(2008/07) July 2008

pb,
learning from a women's career devmpt workshop.

google <font color="0000ff">"pat heim" gender</font>, she is american and speaks very fast, but i guess there would be a couple of youtube videos that are enertaining and educates at the same time.

whatever you do during the negotiation, do NOT let them know you have already made the decision to take the job....
men swagger in w i m worth this much, take it or leave it attitude, then get what they negotiate for; whereas us 'nice' girls confess all our sins and shortcomings first, then wonder why we are not paid so much.

smiggle,
gold bracelet! what other things are found underneath MRT tracks?

doggiebb,
sure i know where stanchart building is. see you at the restaurant tmr. pls start without me as i got meeting till 1130am, then i gotta heft my bulk over to RP...
qing and smiggle onz for lunch too?

bbp, dor,
bosco also very fussy over his food now. he will look at the spoon when i feed up just to make sure i am not feeding him "poison". if he self feed, i will b under the table throughout the whole meal. sometimes when we are out, b4 we walk off, i will tell hubby, "i pity the cleaner....."

He also choose his snacks. Give him cheese he dun wan, he will keep pointing to the drawer where i place his biscuits. this two days even more jialat. when he ask for milk, i cannot give him food, he wun eat unless he gets his milk. n vice versa...

smiggle,
ah.. cruise! shiok! u going with ur lil family or? envy.. i wish i can get out of SG during CNY. Last time when I was single, I dun nid to bai nian at all coz i got totally no relatives. so i will just slack ard at home, tk my own sweet time in doing my own stuffs n meet up wif frens at nite for movie. now that i am married.. my Chu 1 life TOTALLY changed. Wake up as early as 5.30am to prepare myself and Bosco. must go my in laws place to bai nian first den go other relatives place to bai nian.. damn tiring... this yr also the same although my in laws not in SG. have to b representative of the family. haiz.

bbp

you nearly have me LOL with your chow yun fatt comment on my blog! pwahaha! you ah! look like meh?

and the losing shoe incident is so scary!

cellow

you know where this little viet restaurant is? okie! c ya!

what about qing and smiggle? confirmed or not?

cruise
no lei, goin with my inlaws..
cos they gamble enuff on the casino to get an extra free room, somemore with balcony one!
imagine how much they gamble...

RP lunch
im on!
except i gotta go to tanjong pagar and collect smthin first..
doggiebb, i sms u if i get lost??

holly
agreed!
i totally miss those days when i can slowly take my time to make up la, dress up la..
now its like kayden is the main focus.. so i anyhow wear.. the rush around really gives me stress...

dor dor,
Eh, the 30% is a good enough percentage for me. The only thing I let him feed himself is cheese and fruits. Porridge is way too messy.

doggiebb,
Haha, but the hair was so neatly combed that the first thing I thought of was those old gambling shows where they gel the hair until super neat. So who else but Chow Yun Fatt right?

RP lunch:
Oh so tempting.... I should go right? Bring Declan out more often so he can socialise.

bbp

lai lai! but he would be socialising with aunties instead lah!

talking about socialising, so are we doing anything during cny for the kids to socialise?

jace

dun think it is linked. think you have to come out to the surface, cross the road to standchart.

RP lunch

1. cellow
2. doggie
3. jace
4. smiggle
5. SDchick
6. SY

who else???

Wah so many posts..

Youpi: Ooh spooky S encounters!

rena: LO. On e2 devouring shoes n dustbins! Haven't seen him for so long.. Still a gentle giant?

BBP: if u r willing to pay $45 I saw a nice black outfit wiv embroidered dragons for our toddler at raffles city!

Lunch: doggie u'll make reservations?

Picky eater: mine tells me to KEEP KEEP, n TAKE THAT.. Last weekend fed him alphabet pasta, he kept looking into each spoonful asking for O haha so had to pretend there was an O among each spoonful n quickly point out other alphabets to distract him duh!

Dec's lost shoe: not the usual red one he's been wearing?

Youpi: so u got S a fire cracker red outfit n earned urself a new blouse? :D

wow to holly's packed plans for cny n lol to bosco e biscuit thief

JSP coming along for lunch? Then can collect snacks fm spree too hee

RP lunch

1. cellow
2. doggie
3. jace
4. smiggle
5. SDchick
6. SY
7. bbp

doggiebb,
Got SY means got JX. So Dec won't just be socialising with aunties then. And I'm a jie jie ok? *grins*

do1nk,
$45 is too much for cheapo me. If I spend $45, he better wear it for all 15 days of the CNY.
Oh, so there's a problem with alphabet pasta as well. Ok, good thing to note.
He's finally outgrown that red shoe. So he's too big for the red shoe, but too small for the current blue bubblegummers that dropped.

lol on do1nk and bbG's meal time game looking for O!

bbp
oh no so scary about the shoe! hope you get it back

cellow
"men swagger in w i m worth this much, take it or leave it attitude, then get what they negotiate for; whereas us 'nice' girls confess all our sins and shortcomings first, then wonder why we are not paid so much. "

very well said!
sekali they say 'ok then we will go with our second choice, she's a much nicer person. you are too bitchy for us' haha

youpi
of course! let a graduation ceremony for me? hahahah. i guess i'll be back in high heels in 5 weeks. it's a nice amount of time for me to get adjusted but there's so much so much so much more i want to do with poppy!

bbp
maybe you can stuff tissue/cotton wool into the shoe. like we did in our bras when we were younger haha. oh come on, don't tell me i am the only one who did that! fess up girls!

... or really i was the only one ah? //paisay//

aiyah. asked bluebunny to watch poppy but i go into living room, he is lying on the floor. poppy walk into the kitchen with her basket of toys liao he still dunno.

how not to be worried when i go back to work? jialat.

RP lunch

1. cellow
2. doggie
3. jace
4. smiggle
5. SDchick
6. SY
7. bbp
8. do1nk

seaweed: any supermart should sell? cold storage? ntuc? making sushi? :D

do1nk
um in wat section? i know in isetan they would prob have but lazy to go so far.

yes i want to try to make sushi. since i only have a limited time as a HOUSEWIFE, i might as well do all these things now hehe. been inspired to make bento boxes for hub to bring to work recently

cny clothes - all this talk about cny clothes making me very gian! where can i find nice cheongsam for me? ;)..SD - madame butterfly? the one at vivo or taka?

RP lunch - u ladies hv fun ..u shld meet to lo hei

Shanghai tang! They have nice stuff for kiddos too but whoa the price tags...

Pb: recall ntuc at junction 8 has lots near e jap soya sauces area.. Maybe not all ntuc huh? But they'd have e kinds ready for eating as a snack.. Does dat work too?

PB
u shd be able to get the seaweed in most supermarkets. i used to make them too!

bbp
ha so funny. got sy means got jx...yup u r right but then ask dec not to be too close to jx. cos she got a bit of runny nose...

re lunch place
ok if i get lost who do i call?

i really think my maid is WEIRD....2 incidents. last week when we went for the photoshoot, after that i brought everyone to toilet to wash hands. then i decided to go toilet. jx went in with me and i told jh not to come in with me but to wait outside. while i was inside i heard jh ask my maid where she is. suspect she went toilet without looking after my boy. she came out first so when i came out she ws already with jh. so i just pretend to ask her whether she wan to go toilet and she told me she went already. i immediately gave her a blank look and asked her did she leave my boy outside by himself alone. u know what she said? she said she asked him to come in with her but he din wan....something really wrong with her...how can she ask my boy go in when she go and pee!!!??!! and she actually couldn't even wait for me to come out before going and she left my boy alone. i asked her who's going to be responsible if he gets lost or taken away. she still had the cheek to tell me she will be responsible.

then today even weirder. jh wanted to go poo and wanted me to go with him. i told him no and asked maid to go help him. he was in one of his moods and refuse to let her help. so my maid just left him alone and went back into the kitchen. i was on the phone and after i put down the phone i asked her what is jh doing. she din answer me despite me asking her a few times. then i realised she was crying...and u know what's the reason?? cos my boy said he dun like her to wipe his backside for him!! arrgghh really dunno what is this maid thinking.

think i shd tolerate her until i move to my mum's place or change asap???

PB
all supermarkets have them. In cold storage, near the takeaway sushi counter. NUTC should have it as well, near the japanese product section. They also have it near the snack section.
If I'm near Daiso, I'd buy from it, since only 2 bucks. The supermarket ones sells around 4-6 dollars per pack.

Cin_bunny,
I bought the one at taka basement 1.

gd morning

showdown with helper/maid happened last night. at a certain point, HB and I were stuck w making her understand why what she did was so serious.... then my aunt stepped in, spoke abt trust and respect and courtesy, and all those values that one cannot refute in an argument wan.

yes yes there were 3 of us vs 1 of her.
aunt mainly stayed silent as neutral party until we got stuck.

last night, i slept the sleep of the unworried. today well rested!
v good to have this wgt off my mind.

SY... i tell you more over lunch. your maid sounds like she needs a talk abt trust and respty too.

cellow
ok, we have a maids' corner.. my maid also needs to learn trust.. better early than never..

Pb
u wanna install camera and spy on ur hubby

Cin bunny
mine came from online blogshop..

bbp
agreed, i cant bear my $45 for somethin that he's gonna wear once only!..

can check if your aircon makes your throat feels dry??
think mine does and its irritating kayden's throat.. how ah?? why like that???

smiggleP: thought you have a humidifier at home? or was dat SY? but still will wake up with dry mouth.. esp if bb sleeps wiv mouth open haha

bbG's getting so picky wiv food...

so difficult to get him to eat fruits.. cut it into pindot size to hide in his fav yummy yoghurt n he spits it all out..

this morning didn't finish milk, he said bread and cheese so made him a slice and he didn't want.. strawberry didn't want. made cereal didn't want.. so much food on kitchen counter in the end and none in his tummy... arrgh! my boy's turning really skinny!

smiggle,
traditional way is to put a glass of water beside u n kayden . modern way is to buy a humifier n put in the room.

cin,
hi! when r u free lady? when can i do the delivery? i feel so bad that i had been holding onto ur ergo for the longest time ever... does Sophie miss it?

PB,
all supermarkets will have. Is mostly put at the international corner..

bbG,
get use to it. bosco had been spitting out food since 2 months ago. i already got so fed up that i dun care. if he dun eat, i will just tell him no more. den if he hungry between meals, i just give him milk.

holly - anytime anytime
...just sms me if you are around the holland V area..or if you B wants to swim.,.but dont know why, hot days also pool water cold..brrr

hohoho. ikan bilis head for lunch!

beef vermicelli dry - $9.80
sour plum juice - $3.30
beef vermicelli dry set - $18.60
beef noodle soup set - $19.70

dunno who ate what la... pls FT to posbank savings 019 28856 0

Declan only got to socialise with the aunties this time around, no bbs!! and he power la, finish the whole tupperware full of pear oats.

Mine's e beef vermicelli dry $9.80 transfer to u tonite..it was yummy.. I like

BBP: not hungry? Had a heavy brekkie? Dec looks ham-som n smart in new haircut :D

Rushed over to pick up snacks fm spreer only to get SMS dat she's still sorting it out n gotto postpone collection timing! Duh

i hate my mil. sigh. how do the rest of you who have to live with mils do it without complaining? i am such a spoilt brat whining and whining and whining about it.

mmr
pomfret took it last thurs. today she's got a fever. and she must be quite miserable coz she's super sticky and super whiny (yes, indeed, she got the whiny gene from me no doubt) how long does the mmr fever usu last?

haha smiggle. i forgot about that. hehe. no la, give him face la.

thanks girls for the seaweed comments. My place the NTUC is quite small so got no international corner I think. Got some today at city hall. Now another jap related question! Does anywhere sell the ‘empty’ beancurd ‘packages’? the ones that usually house corn?

Dustee
You are not a spoilt brat at all! Your MIL is a monster!

Wow the RP lunch sounds very beefy! Where did you girls go?

PB, thanks for sharing. Since you really like the job and it was not really a pay cut as compared with your previous job, juz go for it! But this will mean that poppy2 is not coming in the next half year at least?

Dor, thanks for sharing. I dun know how to go with 3 kids in tow.. Think of luggage already fainting :) How to shop with them around? The most only 3D 2N at Disneyland. Btw, where is focal travel? Contact no.?

Dustee, i thot you said you want to go either HK/JPN Disneyland?

Smiggle, u took the $400 pay cut job?

Dor, so good, Ember wants to feed herself. Mine will only feed herself if it's her fav beancurd :)

PB.. u stuffed tissues into your bra??? LOL

Smiggle, i think a humidifier helps. The air is dry in the aircon room.

Holly, is it better to put water beside us or below the aircon? I thot it's the latter?

Cellow, what is pear oats?

Talking about jobs.. I also want to complain.. I have a pay package signed with the Company. For last two years, I'm being paid $4000 short. My boss juz acted blur loh. And for two years, I've got no increment. 1st year said i took maternity leave so not productive. To think that i worked till i deliver and went back to work after 2 mths. Then 2nd year when i'm due for increment last Sept, he juz acted blur. No mention at all till now. I'm really upset. I've got so many days of annual leave but can't take as and when i like.. Now so many days also dun know how to clear. They dun pay for unconsumed leave. I'm scared to confront him. What if he gets angry and shoot me with the revised pay package that is lower? I can't afford to resign and find a new job that provides the flexibility that i get to enjoy in this firm.. Sigh.. Pai mia..

hannah
gosh your boss is so mean! i hope at least the job has some benefits that more than makes up for all that?

hk vs jpn
okay i thought bring pomfret to hk disneyland would be good. but hb wants to bring her to japan disneyland. and now this is the irony, i love anime and miyazaki and sushi, so i should be happy my hb chose tokyo right? but i am SO SO SO SO SO worried about budget and overspending and using up whatever we saved from last year (which already i feel is so little savings coz we're on one income) so i actually am quite reluctant. so now we are like stuck, cannot decide, and hb also haven't confirm that boss will let him take leave.

mil
coz my hb's older brother is bringing his family back from aust to sg. staying with us for next 4 months. so mil's been at home a lot the past week, and re-arranging furniture and packing the house to make space for her prodigal son. and i've had to listen to her nag and nag and had to pack to make space for them too (like giving them shelf in the toilet. and giving them space in the fridge) it's really like dorm like that. "this shelf is yours, that one is mine" she has even gotten her sticker labels ready with their names lah.

and then today coz pomfret's got the fever (which i hope is just from the mmr jab and not cos she's caught a bug) so mil as usual makes those remarks that seemed to suggest i'm not taking care of pomfret "i think she's not feeling well"/"do you know she's got a fever?"/"i think you need to give her medicine"/"i think she doesn't like the fever patch"/"i think she's sleepy"/etc etc that towards the end of the day i just wished to God she'd stop thinking about anything and stop telling me what she's thinking.

and then of coz after i got so frustrated and upset that i've cried it all out and probably mutilated a few tissue boxes (as in, really shredded those tissues to pieces. poor tissues) then from the bottom one has only to go up from there. gratitude for a generally healthy child. gratitude for being alive and generally well. gratitude for hb having a job. gratitude for family. gratitude for roof over our heads. gratitude for enough money to indulge occasionally (still thinking about tokyo trip).

so all in all. life is still good. (mentally blot out images of mil and her thought bubbles)

life is good. and every day just gets better and better and better.

PB
you mean the inarizushi? the brown tofu skin with pocket? It should be available at the sushi section at Japanese supermarket, and some cold storage supermatkets (I think the ones in town should have it).

Dustee
All those "I think" questions - I heard it all the time, everyday, but the difference is, my mom is the one who said that. Sometimes it gets on my nerve, but most of the time I'll just answer or ignore. Not only that, everyday she will also complain about the helper. hmmms. I just need to close one ear. If I think too much I will get depressed.

Whenever my MIL is staying with us in Singapore, I just need to close an ear. She doesn't really ask for a lot, but my husband family expect everyone (the DILs) to respect and take care of her unconditionally. Whatever she said or whatever she wants, everything must be fulfilled. Luckily she didn't abuse her "power" so it was okay for me.

Disney theme park
I've been to both Tokyo and HK disneyland. Japan is much more expensive (food is expensive!!!!! well everything hehehe. The hotel I stayed as suck!) and we didn't enjoy as much as didn't have a clue to what being said over at Tokyo disneyland. The gifts store mostly consist of hand phone accessories and cookies. I could hardly found a decent shirt. So I think HK disneyland is probably better, in terms of cost and all that.

Bbp
Yah drop 30% is actually quite okie that's why I allow her to selffeed. But hor u add it to the food finising then she cannot scoop easily n she will scream so I gotta top up to the 30% she drop n she will scream till I pick every single 1 that she can see up hor......I'm gobbling my food too lah.
Not to mention got to keep reminding the other one to keep continuing to eat, until sometimes I just stop eating cos so fustrating dun feel like eating anymore.........and I wonder why I dun get indigestion.....LOL

do1nk
Same here, Ember looks out for all the OOooooo......why huh??

Hannah
I already duno hw I'm gonna shop with 2 kids....LOL
The last time I went was when my #1 was 11mths old, still dunno hw to walk so we just ergo him n went around for our own shopping. But that also means he didn't really remember his Disneyland much.
This time round, part of the reason why I die die also wanna stay Langham Place is the shopping centre linked to it. So if I really really wanna go shop then just go to the 1 linked lor. I'm sure my hubby can be up to it to carry #1 around or he stay in hotel while I go shop lor.....LOL

Focal travel is at People's Park(I think) the 1 with alot of travel agency, level 2 at 1 end. They have website so u can search for them.

Dustee
If u are worried abt the cost part then jus go to HK. Then save again for TOKYO!!!!!
Cos HK Disneyland(the only 1 I've been to) they always say its VERY VERY small. But to me its okie lah(I can't even complete the whole park in 1 day, what's there to complain!!) n its very suitable for our small kids now ie the rides n all.
So I feel if u just need a holiday, just go to HK 1st lor then save the Tokyo trip till when Mel is older n can appreciate the bigger parks n rides.
But if ur hubby will have bonus coming in then I would say just go for the Tokyo lor.
I can only go HK cos even bonus already booked to pay our van expenses so cannot touch kind.........sigh.....
But I look on the bright side lah....means I can spend more in HK...Yippeee!!!

N regarding ur MIL, I think u should try not to think abt her comments.

But I know its very hard lah cos u are always in the hse with her. Even I'm not staying with my inlaws, the slight comments that they make which irritates me, I gotta let it out when we reach home.
I must complain out loud to my hubby what do they mean by "XXXX" or "YYYYY". N my hubby is the dun talk kind lor(like the wall) so i will make silly remarks about their comments and so long as he agrees with me........it makes me feel much much better then I'll push it out of my mind already.....hehehe

Soooooo u need to talk to someone lah, to complain out loud n it will make u feel better. Feel free to let it all out in the forum. Cos u definately can't say anything loud loud at hm or straight to ur MIL face right??
As it will definately be worse for u day by day at home.

hello night birds! i am seldom here keeping you company. i wish i could tell you it was because of some noble reason but it is edward related so i should just zip up my mouth (i found chapters 13-24, for those of you who know what i mean)

which brings me to...

dustee, you seem to also be rather fond of my boyfriend (no jealousy there, no problem. go ahead! there's plenty of suave-ness to share). why not just ignore your MIL and lock yourself in your room with pomfret and while she sleeps, you read? i always find it funny when i say to my husband "i'll be in bed with my boyfriend ok?". yes i know. cheap thrill.

HK or tokyo, i think a holiday will do wonders for both you and hub. who knows, maybe being away just the 3 of you will make him realise that it is wonderful just being the 3 of you without your MIL's constant thought bubbles floating around

thanks SDchick. i have no idea what it's called but yes it's the beancurd pocket. earlier i spent one hour and all i got in return was 4 stinkin' little )(*@^%&amp;$^(# sushi rolls. if that's what you can call them. first i used the wrong rice and that caused everything to fall apart. bluebunny will have 4 crab mayo/corn sushi thingies tomorrow and i have included a note in his lunch box (haha) that a spoon is probably the safer choice of equipment than chopsticks

PB
LOL......maybe u should also include in (MADE WITH LOTS OF LOVE) then he will not complain abt the using spoon part when he gets home....hahaha

Diapers
------------------------------

Need to get this done before I totally forget again.

Since Ember no longer really needs diapers even at night(cos lazy me forgot to change her undies to diaper for 2 nights n luckily there's no accidents), I wanna get rid of all the unopen packs.

So I currently have:
Huggies Ultra - 1 L, 1 XL ($15 each)

Nepia Pants - 3 BIG, 1 L ($15 each)

Inclusive of delivery for 2 packs n above. (I'll get my hubby to send lah....hehe)

Hannah,

Your boss really s#@$s. Why don't you find another job? Job market is picking up. Not sure if there is sufficient flexibility in your current job as you don't even have the freedom to clear your leave! feel fed up for you.. *hmph!*

Dustee,

You are GREAT! You have such great levels of tolerance and patience. But it is very unhealthy for you lor. If you need to let of steam, let the blood/tears flow here. I really sympathise with you. My late MIL used to live with me. The amount of patience and tolerance that I have given then is no where measured to you. At the very least I was still working and they were living in my house. Why don't you tell your hubby you want to go back to work? At least 10 hrs away from her bubbles and words will give you back some sanity. Else he got to find some way and move out. High stress levels is not going to be good for you especially if you want to have more babies.

dustee! agree with the mummies here that MILs and mums are like that..besides telling us how to take care of our little ones, my mom also nags me : why is sophie not potty trained (she was asking me this when soph was only 10 mths ya!), why is she still sucking pacifier etc etc..i think it's just moms being moms..so next time (or shld i say next hour!) you hear your MIL says these things, dont take it to heart ok..and yes, stick with your life is good positive thinking. *hugs*

dustee,
I don't. I still complain about it. Are the 2 of us the only ones who live with the ILs anyway?
OH no, the suggestions are the worst things on earth. "I think he needs a bath", "I think he needs water", etc etc.
Moms vs MILs - it's just so much easier for me to tell my parents to not be so kaypoh as opposed to the ILs la.

do1nk,
Yeah, had a heavy brekkie. In the end, had lunch at 4pm.

dor LOL.. like a spreer only.. free delivery for 2 packs n above..if u can't find anyone else who's keen, I can help u offload the huggies coz bbG's still on huggies ultra size M haha..(I have 6 packs pf L in my storeroom waiting too though..

hmm how are the big nepias? haven't used since he was few months old...

dustee: sounds like it's affecting you a lot (if it's bringing you a heavy downpour of tears each time) .. coz if it was bearable.. I'd say,.. try to toss her words out the window.. let it fall on deaf ears n dun bring it to heart..

Cellow
mine is e most ex i think.. will tt later.. pls remind me if i forget.. cannot otang til CNY..

PB
u bought which rice??
i dunno how to cook jap rice lei but kayden loves it..

Dustee
kayden's fever only last less than 2 days..

now this boy is coughin, dunoo how to bring him to cruise..

do1nk
Wah!!! U still have 6 pack diapers at home???
U buy so many to keep aah?? from BP??.....hehe
If I ask my hubby to send 1 pack later he niam niam niam 1 pack only must send.....keke

I only buy diaper unless finishing or when sale but just buy 1 pack kind. Who knows I was still thinking, Ember just started toilet training so should not be so fast. Cos even when D was toilet trained he still had a bit of accidents on n off n I still wear diapers for him at night n when we go out. But this girl is really solid lor............LOL

Nepia pants is quite big actually. I have not upgraded E to Big yet, still wearing the L but the tights area slightly tight I jus tear it up alittle then it won't leave marks.

oh my, I missed the RP lunch!! boo hoo...

pat pat dustee.... how about thinking aloud to your MIL as well, as a gesture of appreciation.. ma, i think your hair needs some perming.. ma I think this new year you can get some new clothes.. it's pretty therapeutic you know, letting one get his/her own medicine... you get my drift..

hannah, i think its exactly because your boss knows you can;t quit thats why he is shortchanging you. Never, never give your boss impression that you depend on them to eat. "my hubby keeps asking me to stay home, but i just cant.. " kind of message to undeserving, ungrateful (&amp;#$*&amp;^#&amp;$^ bosses! and ya, start looking for greener pasture sister!

LOL of dor spreeing E's diapers with free delivery.. ebyo uses Huggies L, but I just bought half a dozen from sheng shiong recently so cannot take some more liao... partly also secretly wishing this is the last dozen eboy will need... haha

LOL on PB and her sushi adventure.. I admire you. well balanced SAHM who takes such good care for Bluebunny as well.. just thinking aloud if he would do the same when your roles are switched..

Whats the plan for CNY leh??

me extracting wisdon on 22 Feb. SHIVER SHIVER SHIVER