(2008/07) July 2008

thank you everyone for the FB comments and sms-es.

This is my 2 hour birth story

11pm on 3 Apr. Playing FB games… concentrating on not spoiling any dishes in Café World

11.01pm C1 cries out loud. He has been having cough for the entire week.
So I spring up from my chair with a cushion and waddle to him. As I squat down to tend to him, I felt a gush. Ah oh waters broke. And ah oh, my ILs are not here yet, they are only supposed to be here on 14 Apr. Shucks. Mr C calls doula for the first time. Advised to monitor for half an hour. No pain yet.
... but heng ah, the waters din stain the cushion. haha

I decide to go take a shower since according to my funny maths, C1 took 14 hours, the fastest C2 will be divided by 2 (if I m lucky) is 7 hours, if I m even luckier, 3.5 hours.

Halfway thro the shower (plus washing hair some more), I feel a pooing sensation. HA! So fast. I know from my readings bb is already bearing down.

1130pm. I sit on a chair and dry my hair. Mr C knows that when hair dryer stops, I m having a contraction. He takes out a piece of paper and records the timing. Contractions are already 2 mins apart.

I lie on the bed and resist the urge to push. Mr C calls our doula for the second time.

We set off for the hospital. It is one of the longest drives of my life. I lose count of the number of contractions.

12 midnight. Arrive at MtA. No time for admission admin. Straight to delivery suite 2. Doula and Gynae both not here yet leh.
Till 1230am confusion…. The nurses are trying to get my name and gynae’s name and doula’s name. in between contractions, I manage to mutter out doula’s name, then they knew who I was. VE done, but by then, it was very obvious to everyone in delivery suite that I m in last stage of labour.
Delivery nurse /midwife assures me that she is able to deliver baby. But I want my gynae!!
I get into all 4s position to turn bb to anterior or preserve his ant position.

1250am. Doula arrives. Mr C goes off to find a toilet to pee. He is not allowed to use the toilet in delivery suite. He goes off on odyssey down 2 floors to find a working male toilet…. Doula assures me I m doing well.
Before going off, Mr C offhandedly suggests I change to squat for gravity to help me in pushing. Good idea! I change from all 4s to squat with nurses' assistance.

1255am. Gyane arrives just in the nick of time

1am. C2 arrives. 3 pushes and he is out. I remember shouting ‘That hurts!’ and that was the only thing I said during the entire time I was in the delivery suite.
When C2 came out, gynae looked around for Mr C... alamak Mr C missed the actual birth. Haiya. Came back in time to cut the cord.

C2 latched on for an hour total (half hour each side) after birth. Superb latcher! ... shouldnt compare, but def not like C1 who fell asleep at my breast post delivery.

Cellow
WOW!!!
U are amazing. And super uber calm loh... I will sure panick like siao... And 2 hrs...!!!! That is vey very fast loh..

must check out pics in fb later...

wah say... PB can surf web on NEW phone while travelling in bus hehe...

that was an amazing story, cellow! HUGZ to you... take good care and rest well ok? so IL's flying over soon? can see you have discharged and is back to playing games! hehe

my little one juz woke to cough and vomit then cry for the 2nd time tonite..poor baby....

Oh ya..mich, how does Ethan have milk wiv bread? soaked?

N mummies... Gymboree's got very pretty dresses now go take a look!

Eating bread, he will hold 1piece in his hand to eat, then ask us to soak the edges. Sometimes he happy happy will peel one piece to drop in his milk. Then milk is spoon fed while he chew on the bread loh.

Have you brought bbg to dr yet? Have the pard check if he's having sore throat then need anti biotics within 1 day he will feel better and can drink milk. When sore throat, sucking milk is painful, so eating is better.

waiwai,
wow, you son is already 7-month! time flies indeed...

cellow,
u are my idol too and i think u are so calm. i LOL on the part "but heng ah, the waters din stain the cushion. haha" do show us C2 pics ok?

pb,
you got new hp?

cellow,

WOW! Idol!! cool as a cucumber! Not sure if I would be able to maintain the calm if it happened to me! how is C1 taking to C2?

michelle

wah! ME! there is this rather authentic korean foodie place called togi run by koreans at mosque street (chinatown mrt). i always go there with my korean-drama kakis. yummilicious.

there is also another korean fried chix place at tras street (tanjong pagar mrt) also run by koreans, the chix is like OMG!

but i am always game to try nice new korean places if you have some place in mind when you are jioing the korean lunch! keke!

Cellow
amazin rite, u stil can shower and dry hair.. if me sure rush to hospital liao..
and Mr C is so calm to help u track the contractions..
Clement looks healthy..

Michelle
I love Korean food.. today is a good day for lunch cos my superior not in..

Korean food
that's the thing I was thinking abt since batgirl ask me what is the next craving I will triggle but I have no idea where serve nice Korean so stop there

Ya ya
lunch another date ok
I off today lehz...

Dd
thanks go the advise
that mean I shall spilt the claim between my hubby loh...

Missysz
pb got a bb... Heehee

I'm also a fan of kimchi soup, Pancake, kimchi fried rice, the ikan bilis that I always ask to top up. Korean BBQ at west coast is good, dip in sauce and wrap up in vege . Slurp!! Hope I can tahan till Monday. Argh!! Who induce craving!! Who who??? Oops I think me. Haha

its a toss up between togi (family fare authentic korean food) and kko kko nara korean fried chix (there are other korean food as well)

let's go kko kko nara then. its at tras street, 5 mins walk from tanjang pagar mrt.

kko kko nara korean fried chix (57 Tras Street)
Date: mon 12 apr
Time: 12pm

1. michelle
2. doggie

michelle

i also lurve ju shin jong at west coast. in fact i used to have a korean colleague (ex company), he said this is one of the few nicer korean bbq place in singapore.

DID I HEAR KOREAN FOOD??????? Heee I want.

1. michelle
2. doggie
3. Sdchick (err probably around 12.15 pm)

KKK I just ate there last nite with Mr. SD kekeke.. slurp.

SD

you did! that day i wanted to ask shirley to go and eat with me but she wasn't at tanjong pagar so I couldn't eat! arghh! Yeah! finally can eat on monday!

Doggie
Yes yes tomorrow mr SD is going for his business trip so I wanted him to try the chicken and the rice wine. kkk Guess who did I bump into last nite? Shirley hehehehe

getaway

my backside is extremely itchy hehe and I was thinking i wanna go on a road trip to malacca one of the weekends with the children. maybe take friday off and do a 3D2N. any mummies here also like this sorta thing? we could do a mass getaway...woohoo...

1. michelle
2. doggie
4. bbp & declan

Cellow
Yah lah, like I said, you make it sound absolutely effortless!

Water
Been trying and forcing. Thanks for the suggestions, ladies!

Drugstore/iherb spree
Please jio me too if anyone is doing. I just realised that we have no more toddler toothpaste. Thank you! :D

Getaway
Sounds like a good idea but we don't have a car!

Speaking of getaways, DD, did you go to BKK in the end?

Selling 1 unopen GNC Childlife Essential Fatty Acids Natural Butterscotch flavor.
Expire date: 23 Oct 2010

For infants 6 month old up to 12yrs old kids.

Product detail: http://www.childlife.net/node/53/

Original price: $ 43.50
Selling cheap now: $ 35

Pls PM me if u keen. Collect at my blk (hougang). Thanks!

Doggiebb
The JG playclub - is it only 1 time or weekly? If 1 time when is it? if not on weekday I wanna join.

1. michelle
2. doggie
4. bbp & declan
5. holly (if no unforseen circumstances. haha!)

Qing
Perhaps u shd clarify that bb equals blackberry. Cos knowing this thread, mums tend to bolt up from chair and scream "u pregnant ah?!!"

Doggiebb
I wld love to go to melaka but 1) no car and 2) not sure how poppy will like the journey plus 3). what to feed her at melaka?

Hmmm last time when planning hol I'll see where I can shop. Now must see where can bring baby to eat

DD
Hope bbG gets well soon

Cellow
Wow. Giving birth leh, u make it sound so sup sup soi! Best!

depends on the program.

yeah in june. there are altogether 3 weeks of program, you go jg webbie to see the programs.

but about S$300-330 + GST per week.

Remember the stinky smell of stale sweat that school kids bring when they board the bus after a PE day, omg army boys have the same small! I'm sandwiched between army and saf... Hard to deduce which is smallier. Please bus uncle, drive faster, no need to be so polite and smile at everybody...

Bbp
LOL on ur "only one day old smell"
and that is so true...

Pb
and I bet the smell from the army boys is much more unbearable ba.. Good luck to you

PB
Aiyoh, next time you have to be like the aunties who bring knife brand oil to ward off bad smells ;p Maybe bring a bit of essential oil to help mask the odours? Or take out some scented hand cream to use? Last time when there were no air-con buses the ventilation was better hor? At least you could stick your head out of the window. Now all the stinky stinks are trapped inside the bus with you!

Btw did you have your staycation at the Changi Village Hotel? How was it? Doggiebb's getaway post has got my backside itching as well.

alamak
now i got itchy backside for both korean food and short getaway.
LOL on mich inducing own food craving! hahaha.

but yes youpi, i m enjoying this 2nd babymoon.... much easier than the first. mainly bcz i know what to expect and planned for it this time around

pb, bbp,
LOL on your descriptions of the smells on the bus.

qing,
i was thinking bb? what bb? pb is pregnant? ah but she is talking abt blackberry.

dd,
get well vibes to your house! hope G sleeps well tonight....

My fingers too fat for bb I think. I meant to say smelly and smellier. Dunno why came out as smally lol

Youpi
Didn't make it in time to book and now it's back to being quite ex. Actually I do quite like the smell of hong yew! I must really be auntie :D

Lol on all the itchy backsides here!

KOREAN FOOD next monday -- gotta give it a miss... My tow kay will be in from mon-weds.... difficult to run for long lunches with him ard... going to be a busy week for me... hiaz, till the next crave...

Short getaway -- I WANT! me thinking of beach resorts...

DD, yah, was also wondering if you managed to cancel your BKK trip.

cellow,

wah..you sound very steady leh..i getting all jittery, cos my memories of post birth was that I was suffering... PLUS I just learnt that wuffy is going to have a sister! one moment my hubby and I are very happy, then suddenly we were at a loss... not sure how to care for a girl leh...hahahahahaha... Guess I will pick up the tips from here. :D For now, I am resolving that I will eat foods that are more girly... currently, i am craving all meat! :p

Congrats batgirl!!! There!! I told you it's a gal!!! Can tell!!! Gong xi gong xi. Holly one more Tummy to touch!!!

Lol on smelly and hong you. I more auntie, nasal inhaler also like!!!

itchy backside inducing, naughty doggiebb!! I am keen!!! When when when?? But I think hubby thinks otherwise loh, must ask him.

Hope bbg better already

eh what happened to Dustee ah?

Youpi, pb, thanks to you two, I parted $$ to sign eboy up for Royce kids. But I must say it's really a toy heaven and we all loved it!!

Hoho everybody asking abt DUSTEE !!!!! She back already I meet up w her last wk for lunch w Nancy

She can't log in coz her computer can't start up out of sudden when she came back fm japan .....

Pb
u are right
should have avoid the sensitive short form.. Heehee

Posted on Tuesday, April 06, 2010 - 2:34 pm:       

1. michelle
2. doggie
4. bbp & declan
6. Qing (it's within walking distance for me. Yeah !!!)

re korean food
me me!! i love korean food

Posted on Tuesday, April 06, 2010 - 2:34 pm:

1. michelle
2. doggie
4. bbp & declan
6. Qing (it's within walking distance for me. Yeah !!!)
7. SY n JX

cellow
wow amazing birth story...u very steady!!! i saw C2 pics on FB. he's really cute!!!! i miss jx bb days

re JG Hol Prog
very ex leh....i sent jh once but felt ok only. who's the teacher for the class?

doggiebb
roadtrip!! with the kids? then not much of break leh. but sounds fun. but dunno whether i dare to drive all the way up to malacca...

Doubledee
if u wan to order stuff, let me know...i can still order from iherb.

Itchy backside getaway

I am flexi on the date. Either late apr or early to mid may. Take fri Off and off we go. Stay at puri hotel malacca. Recommended by my colleague whose bf comes from malacca and I googled and found some good reviews on virtual tourist. We could go butterfly farm, night cruise, hike up jonker hill, go Jalan jalan at the new big shopping centres, eat seafood, play by the beach...woohoo!!! How how? How does it sound? We drove to A'farmosa before, think about 2 plus hr we are there. Those who are worried about safety and won't go on ur own, this is a good chance to go together! Hehe! Really like hardselling hor? ROFL!