(2008/07) July 2008

so PB, why does poppy need to visit dentist? general cleaning? do they need it at this age? I know L went cos of tooth problem in his front teeth. for older ones they do cleaning. so why does poppy need to visit dentist? do they need cleaning at this age? puzzled.
eh, next week red star, I CAN!

eboy was up from 1am to 4am. his coughing seems to be better, but some how cant get to sleep. so poor thing.. (both me and him!!).

Today his appetite was bad, din eat much. cried and cried a lot.. finally managed to put him down for his nap which is way so much later than his 1pm nap time... rub some ru yi oil for him too.. wonder what was wrong with him.. his hands and feet are a little cold, but no temperature leh.. hopes its just teething and nothing else... heartache cos he never lose appetite and he never cry like that one..

Red Star Dim Sum
2nd Feb, 12.15pm
1) PB
2) Michelle
3) bbp

Michelle,
I think it's just to get the kiddos used to the dentist and for them to do a general check. Cos if I'm not wrong, it was at the general check that the dentist spotted the problems with L's tooth.

dor dor,
Question on potty training... is there a timing to Ember's peeing? Cos I've tried training Dec, but I noticed after porridge, he can pee up to 4 times an hour which makes me conclude that he's not ready yet. Non-porrige timing - he can last up to about 1h 30min.

Red Star Dim Sum
2nd Mar, 12.15pm
1) PB
2) Michelle
3) bbp
4) JSP

michelle
could eboy be having stomach upset... coz heard frm my CL last time tt if the hands n feet r cold means their stomach not well... u try giving him some gripe water n try to give him some porridge water if his appetite does not improve...

oh.. I thought youpi saw decay on L's tooth thats why brought him to dentist.. so its to get them used to dentist? hhmmm I need that! i never never ever want to visit dentist, ever again!

Psst, Red star dim sum is on 2 Mar, not 2 Feb, gal...

2 Mar 12.15pm
1) PB
2) michelle
3) bbp

I can pick up PB and anyone from TB MRT to red star since its so near my workplace now..., if that helps.. just let me know..

Hi ho.. I am back.. Holiday was bad.. Coz Ezekiel is a little diffcult and weather is super hot.. Many unpleasent things happen.. So did not enjoy much.

Plus after I came back.. The very next day my grandfather pass away..

Haven't seen you gals for a long time! Count me in!

Red Star Dim Sum
2 Mar, 12.15pm
1) PB
2)michelle
3) bbp
4) JSP
5) batgirl

pssst, cellow, are you going? My loot still with you..

bbp
Ember dun pee so often. She goes once every few hrs but also depends hw much water she drinks, what she drinks or if there is anyone in the toilet....LOL
Cos when she sees us go toilet she also must go n sit no matter if she does need to go or not.
Normally I think abt 3+ hrs too cos she will go once she wakes n baths n we send D to sch all the way until D reach home then she will need to pee again.

If I didn't remember wrongly, the bbcentre 1 I read was saying something abt after changing diaper if they can hold their pee for abt 3 hrs then means they can control their pee already.
N hor they will only sort of really learn hw to control their pee when you toilet train them. Cos when E started, she was also abit surprised when her pee came out......LOL
So I must keep telling her "shi shi already, good girl"

For boys hor lazy person way i would suggest after bath dun put diaper n if ur okie dun wear anything until the 1st pee. If he can say he needs to go then he is ready to start already and when you start when he is ready it will be a very fast transition. If he just pee out then just wear back diaper lor n wait for the next day to try again.

Oh n hw u know Dec pees 4 times n hr?? he pees on the floor aah??

dor dor,
Thanks! That's a good idea on don't wear pants, but I think I will only start when my ILs are back in China. I think they very gan cheong to start training lor.
How I know he pees 4 times an hour? Cos it happened last night. He was actually ok after he woke from his nap in the sense that he told us when he wants to pee. But after he had his dinner (from 7pm onwards), he kept peeing in his shorts and telling me only AFTER he had done it.
And even worse, when it's time for his nap, he will insist that he wants to pee every 10min. I want to peng san already. Dunno whether cos it's after porridge time or (I strongly suspect) it's his delay tactic of not going to nap.

RARR!

oops batgirl, cannot make it on 2 Mar.
you join the rest la.... i will get your loot to you some other time

esquare,
hopefully things are back to normal for the 2Es (and you!) on home ground.

dordor,
that is a very comprehensive description of pee toilet training.
i wonder when i have the patience to do it. wont do it these few months la, wait for C2 to settle in first, and C1 to adjust too... oh oh n plus need to get new maid from Oct onwards. so all in all, a very hectic time for me.

michelle, doggiebb,
pls PM me your maid agency. i m in the process of psychoing mr C that mymarese is GOOOD.

bbp,
declan can tell u that he wants to pee? so cute lor...my boy did a funny stunt few days back. he was wearing his nappy (yes, still can wear nappy!) and he put his 2 hands on that part like how the guys pee and made the "shsssss shssss" sound. i think he learned from his dad?!

Cellow,
I think if left to me, I won't have the patience to do it now. But guess what? Both sets of grandparents are so gan cheong to get dec toilet trained. So they basically started which means that I have to continue right?
The poo part is not too bad cos he was still in diapers, so the most just change diapers only. But the pee part hor... wah seh!

dor dor,
Oh, I just realised, cannot let Declan go around half-naked. Wait he pee but never say, then nobody knows that he peed on the white marble tiles then before we know it... got one yellow patch on the marble how?
S.T.U.P.I.D W.H.I.T.E M.A.R.B.L.E

missyz,
Dec uses the same word as when he wants to poo. So got to guess whether he wants to poo or pee. Like just now, he went "ng ng", so I thought he wanted to pee, but I "xu" him, nothing came out. But he was very insistent, kept going "ng ng", so I zoomed upstairs and placed him on the toilet seat.. his face changed into a look of concentration and then "plop"

bbp
hahaha. same. sometimes after bath, pomfret runs off naked and then pees on the floor. and then i super kan cheong coz for some reason though the tiles are off-white but still will stain!

batgirl
hey was mr batboy at the chiro yest? i was there with pomfret and mum. and i saw him, but though it might be traumatising if i went up and said 'hey wuffy's dad' he should have heard pomfret screaming away (she didn't like me lying down to get my adjustment.)

japan japan
oh japan here i come! i'm so excited, and so running around like a headless chicken now. coz i think it's cold, and both me and pomfret have no cold gear at all (and i think my natural spare tyres might not be enough to keep me warm?) and then i checked out uniqlo just now, and realized kinda silly to buy uniqlo to go japan when i could...buy...it..in ...japan right? but i don't want to spend a bomb just on warm wear! help! how much do i need to layer pomfret in for 10degrees?

esquare
sorry to hear about your loss. i hope you did get to see your grandfather before he went. hugs

bbp,
if it were up to me, C1 would nt be toilet trained till he can tell me he needs to go. that assumes he firstly tells me in a way that i understand (verbal expressive skills), and secondly has the motor skills to hold in his pee liao.
i look at the rest of this year and think, oops, there is lots going on, i will be stressed, which will also stress C1 out.

unless the grandparents (both sides) wanna train him and not just comment.... i dun mind their taking over!

tokyo weather
oh wait just checked on google that it's about 17 degrees for day and maybe coldest is about 4 degrees at night. hmmm. do i need to get a beanie to keep pomfret's head warm? a scarf? no need gloves and all that right? legs how? alamak. i've never been to a country during its cold weather before either!

dustee,
i just packed up my warm gear. bt you are welcome to come rummage amongst my stuff for adult female woolen sweaters and fleece. think 10 deg no need woolen coat bah. you need a scarf and smthing to cover your head.

also can pass to you what Cedric wore for the perth trip in oct.

dustee,
Yah, as long as those stupid tiles are some sort of white colour, it will stain, therefore putting a strain on us.
Eh, wanted to offer Dec's and my clothings... but umm, ok, difference in size too.
But I just remembered! Dec has some new clothing from the grandparents for a tentative upcoming US trip. But I dunno how's the size like though. Umm, then again, considering Dec's size, think safer to borrow Cedric's.

Cellow,
I totally agree. I was half contemplating to follow youpi's style to only toilet-train when he can talk and he can understand me. But I repeat, gan cheong grandparents.

And I repeat... diapers are cheaper than my patience.

Chill Dustee chill. When are you leaving? How much time you have to prepare? For 10deg above think just tshirt, fleece and wind breaker plus jumper with headgear should be warm enough. Go marksandspemcer get leg warmers or long johns. Then wear with jeans or pajamas at night. Dun forget many travel babies here you can borow some scarf in case. Fox baby sells cheap and good leg warmers, thigh high socks and matching scarfs!! Need a pair of warm good shoes. Voilà!!

When you going? I jus bot a guess kid denim jacket with grey hood, maybe you can borrow. It's a bit heavy tho but think unisex design can lah. Meet in red star we show you???

hi dustee - you can rummage through my winter wear stuff too. should be able to fit la..not sure if we have any warm wear for pomfret but i can check..let me know.

cellow - u planning to change maid?

michelle- how you feeling today? sayang you. what's the latest on the maid? staying or going?

cin,
yes i m planning to send her back to phil once the 2 year contract is up. bth her laziness and attitude. my entire family (even my FIL and dad who rarely interfere in women's hsehold affairs) agrees that shd send her back - that's how much she has offended my whole family... or rather, they all kan bu shun yan.

Cellow
overseas spree was abt $14.. not sure stil have anot..
so whyen u changin ur maid??

PB
can let me know the cost afetr u went dentist?
think its time to find out why kayden's breath stinks!

Lunch
cant go cos im at bugis...

Esquare..
take care of urself and the boys..

Maid still unsettled yet. Still waiting for right moment to talk to her me still face pumpkin.

Oh ya Dustee, when we were in Macau I let eboy wear vest over long sleeves shirts keeps him warm indoors, and when out, just the denim jacket pull over. It was around 14 deg in Macau with wind and it was good enough for him.

BBg where are you? How was your myanmese maid??

Cellow so far me, doggiebb, cin and bbg all myanmese maid, think so far so good for us all.

Good luck on your maid search and mine too in Case I need it. If need to I will get another myanmese one to come and overlap so my existing one can teach all her Good antics to the new one.

wah.. toilet talk.. bbG far from it.. no one even have the time and patience to train him.. on weekends when i make him sit on potty (though he has poo-ed in diaper) he thinks it's a toy car.. think i need to go get the baby seat to place on the big toilet bowl instead and just skip the potty..

dustee: shop online now! still got some winterwear going on sale right? hehehe! when r u going? first time to japan? I miss japan!

hb thinking of bringing us to china instead...dunno whether to start buying coldwear now or not..

dentist i heard is very affordable... a couple of friends been there n recommended too.. but may have to call in advance to make an appt.. quite popular..

when's poppy going again? tell us how it went :D

my maid.. so far still ok.. hope it stays that way too!

Cellow,

Okie! no problem! Wuffy is not in a hurry to do sequencing. He is into throwing his cards and tearing his books.

Rena,

*hugz* take care!

Dustee,

yes yes! Batman was at the Chiro yesterday! Such a coincidence... and yes, I think he will freak out if you go up and said "hey wuffy's dad".

Myanmarmese maid..

Lucky gals all of you. I had a tramatising time with myanmarmese... so i switched back to Indo.

Eboy still pees a lot and diaper always full. He doesn't mind getting wet and poo sticking to him or drop out on the floor so think he's not ready to be trained yet. The book recommends to read the signs from the child and let the child tell us when he is ready. Meanwhile we are doing the prep work like when he poo describe to him it is pooing. And sometimes take out diaper before bath tell him to pee. And he also started watching his role model lah. But think he still can't hold his pee yet so still some time before we start again.

Cellow I have a box of BN pigeon milk bag keep for you ya? No point selling it off. Remind me to bring it next time we meet.

smiggle,
thanks, i rem last time when we last spreed with qing mei mei, the cost was slightly over $16, so thot $15.50 is a good deal liao.
maid's 2 years are up on 14 Oct. bu kan yuan to pay her a month's salary to dismiss her, so shall tong until then. in the meantime, all the elders (mum, MIL, aunt) agree to treat her less as a thinking rational adult and more like a small child... just do as she is told, no need to explain why.

michelle,
rest while you can lor... how many more days is your MC?

I'm on mc this whole week but can swallow food not so pain already. Only very sleep deprived cos eboy night can't sleep. Hope he gets better after his long nap, din hear him cough or startle in his sleep from 3pm so that should be good for him. He needs a good rest, he hasn't been sleeping well past two day and night.

cellow

my dec-mummy gang got one kayin maid, my sister got one chin maid, the fren who intro me this agent got one kayin maid. my own one is kayin also. all very good! common trait between them - christian and minority race.

no sure what is bbg and cin's maids' race?

so far mich's buddhist one is a rare gem!

bbp
if Dec knows how to tell u he needs to pee then okie already lah. I tell u wear pullup pants for him!!!!! Save urself the headache. When he tells u he needs to pee then u bring him to potty n praise him. But if he pees in the diaper then forget it lor since u dun have to cleanup after him.
Save ur self so much trouble.

Yah same here Ember will keep saying she needs to (still universal language for her) "put put" all the time at night cos she dun wanna sleep!!!!!!
N ember also starting say only after she pee then got better after.

hehe girls easier cos just sit ma pee or poo also sit so she tell me Put put or shi shi also same....haha

Cellow
dun stress lah. Last time was also with the 2 of them I dunno hw or when I gonna start. So luckily D told me himself that he needed to pee so it started the toilet training....haha

chill chill k.

Dustee
When u going Japan????
WooHooo SioK huh japan. i'm planning to just layer the kids if the weather's too cold cos we will be carrying them so we + them will be warmer already. Then plus the tights, stockings, jeans, jackets also can layer if not warm enough.
Oh n if u need gloves there then buy lor else can use socks over their hands when needed.......hehehe

dor,
yes eventually things do work themselves out...
actually tis my own mum who is stressing me abt toilet training. if she pushes too hard, i would just tell her, a lot of things are happening over this year... (plus i just changed my job role hor) so i wouldnt stress myself.

bbp,
yep, kan cheong grandparents. aaargh.
luckily for me, the ILs never ask. if they also ask, then i would be even more stressed.

mymarese maids
psychoing still ongoing. cin, michelle, doggiebb, do1nk, when/if you see Mr C, pls help to brainwash him too! heheh

Wah suddenly got so many posts. And mostly triggered by dustee's japan post. Haha.

Maid is really a luck issue. I think I lucked out too.

Dor,
you're my advisor for pee training liao. Yah sometimes when u get tired, I just plonk him on the toilet bowl. Dun care if it's pee or poo. Eh, he only tell me sometimes leh. He will totally ignore if he's outside. Have fun means gone Liao.

Cellow
Hmmmmm I think for D nobody keep asking if he was toilet trained yet cos I was preg......hehehe
So the stress is from myself cos I dunno hw i'm gonna toilet train him with a small bb around. But luckily things still worked out by itself.

bbp
Sometimes I think its so contradicting cos I would keep complaining like when E keeps saying she wants to go toilet when we are eating. She HATES having to sit down without food. Or if she has had enough of sitting she will keep saying she needs to go. N when she go toilet she will tell u No more. Or the moment u step into the toilet she tell u "NO NO NO"...
And then there is HK........I dunno hw I am going to find a convenient n clean toilet when she needs 1.....hahaa
I even bought a portable toilet seat for my HK trip liao but I'm stillll very worried......really dunno what I've gotten myself into.

the plus is that I dun have to bring diapers along on the trip....LOL

Haha lol dor!! Dun need to bring diaper but bring tam più instead?? So funny!! Cannot bring those cut out paper to put on outside toilet bowl??? Anyway very keen to know how it all turns out. Your hk rendezvous I mean. Hee enjoy yourself and dun sweat the small stuff okie??

Eboy still whole body cold cold. But finished his dinner and seems active still. Had a good long 3hr nap too. How how how? I have panadol, cough mixture, cold medicine, phlegm medicine, which one to give???? Should see dr soon??

dor dor,
Eh, now you make me scared for Dec's tentative upcoming trip.

Michelle,
What are E's symptoms? Flu? Cough? If the only symptom is body cold cold, then I would monitor first? After all, I would imagine the doctor also won't know what to prescribe.

Cellow,
Kan cheong grandparents + !@@$$%$#$ STUBBORN grandparents = my living nightmare
Eg: The ILs just brought Dec for a short walk to Cold Storage. I suggested putting him in diapers since it's after porridge which means he should have lots of pee. And the diaper isn't a brand new one (cos it was used a few hours before during his nap). But you know what my FIL said?
"No need diaper la. Pee then pee lor. No need to worry!"
!##$$#@%$#% Here I am trying to be nice to minimise their issues and he say this kind of niao thing. I answered:
"Worry? I don't need to worry what. After all, you will be the ones with the problem, not me."
!@#@#$$#%#^$#

Bbp they dun worry you worry for them for what! Your il like no planning when it comes to potty train one loh. So easy succeed Liao dec must be a very clever boy! Clever clever boy!!!

michelle
cos i read somewhere that once babies turn 1, we should bring. plus also i hate going to the dentist. so my logic is that the sooner poppy gets familiar with the dentist and its surroundings, it would be easier in future. also, she has a small chip on one of her front teeth. i think it's nothing but bluebunny is worried that it might somehow affect her eyesight. anyhow it is less than $10 and so close to our house

oh no. poor E! and poor mummy for getting so little rest! hope he feels better soon. how about rubbing vicks on the soles of his feet and cover with socks? this seems to be the trend in this thread

you so sweet! count me in for the ride! woohoo!

bbp
how do you know when declan pees in the diaper? you got special transparent diaper? kekeke. oh. i read liao. silly me. hey poppy wants to give declan a high five! she also went through a stage of telling us she wanted to poo because she didn't want to nap

oh and declan saying "BUPPY" is soooooooooo cute!

rena
oh no! poor you. please take care. hugs.

cellow
C1 is going to school in april right? you could opt for the easy way out and let the school toilet train him :p

dustee
congrats on confirming on your japan trip! pop has some winterish stuff that can pass to you! got scarf, mitts, jacket. at dimsum next week?
is pomfret ok with headgear? 17 degrees no need and when it's 4 at night, you will be indoors in nice warm room right? so no need as well

lol on your 'hey wuffy's dad!'. like me saying to your hubby 'are you pomfret's dad?' hahahah. anyone wants to try 'are you bluebunny?' to my hubby? kekek. i think he doesn't know his own name.

michelle
did you just ask dustee to wear longjohns and jeans to sleep at night? hahahahha.

hey you can talk to your helper like those tv reality show style when they don't want the interviewee to be shown? like in the shadows kind? haha

do1nk
Lol on bbG thinking potty is a toy car! pop and pot not good friends. she just squirms to get up. then today pooed on the floor AND stepped on it AND took a few steps. oh joy.

cellow
oh ya. milk storage bags from me to you too! new but poppy tore the box up :|

doggiebb:
http://www.gpadental.com/home.htm
I went to see dr Chong (a very gentle lady dentist) but currently she's on maternity leave, so my alternate doc is Dr. Ong. The docs are in different locations according to different days. you should call and check. the nearest one should be United Square.

GPA Dentalcare @ Goldhill
101 Thomson Road #01-96/97,
United Square
Singapore 307591
Telephone: (65) 6251 9633

9am to 6pm (Mondays to Fridays)
9am to 1pm (Saturdays & Sundays)
Close on Public Holidays

They are open on sundays.

Smile dental:
Smile Inc. Dental Surgeons

3, Temasek Boulevard, #02-124/126, Suntec City Mall, Singapore 038983
Ph : 6733 1802 ; Fax : 6733 6023

583, Orchard Road, #02-06/07, Forum The Shopping Mall, Singapore 238884
Ph : 6733 1622

Michelle,
thanks, I so needed the indignant mother to stand on my side. lately, Mr bbp is totally useless at appeasing me. Anyway, lo and behold, dec peed 3 times while he was out. Apparently he made a puddle at the doorway of the store. See la, don't listen to me la. Evil me was saying "good job dec!" in my heart.

Pb,
I love him saying it too. I think it sounds more like puppy though. And my absolute fav is when he went "popppppyyyyy!" when she didn't answer him.

winterwear update
apparently even before my hb's visa got approved, he had taken pomfret to planet traveller and bought her two outerwear thingie.... (why i don't see him buy anything for me? why? why? why?) and he even had the cheek to tell me "must handwash hor" fine so i handwashed them and dutifully hang them out to dry. and then my hb tells me "you just wear my old jacket" and then i imagined whacking him on the head with a gigantic hammer.

i'm not sure if i should be borrowing any outerwear thingie from anyone! i've ballooned! just trying to buy clothes for cny , even XL sizes don't quite fit anymore! bleah. i hope japan can freeze my fats off! :D

dor
yeah hb decided on japan afterall and we're throwing budget into the wind coz i guess we never had a honeymoon, and he NEVER (and i really mean, NEVER EVER) took a holiday since puberty or something. like really, NEVER. and he plays the organ for the church choir, and the choir members are kinda stunned that he's actually not going to play for 2 weekends. like, really stunned. he's probably only missed choir practice maybe 3 times in 15 years (1 time being our wedding, 1 time being pomfret being born, 1 time coz of my baptism thingie)

pb
i'm more excited about dimsum next week than about borrowing winterwear. dimsum promise? promise?

michelle
even if you feel okay, go easy on the solids. my brother took solids by 3rd day, but the food got stuck in the stitches and rotted and gave him infection!!!!

staying with ils
eh, but still a bit tough too to have another 'family unit' under the same roof. sil and bil's kids sleep by 8pm and wake at 6am. and pomfret's timing is like, sleep midnight and wake 10am. so the overlapping times are tough. like when her cousins are trying to sleep, she wants to play. her naptime, the cousins are awake and playing so she wants to play too. mealtimes also not coordinated. one child refuses to eat coz the other child is playing. etc etc etc.... and like when the cousins are sleeping, then pomfret has to be confined to our bedroom so she wouldn't wake them up with her squeals. yikes.