(2008/07) July 2008

woo... declan actually know where the notti step is. well done!

i will just put bosco facing the wall n he will start crying. but once i walk away from the area, he will stand on one leg n start to look ard n when i comes back, he will start to cry n whine again.. actor..

HAPPY BIRTHDAY WUFFY N ETHAN!!

pb,

u can get nice popiah skins from havelock food centre. guess v near yr place nia. we always get it there.

my mum has a popiah recipe. but i cant rem the sequence cos i in charge of eating. hahaha

happy belated bday to wuffy and ethan!

19 Jul is also Mr C's bday. We took adv of the free movie from Cathy to watch Toy Story 3.

Thanks mummies for the tips and tricks on tantrums. There is just smthing abt my own child wailing non stop uncontrollably that gets on my nerves.

tantrums
one noti corner? kayden will bang his head all over that corner then i have no choice but to let him out..

PB
i like Qiji Popiah, think they do catering.

grandparents and our tots
hmm, when your ils are playing with your kids, do you sit there and play with them too, or sit there and watch them play, or go do your own stuff elsewhere?

when my mil plays with pomfret, i'll just go back to my room and do my own stuff. or do some minor chores. coz...someone's playing with pomfret already right? better use the time and do something else isn't it?

but then i realize my sil likes to join my mil in playing with the kids sometimes (and it's kinda weird, coz they usually play in my mil's room. so everyone's squeezed in there)

just wondering if i'm too anti-social? i told my hb that after we move out, i don't mind dropping pomfret off at my ils for an hour or two for them to play with her. but i don't expect to sit and squat at their house too while she plays (which is what my sil does. and when they come back, it usually is from 9am till 5pm)

is it very hard to understand why i think my presence is so redundant?

Dustee
No la, not redundant! It's nice to be able to take a little break sometimes. For me, if my parents play with poppy, it's usually when we are out. So I'll play along. But if they volunteer to watch her while we eat then I won't be shy and just stuff my hamster cheeks hehe

Holly
Lol on bosco's acting skills! You did name him after a tv star/character didn't you?

Smiggle
Oh qi ji caters? I'll check it out, thanks!

Happy Birthday Ethan & Wuffy!

Noti corner
So far I've not tried that before.

Popiah
Hmm all the talk about Popiah made me hungry! I like the one at OG Albert 2nd floor, a small corner cafe there. It's quite nice! Not sure about cooking it though. so many ingredients to prepare - I'm kinda lazy hehe.

Grandparents and our tots
Hmm normally I would just leave them alone, but sometimes I do join as well. Depends on my mood. When I join, normally I'll either play or just sit around, looking at them playing. If not, I will mostly take pictures of them.

pb,
indeed.. but that Bosco's acting not exactly as great as MY Bosco. WHAHAHA!!!

cellow,
oh! Happy belated to Mr C too!! today is Mr H's bdae. n that pig is still slping.. Made him a cheesecake end up i ate half of it b4 he wakes up. =P

Wow, what a storm!

Happy Birthday to Ethan and Wuffy!

Garfield
LOL on being in charge of eating only.

DIscipline
Gosh you mummies are fierce! I've never done caning or the naughty corner. So if my kids turn out to be spoiled bratty irritating amoebas next time, it will definitely be my fault, haha. So far they are all right, no major tantrums or rolling around. They do get spanks on the buttocks sometimes. And they've been told that some things are non-negotiable and if daddy or mummy say so, then it is so. For daily whining, mini-tantrums and the like, using a loud, stern, mummy-means-business voice - coupled with the *eye* - usually works. Okay I hope I've not jinxed myself by writing all this!

Popiah party
Had that when I was a kid, it was really fun! Dor, very impressed at your ability to cook it, wow! Do you by any chance have an easy ngor hiang recipe as well?

Grandparents & tots
It doesn't happen often so when it does, I leave them to have their own time to interact together.

pb, act i think the popiah skin shop also sell the liao so can check it out too.

my mum receipe got those yellow tofu, n prawns, carrot, turnip, pork belly (not sure). the prawns will be boiled with shells first then the "prawn soup" will be used to favour the mixture.

youpi, act i not v fierce liao. u shld see my fren. hahaha but sometimes all time fierce doesn't help 1, in the sense that they r used to it. haaa

but i guess repetition n routine really help to groom the bb or toddler well.

DD
Oh no, Dinky's went kaput too? No, I did not manage to revive my blog. I sent Blogger and email but there has been no reply. Did you keep a backup? Bl**dy Blogger!

Garfield
Yup, I agree, repetition and routine do help a lot!

Thanks all for the birthday wishes! *wuffy sending flying kisses to all* *muacks*

PB, I only just logged in..and yes, we went to the bird park and yes, the zoo is more interesting than the bird park. Having said that, wuffy went chasing after birds, and a stray duck. The duck opened its beak and tried to peck wuffy, but this boy, aiyoh, not scared, just cheong forward and this mummy shrieked... :p

Happy birthday to Mr C and Mr H! :D

re tantrums
jx is a tantrum queen! when she's at home, she will cry or whine non stop. now that she goes to school, it is worse when we reach home. plus after one week of being sick at home, it's worse....sigh...dunno how long i need to tahan this. when we reach sch, she is reluctant to get out of the car. she will cry when teacher carry her away. when i go pick her up, she will pout and cry. when we reach home, she will stick to me terribly. and when she cries, it is non stop. even my mum commented that she's really noisy! help!!!

i feel quite sad. jh actually told my mum that he wants to follow her to china cos i always scold him....sigh how to make him understand that i scold him only cos he is naughty? felt very sad to hear that. he always bullies jx or pushes her for no reason. if i dun scold him, will he think that it is right? yet if i scold him, he feels i dun love him. when he was young, he really listened to me and loved me a lot. now.......
feel so heart pain.

hey youpi.. I managed to revive mine! coz i noticed my email account linked to it was stuck too.. and it prompted me to key in my hp no for verification.. and now both r ok... try that n see? how do we back up our blogs? would be sad to see all the pics and memories disappear...

good to hear that wuffy had a flapping good time at the park today, even with the duck scare haha

oh no...poor SY... does it help to sit down and slowly explain to him why you scold him each time? when I scold bbG and he cries.. I always hug him and tell him that I scolded him coz he did something naughty, but despite that I will still love him... it somehow helps I feel...

staying up to read about childcare centres.. and whoa! info overload.. need time to digest...how do you girls do it man.. *weakling image appearing again*

didn't realise that our kiddos are two now.. which means they start N1 next year! it's not compulsory though right? only primary school is?

DD
it's different. cos of the sibling rivalry thing....even if i say i love him, he will have another answer for it. he has been sleeping with my mum the past 2 nights. when my mum ask him who he loves, he said he only love himself in the whole world. it makes me wonder why my son is so mature and sensitive in this aspect. he told my mum he's alone in this world! can u imagine a 4 year old saying this?

hmm, regarding cc, it is more of 'next best option'. if asking me to choose btween leaving the 2 kids to maid and sending to cc, which do u think is better?

pre school is not compulsory but u will realise that they do enjoy it without us ard. jx has been talking more since attending sch and can understand what she says more. just her temper has been worse at home. she is very difficult during meal times now. always refusing her dinner. i feel that she is using it as a form of protest to me for sending her to school!

DD
it's different. cos of the sibling rivalry thing....even if i say i love him, he will have another answer for it. he has been sleeping with my mum the past 2 nights. when my mum ask him who he loves, he said he only love himself in the whole world. it makes me wonder why my son is so mature and sensitive in this aspect. he told my mum he's alone in this world! can u imagine a 4 year old saying this?

hmm, regarding cc, it is more of 'next best option'. if asking me to choose btween leaving the 2 kids to maid and sending to cc, which do u think is better?

pre school is not compulsory but u will realise that they do enjoy it without us ard. jx has been talking more since attending sch and can understand what she says more. just her temper has been worse at home. she is very difficult during meal times now. always refusing her dinner. i feel that she is using it as a form of protest to me for sending her to school!

Sy,
do you explain to jh why you scold him? Coz me or hb will always do that and even in the night when I lie down beside him , I will tell him why I am angry and how much he has broke my heart.. That is why no matter who ask him he will say that he love mom and dad and his brother equally...

SY
I think they just want your undivided time and attention. I find that if I spend time with them doing things with them, they are happier, behave better, and can play on their own after that for a longer time, thus leaving me with more uninterrupted time to do the other things like cook. And yes, the young ones can be very mature about this. When #2 starts crying, #1 can tell me things like "he wants you" or "he wants milk" or "he's lonely, he wants you to play with him".

super no mood

just now mr C told me that he is disappointed by his bday celebrations. i wanted to say back to him that if he had controlled his temper better over e weekend w C1, then i wouldnt have to step in and spend all my energy to de-escalate the situation. leaving me with ZERO energy to plan any bday celebration for him.

i started on my retort but his back was turned... as C1 and C2 both then started to wail for attn.

tis amazing that i have all these things to say to Mr C, but somehow our conversations always seem to be interrupted by the kids.

i.m.still.very.offended.

and to top it off, i drank a beer (which is totally unlike me) to drown my offendedness in. must add the caveat that i only drank the beer after pumping, sterilising and latching C2 to sleep.

i shd go to bed now. the sun will rise again tmr. this too shall pass.

HUGS HUGS HUGS to all mummies in need of HUGS!!

SY, i think you maybe can try to spend one-on-one time with your boy.. i.e. leave JX with your mom and bring JH out for movie alone.. something like that.. hope it helps.. if eboy says that, i will throw the blog at his face and tell him, read this yourself and you tell me you don't love me for everything I;ve done for you!?!?! hahaha...

cellow, whoa! he was expecting a big banner with expensive food or what? you know, disappointed with the celebration plans, and understnaidng why it was disappointing is two different matter you know? so which is he upset over?????

Hope you feel better after downing the beer. So not like you.

thank you all for the birthday wishes. eboy was very happy the whole day!! Brought him to Royce, and they gave him a bottle of bubble and a big cars sticker.. he was happy...

Michelle,
usually this will not happen to single child family.. Coz with more siblings , mummy and daddy 's attention are divided...
Every stage of parenting is different and stressful.. ( oh man what have I gotten myself into

Sy,
today I am going for my head massage and ear candling .. My appointment is next wed for mani and pedi.. Will you be going back to workforce anytime soon? I am in a fix now.. My ex boss offered me a regional marketing job again , company is ok with me being pregnant but can only take 2 mth ML and company will compensate me.. But but but need to travel often.. I have always love regional marketing and has Been in this line for close to 13 years... It's the traveling that I love but it means I will have to leaving my boys...

really can't decide .. Spoke to hb.. He object coz he feels that there is no need for me to work.. Stress stress stress..

esq, that reinforce my one-child policy! I can give undivided attention to my eboy... haha... actually, there are 6 adults at home giving him undivided attention.. i only scared he turn out to be a super spoilt brat. that can only be so-my-fault....

enjoy your spa/mani/pedi!!

oh, job that travels much is very toiling... think carefully if that is really what you want, or you can afford to wait till the kids don't need you so much? with #3 coming along, where to find energy to travel with work???

Hugs cellow. Feeling better? Tell Mr C la, that you initially ordered fireworks for his birthday but HDB denied your request to shoot them fr your house

Rena
Oh.... That company sounds like it is intending to work you very hard! If hub thinks he can manage and u don't need to work, what is your childcare plan, esp for the littlest E? If you have a solid plan then no harm trying out. Or perhaps they can wait a little more, like till baby is 6 mths?

SY
Oh hug hug. Is JH old enough to understand why you scold him? Maybe after cooling down fr each incident you can hug him and tell him u still love him and he needs to take care of his meimei becaue he is the gorgor?

Michelle,
you are right but I am used to the travelling ..just that hb is a little mcp,likes me to stay home and nature the kids.. When I voice out about going back to work . He will get upset saying that if I want to work then just go to his company and take a walk ??? Cannot understand man.. On the other hand.. His mom and most sil are not working as well.. Hm...

sayang cellow - hope you felt better after doing a homer simpson

lol on PB's fireworks

e square - travelling sucks cos you will miss your kids sooo much..maybe negotiate tt u dont hv to travel more than 4 times a year?

Cin bunny..
Not more than 4 times a year?? I dun think so..I used to travel about 2-3 weeks per month and hb only see me 1week per month.. That was why I resign coz I was ttc .. Then company put me to local marketing which dun require traveling.. But very boring..haiz... So I believe.. One can't have the best of everything ..

Pb,
childcare plans for youngest e .. Frankly I have not tot of it yet.. Worst come to worst I will engage my confinement lady till 18 mths.. But hb will be upset coz he wants me to teach the kids like I did with big e.. So far my hb's business is doing well, there will be no recession for him at all unless there is no more oil and gas.. So I consider myself lucky but desire to work is still high and really love to go back to my previous japanese company...

Cellow..feeling better today? We all have an extra big baby to care for...that's why I'm stopping at 3 (hb, doggie n bb)!

Esq: that's a lot of travelling!

ROYCE TOMORROW MORNING ANYONE? :D already in happy birthday mode now

youpi
Haha I only try to whip up the easy stuff when I feel like eating them.
Rena has ngor hiang recipe but ummmmm its never easy lor for ngor hiang so I've not ventured there yet....haha

Dustee
I'll be there in the living room cos I dun like to go into my inlaws room(and I dunno if anyone is dressed or undressed and I dun wanna find out). But if they take awhile n nobody comes out then I will go in. Dun really like to find out in another way if something they did made an impression or they taught the kids something I would not like. Cos ultimately to me.....its my fault if anything of any sort happens cos I was the 1 who allowed it to happen.

SY
i feel your pain. Kids still young lah think he didn't think much and jus said that.
I always use the "mei mei love u soooooo much" then he will tell me he also love mei mei "sooooooooooooo much"....haha
Jus last night he woke crying and kept whinning cos he had to vomit the phlegm n he didn't want to. N E was abit disturbed cos she kept crying alittle in her sleep. So I told him not to make so much noise. If the phlegm needs to come out then jus vomit it out. Cos mei mei love him so much and she heard him crying so she is also sad n crying in her sleep.
Jus like how she heard him laughing and laugh in her sleep in the afternoon. Cos she loves him so much she is happy when he is happy and sad when he is sad.
Then D kept quiet and nodd n u see his eyes like start to water again......hahaha
I got such and emo boy....sigh

D now dunno why after I scold n punish him sometimes, he will ask me. "Mama is it you want me to learn. So you scold me?"
I also dunno where he learn it from.

Cellow
haha no wonder.....I was wondering u.....drink beer???? hahaha
Sigh.....i've already resigned myself to the forever interrupted by the kids or my hubby going to work. So I always keep everything till the kids are asleep and he is ready for bed. Then <strike>WE</strike> I will talk it all out, dun talk finis no sleep kind. But I'm always the 1 doing all the talking lah so sort of like "fa xie" session for me to let it all out only.

Lol on cellow doing a homer simpson. Lol on dor and her we... No, "I", will talk things out. Lol on DD's 3 babies!

And lol at me for having to learn the YOG cheer (oh yeah oh yeah oh yeah HEY!) for work

PB,
Noooooo.... don't remind me of the YOG cheer. It's very addictive! I once watched the MTV and it stuck in my head for the next few days. Umm, and can I officially state that it has the lousiest lyrics.

okie dokie.. we are headed for the ZOO instead tomorrow morning hehe.. so near yet we've only brought bbG there once!

hmm but after browsing through their whole website.. just realised nothing's mentioned of their popular water play area! that should be near the entrance? or somewhere inside? (can barely recall)

DD
It's at children's zoo area I think. Bring food cos there's limited and rather baby unfriendly food. It's raining leh... U got wet weather plans?

what a good weather to stay in, sip coffee, read a book!!

Happy birthday to bbG! Go royce lah, he will enjoy...

woke up with a foul mood today.. yuks! hate that feeling...

mil pains
this morning i let pomfret watch elmo in the living room. she was quite content. so i thought mb i could rush and take a shower while she's entertained. mil had to go out, so she was at the door, saying bye bye to pomfret. pomfret took one look at her, and continued watching elmo. so this point, mil should have just left right? but no, she continues to stand there, and goes on and on about how she has to go out, bye bye pomfret, bye bye pomfret, she cannot play with pomfret, etc etc. for a whole 15 mins.

so what happens? she goes out finally, and pomfret then realizes, oh, grandma's going out! so she starts whining. not crying, just whining , so that's still okay. what happens next? my mil in her car, winds down the window, and starts talking to pomfret some more.

eventually this builds up to pomfret crying, and mil getting out of the car back into the house.

this happens so often yknow. be it pomfret's shower time, or nap time, or bed time. mil will hang around, go on and on about it. and pomfret has learned this sequence of whine whine whine, then cry, and grandparents will give in. so , shower time's delayed. nap time's delayed. bed time's delayed.

and it is so frustrating. if i as much as try to ask my mil to step away, she starts crying.

i'm not the evil one, but she's my child, and i'm the sole care giver, and i would like some discipline and schedule. you can't just step in and turn it into disneyland all the time.

and of coz from my mil's point of view, she's such a nice mil and wonderful grandparent, etc etc.

what does she do? if i ask pomfret to bathe, my mil dangles a new toy in front of her. "you bathe and i give you this toy" so now pomfret thinks bath time is something to negotiate for a toy.

i personally, feel very comfortable, if i had given pomfret advanced notice about changes such as bathtime/naptime/change of play area, etc. and if she still whines/cries, i'll just carry her and move on. i am comfortable if pomfret cries a bit protesting at the change. coz she's just like that.

but mil's in the house, and even a little whine warrants unnecc rewards like toys and special treats like mickey mouse biscuits and chocolates.

and my mil has the cheek to ask my sil why i let pomfret cry. and i have no doubt she tells all her friends about what a heartless mother i am. (becoz mil tells me stuff like, "i am a good mil y'know, i always defend you in front of my friends")

duh, pomfret's not hurting, not bleeding, not sick. sometimes you just gotta let them cry their frustration out at getting disciplined.

oh gosh. only thursday morning and i'm so grouchy already.

morning all...

dustee - hw abt putting promfret in a 2 hr playgroup or sth? at least she learns a bit of routine there? and wun always have e mil to keep giving in to her?

so sorry i have to keep venting on this forum

so my point this morning is, i feel my mil is purposely creating situations for pomfret to 'demand' her. goodness, the child loves you already, can't you leave it at that? when she's playing by herself, do you have to come and dangle toys and treats just to make her 'want' you?

and i hate it that she does these things, then tells my hb how pomfret always cries with me, but never cries when with her.

sometimes sometimes, when my mil starts doing her verbal thing with me, i am just .so.very.tempted. to tell her to her face, 'hey, your other dil may seem so nice to you, but she rather rent and move out then stay with you another 3 months. is there something you don't understand there?' but but but, cannot. coz that's not the right thing to do.

but why can my sil say these things about me to my mil and i can't?

ugh.

crystal,

i've been thinking about that. looking around. this area's full of full day childcare but not playgroups.

i should just do up this big poster and do a 'countdown' till i move out right. but that would hurt the il's feelings.

i feel like such an idiot sometimes. i care about their feelings , yet i don't care whether they like me or not. i try not to hurt them, but my mil has no qualms doing that to me! and my sil says these sabotaging things and still feels she's being such a nice person, doing me a favour.

hey, isn't sahm life all about making your kid happy? i definitely wasn't prepared for all these internal family politicking and bad mouthing.

you know in the office i would just square off with whoever it is. but i just can't do it to my ils.

i should just start the crying myself. everytime my ils are in the room, i shall just start sniffing and dabbing my eyes.

i am quite cheered by the idea indeed.

dustee - full day cc, if they are not full actually have half day prog rite? u dun have to send her in so early.. can send her ard 8+/9 when the start lessons and pick her up say ard 11+ before their lunch? who will be lookg after her when u move continuing to be a sahm? ur mil honestly sounds to be like she actually has an inferiority complex like she must have everyone like her etc.. but it's not healthy for promfret? but well, i can't exactly manage my own kid.. so there.. haha