(2008/07) July 2008

Watch tv
Watch child tv program together, yes I consider quality time. Let child sit beside you watching ninja warrior, no I dun like it. I'll ask the adult to record it and watch after child sleeps. Sorry I dun consider watching adult shows with child seated beside you is consider quality time loh.. Catch 5mins of peak/highlights is ok. 1full hour, no no.

good morning.
yay, tgif!

haha mich,
mil will get off your back now.

sy,
depends on the man. most guys wont be. when Mr C watches TV, his entire attn is on the screen. can conc until C2 falls down and screams, then he will look up. grr.
however, one of my uncles managed to make even TV watching and book reading interactive. i rem when i was v small and he read fairy tales to me, lagi stress. bcz he would ask qns like 'how do you think the fairy godmother made herself dislike Snow White so much'. haiyoor. i was 3, mayb 4 yo.

Cellow,
thanks. You made me feel tons better. Hubby was lousy. That's all I'm going to say. Not even worth repeating.

Mich,
n the worse part is, I was the primary caregiver until a few days ago. N my fil LOVES to comment on how guai dec was whenever I ask them to babysit him.

Evil thought:
next time he comments that, I should say "yes, and he's always very guai in front of strangers too! Aiyoh, I need to go toilet! Haven't gone the whole day. "

michelle
i agree with u lor. my hb watches his show and my boy ends up watching it and liking it and he says it's bonding time...duh....

u know even my own parents and my hb will say that to me. that my children all very naughty when i m ard. it is a fact lor so dun get upset abt it. when they are older it will be better.

cellow
it dun sound liek C1 is stagnanting. it sounds like wanting attention......when jx was born, jh went thru a stage too that he will regress to doing more bb stuff. but it will pass eventually as the big boy tag will be more attractive after a while. also we linked certain privileges to the fact that he is older and can only have them when he is big boy (like sweet treats etc)

u wan to take over my fish oil?

bbp
i think your il dun really mean it that way. maybe they are tryign to tell dec that u love him so he must be a better boy. u know hor, sometimes i say that to my kids leh. like when they are really taking advantage of my love and tolerance, i will tell them off that when i treat them so nice, they give me more crap so i won't treat them so nice anymore.

SD
the problem is my hb watches his drama serials! how to stop him? even when i m trying to read with the kids, he still turn on the tv and the kids get so distracted by it.....

Michelle
At least your MIL listens to you. Some MILS would just go on and on and on.

children misbehaving when parents are around
I agree with this too. My mom always said Emma is sooo nice when we are at work. When we're around she started to act out. She wants this, wants that, screams, runs, refuses to sleep and sometimes eat.

SY
Hmm ya that could be the problem. Mr SD likes watching discovery/national geographic/history channels kind, so it's mostly ok. But when he watches that sometimes he also didn't care about the kids, he will glance to the kids once in a while. If he can't take it he will bring the them out of the room to play or he will disappear to another room to watch tv.

Hmm lately Emma has been watching Gods of Honours when my mom is watching every afternoon. It's like a fantasy period drama and she likes it very much cuz she saw a man with 3 eyes, and a man that looks like a bird kekeke..

hugs to michelle and bbp (even though i cant read the chinese characters!! :D). I dont stay with my in laws and only see them 3 times a year so we have a hi bye relationship..they wont dare say anything about my style of parenting. hehe.

echo cellow on TGIF! my CL left yesterday so no more honeymoon period for me..thankfully mini bean behaved and slept well at night - only woke up at 3 for milk. heng! but big bean got blocked nose so woke up many times..$%&^%&^%^

TV and toddlers - we dont have cable so it's usually you tube and sesame street videos on a rainy day.

happy weekend mummies!

i wish i had a hi bye relationship with my ils too!
more a bye i hope!

bbp
pat pat

mich
hey good for you! hey your mum and your mil has such a great relationship huh, can all go out together. what a happy familly! ugh, my mum doesn't want to be within 10km of my mil. sigh. but then again, neither do i. haha.

nippon paint
trying to decide on paint for the new home. hb wants white. but nippon paint doesn't have plain white! it's all lily white, barley white, lilac white, apple white... you get the drift. and they aren't exactly white! and we actually argued over it! then we realized how silly it was, and just let me decide. yep, that's always the best way ! haha

watching tv
yeap, my man does it too. watches till the sky may fall and he won't even notice. pomfret puts a book in his hand, and he'll just flip the pages even as his eyes are fixed on the tv. and then after that he wonders why she doesn't like asking him to read to her. duh.

cin

auntie went home already? no more yummy food for you! hehe!

TV

good thing my hubs only watches his teewee when the kids go to bed. and my mil will go hide in the room to watch her taiwanese series.

I read "the boy with square eyes" to poppy and it's been no TV for a few weeks now! This is a BIG change from the girl who had to be bribed with Wiggles for every meal. Heng ah.

We hardly watch TV too. No cable, and frankly, local TV? Err all that overacting? Nah. Thanks.

Bbp
Good one! Do it! Yeah!

full day vs half day
another factor, besides the principal's feedback, is my grandma's failing health. she had a fall a couple of months back, now it takes 2 pple to bath her - aunt and aunt's maid. and it takes a lot of pple to monitor her bcz she would still want to wander abt the hse, by herself. v worrying. like watching a toddler but worse bcz cannot scold and send to noti corner.

so my aunt has her hands full. and looks more and more tired by the day.

of course, when i ask her if she can still cope when both C1 and C2 are around in the aftn, she says can, as they are both asleep. C1 has reduced his nap time significantly, smtimes waking up after only 1.5 hrs. C2 always wakes when the korkor wakes and plays and makes noise. so the ratio of caregivers to kids+grandma is smtimes 1:1 (aunt + aunt's maid + my maid to C1 + C2 + grandma). very trying mentally, and i think we all understand why.

aunt would never tell me she is tired, pls put C1 in full day childcare.

however i must be auto la. cannot wait till she tells me, then do.

so tis decided. Apr full day school for C1..... sad sad for him. to be away fm family the whole day.

quick random qn:

Anybody needs ang pow paper for lantern making? any "crafty" mummies?
My office has loads........ while stks last..:D

new antics

the boy's new antics when he's upset because either you wouldn't do what he wants or he can't get what he wants, he would walk away with a really angry face and declare "I DOWAN TO PLAY WITH YOU ALL ALREADY!"

fwah!

Dustee
Your episode with Nippon Paint happened to me many many times in different situation. the only difference is I realized how silly our arguments are and just let mr SD choose other rooms. I choose my kids room's pink walls.

Doggiebb
How cute! Emma is similar, but she wouldn't say anything and just gave us a stare and let out a huge "HUH" sigh.

Batgirl
I was just wondering! Yes I want! Been scratching my head and wondering where to get since I stopped work (same with annual planners and calenders haha)

TV
I have a friend whose parents are TV addicts. They'll watch anything from the news in Malay to indian policemen chasing dancers around trees. Whenever she talks about them she imitates the look on their faces - blank eyes and open mouth. It's hilarious but made me realise that I do NOT want to look like that! So TV in our house is limited to shows of whatever BB and I are into at the moment. These days it's "the mentalist" and "lie to me"

Paint
White is white, no? And with a toddler, any white will very quickly be "off white" or "dirty white" hahahaha

For us, I did all the choosing, he did all the OK lor-ing.

I need to borrow the boy with square eyes for bbg! He has a bad habit of watching from the corner of his eyes I don't want him to be cock-eyed!

Wat kinda diaries and calendars do u wan pb?

Funny kiddos getting angry...bbg will say :I'm angry! U naughty mama! Folds arms n frown..then I dun wanna be
your friend anymore..*rolls eyes*

dd,
apparently i used to say that phrase 'i dun wanna friend you' anymore to my parents. then one day, my mum said, i m not your fren, i m your mama, and i m responsible for you.
that effectively ended the protest.

Cellow
Ur ah bu also very funny

DD
I don't think it's in production anymore. Try library? I kaop-ed mine from my mum's house. Twas my brother's book, like 20 years old but still in gd condition cos he doesn't really read much haha.

Watching from corner of eye huh? Like "diao" people kind? Practicing for "Meet the Parents"? Hehe

I dun need diaries and calendars la
this year I took the opportunity to buy a pretty one. Always wanted but they're so ex right? I figured I've saved from all the years of work and getting free ones that my $4 one this year was justified (oh no I'm sounding really auntie!!!)

Re don't wanna friend
Poppy sends BB to naughty chair hahahhaha.

Pb,

You need ang pow for lantern making or for putting money inside? Lantern making need all same size rite? How many you need?

BTW, batman sent you the email last nite liao, hope it was in time!

angpow crafts
for crafts, those short rectangles are better than the current long rectangles ya. who has ideas how to use those long rectangles for crafts?

2011 calendar
Does anyone have one of those big table-top ones to spare? It's bigger than A3 size, with dates in squares that are big enough to write appointments in. If you have extra, can pass to me please? I can go collect. Thank you!

batgirl
got, thanks! i also replied

cellow
i'm thinking of using the long ones to make jellyfish kind of lanterns haha

youpi
oooo i love those kind too! but i don't have the tabletop space!

Baby carrier- anyone has a beco Gemini to lend me for end feb use? Pm me ya. Gam sia!

How fast the weekend went by. Finally found a new dress for cny at taka. Took bean along shopping and we went around tasting cny cookies at the taka concourse area and after awhile, bean said : everything is so yummy mummy. Lol.

Have a good week all!

oh cin,
wat are you doing awake at 4+am?
when i found the fantastic eggless cake shop at geylang, C1 stood by the counter w his big big eyes (and wide open mouth) and charmed the counter cashier into giving him CNY cookies to taste too.
when it was time to go, he turned to me and asked 'one more tookie?' [his C sound still comes out as T]. lol

pb,
watever are jellyfish kind of lanterns?
i found this.... http://www.fortunecity.com/meltingpot/alabama/179/clantern.htm
but only pixs, no instructions. methinks the person who made the lanterns faced copyright issues

Wow..tabletop A3 calendars r a rare item now

LOL at big bean n C1

Long angpows can make lanterns too. Take a pix of the one colleague made later

another reason not to quit my job
with the recent bout of illnesses, the C family has spent $608.52 alone in Jan 2011. luckily coy allows me to claim 80% after the $200 deductible. scary scary bills.

dd,
yay! more lantern pixs. at least that's smthing i can do tog w C1 in Msia next week when we are stuck in the hse. lalala

anyone can teach me how to make lanterns? i can only do those one piece kind. want to make those more elaborate ones...

cellow
i agree with u. doc expenses are high. but lucky your co can claim those PD fees. mine and hb's one cannot! i remember in jx's first month of sch, her bills alone came to 700++

cellow, PB

I need to meet you to pass you the ang pows. PB, bring poppy to Royce? we can all meet at liang court for yummy ramen! drool... thurs can?

oh oh batgirl,
i m not gonna be in offc tmr and wed, then thu i m off to msia liao. today is actually my last day physically in the office. can keep until after i come back on 9 feb?

heh, i koap all the angpows for craft making onli. after i dig out my stash, realise that last year still got. enuf to give out to pple. but not enuf to cut up, glue and otherwise play with.

actually i always use the used angpows to do craft...recycle and reuse..haha..prob can't tell it's old anyway after the kids handle it.

cellow,

oh ok!
paiseh could not pass you earlier. Cos today i am at home babysitting JX who is sick. so i guess the bunny ones won't run out of fashion for the crafts....

waiwai
try wokkingmum.blogspot.com

anyone went to magic treetop adventure today? i loved it! oh and poppy too
the same guys will be bringing us "Todd the Big Green Frog" in April! 1 ticket for $15, 4 for $50. Any mum and bub pair wanna join Poppy and i?
well it's free seating so you don't have to sit with me if you don't want to friend me

Chope Crystal. I confirm again!

Lunch tomorrow
1215 at Uncle Sam's Claypot. Afro-Asia building at 63 Robinson road #01-01A. Qing, batgirl and I are meeting. Anyone wants to join ok? Cannot make reservation so must be on time! It's super shiok, the claypot chicken :p Lai Lai Lai, RP mummies!

wow thread is so quiet today!

SY
sure, happy to include JX and JH. i aim to keep the groups small and manageable so we are usually about a group of 3-5 kids.

waiwai
sure no prob! good kangtao must share share mah. i think it was cin bunny who intro-ed wokking mum to me

PB
hee next time i plan my leave on fri.....

i also check out wokking mum. there's this recipe for garlic mayo cod fish that was quite good.

i m packing packing to go.... dashing ard to get fruits n other stuff. oh, and i forget to add, work for my daily wage too.

-ssshhhh- C1 has been behaving very well this week in the mornings re changing for school. -sssshhhhh-

pb,
3 rock melons, 1 box of peaches, 4 pink guavas and 11 apples. All to bring back to Msia. i go to the mkt w MIL in msia... and wah, each apple costs RM1.50. Cheapest is RM1.20... these dun look v good some more.

so auntie me is lugging all those onto the plane.

and to be honest, tis also a show off of my earning power to MIL. yes you can make CNY goodies putting in the labour, but i can buy watever i fancy so that your grandsons wont starve.

i m so petty la. :p

wish i could join for lunch..
haiz..
busy at work..
am i the only pregnant woman that do OT?
tired of gettin home after 8pm..

Is there any gatherin for CNY???

PB,
art class?
wait for me k, after i deliver i be more on..
i bring kayden every where...

Cellow
u gonna handcarry all the fruits?? so heavy... but ur boys will enjoy them...