(2008/07) July 2008

Cellow
First that blog with the amazing bilingual 36-month old, and now 40 Chinese phrases?! Aaaaarrrrrrrrrgggggghhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!! Frankly, these days, if L speaks, I'm happy. He told me yesterday that when he says "huh" it means yes, and when he says "huh huh", it means no. See, not even three, and he's already regressed to middle-aged crisis caveman language.

PB
Thank you thank you! My 'hairstle' is courtesy of that brilliant Wahl shaving kit, which saw action again after the hairstylist at an expensive(!) salon did a bad job. I said okay to short, she chopped it off, then said "Wah your hair cannot be short, see it will puff up, must rebond."

Snack
Yes. My boys snack in the afternoon... and in the morning... they're usually eating something every two hours or so.

DD
Try acupuncture? I did that for a sprained ankle. It worked better than the GP, who offered painkillers.

Ooh wonder how dustee is looking lately..

I liked your pixie hair (like Halle berry) hAir best, Youpi..andthat was one your amazing DIY creations!

I tried acupuncture for my painful post preggie wrists but t didn't work.. In fact once he got the wrong pressure points and I almost passed out on the spot!

I want new hair too!

youpi,
Maybe you can open a salon at your own home. I will be your first customer!

dd,
Eh no. I haven't gotten anything from SY yet. And she has some stuff at my place that she hasn't collected from me yet. Haha.

Pb
Thanks for pickin up my stuff, will sms u..
Erm, MOE has guidelines of the ratio. U may check their website. Sld be 8:1

As for e file, i go thru each checked item with teacher. Cos their interpretation and what i assumed is diff.
Eg; toilet training, the teacher ticked yes. I said kayden is not able to indicate when he wan to pee or poo. But she meant kayden is able to pee when bein brought to e loo. I dont count it as toilet training in my book.

Snack
Kayden takes a small bowl of noodles or pasta when he comes home frm sch at 3pm and then after shower he goes to bed with a bottle of milk..

Youpi
Yes u shld start a hair salon. We mummies come patronise and u give discount can???

cellow
thanks for the yummy recommendation for lunch!

i never walk to that part of vivo for some reason....

bbp
haha, yes i m really slow. will drop by the stuff soon...
i really need to get down to doing it.

DD
will pass your stuff to bbp as well.

Pb
my kids dun have consistent snack time. it's as and when they like. in fact they always snack after dinner!!!

Smiggle
Eh you sure you dare to leave your looks and your locks in my hands? Remember, to me, it's just hair and it will grow? :p

Bbp
You are most welcome to come over and try out the shaving kit, really!

DD
Oh wow, thank you for mentioning Halle Berry and me in the same sentence, and in a positive way! *muacks muacks*

Kids in school
Maybe it's different for those in childcare and those in kindy. L's teacher said the kids could just play, no pressure on them, and I agree with her. He has a communication book that is very empty 'cos I see the teacher and talk to her everyday. Think his class has 18/20 children, 2 teachers, one English one Chinese.

Thai Accent
Is the food very spicy? We went for dim sum at Crystal Jade, one of the boys' favourites.

PB
u forgot, we have dinner at 7.30pm

and then last bottle of milk at 10pm.

Youpi
if the results are like yours, why not???

Thai Accent
never seen it at vivo before leh...

morning!

I survived a plane ride with the boys and the maid sans Mr C. Am at the ILs' now and thinking enviously of Mr C who must be sleeping in. Ah well, I took leave to train the boys to sleep tog.... but I chickened a bit, ask maid to sleep with me. So C1 and I slept on the bed, C2 and maid on the floor. Ok la, except when C1 fell off the bed at 11pm, cried big noisy tears and woke C2 up. Chaos. But hey I survived that too

Big pat on back to myself!

Is maid with u at IL's? Enjoy your time with the boys and go take a nice stroll for fresh air! R u ST kampung-side or city area?

PB: I think 24:2 is too big. Even for K2s who are more abled, teacher student ratio is 2:22, they can stretch to 24 and that is max. The ideal for our kids' ages is 2:12, stretching to 14 is fine. I know some schools has one class, 16, but 3 teachers.

Snack time: I still give Gwyn yoghurt with bun, biscuits, muffins or pies, whatever I have at home. Sometimes, instead of yoghurt, she drinks fresh milk or Milo.

Cellow: that scary file of C1 sounds really scary? G1's is a small thin exercise book- half for 1st half of the year and the other for 2nd half of the year. They assess according to "can do, can do with help and cannot do". At the end of it, the teacher will summarize a write-up about the child. Quite parent friendly, doesn't have "know 40 phrases of Chinese words".

HI HI - hope everyone's having a wonderful weekend..here's the latest party list..who else wanna join?

Birthday bash
Big birthday bash
23 July 2011
Potluck @ Botanic Gardens
5 to 7pm
> will order cupcakes for all the july toddlers (and those who want one for the sibling, pls let me know!)
>> can someone volunteer to bring drinks

1) Cin_bunny - Fruits
2) youpi
3) jace
4) Jo (homemade pizza)
5) smiggleprincess
6) SD (sandwiches and sausages)
7) bbp (2 adults & 1 child bringing Beancurd Chicken)
8) Qing
9) bbG
10) bluey (2 kids bringing fishballs)

1) Cin_bunny - Fruits
2) youpi
3) jace
4) Jo (homemade pizza)
5) smiggleprincess
6) SD (sandwiches and sausages)
7) bbp (2 adults & 1 child bringing Beancurd Chicken)
8) Qing
9) bbG
10) bluey (2 kids, I will bring Drinks instead)

Helllooo!!!! Happy Monday?

You would think moving house is stressed already? Wait till you have to move house, manage two other households, tenancy matters, Reno matters (I sacked my I:D last week), removal of furniture etc etc. Very very stressed.

Thank goodness I found my old and trusted ID in the end so now a bit better but still negotiating the cost and I am shifting in next Friday AND no work has started yet. Stressed!

And I have not settled eboy's birthday plans yet so the poor boy may end up not getting any party at all this year if the jelly cake cannot arrive to school in time.

Did I say I am very stressed?!?

Pb, the teacher:children ratio seems very very high leh!

Cellow, eboy's also got his mid year report card and he got mostly C loh.... The father could not chill and he been drilling him every night to learn words until take cane out must sit still type... Sigh. These few weeks busy with new house so he start to chill a bit. But must give the father credit for teaching eboy all the independent skills, he can now brush teeth, bathe and wear and take out his clothes independently already... We just stand one side to watch and help once a while....

At berries, eboy had recognized many chinee words and slowly speaking Chinese as well..

I dunno is it cos birthday approaching but I see eboy suddenly learn many things.. Last night he read a book on his own and narrated the story to me... I think the show and tell segment in his school taught him that.. He's a little drama mama, I tell you!

michelle
brush his teeth by himself? wow....even i have to brush jh's teeth to make sure it's clean. the dentist told me to brush for him to make sure it's clean. but good job to your hb for teaching him so many things!! haha my hb once in a while teach jx also take cane...

cellow
congrats on surviving!!! how do u intend to train them to sleep tog? recently i also started to make the kids sleep by themselves on their bed. cross my fingers that they dun come to my bed anymore!

He's like such a big boy now, you know? Like these few nights he will decide that he is tired, he will climb down our bed, say good night to bothof us, took his milk and went into his room and head to bed, on his own. Caught us by surprise, wah... So good boy, walk in to sleep by himself... My little one has really grown up so muc... *sniff*

Hi ladies! Sorry got to give the big bash a miss!!

1) Cin_bunny - Fruits
2) youpi
3) Jo (homemade pizza)
4) smiggleprincess
5) SD (sandwiches and sausages)
6) bbp (2 adults & 1 child bringing Beancurd Chicken)
7) Qing
8) bbG
9) bluey (2 kids, I will bring Drinks instead)

Mich, hmmm like SY, i will bring xun gal's teeth to ensure that it is clean. She will still insist on brushing it herself everytime.

Toilet training, she is still partially trained, because she still needs the diaper to poo on. Just dont understand why. Everytime she wants to poo, she will say 'my poo poo is coming out, quick.' then runs off to take her cheapo diaper. -_- and she will squat at a corner so that no one can see her.

But i have to agree with Mich, they just suddenly decided to grow up. Its so much fun just being with xun gal! I enjoy doing lots of stuff with her!

Last Sat was her birthday and I did quite a couple of stuff for the kiddos that came. As it was a all girls (kids) party, I made pink princess crowns and bracelets for each of them. So super proud of myself because all of them love these gifts!! Considering that its the first time i do such craft for a party, its not bad! *caught some of PB's craft bugs - like just 1% only*

Cellow, wow good job!!!!

Mich
Wow that is amazing progress! Kudos to you and your hb for spending time and energy to teach and guide Eboy

Cellow
Whoo-hoo! Big pat on the back for you too!

Jace
SOunds like you did a great job!

All the mummies here are wonderful!

Yes it sounds as if I am high on something - it's lack of sleep ;p But really, you girls are all supermums

haha Youpi u made me break into a grin..hang in there you true blue super mummy

Eboy sounds amazing...must tell mr mich to cut him some slack. BbG can't even fall asleep without me patting him (he goes: mummy put down your phone and cover my eyes with one hand and pat me with the other) got me wrapped round his finger surely

Can't think of what to bring to BG on sat..

MATA MATA!
Ok girls, just a quick one. Police Heritage Centre is CLOSED on Mondays and I think our original date was 25 Jul right? So we have to change date. Can I suggest 28 Jul please? Thurs. Should be late pm like 4pm liddat. Please let me know by WED 20 JUL if you are keen!

http://www.spf.gov.sg/sites/spfheritage/contactus.htm

25 Jul Police Heritage Centre @ Irrawady Rd (NOT Cantonment Complex)

1) PB

Free and easy (macam on holiday) or guided tour, cos noticed they r closed at 5pm?

Posted on Monday, July 18, 2011 - 9:05 pm:       
MATA MATA!
Ok girls, just a quick one. Police Heritage Centre is CLOSED on Mondays and I think our original date was 25 Jul right? So we have to change date. Can I suggest 28 Jul please? Thurs. Should be late pm like 4pm liddat. Please let me know by WED 20 JUL if you are keen!

25 Jul Police Heritage Centre @ Irrawady Rd (NOT Cantonment Complex)

1) PB
2) bbG

DD
i think it's a 1.5 hour tour, so yikes. we have to meet at 330. i think it's guided. once i get an idea of how many people are going then i can give them a call to find out more ok?

hello mummies!

just a quick question. now that i've moved, do i need to change pomfret's address too? coz it's on the birth cert? do i need to go inform police or something? i already went to the police post to update the address on my ic. but just wondering how pomfret's will be updated (like when mcys needs to send me letter telling me i got money!)

cda
so speaking of money, which bank, stanchart or ocbc, did you choose to open the cda in? i don't know how to choose! i personally have accounts in both banks and i am ambivalent about either. how?

mich
of coz you're stressed!!! gosh, how come you're moving in so fast, i mean, even before the reno and all that? i hope it's coz the new house is in brand new condition and you're just tweaking some designs?

Dustee,
Promfret is 3yo already .. and u have not open a cda?
U can only choose 1 bank and to open cda, u need to post a letter given at athe hospital when we gave birth.. Then u need to sent the letter and get a letter which will entitle u to open the cda..

Hi super mummies, Sorry got to give the big bash a miss!!
all weekends burnt till end of the month! will catch you guys another time.

1) Cin_bunny - Fruits
2) youpi
4) smiggleprincess
7) Qing
8) bbG

Posted on Monday, July 18, 2011 - 9:05 pm:       
MATA MATA!

28 Jul Police Heritage Centre @ Irrawady Rd (NOT Cantonment Complex)

1) PB
2) BbG
3) Jo

No more 25 jul right? I changed the date to the suggested one- 28 jul. Am fine with Thurs pm. PB, thanks for organizing.

CDA acc: Dustee, me too, haven't open any CDA for G1. The last time not required so didn't do it. But for G2, I opened the account with Stan chart, simply because they are at the places I usually go to. I received the letter but haven't done anything.

1) Cin_bunny - Fruits
2) youpi
4) smiggleprincess (chips)
7) Qing
8) bbG

E Sq
Have you opened the CDA for E1 yet? I sent the letter back to MCYS already but have not received the letter for account opening yet. Deadline is end of this month for our older ones, right?

Mich
Om om om... I know you're terribly busy but wish I was in your shoes though, choosing stuff and decorating a new house. So fun!

Youpi
Me too, always wanna move and re-do house hehe. Some hollywood celebs do it as a hobby - buy a house, decorate, sell

Smiggle
There is a stationery shop in plaza sing basement called Smiggle!

mich
yeah our kiddos all grown up! soemtimes so surprised by them. yesterday i reached home late and jh just ignored me and continued playing games with my mum. jx went down with me and sat beside me talking to me while i eat my dinner. so sweet!!!

wow your house reno really stressful.

dustee
u dun need to change promfret's add. when i moved, i only changed mine and hb. anyway their things would be tied to one of ours so just make sure we change ours.

Jacelyn
Wah you so good!! Princess party huh...hehe

Michelle
Wow Eboy can bath by himself? He can reach his back?? I've been making my #1 bath on his own but he won't be able to wash his own back kind lor......sigh

youpi
Dealine is still quite far away. I just received the letter for D last week.
Okie the letter states that for kids born in '05, have to open the acct before 31 Dec 2011. Becos the acct will be closed on 31Dec 2011 and balance transfered to Post-secondary Edu Acct.
Credit will be paid into CDA acct the following mth after opened.

I'm in the mist of transforming my pet room into the kids' play room. And boy am I excited.....and super tired. Cleaned till 2am last night and my arms and legs feel like they are dropping off. And I'm not done yet!! Not sure how long it would take cos we have never cleaned the room and its full of dust and chinchilla fur which is all over the little bit of stuff we have inside.
And leaving my hubby incharge of the room and the chin since D was born means now I am also throwing out lots of old, empty, useless stuff plue washing and cleaning sutff that was supposed to be clean years ago. Oh and did I mention before I started cleaning the room I had to clean the whole kitchen toilet so I could wash the stuff too, cos hubby made it into a museum(can see cannot touch)........sigh

BEST of all I am doing it all ALONE!!! hehe became a rant again huh.

Okie I'm trying to not let this be a rant. I just want to know, really really want to know. Is there any hubbies who really are lazy to play with their kids??

I'm upset cos D is getting older and thinks of more things. Like how he seldom sees his dad in bed. And I had to u know "gek" my hubby by saying things like "how old is your kids but how many times have they wake up with you beside them? And do you even feel guilty when your kid gets sooo happy when he finally find you in bed with them 1 sunday morn?" And I had to do it like lots and lots of time and yrs before finally (gotta give him a tiny bit of credit) now he does not go to work on some sundays so they can wake together.

But I guess it was not enough, cos that day D asked me why his dad didn't be a teacher. I asked him why?? And his reply saddens me.
He said that if his dad was a teacher, he could tell the kids not to come to sch. He could say it was holiday, then he can be home to play with him. When I told my hubby about it, he had no reaction. I mean it was how much his son wants him to be at home, to play with him. And that was his reaction???
And when he is home, his idea of being with the kids is letting them watch the useless cartoon videos he bought and while they watch(after their bedtime) he sleeps. Even after I had told him and D that I will not allow D to watch tv or shows, movies on the ipad or computer. Cos D's eyes now blinks quite frequently again and I am trying to correct again. He still did it that night I told him abt what D said.
And he can tell me he already "promised D" and it was too late to do anything else. I was so angry cos there are lots of things and he's just giving and excuse. I told the kids straight that if their dad let them watch shows again, HE will sleep outside and went to take my bath.
After I came out, he was reading books to them but I was still not really appeased. Becos it was becos I was angry that he did that. N not for the kids, he didn't do it for the kids but cos I was angry and pissed.

I really really wonder why?? Does it not hurt him when he knows his son longs for him to be home more and play with him more?? I'm hurt, I'm sad but there's nothing I can do becos the only thing I can do for D is be with him cos I can't make his dad do it.

Pat pat dor!!

Some dads have different ideas on what spending quality time mean, the less they interact, the less they would know what they missing out on! They are not as sentimental as us mah....

Take one small step at a time, I think one way to get started is to go out. Send father and son downstairs to buy milk. Take shower together,brush teeth together....

Actually I should share with you eboy and the father's experience. Long long ago, the interaction between them was so minimal cos he prefers to watch soccer, surf net, and interact only when I am around and rarely one on one, and when it comes to tasks I have to do everything. So one day I was feeling tired I get him to brush eboy's teeth, then somehow the toothbrush dropped and eboy started laughing, so hubby repeated it and they laughed and laughed. The next day, eboy wanted only the father to brush his teeth, that made him feel wanted. I think that changed their interaction. They have dedicated activities they do together every night and no one can replace, like brush teeth, bathe etc eboy only wants papa...

So my point is, dun rush into it and dun get too depressed. Bonding requires two parties and which father doesn't want to bond with his son? I suspect he doesn't know how so start by creating opportunities for unique activities that only he does, like go bike ride, or something you can think of.....

Big bash..what else do u all feel like eating? Still clueless abt what to bring...maybe fishballs?

Dor...ur hb sounds like my BIL..and a chunk of mine (on the tv n forbidden bits Arrgh)...good ideas from mich.. I cut some slack and allow tv n games with dad if he finishes milk or like once each nite..n they have bonded that way too (he prefers to play games with dad over me now cos I'm boring dull mom)

LOL on your hb's museum.. Did Teddy get along with ur chin previously?

Jace: did u get an orange coloured mailer abt oPening a CDA acc for lixun so Cheng Hu can give u money? $300-400 ..there's a form inside u need to complete n send back so they can give u an authorization letter tO go oPen the bank acc with either standchart or OCBC

jace
wow a crafty party! cool!!

oh i am so tired. poppy caught a viral fever from school and we've been having this little coughy girl with drippy nose and fever since sunday. for the first time, panadol did not help with fever, and i had to sponge her.

it sucks when kids are sick and there's nothing you can do to make them feel better. i suppose frowning with worry with every cough doesn't help.

mata
any more?

Michelle
My hubby is only home like 2 hrs a day for dinner during week days and half day on sunday kind lor. Only once a week he doesn't go to work at night. That's why D sort of wish his dad was home more often.

DD
My hubby is really like a kid. Like 1 who "YaHOO!! Mum's not home" kind. When he lets the kids watch video is like watch till I say "EHh its already 1am!!!!" and yah he is sleeping lah jus that D is not. N D's eyes I'm worried cos keep blinking frequently. N ofcos Im the only 1 whose worried lah.
Oh I previously have female chinchillas who will spray pee if kanna pissed or disturbed and 1 very naughty girl chin who will 'fight'. So I dun let teddy go to their room. Now left 1 lonely old boy and they dun bother each other....haha

Whoa! I can imagine the girl chins ganging up and scaring tiny Teddy! Haha

Poor poPpy..get well soon! Going on a cruise soon right?

Get well soon so that you can go journey on the high seas, Poppy!

On that note, 7 kids in my boys' kindy have HFMD. My two are fine. But are the Sat BG Birthday Bash mummies okay with us appearing? If not we'll stay away, just in case. Let me know, k?

Dor Dor
*pat pat* S will ask my hb, "Are you staying overnight today?" Shows how often they see him, huh? Thanks for the CDA update!

youpi
lol @ S's comment!

dor
i get innocent looks from hubby like "but she asked to eat ice cream/watch tv/play with the flame thrower". so yes, i am mum to him as well and have to explain nicely and patiently that he is also a parent while poppy is a THREE YEAR OLD

yes yes we are going on a cruise this friday! and she's on the road to recovery, thanks folks

funny thing - decided to keep her out of school today as well so she can rest. so after breakfast and quick trip to supermarket, she was playing with the lock of our main door. then she said "mama, cannot close". i realised that she had locked it while the door was still open. so i explained that the door could only be locked when it's closed, and proceeded to demonstrate..... and in that movement, i locked us in the house. the lock is now broken. we are under house arrest.

mata visit - CONFIRMED
28 Jul 4.30pm Police Heritage Centre @ Irrawady Rd (NOT Cantonment Complex)

it's called "who wants to be a policeman" visit. it'll be one hour :D so fun!!! let's meet at 4.10pm at novena mrt station then we can walk over ok? there is NO PARKING available. after that dinner together at novena?

1) PB
2) BbG
3) Jo
4) BBP
5) cin bunny

can you please sms me your full names and IC numbers? adults only (as in mums, and if any dads want to join), kids don't need.

cellow in kuching checking in! i m waving white flag for making the boys sleep tog. C2 decided to wake up every hour from 2am onwards, and that woke C1 up too. my brain is full of cotton wool clouds.

dor,
pat pat!
maybe u also talk to him, tell him that his contribution is not only monetary, and later you also want to be close to D and E rite. sm HBs of SAHMs think contribute $ enuf liao, after all their wives are contributing time to the kids wat.. so duh! then like mich says, create chances for them to do activities tog... no, TV doesnt count.

jace,
wonderful to discover your craft-y fingers - yay for you!

youpi,
LOL at S's comment.... have you got over your high... it seems to be catching here in kuching.

dustee,
why are you insomniac?
I havent got anything back fm cheng hu yet after i sent the CDA form for C1 a couple of weeks back. no hurry la.

pb,
enjoy the cruise.

iherb other stuff food review
the vivaldi ginger choc is good! should buy... i highly recommend it

the quinoa choc chip cookies are so-so and they are expensive. only 12 cookies in a USD 4.79 bag. not worth.
havent opened the blueberry lavendar choc and chilli choc yet. will do so when i get home this sat.

PB
glad to hear that poppy is better. if not it will be such a disappointing cruise...

dor
sounds like your hb is really making you fume! i think most hb really do think that way...they are contributing $ so they do the easy stuff like watch tv etc with the kids. last time when i was SAHM my hb pretty hands off. now that i m working i keep drilling into him to do his fair share. and he does recog that it's not very fair that he comes back late from work...but still waiting for the action from him.

i think also need to be encouraging. my hb does say that i dun encourage him enough! so take small steps, lots of praise, and get the kids to 'force' him to be involved. u know, my hb dun like to go first service on sun but he has been going every week cos the kids wake him and wan him to go.

cellow
oh no, sounds bad. never mind, can try again....

hmmm u make me so tempted on the choco!! haha will take note of what's good!