(2008/07) July 2008

SY and cellow
Can I drop in for lunch too? SY, can bring my iherb loot? I'll pay you then as well - let me know how much ok?

Good luck with your BP, bbp!

Hello mummies!!

First of all, Happy Birthday to all the kids of the July 2008 Mummies thread!

Emma's birthday is also very simple. She attended birthdays before but I think she only thought of it as blowing birthday candles. I didn't even brought her presents last year since I bought her random toys throughout the year.

This year I made some cupcakes and brought it to school and had her helped me in sticking the cupcake topper and also compiling the stuffs for the party packs. We also bought presents, nicely wrapped so she can open them herself.

Dordor
My problem is the same as you cuz sometimes she wants to go to the restroom at odd times. Sometimes she said she wants to do the big business so we got so busy preparing the things for her to sit on, only to be told: No Poo mummy! HAIZZZZZ

Mummies whom have gone to SAM
I'm planning on going tml but wasn't sure abt the entrance fee. Can we buy the tickets over at the counter or die die have to buy from sistic? Notice that there is a regular price at $4. What does that mean by regulars?

DD, PB, Bbp, Jo, Smiggle
Did you all already plan to visit the police museum on 25 July? If so, please go on. The season ends at the end of July right? Hb said he'd rather bring the boys to the Bird Park so that's what we'll be doing to celebrate L's bday. No party. We'll raincheck that to next year, hehe!

Qing
Can buy tickets over counter at SAM. Usually no queue. Our kids go free. Free admission for ALL on fridays 6-9pm

Sorry mummies. Youpi just reminded me about police station. I've yet to call! Been so busy la. Can we atart a new list pls.

I'm open for dates but mondays are best. Should be about 4pm at police cantonment complez.

1) PB

Hi mummies. Just a quick update. I have just bought my new place (after searching high and low for one to either rent or buy and for the past half a year!) ... and so now i am very broke! boo hoo! Praying that everything will turn out well!! Pretty scary to owe the bank so much! *and hence better buck up and start working to keep my job!!*

Jac,
Congrats!! Where did u buy?
Today I register my boy for p1 and my boys will be studying there for next 20years.. So hb is thinking of buying another condo or landed there but mainly 99 years.. But not sure how are the prices there
and I dun want to sell my thomson view coz near my mom's place and free hold..

How are the property prices now?

Youpi: yes, am interested in the police station visit. Will join them.

Police!
1) PB
2) bbG
3) Jo

Sy: me gatecrash for lunch can? My kitchen and housekeeping departments are closed on Fridays!

eh jo,
SY and I plus PB are meeting on Thu, Vivocity, Thai Accent #02-145, 12 noon.
Not Friday wor.... when your kitchen and hsekeeping dept is closed

SAM children's season
ah, it ends this month! i m running out of time for C1 to visit!

Jace
Congrats! Where? So we have another housewarming to look forward to? *super not shy*

E Sq
Wow, 20 years? Which area are you considering? Your Thomson View is a nice location!

Cellow
I'm planning to bring the boys to SAM on Friday afternoon. Want to go together?

youpi,
if i were not already in Kuching on Fri afternoon, i would join you! but now, unable to.... appreciate the offer

wahhahhah. joins the *super not shy* club of self inviting to Jace's hse warming

and once C2 gets over his egg allergy, all of you can be super not shy too and invade my place for kolo mee. the tradnal dry style, not the soupy one that i brgt to BG. right now, i m not so saintly.... i cannot bear to eat with the nose and not with my mouth! kolo mee has egg as one of the ingredients. boohoo

wah didn't know you have been refraining from kolo mee! and whoa.. u brought soupy one to bg previously? think i left before the yummy kolo mee arrived... so still have yet to try your coveted one!

lao char bor me sprained my foot over the weekend and was hopping around (faster than hobbling!) and someone wanted me to send him to school instead of the granny.. so came and said to me gingerly: mummy... can you skip to school with me please? hahahahahha

Holding a garage sale for used furniture, all have to go, selling cheap cheap. on 23 Jul weekend.

Anyone keen, PM me for address. Items for sale include:

1. 4-door national fridge in good working condition ($50)
2. National washing machine in good working condition ($30)
3. L-Shaped fabric 3-seater sofa in good condition ($200)
4. Round Dining table with lazy susan, granite top with 6 chairs ($100)
5. Square coffee table with granite top ($50)
6. Rectangle coffee table with granite top ($50)
7. Queen size bed frame with dark blue cushion back support ($80)
8. AIBI treadmill in good working condition ($200)
9. simple writing table beech ($10)
10. Billy book shelf (Beech) ($10)

PM me for details!!!!!

Yup youpi,
It's a good location.. Especially it's near my mom.. And I am lucky coz my tenant continue the rental after I bought over and he paid 20% higher and sign for 4years.. Therefore , we can't sell till 4years later. But we are fine with it..

jac,
congrats on your new house purchase. u got out of the West?

michelle,
is 4-door national fridge in good working condition ($50) still available?

dd,
take care and speedy recovery..too kan chiong to shop?

e sq,
where is your boy's p1? near your current home?

Kko kko Nara

Mich, jace and me will be at kko kko for lunch today at 12.30pm. Who wanna join pls holler? The more pple we have the more food we can order! Heh!

jace
where is your new place? congrats to getting your place!

Jo
sure
come and join us.

smiggle
i will leave about 1.15pm. if the rest can stay on, sure!

i can bring your things along

so thur lunch at vivo 12 noon thai accent
1. Cellow
2. SY
3. PB
4. Dustee
5. Jo
6. Smiggle

re kko kko nara
how i miss the chicken! but can't.....very busy at work.

dd,
alamak!

smiggle,
i need to leave abt 115pm too. dash back to work b4 i fly on fri. really splash and dash.

kko kko nara
oops. anyway celebrated C1's bday in school today.... pictures on FB in a while.

SY
Can you bring my iherb stuff on Thursday? I will go to Vivo to collect them from you, about 12+.

so thur lunch at vivo 12 noon thai accent
1. Cellow
2. SY
3. PB
4. Dustee
5. Jo
6. Smiggle
7. Youpi (not eating, just collecting stuff from SY)

hi SY - not sure if you received my sms..will also swing over to pick up iherb loot

thur lunch at vivo 12 noon thai accent
1. Cellow
2. SY
3. PB
4. Dustee
5. Jo
6. Smiggle
7. Youpi (not eating, just collecting stuff from SY)
8.cindy (not eating, just collecting stuff from SY)

btw SY.... Muacks for being the in house iherb organiser! that website is goooooood online retail eye candy. best is that i can tell myself these are for the little ones
hehe

Cellow/SY: Aiya, can't do Thurs. Thought I saw Friday!
Cellow, miss you again. Next time, join you all for lunch. You all enjoy, Thai accent is good!

Dd: ouch! Take care hope you are well soon. Need those Chinese bone setters' contacts?

PB: how much are the panda tickets, will trf to you.

any more? lai ah lai ah....

today's lunch at vivo 12 noon thai accent
1. Cellow
2. SY
3. PB
4. Dustee
5. Smiggle
6. Youpi (not eating, just collecting stuff from SY)
7.cinbunny(not eating, just collecting stuff from SY)

SY,
I will be bringing C1's school file for your comments pls. Know you researched a lot on schools b4 deciding for JH and JX so want to tap that expertise... I hestitated before typing file because it is a Thick Ring File with Many Pages. looks more like a portfolio to me. in my mind, tis Scary File.

Cellow
I think poppy has the same file I honestly don't think the teachers have the time to really analyse each kid and maybe they just pick out whatever is most obvious. Like in poppy's comm book, her teacher has written "there was an aeroplane outside and poppy pointed to it and said 'aeroplane!". Which is great but as people who spend more time with her, we as parents know she would probably have said much more like "look teacher k, an aeroplane! I take 3 aeroplanes, to visit x, x and x! Aeroplanes fly from airport!". But the teachers don't have the time to sit through the whole chunk of things our kids have to say and prompt for more conversation like we do, cos they have so many others to look after.

Which brings me to... Poppy's class has 24 kids now, 2 teachers. That sounds like a lot to me. Or am I being overly concerned?

PB,
overall i am happy that C1 has progressed. in fact, what i m most happy abt is a story when he was 2y4mo and comforted his crying classmate during a lantern carrying session (the teachers switched off the lights) with 'dun cry, see, look at the lantern'.

spoke briefly to his english teacher abt the file that it seems too soon for them to have checklists at N1. english teacher promptly proceeded to tell me - oh, this is nothing, wait till they get to kindy proper... there will be more acad standards to meet.

i ignore scary things like the developmental checklist where he is supposed to say 40 chinese phrases by now. simply.close.my.eyes. lalala. else i will run off screaming in horror again.

children need a childhood, not developmental checklists. ah well, the teachers can checklist... mama will just guide and love. amy chua tiger mama tactics? no thanks.

Talking about the file, Emma has one as well. Emma's school's evaluation is based on the following: social& emotional development, physical, cognitive, mandarin, music&speech&drama. This is done every term. Mostly photos and comments from the teachers.

I think nowadays it's just a must thing to do from the school to "show" the parents that they are observing the children and report back to the parents (after all, kindergarten is not cheap). Anyway, what the teacher did during the individual parents meeting was explaining to me every single pages she put on the file and told me what was happening etc, which I appreciate. I personally like talking to the teacher better than looking at the file.

40 chinese phrases? wow! The teacher said Emma rarely speaks Chinese. She mostly speak English mix with Bahasa lols. Ashley didn't speak a word of Chinese when she's in K1, look at her now, she speaks and read quite well. Not the best, but I'm ok with that.

They have show an tell all the time but I didn't really teach her how to cuz I just want her to enjoy school. She brought her dinosaurs everyday so I don't really know whether she talks about it at school during show and tell keke.

PB 24 kids with 2 teachers? that's quite a number. Emma's class has 12 kids with 2 teachers.

I can meet today but I till time is running out
maybe next time..

Dd,
Shall we meet sometime next week? To collect the cream from u

cellow
sure...good to share share what the schools do. haha i m no expert. in fact i think i have high expectations! soemtimes where i think the teachers fall short, i try to do it at home lor. like when i fail to see my gal recog colors in chinese, it was our topic of conversation for a week until she can tell me correctly the colors in chinese.

recently trying to get her to recog words of body parts. after 1 week of trying she can only do 'mouth' and 'hand' cos it's the simplest chinese words!

SD
i realise the kids go through phases. recently jx has been on a chinese speaking phase. once they enter that phase they pick up very fast one.

PB
i feel 24 kids with 2 teachers is quite a lot. 1 chinese and 1 english or 1 is the main teacher and 1 is helper?

i m going to watch harry potter on fri night!! excited cos it's been a long time since i went for a movie late at night...

pb, in the end it was just SY, you and me.....
actually ignoring the developmental checklist, Scary File is not so scary after all. yes the pictures plus crafts are great fun to look at

i m eating one of the yummy earth lollipops now :D

Cellow
Hehe I was considering doing that too
(lollipop I mean!). Poppy will have the very vanilla alphabet cookies for snack

Thanks again sy for consolidating and placing orders!

Smiggle
Ur loot is with me. We're not avail this evening and tomorrow evening. Sms to arrange pick up ok?

Curious
Do your kids still take pm snack? I always offer but sometimes I get rejected poppy and my telepathic channels are on different frequencies

PB,
What time and what do you consider afternoon snack?
I still give Dec milk at 3pm if he's not asleep by then, or after his nap if he wakes before 5pm. I may also offer him biscuits or fruit after that, but cut-off time is always 5pm cos I don't want it to affect his dinner. That's all.

hello!

pb cellow and sy
sorry in the end didn't join for lunch. had a big bag of stuff to pass to my friend and then she wanted to have lunch with me in the end (shy lah).

but yeah, with pomfret's school being in the afternoon, it's really been hard to try to meet anybody. coz lunch time usually means i need to get pomfret to nap. but today seemed okay coz she fell asleep in the stroller :p

pb
24 kids to 2 teachers is quite a lot. coz how does 1 adult give enough attention to 12 kids? was it always like that?

scary file
erm, so far pomfret has not had any file or 'evaluation'. but she's still mostly just playing and singing in school. i hope NOT to get any file any time soon. erm, guess she'll just have to work harder when she starts primary 1 (and hopefully by then the whole education system has been revamped!)

I dun even have a big fat file.. 40 Chinese phrases? Don't think bbG can even sum up 4..totally no idea how I'm gonna coach him in future..

Rena...wOrk's kinda crazy right now for me..but let me know when u can make it

SY: Chinese docs will do that painful massage to sprains right? Is my organic pasta with BBP too?

WAs thai accent yummy? Feeling hungry

Dustee
Hey you're looking really good! Like cellow says, you look happier
and lost weight too ya? The hair suits you too

Speaking of hair
Youpi's new hairstle is just fabulous