(2008/07) July 2008

PB,

Is it a lot? LOL, totally forgot what happened 2 years ago. I only know my boy was a milk guzzler (like bbp) hoho.

Jacelyn,

hmmmm... wufferine does seem to drink more. and here i am, worried that she is underfed. LOL

Her fav food now is her fingers. everytime suck until smelly and wet. i used to stuff her hands in her pants, but now she is strong enuff to pull them out and cont sucking...hiaz...

bbp,

LOL on your thoughts!

Batgirl, I AM worried abt under feeding mini xun but PD is not. He say she is average weight. I tot she is LIGHT WEIGHT! But well, cant do much. So now since she likes cereal, we will add in the normal milk portion there so that at least she is taking in enough (hopefully) lo.

Really leh, every child is different. Xun gal and mini xun so different.

Oh yah, now i read abt ethan drinking 2 x 210ml of milk and yah! lately xun gal also ask for more milk! But i just ignore her. coz scared she merlion. Already drink 260ml and still say she wants some more. I tot she is bluffing me!

bbp,
LOL on #2! she has good intentions to reassure you, but the examples are just so wrong la.
hmm hmm hmm. look, if you know how to drive, you can drive declan to school yourself. without MIL. idea. and more incentive to quickly pass the test.

jacelyn,
really lor, every child is different. C1 and C2 look alike. but C1 loves his rnaptime and nite time sleep routine; C2 has no routine for sleep. his nap can be anything from 15mins to 2 hours. drives me crazy during the day over weekends.
congrats congrats on xun auto toilet train herself! LOL on chek ko pek / panties! i think if C1 tells me he doesnt want to wear diapers anymore, i will RUN.... DASH.... to buy thomas or watever the 'in' cartoon character is for C1

still on work call. and my voice is reduced to a croak.

i just went to a GP who told me that the medicines that she is giving me is not breastfeeding frenly. told me to pump and throw. haaaaiyoooooor.

wat a breastfeeding unfrenly GP.... pity for all the breastfeeding mums who have listened to her.

Ah, Bbp, your mil so confident that dec will definitely, surely love her more simply cos she's spending more time with him? Really? I mean, you'll be back at 3, dec comes home from school around 12plus. So confident?

Btw, while I was at work and eboy with my il wholeday everyday, he's still closest to me and stick to me as long ad I'm around. And I'm proud of that!! No one can replace mummy. No one!

Mich,
dunno la. He is practically with mil the whole day. Even when I bring dec out for dinner and we come back at 8+ to quickly drink milk, shower, sleep, both fil and mil will come down from level 3 to chat with him. So they are really in my face from morning to night, if u know what I mean.

Better yet, just like when we came home from dinner, fil cane down first to chat with dec. Then he said to mr bbp, "I bring him up to see mom ok?"

Only thought: hasn't Declan been seeing her the whole day?

Toddler-friendly water bottle
Some of us were looking for one right? We found one at NTUC and L is using it now. It's an Avent flip-top bottle. Easy for our 2.5-year-olds to open and close by themselves, BPA-free. About $20.

LOL on C1 the fan of fans who can make up his own stories about his favourite things. He's such a spindoctor, haha!

Youpi
U mean the avent sport bottle?
I have a pink 1 if anyone is keen.. Will let go at the price I bought from drugstore which I think is abt half sg price.

Jacelyn
I umm agree ur mum way to make sun poo in toilet. Cos u make her poo in there then she will be okie with it already n trust me. She won't even remember anyone forcing her to poo in the toilet bowl.

Sorry to say this huh but..."talk" is very easy. Being the main caregiver is very stressful. No matter what other ppl say or advise we have to be firm n stick to what we believe in else even the kid will be very confused.
You feel heart pain that your mum want to force xun to poo in toilet but how else do you think is a better way to make her? Xun will not suddenly 1 day want to poo in the toilet if she has not done it before u know.

Like today my auntie who is taking care of her granddaughter is telling me. Her daughter keeps telling her to jus go off after sending her girl to sch. She told me it's very stressful for her when she send the girl to sch. Cos her daughter is not there she won't understand hw it feels to see the girl sooo reluctant to walk in and she has to stand firm n continue asking her granddaughter to walk in herself.
But the 1st wk my cousin took leave n follow her daughter to sch and she also cried badly at night when she was telling her hubby about it too. But when she is in the office she is physically detached from that reality.
Know what I'm trying to say?

Haha maybe not but I have a lot of gan chu today.

Quick one
Mich how come you spying on me? :D yes I have a bob now (call me bob tan please) and I love it. So light! Pb's auntie hair be gone!

Bbp
Don't worry. He can spend all the time in the world with nai nai but still he goes to sleep in your room right?

Lol on ur #2 too!

Ok I got sth to share (no not preggy. Sheesh. U girls ah!)

I was brought up by my grandma. No choice. My parents were very young so had to work.

So yes, of cos I was very close to my granny. That's inevitable right? Even tho she took care of me, she didn't play with me. We're talking real old sch granny caregiver who took care of my needs (eating, keeping clean), but no playing. Not like modern day grannies. She went about her daily chores and I was just there.

She's gone now and like bbp's #2 example, I'm closer to my mum now. but, even when she was around, I knew I loved them both, just differently. Am I making sense?

Child can be very close to other caregiver, but will always know his mother and love her unconditionally.

My opinion from a guo Lai ren as "child"

Bbp, no no going downstairs to shop during office hours... Wait for early lunch release lah...

Ya, me and MIL friends again. And hor, she really permed her hair lah. I asked her to go cos she's been holding back from going cos she kept saying 'no time'. Not meant it the other way lah!! You all hor!!

Bob tan, your new bob looks good in the pics.

bbp
your mil is so funny. but i guess that's quite nice of her to try to reassure u. last time for jh, my mil always so scared that my son loves me more than the father...can u imagine that?

aiyo of cos cannot go shopping lah. unless your office is like the super empty type and no one will even miss your presence.....

Michelle
you and your mil so cute.

anyone keen to catch disney on ice? and anyone has the password to get 40% off???

bbp,
no you cannot go shopping... wait for lunch (which is now) then go back late... like 230pm or smthing.
are the ILs' constant presence part of why you are back at work?

bob tan, i m trying to grow out my hair and you loped yours off.....!

sy,
haaaaiyoooor on your MIL. a woman who doesnt understand that there are different types of love, and a child's heart is big enuf for everyone. *rolls eyes*

dordor,
i must agree. that's why i dun interfere when my aunt disciplines C1. of course, i know that she loves him deep deep also.
but dunno why, i cannot help but feel a little pang when the ILs do the same. tis like.... ILs spend so little time w him already, still wanna scold him... why not just spend their time tog more positively. dunno la. i have double stds when it comes to my family vs the ILs!!!!

PB
reading your blog makes me feel like not workign again!!! how do u find so many ideas to do craft? i think your blog can be one of those that i turn to for easy craft ideas.

michelle
haha i tot she posted on FB mah......

cellow
yeah that was my mil last time. now she's better. not like that anymore. think she more or less realise that mummies will still be #1!!

btw, do u wan some more fish oil? i have 2 big new bottles not opened. jx wants to take jh's fish oil chewables so i dun think i will need it. if u keen to take over let me know

bbp
sambucus here. let me know when u wan to collect. total 3 bottles (plus the 1 u took last time) $65.40.

SY
Aww thanks! I have to find a way to justify my "not working" mah. Youpi shared her great find "madebyjoel.com" and I am so inspired by him! I also google, check out the library, spy on real craft workshops, and I suppose I'm generally quite an experimental person. Most nights I'm kept up by craft ideas and rummaging through the recycle bag for materials! Haha

Mums, esp mums of girls,
Where do you buy shoes for your tots? Realise that I've not bought shoes for poppy for over a year now! Non guniang kind

PB
You are so creative! I wish I had the patience to play with my daughters. I will definitely try the fish fishing crafts. Looked so fun and easy to make.

Dor, how many ml can that foogo bottle hold n is the straw the hard plastic or soft kind? The soft ones (and mill bottle teats) can withstand bbg's sharp teeth!

Guess what..he finally stopped crying at school since yesterday Cos he had a little orange to bring n show his friends!

i want to rant abt my man

this morning was hectic as usual. we needed to drop C2 off at aunt's place, drop C1 off at sch, then the plan is that Mr C drops me off at the supermkt bcz we are out of groceries. i went up to talk to C1's teachers and sch principal, came down, saw that the car was gone, went back upstairs, called Mr C from C1's sch, got a earful that the grace period of 15mins is up and he needed to make a round to come back youcancomedownnowthecarisinfront and bang goes the phone. as i opened the door, he ws shouting that he's got a 9am meeting and he's late and he needs to go to the toilet.

look, if he had told me beforehand that he's got a 9am meeting, then i wouldnt have asked him to wait for me. i can take a bus to the supermkt myself.

aaaaaaaargh. men.
luckily for us both, my voice is still not 100%. so although i wanted to shout back at him, i couldnt. one argument deflected.

no voice, v difficult to work in a virtual team. feel like taking another day of MC, but already MC ystday. today must deliver smthing.

anyway, noticed that C1 is stagnating in his developmental milestones and his DOWANs seem to be getting more frequent and more unreasonable. time to go to sch, dowan, i want to go to grandaunt's place. time to go home from school, dowan, i want to stay in sch. time to go home in evening fm aunt's place, dowan, i want to go gai gai. *cellow tears out hair*

so talked to the principal who advised to put him in full day sch. she explained that w half day, he knows that in the afternoon there is always sm1 there to do things for him, so his self help skills are stagnating.

decided to start him in apr.
feb - CNY, mar - ILs are here. apr is the soonest.

i feel terrible. like tis a failing of me as a mum, that he is stagnating. however, tis also a strength to acknowledge that i cannot bring C1 up alone, and i need help ya. at least, that's what i would say to a fren. so... i shall go easy on myself.

but. i still feel terrible.

Cellow
Well it's good that C1 says he wants to stay in school. So when he's in full day care, you know that he'll be okay. Why do you think that he is stagnating though?

Mummy stupidity
Forgetting about Thaipusam today, I made my way to Mustafa. Of course it was closed! My brain cells need a recharge.

aww *pat pat* cellow

yeah but why do you think C1 is stagnating. all the "dowans" sounds perfectly normal! muahaha! mine is doing that a gazillion times a day!

waking up early

the little chap is waking up 6-ish every morning! FAINT! there was one day he was up at 5.45am! he sleeps from 9pm until 6am, takes a 2-3 hr nap in the afternoons. Is it because he is sleeping too much in the pm that his night sleep is shortened? and the thing is he makes such a din in the mornings, singing at the top of his voice! banging away at his toys! I am soooooo drowsy now!

argh, the darn 15 min grace. Mr Mich does that too.. thank goodness the turn out is very short and can come right back in quickly. No point staying past the 15 min grace and pay $2.50 for 5min right?

anyway, when they are in a hurry to work every single delay seems like forever. But silly him for not telling you cos taking a bus from there is really really very convenient. in fact, you could have taken a lift from me!!! chill cellow.. no point shouting back there and then lah...

rgding C1 full or half day, my personal opinion is it depends on what the school offers in that half day. If it takes most of the time napping and eating, and playing, and that you have a caregiver at home to do all that, there is no need for full day (like my case) so that the child gets to bond with the family members (which is just as important). Unless, of course, your aunt cannot handle both C1 and C2. and since C1 is settling well in class, full day is not a bad option loh... anyway, you have up till apr to decide. they are all in the I DOWAN phase (i'm still waiting for eboy to talk btw) so dun feel bad ok?

doggiebb, ah, thaddie boy still waking up early har? eboy does his 3 hour naps too.. sleeps at 10pm, wakes at 7am. so think takes the same hours with thaddie. maybe you try letting him sleep slightly later, like 9.30 and see if he wakes later? cos the hours he clocks is good loh...only he wakes so early, after school sure feel damm tired... try lah... 7am is about the right time we all wake up..

today went TB market to eat breakf and shop with my mom and my MIL and we bought soooooo many things!!!! me becoming very auntie!

DD
I googled(cos I also dunno hehe) 11oz is 325ml.
I jus hate that there is not handle and no strap but D is okie with that.

youpi
I'm not very sure but i'll turn the bottle upside down to see if it leaks. If it does I'll open and close it again and do the 'test' again haha.
btw I've paid vpost so expecting drugstore stuff by 8days time.

Cellow
You very observent leh re C1's stagnating. But but may be cos of the start of sch?? So he needs abit of time to get used to everything again before everything(to his standard) goes back to normal again?

My turn now to vent, D is abit reluctant to go to sch today cos......sigh.....
He has a new teacher today and he 'loves' his old teacher already. Yest going back home his teacher was hugging him n telling him "I love you too D"......arghhhh
I feel so unfair for him lor. A 4 yr old has to go through so much. 1st the changing of class and friends and teachers. Then he got used to it already and change again.......arghhh arghh arghhh.
And how do you explain to a 4 yr old why only some of his friends get to stay in the old class with same friends and same teachers??

And my hubby as usual is adding to my already overcrowded mind. We wanted to get a Buzz lightyear toy for D cos the 1 hig godma gave him is not a playing toy and needed assembling. He assembled it but everytime he plays with it.....it falls apart.
My hubby jus wanted to get a small 1 that doesn't do anything. Okie he jus wanted to get the 1st Buzz toy he saw. I want at least 1 working feature.
Then he jus went "See he really likes it. Later u bring them out I go and pay for it." It is the big big model with authetication cert.

Ofcos I was like "WAH!!" Hey big price diff also leh and buyig such items in my dictionary requires some talking to make him know why we are buying and terms and not "SURPRISE!!! I buy for you becos you like it"
So I told my hubby NO if he wants to get that for him, must talk to him properly 1st. N great he jus okie and walked aside meaning I have to be the 1 to talk to D abt it.

ANd okie I am angry becos I am being a woman. Cos I have taka card and taka have 10%. So why are we not buying it in TAKA???? AND that toyrus only have that 2 pathetic Buzz toy. The cheap cannot so anything and the Ex can do everything one. Want to buy ex toy never do home work 1 meh?? Or at least go orchard if taka dun have we can go others or the toyrus there ma.
And best, want to buy dun even know price. Exceed his expected price by ALOT lor.

Okie I try to let it go dun hiam so much. Let it be 1 of his impluse buy and we'll jus not have ex dinner for awhile.

Then we had mac for dinner and D took back a spiderman toy. Next morn, D took ALL his spiderman toys and ask me where he's supposed to put them. I asked him why?? He says he doesn't want spiderman anymore. ANd why?? Becos his dad told him last night that spiderman bites then there will be spider. ARGHHHHHHhhhhhhhh
Confronted my hubby regarding that and as usual he claims he NEVER said that. And D was the 1 who told him that.

Damn fustrating you know. And I seem to be loosing alot of hair over everything.
Must chant to myself "Chill, chILL, CHILLLLL"

wow! plenty of ranting today. chill chill chill..

Cellow,

You are still sick ah! Better take more cooling stuff. liang teh (for real this time). CNY is round the corner, better dun have a croaky voice then.

Dun worry abt the "i dowan phase", mine went thru that. Now he is in a Yes phase. Everything also yes (even things he meant to say no).

RP lunch b4 CNY anybody? 1 Feb (Tuesday) ok?

Cellow
I get lots of dowans also! And donohs. Pengsan. I've just started trying giving 2 options when she says dowan. Eg:

I dowan to eat
Do you want to eat X or Y?
I dowan to eat
Do you want to eat X or Y?

Two can play this repetitive game *evil smile and rubbing hands in glee* usually she gets confuses and gives in haha. Try!

Doggie
Omg. 545!!! Tell him it's still dark! It's sleeping time! But seriously, how much does he sleep in the pm?

cellow
what makes u say C1 is stagnating? actually half day or full day depends on a lot of factors. in general kids who stay in childcare tend to be more independent. i can see the difference btwn my 2 kids cos JH only started full day cc this year but jx started at 2 years old. u can see her independence in things like changing (she can take out her t-shirt by herself at this stage), feeding (sometimes when we are out she will feed herself vs the 5 year old who still wants me to feed him though he can feed himself now), bathing (jx will attempt to wash hair and body by herself and i say she does an equally good job as jh)......so in terms of self help skills it does help.

but like what michelle says, if u have family members that can care for him, then half day makes more sense cos full day in cc really means they fall sick more often.

dor dor
hb can be so irritating right.....the things they do, the things they say....

can i take a poll? how many of u considering watching tv together with the kid as spending quality time? to me quality time means at least 90% of attention given to the kid. but my hb thinks that watching tv means spending time so whenever i nag at him abt watching tv with the kids, he says that i shoudln't impose my definition of quality time.

but to me, how can u be giving your kid undivided attention when u r watching tv?? so the argument continues....

Bbp
I was just thinking. I'm sure ur 9-3pm shift is incl of lunch right? Would it be poss to ask for an earlier knock off like 130 and just work right thru lunch? Cos honestly you'll be working the same amount of time right?

Mich
Glad the Tiong Bahru precident has managed to keep you capture you. Thank you for contributing to the Tiong bahru economic situation :D

i m not angry w Mr C anymore. no point la.

why do i say C1 is stagnating...

at home and in school (i talked to his teacher), he will take the first few mouthfuls of food by himself, then push the food around, until an adult notices, asks him if he wants to eat some more. he nods his head meaning yes. BUT doesnt lift his hand to feed himself.
he has been self feeding since... 18 months... before he can even talk, he feeds himself. that is one of the 1st things that he did himself. and now. regression.

2 months ago. his counting was up to 20, skipping 13 and 15. still like that today.

ask him to say the K sound, cannot, kor kor comes out as tor tor. same as in nov.
he refuses to speak any mandarin at all now. a couple of months back, he could say 'zao an' to me in the morning.

he used to help clean up ie put back his toys after playing. now. he doesnt.... maybe bcz he sees that maid cleans up after C2, so he thinks he doesnt need to, like didi.

i *know* in my heart of hearts that all these is a bid for more of my and Mr C's attn. "look at me, look at me" instead of looking at C2. he is not just stagnating. in some ways, even regressing.

at least school is more consistent than at home. no matter how hard Mr C and I try to apply the rules consistently at home, we are only human.

Sdchick
Yes fishing game is very fun! Enjoy

Btw 1: anyone knows where to buy magnets? No design kind. Just plain magnets

Btw 2: I asked a while ago if anyone knew where they sell bunny (head and ears, not full body) cookie cutter... Found liao. Daiso!

Re thaipusam : is it today? Me Lagi blur right, dun even know when!

Quickie post: some of u mummies went for a socatot's trial before right? How did u find it?

Mich n Doggiebb: ur kiddos still attending tennis lessons?

Anyone knows of golf for kids?

Thinking of signIng bbg up for something cos his daddy suggested joining as a chance for father-son activity

What the hell is this.

Declan's dinner - not going well. I was having my dinner too.

Fil to Declan: "quick eat. You ate so well this morning." (he means lunch, not breakfast ah)

less than 5min later, followed by

"妈妈疼你,你更坏。"

am I being oversensitive?

Sy,
will transfer the money to you first. Dunno when mr bbp want to collect.

Pb,
I did think of that but like not very nice. Maybe I'll utilize it during urgent needs. Cos after all, I will need lunch too mah.

Cellow,
same same to dowan and dunno. It's a phase. Or at least that's what I tell myself to keep myself sane.

Self-feeding:
Declan is far far behind. He can. But messily and slowly. Left to his own, he would end up playing with it. As he is right now. I'm staying far far away to not burst into flames.

Doggiebb
Wow so early!!!! Maybe if he sleeps later he will wake up later?

Emma now sleeps at 10, sometimes she drags to 10.30 and had to wake up at 7.30 am. My oh my it's so hard to wake her up!!! She is a late morning girl. if you let her sleep she will sleep till 10 am. Anyways I had to have her promise every night that she will wake up for school the next day. And can you believe she negotiated in the morning with her eyes still closed. When I asked her to wake up she will say.. Mama you go pee pee and when mama finish Emma wake up. HMPPPH

PB
I made those fishing equipment today and she is more interested in the magnets than the fish Lols. You can buy the magnets at Spotlight, or artfriend.

Cellow
Emma now also refused to clean up her toys. When we told her to clean up she simply said: You do it. *rolls eyes*

SY
*raises hand* I also watch tv with my kids. They would ask questions and I would answer. Normally we watch programs like animal planet together. Cartoon - they are on their own, except maybe Tom and Jerry.

*burst into flames on insensitive remark to bbp*

my response would be
na wo bu ying gai teng wo er zi ma...

then stomp far far away

i did that once to my FIL who beat 8mo C1. he said smthing insensitive, i said smthing right back at him, and i stomped off.

later MIL came and told me to cool down, FIL doesnt mean it the way it sounded. lalala

cellow.. doesn't sound like c1's progress is stagnating.. bbG can't even feed himself yet.. think it's more of terrible two's and rebellion (not wanting to feed self coz he knows someone else will.. or picking up of toys)

haha it's so cute that emma can bargain with mummy for more sleep time in the morning..

sd u like tom n jerry? bbG's crazy over them at the moment.. can sing me the theme song and tell me what happen in each day's screening haha

ooh... i need to go get a translator for those chinese words above..

but chill my fellow mummies.. passes liang cha around.. sympathy hugs going round.. can relate to all of you.. must give out the occasional growl to tell everyone not to mess with us mummies (tiger?)

Cellow,
I subscribe to baby center and they send me milestone updates every week according to D n E age. .
This is what I got last week.

Why Regression Happens

The process of learning new skills is often "two steps forward, one step back." Regression is common in 2-year-olds partly because there are just so many new skills to juggle. They're also vulnerable to stresses that make them want to go back to familiar territory (diapers instead of that new potty) because it's more comforting. Be patient with little setbacks and remember that they're not permanent.

SY
If watching tv but still know what the kids r doing n can ans them when they ask qns then, to me is quality time.
But I find guys cannot multiple task. Esp the 1 in my hse.
Even listening also cannot do something else.

Speaking of answering questions
I think I have a perpetual sore throat cos I answer every single question (including the repeated ones) that poppy asks. Only recently (this week!) I realised that it doesn't hurt not to answer them all, esp if I know she's just asking for the fun of it.

SDchick
Hehe did Ashley like though? Oh I'll go check out spotlight tomorrow! So funny Emma negotiating!

Bbp, ah ha!! You got the same 'when you around child misbehaves/whiny/throw more tantrum' comments from IL too!!! This is exactly what I got last week and it's shitty feeling still lingers until today... Cry and cry to hubby and he told mw it's not my fault episode...

Still shitty feeling until today but lately eboy very guai and my pyscho on him works so they stopped commenting already.., the other thing I did was tell my mom, in front of my mil, that eboy seems to misbehave when I'm around, I cannot teach h anything, then followed by big sigh, then eyes red, tell my mom I'm very sad, my mom consoled me loudly that 'of course all children is close to mummy like that it's not you spoiling it's becos child is smart knows who loves him most, then followed by' all of you all were like that when you were young!' then I sniff sniff a bit. Then my mil has to say something, like yalor, what's there to feel sad. Tadah! She stopped! Cos she knows it makes me feel sad.