounds. Mr C and I disagree on what sound a boat makes too. he says tis splash splash (does he think they are ducks or smthing!?!?!) and i think tis BOOOOORRRR

i vote Mr Dor and Mr Dustee anyhow-hantam-and-hope-i-m-right champions! super funny!

Lol on splish splash boat. Sounds very english prep school somehow

"I say old chap, that boat does make a glorious splish splash sound doesn't it?"

And then enter PB with her market singlet and slippers, "ships say BORRRRR!!!"

Don't worry too much with C1 and his naps in sch. After some time he'll realise that it's nap time for everyone and will just fall asleep on his own with them.

Yesterday was such a lovely hot day so we rounded up the kids in our estate and slapped on their swimsuits and had a water fight!!! The kids really enjoyed themselves
and this mummy too hehe. Very quickly it became "attack auntie's camera!" Hahahah

LOL and shortly behind PB comes cellow.... sans makeup with messy hair in market singlet and shorts outfit, blue and white ah pek slippers .... "Ships say BORRRRRRR!!!"
accompanied by a sniff and a thumb swipe under the nose.

the pixs on your blog make me wish i were there to join in the fun!

maid gek me again
1) i asked her to halve the cherry tomatoes for salad. was latching c2 in the hall. i wanted a drink fm the kitchen, so went inside. guess what? she was munching on the cherry tomatoes. on top of that, can tell me "mdm, v sweet, these tomatoes" i diam diam but she can def tell i m not happy.
but she made up for it almost immediately by cutting up the cherries that i gave to her, put into an ikea plastic bowl for C2 to eat.
(at least she knows she has been caught red handed)

2) she asked to go out to buy her top up phone card on sunday after her chores were done and volunteered to bring C2 along since he woke up from his nap. i normally say yes, but this time, all her little bits of sass came back to me... so i asked her "eh, i thought you were on leave 2 weeks ago? ur topup finished so fast"
she replied that the intl portion of her topup is finished and she did not manage to buy the card on her off day. i nodded sagely and said "on your next off day, since you normally come back ~15-20mins before our agreed time, pls walk over to 7-11 to buy the topup before you come back"

i dun really mind the tomatoes or the time taken to buy the topup. but i do need to remind her that those are not rights, but privileges. she has been taking matters into her own hands, time to pull in the reins and remind her who is the actual mistress of this household.

Mr C thinks i m making smthing out of nothing. i disagree. minor sassiness, if not checked, can and will turn into outright insubordination. sekali later she thinks mdm very shui bian, anything also can.... hmmmmph.

and these behaviours are considered not too bad already. haiya... maids. FTWMs cannot live without them, but they bring their own sets of worries.